Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP Chromebook 14 G3 14" LED Chromebook - NVIDIA Tegra K1 2.30 GHz

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Black Screen driving my wife nuts
Pros: Super fast, goes anywhere I need to go and seemingly zero upkeep on the machine. I can't see how we can have her slow down...
Cons: Black Screen of death comes after every time you close it, having to hard reset every time you close the lid is a pain. I will be contacting HP support after trying all of the steps listed online to resolve the problem...

If that is fixed I will edit my review.

Shipping took longer than estimated as well, which was frustrating.
Other Thoughts: Love everything about it, from the weight and feel to the performance, but this one issue in the mechanics of it have robbed this great opportunity to really thoroughly enjoy it from us...
Reviewed By:N/A,9/3/2015 7:30:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP Laptop 15-F111DX (J9H11UAR#ABA) AMD A-Series A8-6410 (2.00GHz) 8GB Memory 750GB HDD AMD Radeon HD 8210 15.6" Touchscreen Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Nicely presented laptop even though refurbished it looks flawless
Cons: when i turn it on it goes through an automatic repair boot loop and will not get out of it. Tried F11 for system recovery but just freezes at light blue screen...
Other Thoughts: very annoyed, I've purchased all my computer / components from newegg and now this happens... i get a laptop that doesn't work. Now i have to figure out how to get this thing to boot.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/2/2015 8:53:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Laptop G50 (80E301GUUS) AMD A-Series A8-6410 (2.00GHz) 4GB Memory 500GB HDD AMD Radeon R5 Series 15.6" Windows 8.1

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Bloated, but cheap
Pros: Great deal. The massive amount of bloatware is to thank for that though. It's not too big of an issue, I plan on doing a fresh install, not upgrade, of Windows 10. For a lower resolution display, it looks nice and crisp. The keyboard is easy to type on, but does take some getting used to. Will update the review when my extra 4GB of RAM arrives.
Cons: The keyboard feels flimsy in the middle. It bows when you type on it. Not sure what tons of use will do to it.

BLOATWARE GALORE...this makes it cheap, but it also gives me a massive headache. Fresh install should wipe the bloatware, upgrade will not.

4GB of RAM is okay for some things, but I bought 4GB of additional RAM for added umph.

Will be installing a 500GB SSD in the near future. 5400 rpm HDD tends to be sluggish and I'm so used to my 4 second boot time on my desktop PC.
Other Thoughts: Will update my review, with more eggs if deserving, after the Windows 10 installation and RAM install.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/2/2015 4:07:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkPad T400 14" Notebook with Intel Core 2 Duo 2.20Ghz, 2GB RAM, 160GB HDD, DVD-CDRW, Windows 7 Professional 32 Bit + MS Office 365 30 Day Trial (Pre-Installed) 18-month warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Unit. Really this cheap???
Pros: Blew my mind, really, to find a laptop that was virtually top of the line like 5 years ago for 100 bones after rebate. Really amazing, frankly. Came in really excellent conditions.
Cons: Probably the only downsides here are 2GB ram and the classic platter hard drive. But, and I'll reiterate here: $100! That's insane! The operating system costs more than that!
Reviewed By:N/A,9/2/2015 2:47:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer Aspire ES1-111M-C40S Notebook Intel Celeron N2840 (2.16GHz) 2GB Memory 32GB Internal Storage Intel HD Graphics 11.6" Windows 8.1 with Bing

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 worth the price, a good bargain
Pros: Boots quickly, good sound and screen quality. Keyboard has a nice tactile click to each key and fits average-sized hands comfortably. Touchpad is adequately responsive.
Cons: Quite a bit of bloatware but it's easily removed.
Other Thoughts: Reasonably solid construction; can be dropped from a standing height onto a wood floor and still function with no problems - not recommended, it was an accident.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/2/2015 11:31:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer Laptop Aspire E5-573G-56RG Intel Core i5 5200U (2.20GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce 940M 15.6" Windows 10 Home

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very bad exoerience
Pros: Low price, big screen
Cons: The thing looks plastic as plastic can be. The color of dark grey makes it no better than a shabby plastic toy. The keys are very thin and very fragile, looks cheap and feel cheap, too.
Other Thoughts: I got the laptop this noon and spent quite some time on installing software I need and copied a lot of files into the new laptop. The thing is so plastic and I just felt the keyboard very uncomfortable, very thin and very fragile. Tragedy came just after I finished the whole afternoon's job. The key "Z" fell out!!! I was unable to install it back and would rather not have it even if the key can be restored. I lost the confidence in Acer laptop and do not want to use this thing with such worries always pressing on me.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 10:10:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS Notebook (B Grade: Scratch and Dent) ASQ550LF-BBI7T07-B Intel Core i7 4500U (1.80GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GT 745M 15.6" Touchscreen Windows 8 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great dEal that never happened
Pros: Nice specs for a desktop replacement
Cons: It never came. I ordered, paid for 3 day shipping, paid for faster processing and what arrived was something totally different. TOTALLY! I feel ripped off, it was not a ROG laptop, hell it was even a 17" laptop. It was some 15.6 inch touch screen gimmick that I did not order. I call talked to customer service and they tell me that the item is now out of stock and it would be up to 10 days after they received their mistake before I could get a refund or if in that time they got another unit they would ship that out to me. Well thank you very much. I get off at 5:30, live in a rural area and the closest UPS is 36 miles and closes at 7:00 pm. There was a Fedex store another 6 miles further away that stayed open until 12 am so I sent it back Fedex and $20.00 out of pocket not to mention the 80 mile round trip . So needless to say I am ground zero hot with Newegg at this time and all spending with them has been suspended until this matter is resolved satisfactory. Thanks for ruining my day with you shenanigans.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 6:22:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > ThinkPad Laptop T430 Intel Core i5 3320M (2.60GHz) 8GB Memory 240GB SSD Intel HD Graphics 4000 14.0" Windows 7 Professional

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Noisy fan
Pros: It's a thinkpad T series
Cons: Bought this laptop to use as backup to Thinkpad T530 I bought 2 years ago.

The fan got really noisy when running software I use for work, multi-tasking, and watching videos.

I tried changing BIOS settings and didn't fix the problem.

Called Newegg and asked for replacement. However, the laptop went out of stock (according to the website sales page) after I sent it back . Unsure if I will get it replaced, credited or refunded.

Customer service was great via online chat - Alex was helpful.

I hope they reserved a laptop when I made my claim for replacement.

Will update.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 5:49:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS Laptop X550ZA-WB11 AMD A-Series A10-7400P (2.50GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD AMD Radeon R6 Series 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Hardware Malfunction
Pros: Nice design. Good spec and performance for the price. While it lasted.
Cons: Unreliable Hard drive. After a week of use my hard drive had 0% free space capacity. The only think i installed was windows office. I brought it to my IT guy and he said the hard drive was bad. Should be an additional $100+ to fix.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 4:32:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Laptop G50 (80E301GUUS) AMD A-Series A8-6410 (2.00GHz) 4GB Memory 500GB HDD AMD Radeon R5 Series 15.6" Windows 8.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Lenovo G50-45
Pros: Great value for the price (<300$). This laptop has lots of features and decent performance - even some light gaming capability. Overall a great value for anyone on a budget.

The construction seems to be good quality, and it comes with name brand components - Samsung memory stick and a Seagate HDD.

It is very easy to replace the memory and hard drive. Simply remove the battery ( no screws, just latches to unlock/pop it out) and unscrew 3 small screws to be able to remove the back cover. The layout is very clean and the memory / HDD are easily accessible. It looks as though the DVD drive would be easy to replace as well as others have mentioned.

Comes with Windows 8.1, but has the free upgrade offer for Windows 10, as well as a free game from AMD.

*Not listed in specs or shown in pictures - another neat feature is that the F keys have functions:
-F1/2/3: Volume up/down/mute
-F4: close window, F5: Refresh page, F6: touch pad on/off
-F7: airplane mode, F8: app switcher (alt-tab)
F9: screen off/on, F10: display settings (multi monitor, screen cast)
F11/F12: brightness up/down

-Additionally there are 2 LEDs on the front - for power (solid when on, flashes in sleep mode) and battery charging indication.

Tested all the features of the laptop and everything works fine - USB 2.0, 3.0, DVD drive, WiFi, Bluetooth, HDMI/VGA, SD card reader, headphone jack, touch pad/keyboard, Ethernet.

This laptop can support an external monitor via the HDMI and VGA outputs (tried 2 external monitors at once - only could use 1 at a time, either HDMI or VGA).
Cons: These are mainly minor cons, especially if you will be replacing the HDD with a solid state drive (and upgrading the memory, preferably).

Bloatware - this laptop is packed with bloatware, to the point that if used as shipped it will be quite sluggish, combined with the 5400 RPM hard drive.

The memory is 4GB DDR3L 1600 and single channel - the APU supports up to 8GB DDR3L 1866. Additionally 1GB is reserved by the graphics unit so only 3GB is usable.

Windows 8.1 - I didn't enjoy using Windows 8.1. It might have been better if this laptop had a touch screen.

All of these cons can be resolved however if you are replacing the HDD and upgrading to Windows 10 - or at least clean installing Windows 8.1 / other OS.
Other Thoughts: I installed 8GB of DDR3L 1866 memory as other reviewers had suggested (The G.Skill 2x4GB kit) and a SSD (Crucial MX200 250GB). These upgrades make the laptop much speedier than how it comes stock.

*-Windows 10 - for anyone wondering if you can do a clean install of the free Windows 10 upgrade -*

What I did:

Powered on laptop and installed all important/recommended windows updates, got the reserve Windows 10 icon and reserved the copy.

(Could not download Windows 10 from the menu) - Downloaded the Windows 10 media creation tool from Microsoft and made a boot able USB flash drive, inserted into laptop and ran the upgrade tool, selected option not to keep any applications/settings (gets rid of the bloatware).

After Windows 10 installed - verify that it is activated (with an internet connection - key shows up under system info screen)

Perform hardware upgrades

Do clean install of Windows 10 on new SSD, check that it is still activated ( key is activated, slightly changed from hardware changes)

*- Linux -*
To boot from other operating systems go into the BIOS (press in the small key next to power port) and change boot mode from UEFI to legacy support.

I was able to install Linux Mint 17.2 in a dual boot configuration with Windows 10, everything works fine except for the WiFi:
-All F key functions work
-Goes into/out of sleep mode when opening/closing lid
-Display - get the AMD driver from the drivers menu, or it will run in software mode

The WiFi does not currently work, so I would get a small USB adapter. You may be able to get it to work, but I gave up after a couple hours of troubleshooting it.

-------------------------------------
Overall, I would highly recommend this laptop to anyone on a budget - if they can reinstall operating systems and/or replace the hard drive, or at the very least remove the bloatware.

5/5 stars if upgrading to a SSD, 4/5 if using as shipped as it is still a great value (though I would remove the bloatware).
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 1:50:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.