Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 19pin Header Card with Dual Type-A Femal Ports Cable, Mini PCI-Express Form Factor Model SD-MPE20142

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Fine For A Red Hat Linux System
Pros: The latest version of Red Hat Linux recognized the card without any issues or additional drivers.
Cons: This is a full-sized card. My mini-ITX motherboard takes a half-sized card. The card size should have been mentioned in description. I was able to plug in the card at an odd angle to test out the functionality. I'm planning to buy a riser cable to overcome this particular issue.
Other Thoughts: I ordered a 6" Molex-to-FDD cable. The FDD connector for my power supply is on a thick, stiff cable that's difficult to move around in tight quarters and may break off the connector on the card. The Molex-to-FDD cable worked well for my situation.
Reviewed By:Christopher R.,5/1/2016 4:24:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Orico > ORICO PVU3-502I Monster USB3.0 PCI - Express Card with 5 Rear USB3.0 Ports and 1x Internal USB3.0 20-PIN Connector Controller Adapter Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Idea was good
Pros: 5 more USB 3 Ports
Cons: I assume the one that I originally got was defective I am going to try a replacement
Other Thoughts: Reading other reviews I noticed that other customers where having their hardware balmed. I am going to attempt a replacement, but if ORICO blames my hardware I will return it.
The device was plugged to two different cables (one which was powering something else prior)
Manufacturer Response:Dear John,

Much appreciate for choosing ORICO as your preference.

We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

For the defective product within warranty, we can send you a replacement.

Should you have any further problem ,please feel free to contact us

Our email address is newegg@orico.com.cn, we will try our best to help you.

Hope to hear from you again and thanks again for choosing ORICO as your preference.

Best Regards

Customer Care Team

Reviewed By:John B.,4/30/2016 8:36:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE USB 3.1 Add-on Card Model GC-USB3.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as expected, haven't tested the Type C port yet.
Pros: USB 3.0 devices are working as expected in the Type A slot and running at their expected speeds. The card is in a PCI-e 2.0 x16 slot.
Cons: I'm not taking off an Egg for it, but the Type A port is upside down I'm pretty sure. Or my really old card slot USB 2.0 thing that uses a motherboard header was upside down. The LED on a USB stick faces downward though, so I think it's probably the card. Somebody out there might care about that for some reason, so it's been mentioned.
Other Thoughts: I haven't bought a new phone with a Type C connector yet, so I can't say how well that works or if Quick Charging is supported via the card.
Reviewed By:Paul D.,4/29/2016 10:03:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Orico > ORICO PVU3-502I Monster USB3.0 PCI - Express Card with 5 Rear USB3.0 Ports and 1x Internal USB3.0 20-PIN Connector Controller Adapter Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great and Perfect for the deal!
Pros: Great PCI Express card. I bought a few of these for our tech machines at my store we have used these with hard drive dock stations and other units for quick transfer speeds. These are affordable and great for long use!
Cons: None!
Reviewed By:Dustin E.,4/29/2016 10:24:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > STARTECH > StarTech 4 Port PCI Express PCIe SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Controller Card Adapter with SATA Power - Low Profile Model PEXUSB3S4V

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 almost works.
Pros: none
Cons: The ports are oriented in a way to interfere with case slots making inserting anything a very clumsy and close to imposable thing to do.
The fit into the PCI slot is very slack and does not feel secure at all.

The worst is that I can get this to work once, after either 1 day or 1 restarts it no longer works. To get it to work again requires not only a physical reinstall but also a reinstall of "drivers" or whatever soft wear is being installed from the disk.
Requires CD Rom drive to load drivers. I could not find them on line.
Reviewed By:Aaron A.,4/28/2016 11:06:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 PCI-e x1 2.0 Card with 2 External ports and internal 19 Pin USB 3.0 Header Model SD-PEX20139

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Faultless install on W10 Pro
Pros: Small, small low profile bracket and molex to SATA power converter included.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Installed card, plugged in power and the USB 3.0 internal plug. closed case, powered on. Windows 10 pro booted and installed the driver for the Renesas chip and we were good to go. Getting very good R/W speeds on an external USB 3 4TB drive of 160 MB/s (Crystalmark 1GB Seq Q32T1). Very satisfied so far. USB 3.0 cards generally appear to be somewhat of a minefield with very few good and reliable ones at reasonable cost out there.
Reviewed By:Robbin N.,4/28/2016 5:18:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > STARTECH > StarTech 2 Port PCI Express PCIe SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Controller Card w/ SATA Power Model PEXUSB3S23

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A piece of garbage
Pros: None
Cons: It cannot make more than 125 MB/s Read. Obviously Writes are no more than 110 MB/s. It is not a USB 3.0 card. It is just less than double compared to USB 2.0 specs. Tested both in ATTO and CDM
Other Thoughts: Do not buy it, not worth it
Reviewed By:Vitaly B.,4/27/2016 7:20:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Atech Flash Technology > AFT USB 3.1 Gen II PCIe Host Card Type-A and Type-C Ports Model Blackbird MX-1

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 USB 3.0 Speeds, Not 3.1 or 3.1 Gen 2
Pros: Inexpensive and two ports. Solid USB 3.0 performance.
Cons: Have yet to break 3.0 speeds. I've downloaded the latest drivers. Reinstalled. Found the chipset and checked the speeds. Top transfer speeds are around 90/MBs which is what I get from my USB 3.0. A Google search of the chipset shows that no one has broken 100MB/s. Check for yourself. Model is ASMT 2135
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for USB 3.1 speeds, this is not the card. It is advertised as a USB 3.1 Gen 2, but NO ONE seems to get those results. I'm going to test my 3.1 HD enclosure on native 3.1/Thunderbolt3 system to verify it's not something else. I will update if it's not the card.
Reviewed By:Rigo C.,4/27/2016 7:20:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Vantec > VANTEC 6-Port SATA II 150 PCI Host Card Model UGT-ST310R

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good SATA/ESATA PCI Card
Pros: Adds ESATA and SATA ports to an older machine with PCI slots but no PCIE slots.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: A good choice for adding SATA/ESATA ports to an older machine. This card has four SATA internal ports, and two ESATA ports on the bracket. Up to four ports can be used at a time. Whether one or two SATA ports can be used, or one or both ESATA ports can be used is controlled by a jumper block on the card. By default, all four SATA ports are enabled, and both ESATA ports are disabled. This card also has RAID functionality, which I haven't tested. Works fine for me under windows XP SP3, and under devuan GNU/linux. Transfer rates over ESATA approach 150M for me, or SATA I speed, which is what I expected.
Reviewed By:Gregory N.,4/27/2016 12:05:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-505 - 2-Port USB 3.0 PCI Express Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fast , but a pain to set up
Pros: Cheap , and fast.
Works good....When you get it working.
Cons: As others have stated , it's a pain to set up (hence the 4 eggs).
I was prepared for this.
Plugged it into my Windows 10 home server to see if windows would pick it up (nope).
Installed drivers from disk (saw device in device manager but wouldn't read any drives).
Uninstalled the drivers , and rebooted.
Downloaded and installed drivers from Rosewill , and it worked.
See other thoughts...
Other Thoughts: After I got it to work , it is working good.
Getting write times with a 4 BAY USB 3.0 enclosure @ an average of 110 MBps (While I have the drives mirrored using Window's Storage Spaces).
It ocassionally dipped below 50 MBps (to be fair , I have MANY folders with many sub-folders in them).

After I got it working , I am happy with it.

BTW , USB 2.0 flash drives averaged around 30+ MBps in it.
Reviewed By:Jeff B.,4/26/2016 7:07:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.