Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASRock > ASRock M8 Mini ITX Gaming PC 4th Gen Intel Core i7/i5/i3/Xeon/Pentium/Celeron Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fun little machine, though a bit hot
Pros: Everyone knows that this is an awesome looking case. Some other benefits that may not be as widely known:
- Came with an updated BIOS that supports Devil's Canyon CPUs
- All cable management is done, which makes building very easy
- Stock Intel heatsink/fan fits
- Graphics card is very easy to install (you don't have to remove the riser card, just open the top and pop in the card). I used a Gigabyte GTX 960.
- Surprisingly tolerable noise at desktop
Cons: - Not much ventilation down by the CPU so it runs pretty hot. I used an i5 4590S (65 watts TDP) and it gets in the mid 70's at load.
- Motherboard would have to be removed to install CPU backplate for aftermarket CPU cooler
- Power Supply has to be unscrewed in order to access one of the 2.5 inch bays. If you're going to use a 3.5 inch drive in the top bay, then your 2.5 inch OS drive has to go behind the PSU.
- Gets pretty loud and hot during extended gaming sessions
Other Thoughts: Overall, an awesome product, but not a good value at the original price.
Reviewed By:Sean,5/20/2015 1:31:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle SH97R6 Intel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium (LGA1150) Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel H97 1 x HDMI Triple-display Mini server

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid
Pros: Booted up flawlessly on 1st power up with Windows 7 installation disk and hasn't skipped a beat since. Running I5-4690 with 16GB Corsair and Samsung 500GB SSD. Very quiet without conventional hard disk. Screws now included on motherboard for PCI express form factor cards.
Fast shipping from Newegg as usual.
Cons: So quiet without conventional hard disk that fan noise on heat pipe is now noticeable.
Reviewed By:csklsc,5/10/2015 9:01:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS MS400 (V1.0) Intel Latest Generation Core i-Series Processors (up to 65w) Intel H81 Intel HD Graphics from CPU 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Free processor and I had it assembled and operating system installed in minutes.
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:N/A,5/6/2015 12:36:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > MINIX > Minix NEO-X5MINI Rockchip RK3066 Dual-Core Cortex A9 Quad Core Mali 400 1 x HDMI Remote Control Smart Media Hub

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Media Hub
Pros: Official firmware for KikKat 4.4.2 (March 2015) now available and making the device to act faster. I haven't really test wifi but with a USB Ethernet adapter, everything ran smoothly and that include streaming of 1080p movies. There were 2 minor issues with that firmware but they are testing a fix that will soon be released I guess. I'm testing that beta firmware (April 2015) right now and it proves to effectively solves the 2 minor issues : can not use 2 USB ports at the same time even 1 USB port with a hub, have to play around with HLS setting for HTML5 support when switching from online streaming to Youtube and vice versa. There is a pre-installed app "CloudTV" which goes by device that allows you to watch a lot of online TV channels free.
Cons: Device came not rooted but it's relatively easy to do it. Minixforum should be your reference for beta testing, rooting etc.
XBMC is pre-installed but you should try KODI, its replacement which will open a whole new world of media entertainment.
Probably due to its popularity, the price seems to be on the rising side as I got mine on sale almost a year ago for much less than what we can find right now.
Other Thoughts: A very promising media player.
Reviewed By:warzouing,5/4/2015 4:56:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > CybertronPC > CybertronPC Trooper BB-1 TBB1244A AMD FX 4130 3.8GHz AMD Socket AM3+ ATI Radeon 3000 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: not really anything I can think of right now
Cons: start button stops working after 4 months and the pc is no longer under warranty
Reviewed By:randiik,4/25/2015 3:24:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > CybertronPC > CybertronPC Trooper BB-1 TBB1244A AMD FX 4130 3.8GHz AMD Socket AM3+ ATI Radeon 3000 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 barebones but quick OS/CD install
Pros: easy and forthright install of SATA 2 HD and SATA CD/DVD/BLUE RAY disk. OS Microsoft 7.0 32bit install from scratch highly recommended over using prior system HD (unless quite similar drivers and system operations programs).
Cons: Microsoft 7.;l0 updates will take quite a while since the OS wasn't SP1. Hardware & OPS programs disk is essential to finish install (included) along with proper settings on BIOS (BIOS guide included and available online as well.)
Other Thoughts: Don't make the mistake I made and try and load the old disk with WIN7. It wouldn't load due to fast hardware/ software differences and repair didn't catch most of the changes.
Reviewed By:metman4u,4/20/2015 7:45:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASRock > ASRock M8 Mini ITX Gaming PC 4th Gen Intel Core i7/i5/i3/Xeon/Pentium/Celeron Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great PC gaming rig for strong power efficient
Pros: - DESIGN / SIMPLICITY
- small, yet can pack very strong setup
- easy to configure as you want

i got mine as open box from here and saved big $$$
I did not want complete custom with random case, these look really nice and fairly easy to take apart and setup with parts you require. running i5 Haswell 65W and GTX 980 MSI. excellent rig for ULTRA on 1440p gaming.
Cons: - default fan exhaust / intake direction design

look up asrock m8 review on youtube, also on the vents diagram on airsick web. i've reversed the top fans to both blow outside, rather then one in / one out as it was by factory. definitely breaths better this way. was not able to fix the bottom fans that way. now runs stable.
Other Thoughts: ASROCK needs to fix the fan issues and optimize cooling with doing proper testing on cooling etc.
Reviewed By:joecool99,4/18/2015 10:42:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASRock > ASRock M8 Mini ITX Gaming PC 4th Gen Intel Core i7/i5/i3/Xeon/Pentium/Celeron Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel Z87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great case, horrible Wifi
Pros: Compact, strong metal, great design & appearance. Using Pentium G3258 OC'd at 3.5 Ghz with stock fan, and the case is doing great keeping hot air out, despite the compact size. Usually I think that a case is a case, but this one make me feel like "hey, I got a cool case".
Cons: Horrible on-board wi-fi performance (getting barely 5Mbps if lucky). Tried everything from re-installing driver to making sure that antenna cables are srtraight and attached to the case. Ended up ordering an external USB wifi antenna. I know it's not my router problem because even my phone gives me solid 80Mbps, and my previous 802.11n card gave me 30-40 Mbps. This was a huge disappointment since on-board WiFi was one of the main decision makers for me to get this case.

Difficult to install components if you have big hands, and especially for me installing the 2.5" hard drive next to ODD was the most challenging. But which mITX case is not difficult to install components on?
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued ASRock Customer

Thank you for purchase and review.
For the Wi-Fi performance issue, please uninstall the Intel smart connect driver to check if its address the issue.
If you have any technical Support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp. We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock Support
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:jaem04,4/18/2015 3:22:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle XH81V Intel Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentium / Celeron 65W Intel H81 1 x HDMI Barebone system

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great but remember to upgrade BIOS
Pros: Quiet, fast, lots of interfaces including double ethernet ports. RMA process smooth.
Cons: Wish it had an SPDIF output for my old receiver
Other Thoughts: I got this during last black friday and installed linux with everything working quickly, but it died suddenly one day: likely because I didn't upgrade BIOS. RMAed and working fine now.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/13/2015 9:24:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle SH87R6 Intel 4th Generation Core i3/i5/i7 Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel H87 1 x HDMI Barebone

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Just Look at the date of the most recent Drivers, etc (2013!)
Pros: All of the features is the product description. For my needs that includes the small size, the support for modern hardware (i5 CPU, and mem capacity mostly) so I can build a modern HTPC. The support for a few PCI cards that I need (Cable Tuner for DVR and maybe another card from my previous system) was also needed within a small space.

Note: i was impressed to see 2160p resolution through the on-board HDMI. This will probably keep me from having to use my passively cooled PCI GPU. Less heat, less power needed.
Cons: Really, really bad support out of the box. I installed my hardware into the Shuttle (CPU, SSD HD, memory, and Cable Tuner) and installed Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1. That worked great, I installed the network driver from the Shuttle CD and ran Windows Update. After installing the 190 updates from windows, the system would not reboot. Just the first round of updates, incredible.
Other Thoughts: I'm not done yet but I would have gone with another vendor if I had seen the outdated drivers. That shows terrible support for their products. I value my time more than that (time wasted trouble shooting).

This hardware has soo much potential and it seems wasted by bad driver support. As least the bios have seen a few updates.

The Shuttle includes a heat sink that uses pipes from the middle of the mother board to the rear, Time will tell if this is a good heat sink for this system or if it won't draw enough heat away like a heat sink directly on top of the CPU would (with fan in rear).
Reviewed By:N/A,4/6/2015 2:42:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.