Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius EGS2108P 8-Port Gigabit PoE Smart Switch with 4 PoE Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product! Highly Recommended
Pros: - easy to setup
- fantastic interface for management
- PoE portion works great (just watch out if 4 devices plugged in, monitor the wattage as it shares it across the PoE ports)
- fast speeds on the wire
- many many advanced options for a small 8 port device
Cons: - have not noticed any
Other Thoughts: This device is not for beginners and you must understand networking and how the ports work. Fantastic device, small and sleek, perfect so far in my home.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/23/2016 2:26:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 5-Port Fast Ethernet Switch (FS105) - Lifetime Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to use.
Pros: Plug everything up and get going, easy peasy.
Cons: Doesn't make sweet tea.
Other Thoughts: Would buy again. You can't really complain about it not being gigabit or having more ports, you knew what it was when you bought it. If you need gigabit or more ports then buy something with that.
Reviewed By:Robert D.,7/23/2016 10:08:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-FS405X - 10/100Mbps 5-Port Unmanaged Power-Saving Desktop Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as advertised
Pros: Inexpensive. Works.
Cons: Feels kind of cheap.
Other Thoughts: For the $5.99 I paid, I have zero complaints. It's not gigabit, but hey, it was $5.99. Can't take an egg away for that.
Reviewed By:Michael S.,7/22/2016 11:18:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR GS324 24-Port Gigabit Ethernet Desktop / Rackmount Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 FAST SWITCH
Pros: 10/100/1000Mbps, LED indicators, Fanless design, Easy setup, Rack mount kit
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: transfer speed about 115MBS
Reviewed By:Christopher M.,7/21/2016 12:01:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco Small Business 100 Series SG100D-08-NA Unmanaged 8-Port Desktop Gigabit Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works
Pros: Works great...Plug and play.....Nice price..
Cons: None so far...
Reviewed By:James P.,7/19/2016 10:35:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 5-Port Fast Ethernet Switch (FS105) - Lifetime Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reliable
Pros: Works as listed...Nice econo add on... Plug and play...
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:James P.,7/19/2016 10:34:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Hewlett-Packard > HP J9980A#ABA 1820-24G Switch

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Usual HP quality and ease of setup! However support is sketchy...
Pros: HP quality, have been using "ProCurves" for years with little or no issues.
Cons: Ports 2 & 4 have an issue regarding VLAN membership, yet to get a reasonable response from support.
Other Thoughts: For some unknown reason, ports 2 & 4 will not tag or untag(only exclude) from the default VLAN. Opened support ticket on-line and through many, many electronic correspondence, I have yet to connect with an engineer to review/resolve. As a Director or Engineering Services for a software services provider, I am very frustrated with this response, or lack there of.

I have been asked 3 times for a schedule to have a call, I have provided, and then 1-2 days PAST my proposed date/time I get a response that they cannot make the requested schedule! This all started back on 7/5 and I have yet to have any movement on this issue. It is always days between responses and while this installation is for my church, not my full time role, I can make time when reasonable.

HP, if you're listening this is a horrible representation of your support organization and I hope it is truly an exception and that not everyone else has the same experience.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/18/2016 11:52:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG1016D 10/100/1000Mbps Unmanaged 16-Port Gigabit Desktop/rackmountable Switch, Metal case, Power-Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works, nuff said
Pros: Rack mountable steel case, silent, runs cool, full wire speed, reliable
Cons: No status LED indication for 10/100 Mbps connections
Other Thoughts: Bought this switch for my home office a year ago when I started working at home. I've had no problems with it since. It just works, giving full wire speed between my connected devices (various Windows and Linux computers, as well as up and down links to other switches. I needed an inexpensive gigabit rack mount switch. After some research decided on this one based on features and price. No regrets. I have a V5 unit.
Reviewed By:Stephen M.,7/15/2016 2:59:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG105E 5-Port Gigabit Easy Smart Switch with 5 10/100/1000 Mbps RJ45 Ports, MTU/Port/Tag-Based VLAN, QoS and IGMP

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great switch. But don't trust the rebate offer.
Pros: The switch is smart, fast, reliable, and easy to use. Even has little mounting notches on the bottom to hang it.
Cons: Bought this with a rebate offer. Sent it in with all the proper information and SKU. Never heard a word back, so I expect they're going to keep the change.
Reviewed By:Ethan L.,7/14/2016 7:26:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG108E 8-Port Gigabit Easy Smart Switch, 8 10/100/1000 Mbps RJ45 Ports, MTU/Port/Tag-Based VLAN, QoS and IGMP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 RMA process makes the warranty useless
Pros: This was in service on/off for 10 months. While it worked it was a good little box. It did seem to generate a considerable amount of RF noise, switching to cat7e helped.

It failed with the following symptoms: The power led is green, but the speed and activity led are inactive. It no longer can be found by the Easy Smart Configuration utility. However, it still works as a switch, but not at 1Gb. This is a V1.0 product that does not have a built in web server. Which means you need to use a java based utility. However, the utility has several dependencies, that make it nearly impossible to easily use on Linux.
Cons: The RMA process is impossible to navigate. I was assigned an RMA number after calling technical support. I was told to wait for the RMA department to contact me via email. I have repeatedly called technical support to follow up, ie the RMA department never contacted me. There does not seem to be anything that technical support can do once they issue an RMA number, ie they can't email or call RMA department due to internal policies.

The RMA number is just a number, it could be a fake number, since I still have a nonfunctional switch.
Other Thoughts: I would advise anyone to carefully consider avoiding TP-Link products until the RMA process improves
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our switch.

I am sorry to hear you had trouble with the RMA process. If you could please send an email to the below address with your contact info and RMA number we would greatly appreciate it.

Please reference your case reference 160714-016571.

We thank you again for your feedback and certainly hope this experience will not discourage you from checking out more of our great networking products in the future.

Best Regards!
TP-LINK Support Team
(866) 225-8139
ussupportteam@tp-link.com

Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/14/2016 6:22:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.