Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > ASUS > ASUS 24X DVD Burner - Bulk 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM Black SATA Model DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Defective
Pros: None
Cons: Drive did not work :(

Lit up when plugged in, but didn't open. When I opened it manually and inserted a disc, it didn't read the disc.
Other Thoughts: I am sad.
Reviewed By:Hobotronic,1/26/2015 10:48:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > ASUS > ASUS DVD-Writer 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM Black SATA Model DRW-24F1ST

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Piece of Junk
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Bought a total of 2 during a span of 35 days... today marks 6 months since buying the first one and it no longer works... my LiteOn units at least lasted a couple of years... only the second one I bought is working... I hardly used them... ..
Reviewed By:Royalty_Rules,1/25/2015 11:05:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > ASUS > ASUS 24X DVD Burner - Bulk 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM Black SATA Model DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk
Pros: Price
Cons: Have to give at least 1 star.
Grinding noises on one drive as soon as it was installed.
Loud when loading/reading a disc. Purchased 2 drives, and both have issues.
Surprisingly enough, the drive that made the less noise, was the first to fail.
Other Thoughts: This was the first Asus product I have ever ordered. I've built quite a few custom computers, and have always tried to stay with brands and companies that I have had good luck with.
Well Asus has a huge name, so I figured I'd give it a try. Needless to say this is also the last time I purchase an Asus product. Purchased 2 of these for identical computers that I built. They were cheap, with loads of great reviews that out weighed the negative ones.
Sadly I should have listened to the negative reviews. Both drives were extremely loud from the start, but one of them made grinding noises. I tried to ignore this.
After a month of use the drive that didn't make the grinding noises, just decided to stop. It wouldn't read anything. I tried using cd's, dvd's, blank discs and software discs. No matter what I put in, I got nothing.
Requested an RMA from newegg and have already purchased new drives from a local store.
It was the price that got me on this drive, a great drive for less than 20 bucks!? well.. You get what you pay for.
Don't be a penny pincher when it comes to your computer. Spend a few extra bucks and swing for better product!
I've got a drive from a "lesser quality" company, and it has been in heavy use for 5 years now. Still works as flawless as it did the day I installed it. You'd expect more from a huge company like Asus.
Do yourself a favor and pick up the LG for 40. It's worth it to avoid the hassle of rma's and paying for return shipping.
I've always found it outrageous that you have to pay for a companies mistake. Manufacturers should be held responsible for returning bad product. It is their product, after all.
Reviewed By:John D.,1/24/2015 10:42:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > Lite-On > LITE-ON DVD Burner 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM SATA Model iHAS124-14

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: Plug and play no issues runs perfectly nice look simple design does exactly what its intended too.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: ALmost a year of owneership and its still performing very well. I reccomend this item to anyone
Reviewed By:riverjorge,1/23/2015 11:13:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > ASUS > ASUS 24X DVD Burner - Bulk 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM Black SATA Model DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ASUS FTW
Pros: Asus never fails for me, been using their products since day 1 which is along time ago!
Cons: Zero Con's!!!!!
Reviewed By:STM Rolotoemasea,1/23/2015 2:24:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG DVD Burner 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM SATA Model SH-224DB/BEBE

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Slow
Pros: Priced right when I brought it.
Cons: I cannot believe how long it takes for this burner to burn the same information using the same software as my Asus burner. I have used Samsung drives before and this one is very slow. Reading a disc is no problem!
Reviewed By:Drae,1/23/2015 7:40:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > Lite-On > LITE-ON DVD Burner 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM SATA Model iHAS124-14

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Great price. Did not need to install any drivers. Newegg shipped very fast.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,1/22/2015 1:04:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > ASUS > ASUS 24X DVD Burner - Bulk 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM Black SATA Model DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Sub-par experience
Pros: This was an okay BD reader for the price. Had some disc reading issues from the beginning and eventually crapped out entirely on me. ASUS quickly replaced it with a refurb unit at the cost of me shipping it to them. Was hesitant to get another but figured the $20 shipping was better than a new drive. New unit has been working fine over the last couple months, fingers crossed. Seems cheaply built but you get what you pay for.
Cons: Broke after 6 months, ASUS replaced unit with refurb, working ok since.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/22/2015 9:27:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > LG Electronics > LG Internal Super Multi Drive 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM SATA Model GH24NSB0B

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great
Pros: works, on sale
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: burned a ton of movies and backed up photos and documents
Reviewed By:Jason W,1/21/2015 8:02:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG DVD Burner 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM SATA Model SH-224DB/BEBE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works fine
Pros: on sale, works fine
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: burned several DVDs, movies, photos, no problems.
Reviewed By:Jason W,1/21/2015 7:51:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.