Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS D550CA-RS31 Notebook Intel Core i3 3217U (1.80GHz) 6GB Memory 500GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 4000 15.6" Windows 8 64-bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 50% Failure Rate is Unacceptable
Pros: Price seemed good for an Asus laptop
Cons: MANY:
1. No removable battery
2. RAM cannot be upgraded
3. Cannot install Windows 7
4. Cannot install SSD
5. Asus technical support is no help (I called tech support and spoke to SUNNY to report that the laptop would not download any windows updates, and was immediately told to call a different number, which was the parts ordering department.

I ordered two of these laptops and one of them is a total lemon: first it wouldn't download any windows updates, so no windows 8.1. Finally after getting through a technician at Asus, I basically answered my OWN QUESTION to do a factory restore on the laptop (although it was supposedly just from the factory). In doing so I was finally able to upgrade to windows 8.1...But I STILL HAVE PROBLEMS with this laptop: the display is already freaking out and showing random color garbage on the screen, and it refuses to see all the computers in the network, even though the other Asus laptop does...

I am attempting one last time to start from scratch with this laptop, and if it fails, I am sending it back to Newegg for a REFUND. As an IT PROFESSIONAL, companies rely on me to make sure that their companies equipment is working properly. If this is the kind of quality that Asus is starting to produce, my advice is "BUYER BEWARE"
Other Thoughts: I find it irresponsible of computer manufacturing companies to mass-produce junk products without any consideration for the gross misuse of our planets' resources, and for the gross pollution caused by such careless production of junk technology that ends up in land fills after a few years.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 1:32:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > DELL > DELL Inspiron 15 7000 i7537T-1122sLV Notebook Intel Core i5 4210U (1.70GHz) 6GB Memory 1TB HDD Intel HD Graphics 4400 15.6" Touchscreen Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good student laptop
Pros: Good laptop with enough speed to be efficient on applications such as MS Office w/ enough power for multi-tasking.
Cons: Doesn't come with any free software, just a MS office trial and McAfee trial.

Glossy screen can be reflective at times.
Reviewed By:IT Guy James,1/28/2015 1:20:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > DELL > Dell Latitude E6220 [Microsoft Authorized Recertified] 12.5” Notebook with Intel Core i5-2520M 2.5Ghz, 4GB RAM, 250GB HDD, HDMI Out, Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Used dusty piece of garbage
Pros: the screen looks new
Cons: Scratched and dented like a piece of garbage.
Not only that but it is full of gunk and dust.
I wish i could show you the pictures
Other Thoughts: dont buy total scam
Reviewed By:alex,1/28/2015 12:53:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer Aspire E1-510-2484 Notebook Intel Celeron N2820 (2.13GHz) 4GB Memory 500GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Can't find this on Acer website
Pros: Price and specs are good
Cons: This model cannot even be found anywhere on Acer websites. Somewhat alarming that there is no sales or support information to be found about this unit. BUYER BEWARE
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 12:53:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer Aspire V3-572G-54S6 Notebook Intel Core i5 4210U (1.70GHz) 8GB DDR3L Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GT 840M 15.6" Windows 8.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: It woks great for the price. It runs quiet and cooler than my previous laptop. It boots up nice and fast. It's thin and feels sturdy. The keyboard is very nice with the keys sufficiently spaced.

Gaming wise I can run WoW at 60FPS at fair/high settings. LoL should run fine on this. Heros Of the Storm runs good.
Cons: -Lots of bloatware that I needed to uninstall, but that was easy.
-The power button looks cheap compared to the rest of the laptop, but that detail is pretty trivial.
Other Thoughts: Great laptop, and I'm happy with my purchase.
This is my first time using Windows 8.1 and it was awful right out to the box. Installing Classic Shell, and tuning it for performance, quickly fixed all of my problems with 8.1.
No dvd disk drive can be a problem for some, but I hardly ever need to use one so it's not a problem for me. Getting an external dvd drive is always an option.
I wish I had the money to put an SSD in it, that's a future upgrade.
Reviewed By:Martin,1/28/2015 6:51:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS D550CA-RS31 Notebook Intel Core i3 3217U (1.80GHz) 6GB Memory 500GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 4000 15.6" Windows 8 64-bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Touchpad is Awful
Pros: It is a powerful laptop for the price range.
Cons: The touchpad buttons are under an active portion of the touchpad. If you have your finger on either button to, say highlight text, and you move that finger just a little, you have to restart because you will have the wrong text highlighted.
Reviewed By:Rob,1/28/2015 5:04:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS D550CA-RS31 Notebook Intel Core i3 3217U (1.80GHz) 6GB Memory 500GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 4000 15.6" Windows 8 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Notebook
Pros: Good basic gaming and great everyday media/work computer. Screen is a decent size and has good quality. The Intel Core-I3 and 6 Gb's of RAM seem to handle every task iv tried. Also the 500Gb Hard Drive has a decent storage capacity for most users, has standard read/write speeds. Intel's HD 4000 Graphics seems to handle most of the gaming I'v done zero complaints. Purchased during Cyber Monday and got is on sale for approx $360 was definitely worth the buy its very reliable. Asus is always a good buy never had a problem with any of their products.
Cons: Battery Life ranges from 1-2 hours with high activity and use.
Other Thoughts: I'm a tech school student in the Air Force, so from my experience I think it's a good buy for students and for basic users.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 1:34:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS X550LB-NH52 Notebook Intel Core i5 4200U (1.60GHz) 8GB Memory 750GB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M 15.6" Windows 8 64-bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst Service Ever
Pros: Worked for 3 months?
Cons: Right after I bought this laptop, which was great for the first 3 months, I referred a friend of mine to buy an Asus as well, and he did. After having a keyboard issue with a totally different model, he immediately sent it back and bought a Toshiba. I should have done the same at that very moment. The issues have done nothing but pile up.

A partial list is:

1. Screws randomly falling out
2. The hard drive randomly failed on me, and - again - the RMA process is the definition of inconvenient.
3. The network card will randomly disconnect once or twice a day, regardless of which network I'm on.
4. For some reason, the laptop's screen will randomly flicker, and then go into sleep mode. From there, it takes a full 3-5 minutes for the wifi to reconnect.
5. The plastic on the side of the screen has started to separate.
6. The USB port on the right side doesn't work at all anymore. It's not even recognized as connected hardware, even when using various bootable OS's to make sure it wasn't a Windows problem.
7. And now, finally, this keyboard thing, which has been a problem for at least 4 months (again, RMA is not a viable solution for the average person who only owns one laptop).

Asus customer service is the worst I have dealt with ever, worse than Comcast (somehow) and they still have made zero effort to make it right – more than 20 back and forth emails and phone calls...all talk, but no action.

Long story short: Don't buy from them. If something goes wrong, they won't help you at all, and their RMA process is the worst (making you wait over a month of total time before you even know whether or not you're ever going to have a laptop again.)
Reviewed By:N/A,1/27/2015 5:45:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP Envy Touchsmart m7-j020dx (HPE4S19UAR) Notebook Intel Core i7 4700MQ (2.40GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD Intel HD Graphics 4600 17.3" Touchscreen Windows 8

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great laptop
Pros: Ergonomic design, great keyboard, crisp screen, fast fingerprint scanner, fast cpu, enough ram memory but can use a little more, slower hdd but you can get a solid state drive for booting and use original for storage.
Cons: Battery life is not so great but I always have it plugged in so it doesn't bother me.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/27/2015 3:00:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP 8540P Notebook Intel Core i7 2.67GHz 4GB Memory 256GB SSD 15.6" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Happy now
Pros: Happy now, the replacement works as it should. Recieved an 8540w as the replacement.
Cons: No hdmi but that was expected. Speakers very weak.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/27/2015 12:04:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.