Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Hauppauge > Hauppauge Colossus - Record your high definition video gameplay and TV programs by H.264 for resolution up to 1080i, PCI-Express x1 Interface

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great capture card, but large in size ...
Pros: Had used ATI's video capture hardware for years and thought I would try out Haupp's Colossus capture card. I liked having the choice of composite / component / hdmi connection options. The software works well with the card and captures in 1080i as advertised. Make sure you have plenty of HD space to capture files in HD. Had for +6 months now and use it daily for capturing tv shows for the family. Windows 7 runs it great and never had to reboot for a lost signal or the card disappearing from the device manager (unlike some of the older ATI cards.) Software works well multi-tasking as well.

Update Aug 2016
Have been running this software while having (3) screens active, (1) for WInTV only, (1) for my video editor and (1) for misc such as web browsing, file transfers, or running open office with a spreadsheet of shows edited, WinTV still running like a champ.
Cons: The card seems to me overly large for what it does compared to other capture cards. Between the mobo layout and my high end ram with cooling rails, this card really disrupted my video card upgrade plans. Capture software appears to have a memory leak, after running +24 hours or so wether it is capturing or not, it eats up the majority of the system RAM. Rebooting every few days seems to be the fix.

Update Aug 2016
Turns out the memory leak was from my MOBO, once I got the BIOS lined out, I can leave the software on for days and have no problems. Sometimes, WinTV will go blank after a scheduled event, just closing and restarting the program fixes it,
Other Thoughts: I spent a little more money on this capture card because of the hdmi option and ended up using the component side now exclusively. HD programming looks great in the raw capture format and after being formatted for viewing on other devices.

Update Aug 2016
I started having problems with the dongle that connects to the component cables to the card itself to the point where it would come loose or fall out of the card connector all together. I was using some heavy duty cables to insulate from signal interference.

I have since switched over to the HDMI side for an easier and heavy duty connection. I am still using the component side from my SAT box at 1080, but I am now converting it to a HDMI signal via a composite/component/VGA to HDMI converter box that the card can use. The picture is much cleaner now and less cables to run behind my PC.
Reviewed By:Dan M.,8/23/2016 9:14:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > NVIDIA > NVIDIA® SHIELD™ Pro - 4K Streaming. Advanced Gaming. Android TV.

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Easy to Set Up and Use
Pros: Nvidia Shield Pro Android TV was easy to set up Yes!! I liked the Plex Software and the XMPC Kodi APP very much they where very user friendly.
Cons: I am giving this product only ONE Egg because of several reasons when it comes to the Ruling the Living room fraise need's to GO. It didn't Rule My Living room in any way shape or form!!! Here is why while It is an AWESOME Gaming System it lack's in a Live streaming Rig for TV!!! There for how can Nvidia Say or use the fraise Rule Your Living Room??? If it Truly Rules any ones Living Room then it should give everyone the ability to Live Stream TV, Watch Movies, and Play Video Games. I live in Wisconsin I don't know how to speak Korean, Japanese, German, French, or any other language except English!!! Or do I want to Pay some second rate company that is going to charge me to watch TV and not give me all the channels like ABC, ABC Family, CBS, CBS SPORTS, NBC, NBC Sports just to name a few. One Company that doesn't have them all is Sling TV and yet want's you the consumer to pay 19.99 for there basic package and for the next one 25.00 and then 40.00 for a bunch of horse pucky that has duplicated channels. I and MY Wife Like Playing Video Games. So we liked that part of the System. We Where and are just very disappointed with the rest of the system!!!
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this to my friends and family that are extreme gamer's!!!
I would not recommend this if they want a system to do live 4K TV with. For that I recommend the Rveal System it is the best for Live Streaming TV!!! Check it out at Rveal.com It's an AWESOME System!!!
Reviewed By:Jeffrey W.,8/22/2016 6:17:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Hauppauge > Hauppauge Digital TV Tuner for Xbox One TV Tuners and Video Capture 1578

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Easy set up does work kinda, Software no longer suported but hey you can spend more money to buy the version they are selling now.
Pros: This is a good option if you want to watch (FTA) NTSC TV "Free To Air" Antenna only not cable line.
Cons: Software that is bundled to work with the tuner is no longer supported and the serial number they give to use the software no longer works at all for any one for any reason.
Reviewed By:Eugene M.,8/21/2016 6:59:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > ASUS > Google Nexus Player Gamepad

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great product
Pros: really cool
Cons: i'd like a different power form factor
Other Thoughts: WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU LOSE THE BATTERY PACK? I'M SERIOUSLY IN A BIND HERE. I'd be up for purchasing a replacement battery pack if I COULD ONLY FIND WHERE THEY'RE SOLD.
Reviewed By:James J.,8/14/2016 10:07:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Elgato > Elgato Game Capture HD60 Pro, stream and record in 1080p60, superior low latency technology, H.264 hardware encoding, PCIe

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Predictably poor customer support
Pros: -Streams without taxing your processor. Nice way to avoid upgrading to i7 or an entire separate computer for hi def streaming of pc games as well as its main purpose of streaming console games.
Cons: - Who knows what is wrong with it? It has intermittent issues creating white noise on the game stream. Almost a week later and Elgato is still saying "we'll get back to you in 3 days."

Getting back to people every three days saying you'll get back to them in three days is not getting back to someone in three days.

This could easily be a Windows 10 problem, but Elgato doesn't care enough to support its product to the point that you can know what is going on. And of course neither does Microsoft.
Reviewed By:Shane R.,8/14/2016 8:40:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Elgato > Elgato Game Capture HD60 Pro, stream and record in 1080p60, superior low latency technology, H.264 hardware encoding, PCIe

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Product
Pros: Easy to use and install.Works with xsplit and obs.Great product from Elgato!!
Does 1080p with 60fps!!
I use obs and works fine with no lag or stutters
Cons: Software for the Elgato is ok
Other Thoughts: I use this in my 2nd streaming pc for twitch and works great with my AMD processor.Just make sure you get the latest drivers and software off their webpage
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/8/2016 9:16:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > AVerMedia > AVerMedia C027 AVerTV HD DVR

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesnt seem to work with multiple monitors
Pros: Dont never, Was never able to get it to work
Cons: I have pretty capable system with 4 monitors. Would like to watch my fire box on one monitor. This card has always given me errors and has never displayed the content.
Reviewed By:DeeWayne J.,8/7/2016 5:29:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 2 Streaming Media Player 4210XB Faster Processor - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No Problems
Pros: Purchased two of these. They look new and perform likewise. They come in brown boxes with a minimum of paperwork/manuals, but setting them up is not rocket science.
Cons: There's a little round sticker titled "B Grade" on the side that is impossible to get removed without leaving residue behind, even using Goop and automotive prep-solution. The price is only moderately less than buying a new one at your local electronics store (you know which one).
Other Thoughts: The main difference between the 2 and the 3 is the voice activated remote. The processor and memory are the same. If you don't need that feature save the bucks and get the 2. Know that if you are not subscribed to paid services like Netflix and Hulu, the free content is not all that impressive but rather more novelty that becomes boring pretty quickly. A Kodi/XBMC box though more expensive and with a clunky interface offers all the content and is more fun.
Reviewed By:Dennis R.,8/7/2016 9:02:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDHR4-2US HDHomeRun CONNECT 2-Tuner ATSC DLNA/UPnP Compatible Streaming Media Player for Cord Cutters

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as advertised
Pros: Visible on DLNA by all media player devices on the network
Quick and easy install
Cons: Support software is very limited in functionality, I'd like to be able to customize what each channel is advertised as over DLNA. Trying to remember everything by call letters is challenging when there are 36 different channels, and being on DLNA you can't simply channel surf.
Other Thoughts: I had a 70" Smart TV given to me where the digital tuner was not functioning properly. Since it was serving as our primary TV, this was a great alternative to getting things working. It also worked to deliver the signal from the antenna to more sets. If I tried to split the signal more than once, it would always degrade beyond what digital could handle. This solves that problem and broadcast signals are now available at all the sets in our house without unsightly individual antennas.
Reviewed By:Russell S.,8/7/2016 6:32:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Google > Google Chromecast HDMI Streaming Media Player (H2G2-42)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I love this chromecast
Pros: Amazing picture quality, great sound... PERFECT for streaming.
Cons: You can't transfer exact screen to screen picture, only a google chrome web browser.
Other Thoughts: Wish you could do direct screen transfers, so I could stream apps like Bobby Movie Box (From bluestacks screen)
Reviewed By:Stephen A.,8/5/2016 6:13:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.