Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS Laptop VivoBook X556UQ-NB51 Intel Core i5 6200U (2.30 GHz) 8 GB Memory 512 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce 940MX 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Laptop, good price
Pros: Solid state drive,
940mx discreet graphics card,
i5 processor.
I really like the keyboard too (my last laptop had a weak keyboard and made typing a chore because I had to press certain keys more then once to get them to respond)
Cons: Only expandable to 12 GB of ram.
sometimes the video drivers can be a bit finicky (see other comments below)
As soon as I turned the machine on windows 10 Anniversary edition downloaded and installed and caused some issues with the graphics drivers and certain games but this is not the fault of asus or newegg. It turns out it is a Microsoft issue (figures).
Other Thoughts: - If you update the intel and nvidia drivers from outside the asus driver support page for this device, you risk complications with sound no longer working through the HDMI port. Once I uninstalled the video driver updates I downloaded from intel and nvidia and reinstalled the ASUS drivers from their website, all HDMI audio issues were resolved.
-I would recommend this product based upon the performance of the machine.
- I do recommend installing an extra 4 gigs of RAM as soon as possible.
- *My laptop did come with 1 small bright spot on the screen and since I have been using it for the past week that 1 bright spot has multiplied to 4. No one touches the laptop except me, and the machine sits on a desk no one touches the screen, so there must be a defect in the screen. I have been approved for an RMA and will be dropping the laptop off at Newegg Will-call this monday to get the issue taken care of. I will see how the issue is handled and if the screen can be repaired or if I am given a replacement laptop which does not have the same issue with the screen, I will be a happy camper. If you are looking for a quick laptop with decent 3d capabilities without spending too much money, this computer is for you.

**UPDATE** I sent my laptop in on monday, Newegg received it on Tuesday, inspected the package on Wednesday, approved my RMA and prepared my package on Thursday, and delivered the package to my house on Friday (Today). Way to go Newegg. This is has been the most expedient and expedited RMA process that I have experienced to date. As far as the laptop, it is absolutely perfect. Free from defects as far as I can tell so far. If I could give more than five eggs I would. ASUS and Newegg make a great combination!
Reviewed By:Joshua W.,9/30/2016 3:17:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS Laptop X555DA-AS11 AMD A10-Series A10-8700P (1.80 GHz) 8 GB Memory 256 GB SSD AMD Radeon R5 Series 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It shut down by itself and i can't turn it on. Can't even remove battery to hard reset
Pros: none
Cons: Can't remove battery
mouse pad feels cheaply made and is making noises
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your time buying and returning this.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,


Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your product. Please refer to your seller for an exchange otherwise I will be happy to be of assistance. Just provide me with a detailed description of your issue so we can better collaborate for a solution. My email is cl-tom@asus.com and our 24/7 support line is posted below. Have a great day!


Thank you for choosing ASUS
Best Regards,
Tom
Asus Customer Loyalty US Support
http://www.asus.com/us/support/CallUs

Reviewed By:Ali O.,9/30/2016 2:30:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > DELL > DELL Laptop E6430 Intel Core i5 2.60 GHz 8 GB Memory 320 GB HDD Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great laptop that won't boot
Pros: Looks like new. Fast. Solid feel.
Cons: Bios reports battery as "end of life". Windows won't boot even to safe mode.
Other Thoughts: Cosmetically the laptop is flawless. Two cons:
- bios test reports battery as "end if life", which is not unexpected. The battery lasts for about 2 hours of intensive use (installing updates).
- as arrived, windows wouldn't boot at all. Restoring from the backup partition also didn't help. Luckily I had a copy of windows 7 with some unused installs around, so clan install was possible. Windows install worked like a charm, so now the computer runs great.

Bottom line: make sure you have OS installer when you order it .
Reviewed By:Stanislav V.,9/30/2016 9:56:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Laptop NP900X3L-K06US Intel Core i5 6200U (2.30 GHz) 8 GB Memory 256 GB SSD Intel HD Graphics 520 13.3" Windows 10 Home

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Top Lightweight Notebook
Pros: When my Sony VAIO Laptop began to wear out, I took a few months to shop for its replacement. I'm a professional software developer, so making the right selection was a non-trivial matter. My primary criteria were 1) speed, 2) screen quality and resolution, 3) size, weight and ergonomics, and last but not least 4) a backlit keyboard. I am willing to pay for quality but hate to waste my money, so price was also significant. After evaluating at least a fifty different models from many vendors, I finally settled on the Samsung 13" Notebook 9. I checked prices on the Internet and discovered that only $3 separated the high and low prices. Going with Newegg was a no-brainer as I've never had a negative experience in the many years I've done business with them. As I've used the notebook for three days now, I have to say it's the best I've owned and I'm fully satisfied on all counts. Samsung's reputation for quality electronics leads me to assume that the notebook will give years of service.

UPDATED after 2 1/2 months use. This notebook is even better than I expected it to be. Not only does Samsung not ship with bloatware, but the Samsung utilities and update process work flawlessly. I'm extremely happy with the purchase and would recommend this notebook to my friends.
Cons: They only negative comment I might have is that the RAM is soldered to the motherboard and is therefore not up-gradable. I was aware of this fact before purchase and the on-board RAM is more than adequate for my purposes.
Other Thoughts: Those at work who have seen my new notebook have been duly impressed. It is easily the lightest computer I've owned and the 13.3" 1920x1080 screen is a thing of beauty. We're primarily a Macintosh shop and there were many comments about it being at least as good as a MacBook Air for $600 less. All that and no bloatware.
Reviewed By:William D.,9/30/2016 9:16:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > Apple > Apple MacBook MacBook Air MC965LL/A-R Intel Core i5 1.70 GHz 4 GB Memory 128GB SSD HDD Intel HD Graphics 3000 13.3" Mac OS X v10.7 Lion

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product!!!
Pros: Great condition! Like New. Price is fare.
Cons: NONE
Reviewed By:Oleksiy B.,9/30/2016 8:10:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer Laptop Aspire S 13 S5-371-52JR Intel Core i5 6200U (2.30 GHz) 8 GB Memory 256 GB SSD Intel HD Graphics 520 13.3" Windows 10 Home

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Awful laptop. Barely functional
Pros: It's a laptop. It is highly portable if you don't plan on using it.
It's small and lightweight.
Works best when off.
Cons: After three months of use I've run into the following issues:

-Battery life is about half an hour
-Fans are incredibly loud even when the computer is under minimal load. It sounds like the computer in whining about being used. Quite embarrassing when using it in a quiet room with others.
-Smartfinish technology lets me know when I'm done using my laptop with a BSOD every time I use it.
-Acer Bloatware
-Microsoft Office Key that I purchased does not work


Other Thoughts: I have been using this computer for general use for three months and have encountered the problems listed above. Fairly unhappy with this purchase. I travel a lot and was hoping to have a lightweight laptop I could use for light work (Excel, Word) when not at home. That is not happening.
This is my last time buying anything from Acer or Newegg. This thing is useless.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/29/2016 11:51:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Laptop ThinkPad E560 (20EV002JUS) Intel Core i7 6500U (2.50 GHz) 8 GB Memory 500 GB HDD AMD Radeon R7 M370 15.6" Pre-install Windows 7 Professional with right to upgrade to Windows 10 Pro

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Purchased to use with linux
Pros: -Highly compatible
-Easily upgradable
-No bloatware
-Windows 7 preloaded, but can go online to get Windows 10 or have it shipped on a USB drive
-No silly gimmicks or gadgets
-Dedicated GPU
-USB 3.0 ports all around with one being a charging USB port
Cons: -Feels cheap compared to some higher end laptops
-Battery life is average at best
-Keyboard is a little awkward
-Display is below average, but sufficient
Other Thoughts: I picked this up because it was in my price range and almost exactly what I was looking for. Primarily, I needed a laptop that was highly compatible with all distros of Linux, including TAILS. I'm happy to report that it is. So far, I haven't had any problems with Kali or Ubuntu and TAILS 2.6 loads without any startup modifications! Also, 8GB of RAM was a little weak so I upgraded it to 16GB with a single 8GB DDR3 1600 PC-12800 module from G.Skill that matched the timings, which by the way, are 11-11-11-28 1T. Not satisfied with a mechanical hard drive, I opted to upgrade to a Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD. Works great in this ThinkPad. For only about $200 I upgraded this laptop to a $1200-1400 price range equivalent. xD

Oh and ordering the USB drive with Windows 10 was simple. Lenovo has a pamphlet inside on how to do it. Basically you go to a website, create an account, input your serial number and they'll mail you a free USB drive preloaded with Windows 10 via UPS. Shipping time is about 2 weeks. Or you can opt for a download of Windows 10 to your hard drive. I opted for the USB drive.
Reviewed By:Jesse S.,9/29/2016 9:03:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP Laptop 250 G5 (Y1V09UT#ABA) Intel Core i3 5005U (2.0 GHz) 4 GB Memory 128 GB SSD Intel HD Graphics 5500 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good deal
Pros: Good price and has these features: USB 3 port, SATA 6Gbs, HDMI port, Gigabit Lan, 802.11ac wireless, DDR3 and a 128GB Samsung SSD. Smaller than my od HP laptop but not as small as a notebook. The battery ran for 7 hrs before needing a recharge. The notebook weighs 4-1/4 lbs.
Cons: The single USB 3 port is not blue in color and looks no different than the USB 2 port next to it. Tho, the letters SS for Super Speed are below the USB symbol for the USB 3 port. Not enough to deduct an egg.
Other Thoughts: If you want to enter the bios, keep tapping the F2 key after you press the power button. The touch pad on/off config is in Settings. Go to the mouse page and click around there. Touch Point is bloatware and has nothing to do with the touch pad. Price and performance-wise, I'm pleased with this HP laptop. Follow up: No warning that the SSD is the m.2 form factor. Wished that I knew that before I purchased a 480 gig sata SSD.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/29/2016 8:14:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP Laptop 6910p-W7H Intel Core 2 Duo 1.80GHz 2 GB Memory 100 GB HDD 14.0" Windows 7 Home Premium 18 Months Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Laptop
Pros: Liked the price
Cons: Had problems with computer crashing.
Other Thoughts: The Seller was extremely helpful in rectifying a concern.
Reviewed By:Doreen S.,9/29/2016 8:03:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer Laptop Aspire R 14 R5-471T-71W2 Intel Core i7 6500U (2.50 GHz) 8 GB Memory 512 GB SSD Intel HD Graphics 520 14.0" Touchscreen Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Happy with the buy
Pros: >Boots up and works very fast, especially for non-gaming (wakes up from hibernation in under 5 seconds)
>Looks new - didn't find even a small scratch
>An OK battery - lasts about 4-5 hours for non-gaming related things
>Convenient form for carrying in a back with books (also very light, for me anyways)
>Can be reverted to WIN7 through downgrade rights
Cons: >Took a while to set up (lots of bloatware)
>The only thing upgradable is the SSD which tbh is already good enough for what I need. Wanted to get more RAM for the machine so that I can run a VM, but apparently this laptop cannot get RAM upgrades.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/29/2016 5:44:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.