Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-7038A-I Mid-Tower Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C612 DDR4 2133/1866/1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: Good quality, easy access inside. Run well with Window 10 pro X64.
Cons: When you shut it down complete, most of the time the led stay open and flash! And it's all way look for the internet connection to a pre-am loading of window server first. That take time in booting.
Reviewed By:Andre D.,9/18/2016 6:33:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5019S-L 1U Rackmount Server Barebone Single Socket H4 (LGA 1151) Intel C232 DDR4 2133/1866/1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product, easy to install
Pros: easy to setup, small appliance perfect for small cabinet
Cons: No Cons for me, perfect setup
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/12/2016 5:14:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > Supermicro SYS-5028D-TN4T Mini Tower Server wtih X10SDV-TLN4F Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wow!
Pros: Fun city on a Saturday night!
Cons: Tight fit for your fat fumbling man hands.
Reviewed By:KIP G.,8/28/2016 6:42:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > ASUS > ASUS TS700-X7/PS4 5U Pedestal Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602-A PCH DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 straight facts, not available anymore but was blessing from kind overlords
Pros: dual 2011 cpu series for this price
very good and stable north bridge
max memory support incredible
supports sata 300 for clearance deals
has dual sata raid support, lsi is very rare
the gpu is so obvious that if you think this is a bad deal you should cry
dual pcie16 is a bonus but not really needed for a server and pike is also if you're real nerdy
dual 1000 lan, yes most modern servers have this but consider it on a deal
has com, pretty rare
has 3.0 on a deal server
3 rj45 is overkill but good
never even heard of 3 year warranty on a server meant for mass raid which even supports old gen sata
Cons: oc ddr3 support, yeah its overkill but some oc configs are very stable
maybe satae support since a lot of esatas are floating around and can be fixed then attached to a server
no lsi raid 5 support
graphics is a little overkill, if this was possibly extra money spent that could go elsewhere then would be good. if was a deal then its lucky
better heatsinks for pcie x16 especially if can be run on gen3
sidenote: the lan communications is great but maybe possible to have similar second lan for greater support
more com
uart com support
i expect drm but wasnt listed in spec
more space on the back header to increase distance between ports. some usb modules are huge nowadays and extensions cost money
no psu specifications given on web
maybe include extra bronze heatsink caps for certain parts of the mb if customers are doing stable OC'ing
Other Thoughts: on the psu watt: people want more and more watt on server nowadays but consider the usage of this. it is for mass raid. do you really need enough watts to run two pci16? do you really need watts to oc so much? i doubt you will install enough modules on every server to justify extra watts. not only that, having more watts increases instability, increases cost, decreases efficiency, and may lead to surges if you dont get quality psu. thus the 500w bronze plus psu is actually very good for this product and upfront cost effective (the bronze standard i mean). however, you MAY need more watts for more modern system stuff.
Reviewed By:Michael R.,8/23/2016 11:34:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5019S-L 1U Rackmount Server Barebone Single Socket H4 (LGA 1151) Intel C232 DDR4 2133/1866/1600

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Installing Windows 7 or Server 2008 on this system is excruciating
Pros: It runs cool and quite
It is a great value
Excellent form factor
Cons: The Windows 7 compatibility mode in the BIOS is nearly useless, it emulates a PS/2 keyboard and mouse and that is it. Much anguish could have been avoided by including a legacy USB controller to compensate for Skylake's lake of it. Unless you are content to use AHCI mode and forego RAID installing Server 2008 or Windows 7 becomes a nightmare. I tried any number of techniques to add the RAID drivers to boot.wim on the installation media but it just didn't work. I had to buy a Startech PCIe to PCI riser card (which doesn't actually fit the chassis) as well as a USB2 card just to install the Intel RAID drivers. There are any number of ways SuperMicro could have worked around this limitation. I may be misreading it but I don't interpret SuperMicro's compatibility statement for the motherboard in this system to indicate RAID incompatibility.
Other Thoughts: Now that the system is up and running I have obtained a working combination of hardware to facilitate loading the essential drivers I have no doubt I will be satisfied in the long-run. But I believe many less stubborn than I would have given up.

I am unclear on the purpose utilizing the ASPEED VGA when memory is allocated to the Intel HD graphics built-in to the CPU regardless.
Reviewed By:Trevor M.,8/18/2016 7:36:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-TN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Even more than I expected it to be... or rather, smaller than I expected it to be.
Pros: Easy to setup and get running.
Small form factor yet has adequate space to add things even for people with big hands such as myself.
Quiet (more about this later).
8 core beast with extremely small wattage footprint.
pfSense install a breeze.
1Gb x4 Ethernet adapters.
Many options in the BIOS that I would or could never use.
Good for home use even if you don't have a server rack.
Allows for SATA DOM in which I purchased this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816139089.
IPMI link to get to the bios and see other useful information from LAN.
200 Watt 80 plus Gold PSU. (I didn't pay attention enough to know it was 80 plus Gold)
Cons: Not really a con but enabling watchdog in the bios made my system restart every 5 or less minutes. I thought for sure it was the memory or something even worse but after reading online of not having the drivers for watchdog and enabling it will cause random reboots.

Installing the HDDs from the bottom is kind of tough to do from basically any angle I found. The HDD screws they give you are coarse thread and not fine thread. I had to use my own personal screws to install a 2.5 inch HDD. The screws might work for their HDD bracket that you can by separately though. (I have not personally tested this so don't take my word for it)
Other Thoughts: The Supermicro Atom board is super tiny. I guess I'm not used to the ITX format as i usually stick with ATX and micro ATX, but its amazing how much they can put on these boards.

Above I mentioned the noise as being quiet and it is. Some people have said it is loud and or it has a certain frequency to it and yeah it make some noise but its nowhere as noisy as a gaming rig or any other 1U server case. Although I would not recommend putting it near yourself or under your desk that you work on, but if its a corner just like mine is on a corner bookshelf built into my apartment, its barely noticeable. It does not perform intense tasks and that might be another reason why it may not be that loud so take that for what its worth.

One thing I had a problem with when installing pfsense, but yet has not relevance to the server itself is needing to spoof the MAC address of my old router in the pfsense settings. I think this is because Comcast, my ISP, saves the router MAC address and only allows this one for whatever reason. I performed a full 30/30/30 reboot of the modem but still it would not allow me into the internet until I spoofed it.

Even though not officially supported on the Supermicro supported memory list for this board this Kingston 8GB unbuffered ECC SO-DIMM 1600 RAM works out of the box. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820239702.
Reviewed By:kenneth s.,8/13/2016 9:37:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018D-MTF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C224 Express PCH DDR3 1600

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk
Pros: It turns on!
Cons: I bought this Sept of 2015 and it took for ever to install windows server 2008 on it. SuperMicro doesn't have drivers for the second network adapter. In fact finding drivers was nearly impossible. However, after searching the internet I found what I needed to function. I now need to reinstall the 64bit version of the OS and here we go again. Now after installing the drivers I have found once I restart the computer I get an error saying it cannot connect to "Group Policy Service Client" and it will connect find every 5th or 6th reboot. Still no driver for the •Intel® i217LM adapter. This has been my only SuperMiro Server and it will be my last. I have built Tyan and never had one problem!
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this product to anyone
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. According to Intel, the driver of Intel i217-LM is only available for Windows Server 2008 R2 or newer OS. If you still have any question, feel free to contact our Technical Support. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!

SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Wayne J.,7/27/2016 4:29:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-7048R-TR 4U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C612 DDR4 2133/1866/1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 AMAZING NUMA SUPPORT
Pros: For a server that supports 2 CPU's the price/benefit cannot be beat - NUMA ALL THE WAY!
Includes redundant power supplies!
Tested with Server 2012 Essentials & Hyper-V, clocks at 95% of Host CPU speed.
Fans are fast and breezy for the wattage this unit burns.
Nicely molded air diverters to concentrate airflow over heatsinks and RAM!
Overall A+
Cons: NADA!
Other Thoughts: Consider investing in a workstation graphics card for superior Hyper-V & RemoteFX support
Need to install two different (primary & secondary) RAID drivers to get both controllers running in tandem - iatastorS in order to get dual raid running on this sucker. But once you do, boy oh boy SSD primary's raid 1+0 and secondary raid 1+0 is solid!
Reviewed By:Matthew P.,7/25/2016 8:28:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > Supermicro SYS-5028D-TN4T Mini Tower Server wtih X10SDV-TLN4F Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well.
Pros: Easy to setup, IPMI, works seamlessly with Linux.
Cons: IPMI does not give power consumption
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/14/2016 12:13:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018D-MF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C222 Express PCH DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent barebone system for running ESXi
Pros: - Perfect form-factor for my 18U rack enclosure
- Runs cool.
- Moderate noise level.
- Excellent power efficiency.
- USB on motherboard.
- PCI-e riser included.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: This is my second SuperMicro server (I've a 5018A-TN4 as well) in 2 years and I am pretty satisfied with both of these.

My configuration includes 32GB of Crucial RAM and E3 1231 v3 processor. I use the on-board USB for OS installation and a 1TB green drive as my datastore.

I use this one as an ESXi host to run my development environment. Currently, I am running 5 VMs which includes, CentOS 7, Ubuntu 16.02, VMA and Windows 2008R2. No driver issues, No lag in performance at all. With the E31231 processor, this is a monster.
Reviewed By:Nishant S.,5/23/2016 11:56:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.