Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Red 8TB NAS Hard Disk Drive - 5400 RPM Class SATA 6Gb/s 128MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD80EFZX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ZFS pool running great
Pros: Running 6 of these drives in a zpool (mirror cluster for speed) and haven't run into a single problem. Able to stream video and edit photos over gigabit Ethernet without any hitches. Plan on buying more in the future.
Very low power and the 5400rpm keeps it nice and quiet as the server is in the same room as my workstation computer.
Cons: nothing broken yet
Other Thoughts: the wd reds are the lowest power consuming drives for mass storage I've been able to find yet
Reviewed By:Lockdonnen,5/2/2016 4:47:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue 1TB Desktop Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD10EZEX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reliable
Pros: Shipping was super fast. Western Digital is always a good company to fall back on when buying mechanical drives. Using this for my first gaming build. I snagged it for $54 while it was on sale.
Cons: I should have bought three?
Reviewed By:Alexis S,5/2/2016 1:38:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Caviar WD800BB 80GB 7200 RPM 2MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100 / ATA-6 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 excellent company
Pros: Beyond amaze with this company my item was well pack and ship super fast I Will definitely use this company for future purchases thank you e.o.l. tech
Cons: There's nothing bad to said about this company
Other Thoughts: I will definitely recommend E.O.L TECH for all your purchase they get A+++
Reviewed By:Robert w.,5/2/2016 12:22:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Desktop SSHD ST4000DX001 4TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Solid State Hybrid Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Value and Good Speed for a HDD, but SSD Performance? Not So Much.
Pros: This product does offer a measurable performance advantage over conventional spinning disks, as claimed. But your mileage will vary depending on what you actually do with the drive. This is a unique product that gives you a very small solid state disk (SSD) and a very large conventional hard disk drive (HDD) bundled together, which the computer sees as one drive. Trick firmware allocates which files go on which for you, automatically. If you only need SSD speeds for a very small proportion of your files, this could be a best-of-both-worlds arrangement.

Physically, the drive is about what you’d expect from a contemporary spinning-disk hard drive. Dimensions are identical to any other 3.5" hard drive you have owned. Acoustic properties are very good, with no noticeable no buzzing, whining, or clicking on long sequential writes. Thermal properties are par for the course. I threw 1.5tb of data on it in a 3-hour sequential write with the drive in a “toaster” style drive dock (exposed to ambient air, no fans) and recorded 103ºF max surface temperature after an hour in comfy 63º ambient conditions. One hour later, no change. So far so good.
Cons: This product suffers from confusing, even skirting disingenuous, marketing. You really need to read to figure out what exactly is being sold here. This product is a 4tb conventional spinning hard drive (HDD) with a 8gb NAND solid state flash storage device integrated into it. If the data you seek to access is stored on the HDD, it is accessed at speeds you would expect for a decent-quality 7200 RPM hard drive, including spin-up and seek time. If the data is stored on the SSD portion of this product, it is accessed at speeds you would expect for a NAND flash device (i.e. stupid-fast). The question that will immediately come to mind for potential buyers is “how often can I expect SSD speed versus HD speed?” This is a critical question, as the NAND flash represents a mere 0.2% of the total storage offered by the device. Seagate explains that "a set of advanced algorithms” running within the drive’s firmware handles the allocation of files between the two storage devices. Essentially what is happening here is that the drive is keeping a running tally of what files are popular, and keeping those files in the flash memory. The flash acts like a gigantic cache for your "greatest hits" files. The rest of the drive is no faster than a conventional 7200 RPM drive, which most certainly does not “perform like an SSD,” as Seagate suggests in the product feature list. If you are expecting 4tb of storage that offers SSD speeds, you will be disappointed, because that is not what this product provides. While it very well may offer accelerated boot times if you use it as your system drive, this drive cannot pull off other tricks that people expect of solid state drives, like the ability to play back large video files. 4k footage of any variety is a no-go. 2k doesn’t make the cut, either, and nor does 1080p24 at 16-bit (4:4:4). In fact, you need to drop all the way down to 1080p24 10-bit (4:2:2) footage to find an uncompressed video format that this drive can play back in real time. In this regard, it’s comparable with other high-end HDD’s, and is not even playing in the same league as SSD’s.
Other Thoughts: Of course, a 4tb SSD doesn't even exist as of this writing, and SSD storage costs around $0.33/gigabyte, whereas this product is over 4tb formatted and offers this massive storage at a tenth of that cost. I would speculate that the scenario Seagate engineers had in mind for this product was a single do-all drive for a home user, in which the drive is hosting 100% of the user’s data, including the OS. Thus the OS would invariably land on the NAND flash, giving the user SSD-like boot speeds, and perhaps improved commonly-used application launch speeds as well. In this case, this unusual configuration of a tiny SSD and a big HDD would represent an ideal storage solution. In other use cases, this drive falls short. I formatted it Mac OS Extended with a GUID partition table (the drive arrived unformatted) and installed it in my video post-production workstation. My use scenario involved using it as a bulk storage drive for project files, while my operating system and scratch space were each allocated to separate true SSD’s. I replaced a Western Digital 2tb “Black” (WD2002FAEX) drive with this one. Using the BlackMagic Design disk speed test tool, the WD drive topped out at a sustained write of 116.5 mbps and read of 118.3 mbps. The Seagate swung 135.8 mbps read and 135.3 mbps write on this same test. So, this drive is no slouch, but it sure as heck isn’t a SSD. The cheapest “bargain-brand” SSD I have ever tasted nailed 227.2 read on this same test, whereas my primary drive, an admittedly quite expensive OWC Mercury Elite, delivers what I paid for: a staggering 497 mbps write and 515.2 mbps read.

With the drive loaded with data but still brand-new, I ran the Blackmagic speed test repeatedly in an effort to get the firmware to allocate it to the NAND flash portion of the drive and get a sense for what this product might offer at its fastest. It did in fact get faster, getting up to 155.8 mpbs read and 156.1 mbps write. This is the fastest I have ever seen single 7,200 RPM HDD go. But it is still nowhere near SSD speeds, nor speeds that can be achieved by two conventional HDD's in a RAID 0 configuration.

Qualitative real-world use over the course of a week does show a fast, responsive product by the standards of a 7,200 RPM HDD. It is noticeably quieter than the WD drive it replaced, but there is no perceptible speed change. Annoyances like latency introduced by needing to spin up the drive when you hit an “open” dialog in a program are still present.

The long and short of it is that if you have a VERY minimally data-intensive workflow but still need massive storage (think family email and web browsing box that also hosts a big pile of media) , and intend to make this your one and only drive, it may represent a very good value to you. It will deliver better-than-HDD speeds overall, and provide massive, inexpensive storage in one convenient package. For users on small form factor machines that can only accommodate one drive, this product might be a uniquely appealing option. But most users will find that the 8gb of flash memory included here is wildly inadequate to provide anything resembling SSD performance. I’m not sure why Seagate decided that 8gb of NAND flash was satisfactory in an age when everyday apps like iTunes weigh in a 300mb. 8gb is far inadequate for most modern operating systems as well, so while I don't doubt that boot times are improved, I question the claim that boot times are in any way SSD-like.

Bottom line: this product offers great speed for a conventional hard drive, and is a really nice value, but it doesn’t even begin to perform like a true SSD.

I would add to this conversation that I have had checkered experience with Seagate hard drives over the years, and I can’t find published MTBF (mean time between failure) data on this product anywhere online. There are two storage devices in this product, each with it's own controller, plus some kind of extra controller to run the firmware. Added hardware complexity generally doesn't do much to improve reliability. So far so good in my short experience with this product, so I can't hold these qualms against it, but suffice it to say that none of this inspires confidence. I would advise users who prize reliability above all else to avoid this product until the manufacturer publishes MTBF statistics, or online user reviews offer this data anecdotally.
Reviewed By:Jon W.,5/2/2016 10:15:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black 2TB Performance Desktop Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD2003FZEX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SUPER FAST
Pros: 7200 RPM
SATA 6 Gb/s
64MB Cache
Cons: none so far
Other Thoughts: super fast way better then my aging WD blue by far the best HDD I have ever used
Reviewed By:Jason R.,5/2/2016 9:19:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Desktop HDD ST1000DM003 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great hard drive! Reliable
Pros: I recently upgraded from an old 5400 RPM drive that was starting to prep for a cliff jump. Replaced it with this Seagate 7200 RPM and everything is hunky dory.

USB transfer speeds are lightning fast in 3.1/0 ports
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Would recommend to anyone
Reviewed By:James R.,5/2/2016 7:19:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Great price, quiet, good storage, fast enough
Cons: nothing
Other Thoughts: This is not as fast as some other hard drives I have with same speed but since I use ssd's for most drives that need speed the days of speed on a standard hd are over and now it's time for durability and quiet and these HD's fit that spot.
They are not slow by any means and only like 50 rw slower than my fastest but like I said now it's about durability, quiet and longevity for these type drives.
If you need storage then this is a great drive.
Reviewed By:Dean g.,5/2/2016 5:54:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Desktop HDD ST4000DM000 4TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Functional but sounds like a jet engine
Pros: - Powers on and holds data
- No bad sectors
- Cheap
Cons: - As stated in review title, it is LOUD. In fact, this is literally by far the loudest component in my system with a Fractal H7 CPU Cooler, GTX 460, and 650W PSU. By far.
- Makes intermittent clicking noises that I have never heard on other brand HDDs. Inspires very little confidence in the long term health of the drive.
Other Thoughts: I'm going to RMA it a buy a better drive even if it is more expensive. If you need a dirt cheap drive this one is functional, but understand the downsides before moving forward.
Reviewed By:MATTHEW W.,5/2/2016 4:49:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Desktop HDD ST1000DM003 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Died after 3 years
Pros: Worked great while it worked. Used it as a backup drive in a server for my family in our home.
Cons: Died after 3 years. 1 year longer than the warranty.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/1/2016 10:54:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate ST2000DX001 2TB+8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Desktop Solid State Hybrid Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than I expected
Pros: No problem installing windows 10 with my FX8350. After 5 or 6 boot ups it takes about 1/3 the time of a standard hard drive. All applications are noticebly faster.
Price on sale was on par or better than a standard hard drive. A really great buy when you look at performance+ storage/ price.
Cons: Nothing so far.
Other Thoughts: I have always heard of problems with these hybrid drives but in only a few weeks I have nothing but praise for this one.
Reviewed By:Rich H.,5/1/2016 9:32:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.