Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR CM500-100NAS DOCSIS 3.0 High Speed Cable Modem - Certified for Comcast XFINITY, Time Warner Cable, Cox, Charter & More

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as expected
Pros: Great reviews, Netgear is a decent company with good products, Time Warner managed to activate it first time in less than 10 minutes.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Replaced an Arris DG1670A from Time Warner, whose greed seems to know no bounds.

When I first got the Arris from them, it was $5/mo. Six months later, it went to $8/mo.

Then they informed me that since I was using the WiFi feature of the modem, that would be an ADDITIONAL $5/mo, at which point I'd had enough.

This modem went on sale that same day for $80, and I bought it. I would have bought it at the normal $100 price, too, based on many reviews.

While looking around for a decent wireless router, I found this incredible T-Mobile deal for their customers on a rebranded top of the line ASUS router. If you're on T-Mobile, check it out.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 11:17:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little guy
Pros: Great little guy who squeezes out every bit of speed from Comcast.
Cons: Wish I had it in black.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 10:43:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 EGGcelent Modem -- However!
Pros: Supports 50Mb/s and below service on Time Warner Cable
Looks good with all of that wax! (I wax it to make it go faster)
Cons: As Alexx J. mentioned, this modem is NOT compatible with TWC's 300Mb/s plan. Even though this modem can support 343Mb/s.
Other Thoughts: As I bought this -years- ago, I'll probably give this to a friend and buy the SB6183 (perfect excuse to upgrade eh?) I'm only docking 1 egg from the review as it's no fault of ARRIS/Motorola, only the slow ISP; however some documentation of this would have been nice.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 5:07:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C3700 N600 WiFi Docsis 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 In 1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very Unhappy
Pros: DOCSIS 3.0 compatibile
Cons: Worked as intended for a couple of months. Now wireless devices that are connected run very, very slow (about 3 MBPS on a 150 MBPS line) or simply will not load any web pages or other online applications. Wired devices such as my desktop computer and Xbox have speed issues as well; again only running at >3 MBPS. Have restarted and reset this unit several times and the issue will not go away. ISP is Comcast, they have been out here twice and said this last time that my modem must be bad. Switched it out with one of theirs and now have connection speeds of over 100 MBPS. Very unhappy with this product. Would advise all others to avoid this product.
Other Thoughts: To anyone else considering this product, I strongly urge you to consider a different product. Extremely unhappy with this product. It is only 6 months old and does not function as it should.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 12:21:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ZyXEL > ZyXEL BRG35503 DOCSIS 3.0 Residential Cable Modem Up To 160 Mbps Down and 120 Mbps Up RJ-45, Gigabit Ethernet DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0 and 1.1, Euro-DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great modem!
Pros: Cheap!
Works great!
Cons: No phone line, if you need a land-line phone.
Other Thoughts: For the price, it's fantastic. I have my PC, iPad, cell phone, and sometimes my work laptop all using wifi/ethernet and the speed is great. Highly recommend if you do not want to pay Comcast a rental fee for your modem!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 10:14:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > D-Link > D-Link DCM-301 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great modem for cable TV
Pros: small size
10% faster that my cable plan
low power
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 5:57:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ZyXEL > ZyXEL BRG35503 DOCSIS 3.0 Residential Cable Modem Up To 160 Mbps Down and 120 Mbps Up RJ-45, Gigabit Ethernet DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0 and 1.1, Euro-DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not the most reliable modem
Pros: Price - cheaper than other brand name ones.
Cons: Worked for few months.

Then about 4-5 months in started overheating, dropping connection left and right and requiring resets. The problem gets worse 8-9 months in requiring multiple resets a day. And today, 10 months into purchasing, it just flat out died with no chance for revival. Not gonna bother with warranty (not that they even offered one).
Other Thoughts: This modem would be good to give for free to say students and tenants. But if you want something that actually last, just get a brand name one.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 2:48:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C3700 N600 WiFi Docsis 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 In 1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: nothing
Cons: Too expensive
Other Thoughts: Don't buy this piece of junk
Manufacturer Response:Hey Kris,

We want to see if there is anything we can do to help you with the performance-- please email us at netgearteam@netgear.com with the serial number of your C3700. Make sure to also include anything that can speed things up on our end.

Our apologies that you aren't satisfied-- we hope to hear from you so that we can earn your business again.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 11:14:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-56USB - Modem - Conexant Hardware-Based 56Kbps USB (Plug & Play) V.92 Data / Fax / TAM – Windows 7 Ready

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 USB Modem Rosewill RNX-56USB
Pros: Good price and good quality. I was looking for something to have in the event I needed a portable modem. So far every computer I have tried this unit in seems to work with no issues.
Cons: None at this time.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 6:53:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR CM500-100NAS DOCSIS 3.0 High Speed Cable Modem - Certified for Comcast XFINITY, Time Warner Cable, Cox, Charter & More

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Blazingly fast
Pros: Very easy to setup. Very small. Blazingly fast. Works with Xfinity/Comcast without any issues. No more paying monthly modem rental to the cable company!
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Cannot do self-activation for Xfinity/Comcast using the instructions provided. Must call Xfinity to activate. NOT a modem issue, it's a Comcast issue -- the MAC address needs to be in their system PRIOR to activation. Call them and it takes less than 5 minutes to activate. Surprisingly painless.

Used with my own wifi router.

This replaces the latest generation Xfinity cable modem with wifi which was quirky and a pain to configure.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 10:32:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.