Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6121 SURFboard Cable Modem Up To 172 Mbps Down and 131 Mbps Up RJ-45, Gigabit Ethernet DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0 and 1.1, Euro-DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Arris Problems
Pros: Used to work OK.
Cons: Since Arris purchased Motorola Home models SB6120, SB6121 and SB6141 have been plagued with T3 and T4 timeouts that cause frequent modem reboots. My ISP, Mediacom, asked me if I would be willing to test a reworked modem to help solve the problems. Instead I went with another brand.
Reviewed By:Michael S.,9/16/2014 4:45:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ZyXEL > ZyXEL DOCSIS 3.0 Residential Cable Modem Compatible with Comcast Network (BRG35503)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pays off in 4 months
Pros: I was looking for a DOCSIS 3.0 modem to replace my old Motorola SB5101u DOCSIS 2.0 modem but did not want to pay $8 per month to Comcast to rent one. I purchased the ZyXEL BRG33503 when it was on sale and it will pay for itself after 4 months. Now I am able to take advantage of the Blast! internet service. Using the Motorola modem, my download speeds capped out at around 15mbps but after install the BRG33503, my speed jumped to 120mbps!
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:N/A,9/16/2014 3:03:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-56USB Modem Conexant Hardware Based 56Kbps USB (Plug & Play) V.92 Data/Fax/TAM - Windows7 Ready

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works
Pros: Seems to work
Cons: No speaker so it's hard to tell how the call is being answered.
Other Thoughts: I don't have much to compare it too but it seems slow. The vista 64 drivers worked on my win 7 machine. My win 7 32 bit machine picked up the driver automatically.
Reviewed By:Chris,9/16/2014 11:09:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6141 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem 10/100/1000Base-T Ethernet (RJ-45)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Works like it's supposed too.
Cons: The lights are very bright so I put a strip of 20% windshield tint down the center and that took care of it and it looks better.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/15/2014 10:49:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Actiontec > Actiontec WCB3000N01 Wireless Coax Network Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple, EZ, Amazing
Pros: Fast setup. It does all the work itself.
Super Fast connection speeds...My speed is now 2.5X faster.
Went from 25-40Mbs wireless on 5.0Ghz connection to
80Mbs+
Works with Verizon/FIOS router.
Cons: None so Far!
Reviewed By:N/A,9/15/2014 8:56:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6121 SURFboard Cable Modem Up To 172 Mbps Down and 131 Mbps Up RJ-45, Gigabit Ethernet DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0 and 1.1, Euro-DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wanted a new SurfBoard - DOCSIS3
Pros: This is my thrird Motorola SurfBoard since my self-installation when getting the cable internet and TV was upgraded in this area by the monpoly which is Comcast. I have never paid their leasing charges in these ten years or so. They charge seven or eight dollars a month here for a cable modem - so, this new, faster,more capable modem will "pay for itself" in a few months. Each Motorola SurfBoard has not given me a bit of trouble. I wanted to upgrade to DOCSIS 3 because the Motorola SurfBoard SB5101 I have used for the last five years was "end of life" as DOCSIS 2. I like the black housing and subtle blue connectivity lights which are not bothersome or intrusive. The modem is now branded as Arris - as well as Motorola. I suppose there was a merger. Bottom line: this is a great modem and it works! I will return here to update my review if it fails in any way. This modem is not only on Comcast's approved list, it has a three star rating, which, according to Comcast, is "the highest and most thorough level of testing."He had to call the "office" to activate the internet service. Xfinity's internet speed test site states that I am getting 28 to 30 Mbps downloads and the upload speed is between 5 and 5.8 Mbps. I've gotten similar values with two other internet speed testing sites. Set up took just under 15 minutes - this includes plugging it in, attaching the cable and the router, and giving Comcast tech a phone call to provide my account number, etc., modem brand and model number (on approved list) serial number and the modem's ID number. The modem was activated by them, and handles all effortlessly. I'm really pleased with this modem, as I have been with the other Motorola cable modems I have owned, and expect it to serve me well. I will not pay xfinity-Comcast any more each month if I can help it. They have given me no problems about this - maybe they know I will show up at the local office to be a pain if they make any "mistakes" on my billing.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I ordered this from Newegg and received it via USPS with no shipping charge in 24 hours. I ordered from Newegg after searching the big stores on the internet and shopping for the best price, availablity and shipping cost I could find.
Reviewed By:Guest newegger,9/15/2014 8:14:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6121 SURFboard Cable Modem Up To 172 Mbps Down and 131 Mbps Up RJ-45, Gigabit Ethernet DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0 and 1.1, Euro-DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Super Solid
Pros: Super solid, reliable, dependable, fast, handles multiple upload - download streams with ease. Bought this when Comcast upgraded cable internet speeds; plugged it in, registered with the Matrix, off to the races - no problems whatsoever.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Motorola makes solid hardware - my last surfboard modem had five years of continuous heavy use with not one hitch.
Reviewed By:ebworthen,9/15/2014 7:51:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Zoom Technologies Inc. > Zoom 5341-00-00J 5341 Docsis 3.0 Cable Modem Ethernet Port DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with TWC
Pros: Works out of the box with my ISP. Was able to get it connected and running in under five minutes.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I've purchased two of these devices. The first, which I purchased over a year ago, has been running in my house on TWC 50/5. The second, which I recently purchased, has been running in my apartment on TWC 2/1. Both were connected and running within five minutes of unpacking from the box.

Great price - great Newegg service!
Reviewed By:BushidoG,9/14/2014 6:48:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > D-Link > D-Link DCM-301 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good thus far
Pros: Faster then the comcast provided Docsis 3.0 modem, easy install, I like the on off button on the back as well, for those times when service seems slow I can just turn it off then on and get a faster signal.
Cons: I wish the lights can more meaning, like the one that means download has a DL, wish the word was spelled out, so I don't have to try to remember what specific lights indicate.
Other Thoughts: I've been having problems with my comcast internet speeds as of late. Called them and they insisted I need a DOCSIS 3.0 modem. They sent the modem, and it didn't do anything, and on top of that, they include a WIFI router inside their modem, that blocks out my wifi router, and allows other to connect to it for free. They claim it doesn't count against my bandwidth, but I call bull $hi7 with that.

So this $80 router fits perfectly for me. And owning something vs renting is GREAT. After a year this will be paid for, and I'll be saving money vs renting.
Reviewed By:digdug,9/13/2014 7:35:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ZyXEL > ZyXEL DOCSIS 3.0 Residential Cable Modem Compatible with Comcast Network (BRG35503)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with Cox in AZ
Pros: Works fine for setups up to about 100Mbps
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Works in Phoenix AZ Cox cable. Just be sure to say its a Zyxel modem not a Hisense.
Reviewed By:ewtaylo,9/13/2014 6:08:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau