Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > Acer America > Acer XB270H Abprz Black 27" 1ms 144HZ Widescreen LED Backlight G-sync LCD Monitor300 cd/m2 1000:1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 love this monitor
Pros: I was very hesitant to get a TN monitor, since my last monitor was an IPS (Dell 2209WA). I don't know if it's because this is an 8-bit panel, or just a very good TN, but I have no regrets, it looks great. Text is very good at 27in @ 1080p, not superb, but still good. G-sync + 144hz makes BF4 ultra smooth, a really enjoyable experience (when you're not getting pwned because your team is asleep but that's true with any setup). Skyrim is awesome and smooth with g-sync as well (though I did make a script to switch the monitor to 100hz mode when I launch the game because of physics bugs in skyrim at high fps). Fiddled with the settings until I got it just the way I like, settled for 'graphics mode' because I light bright and colorful. Had 0 issues with every feature of this monitor, g-sync + 144hz worked immediately and every time. Using 344.48 nvidia drivers. Had 0 dead pixels, and no other screen related issues.
Cons: Only real con, is that being a TN panel, the colors shift slightly when I do things like lean back in my chair due to the viewing angle issues of TN panels. The ultra smooth gaming more than makes up for it, and it only took a few days before I stopped noticing the shifting really.
Other Thoughts: I think this monitor was definitely worth it, and I got it at $599. I really only play BF4, but it's unbelievably smooth, eventually you just stop noticing screen issues (tearing, stuttering, etc.) which distracted me often before, and it just becomes normal since it's what you would expect if you weren't a monitor scientist that knew all about monitor limitations. The whole package, the flawless monitor, great colors, g-sync, 144hz is just great. I can't compliment acer enough for this monitor.
Reviewed By:JamesG76,10/24/2014 9:03:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > Acer America > Acer XB280HK bprz Black 28" 1ms 4K Widescreen LED Backlight G-sync LCD Monitor300 cd/m2 1000:1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pro
Pros: Please note that I am basically comparing this against an Acer GD235HZ 120Hz monitor which I had used for four (4) years and which I also bought on this site as well.

The first positive thing I noticed were the colors. I have read reviews on other monitors where reviewers said that the colors "pop" and I never experienced that on any of my previous monitors nor any monitor I've seen in stores before (I don't recall seeing any IPS monitors and I've heard IPS monitors are the best regarding color accuracy, etc). Well, this monitor's colors "pop". If an IPS monitor is supposed to be better than I've been missing out!

The second positive thing about this monitor is the amount of desktop real-estate you get. Basically you can have four (4) videos playing at 1080p, one per quadrant. You can also have two (2) browers open side-by-side without any adjustments.

The third positive thing (which should be the first but isn't because it didn't turn out the way as I had hoped probably due to my hardware limitations) is G-sync and gaming performance. I am currently using a GTX 760 which couldn't even run most current games at max settings and 120 FPS (closer to 60 FPS) with my old monitor. Anyway, it supports 4K in all the games I've played which are mainly Blizzard games. I can max out Hearthstone, and HoTS (~60FPS). I have yet to try D3 and SC2 since I am bored of those game. I also tried Steam games like Sniper Elite II which I basically maxed out (supersampling = OFF) and gameplay was smoother than on my 120Hz monitor even though my FPS was around 30. I tried Batman Arkham Aslyum maxed out and got around 45FPS. All these games played smooth for the most part but I did notice a stutter here and there. It most likely is due to my above-average GPU for this high-end monitor and why I (unlike most of the reviewers who tend to have SLI'd GPUs, GTX 970 or above) have not experienced flawless gameplay.
Cons: Expensive.

Probably requires SLI'd GPUs, a GTX 970, or better.

Scale; at 4K the font is so small that I had to set the custom text size (DPI) to 200% so that it would be as easy to read as it was on my previous monitor. When I did this, the Steam application's font became blurry whereas Blizzard's application font remained so small.
Other Thoughts: Acer XB280HK 28" 4K G-sync Monitor
Zotac GTX 760 GPU
Enermax Infiniti EIN720AWT 720W Modular PSU
Intel Core i5-750 @ 3.8GHz CPU
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB RAM
Intel 320 Series 80GB SSD (Operating System)
Intel 530 Series 240GB SSD (Games)
Reviewed By:N/A,10/24/2014 8:43:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > ASUS > ASUS VS Series VS247H-P Black 23.6" 2ms LED Backlight Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 50000000:1 (ASCR)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Great So Far!
Pros: Nice size.
Cons: Stand could be better.. :(
Reviewed By:Wildstar,10/24/2014 7:05:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > ASUS > ASUS PB287Q Black 28" 4K UHD 1ms 10-bit HDMI Widescreen LED Backlight LCD Monitor height&Pivot adjustable 300 cd/m2 100,000,000:1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 great size and resolution... but
Pros: Great resolution and features.
Cons: With any moving image you can see the monitor is split in half left to right. The top half and bottom half do not mesh properly and there is distortion across the middle until the picture movement stops. Watching video or playing games is horrible on this monitor. Going to have to send it back. 4K is not ready for primetime.
Other Thoughts: pb287q settings: display port 1.2, 60hz, native resolution
gpu- evga gtx780 with current driver as of 10/23/14
i7 980 clocked at 4.2 ghz
asus rampage 3 mb
12gb ram
3X128gb ssds in raid 0 on intel raid card
win7 ultimate
Reviewed By:jonny80s,10/23/2014 8:26:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > Acer America > Acer H6 Series H236HLbid Black 23" 5ms (GTG) HDMI Widescreen LED Backlight LED Backlit LCD Monitor, IPS Panel 250 cd/m2 ACM 100,000,000:1 (1000:1)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best monitor i have seen
Pros: Looks great, Durable, Worked from day 1 till now,
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: All my friends tell me it is the BEST monitor they have ever seen. would definitely pick this up.
Reviewed By:Brian,10/23/2014 6:33:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > Hanns-G > Hanns·G HH-251HPB Black 24.6" 2ms HDMI Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 DC 15000:1(800:1) Built-in Speakers

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 ok monitors
Pros: Great when they work. Nothing lasts forever, but I have other monitors that are older and still working. I bought three of these at the same time and all are dead now.
Cons: they died?
Reviewed By:hightechredneck,10/23/2014 6:08:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > Acer America > Acer G6 Series G246HLAbd Black 24" 5ms Widescreen LED Monitor 250 cd/m2 ACM 100,000,000:1 (1000:1)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Quality for the price
Pros: Great picture, bright colors and reasonable price. I use for office programs, email and internet and it has been a great upgrade for my home computer. I use a dual monitor setup and plan on purchasing another one to my other monitor.
Cons: Non at this time, wish I had ordered 2 instead of one/
Other Thoughts: I searched and reviewed several monitors and always came back to the Acer brands due to reviews, pricing and personal experience with Acer monitors at work.
Reviewed By:Roundman,10/23/2014 5:55:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > ASUS > ASUS VS Series VS238H-P Black 23" 2ms HDMI LED Backlight Widescreen LCD Monitor 250 cd/m2 50,000,000:1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Crisp picture
Pros: Excellent monitor. Great picture
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Munchkin,10/23/2014 5:38:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > Acer America > Acer GN246HL Black 24" 1ms 144hz HDMI Widescreen LED Backlight LCD 3D Monitor 350 cd/m2 100,000,000:1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pretty good monitor
Pros: This is a pretty good monitor for its asking price. 1080P visuals alongside a spectacular 144 hz refresh rate is just mind boggling amazing. Could be a slightly higher resolution, but meh. 1080P is not going out of style anytime soon.
Cons: Right out of the box, there is unfortunately one dead pixel. Thankfully though, it's at the very top near the thick bezel so it's not a complete eyesore unless I decide to look up there for whatever reason. It also has some pretty washed out colors, and even tweaking w/ the monitors settings doesn't do it much justice, but it being a TN panel, you get what you pay for, so it's to be expected w/ this type of panel (you won't notice it while you're gaming).
Other Thoughts: Other than the small bickering, it's an overall good monitor. The only reason it doesn't get my 5 eggs is simply because of the dead pixel. I only believe in a perfect rating if everything is spot on perfect, but in my case, it simply wasn't. If you do decide to pick up this monitor, do expect stuck and/or dead pixels, though judging off of other reviews, it seems others have been lucking out w/ perfection.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/23/2014 4:33:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > Acer America > Acer XB280HK bprz Black 28" 1ms 4K Widescreen LED Backlight G-sync LCD Monitor300 cd/m2 1000:1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 2nd times the charm.
Pros: Games now have no tearing thanks to Gsync. No bad pixels. Seems to be calibrated pretty well right out of the box. Colors are bright and vibrant.

Kill-a-watt shows 24 watts power usage with brightness set at 10 out of 100, which is what I leave it at. It was 48 watts at maximum brightness (100/100).

I am running a pair of Nvidia GTX 680 2 GB in SLI on an i7-920. Games are playable at 4K with almost all settings at Ultra. Tomb Raider required Hair TressFX to be turned off or it was unplayable in 4K. After cranking up most of the remaining features on Tomb Raider, it was still hitting an average of 45 FPS and was playable. Crysis 3 felt fine, very smooth thanks to Gsync.

The monitor works at 24Hz as well as 60Hz. When in Gsync mode, it obviously varies the refresh rates if required.

This is your one choice if you want a 4K Gsync monitor. It's a good monitor, and Gsync means you can get away with a little less video card horsepower and still have great looking games. It does have a few minor faults, but I'm happy with this monitor and glad I gave it a second chance.
Cons: The first one of these monitors I bought was DOA, and you can read my previous reviews for the details.

This monitor only has a DisplayPort input, and a USB 3.0 hub. Nothing else. It would have been nice to have multiple DisplayPort inputs.

I am docking one egg off the rating because of this:
The EDID does not appear to be correct for this monitor, and that will cause issues under Linux. (It works fine in Windows.) The EDID lists:
Vertical Scan Range : 30Hz-70Hz
which is incorrect. I believe it should be 24Hz-70Hz.

As a result if you are using onboard Intel video that maxes out at 4K@24 Hz, in Fedora 20 Linux it will get the 30Hz minimum back on the Vertical Scan range and not work. The modeline: Modeline "3840x2160_24" 209.760 3840 3888 3920 4000 2160 2163 2168 2185 +hsync -vsync resolves that issue, but requires creating an xorg.conf or similar.
Reviewed By:2ndtimer,10/23/2014 3:58:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau