Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X EdgeRouter X 5-Port Broadband Router w/ 1x Passive PoE Port

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible Product and NewEgg support
Pros: Product: small footprint, that's all
Cons: Product: A waste of money. Product describes all of this functionality, PoE/PoE passthrough etc and basically none of it will work. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!
Support: Worse than the product. If you RMA and explain the issues and want your money back, Newegg will charge you a restocking fee, but the Return Policies state nothing about this restocking fee. Worked the Support to get a replacement for the defective original item and they sent an open box item that will not work at all! Numerous attempts to reset to factory settings will not reset the open box device to give the DHCP ip to try and configure the unit. Also, this "replacement" unit has the same issue as the first item. PoE/PoE passthrough does not work.
Other Thoughts: Highly suggest buying a different router from another manufacturer.
Highly suggest buying that product from a different 3rd party distribution vendor that doesn't hide their true return policies.
Reviewed By:Brian B.,7/28/2016 1:57:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti EdgeRouter ER-8 Router 1 x RJ45 WAN Ports 8 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent router
Pros: - great value
- great performance
- lots of advanced configuration
- not difficult to set up
Cons: - fan is a bit noisy
- Hardly any IPv6 support in web UI
Reviewed By:Maksim R.,7/18/2016 12:01:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R470T+ Load Balance Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 1 x Fixed LAN, 3 x Changeable WAN/LAN LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Well
Pros: Hasn't dropped a connection as long as I've had it - about 6 months.
Cons: None that I'm aware of.
Other Thoughts: Have all 3 PC's connected to it. Haven't had any complaints. I don't pay any attention to "Load Balance." So I don't know what it's doing there.
Reviewed By:Victor S.,7/16/2016 2:47:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK SafeStream TL-ER6020 Gigabit Dual-WAN VPN Router 2 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 2 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Low WAN to LAN througput according to TP-Link tech support
Pros: - Stable connection - I haven't had any dropped connections on any of the TP-Link equipment I've used
- Nice features
Cons: When I plug into my modem I get 230mbps, when I use this router I only get 105, way less than expected for a "gigabit" router. TP-Link tech support told me that it only has 180mbps NAT throughput, and that getting 105mbps out of that 180 sounded "about right". If this is correct, then this router should not be sold as a gigabit router. Sending it back.
Other Thoughts: Replaced with Ubiquiti ERPOE-5
Manufacturer Response:Dear Kevin S.,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

For your connection speed, we would have recommended the TL-ER6120 instead.

Our Support Team is always available and happy to answer any questions or concerns you may have about our products. Please feel free to contact us any time at the phone number or e-mail address below.

Thank you again for your review, we hope you will consider our products again for your future networking needs.


Best Regards,

TP-LINK Support Team
(866) 225-8139
ussupportteam@tp-link.com

Reviewed By:Kevin S.,7/5/2016 10:31:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R470T+ Load Balance Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 1 x Fixed LAN, 3 x Changeable WAN/LAN LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Locks up LAN routing every six to seven days.
Pros: Has all the features I needed and more.

Has the ability to use more than one WAN at the same time.
Cons: LAN communication to the switch (a Netgear M5300) will break down once a week. The device can still ping outside websites from the UI, but will not route any outside traffic to devices. Requires a reboot and then it works just fine again. This simply will not suffice in any network to be rebooting a device every week.

UI is difficult at times. Very unintuitive placement of some items.

DHCP reservation is wonky. You can only reserve an IP address that is in the DHCP range. Who thought that was a good idea?
Workaround is to set the DHCP range low, reserve the address you want, and then set the DHCP range above it again. Works just fine when you do that.
Other Thoughts: Device is on the newest firmware build.

I had bought two of these for two different environments. FedEx failed to deliver one of them, thanks so much.

Testing worked very well and did exactly what I wanted. In practice, the device could not last more than a week without locking up.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Shane K.,

Thank you for your feedback.

The symptoms you have described are unusual, and we recommend connecting a computer or device directly to the router, bypassing the switch, to test if the scenario repeats itself on said computer or device. This will allow you to determine where the source of the issue is.

DHCP Reservation is designed to reserve IP addresses within the DHCP range. This is an industry standard for routers and is not exclusive to TP-LINK products. If you would prefer to reserve an IP address outside the default DHCP range, you can always simply adjust the DHCP range from the router’s configuration interface. Please bear in mind that it is recommended to use a DHCP range that still allows room for Static IP configuration.

Our Support Team is always available, and we would appreciate the opportunity to follow up with you in order to properly address any concerns you may have.

At your earliest convenience, please send an e-mail to our SMB Support Team at the following address so we may have a Support Agent follow up with you for assistance:

smb.us@tp-link.com

We thank you again for your feedback and certainly hope this experience will not discourage you from checking out more of our great networking products in the future.

Best Regards,

TP-LINK Support Team
(866) 225-8139
ussupportteam@tp-link.com

Reviewed By:Shane K.,7/5/2016 8:28:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Update software first, try default wizards before getting into the details
Pros: Does not auto update online (more secure)
Plenty powerful for home internet, unless you somehow have a 1 gbit internet connection and use VPN features...
Wizards did 95% of what I wanted to setup. So I left them at the defaults, easy maintenance.
Can do packet inspection and keep track of internet usage, or for more advanced QoS needs
Cons: old software installed that was not user friendly at all, but much better after updating. Still a bit rough around the edges, but no more or worse than most routers.
Other Thoughts: If you want a reliable setup get this, add a gigabit switch and a WiFi AP and you should be set for most SOHO needs.
Reviewed By:Jeffrey O.,6/22/2016 5:08:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco Small Business RVS4000-RF Gigabit Security Router with VPN 1 x RJ45 WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't Buy
Pros: Good management interface
Cons: Built in backdoor! Never fully fixed and patched by Cisco.
Reviewed By:John M.,5/31/2016 5:27:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-ER5120 Gigabit Load Balance Broadband Router 1 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 3 x Changeable Gigabit WAN/LAN + 1 x Fixed Gigabit LAN/DMZ Port LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: ALL GOOD
Well built
Good Documentation
Lots of options
Cons: None as yet
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/26/2016 8:56:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy setup, but use the wizards if you aren't a...dare I say...wizard.
Pros: - VERY easy to setup using the wizard, plug and play for myself. I set up LAN, WAN and PPPOE with no problem. I have my wireless network (Ubiquiti AP AC-LITE) in one port, and my LAN (Netgear switches) in another port. Very simple to use!
Cons: newegg is forcing me to type something here. I guess this router doesn't cook dinner - so that's a con.
Reviewed By:Joshua G.,5/22/2016 6:38:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great vyatta router product for the price!
Pros: I replaced a cisco 5505 that was showing its age with this and it can more than handle a ton of traffic. I originally bought one to use at work for our guest network and was so impressed I bought one for myself. It has a "cisco-like" command line interface where you can copy /paste commands in to bulk configure it. The webUI is nice, and it has nice traffic tracking features. It is also silent and low power, only about 7 watts. And it has a serial console!

Support is also good, there is a large community of users that post on the ubiquity forum and often answer a question within hours.
Cons: The vpn throughput is less than what I'd hope for, but maybe they will fix that in a future release. You can choose from a number of different vpn protocols to uses on it. Other reviews are right, this is not for the faint of heart but the WebUI makes it pretty easy to walk through. Its a good learning experience if you're getting into networking.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you turn on the offload features - you can only do it via the cli. Without it the throughput was only about 110 mb/sec.
set system offload ipsec enable
set system offload ipv4 forwarding enable
set system offload ipv4 vlan enable
set system offload ipv6 forwarding enable
set system offload ipv6 vlan enable
Reviewed By:Michael C.,5/20/2016 6:25:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.