Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem – 600 MHz Dual-Thread Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Upgrade for Xfinity BLAST users
Pros: -16 DL channels future proofs this modem over the SB6141 (already considered EOL by Xfinity) & is worth the extra $30
-my DL speeds went from 128Mbit\s to 165-170Mbit\s
-FAST & STABLE
-Set-up in 10 minutes (including the call to customer service)
Cons: -It's white
-LEDs are obnoxiously bright
Other Thoughts: -My 1yr old SB6121 was only getting 128Mbit\s with the Blast 150 service.
Even thought it's "rated" for up to 172, Its 4 DL channels was the weakest link.
I'm very happy with the SB6183....should last me longer than a year this time!
Reviewed By:Oleg L.,2/8/2016 11:33:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked well for 2 years.
Pros: - Worked well for my 100Mbps service. Solid downstream and upstream.
Cons: - Modem started failing after the 2 year warranty but less than 3 years of use. Modem will stop responding every day or so, and for the past few days has needed to be restarted every few hours. Support line couldn't do anything about the hardware since my warranty is up. I wish the problem would go away.
Other Thoughts: - Too many connections can overwhelm the modem. I'm talking about hundreds of connections during heavy P2P. Perhaps my expectations are too high.
Reviewed By:Zach J.,2/7/2016 9:24:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > D-Link > D-Link DCM-301 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 revising previous review
Pros: I was blaming my new router (installed at the same time as this modem) for constantly dropping connections. Some devises could still reach the Internet and some could not so I blamed the router. I swapped back to an old modem as a last ditch effort to prove that it was the router....it was not. All issues when away as soon as I pulled this D-link modem out.

This stupid thing made me waste a lot of time on router settings and firmware updates for nothing plus I am out the purchase price because I can no longer return it.
Cons: Drops connections.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/7/2016 7:33:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SBG6580 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than expected
Pros: Has both 2.4 and 5.8 ghz wireless transceivers. As it states it has 8 downstream, and 4 upstream channels built in. I have 4 computers and sometimes 1 to 4 other devices connected at the same time, and I have never noticed a drop in performance when I game online. It was easy to setup and configure.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend this Gateway router.
Reviewed By:Kenneth C.,2/7/2016 6:42:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: Worked well while it lasted.
Cons: Died after using it for 2 years 3 months.
Reviewed By:Matthew F.,2/6/2016 10:27:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem – 600 MHz Dual-Thread Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Call, plug, play
Pros: swapped out a Cisco 8x4 modem for this one. was getting 32mbps on 50 mbps service, now its 62mbps on the same. Cox let me register over the phone, and once they had it in their system i did the swap. 2 minutes later it had finished pulling down the Cox configuration and there call was done.
Cons: the blue lights are a little bright.... but who really cares.
Reviewed By:Lefty,2/6/2016 8:43:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem – 600 MHz Dual-Thread Processor

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA - Poor customer service from ARRIS.
Pros: None - DOA
Cons: Unit would power on (all lights on for about 1/2 second) then they go off never to return. Either I got a dud or they have poor quality control. Customer service is poor, they also want you to pay to return their defective product.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/6/2016 5:37:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Modem
Pros: Great for use with Comcast.
Cons: Liked to be powercycled about 3 times a month
Reviewed By:Chris H.,2/4/2016 7:14:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SBG6580 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product! Easy to Setup and Use!
Pros: Compact and lightweight, with good performance. Glad this purchase.
Cons: No cons.
Other Thoughts: I recommend this product to others.
Reviewed By:Sergo G.,2/4/2016 6:42:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > TP-LINK > TP-Link Archer CR700 AC1750 Wireless Dual Band DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 TP-Link Archer Wireless Dual Band
Pros: Better feeling construction than most of the modems and routers I've used recently. Good weight and feels durable compared to most of the light-weight cheap plastic I encounter.
Cable modem router: combines a DOCSIS 3.0 cable modem and AC1750 wireless router in one device.
DOCSIS 3.0 and dual band capabilities that claim they reach up to 1300Mbps.
The GUI is pretty intuitive and offers detailed information to help users configure. Software includes a very detailed listing of all connected devices. Includes options for including parental controls on specific devices. Has a "guest" account option for users to connect without a password. Includes a decent firewall.
Unit has six internal antennas to help with connectivity range.
Cons: Another device with no wall mounting option. Unit is slim but is very tall and takes up a decent amount of space on a desk.
Lack of external antennas helps reduce space it takes up but also limits the range and strength of the wireless signal(s).
Offers speeds that can take advantage of USB 3.0 rates but only offers USB 2.0 ports.
No DD-WRT.
I, like many others reported, have had no luck with it's port forwarding feature. Whether it is a problem with the software or the device itself I can't tell.

Other Thoughts: I don't think it's worth $200 but comparing it to other models in that price range it offers about the average in functionality.
Reviewed By:Marcus A.,2/3/2016 5:23:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.