Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA 2 Serial (RS-232, DB9) Ports PCI Controller Card, Full & Low Profile Brackets, WCH351 Chipset Model SD-PCI15039

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works with all versions of Windows
Pros: Works with all versions of Windows (XP thru Windows 10)
Cons: Instructions leave much to be desired, the support software comes with the board on CD but supports multiple products. Easy to load the wrong driver, looses an egg for this.
Other Thoughts: Like many of the boards today this board comes from China. It appears to be nicely made flow soldered and good hardware. Also includes a shorty bracket for low profile cases. I would purchase again.
Reviewed By:Dan,3/26/2015 3:32:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > SIIG, Inc > SIIG USB 3.0 4-Port PCIe i/e Model JU-P40212-S1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does the job like you want it to
Pros: Easy to install, good throughput, does exactly what i need it do
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2015 4:23:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > STARTECH > StarTech PCI Express to PCI Adapter Card Model PEX1PCI1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't work
Pros: Good concept. I am sure this is a life saver if it works but....
Cons: Didn't work, at least not for me. Have an Asus X99 Rampage V. Have my old PCI Claro Halo card and connected it to the motherboard. Windows 7 recognized it, I installed the drivers but the sound was very choppy. It lasted for 10 seconds and then the sound just gave out. I rebooted and got it back but it was an endless cycle, got choppy and eventually gave out.
Other Thoughts: You're taking a gamble on this. PCI cards, especially on motherboards which do not natively support them were never QA'd for them. Good thing is that this adapter has a standard return policy so I should be able to return it. Hope the rest of you have better luck than I did. :)
Manufacturer Response:Dear Randy,

We wanted to reach out to you and apologize for the experience you had with our adapter card.

Our PEX1PCI1 essentially functions as a bridge adapter between the PCI card and PCI Express expansion slot. Perhaps the issue you are experiencing is related to the sound card you were installing, or the drivers for that device? If at all possible, is there another computer with a free PCI slot that you can try installing the card into for testing purposes?

Additionally, we recommend ensuring the 4-pin Molex power connector is connected properly to an available Molex plug on your power supply.

If you have not yet returned the card, you can feel free to contact us and reference case number 303-210659; we would be happy to help troubleshoot your issue.

You can also respond here and we will be sure to follow up with you!

Customer Support
StarTech.com
http://www.startech.com/techsupport

Reviewed By:Randman76,3/25/2015 7:09:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > STARTECH > StarTech 4 Port SuperSpeed USB 3.0 PCI Express Card with SATA Power Model PEXUSB3S4

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Works well in 8.1, ok in 7. fast and easy to set up!!! Its red, matches my Rog motherboard, lol.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Twistty,3/25/2015 5:23:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > STARTECH > StarTech 4-Port PCI-Express SATA III 6Gbps RAID Controller Card Model PEXSAT34RH

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 More about PEXSAT34RH: Answering Terry D.'s question
Pros: You can see my earlier reviews on this. Egg sent me an e-mail suggesting someone found those reviews useful, and I find a recent reviewer asking about a "hybrid-drive" setup for this controller.

There are a few solution options to simply buying a "hybrid" drive which are much better: Intel ISRT SSD-caching; Marvell Hyper-Duo SSD-caching; and general caching software like Romex Primo-Cache (which has proven that the proprietary limitation(s) of options like ISRT or Samsung RAPID are not a limitation to achieving the same result by other means).

All you need for either HyperDuo (a feature of the PEXSAT34RH) or the Romex software is a 40 to 60GB SSD, but you could use a larger one, contrary to the 64GB limit in Intel's ISRT. If you want to use the inherent features of the Startech card, you can read their instructions and do it that way. If you want to use Primo-Cache, follow that approach.

You don't need an SATA-III HDD and certainly you don't need a "hybrid" HDD. One or more reliable, high-capacity SATA-II HDDs would be just as good. You only need to assure that the caching SSD is connected to an SATA-III port -- which would be the case with either Marvell Hyper-Duo or Primo-Cache using the PEXSAT34RH
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I'll think of some, if there's a need or someone asks.
Reviewed By:BonzaiDuck,3/25/2015 12:42:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Transcend > Transcend USB 3.0 Dual Expansion Card PCI Express Interface Model TS-PDU3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: The old PC needed USB III. Plugged this in a slot. I'm using a USB III 4-Port HUB with this. No problems.
I run Linux (primarily MX 14.4) on a multi-boot PC. No problems with any Linux that I use.
Cons: I had to bring out a power connector. This is not really a con as I like the fact that it has one.
Other Thoughts: Never close a PC up after making a modification without booting it. I managed to disconnect a case fan in the process of installation. Easily fixed.
Reviewed By:lucky9,3/25/2015 11:57:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-304 - 2-Port Parallel (SPP / PS2 / EPP / ECP) Universal PCI Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Adendum to my eariler review
Pros: Great add on LPT card
Cons: None as of yet.
Other Thoughts: I figured out how to change the LPT designation to LPT1.
It was a lot easier than all the googling and reading stuff that didn't work. Why people in the forums take 30 minutes finding links to post rather than taking 5 minutes or less to answer a question. This turned out to be easy as pie. Use device manager to disable LPT1, then change LPT3 to LPT1. Viola. Working fine now. You may have to re-install your printer driver to recognize this change.
Reviewed By:stumblebum,3/23/2015 6:52:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA PCI-Express 1-Port DB9 RS232 Serial Card with Low Profile Bracket - RoHS Model SD-PEX15021

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Wonderful. I have been wrestling with a cyber power ups with a serial interface for almost 3 years now. My computer would only sometimes recognize the UPS using the provided serial to usb adapter. Win7 64bit.
Installed this card and it immediately recognized the ups.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Ken_Wood,3/23/2015 11:47:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-304 - 2-Port Parallel (SPP / PS2 / EPP / ECP) Universal PCI Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Rosewill RC-304 Printer Port Card
Pros: Finally got around to installing this card.
Works great on LPT3.
Cons: This card works great on LPT3.
Can't get it swapped to LPT1.
Other Thoughts: I needed a LPT port on the back plate. The cable supplied with the MB would not reach the back plate when plugged into the MB printer header.

Problem is, I have a software program that looks for my dongle on LPT1. Plugging the dongle into the supplied cable lying inside the case doesn't work because software program will only print to LPT1. I haven't as yet been able to switch this card from LPT3 to LPT1. Can't find anything in the Bios or on the card that allows port changing.

Googling it is no help. Everything I find leads me to the same spot in device manager wherein I don't have the option the directions tell me to select. Running windows 7 ultimate.

I only gave it 4 eggs because of this problem.
Reviewed By:stumblebum,3/22/2015 10:17:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > SIIG, Inc > SIIG 4-Port USB 2.0 Hi-Speed PCI-E Card Model JU-P40112-S1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Worked out of box. Windows 7 32x loaded NEC drivers on boot up.
Cons: A bit expensive for a USB 2.0 card. Regardless it works!
Reviewed By:N/A,3/21/2015 9:55:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.