Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-1017A-MP Mini-ITX Server Barebone FCBGA559 Intel NM10 Express Chipset DDR3 1066

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome microserver for linux
Pros: I've bought several of these to operate as SOHO (small office/home office) server running linux as a NAS, network, print, vpn, and NAT/firewall.

- Solid linux support
- Low power and heat
- Quiet (after initial boot)
- Dual 1G nics
- mSATA support on the pci-e slot
Cons: - Only supports 4G memory
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2014 11:18:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > ASUS > ASUS RS100-X7 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1155 Intel C202 DDR3 1600/1333/1066

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 1 out of 2
Pros: Great price. Lots of great value here. I got 2 for a load balancing project and all in I got a solid state - 8 gb - 4 core server for 700 bucks each.
Cons: 1 of the 2 units I bought failed. 4 short beeps and it wont boot. I ordered a new motherboard for the second unit - hopefully it will work as a replacement. I wish I could get my $ back and just get a new unit though.
Reviewed By:Chris,4/14/2014 8:29:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5037C-T Pedestal Server Barebone LGA 1155 Intel C204 DDR3 1333/1066

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Well except for the NICs...
Pros: The BIOS config had some nice features but that's about the most positive thing I can say.
Cons: Drivers didn't work for EITHER of the NICs on this board, I tried the older versions from both Intel's and supermicro's site which listed server 2008 64x as supported. Ended up having to go out and buy an extra NIC card. Also wouldn't boot from my internal CD drive for some reason. Had to use an ODD to load the OS.
Other Thoughts: Drivers didn't work for EITHER of the NICs on this board, I tried the older versions from both Intel's and supermicro's site which listed server 2008 64x as supported. Ended up having to go out and buy an extra NIC card. Also wouldn't boot from my internal CD drive for some reason. Had to use an ODD to load the OS.
Reviewed By:Dillon W.,4/14/2014 9:40:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-7047R-TRF 4U Rackmountable / Tower Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602 DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Motherboard Fails
Pros: This server has up to 512Gb RAM and supprts 2 Xeon 12 cores. It is in principle a capable machine.
Cons: I have a TESLA K20 and an ASUS 650. I have a 1440W UPS. I first set up this server about year ago. This board has failed within a month of use three times in the last year, and I have replaced the motherboard three times. The last replacement MB was purchased new from from newegg about a month ago. I had it installed by a professional server builder, with two XEON E5 quad-cores and 256Gb RAM (16x16Gb Samsung sticks) The new MB failed to allow entry in the BIOS after a couple of weeks and failed completely in four weeks of continuous power-up. The failure was catastrophic in that it trashed the HD's in the hot-swap bays (The SSD HD was ext3, so no data recovery..). Supermicro tech support was dismissive when I asked them how to set up the the BIOS and jumpers to avoid this problem. They claimed it "works fine" as I set it up. "Not our problem, talk to your integrator." Don't buy this system. It has serious issues. Go another route.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/12/2014 3:32:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-6017R-WRF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602 DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little server
Pros: Dual CPU, redundant power supply, lots of memory, comes with heatsinks, works with Ubuntu server.
Cons: Stupid Supermicro management tool that takes a separate DHCP address even if you don't want it.
Other Thoughts: I really love Supermicro 1U servers and this one has all the great features you expect from them.
Reviewed By:CyberMage,4/10/2014 9:14:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-6027R-TRF 2U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602 DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great work horse at Awesome value.
Pros: I ordered two of these for a small VM cluster and I really like this chassis and MB.

The IPMI is really awesome because you can boot into the BIOS and do OS installation completely remotely using the iKVM client with virtual CD-ROM plugin.

The chassis comes with some very nice Rapdi-rails that snap into standard 4-post racks with square holes, they have a nice sturdy feel.

Inside the chassis, the fans behind the HDD slots have a quick disconnect case that makes them easy to remove and clean. There is a clear plastic air flow guide over the two CPU sockets and the RAM to aid cooling, it can be seen in the Newegg product images.

Many PCI-E slots.
Cons: The server has screws on the front to hold it still in the rails, which is fine, but it would make the rails really awesome if it had a simple latch or quick release clip instead.
Other Thoughts: At 2U, the server strikes a good balance. It isn't cramped like a 1U would be and doesn't have a bunch of empty space like a 3 or 4U chassis.
Don't forget to get low-profile add-on cards.
Reviewed By:IT Admin,3/30/2014 7:29:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > ASUS > ASUS RS720-E7/RS12-E 2U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602-A PCH DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Barebone Server
Pros: We bought this to use as a backup server. Everything besides a processor and RAM is included (including 2 power supplies) and installation is easy. The on-board RAID card and program is easy to use and works great.
Cons: The boot time is a little long, but that might be fixed with more RAM.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend this. It very easy to build and setup even with only moderate IT experience.
Reviewed By:Kevin P.,3/27/2014 9:56:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5017C-MF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1155 Intel C202 DDR3 1333/1066/800

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Terrific Bare-Bones Server
Pros: Excellent set of features for the money. Real server, not a desktop system repackaged in a 1U chassis. This mobo includes IPMI. Space for two 3 1/2" hard drives. Accessories include mounting brackets for a slim note-book style DVD drive.
Cons: Doesn't come with rails and this server is too heavy and deep to safely mount only by its ears. Plan on getting the rails: MCP-290-00004-03 with it. Maybe -1 star is too harsh for this fault.
Reviewed By:ScottyDM,3/24/2014 5:56:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5027R-WRF 2U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 2011 Intel C602 DDR3 1600/1333/1066

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 High quality
Pros: Metal work well machined, everything fits smoothly. Motherboard fully compatible with FreeBSD 10.
Cons: Not really a con, but the chassis comes with a CPU heatsink. Don't buy one by mistake because Newegg won't pay for the return shipping on the surplus heatsink.
Other Thoughts: If you're going to run a ZFS RAID-Z2 filesystem, you're going to need 6 drives to make it worthwhile. Throw in a hot spare and you'll need a minimum of 7 drive bays. This chassis has 8 bays, so it is the minimum I'd get.

The motherboard's SATA interfaces are a mixed bag. If you are going to use ZFS, you're better off getting an LSI Internal SATA/SAS 9211-8i 6Gb/s PCI-Express 2.0 RAID Controller Card, reflash to disable on-board RAID. If so, you need to buy the multilane internal breakout cables and replace the cables that are used in the chassis.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/23/2014 2:37:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-7047R-TRF 4U Rackmountable / Tower Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602 DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't support GPU's - bad warranty
Pros: When assembled with two Xeon quad cores, four HD, and 64Gb Ram, it seemed to run just fine. It had all the features it claimed, except that only six of the 8 3.5" bays are usable simultaneously, (two are for backup?). It booted and ran fine.
Cons: I had two GPU's on my system, a Tesla K20 and an ASUS GTX680. The motherboard died with a few months of very low usage. When it died it fried two of the drive bays. I purchased a new motherboard, but it too died after a couple of months. Supermicro wouldn't replace it under the warranty. Don't buy this product if you're running GPU's, or if you want a valid warranty.
Reviewed By:Emerald,3/20/2014 10:01:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau