Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Sound Cards > HT Omega > HT | OMEGA FENIX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love this Sound
Pros: Incredible sound coming from a knowledgeable vendor of soundcards. I used to think the HT Omega Striker was good, but this is much better with the higher sampling and processing rate. Yes, I know that a Sound Card review can be kind of subjective here, but I think this Fenix offers really killer sound, with a very easy set up and drivers that are not "bloated" with junk.
Cons: I was a little sorry to notice that the Sound card does not automatically switch outputs when you plug in the headphone jack, (into the front panel), but you can manually make the switch in the software. Not a huge deal, but the old HT Omega Striker was nice that way.
Other Thoughts: I will continue to purchase HT Omega Sound Cards in the future. They simply work and sound fantastic. Hook them up to decent speakers though. It is a real waste to buy this and run them through cheap speakers, although they will make the cheap speakers sound a little better.
Reviewed By:Antony Steele,3/30/2015 4:47:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-701 - 5.1-Channel Sound Card with PCI-Interface

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Sound Card
Pros: Easy Install
Great Quality
Great Price
I run windows 7 and it works great. More than pleased.
Cons: I had to wait for the super fast shipping!
Reviewed By:pkdavis1495,3/29/2015 8:54:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 PCIe Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great!
Pros: Sounds fine
Fair price
Has input pins for front audio panel
Great card to replace failed m/b audio
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: default setting don't work with a simple 2 speaker audio
nice s/w gui for changing the settings
Reviewed By:Barry F.,3/26/2015 8:00:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z 70SB150200000 5.1 Channels 24-bit PCI Express (x1, x4 or x16) Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Sound, Great Price
Pros: This is a great sound card. Doesn't have all the frills of the other "fancy" gamer or recording artist cards, but if you just want good, clear, quality sound for gaming, watching videos and listening to music at a low price, this is the card.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: It's not a beautiful piece of hardware, so if you have a windowed case and want something flashy, get the gamer version of the card with all the LED's and frufru.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2015 12:03:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This VS onboard Realtek
Pros: I will be comparing this to the onboard Realtek HD audio that comes on most boards these days as it is what I have been using for years. The ALC892 is what I was using up until I got the SBZ.

On the surface, both the Realtek and the SB are the same. They even use the same Cirrus Logic DACs for the analog audio. If using the optical port, it doesn't matter which sound card you use as it is decoded by the receiver, so is the SBZ even worth paying $100 for if you already have onboard HD audio? If you have a 5.1 system, especially one as stupidly designed as the Logitech z906, then the answer is Yes, absolutely.

The difference between the onboard and the SBZ revolves around the software that the SBZ is able to utilize and accelerate via its own hardware and processes which gives a much more robust manipulation of your audio setup. It can even take the 5.1 analog streams and convert them into DTS on the fly, something that onboard can't do.

The best thing about it is the control it gives you of individual speakers and subs. If you have a 5.1 system like the Z906 which has a sub that has no level controls on it whatsoever, you can use the SBZ software to set the frequencies you want the sub to pick up in addition to the phase and gain. You can totally tweak every aspect of your system and tune it to get the perfect sound from it.

It also has some headphone-specific features that I haven't explored yet but, at a glance, it's already better than the Realtek's options which only let you control volume.

It also has proprietary methods of making voice chat crystal clear for you and the people who hear you if you use a mic/headset for online gaming. Also comes with a "beamforming microphone" which appears to just be an external mic like the ones that used to come with all pre-built computers, only a different shape. It's just a mic in the end though. Can't seem to get excited about that.

Very easy to set up and requires a couple reboots and a little bit of manual device management right out of the box and the software package takes care of everything for you, software-wise. It installs the entire suite of programs and then automatically updates them via the internet so you're up-to-date.
Cons: -This LED nonsense has got to stop. Every single performance component that goes into a custom PC these days has bright LEDs all over it and, for some reason, the SBZ also has BRIGHT RED lights coming from it. With the lights from the case, mobo and video card and now the SBZ, my machine looks like some christmas freak show. There is no way to tun off this light...

-This uses a PCI express port. Not a terrible thing on its own, but these ports are right next to your video card so expect to have some heat issues. You will need a case with sufficient airflow to keep everything cool.

-Not really a con depending on your level of knowledge, but Creative gives no explanations of audio settings which can seem like foreign babble if you don't know what you're doing.
Other Thoughts: Really don't like the bright red light on it. Totally unnecessary.

Got this cheaper from [somewhere else], which is where I've been getting all my PC components lately. Newegg has lost sight of all the reasons that people would shop here above any other online retailer. This place is now rip-off central and only worth visiting to read reviews.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2015 10:03:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DS 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Interface Audio Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good card, one problem...
Pros: Card works great. Sound quality is phenomenal. Interface is easy to use. Even better for the price. I have an old set of speakers hooked up to this card and they sound off the wall good.
Cons: Drivers. Windows 7 doesn't really like the drivers for this card. After some research and messing around, I got them to work.
Reviewed By:Ethan C.,3/26/2015 6:30:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > HT Omega > HT | OMEGA Claro Halo 24-bit 192KHz PCI Interface Sound Card w/ a built-in HI-FI Headphone Amplifier

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wonderful card, works great in Linux
Pros: Optical outs, linux support via snd_oxygen driver, pristine sound. Plug and play, even in linux.
Cons: No software control panel in linux
Other Thoughts: While in Linux one doesn't get the control panel or any other niceties, you don't really need them. Pulse Audio and your favorite mixer can do mostly the same.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2015 5:33:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Such Value woah wow great job
Pros: Headphone amp is great, sound quality is massive improvement for music over my x58 ud3r rev 1.6 on board audio. Not a huge improvement in games such as BF4 but for music it is night and day...
Cons: Was a little difficult to jam into my motherboard, but it worked
Reviewed By:N/A,3/24/2015 2:48:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe (70SB135000000) 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Bummed
Pros: Sound quality is good when it works.
Cons: Setup is unable to detect a supported product on your system.....

I have run into this numerous times since ive bought the card, its just random. I assume the drivers crash as the sound "changes" and i realize that the sound card is not working properly as the drivers seem to be missing. So i try and re-install drivers and i get the above message. Usually it requires multiple shutdowns and/or reboots to finally have the system recognize the sound card and get the drivers installed. Today, nothing is working, hence im finally writing a review. This is the last creative product i'll buy. While their cards usually sound good, either there are driver issues ive had in the past or now this awesome error that it cannot find my card....even though my system finds it and installs default windows drivers and sound works, though poorly.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/23/2015 4:40:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > M-AUDIO > M-AUDIO Delta 44 24-bit 96KHz PCI/Break Out Port Interface Professional 4-In-4-Out Audio Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Audio Interface
Pros: I bought and used this when I first got into audio engineering in 2009, looking back I now realize what an amazing choice I had went with while knowing so little about the industry. Used it on a windows XP rig with Pro Tools 7. If you use it in conjunction with a small mixer with xlr inputs you are just as effective as the standard USB audio interfaces (just no midi). Worked flawlessly up until the point I decided of retiring my XP computer. Thinking of slapping it on my Windows 7 machine just for fun but I hear it does not work so well with that. It is just so simple and does a great job of recording audio. I used it for Guitar stuff mostly.
Cons: The fact that it is so simple can be a con. Does not have many options in the way of connection types. Still was not a problem for me.
Other Thoughts: This product is a little outdated and not supported by current DAW software. Just want to give it some much needed appreciation .
Reviewed By:MR4,3/22/2015 10:26:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.