Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR C6250-100NAS AC1600 WiFi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router Up to 680 Mbps Ethernet Port

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast and Easy to Setup. Highly Recommend!
Pros: Setup was a breeze and the range was excellent. It was much better than the router that came with Cox. I felt like the coverage was much better and when streaming, I had a lot less buffering.

The router looks much better and cleaner than what is typically out there. I love the integrated antennas.
Cons: No complaints at all.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely purchase this again and would highly recommend it to others.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/26/2016 1:56:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > Motorola MG7310 8x4 343 Mbps DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Plus N300 Wireless Gigabit Router Certified by Comcast XFINITY, Time Warner and More

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far so good
Pros: - Internet is fast and hasnt dropped out.
Cons: -None
Other Thoughts: I have internet through optimum cable and this thing works great with that so far.
Reviewed By:Patrick D.,9/23/2016 1:35:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > D-Link > D-Link DCM-301 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast. Easy to set up.
Pros: Lightning fast performance.
VERY reliable.
Easy to install.
Green lights aren't nearly as annoyingly bright as blue LEDs.
Cons: Doesn't install itself.
Other Thoughts: This modem has been in service since August 15, 2015. It's been rock solid reliable and has only needed to be restarted once. Yes, you read that right: ONCE. It's VERY fast, FAR faster than the throughput on my previous Motorola DOCSIS 2.0 modem and then some. I don't get people who replace their modems, don't bother to call their ISPs AND then complain when their new modem is behaving erratically or has failed. First of all, call your ISP to have them run a status check on the new modem. Most reliability and performance issues reported by the other reviewers are easily avoidable. For example, when setting up this modem, the Xfinity tech told me that my new modem was reporting that the Xfinity line signal was too strong. Leave it that way and the modem will eventually start behaving erratically and then die. I found this out the hard way years ago. The solution was to simply install a coaxial line signal attenuator between the modem and the incoming coax cable to lower the broadband signal strength from the ISP to within an acceptable operating range for the modem. Yes, that's all it takes. Coax line attenuators are pretty darn cheap and easy to obtain from online retailers or your internet service provider. The attenuators commonly come in three levels of signal reduction, Buy one of each. Don't EVER convince yourself that cable modems are universally plug and play for any and all internet service providers. They are NOT. Even when the modem is listed as compatible by either ISP or manufacturer, those compatibility guidelines DO NOT take into account incoming signal strength. More often than not, you need to make sure the incoming signal is not slowly frying the input section of your new modem. Almost all cable internet providers run their line signal strength well above spec to make sure all their customers receive a strong signal. So simplify your life and take the little time and effort it takes to call your particular internet service provider's tech support department to make sure your modem is installed correctly and is compatible with your incoming broadband line signal strength. You'll find that the payoffs of blazing speed, reliability and not having to endure all the malfunctioning equipment drama is soooo worth it. Happy computing, everyone!
Reviewed By:Craig S.,9/21/2016 1:53:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem - 600 MHz Dual-Thread Processor - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Wall-Wort Died in 4 Days!
Pros: Easy install and setup, though it required a support call to Cox. Speeds the same as my 7 year old Motorola/Arris DOCSIS 2.0 modem, but my connection is capped at 15Mbps because I'm cheap, so I wasn't expecting any increase in speeds.
Cons: Wall-wort Died in 4 Days! It claimed it was 12V/1A output but the thing was light as a feather - I really doubt it could provide that output. I probably should have boxed the whole thing back up and returned to Newegg at their expense, but I really didn't feel like going through everything all over again. I re-used the old wall-wort from my last modem - 12V/0.75A but it's working fine so far (it's also heavier than the supposed 1A one supplied with the refurb Arris).
Other Thoughts: Being a refurb it's hit or miss on functionality. Save your box in case you have a problem!
Reviewed By:Michael O.,9/21/2016 11:50:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem - 600 MHz Dual-Thread Processor - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works like a charm, easy setup, fool proof money saver
Pros: fast delivery, easy setup, one call to my provider, reported the new MAC address, restart, boom, stable and fast connections. Absolute no brainer money safer, basically pays for itself within 6 months
Cons: none that I can think of
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/19/2016 1:54:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Zoom Technologies Inc. > Zoom 5345-00-00 DOCSIS 3.0 8 x 4 343 Mbps Cable Modem Up to 343 Mbps Downstream, up to 123 Mbps Upstream RJ-45 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet, with Auto-MDI/MDIX DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent
Pros: Highest Downsteam and Upsteam I could find on newegg
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Works as it should.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/17/2016 9:34:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > TP-Link > TP-LINK TC-7610-E DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem (Easy-open package)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome product
Pros: Very easy to install, took no more than 10mins to install. So far so good had this for over 2 weeks now. It does what it suppose to do.
Cons: The only thing I did not like about this product is its weight, a little light. But aside from that this product is works well so far.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/17/2016 4:53:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SBG6900-AC DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem & AC1900 Dual Band Gigabit Wireless Router

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice replacement for Cox INternet
Pros: Nice and fast internet speeds, excellent wi-fi coverage, easy to set up and secure regular and guest network
Cons: Mine runs a little warm. I have trouble setting up the DLNA and Samba servers.
Other Thoughts: Yes, I would recommend, perfect for medium size single family home or condo.
Reviewed By:William K.,9/17/2016 10:46:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem - 600 MHz Dual-Thread Processor - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Refurbished unit works well
Pros: So far so good. I called Comcast to have them remove my older modem MAC (so i could sell it) and gave them this new MAC from the sb6183 and it worked right off the start. Their firmware update to the modem allowed me to turn off all the bright blue LEDs that were insanely bright (192.168.100.1 to log in modem). It connects to 16 out of possible 24 download streams and 4 out of the 8 possible upload streams in my area. I got this to replace my sb6141 that would hang (I would have to reboot the modem) while it obtained new channels during peak internet traffic hours. With this new one, the internet doesn't entirely go out now (I don't have to reboot anymore) while it connects to more open download channels
Cons: It runs HOT. The main processor is on one side, while the ethernet and tuner is on the other side of the main board. You shouldn't be laying this flat at all. Stand it up! I can see this hardware going bad if someone sticks/stuffs it in an enclosed unventilated space or flat among other heat producing objects with it's processor side down. I'm sure as hot as this heatsink gets, it will literally COOK itself in the plastic. The little heatsink really needs to be bigger and copper, but they had to save on production costs somewhere, right?
Other Thoughts: I'm on Comcast 75Mbps plan and I'm getting much faster download speeds (I got them with my old sb6141 as well though but it is EOL). I've checked out the board and I'm seeing 2 open holes for a NB or other type of heatsink that can be used ,but I haven't found one easily available that would fit it. The manufacturer has used a 30mm x 30mm x 11mm aluminum heatsink on it and it gets extremely HOT. I'm hoping to find a larger copper one I could swap it out with as heat will destroy electronic devices and make them run slower. Let me know if you found one
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/15/2016 11:36:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR CM600 24 x 8 960 Mbps DOCSIS 3.0 High Speed Cable Modem Certified by Comcast XFINITY, Time Warner, and Other Service Providers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works great
Pros: Much faster than my previous modem, now I have the full speed I pay for.

Setup was easy and didn't require a call for activation.
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/15/2016 3:05:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.