Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster ZxR PCIe 124dB SNR Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 wow
Pros: compulsively got sound blaster zxr and glade i did. it sounds great, especially with a good pare of head phones.
Cons: drivers would seem like it crashed when updating but if you wait i does work just really inconvenient.
Other Thoughts: price was a bit high but can notice the difference from on board audio.
Reviewed By:atwater,9/18/2014 5:09:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ICUSBAUDIO USB to Stereo Audio Adapter Converter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Plug 'N Play. Good Sound Quality
Pros: Easy install - just plug it in. I bought it because my headphone jack on my macbook stopped working. If you own a macbook, don't make the mistake I did and insert the minidisc into your optical drive ( it will get stuck ). Still works after the metal connector got bent the first day I used it, so it's pretty sturdy. Good sound quality - crystal clear, no real distortion.
Cons: none really, it does what it's supposed to.
Other Thoughts: Best value I've found for this kind of product.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/18/2014 3:37:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Ah, the things we learn in due time...
Pros: Let me preface this with the fact I am finally re-reviewing this product. You can find my original review by the same name from well over a year ago. I'm not planning on reiterating anything, so you're best off reading that as well.
(Posted as XionEternum, but with review changes it should be Michael W. now)

Now, what's new to report? Well, as the title would suggest; I have learned a lot more about audio and audio hardware since my original review. First and foremost, this is a hardware internal DAC and amp and little else. It's got a middle-of-the-road DSP that has been around for quite some time now and still holds it's own for the price to this day. If you want "more" out of your on-board audio and that audio is rather old itself or extremely generic; then this will at the very least give your sound equipment a bit more punch and remove most if not all hiss.
Cons: While in my original review I claimed Windows would push 192kHz to it - and it can if the limits aren't auto-detected - the DSP itself will compress that down to 96kHz which only serves to increase the demand on both it and your CPU which is feeding the DSP the higher bit-rate audio. So you're best off matching the spec in Windows. ASUS software tends to conflict with some games. Case in point; an update to Saints Row 4 shortly after launch made the game crash at launch due to GX mode injecting .dll files whether the mode was enabled or not. I had to and still use a third party freeware driver called UNi Xonar in order to circumvent this problem. I would recommend anyone using any Xonar cards to use this software too as it's less conflictive in most cases.
Other Thoughts: I still stand by everything else I said. The audio quality value between this and the Arctic Sound P301 (which Newegg no longer carries for some odd reason) is undeniable. It's easily one of the best sub-100USD options available for both headphones and mic.

I must however reconsider my stance on True Surround Sound(TSS) vs Virtual Surround Sound(VSS):
I must admit, I fell for the VSS for a while until I realized I wasn't actually able to determine front/back origination of sound. I thought I could at first, and the Dolby Digital VSS effect DOES emulate what the sound would sound like coming from an array of surround sound speakers, but with one caveat... It's warped audio coming from a singular source. How can you tell? Well I dare you, any of you wannabe audiophiles out there to really pay attention to the famous "Barber Shop" mp3 out there which is recorded in stereo. Find your favorite audio forum and discuss - actually discuss - whether you think the sources you hear are in front of you or behind you at any point. Focus on it and ask yourself whether their sounds and voices feel like they are in front of you or behind you and when they are in front or behind. Here's a little mind-blower for you too: Also ask yourself if it sounds like they could be above or below you too. If you pay so much attention to it you can't tell; you'll start to feel this cone of source representing where the source could be coming from. If not, then frankly you're still deluding yourself. Try snapping your fingers in front, behind, below, and above you. Does the source in that mp3 REALLY sound that distinctively positional? Didn't think so. Now for the flipside... I've not found a single TSS headphone/set out their with sound reproduction quality rivaling even the Arctic Sound P301. We're comparing a 20USD headset with reasonable build quality if simple and minimalistic design and 2 50mm drivers to 100-180USD headsets with 6-10 30-40mm drivers that typically sound worse... tinny... weak... Frankly, all we really need is distinction between front and back, so where are the 4.0 headphones/sets? What happened to quadraphonic? The closest thing I've seen that sound reasonably good is the 40mm driver powered ROCCAT Kave - which I have and like for games, hate for music - and it's successor the XTD which I have not tested yet for fear of the same drivers.
...
Yes... my thoughts are this complex... *cringe*
Reviewed By:XionEternum,9/18/2014 6:10:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DSX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Audio Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 GREAT sound!
Pros: - Easy to install
- AMAZING sound
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: I was always skeptical about TechReport always recommending this sound card in their PC builds and finally took the plunge to see what all the fuss was about.

Some folks might not hear a difference, depending on what motherboard you are using / integrated sound your board has. I noticed a gigantic difference immediately! Once EQ'd to my taste (or my ears), it was like listening to whatever music I played for the first time. I was hearing things I hadn't heard before in some of the songs.
Reviewed By:bobbinator5736,9/17/2014 7:19:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WOW
Pros: Fantastic freaking sound!! Upgraded from Asus onboard audio.. didn't want to set my expectations too high, but when I finally got the thing working I was completely blown away. I've been listening to mp3's, and hearing things in songs I haven't heard in years of listening to them.

I was hoping for good things from this card after the mostly positive things I had heard about it, but this card blew away what my highest expectations had been. I have never written a review on any product I have ever bought, until now.

I can't recommend this card highly enough.
Cons: The one con with this sound card is the time it took me to get it properly working. I installed the latest driver from the ASUS website, and of course it didn't work right. I had to work on this thing 6+ hours to get this thing working correctly, including me messing around with various settings, calling the ASUS helpline and getting absolutely nowhere, and checking out dozens of websites for help. This is a problem that needs to be addressed soon by ASUS or they will continue to get the many complaints I saw around the web.

But, when you get past these problems, the card is absolutely fantastic. I've had a smile on my face for the past 3 hours.
Other Thoughts: I was getting ready to throw the towel in with this sound card. Went through a long call to Asus help line, and knew less after the call was finished. They are so completely obtuse, I actually felt I had lost 10 IQ points after the call. The lady took me through obvious steps that even my mother would know, and when they didn't work, she said it wasn't ASUS's problem, that I should call NewEgg and tell them to send me a new sound card. ACK!

But after messing around with it for a while longer, I got it to work. What a great sound card.
Reviewed By:jedapi,9/16/2014 8:46:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z 5.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 sound blaster zed
Pros: easy installation, great sound, nice feature set, and the microphone works better then excpected. Also great price for a refurb!
Cons: nothing as of yet. card works 100%
Other Thoughts: I bought this card to replace a asus xonar dg. I usually use headphones and for gaming this card provided a better quality sound as far as spacial positioning over my older dg. It also has a headphone amp that has more power then my DG. Soundblasters sound panel has also improved alot. Much better then there old style and better then asus too.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/15/2014 7:23:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Blaster z
Pros: Clean warm audio. Great price to performance ratio. Good drivers and software. Drives my akg 702s perfectly.
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: Great step up from on board audio. "Have supreme fx iv on mobo and it doesn't even come close to the z" paired with my akg 702s it's a monster fps rig that is very directional and very accurate for positioning. Also works well with music. Movies. Etc
Reviewed By:Gloopis,9/14/2014 4:42:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sound card xtreme
Pros: POW. this little card packs a punch and drives my 5 and 1 system. has lots of features and you can configure it like crazy. Hooked up my guitar and music editing software and no lag at all sound tight
Cons: none so far, maybe the red light on the card is bright , but if your running a red light color theme like I was then you will be happy .. looks cool
Other Thoughts: This thing Rocks make sure you buy some Bose or you wont do it justice.
Reviewed By:Jagtiger,9/11/2014 2:25:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DGX 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Gaming Audio Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ASUS is the new Creative for sound
Pros: The Xonar line is literally the best sound card line I have ever used (22 years experience).
I have owned the DX (7.1 surround) for years and now the DGX (5.1 surround).
The drivers install fine; the complaining 1-eggers are just dumb.
PCIe 1x is the way to go, and this card is very small!
Sound quality is immediately, noticeably better over an on-board device, for both in- and output.
Cheap and high quality.
I sound at least 2x sexier with the increased mic volume and quality. ;)
This thing can get LOUD with the "AMP" boost. (i personally use pro-gamer setting).
Cons: Heaphone surround mode is a *little* tinny sounding, BUT it is minimized when change the "room size" to a smaller room. I just do not use the function, but I did in the past and just grew accustomed to the tinniness.
Other Thoughts: All of these "tech knowledge - 5" newbs writing these 1-egg reviews are full of tripe. They likely have never worked in the PC field and are self-titled 5s because they "built their own PC that 1 time." I'm not just an enthusiast; I have actually worked as a PC sales and repair technician and have done so as a hobby on the side for years.
Drivers install fine, and do not use a downloader or 3rd party app.
When the device is properly installed, with nothing on/in the PC interfering with it, is mysteriously works PERFECTLY and sounds amazing.
TBH, giving 1 egg due to lack of tech knowledge is almost as bad as voting 1 egg for a DOA. At least the DOA is POSSIBLY the manufacturer's fault.
ASUS is truly becoming the new Creative for sound cards.
Reviewed By:Kosmic,9/11/2014 9:41:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Refurbished: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: buggy, it killed my windows 7 install after a week. I had 2-3 times a day blue screens and random reboots with this thing in win7 ultimate.
windows finally died and I couldn't get it to reinstall with the card in the system got the error "windows is unable to configure this system" during setup. seems to work ok with win 8.1 though. overall it is not any better than the onboard solution I have though.
Other Thoughts: if you have decent onboard audio don't bother with this esp if you are running win 7
Reviewed By:jerome,9/9/2014 11:22:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau