Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS G75 Series G750JW-BBI7N05 17.3" Notebook Intel Core i7-4700HQ 2.4Ghz / 3.4Ghz Turbo Boost 8GB DDR3 Memory 1TB HDD Windows 8

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Practically Flawless Out Of Box. 8.1 Major Pain.
Pros: - Upgradable (RAM and extra HDD or SSD bay)
- Great screen. (1080p 17.3")
- Surprisingly responsive touch pad.
- Back lights disperse evenly across the board.
- Speakers are good.
- Keyboard feels great.

The actual machine is amazing, this said, you always run the risk of hardware failure, cosmetic damage, etc when you buy refurbished. So don't expect perfect cosmetically, but do expect a completely working machine.

Being my first refurbished purchase, I'm more than satisfied with the purchase. I was ready to see at least some chips and dents, but it's practically pristine aside from a small, chip on the corner of the machine.

You also have a 30 day ASUS warranty to replace a defective machine. I wouldn't hesitate to use if you're having real problems.

**
Haven't had a chance to game with it, but I assume you should be able to play any game on at least medium graphics with decent FPS. If I experience something I didn't expect, I'll update this.
Cons: First off, I'm rating this 5/5 only because the actual laptop s great. The operating system on the other hand....

Went to update all the windows updates before installing the 8.1 update, like any sane person I selected to install all necessary updates at once. Bad move. Took close to an hour to download half the files (shouldn't have been anything close to that long) then windows had an issue while installing the updates. Windows then attempted to revert back after the update failed but made no progress. After an hour I restarted the machine, reinstalled windows (took almost 3 hours) and did tried again.

I've read all the stories, how updating to 8.1 is a major pain. I blew it off having plenty of windows experience and thought it couldn't be that bad. Be warned, it is no walk in the park. Took me 2 days since opening the box to get 8.1 installed successfully.

When you get this laptop, don't check automatic windows updates when setting up windows. Do it all manually (look online for instructions, very easy). Only download updates 15-20 at a time. It'll take time, but save you the hours I spent with the laptop in limbo.
Other Thoughts: At the time, I paid $900 for the laptop, so maybe you can find a better deal. But there is nothing wrong with this one. Just be ready for a journey updating to 8.1 and DO NOT try to update all of it at once. Once you get all the necessary windows updates, the actual 8.1 update went flawlessly.
Reviewed By:Jason,7/25/2014 5:25:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS R510DP-FH11 Notebook AMD A-Series A10-5750M (2.50GHz) 8GB Memory 750GB HDD AMD Radeon HD 8670M 2GB 15.6" Windows 8 (64 bit)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Worked great when the display would stay on.
Cons: The display would randomly go black and all I could see was the cursor on the screen. Looked this up online and read others having same issue. I would close the lid and slowly open it back up and the display would sometimes come one. Or I would have to plug in the power adapter for the display to turn on. And yes i made sure it was fully charged. Contacted newegg for a refund and was told it would be no problem since it was defective. I get an email from the rma department stating it was not defective and they were sending it back to me. I have since then bought another laptop and hope I can get the refund i asked for before they send it back. I will not be very happy if I get this laptop back since i already bought another.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2014 3:30:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS F75VD-NS51 Notebook Intel Core i5 3230M (2.60GHz) 6GB Memory 750GB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GT 610M 17.3" Windows 8 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 poor quality
Pros: play games and runs programs I want
Cons: Case is very flimsy. The computer is literally coming apart whenever I open the lid. The case comes apart to the point that I can see the internals of the computer.
Other Thoughts: I will seriously reevaluate ASUS before I buy another ASUS product
Reviewed By:mal,7/25/2014 1:05:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProBook 6440b Notebook Intel Core i5 520M (2.40GHz) 4GB Memory 160GB HDD Integrated Graphics 14.0" Windows 7 Professional

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good value if you can see past problems
Pros: At under $300, this is a good value with solid performance and a reasonable screen if you can get past the cons below. Cosmetically very nice, but it has a prominent "Refurbished" sticker on it that I am unable to remove.
Cons: Battery arrived dead and unchargeable. The web cam also would not work and a google search reveals it is a common problem since new. I would have expected a refurbished product (that meets original specs) would have a working battery and web cam. The brushed aluminum finish is just a sticker over plastic.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2014 11:58:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS VivoBook S500CA-HPD0101N 15.6” Touchscreen Notebook Intel Pentium 2117U (1.80GHz) Dual Core CPU, 4GB Memory, 500GB HDD, Intel HD Graphics, Windows 8 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice Laptop with Win 8 and Touch Screen
Pros: The price on this laptop is excellent for what you get. What do you get??? Well you get an Intel Pentium Proc (Ivy Bridge based), 4 gigs of RAM (expandable to 8 according to documentation), 500 gig hard drive, a valid copy of Windows 8, 2 USB 2.0 slots, a memory card reader, and a single USB 3.0 slot that doubles as a device charger, plus HDMI and VGA outputs. I picked this up on sale for $279.99 with a promo code for $20 off so $259.99 with a $50.00 rebate. Even if I never get the rebate this is still a properly fantastic deal.

For 259 you get into a modern, capable computer for the price of what a netbook used to cost. This is a fully functional and capable little home office or student machine.
Cons: The laptop lid is a finger print magnet. The fit and finish on the computer is nice but the track pad feels to be a bit on the cheap side and I wouldn't trust it to hold up under prolonged use (so invest in a wireless mouse). They keyboard is fine for a chiclet keyboard and you will either love it or hate it. It will work fine 99.5% of the population, but for some reason only .5% of people that it would bother ever seem to write reviews on Newegg so be aware its a tad on the mushy side.

It came loaded with some crapola games from WildTangent or some other crapware provider but it was easy to install and you also want to uninstall the McAfee AV and the Office Trial and go with free solutions if you want. To me its all bloatware so I took that off too.

My last complaint and this is the one I dinged it one egg for is that when the computer is refurbished ASUS deletes the recovery partition. Which I am sure has something to do with their Windows license with Microsoft. My guess is that when the computer is refurbished it is considered a different computer than the license was originally created for and hence they have to remove you ability to re-install Windows. There is not even a valid Windows license on the bottom of the machine.

So once you get this setup and running be aware that you'd better utilize Windows 8 backup utility to clone a copy of your hard drive the way that it is if you don't want to have to shell out for a new Windows 8 license later. Not that I would. If this thing ever goes bad I will just toss Windows 7 on it and forget about the touch screen because in reality the touch screen functionality is simply a gimmick.
Other Thoughts: I picked this computer up for my step sister who is a nursing student. I know she uses MS Office and plays on Facebook until her eyes bleed. This computer is perfect for her because its light, has a lot of thoughtful features, and its cheap so if it gets stolen or broken were only out 250 bucks or so.

This machine will do Facebook and all other social networking and office tasks perfectly fine. Be aware that this is not a gaming machine. It is also not a machine for content creation, video editing, or 3D rendering. It will do those things but not well and if you need that sort of functionality you are not going to find it in a 250 dollar ultra portable. You probably are not going to find that sort of functionality until you get into the 600 - 800 dollar range.

If you know what your buying then this is a great little machine. I would recommend it to anyone.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2014 10:57:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS X75A-DH32 Notebook Intel Core i3 3110M (2.40GHz) 6GB Memory 500GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 4000 17.3" Windows 8 64-bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 ASUS X75A
Pros: Good solid PC with good display and larger keyboard
Cons: This PC will connect to my router, but drops the connection from time to time. I have another laptop which connects, and is solid. I have also found it will not connect to some public WiFis. I think the problem is some routers do not fully support the protocol provided by the Ralink driver. The sound will stop sometimes after being used. A reboot will make it return. So I went to the ASUS site and downloaded the most current drivers for WLAN and Audio. Neither issue was resolved. So I downloaded the Atheros WLAN driver, replaced the Ralink, and the dropping has stopped. I downloaded the VIA Audio and replaced the Realtek, and the sound is now solid. Also I had set the Power Options to Balanced, and it continued to be switched back to Power4Gear. I discovered there is a Power4Gear Hybrid Utility causing that so I disabled it.
Reviewed By:Tom P,7/25/2014 10:34:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProBook 650 G1 (F2R74UT#ABA) Notebook Intel Core i5 4200M (2.5GHz) 4GB Memory 500GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 4600 15.6" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 F2R74UT#ABA Laptop - Excellent
Pros: Excellent laptop for the money. After searching for several weeks this is the laptop I felt gave the most performance and features at a reasonable cost. Use with a HP docking station A7E36UT#ABA. I have been very pleased with both.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Newegg purchase and shipping was great.
Reviewed By:NEB123,7/25/2014 8:51:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS G75VX-BHI7N11 Notebook Intel Core i7 3630QM (2.40GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670MX 17.3" Windows 8 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 IF YOU BUY, GET AN EXTENDED WARRANTY
Pros: Fast performer, in every aspect this was the perfect laptop for me...until things started messing up 2 months later.
Cons: Support dropping the ball. Wjhile still under Warranty, sent it back for what was obviously a physical short or loose connection internally that was causing the screen to blank out. Even provided a video of the problem in action (light pressure in spots around keyboard caused screen to go out). They ran software diagnostics, virus scan, defragged, and sent it back. Now that it is out of warranty, it has completely shorted and has no internal display--only external ports work. Doesn't appear they even opened the case to check the cables or daughter card. LVDS cable was run up over the battery housing and got crimped by the upper panel and shorted out--scorched the plastic and fused at least 4 wires. LVDS port on motherboard appears shorted out now.... neither a new cable or new screen has fixed it (which I paid for mind you). Could have been fixed when they had it for the cost of a $30 cable, but now it may need a motherboard. This is their mistake. Either they didn't catch it during initial assembly, refurbishing, and/or warranty service, and now they are refusing to make this right. Time to go back to IBM brands I guess.
Other Thoughts: If you buy their products, make sure you can get an extended warranty. There are third party companies you can get them from like SquareTrade. Based on past experiences with their products (never had one of their laptops, but other devices), I trusted Asus too much with this purchase and didn't get one and am now out roughly $1100.
Reviewed By:Raist,7/24/2014 10:22:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo IdeaPad Z570 (1024DMU) Notebook Intel Core i5 2450M (2.50GHz) 6GB Memory 500GB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GT 630M 15.6" Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Died
Pros: -Great value

-Great performance (while it worked)
Cons: -Shut off and refused to turn back on (or respond in any way)
Other Thoughts: After 2 years of ownership, abruptly shut off while not doing much of anything, and refused to turn on or respond in any way. Power cable adapter blinks orange when plugged into laptop (constant orange when not plugged in). I assume something on the motherboard fried? This seems to be a common problem on this laptop, sadly.

I was going to buy a second laptop soon and was thinking about buying another lenovo. I'm having second thoughts about that now.
Reviewed By:NikJ,7/24/2014 4:51:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS VivoBook Q301LA-BHI5T02 Notebook Intel Core i5 4200U (1.60GHz) 4GB Memory 500GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 4400 13.3" Touchscreen Windows 8

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Very good for price
Pros: i5 Haswell CPU
accurate touchscreen
low temps while idle or even browsing internet
aesthetically very nice

runs any linux with a NEW linux kernel, ALL open source drivers are available. (i run 3.14 kernel)
Cons: touchscreen is not multitouch [[-0.5$EGG]]
internal temp gets very high when running heavy graphics (even games like minecraft on low settings) this is expected with integrated graphics.
HDD, a computer like this should come with an SSD. (i replaced my HDD for an SSD, was not hard but you NEED a 7mm drive) [[-0.5$EGG]]
Memory / RAM cannot be upgraded safely or in warranty, you must remove metal casing that is soldered on the motherboard. (i have not attempt doing this)

--- BATTERY --- [[-1$EGG]]
not removable
only 2 cells (38 Wh) > mine came refurbished with 36 Wh capacity
had an electrical ERROR (charging light blinks orange). Would not charge at all, even refused to turn on for a few hours. Discharging the battery completely (boot to BIOS and leave it there until it shuts off) then doing a complete charge while computer is off corrected the problem.
Other Thoughts: For the price of this refurbished unit (just over $400) it was a steal, even with the battery issues.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2014 2:20:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau