Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Modems / Gateways > D-Link > D-Link DCM-301 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Decent Modem, Great Price
Pros: Works just as well as my Motorola SB6141 on Comcast Blast. 60Mbs down/12Mbs up. Couldn't beat the price (FREE) with D-Link DIR-880L.
Cons: Short (38") Ethernet cable. Totally useless vertical stand.
Other Thoughts: I was looking for an AC1900 wireless router and noticed the D-Link DIR-880L in a Newegg email with this modem for free. My current wireless router is a D-Link DIR-655 which I have had for 6+ years without a hickup. A friend of mine just moved into a new condo, and I figured the modem would make a great house warming present. Win/Win!
Reviewed By:Notso,9/29/2014 2:51:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C3000 N300 WiFi Docsis 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 In 1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent Docsis 3.0 Modem
Pros: Very decent modem for the price, especially considering that it essentially pays for itself after about 10 months of use VS. leasing a modem from my ISP.

On my 30mbps Down / 2mbps Up internet plan, this device has been a breeze.

The integrated Router features are a very nice add-on, especially the file-sharing capabilities.
Cons: The device is a little light and a thick RG6 Coax cable can really make it a little tricky to cable manage this device.

No 802.11N. Although this wasn't a problem for me.

My ISP had a little trouble configuring the device for me, but after a half-hour phone call with tech support, and after a few work troubleshooting steps on their side, we got it working.

Modem firmware has a bug that prevents you from completely switching from Modem+Router to Modem only mode. Customer service confirmed this, and explained that there is a firmware updated, and has been provided to my ISP. However it's up to the ISP to test and then themselves deploy the update to all of their customers routers.
Other Thoughts: I've spent around a month with this device, and so far it's been a decent well rounded modem. If your ISP offers Docsis 3.0 currently, and you don't run any Wireless-N Devices, it's a good buy.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/29/2014 8:27:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear N450-100NAS N450 Wireless Gigabit Router + High Speed Cable Modem – DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Meh
Pros: Gigabit works great and the modem itself works great.
Cons: The wireless could be better, the ports and the LED lights on the device are labeled backwards, I have my computer plugged into the one labeled as "1" and in the router table it shows it plugged into port 4... Also there is no mention on whether the usb storage port is USB 1.1 or 2.0, kind of important.
Other Thoughts: Running on Comcast with download speeds of 125 mbps download and 25 mbps upload.
Manufacturer Response:Hey Punksk8r,

We are very sorry to hear that you aren't completely satisified with the wireless speeds and want to see if we could do something to help. Please email us at newegg@netgear.com with a copy and paste of your review-- if you have any other information to share please do.

We would like nothing more than to earn your business again and look forward hearing from you.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:Punksk8r,9/28/2014 8:42:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6121 SURFboard Cable Modem Up To 172 Mbps Down and 131 Mbps Up RJ-45, Gigabit Ethernet DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0 and 1.1, Euro-DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice steady cable modem
Pros: Nice cable modem that works with Comcast's High Speed Internet. Has performed great in the year and a half that I own it. Fast video streaming to my 5 family PCs. Never failed in all this time of daily use.
Cons: Came in one color option, BLACK, which cannot be hidden in my white room, with white computers, cables, walls, etc... Wish it came in white color back when I bought it. Motorola is such a big company they should always offer a choice of white or black color. NO WIFI feature (when I bought it more than a year ago). if you need WiFi, buy their other model that has that feature.
Other Thoughts: Great product , has worked for me everyday in the past year and a half.
Reviewed By:selmateacher,9/28/2014 11:49:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6141 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem 10/100/1000Base-T Ethernet (RJ-45)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love It (TWC Customer)
Pros: Peak well above my Ultimate Speeds with TWC, maxing around 58Mbps Down and 5.8 Up. The modem states its bonded both up and down and I'm running on the Gig switch connected to a NetGear AC1900, so I've maxed out my performance. It's simple to set up and get running. I haven't heard about Time Warner cutting compatibility, so I'm not sure if they are still accepting them, but I've had mine linked with their service for over a year so it still works for now.
Cons: None that I'm aware of. Performs flawlessly. No spikes in transfer rates. No lag. No random resets.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a solid platform and to save yourself from modem fees, this is where it's at.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/27/2014 4:12:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6121 SURFboard Cable Modem Up To 172 Mbps Down and 131 Mbps Up RJ-45, Gigabit Ethernet DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0 and 1.1, Euro-DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Stable, fast, annoyingly bright.
Pros: Supported by almost every cable company that doesn't make you buy a modem from them. DOCSIS 3.0, high efficiency switching power supply. Very well ventilated.
Cons: External power adapter makes device lightweight and tipsy compared to Arris-brand modems (also more expensive to replace if the cord gets damaged). Unnecessary night light (see other).
Other Thoughts: I hate how bright this thing is. I owned a Motorola SB5120 for eight years before this, and the lights only showed on the front panel, so I had a piece of electrical tape that ran down the front (with a foldover tab at the top so I could peel it back easy to check them if needed). The 6121 has a crystal clear front panel that allows the (now much brighter) LEDs to shine out the front AND deflect out the edges of the panel. So I now have to put tape over the left and right edges as well as down the front. But that still doesn't solve it. Unlike on earlier designs where the LEDs were isolated from the rest of the unit, these easy shine back into the modem as well, and since the modem has a perforated "grater-style" panels for it's housing, this means I get light out the back and up the walls, too. I'll have to move it to a enclosed area I guess since I can't just cover all the vent holes.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/27/2014 3:01:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6121 SURFboard Cable Modem Up To 172 Mbps Down and 131 Mbps Up RJ-45, Gigabit Ethernet DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0 and 1.1, Euro-DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 How do you backdate the software?
Pros: Prompt shipment.
Cons: Doesn't connect with TWC Akron OH. I ordered a Mot SB6121 for myself, installed it on TWC in Columbus OH last month and all is going fine. So I ordered one for my sister in Akron OH. After a day on-line with their service techs, she had to have a tech visit her home. They said "the old software on the Mot worked fine but the latest version no longer works with TWC in the Akron area". How do you backdate the software in a Mot SB6121?
Reviewed By:N/A,9/27/2014 10:21:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ZyXEL > ZyXEL DOCSIS 3.0 Residential Cable Modem Compatible with Comcast Network (BRG35503)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well
Pros: We have been using this modem with our Comcast internet connection for close to a year and have had no problems. Now that Comcast has switched to a faster standard, we will need to 1) buy a new modem or 2) continue at the current speed. Since the current speed is fine, we will probably not buy a new modem. But if we did, I would buy one of these with no hesitation.
Cons: N/A
Reviewed By:N/A,9/26/2014 12:11:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6121 SURFboard Cable Modem Up To 172 Mbps Down and 131 Mbps Up RJ-45, Gigabit Ethernet DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0 and 1.1, Euro-DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Twc campatible
Pros: great connects to twc servers
Cons: can not handle multiple connections properly
Reviewed By:k20,9/25/2014 9:37:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6121 SURFboard Cable Modem Up To 172 Mbps Down and 131 Mbps Up RJ-45, Gigabit Ethernet DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0 and 1.1, Euro-DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works for me
Pros: Works well and I am Happy with this Modem.
It does not get hot...warm. But not hot.
Cons: *I Can NOT change the Default Address. =Very disappointing.

*I can only access the modem by connecting CAT5 directly.

*The modem's Options are non existent but the page gives you a lot of information.

*The logs show a lot of Failed Updates from my ISP. But that could be many factors and not the modem's fault. If it needs it then revert back to defaults threw the Modems Gateway Page.
Other Thoughts: The Default address is: 192.168.100.1

The settings are set by your/my ISP. Which I consider a con also but it fluctuates. And the reason I gave it 4/5. But it deserves a good ratting. Don't let my "4 Eggs" deter you. The SB6121 is a Solid Buy :)

Another Note: SB6141 isn't a better choice. This one (SB6121) is the one I would pick for an Internet Service Provider.
Reviewed By:Cory,9/25/2014 1:45:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau