Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer Laptop Aspire V3-572-51TR Intel Core i5 5200U (2.20GHz) Full HD 8GB Memory 1TB HDD Intel HD Graphics 5500 15.6" Windows 8.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 solid cheap laptop
Pros: For the price, it has a fast processor and a halfway decent screen. It's not a Retina display, but it's not 2,500 bucks, either. I just replaced the pokey 1TB HD with a 500GB SSD and it is now blazingly fast. The difference is much greater than I expected, the default 1TB drive must be pretty slow. During the replacement I put a lot of stress on the case, and I was worried that I had broken some of the leads and traces. But it seems to be well built, and it survived unscathed.
Cons: I couldn't get the back off. I later realized I missed one of the tiny screws in the rear, but I couldn't get the unscrewed side to snap apart, either. I used as much pressure as I dared, then gave up. The HD is accessible from the front, so I decided to replace the drive with the computer only partly open. If you want to do this, you will need a right-angle screwdriver with a compact head. I had about 2.5 inches of clearance above the screws that hold in the drive, and was able to get them out, swap the drive, and replace everything. I'm not subtracting an egg because this is a cheap laptop, not designed for ease of access or upgrades, and it survived after I severely torqued the rear of the case and then skipped and prodded all over its internals with a sharp metal screwdriver.
Other Thoughts: I use a macbook pro at work, and I deeply appreciate this trackpad. It's roughly the same size and also supports two finger scroll and two finger right-click... when will all Windows laptops adopt this? It's so much better.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 12:11:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP 8560P Notebook Intel Core i7 Quad Core 2.20GHz 4GB Memory 256GB SSD 15.6" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Poorly Made Model to Buy Refurbished
Pros: The specs on this laptop are pretty great for the price, even as refurbished model. Having an SSD in a laptop was an essential for me which limited my selection during the buying process. I decided on this bad boy and I have mixed feelings about it.
Cons: The first unit I received Blue/black screened within the first week. I thought it was just a fluke but sure enough it continued to happen. That first unit they sent me was practically brand new cosmetically.
I sent it back and Newegg replaced it with another unit.
Unit #2: Functionally it works pretty well besides when playing videos. I had to tweak the settings on my browser to stop it from playing strange negatives when I first started watching any types of videos. Maybe this was an OS error and not a laptop error, but I have never had that problem with any other laptop/desktop before.
Unit 2 shipped in a much worse condition that the first unit. The keys were a bit dirty upon arrival, there was plastic peeling on the corners already and it's even cracked on the corner plastic piece of the screen. Every corner has dings/scratches that are consistent with the ones you would get by dropping your phone on its corner. The plastic above the audio jack is bent outward making it look like it warped from heat (even though this area does not get hot). This laptop showed up looking like someone used it up until the last day of their warranty and then sent it back to get a newer model.
I simply had no time to return my 2nd model and wait for a 3rd one to ship so I am outta luck. The refurbished warranty only covers up to 1 month from my understanding which left me in a bad place.
Had I gotten the first units cosmetic perfection with the second units functionality I would be pleased with my purchase. That being said, I feel like any day this laptop could break on me and I will be out of luck once again.
Other Thoughts: Newegg was helpful every step of the way but I just couldn't be asked to ship back another unit and wait for a new one to show up, in hopes that a 3rd unit would be functional and in good condition.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 4:24:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer Laptop Aspire E5-573G-59C3 Intel Core i5 5200U (2.20GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD 8GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce 940M 15.6" Windows 8.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Definitely good if you get it on sale
Pros: Very good specs for the price I got it at ($470+tax). Nothing else I found at that price range came close. It beat my old computer in pretty much every spec. The fan is almost unnoticeable. Runs very cool. Battery life starts at about 8 hours of standard non-intensive usage from my experience. Not an especially big fan of the white but overall it feels sleek and it's very light weight. It feels very thin compared to my old laptop too, making it much more portable. In short, it's practical, high value for performance, and reasonably portable.
Cons: The screen quality isn't particularly good but considering the other specs of the computer that's a very minor consideration for me. Speakers are ok but not great. I use headphones but if sound quality is a must, you might just consider getting a set of good speakers with this. Webcam is a non-consideration. My phone has a better camera if that's something you even bother with, but I doubt most will. Windows 8 is kinda gross but I'll be updating it to windows 10 for free (which doesn't void the manufacturer warranty, I checked), and in the mean time I downloaded a start menu app to hold me over. I've been mostly a windows 7 user.
Other Thoughts: I've been using it for school work but some of the work I've been doing either requires the use of multiple screens or a decent amount of processing power and I was pleased to be able to connect an HD screen (1080p) without any major problems. Doing this I was able to notice a very slight but constant flicker but nothing I could see when I wasn't looking at it. I've watched a few HD movies that way with no noticeable problems. Overall it runs smoothly. I personally don't regret this purchase and it's practical for what I need (going to any price range cheaper than this at the time meant a big drop in performance, which may still be worth it for some light users, but not for me).
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 3:29:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS Laptop X550LNV-NB51 Intel Core i5 4210U (1.70GHz) 8GB Memory 750GB HDD NVIDIA GeForce 840M 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Disk Tray Won't Eject
Pros: Can handle streaming video games
Cons: Mic and headset is one port, so you might have to buy an adapter.
Disk tray wont eject after being used only a handful of times.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 1:40:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > DELL > DELL Laptop Latitude E6520 Intel Core i7 2720QM (2.20GHz) 8GB Memory 240GB SSD Intel HD Graphics 3000 15.6" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Works good
Cons: Nasty condition, this unit is used, not refurbished. Two long hairs hanging out of the keyboard and someone ate a lot of cookies over this unit.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 12:51:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > ThinkPad Laptop T420 Intel Core i5 2520M (2.50GHz) 4GB Memory 320GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 3000 14.0" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Awesome buy @$220
Pros: 0 wear on keyboard or touchpad.
Amazingly clean body in near-new condition.
No stripped screws or wear on screw heads.
Bios looked great and was unlocked and updated.
HD is a WD Black?
This is a refurb., thus no other documentation other than the power brick and battery in box. Speaking of battery, this has the extended cell!! bonus! (the one that bumps out the back in an additional cell row). It as well has the keyboard light in the webcam recess. No fingerprint scanner, but all the web connecting bells and whistles are on the motherboard. My model has the wifi w/ 5gh but no BT.
Cons: Now the bad. Wouldn't boot. It tried, hung for 20min and bluescreened.. repeat. No Lenovo or Thinkpad recovery options. No alternatives available on the drive.
Pulled out my handy windows recovery USB and booted that. No recovery found. Unknown Boot problem.
Restarted off a linux diagnostic USB. HD has 10 bad sectors and increases every attempt to access. Bad boot sector and damaged partition table. Un mountable due to filesystem and partition errors.
Looked over the box it came in and noticed that I missed the crush damaged corner and directional tear... shipper threw it. I am not familiar with OnTrac, but a low level format and manually rebuilding the boot sector has enabled me to install linux and test the rest of the device. Will need to buy a new drive due to incompetence.
Other Thoughts: If the drive was wiped in the refurb process, as in appropriate, it should have been working just fine. A few bad sectors is one thing, but you cannot miss a bad boot sector or that the thing will not boot. (newegg is usually a lot better than that). Getting a refurb is like a used car. Always a chance the dice will roll snake eyes. Now out a windows os and a hard drive. Doesn't mean I put the dice away.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 12:28:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer Laptop Aspire E5-573G-75B3 Intel Core i7 5500U (2.40GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce 940M 15.6" Windows 8.1

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 A reasonable compromise
Pros: I bought this as a value/gaming compromise: something that I can game when im on the road, without breaking the bank. I have been able to run Tomb Raider 2013 on all medium settings with a very acceptable frame rate. If you dont care about having Ultra Graphics on cutting edge games, this will suffice for a few years
Keyboard has a nice feel
Cons: Trackpad is awful. Has a tendency to lose detection on my finger if it is on there for too long, which is common when surfing the web. Speakers are also a bit wimpy.
Other Thoughts: I wish I had this computer when I went to college.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 11:20:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS Laptop X555LB-NS71 Intel Core i7 5500U (2.40GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce 940M 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little computer
Pros: Vid card has plenty of power to power an extra monitor and other graphic intense applications, starts up real fast with 7200 rpm harddrive, decent amount of ram, fast i7 cpu, usb 3.0 ports and an optical drive for those of us who still need one. Very clear 1080p matte screen as well.
Cons: Screen doesn't have the best clarity, but it's matte and not glossy finish. Combo mic and headset jack. No touchscreen, if you even need one with Windows 10 coming out. Keyboard feels "narrow" on right side and like the other reviews, the trackpad is poor at tracking and clicking.
Other Thoughts: Honestly, with a computer in this price range everyone needs to ask: What am I willing to give up and what do I need? If you want a zippy computer with lots of power, this is the one for you. That's especially true if you'll be using an ergonomic mouse and keyboard with it.

One quirk I had that you should know about as well. I have a coolermaster laptop cooling pad under mine. When it was plugged into the USB 2.0 port on the right side, along with headphones, I had significant interference noise in my headphones. When I moved the fan plug to the left side, I heard everything crystal clear again.

I also have a Logitech wireless mouse plugged into that USB 2.0 port on the right side, and it causes no interference whatsoever with the headphones. There must be something about the fan and I'm not sure what. So just be aware of your arrangement when using this pc and you'll be fine!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 11:14:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > DELL > Dell Precision M4600 [Microsoft Authorized Recertified] 15.6” Notebook with Intel Core i7-2820QM Quad Core 2.3Ghz, 8GB RAM, 320GB HDD, DVDRW, HDMI Out, Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent product
Pros: I have been using this laptop for several months now and I am quite satisfied with its performance. It looks good and does everything I want it to do. I am not a techie so cannot tell you a lot about specifications. I will just say that the unit arrived looking like new and performing just as i expected. I would buy another one if I needed it.
Cons: This unit is fairly heavy so doesn't travel well.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 7:11:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP Laptop 350 G1 (G4S61UT#ABA) Intel Core i3 4005U (1.7GHz) 4GB Memory 500GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 4400 15.6" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do Not Waste Your Money
Pros: None
Cons: The Bluetooth issues noted in other reviews are accurate. I made multiple attempts to install the proper software to remedy, to no avail. Not only is the wireless pitifully slow, so is essentially every other function of this laptop. Without question my WORST electronic purchase EVER.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 6:55:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.