Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > Intel > Intel Server System R1304RPMSHOR Barebone System - 1U Rack-mountable - Socket H3 LGA-1150 - 1 x Processor Support

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Firmware updates may be a required nightmare
Pros: Reliable, cost effective, reasonable bios, boot, and management options included
Cons: When installed, it was the loudest, whiniest server I've ever had. Apparently this was a system integrator issue, even though Intel seems to have been the system integrator. I had to find the firmware/fru/BIOS updater from Intel, unzip, copy to thumb drive, boot through EFI to run thumb drive updater, then manually apply the default config with the EFI tools included with the firmware updater utilities. Now it's fairly quiet. Booting from the included CD when connected to the internet attempted to downgrade my BIOS and firmware! :-(
Other Thoughts: The Remote Management lacks KVM unless you get the RMM4 add-on.
Reviewed By:Edward F.,2/3/2016 2:13:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-MLTN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone (Black) FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good chassis
Pros: Cheap
small
No issues with PSU so far.
Running solid for over a year as a PFSense router
Energy efficient
Cons: Poor mounting options for 2.5" drives internally
Other Thoughts: No hotswap bays
Would've only taken off half a star for lack of 2.5" mounting options if it were possible. Annoying but not that big of a deal.
Reviewed By:Jonathan W.,2/2/2016 6:52:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-MHN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone (Black) FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great machine to work with
Pros: Low power,
VM ESXi support,
QUIET!!!! I have fans on switches that run louder that the pair of these.
Cons: Just some minor tweaking needing to be done:
No extra fan for anything, had to install extra fan for additional quad port NIC;
SATA cables need to be upgraded/change the format/direction(right angle instead of straight) of the SATA plugs would help.
Need to change rack mounts to support two pole racks, not just four pole racks.
Bottom lip on rear of server makes removing RJ45s hard, have to use a flat head or similiar to get off.
Management port default on, should be off.
Wish for the option to have dual Atom processors!
Other Thoughts: Awesome device. I am using a pair as vm servers for a LAMP cluster. I have eight linux machines running on each them, and no hickups at all. Well one, make sure that you get the right RAM. I didn't, and had to wait another 5 days to get them running.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. If you have any question, feel free to contact us.

Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Joseph M.,1/20/2016 8:42:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018D-MTLN4F 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C224 PCH chipset DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent little 1U
Pros: - Easy assembly
- Supermicro reliability
Cons: I have 2 of these in a production environment. One of them has been a workhorse for over a year. I have experienced no problems with these units.
Other Thoughts: I am using these as a firewall for 2 small businesses. Running pfSense 2.2 nano, a low cost crucial ssd, and the following cpu and ram

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117449
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820239667
Reviewed By:Brian C.,1/1/2016 7:36:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-FTN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing as a high end router & IDS/IPS box!!!
Pros: - Great price point for the purpose I needed.
- Has built-in IPMI so no need for a keyboard or monitor, just use the network cable on that and give it an IP.
- Stone quiet which is always good!
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: This is currently serving as a pfsense router and IDS/IPS box. It works really well. Super quiet and stable. Have recommended it to a bunch of my peers and friends who are security folks. Has 1 NIC for IPMI and 4 NIC's for other functions so lots of room for growth.
Reviewed By:Josh L.,12/30/2015 10:46:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5017C-LF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1155 Intel C202 DDR3 1333/1066/800

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great if you know what you're doing.
Pros: This is a nice small, inexpensive server barebones. It's relatively quiet and wonderfully reliable. The built-in remote-access controller is an awesome bonus. Works great with a Xeon E3-1220 V2. Supports (and requires) ECC memory.
Cons: There's only room for a single 3.5" hard drive. With a little creativity and the right SATA cable, you can attach a pair of 2.5" drives and RAID them with Intel's software RAID BIOS (Windows only, of course), but it's a bit hacky. The shortness might be a problem if you have a deep rack. :) It does not have a redundant power supply, so please don't use this for hosting production VMs.
Other Thoughts: Socket 1150 processors only support 32GB of RAM max. RAM compatibility isn't a problem if you specifically shop for RAM that is on SuperMicro's HCL or that the RAM maker guarantees works with the specific model of motherboard (X9SCL-F). You must use ECC, unregistered memory.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/29/2015 2:53:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > Intel > Intel R1304RPOSHBN 1U Rack Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C224 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not Actually Rack Mountable
Pros: Its 1U
Cons: Though designed to be rack mounted, the included hardware makes that completely impossible. Instead, you must also buy the associated rails ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=16-117-448 ). The hardware included DOES NOT allow the machine to be rack mounted.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/17/2015 4:58:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-7046A-T Workstation/Server Nehalem-ready Barebone, Dual LGA1366 Intel Xeon 5600/5500 Series (4U Rackmountable)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOES NOT SUPPORT SERVER 2012 or RAID 10
Pros: Quiet and Fair price
Cons: The motherboard does NOT support Server 2012 or Raid 10 as specified. I paid a technician $2,500 to get this machine up and running. They tried everything. In the end, the best they could do was load a discontinued copy of Server 2008 on Raid 5 and only have access to 2TB of hard drive space. This system is falsely advertised by SUPERMICRO. Also, newegg offers bundle and save with server 2012, why do this if it is not supported by the motherboard?
Other Thoughts: Doe Not support and current server software by Microsoft.
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. Please kindly contact our technical support so that we can find out more about your configuration and work with you in finding a solution. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!

SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:N/A,12/15/2015 9:07:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5017A-EF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1333/1066/800

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great platform
Pros: I have deployed about 20 of this model. The dedicated IPMI port is great. Four SATA ports give you flexibility - I usually deploy with 1x 2.0TB 2.5" drive and 1x 512GB SSD as a utility Linux server. There are two places to mount drives, so you could go with 2x 3.5" drives, 4x 2.5" drives, or 2x 2.5" and 1x 3.5. If you need to put an add-on card in here you lose one of the drive mounting areas. That said, I have mounted a raid card and some SSD's but it was very squished.
Cons: Some have come with low CMOS batteries. Just check the voltage in IMPI before deploying. The servers that have been delivered since August '15 have all had 3.2v+ and are fine.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/27/2015 2:46:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SSG-6047R-E1R24N 4U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602 DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing unit, performance, and value!
Pros: Years ago we abandoned the name brand outlets in favor of building our own servers. We have a data center and had looked for a cost effective solution without sacrificing quality and performance. These SuperMicro's have been the ticket. This is the fourth time we have purchased the SSG-6047R-E1R24N. We have yet to have any issues with any of these units. In each of the units we have put in 512 GB of memory with 24 drives. We have a fairly large and resource intensive application for medical software that we run on these. Each server will support 48-64 clinics in this configuration which equates to roughly 650-700 users accessing the server. I would recommend getting the MCP-220-84606-0N rear-side HDD kit. This will allow for 2x2.5" drives which we place the OS in a RAID 1 SSD configuration. This allows for full use of the drive bays for user storage.
Cons: We are now 8 SuperMicro servers in and regardless of model, I have yet to run into an issue. No complaints here whatsoever!
Other Thoughts: One major side benefit of SuperMicro chassis is the built in IP KVM that they call IPMI. It works like a champ and replaces extremely expensive IP KVM hardware.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/16/2015 5:58:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.