Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Ultrastar A7K2000 DL-HUA722020ALA331 2TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wonderful for storing digital media.
Pros: Very easy to install, plenty of storage room, seems faster than old hard drive
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I am using this Hard drive in my HP Elite 8000 which I am converting to a Media Center for all my digital media. It will have Windows 10 on it and use my Vizio 39" Smart TV as one monitor and a separate 19" monitor with a wireless keyboard & mouse on a table next to my chair.
Reviewed By:Randle S.,2/5/2016 2:46:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 8 years strong
Pros: Unbelievable reliability from consumer drive. I've been running these over several different raid arrays for 8 years. Still only lost one ever. Probably going to replace soon though because they are EIGHT YEARS OLD!
Cons: Price for the size and speed are a little lacking. Especially amongst the newest drives. This thing hasn't changed in 8 years and is still over $100.
Other Thoughts: I think they still make these due to legendary reliability for a consumer drive. Unless you want HGST or something even better, can't beat these things.
Reviewed By:Deepthinker22,2/5/2016 2:40:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital WD Green WD20EARS 2TB 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 After 5 years 3 months, one of the two finally failed. I'm not complaining!
Pros: I bought two drives for use in a RAID 1 array. The drives have been running strong 24/7 since November of 2010. Today, one of the two failed. Time to upgrade, but I'm happy with what I got for the money I spent.
Cons: Well, it didn't last forever, so there's that.
Performance wasn't stellar, but performance isn't the purpose of the WD Green series.
Reviewed By:Robert H.,2/5/2016 2:38:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Desktop HDD ST2000DM001 2TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Roll the dice
Pros: It was cheap.
Cons: I bought this drive in June of 2013 and put it right into service as a backup disk in my server. It failed last week, late January 2016. 2 years and 7 months. Now I know why iit was priced so cheaply. I had only backed up to it a handful of times.
Reviewed By:Andy H.,2/5/2016 2:02:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > HGST > HGST HDS721050CLA362 (0F10381) 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Still chugging along
Pros: I bought this drive back in 2011 and I am still using it to this day as my main drive. It just recently started performing poorly, off and on it seems slow. I've had it for about 5 years so I'd say that's pretty good.
Cons: No real cons to speak of. Maybe every now and then in a silent room you can hear it working but never loudly.
Other Thoughts: With the price of SSD now I'd go with this only as a storage solution only and you'd be very happy with this one.
Reviewed By:David M.,2/5/2016 1:45:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Desktop HDD ST3000DM001 3TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Untrustworthy Piece of Junk
Pros: Worked perfectly for 3 months.
Cons: Stopped working completely after 3 months, taking my data with it. (Yes, I have a backup, but that's not the point now, is it?)
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this product.
Reviewed By:Thom B.,2/5/2016 12:41:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WD Black HDD
Pros: Easy install & setup. Fast.
Cons: No negatives.
Other Thoughts: ASUS Sabertooth Z97 Mark2
i5-4690K
G.Skill RipjawsX 1866
MSI R9-380 4GB
WD Black 1TB HDD
Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Reviewed By:Roger P.,2/5/2016 10:41:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Ultrastar A7K2000 DL-HUA722020ALA331 2TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Nor refurbished but "used" drives
Pros: Physical state of drives was fine, packaging was top notch for the first batch. Two out of the five I purchased were 100% good. Returned three and got them replaced through Premier membership (no cost).
Cons: Three out of the five I originally purchased were showing SMART reallocated sector counts so would soon fail.
Exchanged them for three others and once again had another in the same status. Returned this last one but Newegg wouldn't replace as they're out of stock (as they say, but web was still showing in stock). Got reimbursed though...
Other Thoughts: Sadly most of their batches have the same issue (reallocated bad sectors), failing drives should not be resold as refurbished, they should be trashed.
Thanks to my premier subscription I returned the bad ones to Newegg but ended-up missing one because they were out of stock.
In conclusion, I think no one should purshase these "refurb" drives without premier account and if they're not ready to spend time making quality control on Newegg's behalf.
Will not buy again...
Reviewed By:PIERRE L.,2/5/2016 9:55:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Desktop HDD ST500DM002 500GB 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 No immediate issues, runs 10 degrees F hotter than the WD blue it replaced.
Pros: price
it's an economy replacement
Cons: Runs much hotter than 500GB WD blue series.
Other Thoughts: It's unknown at this point but these are going in Thinkcentres and I'm worried with the higher temps they will fail as all platters no matter what brand suffer exponentially more wear as the temperature goes up.

Hopefully soon SSD's will be the optimal replacement due to size, heat, performance and longevity in a regular workstation.
Reviewed By:Ben O.,2/5/2016 8:08:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Desktop HDD ST1000DM003 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed after 3 months
Pros: none, failed in 3 months
Cons: Garbage, did not install until I gathered up all the parts for a server/sharing box. Failed within 3 months. It is past the time for me to return it to Newegg so guess I'm out of luck. Will not be buying anymore Seagate drives. This the like 20th time I have heard of drives failing after upgrading (hah) from Win 7 to Win 10. Avoid Win 10 at all costs.
Reviewed By:Joseph L.,2/5/2016 3:42:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.