Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG1024 10/100/1000Mbps Unmanaged 24-Port Gigabit rackmountable Switch, Metal Case, Power-Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good protocol support
Pros: Supports jumbo frames, port bonding, solid construction, good paint
Cons: none so far
Other Thoughts: Using this switch between Freenas server, virtual machine server, and workstations. Can Confirm: supports linux port bonding, jumbo frames - getting well more than 1 Gbps out of my nas with multiple nics, round robin link aggregation. Will buy managed TP-Link switch in future.
Reviewed By:spyro,10/23/2014 1:41:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 48-port Gigabit Smart Switch with PoE and 4 SFP Ports - 2nd generation (GS752TP)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor Support Policy
Pros: Cheaper than a Quality Cisco or HP switch, but not as full featured. I even had 2 little 5 port 1G switches at home because I liked them.
Cons: Had an issue with IP phones. As the devices were at a customer site and had been for a few months, NetGear wouldn't provide support without a fee although the equipment was still under warranty. So, how does one get a warranty repair. "Simple, just pay us $75 and we will help you get the patch you need to fix this" was the jist of the tech support call.
Other Thoughts: I'm a Network Engineer. Been that way since the 90's. Bad mistake trying to save some money. Those 3 switches were taken out and HP switches installed. VoIP problems went away with HP's default configuration. NetGear equipment ended up in the loaner pile, but not acceptable for production, simply because of the support policy. They have bad hardware but would not support it beyond 90 days without a fee. Sometimes problems take a long time to achieve resolution. We finally convinced an engineer from Allworx to come out and they found a massive dropped broadcast (UDP) packet issue causing intermittent de-register, ringing, or have one way audio. Gotta remember, VoIP phones need those broadcasts to function well.

That was very last NetGear product I specified. I have a current budget in excess of $100K (last year was an EMC SAN and Cisco Call Manager so close to $400K). I now have a 3Com (HP Branded) 1G switch at home now. Got rid of NetGear there also simply because of their support policy.
Reviewed By:DSain,10/23/2014 5:25:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR 5 Port Gigabit Business-Class Desktop Switch - Lifetime Warranty (GS105)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Netgear desktop switch
Pros: Sturdy construction, no discernible loss of bandwith.
Cons: None, it does exactly what i need it to do.
Reviewed By:ozzie,10/21/2014 3:34:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Hewlett-Packard > HP 5500-48G-PoE+ SI Layer 3 Switch

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT ORDER THIS! FRAUDULENT
Pros: The product shipped was NOT correct. In fact, it was DELIBERATELY misrepresented. I received an HP V1910 (non-POE, 10/100) switch in an HP 5500-48G-POE+ SI (Layer 3) Box! I got about 1/10th the value of what I ordered.
Cons: Not what was promised. Mis-labeled product. Be sure to ask a LOT of questions, especially if it is coming from HPP Enterprises.
Other Thoughts: The product shipped was NOT correct. In fact, it was DELIBERATELY misrepresented. I received an HP V1910 (non-POE, 10/100) switch in an HP 5500-48G-POE+ SI (Layer 3) Box! I got about 1/10th the value of what I ordered.
Reviewed By:MichaelLeBlanc,10/21/2014 1:57:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG108E 8-Port Gigabit Easy Smart Switch, 8 10/100/1000 Mbps RJ45 Ports, MTU/Port/Tag-Based VLAN, QoS and IGMP

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Impressive mangement features at an attractive price
Pros: This switch has an impressive set of management features -- including VLANs, QoS, and port mirroring -- and costs only a little more than unmanaged switches. It's a solid product and I recommend that anyone familiar with those networking concepts consider this product as an alternative to purchasing an unmanaged 8-port switch.

The diagnostic capabilities of this switch could be useful in troubleshooting and to me they alone are worth the small premium over an unmanaged switch. The port statistics show the link speed, duplex, and a count of good packets and bad packets (both tx and rx) for each port. The cable test shows whether there are opens, shorts, or crosstalk, and the approximate cable length to the problem (or total length if normal). The reported length was at least accurate enough to distinguish short cables from across-the-house runs, but I'd consider the reported length to be +/- a few meters at least.

In a word, port mirroring is awesome. Connect a laptop to an unused port, fire up wireshark, and use mirroring to observe traffic on any port or group of ports. Why is my tablet talking with Facebook? Are there unexpected connections to my security camera? I'd always meant to create a network sentry with a small linux box and two ethernet cards, but now I can easily take a snapshot of network activity anytime I want.

The switch has the ability to trunk ports together to make a single higher bandwidth connection. Only one trunk is supported. It's a nice option to have but I think this unlikely to be used in an 8-port switch, unless you need just a few very high throughput connections to a single fast server or uplink.

The VLAN functions are potentially useful although not as flexible as I'd hoped (see Cons). There are three modes available:
- MTU (multi-tenant unit) VLAN implements a strict isolation between ports, except for a shared uplink.
- Port-based VLAN allows you to group ports into separate logical networks.
- 802.1q VLAN can pass, assign, and remove packet tags on a per-port basis, to work with other network equipment that groups or prioritizes traffic based on these tags.

A rated switching capacity of 16 Gbps means this switch can handle a full-duplex gigabit connection on each port simultaneously.

I experienced no problems over 10 days using this for all my home network traffic.
Cons: I had hoped to set up two VLANs, each with a few ports, sharing an uplink. This does not appear to be possible. Individual ports can be isolated and share an uplink (MTU VLAN), and groups of ports can be separated (port-based, 802.1q), but groups of ports can not share an uplink.

As is often the case these days, the user guide should have been reviewed by a native English speaker. For example, "The port mirror function can take effect span the multiple VLANs."

In order to configure the switch, you must use the windows-only Easy Smart software. This windows PC must be in the same subnet as this switch. I have internet-exposed devices on a different subnet between two firewalls, and when this switch was used in that subnet, I was unable to manage it from the inner network. Network devices with web interfaces don't have this problem - you just connect to the IP address of the device and it doesn't matter if there's a router in between.

Furthermore, I found that the PC running the Easy Smart software must be on an unswitched (hub or direct connect) wired connection to this switch, otherwise the software won't be able to find the switch even if you are on the same subnet. In that case, you get an unhelpful message that the "Host IP address and switch IP address must be in the same subnet". Since there is no way to specify an IP address in the configuration software, the switch simply cannot be managed from any other point in your network. Despite the impressive list of features and compelling price point, I have to subtract a star for this senseless restriction.

Having the status LEDs on the same side as the ports is common with large rackmount switches, but kind of annoying for a small switch, especially in a home environment.
Other Thoughts: The QoS (quality of service) settings are straightforward, although you have to read the user manual to understand how the priority is implemented. The switch can prioritize traffic based on the wired port number or on the priority number contained within the packet itself (802.1p). In port-based priority the switch implements a very basic priority algorithm: if there are high priority packets, those are sent; if not, the next-highest priority queue is processed, and so forth. In this case the lowest priority devices may not receive any bandwidth at all if they are competing with higher priority devices. The 802.1p priority mode implements a fairer weighted algorithm on packets that are tagged with a priority number, with a 8:4:2:1 ratio on the time allotted to the highest to lowest priority queues. However, even if 802.1p priority is enabled, any untagged packets are handled under the port-based priority algorithm.

The switch ships with a static IP address of 192.168.0.1/8. It's best to first connect it to an isolated computer, give that computer a static IP of 192.168.0.2/8, and use the Easy Smart software to configure the switch to use a DHCP-assigned address or static address of your choice.

The power consumption was low but much more variable than other small network devices I've measured. It averaged 2.6 W over 177 hours, with instantaneous readings between 1 and 5 W. The indicated power factor varied from 0.00 to 0.10 with 15 to 51 VA. This may not be accurate or even significant with such low power consumption, but for what it's worth, the power factor and VA are easily two to three times worse than the other switches, routers, and access points I've looked at.
Reviewed By:KevinR,10/21/2014 10:12:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG108E 8-Port Gigabit Easy Smart Switch, 8 10/100/1000 Mbps RJ45 Ports, MTU/Port/Tag-Based VLAN, QoS and IGMP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Packed with features!
Pros: This switch can be used as is if all you need is to add some more ports to your network, and is also feature rich with many different control options. If you are really into tweaking out connected devices and need to have more control over devices that are connected to your network then this is the switch to purchase!

Power cord plugs into the back of the unit, and all connections are made in the front. Also has an easy access reset button in the front to the right that is clearly labeled in the event that you have to reset the device due to a lost password, or to just start setup over from scratch. LED’s on each jack will give you connection status with just a glance along with a data flow indicator LED.

DHCP is not enabled by default, and most people usually have this type of setup on their networks. Also the default IP address is setup for 192.168.0.1, so depending on your network setup, you will need to run the configuration utility right away to change the settings. The utility had no problem detecting the switch even though its address was different than what my home network is setup for.

Once DHCP was enabled through the configuration utility the device was recognized with no problem on my network. Included instructions on how to connect to the device for setup the first time worked exactly as described.

Device allows full control of all port settings. Such as speed and duplex, flow control, and lag. Also supports IGMP Snooping and Port Trunking. The Monitoring feature will give individual port statistics such as Status of connected ports; transmit/receive of good/bad packets. Also supports Port Mirroring and Loop Prevention. Each port can also be individually configured with optional MTU VLAN control settings, along with QoS, Bandwidth control and Storm control.

Another nice feature is the Cable Test option which will allow you to test your cables and give you the length of each cable in meters.

Built solid, all metal enclosure, wall mountable, also includes pads for bottom of unit if you prefer to have it sitting on your desk. Initial setup is easy by simply plugging a network cable directly from your router to the switch and you then have 7 more available ports for hard wired devices!
Cons: Switch can only be configured using the supplied configuration utility which only works with Windows systems. There is no browser based configuration support.
Other Thoughts: Arrived with firmware version 1.1.0 Build 20140528 installed which was released May 28, 2014. Newer firmware version is now available as of September 14, 2014, which is Firmware Version 1.1.1 Build 20140922. The firmware can be downloaded from their site and is very simple to install. Simply log in with the configuration utility and choose Firmware Upgrade Option, browse to where you unzipped the firmware update and then select Upgrade Firmware. Unit will retain all previous settings when upgrading the firmware so there is no need for you to set it up again.

For anyone that would want the reliability of this TP-Link switch in an unmanaged version of this switch it is available on Newegg for around the same price, TP-Link model # TL-SG108!
Reviewed By:Robert D.,10/21/2014 8:30:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-405X 10/100Mbps 5-Port Fast Ethernet Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cheap and Works Good
Pros: on sale for $8.
Plugged in and worked out of the box
No setup needed
Cons: None
Reviewed By:TOM,10/21/2014 8:15:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG108E 8-Port Gigabit Easy Smart Switch, 8 10/100/1000 Mbps RJ45 Ports, MTU/Port/Tag-Based VLAN, QoS and IGMP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Entry Level Office Switch
Pros: Hard to go wrong with this 8port switch since it cost just about the same as a normal run of the mill unmanaged switch.
A straight out of the box the switch will work just like a dumb-switch allowing for plug and play of any device. So in reality someone could get this switch and use like a normal unmanaged switch and upgrade in the future to using its advance features such as VLAN’s.
The overall appearance of this switch is nice. I have work with multiple other style of switches and metal housings are the way to go. No molded plastic housing’s that flex when you breathe on them.
Moving onto the GUI you can find some nice and very useful functions and features there. Mentioned by another review is the cable test feature. Very nice feature for some quick troubleshooting, though I wouldn’t get to attached on this as nothing beats the good old physical inspection to ensure everything is in order. Though the cable testing feature allows for the manager to quickly tell you if there is a problem with the cable connected to a particular port.
Just like all managed switches I have dealt with before this can handle trunking though TP-Link calls it LACP. It also supports port mirroring which is a big security risk in my opinion so be sure to secure your switch before enabling something like this. Though port mirroring allows for snooping of a port so that an administrator can view what is going over a port without having to be plugging into that port.
Cons: One thing I did wish that this switch would have was a web interface. Most managed switches that I have worked with have some sort of built in web interface to work with. Though with this switch you will need to install the interface via the supplied CD. So it’s not a huge con since this switch is super cheap and you are getting what you pay for.
This has always been a huge issue with me and that is how companies design these cases. I really hate it when they put some ports on the front and then rest on the back. So in this case you have all the RJ-45 ports on the back then the power and security lock on the other side. This sucks for cable management since you can’t just bundle everything together.
I did find one serious flaw in this switch,
So in order to connect to this switch the switch will need an IP address. Standard though DHCP on this switch is disabled by default. Instead it takes the IP address of 192.168.0.1 which if you have a LinkSys router with default settings, they it will try and take over the router. Rude right, well it can cause some disruptions on your network so one way to work around this issue is to simply plug it into your computer and set the IP that way.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I would recommend this switch to anyone, regardless of whether you need the management capabilities. It’s a nice sturdy switch that is great for an entry level user.
Reviewed By:CeleriumMind,10/20/2014 7:15:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG108E 8-Port Gigabit Easy Smart Switch, 8 10/100/1000 Mbps RJ45 Ports, MTU/Port/Tag-Based VLAN, QoS and IGMP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for an unmanaged switch
Pros: TP-Link makes great networking products that often cost a fraction of the bigger names out there like Netgear, D-Link, and LinkSys, but I've found they're very competitive when it comes to functionality, features and reliability. Build quality can seem cheaper sometimes, but not in this case.

+This unmanaged switch is well built. Made of metal and all the RJ-45 jacks are quality metal casings as well.

+RJ-45 jacks have link lights on the back, cheaper switches will not have them and might just have a single LED indicator per port. More useful for diagnosing bad connections.

+Full-Gigabit connectivity, not shared, so this has non-blocking architecture that can give up to a full Gigabit per port (ie. copy from port 1 to 2 and download to port 3 at same time).

+Performs as an unmanaged switch should, just plug from your downstream source (router) and connect multiple devices or clients and everything autonegotiates.

+Additional software and UI if you need to do anything more advanced, like set up static IPs, port forwarding, firewall, subnets etc.

+Even though I've moved a lot of devices to wireless connections, I still find I have a lot of tethered devices, like consoles, extra desktop PCs, NAS units, powerline adapters etc. I never thought I would need a switch again, but there's just too many things to connect!

+Uses very little power and runs extremely cool. Only ~5-8W under load with 5 ports occupied.
Cons: None, this switch is perfect for home or even at work. I will take it to work to give it the runaround, some of our Netgear equipment can be flakey and cause problems.
Other Thoughts: For just a few dollars more this is a great price for the Easy/Unmanaged switch. I've been very happy with TP-Link products and this seems liek no exceptions.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/20/2014 1:24:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > Netgear GS105PE Ethernet Switch

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Mostly Junk
Pros: It will work as a basic layer 2 switch, and that's about it.
Cons: I purchased 3 of these devices for the workplace, and not one would pass through POE. I attempted to use 2 different POE switches, and even a POE injector. Absolutely no POE would pass. Even tried updating to the new firmware. Still nothing.
Other Thoughts: Will work as a basic layer 2 switch (as long as you're feeding POE), but don't plan on passing POE with it because it probably won't happen. Logging on to the config screen was a major pain until I upgraded the firmware. I would return 2 of the 3 I bought if I hadn't purchased them two months ago.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/20/2014 12:06:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau