Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV042 VPN Router 2 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Piece of garbage
Pros: This used to be a great VPN router/firewall. We've deployed dozens of these without issue up until about 6 months ago.
Cons: Since about 6 months ago, every one of these that we've installed have factory reset themselves whenever they get rebooted. For obvious reasons, this is completely unacceptable in a business environment as it takes the entire network down with it. Yes, we've upgraded them all to the latest firmware, but still the same.
Other Thoughts: Cisco SMB support denies any fault too, which just makes matters worse.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2015 6:51:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very Cheap Hardware - Get what you pay for
Pros: This router has lots of capabilities.
Cons: The hardware is very cheap. The software has many issues, features that don't work 100%, or just fail on a regular basis. I've had this router for 15 months. It has completely failed (bricked) 4 times. Ubiquiti has a problem with the memory they use, very cheap. 1st time I reset the router via the web page, that cause the usb storage to be completely scrambled, requiring a wipe and reload the OS. The 2nd and 3rd times it just stopped and both times it required a complete OS wipe and reload. This last time again it just stopped, but unlike the previous failures the storage has completely failed, its trash now.
Other Thoughts: I have used this device as a firewall, nothing strange, updated the firmware after OS corruption 3 times and its been well ventilated. Other are now reporting that the USB chip Ubiquiti use for the device storage are failing a lot.

This not a reliable product. If you search the web you'll find many people using these devices for small businesses, but they are replacing them 3 and 4 times per site, because of device storage issues.

***** Stay away from Edgemax Lite3 *****

Looking for a replacement for the dead edgemax lite 3 I have now, which is 15 months old.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/19/2015 5:58:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Linksys > LINKSYS LRT224 Dual WAN Gigabit VPN Router 2 x 10/100/1000Mbps (1 x 10/100/1000 RJ45 WAN/DMZ) WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not worth the money
Pros: Wall Mountable
Cons: TWO units arrived with either faulty LAN ports or WAN ports. The software is slow to respond when using the web gui and the IPSEC implimentation is poor and slow. It is not compatible with ANY cloud VPNs and the load balancing between the wan ports is not consitant. It also is not application aware when doing load balacing across both ports.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/18/2015 9:52:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R402M 4-Port Cable/DSL Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk
Pros: Got my money back in 3 days time for just plain being unsatisfied with the product. WENT BACK TO MY OLD ANCIENT LINKSYS HARD WIRED ROUTER, that I had thought was bad but turns out it just needed reset back to default.
Cons: The thing would NOT disconnect instantly from the world of warcraft web site and would just set there and set there and after about 45 seconds would finally DC. I tried everything including contacting manufacture. and they were rude and figured it was because I had built my own system. All other hard wired routers did as they were commanded. A DC happened instantly. So go figure that one out. WENT BACK TO MY OLD ANCIENT LINKSYS HARD WIRED ROUTER, that I had thought was bad but turns out it just needed reset back to default.
Other Thoughts: Stop sponsoring sub-standard to broken products that have rude support and who are convinced that it is YOUR fault that their equipment does not work as they intend it to work. WENT BACK TO MY OLD ANCIENT LINKSYS HARD WIRED ROUTER, that I had thought was bad but turns out it just needed reset back to default.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/15/2015 1:40:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R402M 4-Port Cable/DSL Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 JUNK !!!!
Pros: Cheap, nice specs & utility, if it worked, however ....
Cons: Mine was/is defective, drops 49% of pings from LAN to router itself (ping -q -c 1000 <routet-IP>), i.e. 1 per sec. Flood ping failed badly as well .... I will be RMA-ing as of Monday, already bought a more $$$$, hopefully better reliability replacement, we'll see how that goes ....
Other Thoughts: Would have been nice if it worked, nice specs, etc., but mine was a dud .... We'll see how the RMA goes ....
Reviewed By:N/A,7/11/2015 10:02:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > D-Link > D-Link DSR-500 Dual Wan 4-Port Gigabit VPN Router with Dynamic Web Content Filtering

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Aweful UI
Pros: It's quiet and can do basic routing & VPN.
Cons: The UI is slow and awful. Actually the slowest UI I've ever seen on any router. The software is disorganized and slow. Firmware update failed 4 times and then reset default config and then would not accept a backup config.

I have the latest 2015 firmware and it's not any better. It's just awful.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/10/2015 12:45:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R860 8-Port Cable/DSL Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 8 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Updating review
Pros: You do get a lot for your money and the setup is so simple a newbe can do it. It's been working for a couple of years just fine.
Cons: There are plenty of warnings given during the firmware process and you're foolish to ignore them. I didn't and still toasted my router. The lights all work but won't connect to the internet. What good is that?
Other Thoughts: Guess I got my moneys worth. Just miffed that I followed all the directions and the router still doesn't work!
Reviewed By:N/A,6/30/2015 4:13:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R470T+ Load Balance Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 1 x Fixed LAN, 3 x Changeable WAN/LAN LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Router
Pros: The features on this router were exactly what I needed. No WLAN! Load balancing, while having the capability for multiple WANS if that should ever happen. I have a 15Mb / 2Mb internet connection but it can easily be fully saturated by 3 computers on the network. Splitting it into 5Mb down and .7Mb up of bandwidth each was easy. No more lag! I even made a schedule so it releases the limitation on certain computers during certain parts of the day due to separate schedules, which is great for when you want the full bandwidth.
Yesterday a lightning bolt came down about 30 feet from the house. Nothing was damaged except some network devices, my modem, switch, and a computers NIC card were all fried. The only thing that fried on this router was the two ports that were connected to the computer, which was actually connected through the switchs port and to the routers port, and modem which was connected to the other port. So in total 3 ports still work, and since I can use multiple Wan ports I now just have 2 normal ports and 1 Wan port. The surge protector worked I believe, point of entry was the modems cable connector, which is the reason it only fried network devices and nothing else on the surge protector, or so I think.
The other two devices wont even power on, the switch and the modem. The computer was fine, just the NIC was fried. Seems this router was built to a higher standard than the modem and switch. If an act of nature should happen again and fry the remaining ports I wouldn't hesitate to buy another one. Thanks for the great product.
Cons: Can't prevent acts of nature.
Other Thoughts: Lightning bolt!
Reviewed By:N/A,6/23/2015 5:13:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Linksys > LINKSYS LRT224 Dual WAN Gigabit VPN Router 2 x 10/100/1000Mbps (1 x 10/100/1000 RJ45 WAN/DMZ) WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great value
Pros: Bought for Failover & VLAN segregation for home office (I don't use the VPN capabilities). Does both without issue.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Excellent SOHO value for the price; competent web interface. The manual did a good job on describing and setting up the VLANs though supplemental reading may be necessary. Failover was a simple checkbox.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/22/2015 7:49:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Hot date...until it dumps you
Pros: Great performance. Great config options from the GUI and a wide open field from the CLI.
Cons: Poor quality memory. If you have any type of power issue, run it for over two years, there is a significant chance that you will either brick it or have to replace the memory.
Other Thoughts: Go to the forums and search "memory problems" to get an idea of the scope and nature of the issue. I am really struggling with the rating of two stars. If their marketing said "A great router to learn networking" then this thing would get 5 stars. However, they make claims of "carrier grade availability" that they simply can't back up.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/3/2015 6:06:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.