Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Drives > Quantum > Quantum TC-L42AX-EY-B Black 1.6TB Internal Ultra 320 SCSI Interface LTO Ultrium 4 Tape Drive, Half Height, Model B, Internal Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Saved our bacon
Pros: It just works, it's fast, easy to use and it's been super reliable so far.
Cons: I was going to put price, but I guess it just depends on what your data is worth.
Other Thoughts: I'm in charge of, among other things a 40TB storage array for a local government project. My predecessor didn't really believe in backups, so the first thing I did when I was hired was to buy a pair of these drives for running the daily and weekly backups. That was about a year ago. This week, we had what would commonly be referred to as a catastrophic failure, a fitting on a 2" water line rusted through and leaked hundreds of gallons of water into the ceiling of the machine room. All of the drives hooked up to one of the power supplies in the storage array were dead, and I was a little worried about powering the other ones on. Thanks to these drives and my backup procedures we were back up and running in no time.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/18/2016 6:27:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Drives > Quantum > Quantum MR032-A01A External USB 2.0 / eSATA Interface RDX Cartridge Hard Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Only Lasted a Couple Months
Pros: Fast ship.
Cons: After only a couple months of use, both cartridges are corrupt. Our system flagged them both as having errors yet none were found upon scanning. Unable to rely on information being properly stored to these. Even a second, professional opinion confirmed this. We purchased another brand and those have been working great so we know it's not our system.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/20/2015 10:13:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Drives > Quantum > Quantum TC-L52AN-EZ Black 3TB Internal 6Gb/s SAS Interface LTO Ultrium 5 Half Height Tape Drive w/ SAS HBA Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Tape Backup Kit
Pros: Large native capacity. Excellent hardware data compression. Very fast data transfers. The drive and host bus adapter (HBA) Installed fast and were up and running in about 45 min under Win 7 Pro. Backups are running every other day under Retrospect verson 7.7 and the drive so far has been performing as expected.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: I immediately purchased this drive/HBA kit when I noticed that the price had dropped a whopping 45%. This is kit is installed in my home file server to backup a 4TB RAID 10 system.
Reviewed By:RoadMaster9,3/28/2014 11:48:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Drives > Tandberg Data > Tandberg 3504-LTO Black 1.6TB Internal SAS Interface LTO Ultrium 4 Tape Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Product
Pros: This drive was easy to install and was recognized by Windows Server 2008 without issue. The backup software has no problems utilizing this drive, and it has performed well.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:Alex,10/2/2013 10:01:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Drives > Quantum > Quantum TC-L42AN-EZ-B Black 1.6TB Internal 3Gb/s SAS Interface LTO Ultrium 4 Tape Drive, Half Height, Model B, SAS HBA Bundle

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Tape Drive
Pros: Installed with no problems. In a Windows 7 Pro workstation
Cons: The software only works if you are on a domain, I use this in a work a workgroup. Hard to find tape backup software that does not break the bank, but there are some good one.
Other Thoughts: If you need a tape drive this is a good one and comes with the SAS controller
Reviewed By:OD,8/26/2013 5:45:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Drives > Tandberg Data > Tandberg 3508-LTO Black 800GB Internal Ultra 320 SCSI Interface LTO Ultrium 3 HH Tape Drive Bare

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 superb drive
Pros: Tandberg drives are top quality. Have used them for years. Integrated into Centos server with LSI scsi card with no issues.
Cons: the price
Other Thoughts: This was a very good deal on this drive and I had it quick.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/30/2013 2:50:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Drives > Quantum > Quantum TC-L52AN-EZ Black 3TB Internal 6Gb/s SAS Interface LTO Ultrium 5 Half Height Tape Drive w/ SAS HBA Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No Symantec Backup Software
Pros: Haven't been able to use it yet.
Cons: Pictures show that this product is bundled with Symantec Backup Exec 2010, after trying to trace the missing software Quantum informed me that as of 4/1/2012 this bundle pack no longer includes the Symantec software.
Other Thoughts: Quantum is offering a LTFS software that would mount the drive in windows and give it a drive letter. About to test that feature, and to back up using our older Symantec software that supports LTO-3 but not LTO-5.
Reviewed By:Procat,1/28/2013 1:33:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Drives > Quantum > Quantum TR100-CTDB-S1BA Black External USB 2.0 Interface RDX Hard Drive with Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 High Quality & Durable International Unit
Pros: 1. It has international power adaptors. Specifically, you attach the proper plug into the power unit for the location you're in (as in different outlet types and power ratings). I did not realize this initially but looking at it and the other parts in the box further I realized you attach the plug (more like slide it into) to the power portion (which then has a cable that is attached to the back of the station, if I recall). I seem to remember there was something already attached to it that one must remove first but that may be me remembering wrong.
2. The docking station is durable and nicely built.
3. It includes the docking station, the drive, cables and documentation. I cannot remember what's on the CD (as in anything beyond documentation).
4. I don't like Microsoft and I don't like Apple more so and most certainly do not use their products. This works fine out of the box in Linux distributions as long as you have USB support and the appropriate support in your kernel (or modules loaded for your loaded kernel). Any recent release from any distribution should have the support by default but if not you can still make it work with installing the support you need. See other thoughts though.
5) It's 1TB. I wouldn't mind more than that but even with the prices it's nothing compared to even 1GB in the older days (for those who remember those times).
6) This could be seen as a pro or con depending on who you ask( based on the time I bought this originally (being April/2012) ): The entire package comes with the disk and docking station, cables and everything else needed. It is true the cartridges are expensive but if they're going to be that way, then it's better to have them be no more expensive than the entire system. So although it was $400 at that time (and I see it is now less), the disks themselves were that round that time.
7) The cartridges are also durable.

I'm sure there's more but these are some things that come to my mind at this time.
Cons: 1. As I wrote above the disks are expensive. Depending on your perspective though it can be good or bad. The truth is that backup drives typically have been expensive. When I say backup I do not mean CDs, DVDs or Bluray or similar as those have much smaller capacity and when you take into account daily backups it would be quite expensive (and live file systems on cd/dvd/bd has more risks and as I recall other issues). You do get what you pay for and if you are serious about your data (and you should be) then you should act seriously with it.
2. I do not consider this a con but some might so I am putting it here. Although it would be nice if the cartridge itself is not a hard drive itself it seems it is: indeed, when you slide the disk in to the unit you will see a sata connector. The unit itself is attached to the computer via USB but the cartridge is not. See other comments too.
Other Thoughts: On Linux support: I have used distributions ranging from Linux From Scratch, to Gentoo (and other compiling based distributions) as well as Debian (itself; not derivatives), redhat (and most of its derivatives), and many others. I've also used SunOS/Solaris, FreeBSD, OpenBSD and others. At one point I was working on my own distribution (not rebranding) and although that was fun it is unrealistic for productivity (without a team). My point of all that though is this: I currently use Linux only and the specific distribution I use this on is Fedora (which stays up to date). I also have CentOS here but that uses an iomega REV drive (pretty much same requirements as this). So while I use this unit with Fedora I have not used it on the others. But the kernel isn't the operating system itself so as long as you have usb support (hardware and kernel) and the appropriate modules (or compiled into your kernel) loaded you should be fine. The packages may be named differently on different distributions but they should be available in your distributions software repository.

On the hard drive or not: I admit I would prefer it be more like REV because it's not relying on mechanical parts. But it isn't so do keep that in mind. I have a REV drive and while I like it too I don't see or hear much of them these days and that's why I went here. It is expected too: RDX is a different technology. I am mentioning all this because some times people may or may not get upset, feel they've been misled or whatever else.

If would recommend either of them but like everything, it's not set in stone and you need to research and decide for yourself what works best for you (or for your company).
Reviewed By:coderjunkie,11/6/2012 7:57:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Drives > Quantum > Quantum TC-L52AN-EZ Black 3TB Internal 6Gb/s SAS Interface LTO Ultrium 5 Half Height Tape Drive w/ SAS HBA Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 TONS OF TAPE SPACE
Pros: There isn't a tape that can hold more data than the Ultrium LTO 5 Tape. 1.5TB UNCOMPRESSED! Nice!

If you need an SAS 6Gb/s controller; this kit includes an LSI SAS PCI-ex 8 controller and SAS cable. The card comes with a bracket so that it can also fit in Half Height Case PCI-ex Expansion Slots.

Fits in a Standard Size 5.25 inch drive bay.
Cons: These are just some of my nit picks. If you are ordering this Tape System you are more than likely not a rookie at installing hardware and can probably figure it out anyway.

There is no driver CD\DVD's included for the LSI SAS 9211-4i HBA card "OR" the Quantum LTO 5 Tape Drive. Windows Update will install "A" driver for the LTO Tape Drive after you install the LSI driver, but I wouldn't recommend any Windows Update Drivers as they always seem to be outdated and cause more problems than they solve.

You have to jump through multiple hoops just too fully install all the Software and Drivers. Registration of the Symantec Backup Exec 2010 software is required for you to receive the "Installation Serial" by email. The email is immediately sent after the registration process though.
Other Thoughts: LSI SAS 9211-4i HBA SAS Controller Drivers:

http://www.lsi.com/channel/products/storagecomponents/Pages/LSISAS9211-4i.aspx

Quantum LTO 5 Half High Tape Drive Drivers:

http://www.quantum.com/ServiceandSupport/SoftwareandDocumentationDownloads/LTO-5HH/Index.aspx

Symantec Backup Exec Registration to Receive "your" Serial:

http://prodreg.quantum.treehousei.com/login.aspx
Reviewed By:SoLiD,5/2/2012 8:18:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Drives > Quantum > Quantum BC-RAXDX-EY Black 1.6TB 2U Rackmount Ultra2 SCSI LVD Interface DLT-S4 Tape Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wow!!!
Pros: I bought 3 of these, because they where so cheap!
Cons: 1. My computer is so fast, its hard for me to control my mouse!

2. My installed copy of call of duty only runs at 3 fps, but i have an i7, what am i doing wrong?

3. I just wish they where more expensive, because i feel like I'm ripping them off.
Other Thoughts: Why doesn't everyone buy these?
Reviewed By:Captain Hindsight,3/11/2012 7:44:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.