Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Red NAS Hard Drive WD30EFRX 3TB IntelliPower 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" NAS Hard Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 reliable
Pros: So far none of my 30 WD Red gave up on me.
Some of them have more than 8000 hours on Linux ZFS volumes.
For the "price" they are the most reliable drives I found.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Why aren't all drive reliable ?
I do not really care about performance .. I just want them to work.
When I want speed I just use SSD anyway.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/30/2014 6:34:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Started failing before 1 year
Pros: -Cheap
-Hasn't completely died
-2 year warranty
Cons: -Errors and instability within 1-year mark
-Seagate warranty makes you pay for return shipping
Other Thoughts: This hard drive was purchased for an average user. The PC was primarily used to draw (photoshop/sai), play games on about medium settings, and school related work. It was the primary (and only) drive in that build.

At around 9 months, the PC would hang and generally be unresponsive much of the time. Seagate's diagnostic tool was used to provide more information. The drive would fail Short Self Drive Tests consistantly.

A fresh install of Windows 7 (2 fresh installs actually) resulted in continued hanging and instability. Swapped out the drive with a brand new one running a fresh install of Windows 7 and the system is running fine.

I find it very displeasing that the warranty requires me to pay for return shipping. I often find companies offering prepaid shipping labels which are very welcome. It's especially bothersome if the cost of shipping is a moderate fraction of the buying price of the drive. Shipping services alone cost about $13 and I paid $65 for the drive. In the unexpected event I have to RMA it again, It will cost me about 1/3 of the drive.

It also doesn't help that I have 3 other Western Digital Drives that are older and still running strong.
Reviewed By:Xyes,9/29/2014 10:57:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate NAS HDD ST3000VN000 3TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 3 out of 3 ain't bad.
Pros: Bought 3. Passed diskcheck and combined with two WD green drives for a RAID5 array. Loaded up 8TB of files on them are so far working flawlessly. (Not a recomendation - just what I had available)
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:Human Error,9/29/2014 9:04:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drive ST2000DX001 2TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 3.5" Desktop SSHD

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Crashes everything I run on it..
Pros: It was a great price, so I wanted to give it a shot being my first hybrid drive.
Cons: Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING that I put on here crashes. I cant run games off the drive at all. For whatever reason, even downloading to the drive has issues. I have a 200 meg line, and it has to wait for the drive to catch up... Something is really wrong with that.
Other Thoughts: Save up more money and get an SSD. The two I have now and they are amazing.
Reviewed By:Al,9/29/2014 7:20:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Desktop HDD.15 ST4000DM000 4TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great while it lasted
Pros: Lots of Storage. Very fast for a lower RPM drive
Cons: Just quit working after about a year. No indications that it was bad, just stopped working. Doesn't spin up. Took about 3.7 GB of data with it. Hope my other 2 drives don't just quit working.

Better back up your data or use Raid 5
Other Thoughts: Drive seems like it has a high fail rate. Too bad, because it was great while it worked.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/29/2014 5:33:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital RE4-GP WD2003FYPS 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Get what you pay for
Pros: Cheap
Works
Still my fastest read/write speeds out of my three two TB drives, both others are intellipower.
Cons: Drive is actually only 5400 RPM. Second time newegg ripped me off this way and left me mad.
Has 26302 power on hours behind it. So again, newegg ripping us off with the name refurbished, more like used and then sold again.
Other Thoughts: Read at 86.90 MB/s Write at 85.15 MB/s
Reviewed By:N/A,9/29/2014 4:49:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD BLACK SERIES WD1003FZEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well, decent value
Pros: Works well
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: HDDs are a bit of a commodity these days, so there isn't much to say. The 'black' series has good performance for an HDD, w/o messing with the noise, heat, and vibration of the higher-spindle-speed drives. If you need more performance, look to the new crop of SSDs.
Reviewed By:Shibumi,9/29/2014 3:55:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD BLACK SERIES WD1003FZEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Steer Clear if You Need RAID Support
Pros: Used to work fine w/ RAID controllers
Cons: Current Generation Absolutely FAILS when used w/ RAID-5 configurations.
Other Thoughts: I've sold thousands of these drives to my customers over the last decade. Now, Western Digital has apparently decided to "force" us to buy the higher-end "Enterprise" class SATA drives - by disabling RAID capabilities on the standard Caviar Black Series. I'm a systems integrator and have been buying the Black Series for the better part of a decade. They've work beatifully for RAID configurations in the past - but since end of 2013, they've been shipping a "lighter version" of this drive that is labled "Desktop Drive". If you try to connect them to ANY type of RAID controller - the drive will not operate correctly. This really makes me mad because I've wasted countless hours trying to come up w a solution. Unfortunately, the only real solution is REPLACING THE DRIVE! I've now swapped these out - replacing them w/ standard Hitachi 1TB SATA drives - and those are working flawlessly. Save yourself time, $$ and headaches - by steering clear of this drive.
Reviewed By:MrMIDI,9/29/2014 1:04:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > WD > Western Digital WD1002FAEX Caviar Black 1 TB SATA III 7200 RPM 64 MB Cache Internal Desktop 3.5" Hard Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible Problems w/ the Current Generation from WD
Pros: Used to work w/ RAID controllers - before Western Digital completely re-designed the Caviar Black Series.
Cons: These drives will absolutely fail if you're trying to use them w/ a RAID controller.
Other Thoughts: I've sold thousands of these drives to my customers over the last decade. Now, Western Digital has apparently decided to "force" us to buy the higher-end "Enterprise" class SATA drives - by disabling RAID capabilities on the standard Caviar Black Series. I'm a systems integrator and have been buying the Black Series for the better part of a decade. They've work beatifully for RAID configurations in the past - but since end of 2013, they've been shipping a "lighter version" of this drive that is labled "Desktop Drive". If you try to connect them to ANY type of RAID controller - the drive will not operate correctly. This really makes me mad because I've wasted countless hours trying to come up w a solution. Unfortunately, the only real solution is REPLACING THE DRIVE! I've now swapped these out - replacing them w/ standard Hitachi 1TB SATA drives - and those are working flawlessly. Save yourself time, $$ and headaches - by steering clear of this drive.
Reviewed By:MrMIDI,9/29/2014 12:57:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital WD Green WD20EZRX 2TB IntelliPower 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fairly reliable
Pros: I set up a windows storage space with 4 of these and ran it for about 2 years before one was flagged as dying by windows; replaced with another paid and expanded storage.
Cons: 1/4 was flagged as bad after a couple years but it is still working, just pulled all data off of it due to the flag.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/29/2014 9:35:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau