Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Switches > Linksys > LINKSYS SE2800-NP Smart 8-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Switch
Pros: It works for my home office with few computers, printer, external hard-drive qnap
Cons: Not any i know
Reviewed By:N/A,8/29/2014 11:25:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR GS308-100PAS Unmanaged Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Save some money
Pros: This is a basically a Netgear GS108 but with a 1 year warranty instead of a lifetime warranty.

I have both models and they are nearly identical. Same transfer rates, size, power cable, everything except the color.

I achieved sustained transfer rates of 85MB/s with bursts up to 125MB/s (1Gb/s) with single cable transfers.

The switch had no problem supporting "teaming" two gigabit NICs where they act together. I currently have two servers both teamed into it (4 cables) and they exchange files at double the above speeds.

Very solid and sturdy feel. Wall-mountable. Big rubber feet.
Cons: Some may say a con is the 1 year warranty, but with it being the same as the "Business-Class" model and already cheaper, I'd rather replace this someday than pay more up front and go through a warranty process. (Ain't nobody got time for that.)

That being said, this "ethernet in front, power in back" idea is designed for wall or rack mount in mind.

Ideally the cables should plug in the back with only lights on the front for non-business or home use so it can sit on a desk cleanly. This is a suggestion for future models, but not worth taking away a star.
Other Thoughts: Decide if going through warranty process and paying more up front is worth the "lifetime warranty" of the Netgear GS108.

I don't think I've ever had to RMA a Netgear switch. They're very reliable and I expect this one to be as well.
Reviewed By:SpyderCanopus,8/29/2014 8:13:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Rosewill > Rosewill RGS-1024 (RNSW-11001) Rackmountable Switch 24-Port 10/100/1000Mbps with 3-Year Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Impressive
Pros: Rosewill in the switch space? Well, it looks like they have a winner in this. The backplane speed is fast. The queue memory is large and I have no problem sustaning large
Cons: None so far. I don't expect any. Switches are pretty solid. The question will be how well does Rosewill do a switch.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/29/2014 5:29:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TL-LINK TL-SG2008 8-Port Gigabit Smart Switch,Advanced QoS,Layer 2 andEnterprise Level Management Features

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great value, nice cli for cisco users
Pros: Web interface is great, well laid out. Gives feedback when you apply changes to let you know you did something. But what really impressed me was the CLI. It is very similar to the cisco ios cli. It isn't exactly the same, but it is the closest I have ever seen. The features are on par with enterprise switches, the only major feature missing is AAA authentication with Radius or TACACS. TP-LINK offers this with their L2 enterprise line, but I am hard pressed to find anything else missing from this "smart switch". Nice option for a start-up business or home lab purpose. Thank you for putting the ports on the back of the switch where they belong for desktop placement.
Cons: System LED blinks constantly, this is a feature I suppose but I would rather it stay on to show the switch is on.
Other Thoughts: If you are going to use RSTP for loop prevention, make sure to use BPDU protect, and enable edge port. The two features work together for workstations. (they are synonamous with BPDU guard, and port fast for those familiar with cisco features)
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2014 7:05:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > D-Link > D-Link GO-SW-5GE 5-Port Unmanaged Gigabit Switch, Metal Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great switch
Pros: -small footprint
-great value when on sale (got mine for $20)
Cons: none at this time
Other Thoughts: I switched out some older 1G switches I had that were slowing my LAN speeds and these units work great. Had them up for a few months now and no problems at all.
Reviewed By:Brikhaus,8/28/2014 6:52:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > D-Link > D-Link DGS-105 Unmanaged 5-Port Gigabit Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 best yet
Pros: fast and flawless, outperforms any of my other 5 switches
Cons: not free
Other Thoughts: I have many dlink products including some of there other cheaper by one $1 , 8 port switches in plastic housings . they all have glitches using with ip cameras, cameras disconnect or freeze up. I gave up.

until I had this one in storage for a project in near future i try it out since it doing nothing anyway and :) smooth sailing, not one glitch no freeze ups and fast. like the metal case too. works great this is the only one I plan on using in future

going to try the same model but in 8 port version . if it works as good as this one I will retire my HP pro managed switch since its aging and does have a few issues,
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2014 6:27:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR GS308-100PAS Unmanaged Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Nice Switch for heavy home use or small business
Pros: * Solid feeling all metal casing with mounting holes that you can use to stick this on a pair of screws sticking out of your wall. For some, this doesn’t really matter, but to those who utilize this mounting method, it’s a much appreciated feature.

* The LED lights located by each Ethernet port are very bright and visible. I almost don’t need to turn on a light at night to see where I’m going with this thing present. They display green in color when connected and the active port(s) blink when transferring data. The link speed and input output connections are automatically detected.

* Over a weeks’ time it seemed stable and transferred data reliably with no random disconnects or pauses. I had no problems with it in working with my Linksys and Trendnet routers using Windows 7 64bit. It’s as plug and play as they come.

* This switch uses standard energy saving methods that detect cable length and link status to adjust power usage accordingly. It only became lukewarm during heavy usage and relies on passive radiation instead of using a fan for cooling. I hate fans.

* This switch has a nice buffer size for heavy home use of 1536 Kbits (192KB). The larger the buffer the more data the switch can manage. Memory per port is important because you need enough buffer to allow a smooth transfer of data when you have more traffic destined to a port in a burst of time than that port can send out in its link within that time. For example, when sending out 2 1Gb/s bursts down a 1Gb/s port for 100ms, you need enough buffer to hold 200ms worth of data, or something’s going to get dropped and in practice, drops are very bad for performance.

* The power cord is a nice six feet long. The switch itself is a dark matt grey in color with the word Netgear proudly embossed on it in. Netgear is a very well-known company in the PC hardware manufacturing business and I’ve found them to have good customer support in the past.
Cons: * This switch only has a limited 1 year parts and labor warranty. I would like to have seen a 3 or 5 year manufacturer’s warranty instead. Some switches even have a lifetime guarantee.
Other Thoughts: BENCHMARKS:
I used a program called AIDA32 that has a built in network bench mark utility. You install it onto two PC’s and it sends data from one to the other and measures how fast it can do it. All cables are CAT 7 Ethernet cables and both PCs are Windows 7 64-bit. I first measured the speed of data transfer directly through my Linksys EA6900 gigabit router to use as a base. I then benchmarked this Netgear GS308 switch and compared it to tests from two other switches. These are the results:

Router (Base Speed):
Min- 58,978 KB/s
Max- 92,810 KB/s
Avg- 74,549 KB/s

*Netgear GS308 (Test Switch)
Min- 60,015 KB/s
Max- 80,869 KB/s
Avg- 71,758 KB/s

D-Link GO-SW-8G switch:
Min- 56,741 KB/s
Max- 90,104 KB/s
Avg- 67,140 KB/s

TP-Link TL-SG105 switch:
Min- 60,851 KB/s
Max- 79,689 KB/s
Avg- 69,943 KB/s

As you can see, throughput speeds were all pretty close to each other. The Netgear switch edged out ahead by a hair. This isn’t something you would ever notice in real world usage but numbers are numbers.

Considering the number of pros versus cons I was able to find, I definitely have to recommend this switch as consideration for purchase. There are less expensive switches available but the price differences are not very significant when talking about equipment that all costs less than $50.
Reviewed By:mccarlson,8/28/2014 12:09:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR GS308-100PAS Unmanaged Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid, Sturdy, Fast, Reliable
Pros: Small Form-factor makes it easy to place and hide anywhere to help keep your network just out of sight.

Metal case feels very solid. While I don't want to try, I feel I could jump up and down on it without it breaking. I would be surprised if this switch is ever destroyed from being tossed around or treated roughly.

Like many switches, this is extremely easy to set up and use. There is no software that needs to be configured. You simply plug in a connection to your internet modem, and plug all other devices you want into the switch. Done. It is that easy. While it is quite normal its important to let people know this continues that trend of being exceptionally easy to use.

Very Fast speed.

The LED connection lights shut down whenever there is no longer data being paced through the connection. This helps to reduce power drain further.
Cons: The only con I can find from this product is that it is listed for use in temperatures between 0 and 40 Celsius. For some people this may not be an issue, but where I live I often get temps below 0 in winter and above 40 in summer. It is a little concerning but I doubt the switch will quit on me either way.
Other Thoughts: I use a Powerline to move a wired internet connection from my Wi-Fi router in the middle of the house, to my tech area on the far side of the house. Previously I ran the connection straight into my desktop, but now it is going into this router. Instead of having to switch that connection all the time now, I have three desktops and two game systems connected to the switch.

Using any combination of these devices, I have not noticed any slow down with my internet connection, and it actually transferred faster for one download test on Steam.

If you are needing a cheap, durable, easy to use device to create a small network, its hard to beat the value and performance of this device. I would highly recommend it.
Reviewed By:IInuyasha74,8/28/2014 6:11:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > Netgear 5-Port Gigabit Switch (GS205), 2-Year Warranty, Plastic Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Small and that's a good thing.
Pros: Small footprint and modern styling make this gigabit switch a nice addition to anyone's network. Just plug and play and your off. The price point is a plus as well.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: If you have allot of devices that need to be connected and want a small no hassle switch then this would be the best fit.
Reviewed By:Edward,8/27/2014 4:08:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > Netgear 5-Port 10/100 Switch (FS205), 1-year Warranty, Plastic Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 small
Pros: Very small case, slightly less than one inch tall, two and three quarters inches deep, and four and a quarter inches wide. In is attractively designed with an understated, professional appearance. The case is light grey or off-white colored, with green LED's for each port and a green power LED.
Cons: none that i can find
Other Thoughts: none
Reviewed By:jon collins,8/27/2014 1:48:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau