Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDTC-2US HDHomeRun Extend 2-Tuner ATSC DLNA/UPnP HD Compatible Streaming Media Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent product
Pros: all good... I have 3 windows PCs with Windows Media Center all sharing the two tuners.
Cons: nothing bad... it does what it claims to do
Reviewed By:N/A,2/25/2015 7:40:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Ceton > Ceton InfiniTV 6 ETH – Six-Tuner CableCARD Ethernet Network Tuner for Win7 and Win8 PC 5504-DCT06EX-ETH

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Disappointing
Pros: 6 Tuners in one box. Works over Ethernet.
Cons: Poor quality. Runs very hot.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this device to replace two SD Homerun Primes. I wanted to consolidate all my tuners on to one device. The setup was easy and getting the CableCard paired with the device was painless. WMC saw the tuners and added it to the setup. I was able to watch live TV for 15 minutes then it stopped. The device reinitialize itself and the LED was constantly flash blue then red and blue again. I contacted Cox, and had them double check make sure IDs are correct on their end. They indicated that they have the correct IDs. After 30 minutes of troubleshooting, I went back to the SD devices and it works perfectly. This is the second Ceton device I've puchased. The first was the Echo media extender and it was horrible. After this experience, I'm writing off Ceton. Big kudos to NewEgg. The RMA was painless.
Reviewed By:PsiReaper,2/25/2015 5:59:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDTC-2US HDHomeRun Extend 2-Tuner ATSC DLNA/UPnP HD Compatible Streaming Media Player

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Just OK, passes surround
Pros: This rating is based on 20141210 firmware and software.

2 tuners via home network.
Adjustable compression level per device(not per channel)
All based on a 1080i input, with Dolby Digital audio output.
Native is full bandwidth. peaks at 20mbit. averages 15mbit
Heavy down converts to 720p. Less than 10mbit.
Mobile further compresses. averages 4mbit.

Does not affect audio on any setting. That gives it 2 eggs in my book.
Cons: Default compression level is applied to all channels. Some of the weather and oldies should be left Native. Even in native I am seeing 2mbit on busy scenes.
New software fails short badly. Either it works, or it doesn't. Tech support is aware, but no word on if they even care. I've tried to ask for help in Forum and directly.
Supposedly VLC Player is their work around. But even that gives me issues.
Other Thoughts: With the previous firmware and software life was great. The software was simple, and I used another website for TV guide info. The new software tries to tie in TV guide data into a new view program. Their forum is full of disgruntled users. Only work around it to install software 20140604. Current firmware seems OK with the old software, and probably preferable if there are system fixes.
Reviewed By:WJC3USA,2/24/2015 10:17:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Google > Google Chromecast HDMI Streaming Media Player (H2G2-42)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 After owning it for several months, I have to change my review
Pros: Worked well
Cons: The HDMI connector broke after just 3 months. During this time the device was plugged into my receiver in my home theater setup. I can see no reason why such an undemanding location would end in a broken device.
Other Thoughts: The device was brilliant - while it lasted. But I give it 1 egg, because lasting only 3 months is simply unacceptable. Furthermore, I've found myself unable to contact Google for a warranty replacement in any way - I will keep looking, but if this is the case then this will be the last Google-manufactured product I buy for awhile.
Reviewed By:RedSocks157,2/24/2015 4:11:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Tablo > Tablo SPVR2-01-NA Digital Video Recorder

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buyer Beware
Pros: Does over-the-air recording and you can playback from anywhere.
Cons: Extremely buggy equipment. I am now purchasing my third hard drive because the company keeps telling me the hard drive I have is the problem. If I continue to have problems after this hard drive, I will dispose of the Tablo.
Other Thoughts: I purchased the Tablo directly from the company in September 2014. I was a huge supporter of the product. Unfortunately I have had numerous issues with the device and have lost all of my recordings numerous times. The latest problem I am having is the device indicates that I have poor reception when I try to tune into a channel. It will not record or show live TV. When I disconnect the hard drive, live TV will display. This has been a recurring problem. So far the only fix I have found is factory resetting the system, which causes the system to reformat the hard drive and I lose all of the recordings. Tablo support wants to blame the hard drive, despite the fact that the drive meets the criteria on their web site and the hard drive will play recordings without any problem. If you buy this product, be prepared for the frustration that comes with very immature products.
Reviewed By:Chris,2/23/2015 12:49:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > ASUS > Google Nexus Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great
Pros: can cast, CEC, easy remote, good recommendations, pairs well with my MOGA controller. real easy choice.
Cons: not as price competitive as a roku
Reviewed By:N/A,2/22/2015 10:20:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > AVerMedia > AVerMedia C875 (Live Gamer Portable) Video Device

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does everything quickly
Pros: No input lag (much less than 1 frame)
Great quality video from it
Does everything as advertised
Requires very little power to do a lot
Cons: Default recording software is awful
Other Thoughts: Updated it to the latest firmware the first day I had it
Haven't had it for too long, but it's been really great so far
Reviewed By:Vorde,2/22/2015 7:25:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Hauppauge > Hauppauge 23040 TV Tuner Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 it is the whole package
Pros: I was buying this for a media PC, as a second tuner ..So I didn't care if I got the remote , I just needed the board.. anyhow to my surprise I got the whole retail package .. from the description I thought I would just get the board .. it is not a windows media player remote .so that could be important to some people.. but it included cables and everything
Cons: not a windows media remote..but it does the job
Other Thoughts: IIRC the this had to pay for shipping, but was less that the one with free shipping ..so some times it is cheaper to pay for shipping
Reviewed By:paulmac9,2/22/2015 5:46:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Hauppauge > Hauppauge WinTV HVR-1250(HVR-1265) Hybrid TV Tuner w/ Video Recorder PCI-E x 1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Easy installation. works well. easy to understand instructions. allows me to watch tv from my computer so thats cool.
Cons: software can be a little tricky to understand. they use industry lingo for the different encoding, and I understand why they use them but can be confusing for most consumers.
Other Thoughts: well designed card and appears to work really well once set up.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/21/2015 4:40:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDHR3-CC HDHomeRun PRIME - Three Digital Tuners, Anywhere on Your Network

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SiliconDust HDHR3-CC HDHomeRun PRIME
Pros: It just works. Working with Ch@rter Cable, no problem. Eliminates the need to rent costly tuner boxes and DVR boxes. Includes three tuners.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I did a lot of research before I purchased the HomeRun Prime. Went to the local cable office and picked up the cable card. $2.50 per month rental for the card. Hooked everything up myself. And low and behold it has worked flawlessly for three months now.
A few things to be aware of though. You will need a dedicated a PC running Windows Media Center, or some other OS such as Linux with XBMC. A sizable HDD is recommended for the DVR feature.
To get this to other TV's in my home I am using XBOX 360's Media Center Extender feature. I have a pretty stout WiFi and have not had any problems streaming TV over it. I understand some people have to hard wire all there extenders. I use Gigabit router and switch with AC 1900 WiFi with no problems. There are other types of hardware and software that will work for the HomeRun Prime. Just do your research to determine what is best for you.There are a couple of really informative videos out there to get you headed in the right direction. Take your time and set it up right and this will work well for you.
Reviewed By:Bobby C.,2/20/2015 7:54:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.