Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate ST380815AS 80GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive (IMSourcing) Bare Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Incorrect specifications?
Pros: N/A
Cons: Incorrect info listed?
Other Thoughts: It looks like the specs for this and title listing this as a SATA drive may be incorrect:

Refurbished: Seagate ST380815AS 80GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive (IMSourcing) Bare Drive
Model
BrandSeagateModelST380815ASPackagingBare Drive

Performance
InterfaceSATA 3.0Gb/sCapacity80GBRPM7200 RPM

The current picture and the Seagate product page indicate that the ST380815AS is a Ultra ATA/100.
Reviewed By:Dan,10/20/2014 12:59:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far, So good
Pros: Price, I got these on for a ridiculous price-- from newegg I should note. 2 of them ended up costing me 189.99, so for that price I cannot complain.

Reliability, I have had several of these drives in other rigs, including the one I was replacing, and they have been solid for me.

Size, decent size.

Noise, so far, not so bad. These are basically storage drives for my gaming rig.
Cons: None so far. But time will tell.
Reviewed By:gfunk1865,10/20/2014 10:38:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drive ST4000DX001 4TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 3.5" Desktop SSHD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Drive with Solid State Speed
Pros: Faster than an unladen swallow when reading commonly accessed data. With 8GB of SSD cache, that's a lot of software & documents that will load rapidly.
Cons: If your chipset drivers aren't up to date, you can experience data loss in Windows 8.1 when shutting down. My assumption is the OS isn't properly flushing the cache resulting in a loss of whatever is in the 64MB of volatile cache.

If you don't reboot often, your boot & login software might not be in the SSD cache, resulting in slower boot times.
Other Thoughts: I was having the caching issue which Seagate phone support was able to quickly assess and suggest a resolution. Their advice (installing new chipset drivers) was excellent.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/20/2014 10:20:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Red WD40EFRX 4TB IntelliPower 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" NAS Internal Hard Drive -Bulk

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Stability
Pros: Exceptional Speed and performance in Raid0
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Im running two of the 4TB drives in Raid0 to supply my media center with fast space. I stream bluray off of these disks and the load times are easily acceptable to me now.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/20/2014 6:04:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Barracuda Green ST2000DL003 2TB 5900 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 failed after warranty
Pros: both hdd's work great when i bought them.
Cons: after about 2 1/2 years the first hard drive failed, and about after 3 years the second hard drive failed. They where used for long term storage, not used as work horse drive's. they should have lasted a lot longer.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/19/2014 4:31:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD WD Purple WD40PURX 4TB SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Ensure your surv. system is on WD list
Pros: 4 TERABYTES !
Trusted brand name, by me
Up to 32 input devices..that's a lot
Good Performance drive as well

Sequential Read : 171.609 MB/s
Sequential Write : 169.872 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 47.021 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 81.440 MB/s

Those are good numbers

Runs cool. 5 degrees less than my 2 TB WD Black

3 year Warranty
Cons: Not easy to find the info that indicates which security systems
are designed to take full advantage of the Purple lines features. The average Joe might not even think to look.

Fully compatible with only very expensive pro or rich guy surveillance systems

3 year warranty. I know I have it in Pros too.
Other Thoughts: Everywhere I go there are cameras recording data which means big sales for the camera makers and thus the storage industry. WD is attempting to get their share of this market with their Purple line of drives. The "tag" WD uses that makes these drives surveillance specific is termed "Allframe". The advantage of the AllFrame technology is possible only with host controller support. The vendor must be on the WD compatibility list to take advantage of the surveillance-specific features in the Purple drives.

On WD's compatibility page is a list of 27 vendors and the models that support Purple. Most of the names on the list
are not familiar to me. I started searching Newegg. Newegg has ~130 vendors listed under the heading:
Security & Surveillance > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems. I selected at random just a couple; Geovision and QNAP, to see if what I was thinking was correct. I was thinking that the qualified vendors are more then likely "professional"
vendors. By professional I mean anything that doesn't have to do with home or very small business security. If price tag
has anything to do with my theory then I am born out. The QNAP offerings range in price from $982 to $4,902. I am not spending that to protect my home or very small business. If I am a large, well heeled company then my budget may allow for that but for my home, not happening.
What the people that do the reviews on Newegg ARE buying range in the $200 to $300 area. LaView, a popular well reviewed vendor is not on the WD compatibility list. Neither is 7modo, Night Owl and many more. This means that the Purple may not be money well spent for home surveillance.
Is it money well spent for essential video security recording for large business? Maybe if reduction of frame loss,
improved playback and an increased number of drive bays supported is important.

The first data I concern myself with when shopping hard drives is rotational speed. 7200 or 5400? WD has obfuscated,
for reasons I can only speculate on but won't, rotational speed with the "Intellipower" designation for the Purple drives RPM. HWInfo 64 reports the RPM's as 5400 which is plenty fast enough for the purpose of this drive, namely video surveillance.

I am using this drive to store all my video: Home movies, DVD's, Blu-Ray's, etc., etc. In almost of month of use it has been flawless for local and wireless networked viewing.

This is a very good drive. If you are a large company interested in quality surveillance then there is no better choice according to the data sheets. If you're a small company or homeowner on a $300 budget you will probably not be able to take advantage of the primary selling feature
of this drive. BUT that does NOT mean you are making an incorrect choice as I wrote this is a solid HD.

If you just want a large fast drive to store and access video this is a very good choice.
Reviewed By:Ahumado,10/19/2014 12:28:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Ater 1 1/2 months, it crapped out
Pros: well it holds alot of stuff
Cons: after a month and a half it keeps crashing on me.
Other Thoughts: this product is a bad joke to sell to people
Reviewed By:N/A,10/19/2014 11:53:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Purple WD20PURX 2TB SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great.
Pros: Captures video smoothly, quiet ( in my case),runs 2c lower temp over other hd I use
Cons: None really but would like to point out that I have no issues with any hd's really
Other Thoughts: Used on a 6 camera system and shows it can do a lot more and I am sure it can. I have been running this for 13 days strait and have had no issues whatsoever and the viewing was actually better than my old drive that is 5 years old.
I find this drive very suitable for it's job and would recommend it if you get it at the right price. I will post if any issues do occur within the next 9 months.
Reviewed By:Dean,10/19/2014 10:43:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD BLACK SERIES WD1003FZEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great HDD
Pros: great drive no problems
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,10/19/2014 9:47:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital WD Blue WD10EZEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: None
Cons: DOA, wouldn't even spin up.
Other Thoughts: Really disappointed. I've had good luck with WD drives over many years.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/19/2014 8:20:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau