Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock 970M Pro3 AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 + AMD SB950 6 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Decent Motherboard, not that there's a lot of good ones to choose from
Pros: At the time that I'm writing this, I'm unaware of any other AM3+-based mATX boards with a relatively modern chipset. While the 970 chipset isn't the most full-featured of chipsets, it is modern enough to be able to do whatever you want with any of the current AMD Phenom X4/X6/FX cpus and gives you compatibility with 8GB DDR sticks; something my old old 880GX board couldn't handle.

Using my Phenom II X4 960T Zosma processor, this board had ZERO issues unlocking the the two extra cores. Individual OC settings are very clear and understandable in the UEFI-BIOS.

On-board USB3.0. Numerous SATA 6G ports. 4 DDR slots (that accept the higher capacity RAM instead of only 2 as with many in this form factor.

The board also simply looks nice.

Built by ASRock, who made my last couple of mainboards. Those have served me quite well over the last several years.
Cons: It's very limited for sound output options. I didn't even think about it when I ordered it, but I like using SPDIF Optical for my sound output. Shockingly, it's not there... I would have thought that ANY small form-factor, being that manufacturer already understood the expansion space limitations, would have had this feature built in.

Luckily I had no trouble using my Radeon HD6950's HDMI port going to my big screen and then using the Optical out from there to my sound setup (Vizio 5.1 sound bar). I don't have a dedicated AV receiver, so that's how I set this up.
Other Thoughts: I went with this board as it, as well as any other AM3+ board, had legacy support for my aging, but still quite capable, processor. As the X4 960T was a wonderful processor 3 years ago, it's still reasonable to use today as an X6 processor with a mild overclock. This board is a definite money saver giving me more time to be able to build funds for future upgrades.
Reviewed By:Droo,5/5/2015 10:04:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD5 AM3+ AMD 990FX 8 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Forget it.
Pros: It looks nice.
Cons: Not compatible with AMD FX-9590 like they said when I purchased it.
Other Thoughts: Gigabyte sucks. After it died in 2 weeks trying to run a FX-9590 I broke a memory tab trying different slots. Gigabyte said the board was "unrepairable" and voided the warranty. No alternative. Didn't bother to check the board out. Of course checking it would mean they would have to replace the board.
Spend a little more and get a Sabertooth.
Reviewed By:skoville,5/5/2015 6:15:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI A88X-G45 GAMING FM2+ / FM2 AMD A88X (Bolton D4) 8 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome!
Pros: Easy to set up, so far it works awesome, plenty of sata ports and usb 3.0 ports, looks cool.
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:N/A,5/5/2015 5:16:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS A58M-A/USB3 FM2+ AMD A58 (Bolton D2) USB 3.0 HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good board
Pros: Good little FM2 board.

Affordable

Good features for the price.

MUST UPDATE BIOS to work with 860k. (Separate CPU needed)
Cons: Must Update bios to work with 860k. Without a bios update the system won't POST. Luckily I keep a dual core a4-6300'around to test. After updating bios to newest version 860k and video card worked like a chArm. Without that backup CPU that could have been a mess. Since then system has been up for 2 weeks without issue, no BSOD , lock ups, or hang.

Since I only bought one board I have no way to know if I just got an old in stock one with old bios, or if others ship with newer bios.
Other Thoughts: It's a motherboard. It came undamaged, and in working order.

Upon first boot the system wouldn't POST w/ the 860k and Radeon 7870. After ensuring everything was properly seated and still not POSTING I took out the video card and cpu and swapped in an A4-6300 I keep around for trouble shooting. System posted booted no issue. I then updated the BIOS.......the one that shipped didn't support the 860k out of the box.

After updating the BIOS and swapping back the 860k and Radeon 7870 the system boot and POSTed without issue. If you don't have a spare CPU to do the swap and purchased the 860k you would be in deep trouble.

After 2 weeks this system is more then stable and no other issues were ever had. Board remained cool, under load.

Board also overclocked well. Got the 860k stable at 4.4 ghz 24/7 on Coolmaster 212 EVO.



To the reviewer who couldn't get his ram to run at 2400 MHz. The memory controller on the A4-6300 is capped at 1600 MHz. If you used a Higher A8/A10 your ram would run at rated speed. You can still overclocked the IGP and CPU cores on the A4-6300, but to get your ram to run at 2400 will not happen on that chip.
Reviewed By:John,5/4/2015 10:25:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 AM3+ AMD 970 + SB950 6 x SATA 6Gb/s port(s), gray USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good
Pros: bios is easy to understand with this and software that comes with it is not bad.
everything fits as it should. usb 3.0 on back and options for front mount sound and usb.
multi spots for fans.
affordable
its BLUE
Cons: cpu lock is rather tight. almost feels like you could snap the cpu. i was careful and its still just fine.
Other Thoughts: mobo-ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 AM3+ AMD 970 + SB950 UEFI BIOS
pcu-AMD FX-6300 Vishera
gpu-MSI Radeon HD 7770 GHz 1GB 128-Bit
internet-Rosewill RNX-N250PC2
ram-HyperX Blu 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 1333
cd- ASUS DVD-Writer SATA
Reviewed By:N/A,5/4/2015 10:02:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock 970M Pro3 AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 + AMD SB950 6 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent Board for The Money
Pros: -Sexy board (very nice looking black color, nicer in person than the pictures)
-Cheap for what it offers
-Crossfire support (also a con)
-4 DIMM slots
-USB 3.0
-SATA 6Gb/s
-Only micro ATX AM3+ board with the 970 chipset.
Cons: -4+1 phase power. This board needs more power, as one cannot overclock well if at all, especially when using a higher TDP processor. The fact that the VRMs are not even heatsinked makes this worse.
-No SLI support. I know it's the 970 chipset, but at least make the second PCI-E slot 8x, not 4x and wired to the southbridge, to be able to support SLI.
-Audio channels included are not 7.1. This is only applicable through the front panel audio, which defeats the purpose as I haven't seen front panel 7.1 channel audio. The rear audio included is 2.1 channel.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great buy for the price. The look is great and it has very promising features. The only concerns are the power delivery and the second PCI-E slot, so to make it capable of SLI, not just Crossfire.
Reviewed By:Alex,5/4/2015 8:17:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 AMD 890FX 6 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 dont do it
Pros: looks cool. ran great.
Cons: very expensive for a 3 year mobo.
Ran everything at total stock for 3 yrs/3 months and then it died.Conveniently 3 months after warranty was up.
I guess I'll be done with asus.Too many other cheaper boards
that will last twice as long.
Other Thoughts: everything u want unless u want longevity.
Reviewed By:former asus client,5/4/2015 5:17:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS A88X-PRO FM2+ / FM2 AMD A88X (Bolton D4) 6 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great board
Pros: Love the software that comes with this, makes overclocking and
monitoring speeds and temps a pleasure.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: No problems at all, super stable.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/4/2015 4:59:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 AM3+ AMD 760G + SB710 USB 3.0 HDMI uATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Get what you pay for.
Pros: Cheap. But you get what u pay for. I only use for people that wish me to build as cheap as possible. It will work, for awhile. Then next time they are willing to pay for something better.
Cons: Cheap. Also Rebate may be rejected even if you follow and provide everything asked for. Mine was rejected for not receiving invoice, which they did receive and even scanned into their online records!!! Too bad I can not give them 0 eggs, which I would do in this case!
Other Thoughts: I have more the 40+ years as an tech. While I no longer work for a living, I only build for people I know. And so I warn them that I could not recommend this board. 760 series are the bottom of the barrel, they are minimalist. 970 series are better buys for your dollars. Spend a little more money and get something better. In the long run you will be happy you did.
Reviewed By:psycoshot,5/4/2015 4:06:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 6 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 GA-990FXA-UD3 Rev 4.0
Pros: the board has plenty of features and is able to do what I need it to do.. when it works.
Cons: board failed. extensive testing of cpu, power supply, memory, and drives show all components are healthy. The board appears to be fluctuating as the fans noticeably speed up and slow down. The board gives no beep codes even when the memory and cpu are removed.
Other Thoughts: I have sent in a support request and will update this review once I receive a working product.
Reviewed By:Dank1,5/4/2015 2:33:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.