Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Desktop PCs > iBUYPOWER > iBUYPOWER Phantom Series NE657FX Desktop PC AMD FX-Series FX-9590 (4.70GHz) 8GB DDR3 1TB Serial-ATA-III Hard Drive +120GB SSD HDD Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 RMA Complete - NO CHANGE
Pros: -High end components
-Boots fast
Cons: -Motherboard doesn't actually support CPU
-Setting BIOS to "load optimized presets'" caused looping BSOD while trying to boot. Had to reinstall Windows.
Other Thoughts: So, I recently RMA'd this unit because I was under suspicion that the GPU was bad (it had a visibly warped piece). A rush was placed on it since I'd only had the unit for a few days, and the tech theorized that the CPU may be the culprit as he currently had several different model machines all with the FX-9590. It took a phone call and about a month to get my unit back.

Nothing was provided in terms of what was done for diagnostics or repairs. I've never RMA'd anything before and find this to make no sense. I'd like to see what was actually determined to be the issue, and what was done to my unit. Anyway, I was happy to get the unit back a few days ago, BUT......

I still have ALL of the issues I had before, except for random system lockups. I still cannot play any games for more than about 5 minutes before the framerate starts dropping. I started doing some research into the motherboard (My unit reports it as 970A-D3P, not 970A-UD3 as answered in the Q&A for this product), and have discovered that it does not even officially support the FX-9590 CPU, or any 9000 series CPU for that matter. The 970A-UD3 also doesn't support it. Further reading suggests that there are safeguards in place where the CPU will throttle if it reaches a certain temperature, in this case around 45c.

That's fine and all, but the dang unit already idles at that for me, or higher. So not only does this machine use a CPU the motherboard doesn't even officially support, the cooling solution in place doesn't seem to be up to the task in the first place.

I'm about to demand a refund. Buyer beware.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/11/2014 1:51:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop PCs > CyberpowerPC > CyberpowerPC Gamer Ultra 2140 Desktop PC AMD FX-Series FX-6300 (3.50GHz) 8GB DDR3 500GB HDD Windows 8.1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Nice Starter.
Pros: Nice computer, nice look, works well, lots of room for upgrading, no bulky extra programming.
Cons: Windows 8.1
Reviewed By:Kentcdn,7/11/2014 1:30:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop PCs > iBUYPOWER > iBUYPOWER Source Series NE651FX Desktop PC AMD FX-Series FX-4300 (3.80GHz) 8GB DDR3 1TB HDD Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Love It
Pros: The computer came with Windows 7, which is what I was looking for in a computer. The speed was up there with what I wanted. I thought I was getting a computer with 2 sticks of 4GB of RAM, so I bought a little extra to add to it. To my surprise I received the computer with 1 stick of 8GB! Yay!
Cons: Not really a Con, but the lit up computer isn't my thing (any more). I had one 10 years ago, but like I said, it's not really a con.
Other Thoughts: I've enjoyed this computer very much. It's accepted everything that I have needed to plug into it.
Reviewed By:KCPhil,7/11/2014 1:25:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop PCs > Lenovo > Lenovo X700 Intel Core i7 12GB DDR3 1TB + 128GB SSD GTX 660 1.5GB (57316914)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Lenova X700
Pros: I bought the Lenova X700 to play SWTOR. The game plays great on the highest settings and I do not get the slow downs when visiting the fleet and there are tons of other players running around. This X700 is so quiet when using that only the blue light from the case indicates that it is powered on.
Cons: no cons
Other Thoughts: The appearance of the case is different, but I like it. Also the overclock button.
Reviewed By:ricwon,7/11/2014 7:44:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop PCs > iBUYPOWER > iBUYPOWER ARC Series NE611FX Desktop PC AMD FX-Series FX-4300 (3.80GHz) 4GB DDR3 1TB HDD Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome PC!!
Pros: Bought this computer to be able to run applications and do things my mac cannot. VERY happy with this purchase, it is VERY affordable for it's specs. I like the design of the case, just wish the case was a bit smaller. Runs very quiet, and very smoothly. Comes with a lot of USB ports. Runs games smoothly. Does everything it says it does.
Cons: Case could be a little smaller, but that is not a big issue.
Other Thoughts: In summary, I am very happy with my decision to purchase this PC.
Reviewed By:Matthew,7/10/2014 9:18:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop PCs > Hewlett-Packard > HP Compaq 6000 Pro Desktop PC Pentium E6500 (2.93GHz) 4GB DDR3 250GB HDD Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Hmmmmm
Pros: The system is perfect for what I need, enough RAM, CPU is more than fast enough for what I do. Hard Drive is slow but I'm coming from a laptop with SSD so I think I will upgrade the hard rive to SSD within a few weeks. The system is ready to go providing you have a monitor.. it's actually a very good system. I use it for web developing and I needed two 1080p monitors.. the pictures show DVI, display port and VGA. VGA is out of the questions so connecting 1 monitor to DP and 1 to DVI is perfect... BUT!!!!!
Cons: THERE IS NO DVI ON THE PC I RECEIVED!! So I'm not able to connect my monitors :-(

I did complain to newegg and they offered $10 refund so I could buy a DVI card locally.. not sure where these guys shop but I've never seen a $10 DVI card.

So they have escalated the complaint to the refurb guys who hopefully can send me one.. if not then I'll have to RMA the PC which is a shame.
Reviewed By:Adrian,7/10/2014 5:16:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop PCs > iBUYPOWER > iBUYPOWER ARC Series NE611FX Desktop PC AMD FX-Series FX-4300 (3.80GHz) 4GB DDR3 1TB HDD Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unforgivable
Pros: I dunno, it shipped?
Cons: I had problems from the start with this PC and eventually it totally crapped out on me. A couple months ago, I contacted the manufacturer as newegg suggested, jumped through their hoops until they had me ship some components to them for testing. (CPU, motherboard, memory) It appears they weren't careful when opening the package as they claim the memory never arrived. It was bubble wrapped and had memory written on the bubble wrap in black marker. It was detailed on the contents description and the whole package was weighed. When they claimed they couldn't find the memory, I asked for pictures of the packaging and the weight of the package. (I had the receipt from the post office that detailed contents and exact weight) Instead, they stopped replying to me and shipped only the motherboard ecu back in their own packing (which likely caused damage as it was simply thrown in a box with peanuts with no protection) There is just no other way to put it, iBuypower is extremely negligent and the products they sell are poor quality for which they offer virtually zero support for, despite their warranty.
Other Thoughts: I'm giving Newegg the chance to make good on this before I start filing a credit card claim/chargeback, get a police report, file a small claims case, and basically go on full attack as it is unforgivable how much time and money I've wasted on this defective PC, only to have the manufacturer steal the memory, damage the motherboard, and totally ignore my very reasonable and honest attempts at resolving the issue. Judging by the feedback on this item alone many other customers are having similar experiences.
Reviewed By:RJ,7/10/2014 5:07:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop PCs > iBUYPOWER > iBUYPOWER ARC Series NE611FX Desktop PC AMD FX-Series FX-4300 (3.80GHz) 4GB DDR3 1TB HDD Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 AVOID This PC & this Manufacturer
Pros: Looks nice
Cons: Dependability. Owned it for 2 weeks, video card failure. 2 more weeks, mainboard failure. 2 more weeks, memory failure.
Other Thoughts: The manufacturer downgraded this system when sent back in for repairs at my expense. The machine came back, not able to power on and the mainboard no longer supported the Hot drive bay, mic port, or any other controls on top of case. Avoid this, Terrible PC!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reviewed By:Tom,7/10/2014 5:00:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop PCs > Gateway > Gateway SX Series SX2110G-UW23 (DT.GEPAA.002) Desktop PC AMD Dual-Core Processor E1-1500 (1.48GHz) 6GB DDR3 500GB HDD Windows 8 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 An good W8.1 machine If your expecations are realistic
Pros: A good Win 8.1 machine for someone with modest needs and some patience. Plenty of RAM for everyday tasks and even heavy video editing if you are patient. Very low power consumption. I don't think I measured anything much beyond 30 watts once booted, and only a few watts when idling.
Cons: Not a negative, but realize the speed is more like one of the hotter netbooks. I couldn't find the secret of creating backup disks, or any other way to be able to restore if the hard drive crashed.
Other Thoughts: I bought this for a friend, so my observations are only during the time I had it for setup.

If you have a habit of closing down every task or window when you are ready for another, the amount of RAM in this machine makes that unnecessary and even undesirable if you are likely to open the window or task again.

There are only a couple Windows Update packages that are required to install Win 8.1. MS identifies these and they aren't hard to find in a search for Win 8.1 update requirements. Once these two updates are installed, Win 8.1 installs quickly and completely.
I didn't find a way to create backup disks. If you can't either, then use a backup program and external USB HD to save images of the partitions (and do it periodically). I use free version of Reflect. The Gateway support site doesn't cover the Win 8 version of this machine well, if at all.

This machine is a great value IF your expectations are realistic.
Reviewed By:Doug H,7/10/2014 2:21:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop PCs > CyberpowerPC > CyberpowerPC Gamer Ultra 2175 Desktop PC AMD FX-Series FX-8100 (2.8GHz) 8GB DDR3 500GB HDD Windows 8.1 64-bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 An Expensive Paper Weight
Pros: Good hardware, well put together. Runs pretty much any game out there right now.
Cons: Low power supply used, would be a real pain to upgrade this system much at all.
Other Thoughts: The manufacturer installed this PC with a VLK copy of Windows 8.1 home, and never switched it to a valid key. We get a popup every hour about our copy of windows being stolen and deactivated. I've spent TWO DAYS on the phone and in live chat with CyberpowerPC, only for them to tell me it's my problem now. Will never recommend buying one of these to another of my 1,500+ customers ever again. Now "I" have to buy him a valid copy of Windows 8 to make it right. Newegg VERY QUICKLY directed me to where I could find the information and the phone number, CyberpowerPC, says they don't know whose problem it is but it's not theirs. Horrible customer service out of that company.

Don't be tricked into thinking hitting the star key ACTUALLY keeps you in queue either. They called back 4 days later.
Reviewed By:Clayton J,7/10/2014 2:16:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau