Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Floppy Drives > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Black 1.44MB Internal Floppy Drive Model BT-145

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Three popular bezel colors. Direct plug-n-play internal floppy drive.
Cons: Does not come with cable.
Reviewed By:Chrisbot,11/18/2014 6:08:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Black 1.44/1.25 MB 3.5" External USB Floppy Drive Model BT-144

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Are you still using a floppy disk??
Pros: Windows 7 saw the drive and I was able to access "old" files from the 1990's with no problems. USB cable length is perfect to sit the drive on top of the case and plug it into the front computer case USB ports.
Cons: None for this drive. It works perfectly.
Other Thoughts: Makes a 5400 rpm IDE HDD look fast. Bought this for someone else to use for transfering data to "older windows machines". Godspeed.
Reviewed By:mosestech,10/28/2014 9:51:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Black 1.44/1.25 MB 3.5" External USB Floppy Drive Model BT-144

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not satisfied at all.
Pros: N/A
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: I can't really say if this product is good or bad.

But I can say that I ordered the first one. It was destroyed when I opened it from the retail packaging. MIssing the front door, it would not accept any disk at all.

I took the time to RMA through Newegg which cost me $10 return shipping. Which was roughly half the cost of the drive its self. But to help me recover some old family photo's it was a little price to pay. When I recieved the RMA Replacment today. I immediately installed the drive again and went about taking the task of trying to read my disks. Much to my suprise the drive would not read my disks. I thought maybe it was just one or two but after about 10 disks later It still would not read any of them. A friend of mine in the process took one of the disks over to his house to read them on his Vista Computer. He had no problems.

So I guess I'm stuck with drive now. It doesn't work, and its not worth it to send it back. If I did it would cost me another $10. I just can't rationalize $20 shipping on the cost of the drive itself. Bytecc has lost my business forever. Not to mention I pretty sure this drive corrupted 2 of my disks.

Buyer beware, I hope others have better luck than I did.
Reviewed By:Chris,10/24/2014 12:43:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Black 1.44MB Internal Floppy Drive Model BT-145

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Functional Floppy Disk Drive
Pros: This is a functional floppy disk drive with a conventional 34-pin data/control interface and a conventional 4-pin power input interface.

The legacy (ISA/LPC/Super I/O) floppy disk controller protocol has been thoroughly well-established for a very long time now. In fact, the technology is obsolescent. So, in my view, in order to get 5 stars, all the thing needs to do is work as described. This unit does work as described.

The dimensions of the drive are stable: it fit smoothly into the floppy drive slot in my case, all pin connectors fit smoothly ,and the mounting screw hole locations are where they should be. The bezels are easy to snap on and off, and fit snugly. The operation of the disk-grabbing mechanism and eject button is smooth and solid.

The drive successfully reads, writes and formats disks with no problem. The write-protect functionality works as designed. The indicator LED lights up appropriately when the drive is busy.

All in all, a functional floppy disk drive unit.
Cons: Slight residue and light dust on some internal surfaces of the unit.
Other Thoughts: Based on previous reviews, and considering the obsolescent nature of the technology, I had some concern that I might get a used or re-branded drive, but this appears to be a new or like-new unit. As described, it comes with three different bezels and matching eject buttons (black, neutral, silver). It also comes with four mounting screws.

As far as I can tell, this is the only current-manufacture floppy disk drive left on the market. The classic industry-standard Sony MPF-920 hasn't been manufactured for some time, and prices for new models of that drive are getting into vintage territory.

I'm grateful that Bytecc is carrying the torch for this legacy product. It's a relief and pleasure to see that they've created a successful, function version of the product.
Reviewed By:Ben M,9/19/2014 12:38:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Black 1.44/1.25 MB 3.5" External USB Floppy Drive Model BT-144

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reliable!
Pros: No problems just plug in and ready to work on newer type Motherboards.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:Jon J.,9/11/2014 2:01:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Black 1.44MB Internal Floppy Drive Model BT-145

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Functinal, sometimes
Pros: Works as intended, as long as you get a functional one.
Cons: Bought two at the same time. one tested fine, the other corrupted any disk it was fed. Returned and exchanged for a functional one.
Other Thoughts: I made the mistake of installing this in a case before testing it. I wasted a good hour on a non-functional device. Always test floppy drives for installation! Since they're uncommon these days, they're subject to manufacturing defects.
Reviewed By:misterMcCoonie,7/21/2014 5:12:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Black 1.44/1.25 MB 3.5" External USB Floppy Drive Model BT-144

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA on First use!
Pros: None
Cons: Dead upon first use!
Other Thoughts: Purchased this Floppy disk drive and put in on my shelf where ist has been Since the endo of August 2011 still in the box. Purchased it for a "Just in case" situation where I might need to put some OS drivers onto a floppy for OS installation and this weekend that was the case! Pulled out the diskette drive attached it to a good system but the floppy drive was DOA. In the past i have not had any issues with Bytecc products but this drive did NOT match my past experiences!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2014 7:29:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > Nippon Labs > Nippon Labs Delux Black 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive Model NL-IFPY

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's a Floppy Drive OK?
Pros: I had to have a Floppy drive to install my RAID drives at the beginning of loading my OS WinXP on a PC-DL system.
It performs like a floppy drive should and is not as noisy as most. Sure it gives the usual Grip-Zang when booting up to test the drive, but what doo you expect from and Old-School PC-DL and a Floppy Drive.
Still my Dual Xeon's at 3.2 gig are still faster than many new Dual and Quad core CPU's on boot up and i can still run 7 intensive programs with Zero glitches.

Can't say that about many newer MoBo's.

Need a Floppy get this one she works good on Old-School systems
Cons: None really - it is a Floppy drive and the Front door did not fall off - So what the Hey.
Reviewed By:Train,6/6/2014 7:02:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > NEC > NEC Black 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive Model FD1231M

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Floppy Old School
Pros: When you need to have one - this is the one to get. My old-school system still need it to perform the Security RAID so sometimes you need one with a Older System.
Still Flopping lol
Cons: None - OEM drive
Reviewed By:Train,6/6/2014 4:25:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Black 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive Model SFD321B/LFBL1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good if you still use one
Pros: Great if you need it
Cons: Outdated
Reviewed By:Reviewer,5/1/2014 9:54:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.