Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5037C-T Pedestal Server Barebone LGA 1155 Intel C204 DDR3 1333/1066

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Economy Server Barebones Kit!
Pros: This is a great Server barebones kit. I've installed several of these for my clients, so here is a first hand experience of what this barbones kit includes:
- Case
- Motherboard (LGA1155 Socket compatibility)
- 500w Power Supply
- Hard Drive brackets
- Pack of various screws
- Power cable
- Drivers disc
- Built-in VGA monitor plug

You will need to purchase the following seperately:
- Intel processor (LGA1155 socket) I recommend Intel Xeon E3-1270 v2 or v3
- 240-pin DDR3 Unbuffered Server Memory (up to 32gb)
- Hard Drives (it does have a built-in raid controller) I like WD 10K Velociraptor drives for economy builds
*If you choose SAS drives, you will need a PCI-E 2.0 SAS raid controller card
- Optical Drive (DVD-R/RW)

*It does NOT have a built-in serial port plug on the back. If you need one, get the following:
- RS-232 Serial port PCI card (mobo does have plug for Serial cable and can be attached to perforated cut-out on back)

This case is great for economy builds and has plenty of room inside of it. The structural quality is good and airflow is just 'decent'. I always add a 2000 rpm 120mm fan to the back and one in the inside at the front for better airflow.

Important note: Always setup the raid before installing the OS!!!
Cons: No built in serial port, but not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: This server barebones case is a step up from a standard computer case. It's not much to look at, but servers aren't supposed to be 'pretty'.

It does lack a few things that a high quality server would have, like dual power supplies, dual processor sockets, etc. However, it is the best "bang-for-your-buck" as far as economy server builds are concerned IMHO.
Reviewed By:Techno-Mo,9/4/2014 8:24:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > Habey > Habey FW-1044 19" Rackmount Server Barebone Intel NM10 240-pin DDR3 UDIMM, Low Profile Single Sided Only

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Perfect pfSense router
Pros: - Rackmount
- Fanless (quiet!)
- Front Ethernet ports
- Perfect for pfSense
Cons: - Runs a bit hot
- Tricky memory requirements
Other Thoughts: As another reviewer has noted, Crucial CT51264BA160B *will not work*. The memory must be single-sided, i.e. all the memory chips must be on one side. I used Crucial CT12864BA1339 and that worked fine.
Reviewed By:DavidS,8/28/2014 7:22:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > ASUS > ASUS TS700-X7/PS4 5U Pedestal Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602-A PCH DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stay away
Pros: Cheap, Barebones server, BMC
Cons: I have 23 of these online. Three of them (one recently) had a complete RAID corruption happen without warning. I have setup RAID10 on the LSI onboard and also RAID5 with a hotspare and seen both configurations completely fail. That is NOT what RAID is for and neither should have happened. If you want to spin the wheel and hope you don't have to recover using a backup, get the ASUS TSx00 series. If you want to avoid getting THAT call, go with another manufactures server
Other Thoughts: They are great, until.......
Reviewed By:swalkenshaw,8/25/2014 3:27:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-FTN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pretty happy
Pros: cost, size, low-noise, low-power, 8 cores, IPMI, quad gigabit eth. It's not extremely fast, but makes a good home lab server, or even a work lab server if you're concerned about power consumption.
Cons: I have a couple of occasional issues at boot time. I suspect this is a firmware issue on the server, but it is transient and after a couple of tries, it comes up normally. I would consider this a showstopper under other circumstances, but for my home lab, it's just a minor inconvenience. Once up, it seems to stay up (CentOS 6.5).
Reviewed By:jxstanford,8/18/2014 7:01:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-FTN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent PFSense Router
Pros: Tested at home with basic lan setup. System was very peppy, and extremely quick. With 8GB of Ram and a nice 120 Intel SSD the system booted in under a minute (Post tests and such).
Great hardware for a strong and reliable system.
Cons: Expansion is difficult with only one PCI-e slot, but should be workable, most of the routing with this as a router should be done by smart switches anyway.
Other Thoughts: Excellent router, build it yourself here, or get Netgate to build you one, Either way, excellent buy.
Reviewed By:Broked Computer,8/17/2014 8:51:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5038D-I Mid-Tower Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C222 DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Well
Pros: Worked right away with no issues. Running it with:

Intel E3-1241 v3 3.5GHz (N82E16819117315)
32 GB ram from Crucial (2 x N82E16820148770)
Cons: I can't figure out how to disable IPMI.
Other Thoughts: Definitely recommended.
Reviewed By:Billy,8/13/2014 7:44:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > ASUS > ASUS TS100-E8-PI4 Tower Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C222 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing SMB Server Build, 15 minute setup!
Pros: - Pre wire managed for up to 4 SATA hard drives plus DVD-ROM
- super fast build: install processor, RAM, mount hard drives on rails then insert and plug them in - done
- Supports RAID and Xeon Processors
- Comes with a DVD-ROM
- Works great with Server 2012 Essentials
- Motherboard features tons of expansion slots and nice features!
Cons: - Needs a bios update for the raid configuration option to work! You won't be able to follow the instructions in the manual to enter the RAID configuration without a BIOS update
- this isn't a real problem as you should update the bios on all server builds before deployment! Added only 5 minutes to my first build..
Other Thoughts: I have installed two of these and am working my tail off to sell another few of these! Use to custom build all my servers, but this build is a dream come true! Literally 15 minutes from unpacking to Windows Server loading screen! Love it!
Reviewed By:MICHAEL E.,8/10/2014 12:49:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > Intel > Intel P4308IP4LHJC 4U Pedestal, rackable Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Build Platfor
Pros: Needed a good base to build a CAD machine and this was the perfect start. Paired with a set of 10-Core Intel CPUs, 128GB of RAM, a set of QUADRO video cards, and a few SSDs this computer is amazing.
Cons: Only con I can think of is that fact that there are no power cables to install a GPU at all. These need to be purchased, not a big deal, just wish they were included.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/9/2014 6:13:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-7046T-NTR+ 4U Rackmountable / Tower Server Barebone Dual LGA 1366 Intel 5520 DDR3 1333/1066/800

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Server
Pros: This is a great base build server, excellent hardware, very heavy but its not a laptop its a server. I've installed these in a bunch of offices I work for, they are very fast utilizing both nicks, and smoking fast filling the bays with memory and having dual Xeons.
Cons: Only con is finding the video card driver, its on the disk but you need to manually find and install it, once that's done its clear sailing
Other Thoughts: I love these boxes. They're solid thus far and have made some very happy clients.
Reviewed By:Jeff S,7/31/2014 8:32:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Barebones > ASUS > ASUS RS700-E7/RS4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602-A PCH DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 One DOA, another self-rebooting
Pros: Well, it was an awesome price point for the features.... if it had worked. Asus support was easy to contact though. They answered my support call right away, and the guy I talked to was knowledgeable and even tested the behavior I was describing against the same server live on his end. Told me my motherboard was bad.
Cons: It didn't work. One server was DOA. The other server would flash the Asus logo screen during boot 7-8 times. It would cycle between the Asus logo and BIOS text. Bootup took a very long time, minutes before it would start to load the OS. I called Asus Server Support and they told me I had a bad motherboard.
Other Thoughts: You get what you pay for. Maybe I just coincidentally got two lemons. Maybe. I really wanted the Asus to be a good server because of how cheap it was. Now I'm headed for Lenovo RD540 probably, next closest thing. At the time of writing this NewEgg didn't have any Asus RS700s in stock and none on backorder... so clearly they aren't that popular, perhaps this is why?
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2014 7:53:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau