Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG105E 5-Port Gigabit Easy Smart Switch with 5 10/100/1000 Mbps RJ45 Ports, MTU/Port/Tag-Based VLAN, QoS and IGMP

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Switch for the Money - But Version 1 Shipped (as of 6/24/16)
Pros: Compact, easy to configure (download the latest utility from TP-Link site (must hunt for SG105E - not on US site) . Cheap - $15 apiece with rebate. Buy two (rebate good for two and use port trunking to tie together clusters of devices in different locations of your your house - way cool. QOS and Port VLAN are also nicely done.
Cons: Version 1 device. No web based interface. Also remember these devices default to 192.168.0.1, and there is no firmware upgrade posted (end of life/caring?).
Other Thoughts: Shame these are v1 devices - forces configuration through windows. Ya know they are linux driven, why-oh-why do this to the Linux (an Mac) community? Still worth $15 bucks. I hear v2 is web based.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/24/2016 10:15:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG1005D 10/100/1000Mbps Unmanaged 5-Port Gigabit Desktop Switch, Power-Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Small but packs a punch
Pros: Before I begin my review I just want to highlight that my review is based on free product received from TP-LINK as part of the review program.

Easiest product install I have had to do ever. this is a great product and not just looks wise, but it works perfect too !

Switches usually are hideous looking and usually end up being kept in the back but not this one, its well made and looks nice as well.

I am using this switch to connect my laptops and desktops and I am running a direct cable from my router to this switch, so that I do not need to worry about overloading my WiFi channels and it is doing it job very well.

Good job TP Link. I highly recommend this device to people who want to run a wired network to connect devices that required higher data transfer.
Cons: none that I have experienced so far.
Reviewed By:Usman K.,6/22/2016 3:14:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-410LX - Unmanaged 10/100/1000 Mbps 8-Port Gigabit Switch with 2-Year Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 5 years and counting
Pros: this switch is bulit proof. been mounted on my wall in the garage for five years and its still ticking.
Cons: not a 16 port version.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/17/2016 10:08:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG105 Unmanaged 5-Port Gigabit Desktop Switch, Metal Case, Power-Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great unit for a decent price
Pros: Metal, can mount to wall. No problems to date.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend these to anyone.
Reviewed By:Ken A.,6/17/2016 8:33:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEG-S80G Unmanaged 8-Port Gigabit GREENnet Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great switch, came right to my door
Pros: easy to set up
Cons: a bit more expensive than other sites
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/15/2016 11:10:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 24-Port Gigabit Rackmount Web Managed (Plus) Switch (JGS524E) - Lifetime Warranty

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works as needed
Pros: - Easy setup.
- Managed interface lets me port mirror to my snort sensor.
- Just works
Cons: - Management is limited.
- No way to ship logs to a syslog that I could see
Other Thoughts: Rebate card worked without a hitch.
Reviewed By:Erich K.,6/15/2016 8:59:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR GS305 SOHO Ethernet Unmanaged 5-Port Gigabit Switch

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid work horse
Pros: * Sturdy metal design
* Quiet (no fan)
* It just works
Cons: * Only a single LED per port indicating connection and activity (some of the older variants included a 2nd LED that indicated connect speed)
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this to others - another in a long series of excellent, low cost, simple network devices. Suitable for home or small office.
Reviewed By:David C.,6/14/2016 9:32:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > ZyXEL > ZyXEL GS1900-16 Fanless 16 Port Smart 10/100/1000Mbps L2 Web Managed Switch

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Connection issues
Pros: The case is solid and the appearance is nice. That this device has an internal power supply means that there is no "wall wart;" it accepts a standard IEC power cable.

UPDATE 06/14/2016: One other nice feature about this switch is that the user manual is integrated into the web interface. If you click on the help link on a given page, a pop-up window presents the appropriate section of the user manual for that screen.
Cons: A counter-intuitive user interface, and more importantly, connection issues (rather, the lack thereof!) plagued this device for the brief time that I had it in service. The switch periodically will drop all connections, and the web management interface will become unavailable unless and until the user performs a hard reset to factory settings, by inserting a bent paper clip into the small hole on the front. Upgrading to the latest firmware had no discernible affect on this undesirable behavior--it continued.

UPDATE 06/14/2016: Flashing the firmware again, to an even newer version, has made my switch operable. No connections have dropped and no reset has been necessary for four days. It's a good thing that the user manual is well-integrated with the web interface, as the user will likely need it!
Other Thoughts: I purchase this switch a while ago for a project that ended up not happening. It sat on the shelf until recently, when I placed it in service. I now regret not having tested this device when it first arrived, as I would have returned it immediately. This is not at all what I have come to expect from ZyXel, as I own a few of their other products, all of which have been consistently high performers over time. This switch is quite a disappointment.

UPDATE 06/14/2016: Since I was able to place this item in service as a switch, I am raising my review from one to three stars; it took a lot of effort on my part to get it working, and the web interface leaves a bit to be desired.
Reviewed By:Daniel L.,6/14/2016 8:22:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 16-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch (GS116) - Lifetime Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Plug & Play Worked out of the Box
Pros: Gigabit Speed
Plug & Play
Great Price
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Jeffrey O.,6/14/2016 12:38:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > ZyXEL > ZyXEL GS1900-8HP Managed 8 Port PoE+ Web Managed Switch

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Ports switching on and off
Pros: none
Cons: Ports switching on and off when you plug in other devices.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/13/2016 10:36:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.