Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > D-Link > D-Link DCM-301 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reliable and Consistent
Pros: I have Zito Media as my cable ISP. Got it up and running in a couple minutes with them. Internet performance is on par or better than the modem we were renting. I've gone several months with it just working.
Cons: Can't connect through a surge protector, but this isn't the fault of the modem. It's the cable technology.
Other Thoughts: Do NOT connect through a surge protector.

Initially I had the connection running from the wall to an APC UPS, then to the modem. This seriously degraded the performance and even required reboots at the longest interval of 2 days.

Once I connected directly to the wall, I've been getting the performance I'm paying for and have yet to reboot it after many months.
Reviewed By:Aaron S.,4/27/2016 1:21:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR CMD31T-100NAS High Speed Cable Modem - DOCSIS 3.0 Ethernet Port

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Doesn't work with Cox Premier Svc
Pros: DOCSIS 3.0. Gigabit Ethernet port. Supports speeds up to 150 Mbps.
Cons: Unfortunately, I was never able to get this modem working on the Cox network. I am not sure if it is a faulty modem, or if it is no longer compatible with the recent changes Cox has made to their network to accommodate the new speed standards, especially with the roll out of their GigaBlast service in the Phoenix area (where I live).
Other Thoughts: When I plug the coax cable into the modem, it never comes ready, and the ISP (Cox) can not see it. It is not possible to provision and register the modem. There was some confusion at Cox as to whether this modem is on their approved list, with some lists showing it and others not showing it. In any case, this is an older modem that Netgear tells me is being phased out. I upgraded to a CM600 which is working great. See my review for more details if you are interested.
Bottom line is that this modem is being phased out by Netgear so you will probably not see it in the stores anyway. Stick the the CM600 which is future proof right up to Gigabit speeds.

For those interested, this is what was contained in the error log:
Time Not Established Error (4) ToD request sent- No Response received;CM-MAC=28:c6:8e:31:4b:...
Time Not Established Warning (5) MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=28:c6:8e:31:4b:80;CMTS-MAC=6c:41:6...
Time Not Established Critical (3) No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=28:c6:8e:31...
Mon Mar 21 08:17:09 2016 Critical (3) Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Un...
Time Not Established Warning (5) MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=28:c6:8e:31:4b:80;CMTS-MAC=6c:41:6...
Tue Mar 22 16:10:49 2016 Critical (3) Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Un...
Time Not Established Warning (5) MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=28:c6:8e:31:4b:80;CMTS-MAC=6c:41:6...
Tue Mar 22 16:32:42 2016 Critical (3) Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Un...
Tue Mar 22 16:32:46 2016 Critical (3) SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=28:...
Time Not Established Warning (5) MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=28:c6:8e:31:4b:80;CMTS-MAC=6c:41:6...
Tue Apr 5 09:02:49 2016 Critical (3) Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Un...
Reviewed By:Kevin D.,4/27/2016 1:01:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR D7000-100NAS Nighthawk AC1900 Wi-Fi VDSL/ADSL Modem Router

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works great when it does
Pros: Drops less than the modem provided by the ISP.
5G wireless, much better than 2.4G.
You can turn off the bright LEDs, well all but one.
Great wireless range
Cons: For the price, it drops internet a lot usually 4-5 times a week.
Once every 2 weeks the ISP user and password have to be re-entered, it for some reason forgets it.
NETGEAR Genie takes about 5 minutes to detect there is no internet.
If the NETGEAR Genie can fix the internet great. Otherwise if you have to go through the webpage, it says 1-6 minutes on average it takes 10+.
Other Thoughts: Need a firmware update so it can remember the ISP user and password.
Need a firmware update to auto restore the internet if it drops, rather then waking up or getting home and have to mess with it.
Reviewed By:Michael R.,4/26/2016 3:36:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6190 DOCSIS 3.0 Gigabit+ Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Don't waste money
Pros: ARRIS
Cons: NOT future proof
Other Thoughts: Comcrap offers 2Gb speeds. This modem will not handle it. The majority of the country is on comcrap, not Google or Time Warner. I suggest you wait until DOCSIS 3.1 modems become available and save your money and buy the SB6183 instead.

Also comcrap rips off customers with high prices compared to Google. They want you to pay high prices for installation, activation, and then monthly fees. Some cities are attempting to give users 10Gb connections as well. 10G NICs and routers are expensive. They will probably give you a new NIC and router to handle the 2Gb speeds.

I just upgraded service and bought the SB6183. I had 15Mb and this took it to 30. I did upgrade to their 25Mb service, but I think they were not giving me the speeds since my comcrap modem only still hit 18. They lie and say 75Mb and 150 is available at my address. The tech came out and confirmed they are incompetent and keep giving customers wrong information.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/26/2016 2:27:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TD-W8960N Wireless N300 ADSL2+ Modem Router, 300Mbps, IPSec VPN support, ADSL / ADSL2 / ADSL2+ Certified Refurbished

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to setup. I had it up and running with 5 minutes.
Pros: Product is appealing when placed alongside other equipment.
Easily connects with all major ISP's.
Wireless works fine, no dropouts. Interfaced nicely with my Directv and smart TV.
Cons: No Cons at this time.
Other Thoughts: Can't hardly turn this down, price is right.
Reviewed By:Donald G.,4/25/2016 4:46:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem - 600 MHz Dual-Thread Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The best modem
Pros: Maximizes download speeds.
Will last until DOCSIS 3.1 is out.
Not at its end of life with comcrap.
I was getting 18Mb and after installing this it went to 30/5. I don't know if that is after they upgraded my 15 to 75. So maybe you can buy a slower speed package and rip them off. Read my edit.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: EDIT: Comcrap set me up for 75, but this modem only got 30. I had been on 15 and getting 18. I told them I want to go to 25 and lower my fee even more than I was paying fro 15 and they did. They are incompetent and do not know the packages they are offering in some places are incapable of those speeds. The tech came the next day and said no one in the area gets more than 25 and they have been telling people lies. You should all check for alternate ISPs in your area on broadbandnow.com and see what fees they are charging in your area. Your ISP could be ripping you off.

Do not get the SB6141 if you use comcrap. They no longer support it. Those melon farmers have been hiding speed packages from customers, and I found out I have been paying the SAME PRICE for 15Mb internet only service when 75Mb +50 channels is available. When logged in, the packages they offered were overpriced and only went to 25Mb. I had seen BLAST before for 75Mb, but they removed it and I had to search for alternate ISPs in my area and came across a site that listed the 75 and 150 option. My head exploded out of sheer amazement, and boy did I call and cuss them out. I then did reviews for modems since they said I would need a new one, and found out the one suggested is not supported by them as of this month, and this one is the one listed on their site. I've been gullible for a decade for paying $10 a month to lease when buying is cheaper.

DOCSIS 3.1 is right around the corner, but you will need a 10Gb NIC or motherboard with onboard, and they are not cheap and the MBs are rare. You'll also need an SSD. I have a 950 PRO. It's amazing that for the 2Gb service, comcrap is charging $300, which is about double what you are paying for 150Mb, but 13x the speed.

To the reviewer Randy G., getting 245Gb from this would be a feat indeed, as the University of Michigan only has a 100Gb internet2.edu connection. And getting higher would require a Juniper MX 480 router, 3 100Gb NICs, and SSDs in RAID, and RAM to RAM transfer. He got his terminology mixed up. lol


I've been using computers and social media since the 80s at 1200 baud, and running a warez BBS with Fidonet. It's taken a long time to get this far and it's still slow and a lot of people lack high internet speeds. I remember signing up for @Home at 150K/s, and when they went bankrupt and were booting people off the network, you could get 500K/s. Those early modems also had lights for email that the ISPs never implemented.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/25/2016 12:44:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > Motorola MB7420 16x4 686 Mbps DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Certified by Comcast XFINITY, Time Warner Cable, and Other Service Providers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Small, compact, easy to setup
Pros: Since TWC increased internet speeds, my old modem was not sufficient since it could only download 15mbps and upload 1mbps. After installing this modem I can now enjoy speeds up to 300mbps.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I recommended this product to a friend so now he can enjoy the faster speeds also.
Reviewed By:James M.,4/25/2016 12:11:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > Motorola MB7420 16x4 686 Mbps DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Certified by Comcast XFINITY, Time Warner Cable, and Other Service Providers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great with Time Warner Cable's Maxx network
Pros: - easy setup
- stable connection
Cons: - no problems at all
Other Thoughts: My modem is connected at full 16 down x 4 up, but my network plan is limited to 50/5. At this speed the connection is reliable and usually runs very consistently at 60/6 with no problems at all. I haven't tested full 686Mbps download capability.
Reviewed By:Andriy D.,4/24/2016 8:55:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR CM400-100NAS DOCSIS 3.0 High Speed Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy set up, works great
Pros: Great price for an all around great modem
Cons: None that I have seen yet
Other Thoughts: Was a lot smaller than expected. Can't really say that is a bad thing though.
Reviewed By:Shawn K.,4/23/2016 10:36:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6141 8x4 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pretty cool modem, nice price for a great product.
Pros: Small and compact.
Build quality is very nice.
Decent speeds.
Cons: Really bright LED's, I have the modem setup in my room and the lights are very intense.
Reviewed By:Christian E.,4/22/2016 3:19:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.