Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti EdgeRouter ER-8 Router 1 x RJ45 WAN Ports 8 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product, great price and they keep improving firmware
Pros: The product is based on a fork of Vyatta, so a lot of what you find with Vyatta works with EdgeOS.
The community is very helpful for any out of the norm configuration options you're looking for and there are constantly more custom scripts that become available from that community.
The firmware keeps getting updated and you see new features or bug fixes all the time. Most recently they've added wizards for WAN to LAN initial configuration.
The CLI in the web console is a nice touch.
Cons: Not for the feint of heart. Be prepared to work on a configuration and get your hands dirty with a little CLI work as well.
Other Thoughts: I think you need to expect what you're getting with this product. This is a cheap carrier grade router. If you're ready to make the the next step on your home network from a Tomato or DD-WRT setup, this is a nice step. If you're looking for an affordable carrier grade router this is where it's at.
Reviewed By:Julian K.,1/29/2016 9:02:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X EdgeRouter X 5-Port Broadband Router w/ 1x Passive PoE Port

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Set it and forget it!
Pros: Easy to configure and deploy. It took me longer to decide if I wanted to power the unit via POE (or not) than it was to configure.
Cons: None thus far.
Other Thoughts: This device replaced a DD-WRT enabled SOHO combination unit (router/switch/ap). Getting this device connected to "The Internets" took little to no time at all, now transferring my DNS Static leases over took the most time. Yeah, configuring this device will seem daunting to novice and intermediate individuals. When in doubt, use the Wizards!
Reviewed By:Jonathan V.,1/28/2016 10:11:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RVS4000-RF Gigabit Security Router with VPN 1 x RJ45 WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 unpredictable, unreliable , unstable, unusable
Pros: When/if you can get it to work, it if pretty fast.
Cons: Trying to use this “thing” has been an absolute nightmare... When I did finally get it set up to work correctly (insert sarcastic laughter here) , it has been nothing but lockups and crashes for the last 6 months. The longest this idiotic unit has gone with out messing up is about 40 days. It as been degrading ever since, now it seems I can't go a week w/o having to power cycle the thing every 3 days to get it to come back up. I'm just gonna give up on this piece of trash, and write off Cisco as one of the fallen ones and use this to prop up mt cat's litterbox. It will be much more stable that way.
Other Thoughts: stay away from this one like the black death... get something else.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/26/2016 6:03:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Linksys > LINKSYS BEFSR41 EtherFast Cable/DSL Router with 4-Port Switch 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This product's firmware problematic
Pros: Works as router with fixed IP.
No wireless.
Very Basic
Cons: The big con: I find this router has broken implementation of DHCP. This will cause problems for most users. See Other
No updates for many years.
Price is now 2x what I paid in 12/2008
Web interface doesn't have obvious log off. (seems to required closing page)
Would have given no stars but Newegg requires at least one.
Other Thoughts: Bought 12/08 but it sat unused until 1/20/16. Had it as a backup to my old trusty RT314. Switched to higher speed ISP so needed to switch to BEFSR41 which has faster WAN port.

As I used the BEFSR41 and mobile and IOT devices were added and removed, devices on the network seemed to loose connectivity - Especially windows 7 PCs. You can search the internet and see that many others have this problem.

Finally one message board post I found cleared it up. The implementation of DHCP is broken. It causes the unit to loose track of who has a lease and which have expired. Some devices continue to remember their last leased address but the router will reassign this address to a new device. Et voila, you have an IP address conflict. This will cause Win 7 computers to issue the dreaded unknown network error and no internet connectivity warnings.

The default lease time is 1 day so this process of destruction appears very slow. If you make lease time very short (minutes) and add and remove devices you can make it happen quickly. You could try making the lease very long but then eventually you run out of IP addresses in your DHCP pool. Maybe you could make the pool very large and get down to reseting the router only once a year or month depending on how often you put new devices on the network.

The router routes fixed IPs correctly. It connects to the cable modem correctly and doesn't seem to lose WAN connection.

But defective DHCP is not acceptable in 21st century of mobile devices and IOT.

There are no new updates for fixing this and no security updates. Also not acceptable in 21st century.

Lastly, this device is expensive WRT what it is,

I would recommend buying a modern router instead. Even if you don't need wireless, just turn off the Wifi and use the wired features. I replaced this router with a newer TPlink product and it works fine. I have a previously installed AP that is located to make coverage of the house appropriate, so I don't use the TPlink WIFI.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/23/2016 10:33:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Systems, Inc. > CISCO C881 Wired Ethernet Security Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product
Pros: Supports IOS 15.X up to 15.1
Cons: Doesn't support IOS 15.2 or higher
Other Thoughts: Needed five for training. Returned because it didn't support new enough IOS for Imp Cisco IP Route Cert.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/14/2016 12:00:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R860 8-Port Cable/DSL Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 8 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Does its job
Pros: * Relatively cheap
* Does its job without problem
Cons: * No Gigabit lan support
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/12/2016 6:59:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R860 8-Port Cable/DSL Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 8 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Router so far - 3 years later!
Pros: 8 ports at a great price. Easy setup. Relatively intuitive setup screens - sort of. UPDATE: I have now owned this router for 3 years - and have only had to reboot it once. If you need 8 ports you should buy this thing. It is an excellent piece and extremely dependable. Cons are still the same but it's worth the effort to set up this dependable product properly.
Cons: My apologies to my friends in Asia, but documentation that comes with your products stinks. It is vague and incomplete, and I get the feeling those who make the product don't know anything about what they are writing a manual for. Terminology is not defined and there is a need to pay good translators to rewrite in other countries' languages. Documentation said default setup is to ignore pings. That's not true. Shields Up failure because the router responded to their pings. Ping response setting was very hard to find. Very crude and insecure setting.
Other Thoughts: Pretty simple setup once you figure out where everything is in the menus. Relatively logical once you get to the right menu. Granted I've only had this router a couple of days, but have not had to restart it yet. I'll update if reliability changes. I replaced an old D-link 4 port router that's still works fine because I could use an extra port or two instead of adding switches or hubs ahead of the router. At least I have a 4 port unit to fall back on if problems start with this new TP-Link unit.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/10/2016 5:15:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X EdgeRouter X 5-Port Broadband Router w/ 1x Passive PoE Port

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Zero phone support
Pros: Excellent hardware.
Cons: No phone support which is unacceptable for an enterprise class product. When I am onsite with a customer I cannot spend hours waiting for support to email back and forth. I need real time support.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/4/2016 4:19:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R470T+ Load Balance Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 1 x Fixed LAN, 3 x Changeable WAN/LAN LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reliable wired router with great many high end features
Pros: I have a lab where each test bench must be connected with a wired router to the building network. We started using the R470T routers about a year ago and now have about 10 in operation. They have preformed flawlessly. They are replacing Cisco RV180 and RVS4000 routers as well as Linksys BEFSR41 and BEFSR81.
These TP routers boot up quickly when we need to, but we have not had any cases where they have gone down unexpectedly. I like that they have a built in power supply so no bulky plug in supplies are needed. They are have about every configuration option I could think of using. They are the best thing I've found for our application and happen to be the least expensive.
Cons: These routers have a lot of options, and that means that there is a lot to figure out on the user interface. It did take me some time to figure how to set up things like port forwarding.
Reviewed By:Stephen C.,12/31/2015 8:08:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Internet gateway, insanely fast for the price
Pros: -Decreased internet first hop latency by ~23ms under standard leased cable internet gateway equipment with this and SB6190 on Mediacom
-After a weekend evening of beers and learning the vyatta CLI interface, I finally had IPv6 connectivity for the first time!
-Snappy, responsive web interface with nice looking interface bandwidth graphs, slightly less nice looking after firmware upgrade (from line graph to bar graph) after firmware update
-after firmware update, got basic networking up with a login and 3 clicks using the wizard. Basic settings like port forwarding from there are a breeze!
-more features than I care to fully investigate, although I am interested in testing out vpn.
-sturdy metal enclosure with shielded ethernet connectors and a ground lug on the back. Construction was far superior to my expectation considering the price
-searchable forum on Ubiquiti's website where most things have been done and documented really helps to get things connected the right way the first time.
Cons: - I'm still not exactly sure how I got IPv6 working, I'm pretty sure Mediacom uses a 6to4, my interface had a /128 with my internal devices on a /64 (!!? How many ip addresses could I possibly need? I don't run a datacenter in my closet..) It seemed each device in my network got one of the /64 via radvd. I'm pretty keen on IPv4 but not so much on IPv6. What ever happened took overnight to start working, and a call to ISP customer support asking questions about how they have their network configured so I could properly configure mine without guessing how theirs is configured got a reply with the non-free support hotline.. I was told I would receive a phone call but never did, perhaps someone did whatever was needed to "fix it" from their end instead.. I know ipv6 works out of the box when I plug my computer directly into the modem, but NAT is somewhat important to me so I'll need to research this further.
Other Thoughts: 3 ports is more than enough for all but the most extreme networking situations with really ocd technicians who believe ethernet traffic NEEDS to flow through different ports. In layer 3, that isn't always the case though, if you really had to, you can have each device in your network all plugged into the same switch and still not have the outside world connected to your internal network... If you are the ISP for 4 different companies, all with different subnets and port forwarding requirements, this would do fine, unless each of them needs to saturate a 1G pipe, in which case I would be leaning toward the 8 port pro, with BGP required also, I might start considering some legacy Cisco Catalyst stuff that requires a nuclear power plant in your building to keep running.. Food for thought.
Reviewed By:Nicholas K.,12/28/2015 9:30:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.