Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > SUNIX > SUNIX USB3.0 4-port PCI Express Host Controller with SATA Power Connector Model USB4300NS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DONT DO IT
Pros: NO PROS CARD NEVER WORKED
Cons: Card never worked and the Tech Support form SUNIX does not exist. I will NEVER BUY ANYTHING from SUNIX again
Other Thoughts: Stay away from SUNIX
Reviewed By:Rebecca B.,9/24/2016 10:04:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > SUNIX > SUNIX SER6427A+L 1-port RS-232 PCI Express Board

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SUNIX SER6427A+L 1-port RS-232 PCI Express Board
Pros: I have a high $$ Dell Optiplex i7 with 8 USB ports and one serial com port. I needed 2 serial & 1 LPT port. I tried a pricey StarTech PCI card that wasn't recognized. I had come across a review of my PC by someone trying to add the same ports with the same brand card with the same results. I tried an inexpensive Rosewill PCI card that seemed to work fine but caused an intermittent mouse cursor movement hesitation that usually preceded a system freeze up. I tried this Sunix card mainly since it was PCIe but it performed fine and was a snap to install the drivers from CD. After it started working it seems the instability has vanished. I think going to PCIe was a good plan. I moved the card from the PCIe 1X slot it was in to the Dell's PCIe 16X (wired as 8X) slot and it didn't skip a beat other than going from Com9 to 10. I have ordered another Sunix PCIe 1serial 1LPT card to complete my port rework. Film at eleven.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: if you are trying to add a real serial port and have a PCIe slot this might do the trick. I am running Win 7 Pro. It has a bunch of OS choices on the CD.
Reviewed By:William S.,9/23/2016 11:08:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-505 - 2-Port USB 3.0 PCI Express Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great, use drivers on CD
Pros: Extremely simple to set up and install.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/23/2016 9:33:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > VisionTek > VisionTek 4 Port USB 3.0 x1 PCIe Bus Powered Internal Card Model 900870

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Device will not start
Pros: none yet
Cons: After installing card and running the CD driver software, the Device Manager says the device will not start.
Reviewed By:David H.,9/23/2016 1:43:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Vantec > VANTEC 4-Port SuperSpeed USB 3.0 PCIe Host Card w/ Internal 20-Pin Connector Model UGT-PC345

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Adds USB 3
Pros: Stays connected, no drop outs. Windows 7 and 10 automatically install drivers
Cons: Nothing.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/23/2016 11:07:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Orico > ORICO PVU3-5O2U USB3.0 7 - Ports Desktop PCI - Express Card with VL800 & VL812 USB 3.0 Controller

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT BUY
Pros: NONE
Cons: when i plugged the power cable in the solder holding the power adapter on the card broke off (leaving it hanging by the wire connections)
My computer would not boot when i plugged it in. I unplugged it, tried to install the drivers, and failed. I pulled the card out and threw it in the trash.
Reviewed By:Scott W.,9/22/2016 9:50:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Firewire 1394A 3+1 Ports Low Profile PCI Card Model BT-FW310LV

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Will not work on Windows 7 Crashes BSOD Parit Check Error
Pros: Good price but will not work at all in Windows 7
Cons: Crashes pc every time just after bootup in Windows 7, BSOD Blue Screen, Parity Error, no way to use this.
Reviewed By:George K.,9/20/2016 4:40:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-508 USB 3.0 PCI-E Express Card with 4 USB 3.0 Ports, Speed Up to 5.0 Gbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Working great on Linux / Ubuntu 16.04, plug and play
Pros: I bought it for use on Linux using Ubuntu 16.04. No issues, just connect it and it works. I havent done extensive speed tests but it seems good to me.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Julio L.,9/18/2016 11:45:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Sabrent > SABRENT USB 3.0 4-Port PCI Express Card Model CP-4PTU

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does NOT WORK
Pros: size is small
Cons: Does not work with WINDOWS 10
Does not work with OCULUS RIFT
Other Thoughts: If you have windows 10 or oculus rift stay clear! I just wasted my money on this
Reviewed By:Jonathan C.,9/18/2016 2:12:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > STARTECH > StarTech 1 Port Native PCI Express RS232 Serial Adapter Card with 16950 UART

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Windows 7 didn't autoload a driver - had to pull the one off the supplied mini-CD. This worked right away.
Pros: Bulletproof. Simple. Just works.
Cons: Confusing on whether you have to do anything with the jumpers. Set them for windows (have Win7 Pro). Worked fine. Suspect it doesn't matter.
Other Thoughts: This is old technology that interfaces with the PCIe bus. Has jumper option to provide power through the DB-7 connector. On my machine, came up on COM8 & COM9.
Reviewed By:Richard T.,9/18/2016 9:32:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.