Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Thermaltake > Thermaltake MAX 4 N0003US Aluminum & Plastic 3.5" SATA II & SATA I USB2.0 & eSATA Combo External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Max 4 stopped connecting to my PCs w Windows 7, Vista, XP MCE 2005
Pros: Hitachi 2TB was used to back up three PCs. I briefly had it connected to my Asus M70 X1 Notebook to download my audios.
Cons: it stopped connecting. I tried connecting Max 4 to two desktops. There was an error code on this Windows 7 desktop calling it an unknown device in Devices and Printers.It said: "Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)"
Other Thoughts: How to get it connected again for more back ups?
Reviewed By:afcw1969,1/27/2015 9:53:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > BYTECC INC > BYTECC DVD-100U3 Plastic Black SATA I/II USB 3.0 USB 3.0 External Slim O.D.D. Enclosure for Slim-SATA O.D.D. Devices

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worked OK until conenctor broke
Pros: Easy slide-in installation
Includes mounting screws (VERY IMPORTANT)
Supports external power supply if USB power insufficient
Compatible
Cons: Power switch labelled backwards
Bulky compared to other enclosures
Other Thoughts: Used this intermittently over a couple of years, most recently with an LG BT30N. Today I plugged the USB cable into the back and the entire connector fell through into the case. I removed the drive and retrieved the USB connector which had sheared off from its PCB mounting. This is POOR DESIGN as the connector is obviously not affixed to the PCB/enclosure sufficiently sturdy to withstand the force of repeated cable plugging.
Reviewed By:mike_s,1/27/2015 5:44:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Thermaltake > Thermaltake BlacX 5G ST0019U ABS Plastic 2.5" & 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB 3.0 Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Convenient!
Pros: Good speeds. Very convenient.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Bought for work because I have to test hard drives quite often. Don't notice a difference in speed between this device and being hooked up internally.
Reviewed By:Jeff G.,1/27/2015 2:40:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill R2-JBOD Aluminum 3.5" SATA I/II USB 2.0 DUAL-BAY External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great for me as an NAS
Pros: I got an ASUS router with a USB plug, so I thought I'd try this enclosure out as an NAS. Works great for me. I like the 'jumbo' option. I put 2 1TB drives in it, flipped the jumbo switch, and it looks like a 2TB drive. The enclosure is well made and easy to load with 3.5" drives. I store movies and TV shows on this network-attached drive and am able to share and access this drive from every device on my network. It's seamless and has been up and running 24/7 with no problems for 6-7 months.
Cons: It's only USB 2.0, but the router is only 2.0 as well, so I'm not really losing anything with this application.
Other Thoughts: I'm going to get another one and use it for the same thing.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/27/2015 9:02:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > Orico 6518SUS3-BK USB3.0 & E-SATA SATA HDD Docking Station Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ORICO 6518SUS3-BK
Pros: Very easy to use
It works
Build is nice.
Included cables
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Works great. Simple. Previously used enclosures - not any more. This is simple and fast. Perfect.
Reviewed By:Dazs867,1/27/2015 7:40:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Cavalry Storage Inc. > Cavalry "Retriever" Series EN-CAHDD2BU3C-ZB 2.5" & 3.5" Black Standalone SATA Hard Drive Duplicator + USB 3.0 Dual-Bay Dock

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Has worked flawlessly for about two years!
Pros: The Cavalry duplicator has been a solid back-up solution when we need to image. It will provide a clone from a drive, to any (same or larger) drive in a few hours. The low cost allows us to purchase several, if we need to expand our duplication bandwidth.
Cons: It takes a long time to copy drives, no matter the amount of data.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the investment
Reviewed By:N/A,1/27/2015 7:13:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 6629US3-C USB 3.0 Dual Bay 2.5-inch and 3.5-inch SATA Hard Drive Docking Station with Stand Alone Clone Function

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Day 1 - Impressions
Pros: Product packaging: Good quality
Starts up without issues.
Power cable is a brick style but has a long lead on both ends of the brick itself.
Cons: Most of these devices tend to leave their buttons on the back of the dock so if you place it in a harder place to reach it can be cumbersome.
Other Thoughts: I haven't tried the clone feature but for the price I'm happy with the dual dock. The LED's are bright enough to see.
Reviewed By:Techone,1/26/2015 8:50:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK MB559U3S-1SB Aluminum / Plastic 3.5" Matt Black SATA I/II/III USB3.0 & eSATA Professional Ultra Slim External Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Enclosure
Pros: eSATA performance is perfect. Build is high quality.
Cons: None. Everything about the enclosure is well thought out.
Other Thoughts: I work as an IT consultant. I use external enclosures for backup and image purchases. I used to use a lot of Vantec's products, but I discovered that many of them have difficulty with eSATA locking up under load. Switching to this product has solved all these issues.
Reviewed By:SOREN S.,1/26/2015 6:36:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Mediasonic > Mediasonic H82-SU3S2 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB3.0 & eSATA ProBox 8 Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well for intended purporses.
Pros: esata and USB 3.0 connection
8 Bays
Cons: Doesn't hold 2.5" drives, also comes with no adapters for 2.5" drives.
Other Thoughts: I have both the raid and non-raid version of this enclosure. Each of them their have pros and cons. Which I don't think is clearly stated. The non-raid version is only going to give the option for 8 individual drives. There are software options if you want do any mirroring, spanning, and or parity. But the box itself does not do any of these functions. This is a good enclosure if you plan to use different drives and store data on certain drives.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/26/2015 1:38:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Kingwin Inc. > KINGWIN USI-2535SIU3 Black SuperSpeed USB 3.0 to SATA/IDE Drive Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 The product is Great just not the USB cable
Pros: Its just like the previous Kingwin I bought, but now with USB 3.0!
Cons: Unlike the previous Kingwin the USB 3.0 stock cable was continuously disconnecting/reconnecting. I had to use a separate USB 3.0 cable to prevent this. Which is a shame because the cable seemed more robust that the one I ended up using.
Other Thoughts: Check the USB cable with another device (ie a DVD-Drive) just incase of my situation.
Reviewed By:GBPS2,1/26/2015 10:00:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.