Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Black November
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Lots of space
Reputable company
Reliable
Durable
Cons: after 4 years I've never had a real problem with any seagate products
Other Thoughts: Personally I prefer seagate I've had the least trouble with their products.
Their customer service is easy to deal with .
Reviewed By:N/A,11/26/2014 3:30:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Customer Service From Seagate
Pros: I would just like to give a positive shout-out to Seagate.

After benchmarking their Barracuda 1 TB drive, I found it significantly faster (in some cases ~ 40%) than many other 3.5" drives. So I began using them for storage drives (with SSDs for OS drives) and have perhaps eight of them in various computers. This particular drive also gets very good reviews from Newegg customers.

Recently, CrystalDiscInfo reported a "Caution" on one of the drives: "Uncorrectable Sector Count 8." So I ran (Seagate's) Sea Tools and it failed to repair the problem (I WAS able to copy all of my files to another drive). I then went to Seagate's Website and began the MRA procedure; it was fairly easy. They even have a little app. that can be downloaded to get the exact model and serial number of the drive. It also tells you if the drive is within the warranty period, or not (mine was).

One of the options was to simply return the defective drive along with the MRA number and Seagate would send a replacement (I would be responsible for the freight). I estimated that would take perhaps two weeks. Another alternative, however, was to pay $9.95 and Seagate would immediately send me a replacement via 2nd. day air and would also include a prepaid freight label to return the defective drive. That option automatically supplied me with the correct box and packing in which to return the defective drive. The $9.95 deal was a no-brainer.

The very next day I received an email from Seagate telling me that the replacement drive had been shipped. Two days later the replacement was delivered by UPS.

A high-five to Seagate for great customer service. This is the first of their drives with which I have experienced a problem and the whole MRA/exchange process was completely painless and could not have been easier.

I will definitely continue to use Seagate drives and recommend them to friends.

(PS. Seagate also replaced my defective drive with a newer version/revision of the same model number.)
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: See Pros
Reviewed By:Bruce C.,11/26/2014 2:16:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital WD Green WD30EZRX 3TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 WD 3TB HD
Pros: Plenty of storage space.
Very quiet
Stays cool
PRICE (less than .50 cents per GB)
Cons: Transfer/Copy rates;
Large files (10 GB or more) approx 100mbs/sec or less
Small files (3 GB or less) approx 140 mbs/sec or more
Read rates are a bit lower than some other drives, but not that noticeable.
Other Thoughts: After 2 yrs of use for video/music/photo storage files, runs great, no problems so far, lost one egg for transfer rates.
BE AWARE! If you are using an older Mobo, you may have to partition this drive, as some older Mobos will only recognize 2TB HD's or less.
Actual space reads 2.72 TB's after installation. Still lots of space!
Reviewed By:Motski,11/26/2014 12:24:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Barracuda STBD3000100 3TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Kit -Retail kit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 died dead in a year
Pros: if it works, it works well
a lot of storage
Cons: dumb me didn't have backups and this thing randomly up and quit in a year and four months
Other Thoughts: maybe seagate isn't the way to go... my western digital hard drive has been running just fine for four years. but, i learned to make back ups just in case!
Reviewed By:ogmon,11/26/2014 11:26:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > HGST > Hitachi GST Deskstar 7K2000 HDS722020ALA330 (0F10311) 2TB 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Drive fully functional
Pros: I've tested this drive for upwards of 5 hours with zero error reports. This drive is an excellent value, especially at the sale price of $45.
Cons: A little slower than some other HDD choices.

It can get a little hot at times.
Reviewed By:Tommy Boy,11/26/2014 11:12:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Red NAS Hard Drive WD30EFRX 3TB IntelliPower 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" NAS Hard Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 WD Red NAS HDD SATA
Pros: Runs Quiet and Cool
Cons: Drive didn't last a year before loosing data on the platters. lost about a terabyte out of 3. I was able to recover 1 terabyte of good files.
Other Thoughts: I use Western Digital drives exclusive in all of our computers. There are very few failures I have never last data off of the platters but have had a few electronics fail which is easy to recover. This is the first Red that I have owned and I am a little disappointed with it but still stand by WD, but will stay with the Black
Reviewed By:jiggscando,11/26/2014 9:39:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM SATA Barracuda ES.2 3.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Remember when....
Pros: Price was good.
Cons: Price was too good. Remember when Seagate and WD made HHDs that lasted forever? Because I do.... This HHD died after a little over 18 months of use. At least when it was going out, it stayed alive just long enough to retrieve a few things.
Other Thoughts: I'm not putting past the fact that it may have been a power surge... Behind the PC power supply, a surge protector, an UPS, and a room in the house wired to break of grounding...
Reviewed By:Waldo,11/26/2014 7:40:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital WD Green WD5000AZRX 500GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 6 months past 2 yr warranty...Ha!
Pros: Fast, quiet, and accurate - for first 2 years 5 months.
Cons: Sudden errors (multiple bad sectors) 2 years and 6 months later. If just a few, I'd shrug it off. Test today shows 17 bad sectors. Unacceptable.
Other Thoughts: Definitely not making them like they used to! We didn't get SS drives thinking mechanical was more reliable. So much for that!
Reviewed By:Reesearoon,11/25/2014 10:16:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD BLACK SERIES WD4003FZEX 4TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Owned a little over a year and still exceeds my expectatoins
Pros: Extremely fast, spin up time is quicker than other HDD that are installed on the same system.
Cons: A bit expensive, but performance out ways the cost factor
Other Thoughts: Will eventually purchase same additional model drives
Reviewed By:WVL,11/25/2014 6:59:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drive ST1000DX001 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 3.5" Desktop SSHD

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 6month Failure
Pros: Enjoyed the speed improvement with high capacity.
Cons: Died after 6months of use. Data unrecoverable...
Reviewed By:NeZ,11/25/2014 5:22:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.