Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Aegis X-001BUS Supports Intel 6th Gen CPU (including K series processors) Intel Z170 Supports up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to a NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1080 (not Included) 1 x HDMI Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 First in....just ordered
Pros: Surprisingly small at just under 15" of height. Low noise but this is dependent on the GPU you choose. If you go with the aftermarket GTX 1080's like MSI's Gaming X or ASUS Strix you will have a surprisingly quiet build. Two M.2 ports at Gen3 PCI-e x4 on the motherboard is a major plus. 8 USB 3.1 ports, one of them a Gen2 C and the rest Gen1. It looks ridiculously awesome. Seriously, it looks like a killer drone. Overall the thermals are very good. 4 DAYS LATER: Very happy with it. At normal load you can't hear the case. The most audible component is the EVGA GPU with ACX cooler and that is low noise relative to the reference GPU coolers. The pump/radiator noise level is barely detectable up close and there is zero grinding noise.
Cons: Motherboard, CPU cooler, and power supply are proprietary. That's the one major hang up some people won't be able to deal with. The motherboard on the Aegis-X units are specially fashioned versions of the mini-ITX Z170i. They are NOT the same motherboard! Another hangup is the need for SODIMM memory modules due to space restrictions, thankfully GSkill and Corsair make some good SODIMM modules. The same reason why the pump is proprietary.....very low profile. 4 DAYS LATER: Putting in the CPU, M.2 SSD and Memory DIMMs is a little more time consuming than an average case due to tight space constraints. All things considered MSI did a decent job with running the power and cables throughout.....they pretty much didn't have a choice. The MSI site still doesn't show drivers available for download so you'll be forced to use the disc. Easy since this unit comes with a DVD player. All the drivers on the disc worked.
Other Thoughts: The EVGA FTW GTX 1080 with the ACX 3.0 fits without issues, previously had my older EVGA SC GTX 780 with the ACX 2.0 running in it. The ACX 3.0 is slightly bigger but there is plenty of space below the card slot to accomodate the ACX 3.0 cooler. Power supply handles it just fine. I can confirm the Gigabyte AMP! Extreme does not fit. Well kinda, if you're OK running it with the side panel off. (Although it's obvious to me it wasn't to some, the board is pinned out for 1151, someone had that question). Seems like MSI is very serious about this model/build. They are shipping them as both MSI barebones & MSI complete systems and boutique dealers will be selling these aplenty with their stamp on it. This will bode well for availability on proprietary components since word is they will also continue this line with new iterations so you can upgrade down the road.
Reviewed By:AJ R.,7/20/2016 2:31:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASRock > ASRock M8 Mini ITX Gaming PC 4th Gen Intel Core i7/i5/i3/Xeon/Pentium/Celeron Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome case full of features!!!
Pros: Everything it comes with!!!
Cons: a little hot when pushed but nothing a techie cant fix
Other Thoughts: Great case full of features you wont be disappointed and for 199 its an awesome buy!!
Reviewed By:leo,7/19/2016 10:39:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > Hewlett-Packard > HP Compaq DC7700 Desktop PC Core 2 Duo 1.86 Ghz 2GB DDR2 80GB HDD Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Does the job, good price
Pros: Good price for a cheap computer to station for simple web browsing purposes only.
Cons: Slow
Had some blue screening issues but resolved it.
Reviewed By:Michael H.,7/9/2016 4:59:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Nightblade MI2-001BUS Intel 6th Gen CPU Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel B150 Support up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to GTX 970 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it!
Pros: It's very sturdy and solid build. Love the lcd lights on the front. There seems to be good space inside.
Cons: Tiny screws... don't like big fingers.
Other Thoughts: It's small and portable and works great on my big screen.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/7/2016 2:01:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASRock > ASRock M8 Mini ITX Gaming PC 4th Gen Intel Core i7/i5/i3/Xeon/Pentium/Celeron Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Rolling the dice on getting a working MB or not
Pros: -The case design is good, looks great!
-The instructions are well written for those that may never have opened a computer before
-Can't beat the price point, well worth $200.00
Cons: -One SODIMM slot was damaged upon arrival
-Case design is pretty tight inside, not a lot of room for airflow or aftermarket coolers
-Driver installation is pretty wonky, but it will work eventually. You will have to navigate through some pretty bad engrish.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately this review is primarily about the cons, as there are a few. Right out of the box one of the SODIMM slots was damaged. While the MB read the RAM stick I put into it, there was so many memory address leaks Win7 BSOD'd about once every hour. After removing the RAM from that slot the computer ran fine, but since I bought two 8gb sticks I'll now have to purchase another memory stick if I want to increase my RAM.
This product is also starting to get dated, the Z97 model will accept 5th gen Intel processors, but even that is behind the times. ASRock has stated multiple times no other MB will fit in this case, but there are much better mini-ITX mainboards out there, and I'm positive they'll fit this case. Perhaps I'll try upgrading in the future.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/28/2016 6:52:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Nightblade X2-001BUS Intel 6th Gen. Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentiuml / Celeron (Max. TDP: 95W) Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel Z170 Support up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to a GTX 980Ti, max 290mm length 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible little machine
Pros: when it worked, things were great.for the short time it did.
Cons: first unit i ordered, was DOA out of the box, would never post
RMA'd and got a replacement, worked for a "month", rebooted one day and the unit looked like it was auto-updating the bios
the machine never booted again after that
had to RMA to MSI as i was past the 30 days
took over a month
got the "same" Machine back
booted to the desktop once, rebooted and did the exact same thing.
Other Thoughts: I would never ever in a million years recommend this unit to anyone
MSI RMA service is horrible, worst purchase i've ever made, $1600 by the time the thing was built, only worked for 1 month.
Manufacturer Response:Greetings Marc,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the MSI product. We certainly value your feedback and please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenient experience. If possible, please provide me with more details to the symptoms of your PC so we can better assist in help finding a solution. You can email us with further details at usreview@msi.com with details or please feel free to contact our technical support department directly at our toll free number 888-447-6564 from M to F, 5am to 7pm Pacific standard Time.

Thank you for choosing MSI!

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:Marc W.,6/5/2016 9:06:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Nightblade MI2-001BUS Intel 6th Gen CPU Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel B150 Support up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to GTX 970 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buggy
Pros: -Its small
-easy to build everything is prebuilt, only need to install CPU, ram, Graphics card, hard drive
Cons: -Flimsy construction, feels kinda cheap, the cpu cooler heatpipes look like they are made from copper colored tinfoil
-First one came DOA, had to RMA for a second unit
-Second unit had a faulty MOBO, tried multiple cpu's ram etc. Could not get the BIOS to accept boot order, or take the updated BIOS. The UEFI was pixelated and very sluggish, would lock up and need a hard reset. Spent over an hour with MSI tech support to try and find a solution. Was determined to be another faulty MOBO. Second unit was sent back.
Other Thoughts: -I wouldnt suggest this unit to anyone, turned out to be nothing but a headache. In theory its a cool Idea, but MSI needs to really work on the quality control of the MOBO's in these units. I ended up going with a EVGA hadron Air case, with an ASUS ROG Pro Gaming MOBO for roughly the same price, quality is far superior in every single way and the EZ UEFI on the Asus MOBO's is just awesome.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Tyler,
Thank you for the feedback.There is “no” known issue with our MSI product and we use industry top components. If you have any question or concern regarding our MSI motherboard you purchased, Please do not hesitate to contact us directly by email at usreview@msi.com or to our toll free phone at 888-447-6564 M-F, 5AM to 7PM PST. We will be more than happy to assist you.

Thank you for choosing MSI.

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:Tyler B.,5/12/2016 6:56:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Nightblade X2-001BUS Intel 6th Gen. Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentiuml / Celeron (Max. TDP: 95W) Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel Z170 Support up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to a GTX 980Ti, max 290mm length 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really great portable Lan box by MSI!!
Pros: Nice design
Small but sufficient power supply
Was nice to have mobo pre-installed
Sleeved cables.
Nice layout.
Cons: Not much of a con, the mobo requires a screw type cooler.
I installed a Corsair H60 liquid cooler. There is only only a total of two fan controllers on the mobo, so had to buy a fan splitter cable.
Other Thoughts: I would totally buy this again. Tight fit when everything goes in, however the Corsair H60 managed to fit. In order to fit I had to trim off some plastic on the side fan bracket. Be careful not to kink hoses putting everything back into box. This system is FAST! Changed fan on Corsair H60 to Noctura 3000 rpm black fan. Fan produces almost no noise. CPU temps at idle stay right at 19-20 degrees. What more could you ask for. Actually I have case fan unhooked until fan splitter arrives. Heat isn't an issue and you could probably get by on this setup with no case fan at all! Newegg service was great!

MSI Nightblade x2
Intel I5 6600K
Gskill 32 GB RAM 16x2
MSI Nvidia GTX 970 4GB
Samsung 950 Pro 512 GB
WD Black 7200 1TB
Corsair H60
Reviewed By:Will S.,4/28/2016 6:53:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASRock > ASRock M8 Mini ITX Gaming PC 4th Gen Intel Core i7/i5/i3/Xeon/Pentium/Celeron Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Compact, Sturdy, Air flow is the hardest part.
Pros: -Great size, can fit a pretty huge video card
-decent power supply
-included motherboard is good
-includes wifi ac
-red led lights (that was a surprise)
-slot in dvd drive
-5 available sata ports (with space for 5 solid state drives)
Cons: -only 1 pcie (it's mini-itx_
-2 sodimm ddr3
-low overhead for coolers (stock intel cooler technically fits, but with the sidepanel on, severely limits airflow
-poor cooling
-front power button kinda stiff
-4th i series processors
Other Thoughts: I ordered mine may 2016. Seems to be old stock, but at least in mine, they swapped the direction of the bottom intake fan to push air out. Back bottom fan is set to pull air in which is not bad. Both top fans are set to push air out.

I used the noctua nh l9i. It's not the best cooler, but performs better than the intel stock cooler due to having more space overhead for air to circulate. Have to remove the motherboard in order to install.

The wifi card is suprisingly decent. good throughput over on my ac network.

If I were to change one thing, it'd be to possibly have a vent on the panel over the cpu sink.

Case arrived in good condition, dense pack foam was used.

besides the processor and ram, the possibility of upgrading your video card and adding more sdds is nice.

For what I paid 200, I feel like it was worth it.

i5 4590
gtx 970
mushkin eco 480gb
sandisk 240gb
2x8gb ddr3 sodimm
noctua nh-l9i
Reviewed By:Ben D.,4/22/2016 6:12:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI ProBox130 2M-007BUS Intel 4th gen. (Haswell, Max TDP: 84W) Core/Pentium Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel H81 Integrated Intel HD Graphic, Depend on CPU Supports Intel Dynamic Video Memory Technology

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Eat this Box
Pros: 4x sata ports @ 6gbps, lots of fan connectors, sturdy metal case, easy flip internal drives install. Budget/office build worthy. Put in a cheapo SSD and it'll fly. HDMI. 80Bronze cert PSU, 2-year warranty.
Cons: DDR3 1333 ONLY.
A little larger than it needed to be vs internal components size so a tight fit for PointOfSale systems.
Onboard COM port hardware but NO SEREAL INTERFACE CONNECTOR from board to back.
Propitiatory CPU fan/heatsink, but dose the job. CPU fan is slightly noisy.
PCIEx16 Gen 2 MAX, no gen 3 setting in bios.
Would not install OS via USB drive no matter what boot setting/port/usbdrive, used the sata dvd drive and disc.
No real way to attach a laptop sized hard drive, typically an SSD, with more than one screw anywhere in the hard drive bay.
Other Thoughts: Newegg is the best as all of the other hardware ordered with this barebones system arrived the day after ordered, but this box took 10 DAYS to get here, UPS ground. The wait was irritating. The box was beat up pretty badly, scaring, dents, gashes, possibly used as a Skyrim shield. The corners were beat in and it was overall dirty. The internal foam padding was great and held up keeping the system intact. Update the bios on this thing via usb FIRST.
3x SATA power connectors.
MSI: Keep making these please, just include the serial port connector.
Reviewed By:Matt A.,4/12/2016 11:42:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.