Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Envy 5530 Up to 8.8 ppm (ISO) / Up to 21 ppm (MAX) Black Print Speed 4800 x 1200 dpi Color Print Quality built-in WiFi HP Thermal Inkjet eAll-in-One Color Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great unit
Pros: Easy setup. had all computers and smart phones connected to the Wi-Fi in no time. No more multiple printers in the house.
Cons: None yet
Reviewed By:todski,7/30/2014 11:32:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP 8620 Up to 21 ppm (ISO) Up to 34 ppm (Draft) Black Print Speed 4800 x 1200 dpi Color Print Quality HP Thermal Inkjet MFP Color Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic, works with no fuss
Pros: For anyone that needs an all-in-one that is simple, works, and easy to use, this thing is great. It meets the listed specs, and does a swell job.

Touchscreen is bright and functional (a bit sensitive as I'll mention later)

Decent ink pricing for this model

Scanner is quick to start

Duplex is a great addition and works well, maybe slows print speed a bit.

Can print from phone, email, ect.

The printer has apps, some of which are kinda useful and add a little something to where ever you put this.

No power block, just a simple cable.

Everything about the setup is quick and easy, touchscreen guides you through when powered on from attachments and ink, to wireless setup.
Cons: Nothing worth dropping an egg over, just a few minor things.

It can be noisy, however for an all-in-one it does the job well for what noise it does make.

Touchscreen will wake without any warning, probably a tad sensitive. Luckily not so sensitive that you'll accidentally start print jobs by bumping it. It starts up at a reasonable pace so I usually leave it off instead of keeping it slept to avoid a random wake up.
Other Thoughts: I feel the software CD is a bit much, probably my 3rd HP printer that has had an excess of bloatware in my opinion. Don't get me wrong, some of the software can be useful, but for me it's just not necessary.

Printer is fairly light for its size, moving it wouldn't be any trouble.

This printer certainly fits the bill for any small office/business work.

I might add another review in addition later as I play with more of its features, was running low on paper when it arrived. So far though I've highly enjoyed it and it looks amazing next to my workstation.
Reviewed By:omega21xx,7/30/2014 7:19:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Officejet Pro X451dn Up to 55 ppm Black Print Speed 2400 x 1200 dpi Color Print Quality InkJet Workgroup Color Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Workgroup Printing
Pros: - High capacity ink cartridges
- Fast on for quick processing
- Wicked printing speed, even duplex
- Integrated LAN for workgroup printing
- No special drivers needed for OSX or Linux, can also use generic HP JetDirect drivers in Windows.

I've been replacing older HP LaserJets in my organization with these printers, and I've received *a lot* of positive feedback from them. I haven't had any maintenance or driver installation problems, the configuration options on the integrated web interface are good, there's AirPrint and ePrint support out of the box, and the performance and feature set can't be beat for the price.
Cons: You should use a decent quality paper with these printers; using generic copier paper will result in some color fades and iffy print quality from time to time, but using inkjet paper you will get solid impressions.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2014 11:01:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP 8630 Up to 21 ppm (ISO) Up to 34 ppm (Draft) Black Print Speed 4800 x 1200 dpi Color Print Quality HP Thermal Inkjet MFP Color Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good printer
Pros: When unboxing this printer, I was surprised to see this printer included a second set of color ink carts and an XL black cart.
Assembly was fairly easy and can be done by one person, only needing to connect about 3 different pieces together. Setup and initialization took about ten to fifteen minutes which mainly consisted of printing a test page and adjusting the heads for optimal printing quality.
The printer features two paper trays, each capable of of holding 250 pages each or 500 pages total. The second tray is optional if you wanted to reduce the height of the unit by about four to five inches. You can put two different kinds of paper into the two trays and switch between them on the fly. The trays come out of the printer for easy loading, and standard paper sizes are already marked so you know where to move the paper size adjusters
The touch screen is very bright and vivid and was easy to use. Responsiveness was high and the menus were well designed and easy to navigate. The touchscreen also rotates out to be able to see it better when looking at it from above, a good touch compared to locked screens of other printers.
The copier is well designed, you can either load a bunch of paper to be copied into the auto feeder in which a sensor will detect it or you can choose to copy the classic way with the scanner bed. It features double sided scanning which has to be done manually and the scanning process was very quiet compared to regular injet all-in-one printers. The scanning process was quick. The scanner bed lid is spring loader when lifted locks into place so you do not have to hold it. Scanning on the printer its self without a computer I was able to go up to 600 dpi using the scanner bed and 300 dpi using the auto load scanner which I could print immediately, send to a computer, or save to a USB drive. Using a computer you can scan up to 1200 dpi.
I hooked the printer up to my network with a wired RJ-45 ethernet cord, it also featured wi-fi support for convenience. I was able to detect the printer with other computers on my network and windows automatically downloaded the drivers and was all set up. My android devices also detected it fine using the PrintHand application.
The fax feature is easy to use and is a very good feature because big box stores charge alot of money to fax even a few pages.An RJ-11 telephone cord was included in the box. I just plugged in a telephone cord and set it to test the fax function and was able to connect and print the test fax page.
The ink carts are very easy to load and are spring loaded compared to other printers. The touchscreen has a shortcut for to check ink levels so you do not have to navigate through menus to check it.
Printing like scanning is very quiet and was fairly quick.
Overall very satisfied with the features and usage.
Cons: The only real big cons for this printer is the size and weight. It takes up alot of desk space even without the second paper loader deck compared to regular home inkjet printers so make sure you have sufficient room before purchase.
The weight is another issue, by its self with the second paper loader the printer weighs about 35 pounds. Fully loaded with 500 sheets (one ream of printer paper) of paper bumps the weight up to around 40 pounds.
Sleep mode for some reason did not seem like it was working to me. I had set it to sleep after 5 minutes of inactivity but the screen remains on. It might be just a software related issue a firmware update could solve.
The instruction manual included which was more of a quick start guide was lacking at best being only a few pages long. I was surprised a full size instruction manual was not included with a high end product like this.
A usb cable and ethernet cable could have been included in the box.
Other Thoughts: This printer is probably best geared for home, small to medium sized businesses, for regular home use it you might want to look for something a bit smaller unless you print alot of stuff.
I also investigated a claim by another reviewer that the printer will only scan 300 dpi. Using the built in "Windows Fax and Scan" software I was able to scan 1200 dpi just fine. So it might be a software problem on their end. Using only the printer alone you can go up to 600 dpi for the scanner bed and 300 dpi for the auto feeder.
The printer came with software on a CD but I recommend downloading the latest version on HP's website instead.
As far as ink goes, I recommend remanufactured carts over brand new carts. Three full sets of the remanufactured XL carts (12 carts) costs only $35 verses buying the same number of XL carts brand new original costs over $365. So you can see the real savings here. Remanufactured carts will not mess up your printer heads or printer in any way despite what companies will lead you to believe.
Reviewed By:Joe88,7/29/2014 10:21:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP 8620 Up to 21 ppm (ISO) Up to 34 ppm (Draft) Black Print Speed 4800 x 1200 dpi Color Print Quality HP Thermal Inkjet MFP Color Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I've been waiting for this for a long time
Pros: I've entered the wireless printer/scanner combo foray numerous times, most recently with the Canon Pixma MX892, and I have always come away disheartened and, usually, angry. I don't know why it's so hard, to be honest, but apparently it is, because I've never been happy. Fortunately, I can say that just about all of that has changed with this new entry into my life. This baby does what I need it to do, it does it well, and it does it with very, very little fuss or work on my part. Setup was a breeze - Windows 8.1 automatically saw it on the network without any interaction on my part. Pretty neat! AirPrint from my iPad also worked without a hitch or any configuration whatsoever. You can configure the printer the usual way via Windows, but you also have the option of doing it on the printer's own display or via a web-server interface from your computer. I have to say, configuration via the printer-display was very intuitive and instantly responsive to my touches (slow GUI was a miserable failure of other types I’ve tried). Text and image print quality was acceptable for a desktop printer with both regular and photo paper, and it was as speedy as I could want. If you aren’t satisfied with these prints, you’ll need to step up to a large-format (aka expensive) professional photo printer or a professional printing website. A nice bonus - photo prints were edge-to-edge (100% borderless). This is something that I’ve never seen in a laser printer or in most other inkjet printers. The scan quality was better than expected and very quick. You can read the spec-list to see what scan file types are supported, but I’ll pass along that it created JPGs and PDFs equally well to local (usb-port) and network storage. My last experiment (the Canon) required all kinds of funky software installation and tons of fidgeting, something that doesn't pass my "mom" test (i.e. - can my mom do this?). This HP, on the other hand, passed the test and just worked the way you’d think it should. Again, I'm not going to go into all of the features, like HP's Instant Ink service (your printer automatically orders you ink when it's running low), since you can look that stuff up yourself. I'm just here to tell you that everything works with no issues, and that's what you wanted to know, right? I wish someone had told me that with some of the other wireless network printer/scanners that I tried.
Cons: No major cons. A few minor gripes here and in the Other Thoughts section:
• When trying to enable network features, such as remote printing, the printer told me that I'd need to set up the network connection first. The logical next step would be an immediate option to do so, but the printer only dumps you back out on the Home screen to figure out how to do that yourself.
• You can easily set the scanner to email the scans to one specified email address without entering a password or PIN. That will confuse you until you read this next sentence. You can store more than one email address in the system, but it will require you to enter a PIN code (basically a password) whenever you want to email the scan. This is obviously for security reasons, but I do tend to trust my wife not to perform a denial-of-service on my email account. I'd prefer to just be able to store a few email addresses in the printer and select whichever account to use when scanning without having to memorize a password for each.
• When going to "My Apps," the printer has to “check registration” and then connect to HP Connect. "My Apps" are basically just built-in apps that can automatically print out various things for you like daily news stories, free coloring book pages for kids, etc. It'd be nice if the printer just checked on its own every hour or something so that I wasn't (very briefly) inconvenienced when trying to use them.
• It seems like half of the options require the printer to connect to the cloud, and this can sometimes take a few seconds. I assume (but did NOT test and verify) that the printer will still work if offline or if HP's servers are temporarily down, but I don't know what the timeout length is.
• Over the web-browser admin interface, the printer requires HTTPS to manage some settings. Other settings don’t require HTTPS, so you’re constantly switching back and forth between encrypted and not. It’d be nice if they just did HTTP or HTTPS for the entire thing to keep it consistent.
• I couldn't find a way to set default printing options for, say, emailing a print job via HP ePrint. I want everything to print out duplex (two-sided) by default. That's why I have a duplex printer. The system defaults to single-side for ePrint with no way to change to duplex. On the other hand, you can easily choose duplex printing from your computer printer settings when printing from a computer or when using AirPrint.
• The built-in USB port only supports FAT32, not NTFS. This really isn't a big deal, and the printer does say you're using an unsupported formatting type, but it'd be nice if it then asked me if I wanted to format the drive to the appropriate method (with accompanying warning that all files on the USB drive will be deleted, are you sure, etc., etc.).
Other Thoughts: Wrapping up, should you buy this device? If you were me, the answer would be a definitive yes. I’ve spent literally years purchasing and returning these things looking for a pain-free, wireless, AirPrint, usb- and touch-screen-enabled, duplex, ADF, printer-scanner-copier all-in-one combo that doesn’t require me to install any software. This fits the bill. I literally got a huge smile on my face while writing these end comments thinking about all of the countless hours, if not days, that I’ve spent over the years fighting the good fight against bad wireless AIOs.

A few other notes:

• Remember that these companies make some money in the back-end with ink purchases, so be sure to compare the cost of ink cartridges between any models you’re planning on purchasing.
• I could care less about faxing, and I don’t know why companies still include this. Maybe for the older generation. I certainly don’t know a single person under the age of 35 who has plain old telephone service anymore. I’d probably get more use out of some kind of bundled eFax service.
• No easy support link on product page. You can't just go to HP's product page for this and click "Owner Support" to look at embedded links for manuals, drivers, etc. I have to browse and search through half a dozen pages just for the manual. Unacceptable nowadays. Not really a con of the device, just of HP in general.
• You can't disable sleep mode. Sure, it's "Eco" friendly, but according to my P3 Kill A Watt Electricity Load Meter and Monitor (best Newegg stocking stuffer a person can get a loved one), this option dropped the idle power usage to 5 watts from 8 watts. For the extra 3 watts (and $2.10 per year at my going electric rate), I'd rather not wait the extra few seconds for the printer to wake itself up after I submit a print job.
• To use the HP ePrint options (such as emailing a print job to an email address that then forwards it to the printer), you have to have/create a SnapFish account. I know why the option exists, but I’m not sure why it's mandatory.
Reviewed By:Mike,7/29/2014 5:21:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Canon USA > Canon PIXMA MG5520 Black:ESAT (Black): Approx. 12.2 Black Print Speed 4800 x 1200 dpi Color Print Quality Wireless InkJet MFP Color Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pixma MG5520
Pros: Works great wired and wireless easy setup starter ink included.
Cons: Only comes with starter size ink which printed about 30 pages and were empty but better then no ink at all.
Other Thoughts: Good printer for the money, But invest in ink with your purchase.
Reviewed By:Michale K,7/28/2014 7:53:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Epson America > EPSON Expression Premium XP-610 Up to 14 ppm Black Print Speed 5760 x 1440 optimized dpi Color Print Quality InkJet Small-in-One Color Printer

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Lots of features poorly implemented
Pros: Prints CDs, auto-duplex and wireless remotely.
Cons: Actual use is awkard and inconvenient.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those products where you wonder whether the designers actually use it themselves. This prints a wide variety of media but none easily. It has three trays for input but all are stacked in the bottom front and underneath the output tray and raised control panel so that all are hard to access unless printer is a eye level. Even with three trays, the paper tray and the envelope tray are the same, so to print envelopes, you have to remove the tray, take out the paper, put in an envelope,and reinsert the tray, then reverse the procedure when finished. Even worse, the software doesn't allow you to select which tray to print from, there are two options and both are 'automatically select tray(!?!)'. Because all three trays are concentrated together, paper storage is low and thick paper may have trouble doing the full 360 degree bend. One of the trays has a click stop and it's easy to push it in too far, then have to dig it back out. Remote wireless printing from a non-PC is complex, there's no direct print option so you use work-arounds like sending an email to your printer. Mostly, this printer seems designed to satisfy a checklist of features without much though put into how they'd work in practice.
Reviewed By:phlypp,7/28/2014 9:20:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Canon USA > Canon PIXMA MG5520 Black:ESAT (Black): Approx. 12.2 Black Print Speed 4800 x 1200 dpi Color Print Quality Wireless InkJet MFP Color Printer

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very good inexpensive wireless, it just works.
Pros: Low maintenance, does (via wifi) what a printer should do. Does not jam on cheap Staples copy paper (20 lb). Has lit-up display, so it can be understood in poor light without a flashlight or an oil lamp, which was my main complaint about Canon PIXMAs to-date (I also own MX 310 and MX 432).
Cons: It had trouble getting on the network. Rather bulky, no document feeder.
Other Thoughts: As it came for free with the Samsung 4k monitor that was already lower priced here than at Jeff Bezos' Five and Dime Emporium, sweet baby deity, how could I complain.
Reviewed By:mareklug,7/27/2014 5:53:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Brother > Brother MFC-J450dw Up to 33ppm (Fast Mode) Up to 12ppm (ISO/IEC 24734) Black Print Speed InkJet MFP Color Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Printer
Pros: EASY to set up. Worked in just a few minutes WIRELESS. All I did was plug it up to the electrical outlet for power, and followed a few prompt on screen steps and it was up and running.

It also has a free app for your phone and printing from my phone form ANYWHERE is very simple.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: I also found cheap CHEAP, ink cartridges from on the internet. Will not let me link to it though.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2014 5:05:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Brother > Brother MFC-J450dw Up to 33ppm (Fast Mode) Up to 12ppm (ISO/IEC 24734) Black Print Speed InkJet MFP Color Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after five months
Pros: Worked fine for first five months.
Cons: Died after five months. Still under warranty, so will update if I can get it replaced or repaired.
Reviewed By:C,7/27/2014 3:28:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau