Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkPad E550 (20DF0040US) Notebook Intel Core i7 5500U (2.40GHz) 8GB Memory 500GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 5500 15.6" Windows 8.1 Pro 64-Bit / Windows 7 Professional downgrade

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Some things to note
Pros: Sleek, seems well built, covers most of the standard features well. The touchpad is improved over some of Lenovo's previous attempts.
Cons: Will not accommodate a standard 9.5mm height HDD/SSD, this costs the machine two eggs. Just a terrible move by Lenovo. To upgrade the storage in this machine you will need a 7mm drive, and this will severely limit your options.

I bought two of these machines, one for myself, and one for my sister. I simultaneously bought a 9.5mm 2GB drive to install in my sisters. For my own, I already own a Kingston HyperX SSD which I intended to move over. That is also a 9.5mm drive.

For Lenovo to make that decision is their prerogative, but certainly the glaring absence of a standard should be something that customers are informed of. It should be there, "WILL NOT SUPPORT STANDARD LAPTOP DRIVES!" but it's not there anywhere.

The other egg is lost for the fact that this machine comes with an AMD graphics card. I only wanted the Intel graphics, I have a gaming rig for that business, but don't want it in my laptop because it shortens battery life. That was something I was specifically avoiding, and thought would be fine with this one as it specifically says, "Intel HD Graphics 5500," but that is incorrect.
Other Thoughts: Disappointed in the amount of time I spent researching this laptop only to have all these silly issues pop up. None of the things I have listed should be a surprise, and that's really the negative to this is the surprise, not that it was done.

For many people the AMD graphics would be a plus, but it's something that should be stated clearly due to the tradeoff on battery, which some people might not want.

The laptop drive size thing is unforgivable, and reeks of Lenovo cutting their customers out of upgrading their own drives to attempt to force folks to buy the model which comes with SSD.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 3:55:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Laptop G50 (80E301GUUS) AMD A-Series A8-6410 (2.00GHz) 4GB Memory 500GB HDD AMD Radeon R5 Series 15.6" Windows 8.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great performance at a low price
Pros: I got a few of these for users and I was shocked at the performance, got them during a flash sale for like $270 each. Very snappy, hard drive seemed pretty responsive and quick as well. I tested PlanetSide 2 which ran around 25-40 FPS on lowest settings and around 15-20 FPS on medium settings, which is surprisingly decent for such a low cost system.

If it will run PlanetSide 2, it will probably do whatever you need it to do.

AMD APU means great battery life, and it showed. I was barely able to drain the battery before the client was on their way to pick the machine up, and it charged quickly as well.

Very thin, very light. Lighter than I expected. The display isn't amazing but at this price it sure seems gorgeous. =)

If these go on sale again I'll probably get one for my own personal use, time to upgrade from the old e6400 to something more modern.
Cons: None honestly, best budget laptop I can find right now.
Other Thoughts: Enjoy!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 3:05:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Laptop T430 (2344-BPU) Intel Core i7 3520M (2.90GHz) 4GB Memory 500GB HDD NVIDIA NVS 5400M + Intel HD Graphics 4000 14.0" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Laptop!
Pros: This is a great laptop so far (AND ITS ONLY BEEN A WEEK). This thing can fly through games like no other.

My laptop is the Lenovo 430 2344BPU

-It comes installed with Nvidia 5400m with Intel 4000 graphics card
-Mine came with 8gb RAM instead of 4gb
-1600x900 screen resolution
-Legit Windows 7 Pro key and it works great
-Really fast on anything

If your a gamer that wants a cheaper laptop that can play Skyrim, CS:GO, Minecraft, GTA IV or V, TF2 or anything really this is for you. Now I'm sure it can't play any new games on high graphics, but this laptop is still worth it for some like me.
Cons: I don't really have any cons with this laptop. I think I just got either really lucky or Newegg sent me the exact right one!
Other Thoughts: Laptop can get a little hot if your playing games so be careful.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 11:24:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS Laptop Transformer Book Flip R554LA-RH51T Intel Core i5 4210U (1.70GHz) 6GB Memory 500GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 4400 15.6" Touchscreen Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 perfect
Pros: I could not tell this thing from brand spanking new!!! Not a mark on it and it works perfectly. I love it and am thinking of buying another one.
Cons: Windows 8.1. Looking forward to Windows 10 upgrade. Will install immediately on this machine on July 29.
Other Thoughts: It is a touch screen and needs Win 8.1 but 8.1 is awkward and clumsy. Hoping that Windows 10 is a big improvement. Will probably continue to use Windows 7 on my other machines until I see how 10 works on this fine machine.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 9:06:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer Laptop Aspire V3-572-51TR Intel Core i5 5200U (2.20GHz) Full HD 8GB Memory 1TB HDD Intel HD Graphics 5500 15.6" Windows 8.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid computer for Excellent Price
Pros: Great value
Excellent screen resolution
Surprisingly good battery life
Does everything I need it to
Cons: Trackpad is a little weird to get used to
Windows 8 - I'm switching to Linux
Power cord seems a little short
Be warned: no CD drive
Other Thoughts: The computer runs fast and does everything I need it to do. Its minor drawbacks are all things I'm fully prepared to deal with.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 8:57:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkPad E550 (20DF0040US) Notebook Intel Core i7 5500U (2.40GHz) 8GB Memory 500GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 5500 15.6" Windows 8.1 Pro 64-Bit / Windows 7 Professional downgrade

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good Laptop, Poor WiFi
Pros: Quick booting, Sharp Looking, Solid Feel
Cons: Ships with faulty WiFi driver - WiFi Card is fine, but you may need to download an older revision of the driver for some APs. Also, does not ship with original install media.
Other Thoughts: Generally, I love Lenovo. This is another strong laptop, I am just disappointed they not do better testing on the driver they would choose to ship the laptop with.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 7:55:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer Laptop Aspire E1-731-4699 Intel Pentium 2020M (2.40GHz) 4GB Memory 500GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 17.3" Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Problem after replacing hard drive with SSD
Pros: I only have one notable disappointment with it.
Cons: After replacing hard drive with SSD problem of
keyboard key pressed without actually pressing key.
Chkdsk trying to run at boot gets immediately cancelled
because it allows abort by pressing any key.
Circumvention is chkntfs /t:0
Circumvention does not work for other software that
allows abort at boot.
ACER technical support first suggested fix of draining power did not help.
Same problem occurs using different manufacturer SSD.
So, problem must be in ACER provided laptop parts "when SSD used instead of hard drive".

ACER technical support second level says they will not help fix it
because laptop came with hard drive, not SSD.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 7:55:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP Laptop EliteBook 8440p Intel Core i5 520M (2.40GHz) 4GB Memory 250GB HDD 14.1" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stay away!
Pros: Price & physical condition - but who cares if it doesn't work??
Cons: OS corrupted. No pre installed software for webcam, fingerprint reader or USB ports. HDD no good. Could not reinstall OS. Had to RMA for refund. If 1 out of 20 of these are actually good, it's a miracle! STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS REFURBISHED GARBAGE!! Would have given ) eggs if it was a choice. Total junk.
Other Thoughts: Shame on you Newegg for selling this piece of junk through your Newegg Marketplace
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 9:17:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS Laptop X555LB-NS71 Intel Core i7 5500U (2.40GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce 940M 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Laptop For Price!
Pros: I bought this laptop when it cost 660 dollars, but even at 20 dollars more it is pretty nice. It has great specs for the price. It has an intel i7 5500u which has half the performance of other i7s like the 4700m, but
the laptop is really cheap so this is still really nice for the price. At least it has an i7 so it is still relatively powerful.

Also although the cpu has only half the performance of better i7s it also has half the cores so core wise it has practically the same performance.

Now for the gpu:
The laptop has two gpus: one dedicated and one integrated into the cpu(pretty much every intel laptop has this so its not uncommon).
The integrated gpu is not that great but it can run some less power hungry applications if you don't want to waste battery life.
The 940m dedicated gpu is a lower mid range gpu, so don't expect amazing performance from it, but it can run most games if you are willing to turn down the settings.
For the price to even have a dedicated gpu is pretty sweet, so it is still a pretty nice deal.

Now the computer has 8gb of ram, which is not too exceptional nowadays but it is pretty much enough to run anything you want, so it performs well.

Now the sound:
I am not saying I am an audiophile so if you are this is probably not good enough, but it is good enough for me. When you buy the computer it adertises this SonicMaster sound, which sounds really cool.

Now the in built speakers for the computer are all right. They are certainly better than my five year old laptop speakers, but unlike my old laptop they slightly vibrate in the laptop, which lowers the sound quality.

However, when I used my headphones I could instantly notice a great improvement from my cheap phone and old laptop. It is not anything deal breaking but it is relatiely good sound so I thought I should mention it.
Cons: Now, unsurprisingly, the laptop is cheaply built to have all of these nice specs for the price. This is mainly a mark of Asus but I still felt it worth mentioning.

Like most Asus computers, the keyboard is not that great. Now I'm not saying that it is not usable. Just when you press down hard enough it kind of bends inward. But the actuall keyboard experience isn't too bad.

The touch pad also takes a little getting used to as at first it stuck to my fingers at first. For some reason after over a week of use it not is fine but it was annoying at first.

They advertise on the computer how it has an extended battery lifespan, and although this might be true the battery life is still not that great, especially when gaming. If you just use a browser or something it can last a while but when gaming or doing any intensive applications the battery life drops significantly. I would say when gaming you get 1-2.5 hours battery life. I didn't really check how long it took so this is mainly just guesswork.

Also playing in with the battery life is the charging. This is where I would say the most major con plays into role. The computer takes a pretty long time to charge. You can't just plug it in for 10 minutes or an hour and expect half the battery to be replenished. It usually takes a couple hours to recharge fully, which is annoying.

Also I am really disapointed with the bios. It doesn't even allow you to disable hyperthreading or really change anything except for power saving mode. This is relatively annoying as in rare cases hyperthreading isn't too great. I can't really complain here too much because usually hyperthreading is good and leaving it on is alright but it still annoyes me.
Other Thoughts: The screen feels a little cheap but it is 1080p unlike many other 768p laptops for the same price, so it balances out.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 7:34:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Laptop G50-80 (80E501U3US) Intel Core i5 5200U (2.20GHz) 6GB Memory 500GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 5500 15.6" Windows 8.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great laptop, but full of bloatware
Pros: This laptop is replacing my old laptop that was pretty slow.
First impressions:
Fast, once you get rid of the bloatware
500GB is plenty of storage for me (even with all the steam games I put on it)
6GB of ram should be plenty for me.
The Core i5 CPU is pretty fast.
Haven't tried any games yet on this laptop, but the Intel HD 5500 should be better than on my old laptop
Speakers are awesome. They are loud and they sound clear.
The keyboard is pretty good.
The display is bright and clear as well.
Even though it's plastic, it feels solid. No flexing at all.
Cons: Bloatware galore. This thing is full of bloatware, including the SuperFish adware. Luckily, there are seveal utilities for removing bloatware and Superfish.
The mousepad is junk like on most laptops except for the MacBooks. It has too much friction, which is why I have a wireless mouse.
The HDD is 5400 RPM. 5400RPM drives are slower compared to 7200RPM HDDs and SSDs.
The display isn't the highest resolution, but that doesn't matter as much to me.
Another con is there is only 1 USB 3.0 port if you have USB 3 devices.
The Wireless N built in adapter should have at least included 5GHz.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this laptop is a great deal for the price. I never expected to find a laptop with a Core i5 Broadwell for the price I did.
Newegg is awesome!!!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 6:48:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.