Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6190 DOCSIS 3.0 Gigabit+ Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reliable and fast
Pros: Fast. Was able to take advantage 24 (of the possible 32 the modem provides) downstream channels and 4 (of the 8) upload channels with the top tier cable service from Cox. The speed test went up dramatically with no other changes to my wireless. I now get about 350 mb/s downloads with a direct connection to the modem. I paired with a fast router and it provides a massive upgrade when using lots of bandwidth. If you need the bandwidth and you are biding your time until gigabit fiber service gets to your place, this may be your ticket. Has mounting slots, though I would suggest adding some plastic spacers to keep the until slightly separated from the wall or ceiling for heat dissipation. Have had this running since December 2015 with zero problems.
Cons: The LED lights on the front panel should have a provision to dim or turn off. It is distracting during dark movie watching. Of course, if you put a piece of cardboard in front of it, that solves the problem.
Other Thoughts: Recommended for anyone needing the throughput. I move numerous graphics files and it now takes seconds, rather than minutes.
Reviewed By:Michael R.,7/28/2016 1:32:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TC-7620 16x4 680 Mbps DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Compatible with Comcast XFINITY, Time Warner Cable, and Cablevision

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 TP-LINK TC-7620 16x4 680 Mbps DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Compatible with Comcast XFINITY, Time Warner Cable, and Cablevision
Pros: Works very well much faster then the junk Time Warner pawns off on there customers. Ive had it for about 2 months now and has been running great without any issues. The device is small and compact and can easily be kept out of the way. No buyers remorse and will pay for itself in less then a year. Overall great buy
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:Benjamin B.,7/26/2016 3:38:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem - 600 MHz Dual-Thread Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product, very stable.
Pros: Works with Comcast. In more than a year, I've never had it lock up and require a reboot.
Great speeds (I have the 100 meg download speed from Comcast).
Cons: I can find no negatives about this product, except the LEDs are quite bright.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this product.
Reviewed By:John E.,7/25/2016 4:45:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6141 8x4 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does what it's supposed to. No Issues.
Pros: Simple to setup.
Works.
Cons: Nothing in particular.
Other Thoughts: I have a 180Mbps connection from Comcast/Xfinity. Works and doesn't give me problems.
Reviewed By:MARK S.,7/25/2016 1:53:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > Motorola MG7310 8x4 343 Mbps DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Plus N300 Wireless Gigabit Router Certified by Comcast XFINITY, Time Warner and More

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Comcast will no longer get their 10$ per month!
Pros: -Great speeds, strong signal.
-Set up is simple.
-Web based control panel is intuitive, troubleshooting steps in manual are great.
Cons: -Speeds drop off as you move further away (50' in my case), but that is typical.
Reviewed By:Ken P.,7/25/2016 11:54:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > Motorola MG7310 8x4 343 Mbps DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Plus N300 Wireless Gigabit Router Certified by Comcast XFINITY, Time Warner and More

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 it does what it claims
Pros: All in one, so less wires to get in the way or go bad. only 1 power plug too
Cons: no external antenna so it has to be upright, and not laying down.
Reviewed By:Forrest H.,7/25/2016 6:48:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear N450-100NAS N450 Wireless Gigabit Router + High Speed Cable Modem – DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after a year
Pros: Worked well for a year.
Cons: You would think for the money you pay for this that you would get a few years out of it. Lasted me a little over a year and it just dies and no way to replace it.
Reviewed By:Amber H.,7/24/2016 5:46:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TC-7610 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast, simple setup
Pros: Confirmed to work with Comcast in Oregon on the 75Mbps service
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/24/2016 5:41:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Linksys > Linksys CM3008 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem (8x4 Bonded channels)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great modem, works plug and play with Charter (as promised)
Pros: Basically plug and play with my Charter Spectrum internet. I had to enter the MAC address of my old modem and enter my Charter account # to switch over to this new modem, but otherwise, it was plug and play. My Buffalo WZR-1750DHP had no issues with the CM3008.

Tried a quick speed test and the CM3008 was able to pull 100 Mbps down and 4 Mbps up which is the plan that I’m on with Charter. However, the Cisco DPC3010 that I was given by Charter actually gets 132 Mbps down and usually 4.5 – 5 Mbps up because of how strong our connection is. In that regard, if you pay for >100Mbps, keep in mind the CM3008 is capped at that speed so you may want to look at the CM3024 instead which will go up to 343 Mbps.

Have had no issues with anything else that I use currently – I have both SSH/SFTP and VNC servers, and also play online games in Steam as well as use 2 Rokus (Roku 2 & Roku 3) with Playstation Vue, Hulu, Netflix, and other services. The CM3008 worked just fine with all of these.

It’s about as big as a deck of playing cards. Wherever you put it, you basically lay it flat or you can try to prop it up on its side but there’s nothing to hold it in that orientation. It would definitely make a good “travel” modem or something that a “family IT guy” could take with them if a friend or relative thinks their modem is bad…you can literally fit it in your pocket.

Solid piece of kit. It’s fully plastic and has no metal at all other than the COAX jack but it still feels like it’s built well enough and could handle being dropped or being knocked off a desk or shelf.
Cons: Just a minor gripe - it cannot be wall mounted out of the box (but I’m sure you could use brackets or two sided tape/mounting squares if you really wanted to put it on the wall). It doesn't have slots in the back of the unit for wall mounting.
Other Thoughts: Don’t really have much else to say – it’s a cable modem, compatible with most providers, and it works basically plug and play. If you currently lease a modem from your provider, and your provider is compatible with this, definitely pick this up and it’ll pay for itself fairly quickly over what you’ll save on “modem lease” fees.
Reviewed By:Nick C.,7/24/2016 3:31:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Linksys > Linksys CM3008 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem (8x4 Bonded channels)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple plug and play.
Pros: - Tiny - It's half the size of my ISP provided modem.
- Easy to set up - see Other
Cons: - Runs pretty warm - I mean, you're not going to burn yourself, but it does get warm.
Other Thoughts: This is pretty much as plug and play as you get. Plug in the cable, power, and Ethernet and attach it to your network and you have an internet connection. My ISP is Time Warner/Charter/Whatever the heck they wind up calling themselves. I had to call in and give them the MAC address and serial for them to authorize it, but other than that there were zero problems. My apartment is wired so that the ISP provided modem provides connection to a bunch of Ethernet jacks in the wall, but I only use one for my router anyway, so there were no issues there.

I ran a bunch of speed tests and my connection was no different between this and the huge ISP provided modem. I have had zero issues. This review is going to be awfully short, but really, that's what you want: A modem that you plug in and forget about.
Reviewed By:Jeremy S.,7/24/2016 11:43:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.