Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6121 SURFboard Cable Modem Up To 172 Mbps Down and 131 Mbps Up RJ-45, Gigabit Ethernet DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0 and 1.1, Euro-DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Modem for a Great Price
Pros: I've had this modem for about 3 years now, and I've enjoyed it a lot.

I haven't had any problems with it, and it's front-end light interface is easy to understand.
Cons: None so far. Going on year 4...
Other Thoughts: It's a great deal, and I'd highly recommend this to anyone looking for a cable modem.
Reviewed By:Ninzir,1/26/2015 3:55:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TD-W8950ND 150Mbps Wireless N ADSL2+ Modem Router 24Mbps Downstream, 3.5Mbps Upstream Ethernet Port ADSL/ADSL2/ADSL2+ Standards

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Still Works After 3 Years
Pros: The pros of this device are that out of the box I didn't have to make too many configuration changes, other than changing the default passwords and personalizing the basic wireless settings. It connected to my DSL provided by my ISP without any issues. It has functioned well for the small amount of traffic on my home network. Even allowing me to telework from home with very little problems.
Cons: I don't really have any cons but please see my other thoughts
Other Thoughts: I do not have central air in my house and during the summer the temperatures do cause the router to over heat. When this occurs all devices on the network do loose connection. I do not feel this is an issue of the manufacturer but more on my part not to provide adequate cooling for the device. During the winter months the device functions as expected. When the loss of connection does occur normally just powering the device off and back on, while allowing it adequate time to fully reboots restores service. For the last 3 years this device has performed great considering the environment factors.
Reviewed By:Drew,1/25/2015 5:49:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ZyXEL > ZyXEL BRG35503 DOCSIS 3.0 Residential Cable Modem Compatible with Comcast Network

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 upload speed about 0.1
Pros: none
Cons: After 2 weeks of good working condition, Comcast recommended replace this modem because of very slow upload speed so my VOIP was not working.
Placed back my previous modem and my upload speed came back to about 6mbps.
I am very upset because I am asked to pay for shipping of modem which need to be replaced after only second week of working condition.
Reviewed By:Chris,1/25/2015 10:20:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ZyXEL > ZyXEL BRG35503 DOCSIS 3.0 Residential Cable Modem Compatible with Comcast Network

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 modem
Pros: Uses the latest DOCSIS 3.0 technology.
Compatible with Comcast.
Reasonably priced.
Cons: none so far
Other Thoughts: Easy set up over the phone with comcast.
I replaced my old DOCSIS 2.0 modem and it stopped those annoying calls telling me to upgrade my equipment.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/24/2015 1:05:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6141 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem 10/100/1000Base-T Ethernet (RJ-45)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 No Log
Pros: Lot of options and control. Connects easily.
Cons: Perhaps mine is defective, but the only thing it logs is DHCP info.
Reviewed By:web,1/23/2015 10:00:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6141 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem 10/100/1000Base-T Ethernet (RJ-45)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SB6141
Pros: Easy setup, called Comcast and activated it. Working flawless for a week now.
Cons: No eggs off: Front indicator lights are very bright, but that does not bother me. For some it might.
Other Thoughts: For under $100.00 why lease when you can own it yourself.
Reviewed By:lrxmml,1/22/2015 11:07:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Multi-Tech > MultiTech MultiModem ZPX MT9234ZPX-UPCI Data/Fax Modem 56Kbps PCI ITU-T V.92 ITU-T V.44 ITU-T V.34 ITU-T V.42

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: The top end speed of the fax. Like the other reviewer, we needed something to catch incoming faxes and wanted the fasted available. This guy has been doing that for a couple of years now.
Cons: It's a bit pricey. The drivers for Vista were a bit of a trick, but not worth an egg.
Other Thoughts: You would think a 33,600 fax would be the norm. It's not.

Also, this unit has been working well for a long time. That would indicate the quality of the product is high.
Reviewed By:Coast Ranger,1/21/2015 7:10:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6141 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem 10/100/1000Base-T Ethernet (RJ-45)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 poor quality
Pros: Supposed to be good quality product compared to other brands.
Cons: Failed after 3 months. Known a friend whose modem failed after 2 months. I am beginning to wonder Motorola's product quality. I definitely won't be recommending Motorola any more.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/20/2015 5:22:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6141 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem 10/100/1000Base-T Ethernet (RJ-45)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best MODEM for the $$$ for higher speed internet
Pros: Unless you are able to get Gigabit in your area - this is the only and best cable modem you should get. Swapping out my 10 year cable modem for this I got instant double speeds due to DOCSIS 3.0 (my ISP already upgraded speeds to my service but my old modem did not support the speeds).
Cons: I love this modem, but I hate my ISP... outtages, lag, disconnects - none of it was the modem's fault because my neighboar had the same issues.
Other Thoughts: Always buy your own equipment and do not lease from your ISP = save money
Reviewed By:Nixeus Technology,1/20/2015 1:42:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR CM400-100NAS DOCSIS 3.0 High Speed Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Faster than Motorola SurfBoard SB6141
Pros: Easy setup
Faster than previous modem
Small
Trouble free
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I'm a Comcast 125Mbps internet subscriber and have been using my own Motorola SurfBoard SB6141 (DOCSIS 3.0) modem for over a year. I was recently offered this Netgear modem for free. At first I wasn't sure I wanted to bother because I already had my own equipment, I remembered getting my old modem registered with Comcast being a hassle, and there are a number of negative reviews for this particular model. But, since it was free and since I like tinkering (I don't have any technical training), I accepted. I could always go back to my Motorola if I didn't like the Netgear modem.

The setup process was pretty painless. I just unplugged my old modem, switched the coax from old modem to new, unplugged the ethernet cable from my PC to my Airport Extreme, plugged the PC ethernet cable into the new modem and plugged the new modem into the wall. Once it booted up, I just had to navigate in my browser to Comcast's setup page and the modem registered itself (after login). The registration process took about 5 minutes--all on Comcast's end. After that, I ran speedtest.net and and was surprised to get a much faster ping than on my old modem and to pick up about 4 Mbps in added download speed. I figured the better performance was probably due to the fact that the modem was connected directly to my computer, rather than to my router, for setup.

After getting the modem registered, I switched the ethernet connections so that it fed into my Airport Extreme instead of directly to my PC. But, at that point, my router and connected devices weren't getting internet. I reset the router and still nothing. All I had to do was power cycle the modem and it all worked. After that, I ran several more speed tests from my PC and got the same increased speeds.

The modem has now been running for several days and I haven't had any of the issues raised in other reviews. So, at the end of the day, this modem ended up squeezing more performance out of my internet connection and it will be permanently replacing my Motorola unit--a pleasant surprise. It's also a bit smaller than the Motorola, although that wasn't really important to me.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/20/2015 1:36:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.