Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate FireCuda ST1000DX002 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Gaming SSHD Hybrid Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 to early to tell
Pros: seagate was highly willing to help
Cons: was DOA; New Egg accepted RMA; shipping of the replacement drive unacceptable!!! RMA accepted 9/16; invoice created 9/19 del to be 9/28 I could have gotten it faster if they just slapped regular mail postage on it, and dropped in the mail.
Other Thoughts: will update if the replacement ever manages to arrive; super fail on the service end; { Note to New Egg} Fedex smartpost is crap.
Reviewed By:Brian,9/23/2016 4:41:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Desktop HDD ST3000DM001 3TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Failed in a barely used NAS after 4 years
Pros: Lasted almost 4 years.
Quiet
Fast Enough
Cons: Lasted only 4 years.
Warranty is only 2 years
Other Thoughts: I have two of these as a RAID 1 in a home NAS serving mostly as a picture backup. One failed after 4 years. They really don't get a lot of activity. I only access the RAID once a month or less so I feel like 4 years is not enough.
Reviewed By:Anthony Z.,9/23/2016 4:15:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Ultrastar A7K2000 DL-HUA722020ALA331 2TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 3 out of 4 bad
Pros: only one worked properly out of 4 purchased over a year.
2TB for $40
Cons: these drives are dated from 2010-2011
3 out of the 4 drives purchased "clunk" when accessed. this clunk can be felt on the outside of the case and resting area.
3 out of the 4 drives purchased had "errors" or "Drive Failure" warnings
Other Thoughts: resulting from my own error i did not check these drives out in a timely fashion that coincides with newegg's return policy, so my only other outlet was to try to RMA the drives through the market place / remanufacturers companies that newegg got them from. i have gotten replies from the companies as of now but yet to get an RMA from either of them (HGST-gohardrive). i will update this review after i get a verdict of what they intend to do about my loss.

if you buy refurbished items from this site, don't procrastinate and check them immediately for functionality. sometimes you can get good deals on refurbs but i recommend buying new and get the actual manufacturers' warranty. it's usually 3-5 years or even lifetime on certain items.

everyone likes a good deal, but i'm beginning to believe buying refurbs is kinda like buying someone else's problems. this is not 100% the case but in my experience with them, it's pretty darn close...
Reviewed By:Donnie C.,9/23/2016 3:37:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Re 1TB Datacenter Capacity Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM Class SATA 6Gb/s 128MB Cache 3.5 inch WD1004FBYZ

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Drive
Pros: Packaged well for shipping (each drive was in its own air bubble package, static bag and separate box)
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Set up in a RAID 1 for my data drive in my home PC.
Reviewed By:Tanner S.,9/23/2016 2:54:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Re 1TB Datacenter Capacity Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM Class SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 inch WD1003FBYZ

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not Enterprise Quality Out Of The Box
Pros: Fast enough. Works well in a RAID array.
Cons: One out of four had too many bad blocks making it a brick.

A year later, all four drives have failed and the replace garbage drives have failed too.

SHAME ON YOU WESTERN DIGITAL!!!
Other Thoughts: I always test hard drives right out of the box using the manufacturer's diagnostic software. I've been bitten too many times by new drives being defective.

These drives were bought to replace seven year old WDC 500GB drives that were causing problems in a RAID10 array on an Adaptec 6805E.

One out of four had too many bad blocks and had to be returned to NewEgg.

Once the replacement drive arrived and tested OK. I created the array and ten days later it is running perfectly.
Reviewed By:Charles P.,9/23/2016 8:01:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Desktop HDD ST1000DM003 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Never again Seagate!
Pros: None at this point..
Cons: As with other users this drive suddenly died just after the warranty period ended. Drive spins up without clicking, but is not recognized by BIOS or OS and system hangs while booting with drive attached. I've lost an entire TB of very important data! It's going to cost me $600+ to recover this drive! Will NEVER buy a Seagate drive again because this seems to happen with every drive I buy.....
Other Thoughts: AVOID AT ALL COST OR YOU WILL LOSE MORE THAN YOU WILL GAIN!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/23/2016 7:16:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Desktop HDD ST500DM002 500GB 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst drives I've ever seen.
Pros: -When they don't fail, they work pretty well, I suppose.
-Quiet.
Cons: These drives fail very quickly. They came with the 48 computers in my building, and I've replaced 6 of them so far. Most of them are gaining bad sectors, but not as quickly as the ones that needed to be replaced.
Other Thoughts: Go for a Western Digital.
Reviewed By:Ben M.,9/23/2016 5:36:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital WD Green WD20EARS 2TB 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 lived a long life.
Pros: lasted six years on twenty four seven...allot of file transfers, used for a media server
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/22/2016 8:34:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives STCL2000400 2TB MLC/8GB SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ Desktop SSHD- Retail Kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: I looking forward to using a hybrid hard drive. My motherboard SATA supports this drive. I used the same connections that work for the drive being replaced (which is still working however of lesser capacity.)
Cons: Returned for refund. I had hoped that this hybrid drive would be a great replacement. Since I have to be out of town shortly I waited for the promised return label which did not arrive before I left, however the RMA email did. So I had to ship it out right away costing me $9.45. Disappointing experience all around.
Other Thoughts: My negative experience isn't necessarily a negative judgment of this drive. I've had excellent results with Seagate drives in the past.
Reviewed By:Philip W.,9/22/2016 8:12:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black 1TB Performance Desktop Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD1003FZEX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 very happy with this drive
Pros: -very fast, windows 10 took no time to install
-easy to install in both my old and my new computers
-I love how quiet it is, my Xbox One's internal HDD isn't as quiet
Cons: -none that I can tell after 6 months of ownership
Other Thoughts: -I would recommend this to someone who is looking to save money vs. a SSD
-I am considering adding another of this size or larger to my system
Reviewed By:Kristina S.,9/22/2016 5:27:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.