Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: -Cheap
Cons: -1st one DOA
Other Thoughts: I am on my second one of these. The first one was DOA. When I booted up my machine, it sounded like someone was scratching nails on a chalkboard. I RMA'd it, and the new one arrived within a couple days.

The new one is working fine. So we'll see how it goes over the next year.

I have another 3TB seagate drive that I've had for a year and a half, and haven't had any issues with.
Reviewed By:Jon,1/26/2015 7:48:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great drive
Pros: I bought two of these for a NAS so that my wife's photo's would be safe. This was actually the first time i bought Seagate, (usually I am a WD kind of guy) and I am impressed. The two drive have been going 24/7 for 3 years and have performed amazing. I use my NAS to stream movies/ music and these guys keep up. The only issue I ever had was on the NAS end. Would buy again
Cons: none as of 3 years in.
Other Thoughts: might have to upgrade to a 4 or 5 tb
Reviewed By:Coxii,1/26/2015 5:51:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drive ST1000DX001 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 3.5" Desktop SSHD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 purchased two
Pros: I bought two of these. One for myself and one for my girlfriend. On her computer it is the C drive. she hasn't had any issues, response time is great. On mine i use it for a secondary drive mostly for just files and downloads.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Rich Jones,1/25/2015 11:27:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > HGST > Hitachi GST Ultrastar 7K4000 HUS724020ALE640(0F14685) 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Enterprise Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ENTERPRISE GRADE
Pros: RELIABLE. Nearly Unbreakable.
Cons: Not SAS.
Other Thoughts: I'll admit, it's not the exact drive, but about 6 years ago I purchased 9 HGST 2TB SATA drives to use in a rack-mount Thecus N8800 Pro NAS. 8 drives are configured in RAID 5, the remaining is still in it's OEM packaging as a cold spare. I've not needed the spare. These drives were running for 5 years 24/7/365 connected via iSCSI to 3 HP servers to run VMware and 5 guest OS of varying loads. I've since repurposed the NAS for backup, but it's STILL going strong.

Final thoughts - you cannot break these drives. I've had a couple of fan failures and other minor issues out of the NAS, but NONE from the drives. 6 years, no failures. Wow.
Reviewed By:Rob,1/25/2015 8:47:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Blue WD3200AAKS 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 durable
Pros: been running non-stop for over 5 years.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: still have three other small WD drives that still operate flawlessly.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/25/2015 5:07:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drive ST2000DX001 2TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 3.5" Desktop SSHD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wow, Awesome!
Pros: Super fast write and read speed. Massive amount of space. Great Bargain!
Cons: None after using it for 6 months
Other Thoughts: Wish I had bought more, but, I couldn't afford it back when I bought this. This is a great alternative to a large SSD, as it has loads of space, and is super fast!
Reviewed By:Tzolak,1/25/2015 3:07:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Deskstar NAS H3IKNAS40003272SN (0S03664) 4TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" High-Performance Hard Drive for Desktop NAS Systems Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 HGST Deskstar NAS H3IKNAS40003272SN (0S03664) 4TB 7200
Pros: Works well
Cons: Non
Reviewed By:Sam,1/25/2015 12:47:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital WD Green WD20EARX 2TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Just Died
Pros: It was cheap and worked great - 7/21/2011
Cons: Died 1/25/15
Reviewed By:N/A,1/25/2015 10:23:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Drive... but
Pros: Drive space and speed. Also it's a thinner physical drive, not that it really matters.
Cons: I had this drive for about a year-ish and today it finally bit the dust. I don't know exactly what happened but one day it worked and the next it wouldn't power on. I'm not holding Seagate liable for anything, but with mechanical drives they either work or they don't, and they don't last forever.
Other Thoughts: My strongest advice is to use 2 drives in a RAID configuration like i'm going to do with this drive. Don't use RAID 0 if you're storing data, use RAID 5 or RAID 6. RAID 0 is only for speed and if you don't care about losing data. I lost all of my music and probably a lot of misc. pictures that i don't really care about... but again, use redundant back ups if you're storing data and personal shhtuff.
Reviewed By:seether_fan1369,1/25/2015 9:59:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Desktop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works
Pros: I usually buy seagate barracuda's or western digital blue hard drives for most of the gaming computers I make and I haven't had a single one fail in the past 4 years ive been building computers. They have the expected speed of a basic 7200rpm hard drive.
Cons: I had one drive as a doa (it wasn't packaged in newegg's normal hard drive bubble cases for some reason). It isnt really a con because newegg took care of me and I expect it was caused by improper packaging rather than a manufacturers defect.
Other Thoughts: Buying both western digital blues and seagate barracuda's my advice is just to go with whichever one is cheaper at the time. They both have very similar quality, performance and are both backed by great companies.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/25/2015 8:33:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.