Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R860 8-Port Cable/DSL Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 8 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Updating review
Pros: You do get a lot for your money and the setup is so simple a newbe can do it. It's been working for a couple of years just fine.
Cons: There are plenty of warnings given during the firmware process and you're foolish to ignore them. I didn't and still toasted my router. The lights all work but won't connect to the internet. What good is that?
Other Thoughts: Guess I got my moneys worth. Just miffed that I followed all the directions and the router still doesn't work!
Reviewed By:N/A,6/30/2015 4:13:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R470T+ Load Balance Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 1 x Fixed LAN, 3 x Changeable WAN/LAN LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Router
Pros: The features on this router were exactly what I needed. No WLAN! Load balancing, while having the capability for multiple WANS if that should ever happen. I have a 15Mb / 2Mb internet connection but it can easily be fully saturated by 3 computers on the network. Splitting it into 5Mb down and .7Mb up of bandwidth each was easy. No more lag! I even made a schedule so it releases the limitation on certain computers during certain parts of the day due to separate schedules, which is great for when you want the full bandwidth.
Yesterday a lightning bolt came down about 30 feet from the house. Nothing was damaged except some network devices, my modem, switch, and a computers NIC card were all fried. The only thing that fried on this router was the two ports that were connected to the computer, which was actually connected through the switchs port and to the routers port, and modem which was connected to the other port. So in total 3 ports still work, and since I can use multiple Wan ports I now just have 2 normal ports and 1 Wan port. The surge protector worked I believe, point of entry was the modems cable connector, which is the reason it only fried network devices and nothing else on the surge protector, or so I think.
The other two devices wont even power on, the switch and the modem. The computer was fine, just the NIC was fried. Seems this router was built to a higher standard than the modem and switch. If an act of nature should happen again and fry the remaining ports I wouldn't hesitate to buy another one. Thanks for the great product.
Cons: Can't prevent acts of nature.
Other Thoughts: Lightning bolt!
Reviewed By:N/A,6/23/2015 5:13:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Linksys > LINKSYS LRT224 Dual WAN Gigabit VPN Router 2 x 10/100/1000Mbps (1 x 10/100/1000 RJ45 WAN/DMZ) WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great value
Pros: Bought for Failover & VLAN segregation for home office (I don't use the VPN capabilities). Does both without issue.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Excellent SOHO value for the price; competent web interface. The manual did a good job on describing and setting up the VLANs though supplemental reading may be necessary. Failover was a simple checkbox.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/22/2015 7:49:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Hot date...until it dumps you
Pros: Great performance. Great config options from the GUI and a wide open field from the CLI.
Cons: Poor quality memory. If you have any type of power issue, run it for over two years, there is a significant chance that you will either brick it or have to replace the memory.
Other Thoughts: Go to the forums and search "memory problems" to get an idea of the scope and nature of the issue. I am really struggling with the rating of two stars. If their marketing said "A great router to learn networking" then this thing would get 5 stars. However, they make claims of "carrier grade availability" that they simply can't back up.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/3/2015 6:06:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Terrible Tech Support , OpenVPN does not work
Pros: The GUI is pretty good and responsive, after the initial firmware update most things worked well, although it's not fully user-friendly so some things will require CLI magic.

I intended to use this as a high-throughput firewall for my home private cloud lab that needed to be able to use VLANs and 1 to 1 NAT-ting, so the router looked liked it would have all the necessary features as well as the power for it.
Cons: I dug up how to configure OpenVPN on this machine. I found surprisingly little information and it worked fine once configured, until a reboot, when everything was lost and I had to completely regenerate all certificates, users, and rules. Not having OpenVPN support is ridiculous in this day and age...I sold mine back online, and will just either build my own pfsense appliance or use a virtualized PfSense instance.

Support was terrible! after emailing them, they told me to reset the device, which I did, but the OpenVPN configs were still lost after reboot. Then I got no reply whatsoever to two of my subsequent replies to the ticket. That's when I thought: screw it , if tech support is not proficient and unresponsive and I'm missing a key feature, no matter what throughput they promise, I will not use this.
Reviewed By:indispeq,5/24/2015 8:27:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R470T+ Load Balance Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 1 x Fixed LAN, 3 x Changeable WAN/LAN LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Quality Product
Pros: Excellent metal case and simple layout.

Product worked perfectly out-of-the-box in Windows 7 with minimal use of the built-in software. It has functioned flawlessly since.

A solid well-made product - recommended.
Cons: See other thoughts.
Other Thoughts: Overall rating is based on my experience only, I can see that a more complex set-up could involve additional software which does not seem to be particularly user-friendly.
Reviewed By:pragmatist,5/18/2015 8:01:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TW100-S4W1CA DSL/Cable Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Inexpensive (1egg), but see below
Cons: Bought two units, the first stopped suddenly after a few months, the second would not program and was returned to Newegg for credit.

Trendnet apparently has no acceptable tech support. They provide prepared e-mail or telephone messages and never follow-up.
Other Thoughts: You get what you pay for - not recommended
Reviewed By:pragmatist,5/18/2015 7:51:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Capable Router/Firewall
Pros: Highly configurable. Has all of the features of a high end router/firewall at a reasonable price. Metal case. Good GUI interface.
Cons: None Yet
Other Thoughts: I wanted to upgrade my home infrastructure and move away from consumer grade gear to something more like I use at work without spending a fortune. This fit the bill. If you know Junos, you will feel right at home in the CLI.

This router is not recommended for novice users.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/8/2015 7:15:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I'm a bit jealous...
Pros: Good SOHO router with good performance. The Ubiquiti web interface is miles ahead of anyone else's web config interface.

Also allows (and sometimes requires) CLI access.

I've set up several other types of SOHO routers, and even have a Netgear FVS336GV2 at home. This one is better by a long shot.
Cons: Some features require CLI access. I'm sure this will change over time, though. Just between firmware 1.2 and 1.6, the number of options that required CLI access was reduced substantially.
Other Thoughts: Watch the firmware version!

The unit I received had firmware 1.2, which lacked GUI-accessible options that were mentioned in the printed materials packed in the box with it! Once I updated it to 1.6 (the latest when I set up this router), all of those options and a few more were available.

Step 1 of any new router setup should always be to update the firmware. This unit is no exception.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/6/2015 12:58:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent lil' beast.
Pros: Fast.
Scales. (3 ports)
Easy setup.
Cons: Gets warm.
No firmware update no love.
Doesn't make sandwich.
Other Thoughts: I've installed these in a number of places, and it seems to work just peachy doing loadbalancing with asych'd connects (one super low latency, low/medium throughput, one pretty low latency, incredibly high throughput). In another location it does well at handling a grip of open connections over satellite connection. It keeps up with all the guests in a rather large hotel as in another location, and so on - :)

Works great!
Reviewed By:BurntSilicon,4/28/2015 8:28:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.