Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Adapters > EDIMAX > Edimax EW-7822PIC AC1200 Wireless Dual Band PCI Express Adapter. Long Range, Ultra-fast Wi-Fi Speed to your Desktop PC, Ideal for Gaming PC.

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Despite other reviews, Works Great!
Pros: Have been using this product for 7 months without issue. As I sit here writing this review I am connected at 867 Mbps @ 5Ghz. Decided to go totally wireless on all of the devices in my home, the Edimax has not let me down on my primary home computer. I should add that I am using a TP-LINK Archer C7 Wireless AC1750 to support the connection. Overall, I have no complaints. The setup was plug and play.
Cons: The only con I can really think of is the short cable. Knew going in it was a little shorter then I liked but also knew I could live with it. Another foot would have helped a lot though.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product to friends. Wish I had gotten it for current price!!
Reviewed By:Ronald M.,9/23/2016 3:02:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Adapters > Amped Wireless > Amped Wireless UA600EX High Power Wireless-N 600mW Pro USB Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 GREAT ITEM
Pros: Tried other items, but this one really works and does what it says.
Cons: Good all around
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/23/2016 12:30:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Adapters > TP-Link > TP-Link Archer T2UH AC600 High Gain Wireless Dual Band USB Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A reliable dual band WiFi adapter
Pros: 1. Connects to my Router at 433.5 Mbps (as advertised) on the 5 GHz band. Note the USB 2.0 maximum transfer rate is 480 Mbps.

2. Plug and Play on Windows 8.0. Downloaded the drivers automatically. No need to use the installation CD.

3. Reliable connection. I have used this WiFi adapter for several months without any connection issues. However see Con #2.

4. Streams live TV (1080p video) with bandwidth to spare from a SiliconDust HDHomeRun PRIME, to Windows 8.0 Microsoft Windows Media Center desktop.

5. Large industry standard antenna.

6. Includes a USB 2.0 extension cable.

7. Includes a Status LED.
Cons: 1. The unit is rather large (even larger with the antenna). Not likely the best solution for a Laptop. My Testing was with two different Windows 8.0 Desktops.

2. It does take maybe 20-30 seconds for the adapter to re-connect after a Windows Restart.
Other Thoughts: 1. My testing was with a Netgear N450 Gateway (Dual Band WiFi Router + Cable Modem combination).

2. In general I prefer Wired Gigabit Ethernet over using WiFi. However, I had a PC in a bedroom with no wired Ethernet available and the TP-Link Archer T2UH AC600 filled my need.

3. If you need a dual band (2.4 GHz / 5 GHz) Wifi adapter, I recommend this product.
Reviewed By:Michael B.,9/23/2016 12:01:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Adapters > ASUS > ASUS PCE-AC55BT 802.11ac Wireless-AC1200 Bluetooth 4.0 PCIe / mPCIe adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My second one
Pros: For the price there is no other Wifi/Bluetooth PCIe adapter I will buy. The antenna leads are long enough to mount it on the ceiling. I used double stick tape to mount it as high as possible. Using my Wifi tracker I pick up signals from up to 5 miles away. It's also sharp looking
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: This Wifi/Bluetooth has the best range of any I have used. With 45 years of experience that's a strong statement but very true. Make sure you remove all drivers for your Wifi/Bluetooth your using now before installing.
Reviewed By:Charles B.,9/23/2016 10:10:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Adapters > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR A6200-100NAS AC1200 WiFi USB Adapter IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n USB 2.0 Up to 300 Mbps / 867 Mbps Wireless Data Rates

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 !!!!!!DONOT BUY!!!!!
Pros: NONE SEE CONS
Cons: I HAVE PURCHASED 4 OF THESE UNITS, AND ALL 4 HAVE REPEATEDLY FAILED,
I HAVE SENT FOR RMA AND THE RMA REPLACEMENTS FAIL.
THE DRIVERS SEEM TO FORGET THE CARD IS INSTALLED AND YOU ARE CONSTANTLY UNPLUGGING AND RE PLUGGING TO GET THEM TO WORK. " THIS IS WITH WINDOWS 7 - 10."
P.S. YOU CAN BE 10FT FROM ANY WIRELESS ROUTER AND IT WILL DO THE SAME THING.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/22/2016 1:00:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Adapters > TP-Link > TP-LINK Archer T8E AC1750 Wireless Dual Band PCI Express Adapter Support Windows 10 with New Driver Update

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It works on all OS's that I tried
Pros: It worked on Windows 10, Linux Mint, and macOS Sierra. Although I did have to install a driver manually to get it going in Windows 10.
Cons: The utility is only works for Windows XP - Windows 7, so I feel like I'm missing out on some functionality.
The 5ghz signal strength can be spotty, but it does stay connected.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/22/2016 7:09:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Adapters > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-WN822N Wireless N300 High Gain USB Adapter, 300 Mbps, Dual 3dBi External Antennas, w/ WPS Button, IEEE 802.1b/g/n, WEP / WPA / WPA2, Plug & Play in Windows 10 (32 bit & 64 bit)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Inexpensive and solid
Pros: An inexpensive high gain USB adapter. Upped the signal to my computer upstairs noticeably over the small Belkin stick I was using.
The WPS feature is handy as well.
Ubuntu recognized it without any issues but check the cons on this.
Long cable.
Cons: The standard driver in Ubuntu does not work well with this. I misread information online and bought this model and version which apparently uses a different chip. Ubuntu (14.04 and 16.04) recognized the adapter, would get a wifi signal, but would "forget" it was there if I wasn't actively streaming something forcing me to disconnect & reconnect.

However, THERE IS A FIX. Some kind soul wrote a driver that works properly for this version of the adapter and you just need to install it and it will solve this issue.

Other Thoughts: I would recommend this to anyone based on price, features and how well it works.
It is Ubuntu compatible, just needs the updated driver downloaded.
Reviewed By:Paul S.,9/22/2016 5:26:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Adapters > TP-Link > TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450 Nano USB Adapter Support Windows 10 with New Driver Update

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Frustrating and unreliable
Pros: - 5Ghz speed
Cons: - Frequent drops of connection
- Slow to connect to the network
- Sometimes does not power on and requires multiple resets to function
Other Thoughts: You should get the Edimax brand unit instead, this is not worth it.
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

Thank you for your review, your feedback is important to us.

Due to the symptoms described, our Support Team would appreciate the opportunity to follow up with you in order to properly address this concern.

At your earliest convenience, please send an e-mail including your contact details to our Support Team at the address below so we may have a Support Agent follow up with you for assistance.

Please reference case number 160922-031513.

We thank you again for your feedback and certainly hope this experience will not discourage you from checking out more of our great networking products in the future.

Best Regards,

TP-Link Support Team
(866) 225-8139
ussupportteam@tp-link.com

Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/20/2016 8:28:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Adapters > EDIMAX > Edimax EW-7822UAC Wireless AC1200 Dual-band USB 3.0 Adapter, Complies to Draft 802.11ac Standard, Delivers More Than Two Times Faster Wi-Fi Speed Than 802.11n, With Adjustable Foldaway Antenna for Optimum High Performance

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works alright in GNU/Linux Debian
Pros: Drivers are open source, and it gets a strong connection for 5ghz.

Linux users can get the driver here:
https://github.com/diederikdehaas/rtl8812AU
Cons: You have to friggin compile the driver. It also seems that Realtek basically uses open source as an excuse to offload driver support on the users, which isn't the point of open source. However, it works on kernel 4.6 with either DKMS or make install with the driver shown above.

Also I had to edit the makefile to turn off power saving mode so that the driver would stop disconnecting when the connection idles.

Also the driver only works in USB2.0 High speed (480mbps) mode. I was expecting to use the full USB3 speed but it at least works.

Also the thing is too damn big, but that's the price you pay for a good antenna length.
Other Thoughts: Please take Linux drivers seriously as this is one of the few good wireless AC chips that works with it.

Nonetheless it works great for Debian jessie and Stretch, I just wish they would distribute the drivers more.
Reviewed By:Some dork,9/20/2016 8:16:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Adapters > TP-Link > TP-LINK Archer T9E AC1900 Wireless Dual Band PCI Express Adapter Support Windows 10 with New Driver Update

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great in Hackintosh
Pros: - Supports Wide variety of 5GHz Frequencies including DFS bands (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 100, 104, 108, 112, 116, 132, 136, 140, 144, 149, 153, 157, 161, 165)
- Has heavy heatsink on chip
- Performs well (10-20MB/s in busy WiFi N Network)
Cons: - expensive
Other Thoughts: This works great under OSX 10.11. I had the previous generation WiFi card in previously and I was seeing 1-2MB/s throughput due to hostile wifi environment. Our network is configured to use DFS bands and this card increased by throughput 10-20 fold. Very happy.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/20/2016 1:21:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.