Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster AUDIGY FX Sound Card with SBX Pro Studio - OEM

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great sound, poor manufacturing quality control
Pros: I thought my high-end motherboard's (X99 A USB 3.1) onboard audio was as good as audio could get, but with this card everything somehow just sounds... better. Windows 7 had the drivers installed before I had logged in for the first time with it.
Cons: The card itself wasn't exactly perpendicular to the mounting bracket that you screw into the motherboard. If I wanted to screw it in properly the card would be seated in the PCIe slot at a very awkward angle. I managed to find another way to fasten the card to the board.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/4/2016 5:27:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS XONAR_DGX(ASM) Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great sound card, exactly as described and amazing quality! (Windows 8)
Pros: The left audio channel on the standard channel from the on-board sound card on my mother board died and I was unable to fix it. My mb only had this pci port available and the other sound cards available were over priced (Could have bought a whole new motherboard at the competitors prices...).

The Xonar program that comes with this card is great, instead of having to unplug headphones or anything, you can simply select from a drop down list on what you want your computer to output to, which will make the speaker/headphone jacks/ports last even longer!

As for the sound quality itself, I can't be anything other than extremely pleased. Seriously, you can easily switch between the sample rates and even manually adjust the output levels per speaker channel (Right or left).

Obviously it all depends on your speaker setup as well, but I never knew that my motherboard was holding me back, video games and even songs in general sound superb!
Cons: This may be a factory restored model, but doesn't that mean that it's better than the "New" ones? As it has new and upgraded parts? Remember to be a smart consumer, as sometimes you can get a great deal on refurbished products without any loss of quality.
Other Thoughts: Yet again Newegg.ca has won the day, promptly delivering a great product with an additional warranty at a great price! I've been shopping here for a long time and will definitely be back. Thanks!
Reviewed By:Marius M.,2/3/2016 4:52:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Caused Massive Problems and Headaches.
Pros: Initially this card performed well. See cons.
Cons: After about 4 months I started having intermittent problems with this card. I shrugged them off. They started getting worse. Fast forward one more month.
Any microphone plugged into this card becomes 100% unusable do to an electronic garbling sound. None of the fixes online were able to make it functional again. Again I shrugged it off and just started using the card without a mic.
Fast forward a week, this card begins to have an issue where if it detects ANY sounds from ANY program if cuts the volume on every single other program by at least 85% sometimes it fully mutes them.
At this point I was expecting the problem to be coming from Skype or something else on my PC. Uninstall every program, reinstall windows, same issue. Unplug sound card and use the onboard. WHAT DO YOU KNOW? PROBLEM SOLVED.
Forget this card people. This took me two weeks of constantly trying to fix the problem for me to finally narrow it down to this card after 100% eliminating every single other possibility. Thanks Creative, first time giving you guys another go after so many problems a decade ago and you let me down spectacularly once again.
Other Thoughts: No, do not buy this card.
Reviewed By:Cole G.,2/1/2016 2:06:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > STARTECH > StarTech.com 5.1 Channel PCI Surround Sound Card Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great little sound card
Pros: Works as advertised. No problems with easy installation. Compatible with Windows 10.
Cons: It's missing some pins on the card (available with SoundBlaster cards) that allows the plugging in of a front audio jack into the card.
Other Thoughts: I like updating older machines on a shoestring budget. This went into a 12-year-old Dell 8400 that was going to be thrown out. The previous sound card (Audigy 2, original to the system) didn't have sound drivers compatible with Windows 10. I've now got that system running Windows 10 and this card does the trick nicely. As noted above, I couldn't plug the front jack into the card but there is a spot on the motherboard to plug into (you'll need to turn on onboard audio in the BIOS to get that to work).
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/31/2016 5:26:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion (70SB135400000) 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card with Sound Blaster I/O

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Disappointing
Pros: Looks great. The added connections and interface on the front of the case are great.
Cons: Very average sound quality.
Performed worse than the on-board sound card on my 60$ mobo with certain sound editing apps and software.
became glitchy after about a year of use (sound cuts and only resumes on reboot).
Other Thoughts: I think It's discontinued.
Reviewed By:Matthieu L.,1/30/2016 12:46:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS STRIX SOAR 8 Channels 44.1K / 48K / 88.2K / 96K / 176.4K / 192KHz PCI Express Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great bang for your bucks
Pros: Industry-leading software interface
In my opinion the best sound quality for internal sound cards at this price range
Slick appearance
While not mentioned, the PCB looks like ASUS Auto-Extreme manufacturing as the soldering is smooth and nearly flawless
6-pin PCI-E power connector instead of molex
ESS Sabre DAC
Cons: More expensive than European price if you convert currency
Owl eye isn't really visible when installed
Looks somewhat gimmicky
Other Thoughts: I'm a computer geek and love trying new gadgets, so when I saw the Strix Soar finally available on some jungle-themed shopping site I decided to take a leap into the unknown. I chose the cheapest variant of the three cards since I didn't want to risk wasting a large sum and not getting any results. If I lose, I wouldn't be losing too much.

I am happy to report that this card has exceeded all my expectations, especially considering the fact that I'm coming from Essence STX II card with three Muses 01 Op Amps. For those of you unfamiliar with the jibberish I just mentioned, that's the top audiophile card from ASUS with Japanese Operation Amplifiers from New Japan Radio. Each little amplifier costs you a whopping $50 USD, on top of the $240+ sound card.

So how does this $99 card fare against its upgraded $400+ cousin? It actually doesn't sound all that different and even manage to beat the Essence in some areas!

The first thing that came to my mind was how beautiful and intuitive the software is. The interface presents you with all the available options in a single page. Everything is nicely laid out and customizing the card to your liking is a breeze. This contrasts very much with ASUS' older software featuring bland/stale looks and spartan feature sets. Creative also lose out as their software is full of fluff and useless options.

I'm not going to discuss the gamer-oriented features as I don't play much FPS to make any use of them. While I haven't tested the positional performance in FPS titles, I can tell you that the stereo separation of the card is phenomenal from playing some MMOs and listening to music. You can clearly hear the direction/position the sound is coming from, whether it be environmental noise or another player's footsteps. For those of you wondering what speakers I'm using - I'm sporting a pair of JBL LSR 305 studio monitors.

Now on to the most important thing: sound quality. I buy sound cards to listen to music primarily and will judge them based on this criteria most heavily. While I can't attest to the accuracy of the sound coming out of this card without a live source for comparison, I can say for sure that the sound quality won't disappoint.

The sound card features a somewhat V shaped sound signature, with a bit more emphasis towards highs and lows. I think ASUS did a great job with this as the mids don't feel recessed at all. The sound signature is very lively and "fun" without getting tiresome. If you're upgrading from motherboard audio, you're going to hear details you've never heard before provided you have a decent set of speakers at your disposal.

Compared to my Essence STX II, John Powell & Gavin Greenaway's "Coming Back Around" from How to Train Your Dragon sounded much more exciting and engaging, with slightly more artificial highs and fuller lows in comparison. While you do lose a small bit of detail and realism, the trade-off is in my opinion is well worth it given the price difference.

Some of you might wonder if Soundblaster Z could do the same since it's in the same price range. I'm going to tell you no... This card curbstomps SBZ... SBZ hisses and sounds metallic at highs, it's booming and unnatural at lows, the "crystallizer" in my opinion should be named "music/ear killer". Just get this card instead and thank me later.

Anyways, to sum things up - I am flabbergasted by the price/performance ratio of this sound card and feel a bit upset even as I write this message. While the Essence STX II sounded pretty freaking good and in some cases more natural compared to the Strix, at 1/4 the cost the Strix's got about 90% of the performance of the upgraded STX II while packing significantly more features. I'm not going to pull out the Muses Amps... I don't want to compare stock STX II to this card. I basically paid a 300% difference in price and received 10% back in performance... ASUS - if you guys are reading this - you're welcome to update the software on STX II... Give me something prettier to look at at least please?

For those of you on a very tight budget - I would recommend you spend your money on better speakers first. That would affect your sound much more than any sound card would. After that, get this card. I don't think anything can touch it at its price range as of today.
Reviewed By:Jay L.,1/29/2016 5:58:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative 70SB088000004 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express 1x Interface PCI Express Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Functional sound card
Pros: It functions, provides sound, it sounds good.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/26/2016 7:32:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DGX 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Gaming Audio Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Sound
Pros: Great sound from this card. I have always had Creative sound cards and did not have many problems out of them. This is the first Asus sound card I have bought and have it paired to Klipsch THX speakers and the sound is great. Works great in Windows 10 and I downloaded the latest drivers for the card and so far it has performed well.
Cons: Nothing
Other Thoughts: With sound cards, it seems to be that they are either excellent or terrible, not much in between. Same for their drivers. Great card for the price.
Reviewed By:Michael B.,1/25/2016 6:13:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card
Pros: i got this one Refurbished and its working great at this time easy install sounds great.
I got this becuae my onboard sound driver were not happy with windows 10 and this card fixed that problem at a very low cost.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Shane h.,1/24/2016 11:09:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar U5 5.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz USB Interface Compact Sound Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worked great, for a while...
Pros: - Convenient volume control knob and allows for quick switching between speakers and headphones.
- Clear sound reproduction.
- Flexible control panel application.
Cons: - Didn't last.
- USELESS technical support from ASUS.
- No troubleshooting documents.
- No longer supported. Latest drivers on ASUS website are over 4 years old.
Other Thoughts: Mysteriously stopped working and caused the dreaded "A USB device connected to this computer has malfunctioned and Windows cannot recognize it." After repeated uninstalling of drivers, uninstalling USB hubs, plugged into every possible USB port, restarting the computer, resetting the motherboard, re-installing drivers (which failed anyway because the driver did not see the device), I determined that it was completely TOAST. One day it was fine, then the next day it wasn't. No warning.

Plugged it into a different computer and all the device does is make rapid clicking sounds and flashes one of the lights over and over. Driver still refused to install. PIECE OF JUNK!!!!
Reviewed By:Darren B.,1/22/2016 10:49:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.