Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C3700 N600 WiFi Docsis 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 In 1

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Reliable at First, later not so much
Pros: It was a good pickup for our house as we only needed to buy this and no modem+router. This is a nice feature I'd like to see more of.
Cons: The connection drops randomly and is extremely frustrating if you play online and a steady connection is important. At first the plug would just fall out of the outlet but once it was moved to a sturdier outlet this ceased. Only later did it start actually rebooting on its own without any apparent reason.
Other Thoughts: While the combo was initially a key selling point for me I had wish I spent a little more money on reliable components that would not cause me multiple headaches a day down the road.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Anthony,

We want to apologize for the trouble that your C3700 isn't working like it was at first. Our experts would like to help you getting it back in shape. Please email them at newegg@netgear.com with a copy and paste of your review and the serial number of your unit.

If you need anything else please let us know.
forum1.netgear.com

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:N/A,5/27/2015 11:01:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Zoom Telephonics > Zoom 5363 Telephonics DOCSIS 3.0/AC1900 Dual Band Gigabit Cable Modem/Router

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Working as Advertised
Pros: No need for a separate router because of 4 ports. In the long term I will save money by no longer renting from the cable company. Customer service was very helpful where the user manual fell short.
Cons: User manual is not well written. Most examples and much of the wording was incorrect or incoherent. Customer service is not 24-hour.
Other Thoughts: Great choice if you have multiple hard-wired and WI-Fi devices and do not want the extra hassle of connecting a separate router.
Reviewed By:Bacon,5/25/2015 5:22:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB5101U SURFboard Cable Modem USB and Ethernet 10/100Base-T DOCSIS 2.0

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Just a modem
Pros: None
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Just a modem
Reviewed By:N/A,5/25/2015 11:49:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > ARRIS / Motorola SurfBoard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 SUPER disappointed with mfr
Pros: When this was working, it worked well and was an imporvement over my old Docsys 2.0 modem.
Cons: TERRIBLE support from Arris, the company that has taken over this part of the Motorola business. After a month, the modem started resetting frequently (average 30 minutes), causing major disruption. Our ISP helped diagnose that the problem was hardware -- the log showed a power reset. The cable connection was fine. I called Arris tech support and got an agent with VERY LOW tech competence. I explained what was going on, and he simply had me go back through the signal strength readings, and ask if I had reset the device to factory defaults (I had, during the diagnosis with the ISP tech guy). He put me on hold, and came back saying that we had exhausted his ability to diagnose what was going on. I explained what the device log was saying, and he tried to tell me that these messages were all from the ISP. I explained that if I unplugged the device and plugged it back in again, I'd see the same messages in the log. He said he had no information about any device log messages, and could not use this information to diagnose anything. Incompetent! He offered to have me ship the device back to Arris in CO at my own expense, and they would, after some number of business days, reship me a replacement. Maddening!! I'm going to replace this thing with some other kind of modem, and would recommend you not buy one.
Reviewed By:tlman46,5/24/2015 12:41:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C6300 AC1750 Wi-Fi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 in 1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Port Forwarding / DMZ not reliable
Pros: Easy to start up and got advertised speeds
Cons: -- DMZ/Port Forwarding/Port Triggering not reliable and doesn't work.

Example - I have port forwarding set up for SIP 5060 to an LAN IP, so I change it to another IP (new Asterisk Server) and it keeps directing traffic to old IP even though it states the new one. Set up DMZ to new server (or a couple different PCs) and find that it doesn't work at all. If it's set on initial setup, it works - then if you reset it, it will work again; but after you can't modify settings without resetting it and setting up everything all over again.

-- Had problems with box routing traffic on reboot. Could ping internet IPs from router, but it would not route traffic (ICMP or anything) from LAN to WAN until router is completely factory reset. Sometimes the box would come up working - but this was rare unless it had the default settings. I had changed LAN IPs, some port forwarding/triggering, WiFi settings, etc from the default
Other Thoughts: Would never buy again - especially as it was higher priced and rated higher. Probably if I never changed from the default settings, it would have been fine. Going to throw this one in the trash...
Manufacturer Response:Hello Brian,

Our experts will be glad to work hand-in-hand with you with anything you need. Please feel free to email us at newegg@netgear.com with the serial number of your C6300 and what you've described above. Let us know if you are having any other issues.
forum1.netgear.com

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:Brian,5/22/2015 1:56:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Linksys > LINKSYS CM100-RM Cable Modem with USB and Ethernet Connections Ethernet Port DOCSIS 1.0, DOCSIS 1.1 Certified, DOCSIS 2.0 Certified, IEEE 802.3, IEEE 802.3u, USB1.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Strong after 5 years
Pros: This refurbished modem is running strong with Comcast for more than 5 years. All most full download speed is achieved though Comcast calls me several time to ask me to upgrade to DOCSIS 3.0.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/22/2015 8:09:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > ARRIS / Motorola SurfBoard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good, with a possible caveat
Pros: Easy to install, fast and knowledgeable customer service.
Cons: Possible bad firmware, leading to problems with connection speeds.

I activated the modem with my service provider (Cox), but was only seeing ~30Mbps down with a 50/5 connection service. After several service calls and a tech visit, my provider determined the gateway was the problem. I contacted ARRIS support and we found that I was only getting a single channel connection, where I should have been getting four.

I then had to re-contact my service provider to have them re-provision the modem. The level two tech that assisted me said that this was actually an issue with the ARRIS firmware, and it was only allowing them to lock a single channel. She updated the modem using their Cox firmware and was able to resolve the issue.

TL;DR: Getting the connection at the right speed may take additional time and effort.
Other Thoughts: Regardless of whether this was a Cox issue or a gateway issue, I'm giving this three eggs. It's a good product, but getting it working correctly may not be as easy as advertised.
Reviewed By:Joe,5/21/2015 2:43:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR CM500-100NAS DOCSIS 3.0 High Speed Cable Modem Certified for Comcast XFINITY and Time Warner Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing
Pros: Does exactly what its made to do. Never cuts out, internet never slows down. Actually get high speeds and it stays high
Cons: nothing.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/20/2015 10:05:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SBG6580 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway RJ-45 DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0 and 1.0, Euro-DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Firmware is garbage, ruins product
Pros: Works well as a cable modem.
Cons: Wifi is extremely unreliable.
Other Thoughts: Yet another nice piece of hardware brought down by awful software. This device worked great for a month or two. Then my cable company pushed a firmware update, and wifi started dropping out every few minutes. Over a year later, it's still not fixed. Cox blames Motorola, Motorola blames Cox, and the consumer is left holding the bag.

I will never buy another all-in-one device. There's a single firmware for modem and wifi, and giving up control of my wifi firmware is obviously a terrible idea.
Reviewed By:Kevin,5/20/2015 7:56:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > ARRIS / Motorola SurfBoard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Doesn't do over 100Mbps w TWC
Pros: what's well for what it is
Cons: Specs say it does over 300Mbps but due to a contract agreement with time warner, it isn't allowed to do more than 100 down.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/19/2015 10:56:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.