Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Terrible Tech Support , OpenVPN does not work
Pros: The GUI is pretty good and responsive, after the initial firmware update most things worked well, although it's not fully user-friendly so some things will require CLI magic.

I intended to use this as a high-throughput firewall for my home private cloud lab that needed to be able to use VLANs and 1 to 1 NAT-ting, so the router looked liked it would have all the necessary features as well as the power for it.
Cons: I dug up how to configure OpenVPN on this machine. I found surprisingly little information and it worked fine once configured, until a reboot, when everything was lost and I had to completely regenerate all certificates, users, and rules. Not having OpenVPN support is ridiculous in this day and age...I sold mine back online, and will just either build my own pfsense appliance or use a virtualized PfSense instance.

Support was terrible! after emailing them, they told me to reset the device, which I did, but the OpenVPN configs were still lost after reboot. Then I got no reply whatsoever to two of my subsequent replies to the ticket. That's when I thought: screw it , if tech support is not proficient and unresponsive and I'm missing a key feature, no matter what throughput they promise, I will not use this.
Reviewed By:indispeq,5/24/2015 8:27:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R470T+ Load Balance Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 1 x Fixed LAN, 3 x Changeable WAN/LAN LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Quality Product
Pros: Excellent metal case and simple layout.

Product worked perfectly out-of-the-box in Windows 7 with minimal use of the built-in software. It has functioned flawlessly since.

A solid well-made product - recommended.
Cons: See other thoughts.
Other Thoughts: Overall rating is based on my experience only, I can see that a more complex set-up could involve additional software which does not seem to be particularly user-friendly.
Reviewed By:pragmatist,5/18/2015 8:01:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TW100-S4W1CA DSL/Cable Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Inexpensive (1egg), but see below
Cons: Bought two units, the first stopped suddenly after a few months, the second would not program and was returned to Newegg for credit.

Trendnet apparently has no acceptable tech support. They provide prepared e-mail or telephone messages and never follow-up.
Other Thoughts: You get what you pay for - not recommended
Reviewed By:pragmatist,5/18/2015 7:51:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Capable Router/Firewall
Pros: Highly configurable. Has all of the features of a high end router/firewall at a reasonable price. Metal case. Good GUI interface.
Cons: None Yet
Other Thoughts: I wanted to upgrade my home infrastructure and move away from consumer grade gear to something more like I use at work without spending a fortune. This fit the bill. If you know Junos, you will feel right at home in the CLI.

This router is not recommended for novice users.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/8/2015 7:15:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I'm a bit jealous...
Pros: Good SOHO router with good performance. The Ubiquiti web interface is miles ahead of anyone else's web config interface.

Also allows (and sometimes requires) CLI access.

I've set up several other types of SOHO routers, and even have a Netgear FVS336GV2 at home. This one is better by a long shot.
Cons: Some features require CLI access. I'm sure this will change over time, though. Just between firmware 1.2 and 1.6, the number of options that required CLI access was reduced substantially.
Other Thoughts: Watch the firmware version!

The unit I received had firmware 1.2, which lacked GUI-accessible options that were mentioned in the printed materials packed in the box with it! Once I updated it to 1.6 (the latest when I set up this router), all of those options and a few more were available.

Step 1 of any new router setup should always be to update the firmware. This unit is no exception.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/6/2015 12:58:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent lil' beast.
Pros: Fast.
Scales. (3 ports)
Easy setup.
Cons: Gets warm.
No firmware update no love.
Doesn't make sandwich.
Other Thoughts: I've installed these in a number of places, and it seems to work just peachy doing loadbalancing with asych'd connects (one super low latency, low/medium throughput, one pretty low latency, incredibly high throughput). In another location it does well at handling a grip of open connections over satellite connection. It keeps up with all the guests in a rather large hotel as in another location, and so on - :)

Works great!
Reviewed By:BurntSilicon,4/28/2015 8:28:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV180-K9-NA RV180 VPN Router 1 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Good
Pros: Very stable, very fast. Runs cool with low power consumption. Very compact size for its capabilities - important if someone wishes to mount it in a structured wiring cabinet.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: The first step I took was to upgrade the firmware. The version was fairly recent, so maybe Cisco worked out some of the problems that other reviewers had in the past. I don't use the VPN capabilities, so I can't evaluate that function. There are a bewildering amount of options in the setup, many of which are probably only familiar to a network engineer (certainly not me!), but the router works "out-of-the-box" with the default settings, to get you up and running quickly (when used with Comcast ISP anyway). The price has more than doubled since I purchased mine in early February (2015). For once, maybe I had luck on my side?
Reviewed By:N/A,4/28/2015 5:47:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Not for faint of heart but big payoff
Pros: Fastest router I have ever owned. I have a large home (3400 sq feet) with a dedicated network closet, so we have three business class ceiling mounted PoE 802.11ac WiFi access points (Linksys LAPAC1750), gigabit switches in the closet for wired devices and a gigabit NAS drive. The Asus RT-AC66R we were running as a router, although competent, was the weak link in the chain, and we have no need of the expensive WiFi hardware in consumer grade routers given our separate WiFi access point setup. The performance boost of this router was immediate and noticeable - video streaming devices start instantly, and video previews in Facebook and other high-bandwidth activities do not seem to drag as they used to. The fanless design is a plus given how loud the rest of our network closet is already. Also has the ability to be configured with two load balanced WAN ports if you want to run two WAN connections (i.e. one Cable, one DSL simultaneously)
Cons: Did not ship with most recent firmware (1.6.0) which has been out since November 2014, despite unit having manufacture date of 1/11/2015. Port Forwarding should be able to be configured via hostname/MAC address and not just IP. Power cord could have been made a little longer.
Other Thoughts: Upgrading to the 1.6.0 Firmware is a MUST for SOHO users, as that is the firmware that has wizards to set up typical configurations. The Ubiquiti forums are active and very helpful in resolving advanced configuration needs. Definitely download the full user guide from Ubiquiti support as the quick start guide it ships with is a little thin.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/23/2015 6:04:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TW100-S4W1CA DSL/Cable Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Don't waste your time
Pros: Worked fine for about 4 months and was pretty fast for downloads while working. Trendnet tech support was pretty decent and went through the RMA process smoothly.

I'm giving the device an extra egg for working for a few months and for pretty decent RMA service with Trendnet.
Cons: After 4 months one morning could not get a WAN connection. Multiple resets, etc, etc. did nothing. A direct connection to modem and another router worked fine. I contacted Trendnet tech support, went through the RMA process, got a replacement and -- same thing right out of the box - NO WAN! And yet still able to get WAN direct to modem or through another router. What a waste of time and money.

Another thing to note if you actually buy one is that it appears to me that you have to use Internet Explorer (no Firefox, Chrome) to connect to the browser-based administrative interface. Also various items in the interface simply don't work such as getting a list of DHCP clients.
Other Thoughts: No. First and second unit - no WAN connectivity. While customer service was decent I'm wary of buying another Trendnet product. Of course, considering the price what should I expect?
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with the TW100-S4W1CA. There shouldn’t be any issues navigating the router’s interface using Chrome or Firefox. There was an issue with specific entries in the user interface but the latest firmware update located on our website should resolve them. If you continue to experience issues with the router please email adrian@trendnet.com and we will have someone help you as soon as possible. Please include a link to this review.


Regards,
Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support

Reviewed By:KIRK P.,4/9/2015 7:07:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R470T+ Load Balance Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 1 x Fixed LAN, 3 x Changeable WAN/LAN LAN Ports

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good, but not great.
Pros: Load Balancing
Traffic Monitoring
Bandwidth Control; allows you to group IPs and limit the amount of bandwidth that group can consume.
Cons: I wish I could group by mac addresses instead of IPs. I can assign specific PCs a static IP but android devices can be a pain.
Every once in a while, I'll hit a random link that just smokes this unit and leaves it unresponsive. At that point, you have to pull the power cord.
Other Thoughts: The random lock-ups may not be as random as you think. I can cause this router to lock up on command by going to specific websites. I don't know what it is in the code or URL of that website but it's repeatable.
Reviewed By:Shadfly,4/1/2015 8:06:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.