Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Pretty, but a huge pile of $#!^
Pros: -Pretty in my case (Even though the nice looking part faces down, so you can't really see anything except the PCB back anyway)
Cons: I've had this card for a couple years now.... but only because I'm too lazy or too nervous to spend another $100+ on a sound card after this one.
The program used with this device is the worst I've ever used. 99% of the time I try to open it to make some adjustments it freezes and crashes. If i want to play a game I have to restart the computer and then the SB program will work for an hour, but If I try to get back in and adjust something again it freezes and crashes.

I have re-downloaded the drivers and all several times. This card just refuses to work right.
The sound profiles are HORRIBLE.
Almost every feature except the Scout Mode (for hearing footsteps more clear in games) is worthless.

I don't think I could ever buy another SB card.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely NOT recommend this card.
$100-$120 is 4X what it's worth.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/29/2016 11:40:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: It works sometimes.
Cons: The program for the card is horrible. When you test the 7.1 sound the sound doesn't come out right. An example would be when i tested the right back audio it would play from the left. I would have to repeatedly keep clicking the sound test until it can out of the correct side. The sound also sometimes goes mono to stereo randomly.
Other Thoughts: Save your money for a better one.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/29/2016 11:07:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster ZxR PCIe 124dB SNR Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 sound card not found almost every startup
Pros: beautiful sound when it works.. but
Cons: sound card not found almost every startup- have to pull the card and reseat, happens again the very next day- main sound card not found. Have found so may people have this same problem and creative support is useless and nonexistent. Believe creative drivers conflict with way too many items. Am using windows 10, am a very experienced user
Other Thoughts: after 20 years with creative, will never buy creative products again
Reviewed By:gary s.,4/26/2016 9:34:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Epic Sound Card for Music and Movies... Even better for gaming.
Pros: -Superior sound over any on board device
-Excellent software suite to customize audio quality/inputs/outputs
-Looks Cool
-Audiophile quality sound when connected to high quality headphones/headset or Hi Fidelity audio receiver/amplifier
-Really enhances the audio quality and positioning in Blu-rays and Games.
-FULL EAX SUPPORT NOT EMULATED!!!
Cons: -Driver updates are not often
-Using Alchemy to re-enable EAX in older games (however this is a limitation of MS windows and not Creative labs)
-Not 7.1 only 5.1
Other Thoughts: -Buy this now if you even have a half way respectable rig or if you enjoy high quality sound of any kind.
-A PC gamer who does not have a sound card is not a real PC gamer.
-If you buy this also get quality speakers/headphones/amplifier. It is only going to sound as good as the speakers/amplifier you connect it to.
Reviewed By:Brandon W.,4/25/2016 3:05:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 PCIe Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Honestly, this product delivers.
Pros: 1. I get the quality sound I was looking for.
2. The CD installer did more work than me.
3. I don’t hear any of that annoying static deep in the audio.
4. I get extra features from the CD where I’m allowed to Opt my game audio on listed games.
5. The Sound Blaster control panel was easy to understand.
6. Says here I need 1GB RAM (Random Access Memory) and an Intel chip with 2.20 Ghz+ (I'm glad its not demanding)
Cons: 1. Although easy to install in your PC, the CD installer gave me issue in the program it installed for (auto updater)? It kept claiming that services are too busy or whatever, to be able to update/ I don’t even know what its updating exactly (Drivers? Software for control panel? I don’t have a clue).
2. Another feature installed by the CD was that once scanning my PC for hardware or software for info it registered Windows 8.1 64bit (an OS I upgraded from, into Windows 10) so the software thinks I’m on windows 8, doesn’t seem to give me trouble at all but its slightly irritating for me to read mistake(s).
2. When I started with everything freshly installed, the sound quality from my music were fine and I didn’t get any static or disturbance. But! I noticed a small Tron like voice quality at the far end of my music but vanished, I don’t know what that’s all about but it might be the hardware and software adjusting as the Sound Blaster is at work.
Other Thoughts: We would have liked 7.1 Surround sound, but those are hard to find especially on a budget. But this 5.1 delivers just about the same quality that I wanted (mostly didn’t want static somewhere in the back of my music) (and yes this will cure that static issue) The Bass quality is a bit better than using Realtek Sound quality. But at least Realtek enabled me to hear from all 6 angles for speaker setup with my headphones, while Sound Blaster only allows Left and Right features and not back and front audio stimulation of speaker placement, hope it’s not hard to understand.

[[If your a windows 10 user, skip using the CD installer!]] you want to go to Creative's page to download the software that fits your OS, click on the "Software pack for windows 10" you don't want the update version (make sure to hit Agree to start download when you solve the small math question to identify if your human.. I guess animals use your PC). if you already installed the CD (its fine, this download will patch the mistakes then restart your PC) the Creative website for Sound Blaster: http://support.creative.com/downloads/?h=7
Reviewed By:Ricardo F.,4/25/2016 2:40:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works fine in Windows 10, not so much in PC Linux OS
Pros: Good price, good sound, has HD Audio front panel header. All worked perfectly in Windows 10 once driver downloaded from Asus website.
Cons: Could never get it to work properly under PC Linux OS with my Asrock 75 Pro4 MVP mainboard. I ordered this specifically because it is stated to be Linux friendly. It was seen and installed automatically but I could never get sound to my speakers from the on card jack. Sound was fine via the front panel headphone jack. I fiddled with Alsa mixer and Pulse Audio per every tick found on the web. Pulse Audion and Alsa mixer only ever showed the headphone option. Since they all worked fine in Windows I know the hardware is good. There is no option to change the driver in PCLOS. Finally gave up and installed a Soundblaster Audigy fx PCIe and it works perfectly in both Windows and Linux.
Other Thoughts: Probably ok for windows and the forums show many people with PClinuxOS also running it fine. Must be something specific to my setup. Be aware that Linux friendly is always relative.
Reviewed By:Bruce D.,4/25/2016 12:12:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Please read this review for S/PDIF users. Overall good card.
Pros: ++ Inexpensive compared to other comparable sound cards
++ Offers S/PDIF output
++ Software includes Equalizer with presets and D.S.P.
++ PCI interface. Doesn't eat up a PCIe slot.
++ Originally didn't detect on my MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) desktop mother board. Luckily I saved this little guy for my ASRock EP2C602-4L/D16 SSI EEB Server Motherboard and it works great.
Cons: -- Instructions for setting up the sound card software in order to use S/PDIF would have really helped.
-- You have to select which output your using in the software to use it (i.e No auto detect when headphones are plugged in)
Other Thoughts: S/PDIF PLEASE READ: If you use S/PDIF like me, you have to install and open up the XONAR equalizer software and select the option PCM. Then your card will finally output sound. (The software comes on a disk with the card.) I had no sound and Windows showed everything working fine until, after about two hours, I found that you have to select a box called PCM (Pulse-Code Modulation) in the XONAR EQ software.

Pulse-code modulation (PCM) is a method used to digitally represent sampled analog signals. It is the standard form of digital audio in computers, Compact Discs, digital telephony and other digital audio applications. -Google


And as stated before, you have to select which output your using to use it. If you plug in headphones the card wont auto-detect it and switch accordingly. You have to select it in the software. Not a big deal if you don't switch all the time, but just to let you know.


Overall, I like this card. It was inexpensive and offered an S/PDIF output since I hook the card up to a Dolby Receiver.
I recommend this card if you want audio for a Serve/Workstation motherboard that doesn't include on-board sound.
Reviewed By:Allan S.,4/24/2016 8:59:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Zx 116 dB PCIe Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wow...I'm truly blown away by the sound quality.
Pros: I have been building my own gaming rigs since the late 80s. Usually use Asus and other well known cards. Used to avoid Creative for some problem I had back in 1991 I cant even remember. I fried another Asus Xonar DSX card.....tried to replace it with an external Asus card...huge install problem and conflicts. Went to Best Buy and bought this card today for 91.00 with tax. Have not used the little knob control that comes with it. What I can tell you is the sound is like nothing I have heard on a PC yet. Its ....there just are not enough surpurlativves to cover what the sound is like. Clear....angelic, warm, deep...bass on bass with amazing highs. It's like having a whole new computer. I have all this high end gear...head phones and 7.1 Klip speakers....equalizers and great mics (I do live streaming of games on a high end rig on Twitch TV)....and this sound card made all that sound like its finally using its full potential. I'm can't stress enough. The sound quality is at LEAST double....probably more. If you think your getting a good deal out of a 35 or 60 dollar Sound Card with high end gear .....you have a huge bottleneck you wouldn't believe till you hear the difference. I like Newegg and have been a customer here a long time so I preferred to write this here instead of Best Buy.....the price here is cheaper too btw...if you take free shipping.
Cons: Little large for a card.....chunky. Takes a PCI Express ONLY and its own power plug from the power supply obviously. Not to big to cause install problem but in a tiny case it may cause a bit of a headache.
Other Thoughts: Has a super cool Red glow on it.....light effects. I have a blue system inside with blue lights and liquid cooled blue fluid pumping inside the case. Really adds a great effect. Looks very High End. Like a 1000 dollar Graphics card or something. Nice addition to a Modded case. Again....just cant say enough about the sound quality. Brought my kids in to hear their fav games over the headphones after installing and they just couldn't believe it. You could get the model without the little controller knob if you want to save a little. I didn't even install mine....not exactly sure what its for to be honest. My mics and all components are already plugged in and it seems to be redundant as well as bulky and not easy to find a spot to put out of the way.
Reviewed By:Benjamin B.,4/23/2016 8:48:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DGX 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Gaming Audio Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 pretty good
Pros: Sounds much better than onboard audio.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,4/23/2016 4:52:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar U5 5.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz USB Interface Compact Sound Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It's easy to setup, but it's not a great product
Pros: Makes it easy to locate my speakers away from my desktop
Cons: Nothing but snow from front channels - I've only had it for 6 weeks
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this product, and given the fact that it died so soon, I can't recommend any ASUS products
Manufacturer Response:Dear John,

Hello, I would like to thank you for taking your time in writing this review. We certainly value your feedback. It is unfortunate that you have difficulty with your unit. Can you please elaborate on the issues you are having so I can further assist you? Please contact me at cl-justin@asus.com and I will help you to the best of my abilities. I'm here to assist our customers with our products and dedicated in bringing a resolution to all issues that they may come across. Your case for reference is #N160465377

Thanks for choosing ASUS

Regards,
Justin
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:john b.,4/21/2016 1:59:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.