Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Sound Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-701 - 5.1-Channel Sound Card with PCI-Interface

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Worst Driver Install EVER
Pros: The price is great. I have always had great luck with Rosewill products. Once I FINALLY got it working the sound quality is perfect.
Cons: Driver install is awful. The CD that came with it didn't work at all. I had to do a lot of Google searches before finally figuring out some of the problems.
Other Thoughts: I am running Windows 7 64 bit. Here are some things that might help with your install. Boot into your BIOS before installing your card. Disable your on-board audio. I also had to uninstall a few other audio thing listed in the device manager. Then I got an error plug in C-Media audio device. I found the install here:
http://www.cmedia.com.tw/EN/DownloadCenter_Detail2.html
I installed that and then installed the driver from the CD. It seems simple now but after going through a lot of trial and error before getting to that. Good luck and hope you have an easier install than I did! :)
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 8:09:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Unreal.
Pros: I bought this exact card in 2007. I'm still using it. Yes, the same card. Creative has windows 10 drivers for it. I have a 6 core processor, boat loads of RAM and a nice new shiny graphics card. And then there is this guy, way better than any onboard audio I've ever had.
Cons: After 8 years in service I had to clean off the spider webs.
Other Thoughts: Amazing.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/29/2015 12:53:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DGX 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Gaming Audio Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 it DOES work with windows 10
Pros: I've been using this with windows 10, installed the windows 8 drivers and had no issue
Cons: I had to bend the PCI slot cover to get it to fit in my old case, in my define R5 it fit no problem though, so not really a con
Other Thoughts: Beats any onboard realtek solution i've used to date. including the 1150 on my Gigabyte z170 ultra durable 5
Reviewed By:RandomUser420,8/29/2015 5:18:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great DSP for Movies, Game and Music
Pros: In general, this card isn't much different than the X-Fi Fatal1ty card I had to replace which two critical exceptions: this card offers DTS Connect instead of DD Live only (DTS has a much higher fidelity potential), and this card supports actual full range audio.

The 24-bit Crystallizer continues to be a welcome feature which enlivens music quite nicely, provided your speakers and/or receiver support the quality. For added quality, I recommend configuring Windows to output a 24-bit audio signal of 96khz or better.
Cons: The Creative Audio Control Panel has been redone, and I personally find it less intuitive than previous versions. Like so many things, it's become over-simplified instead of offering a simplified view and an advanced view. If your intended use is for any kind of musical recording, I'd -strongly- advise buying an EMU series card that provides those I/O options now unavailable from SoundBlaster series cards. It's clear from what little settings are available for recording that it was intended for vocal recording.
Other Thoughts: I'm using this card in a system running both Windows 7 Pro and Windows 10 Pro and shares living space with a nVidia graphics card that also has a DSP in it for HDMI output, and I have had absolutely zero driver-related problems with this card on either OS. To ensure that your experience is also free from driver issues, be sure to purge your computer of any older CreativeLabs drivers and software before installing the latest drivers for this card. I didn't use the disc that came with the card, rather I downloaded the drivers directly from us.Creative.com for Windows 7 and Windows 10.

In order to do justice to this card's audio quality, I strongly recommend use of a home theater system instead of comparatively cruddy computer speakers. I'm using a Kenwood receiver with a frequency response well outside human hearing range in both directions with speakers with a response of 20 to 42000hz and a subwoofer with a response of 4 to 300hz. I've owned several Creative cards, including an EMU card, and none of them produced a signal that my receiver would actually recognize as full-range. The bass was previously present, but was being routed to the subwoofer automatically instead of allowing my receiver to dissect the signal itself. I've it configured to play in full-range, and I use the subwoofer for added fun with explosions and other such things.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 11:55:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > SIIG, Inc > SIIG IC-710012-S2 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface SoundWave

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Will Not Work With Windows 10
Pros: Worked Great on Windows 7
Cons: E-mail from support - Hello,
Unfortunately, it will not be compatible in Windows 10.
Regards,
Erick

SIIG Support
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2015 5:41:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-701 - 5.1-Channel Sound Card with PCI-Interface

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Replaced Faulty Integrated Audio
Pros: My computer's integrated audio had failed and only worked intermittently at times. This card plugged in and once installed worked fine.
Cons: The con is the actual install. The CD that came with would not auto-run properly with adobe flash ( though this could be a system fault ). I ended up shaving a star because I downloaded a driver off the net which took an incredible amount of time to install locking up the computer for a while. After done however it has resolved my issue and performs.
Other Thoughts: Great basic card with extra ports for mic and speakers in case I feel the need to expand!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 10:13:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Omni Surround 5.1 USB Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Integrated Microphone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I would LOVE to be able rate this well....
Pros: None yet. I can't get it to work.
Cons: Blue Screen every time I try to load the software on either Windows 10 or Windows 7, bad tech support.
Other Thoughts: I have tried to load software for this device on Windows 10 and Windows 7. I KNEW that I would need Win10 drivers but Creative says we have to load the software first, and then upgrade drivers for Windows 10.

I got immediate Blue Screen error: Driver IRQL_not_less_or_equal. I've cleared cache, cookies, deleted old drivers, cleaned registry, tried multiple iterations of installing this, each time using restore point to before the software was installed in order to try something different.

Another reviewer mentioned non-existent tech support. I'll agree to it to that comment. There's no phone support, only email. I gave them all the information about what happened and all they responded with was instructions on getting Windows 10 drivers.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 5:50:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > HT Omega > HT | OMEGA CLARO II 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Card
Pros: I previously had the Creative XiFi Titanium and the drivers are a pain. Well my only PCI-E slot is covered by my new Graphics card so only a PCI slot is left. This card is large and have diodes on the exposed side so be careful installing. I had to remove the metal cover to seat the card because of my USB 3.0 cable port on the motherboard I'm using for front USB ports. I'm using a computer case by HP/Compaq with an aftermarket microATX motherboard and had no problem securing the card to the motherboard (exact fit). I use the computer for my home theater and it sounds awesome using the optical connection. I'm not picky on the sound software interface as long as it supports the operating system and I can use the cards features (Dolby Digital or DTS). There is a Windows 10 driver available while Creative will come out with drivers next month. I haven't experienced any problems with this card and astonished how clear the small sounds in movies I can hear now.
Cons: High price but with this card, you get what you pay for...
Other Thoughts: There is no point spending this kind of money unless you have equipment that can actually use features like Dolby Digital or DTS. If you have movies and music on your computer, good quality speakers and receiver, this card is a perfect fit.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/21/2015 11:15:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > Asus MIO-892 Sound Board

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Only works on ASUS server boards
Pros: I didn't experience any.
Cons: If you don't have a MIO slot on your motherboard, this sound card will not work for you. I was unaware and don't believe it was clear in the listing that this isn't a standard board.
Other Thoughts: I tried using it in three desktop, downloading drivers set after driver set just to find out that it's a proprietary slot that will only work on Asus machines.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/15/2015 1:37:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ICUSBAUDIO USB to Stereo Audio Adapter Converter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 An excellent addition as a USB sound card to any computer
Pros: This StarTech.com USB Audio sound card device has great sound quality, no scratchy sound or anything negative. It has a headphones/speaker port and one microphone port!
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Use this StarTech.com Audio USB Device! It's worth every penny.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/14/2015 7:34:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.