Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX35-AT-SC SLV Full Aluminum Cover, Metal Tray 3.5" Silver USB2.0 & eSATA External Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Basic Enclosure
Pros: Simple install. Easy to connect to a desktop or laptop..
Cons: No fan. I prefer to have some sort of ventilation fan to help keep it cool when in use but it seems that enclosures with fans built in are rare these days..
Other Thoughts: Used this with an older 500GB Western Digital Black Caviar HD and had no issues installing it or using it on my desktop or laptop.
Reviewed By:RVR2,7/11/2014 4:53:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX234 Aluminum & plastic 2.5" IDE to USB 2.0 External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Outstanding value
Pros: Size is simply as big as it needs to be to hold the drive securely. Weight is good, heavy cast aluminum construction, with plastic end caps. Undermentioned in the text is that there is a socket for providing external 5VDC power using a (not included) power supply, so both USB plugs may not be necessary. Everything you need is provided, including spare screws, screwdriver and a soft carry case. Do note: This is an IDE enclosure, not SATA!
Cons: Not necessarily a con. The screws that hold the end caps to the enclosure are *tiny*! Use a toothpick tip to apply the tiniest drop of nail polish to the screw threads to ensure they don't work loose during normal handling. Use care starting the screws into the threads, and do NOT apply excessive force. It is not needed to hold the caps in place and the threads will strip if you try to tighten the screws down. None of mine stripped and I still have two spares, if I need them.
Other Thoughts: Just what I needed, with nice accessory package. It is a high quality bargain in its price point class.
Reviewed By:Psiberware,7/11/2014 3:26:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO PHX-35 -GY 3.5 " Hard Disk Drive HDD Protector / Protective Box / Storage Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great backup drive storage protection!
Pros: Nice soft fabric interior
Fits Well
Can fit 2-3 2.5" HDD/SSD
Cheap
Nice Quality
Correct latch
Cons: It could bring extra stickers for the case
Other Thoughts: I ordered one of these after not ending up perfectly satisfied with a Orico PHI-35 (not that it's a bad item, simply that I didn't like sliding the drive in and out). After the first one arrived, I immediately ordered two more! The price is right, and the quality is great. It doesn't feel like cheap plastic. Only the sticker looks like it might haven been placed with little care, or that it might eventually come off, but that doesn't matter too much, anyway.

As for protection, virtually no case is going to make you feel like it isn't a big deal to drop an HDD on the floor, so forget that. The protection is correct: a soft interior, no shifting around while closed, protector from light splashes and dust. In that, it pretty much excels. and what I liked most was the interior! it has a soft, microfiber like material with the orico logo imprinted, and I just loved how it felt. I can only imagine that it makes me feel better than the hard drive, but so be it. In any case, it's a world better than those cheap foam interiors from the competition.

In summary, it's a great product at a great price, and I recommend it.
Reviewed By:mvs90,7/11/2014 10:20:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > T-Mod Enterprise Co., ltd. > Archgon MH-2612 USB 3.0 2.5" Screwless Aluminum Enclosure for SATA hard drive/SSD Black Hairline Surface

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: Works.
Cons: Screwless only to open the case. Screws are included to hold the drive to the base. You have to use screws.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/11/2014 6:09:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF2-SU3S2 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB3.0 & eSATA 4 Bay External Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Odd but Functional
Pros: + The device does work and supports multiple drives using a USB 3 interface.
+ The device sustains very reasonable speeds from what I honestly expected from the product.
Cons: - Did take a while to get functional (maybe an hour or two of messing around with it, before I became smart)
- Fan can be freaking loud, not really a con for me since I run a desk fan and my tower is like a jet taking off regardless.
- The eSATA interface didn't really want to work with me. I didn't play around with it much, but the device recognized it was plugged in by eSATA, Windows just didn't recognize it. I didn't check if my BIOS recognized it, however.
Other Thoughts: The device is very, very useful to me already. I only have two drives in it right now, and one is temporary, but I plan on filling it to the brim with whatever I can fit in it.
It did take a little playing around to get it to work. I tried using the eSATA interface that is on the front of my tower (my motherboard doesn't have an eSATA port), and it simply didn't work (yes, it was plugged in, etc). As well, using the front USB ports on my tower caused the connection to drop out, quite a lot. I since moved it to a USB 3 port on the back of my computer, that is part of the motherboard, and I've had no drop-outs since. It appears that the front USB ports possibly cannot sustain the drive enclosure, but maybe my tower just came with some weird USB 3 ports (because the ports work with everything else just fine).
Reviewed By:Lildirt,7/11/2014 5:30:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Five Star Inc > All in 1 2.5" 3.5" Dual USB 2.0 SATA IDE HDD Docking Station Hub Card Reader OTB

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: nothing yet
Cons: 1st - my newer 500g IDE drives will not fit. I had an older 40g layin around and it slid right in. 2nd - the usb connector does not slid in all the way, so is sure to fall out or bend too much and damage the hub connector. 3rd - power plug is not too tight either. 4th - there is a switch on the bottom that is not in the manual. I looked, and might have missed it. 5th - I waited 2 weeks for this and the power supply dies in 5 min.
Other Thoughts: the switch moves the power connector for IDE drives
Reviewed By:N/A,7/10/2014 7:10:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK MB080USEB-1SB Blizzard Tool-Less FireWire 800, eSATA & USB External 3.5” SATA Hard Drive Enclosure with 80mm Fan - Retail

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 FW800 flakey then dead
Pros: Taking off the Star Wars fan front and using it as a dock, as mentioned in the manual, is a plus. Never had an external enclosure that actually recommended doing this. Some can function as a dock at all, others with varying degrees of being right for the role. The Blizzard, especially at this price, would be a great FW800 dock.
Cons: FW port was flakey for a day, which wash't as simple to troubleshoot as it could have been, having bought some new drives and updated to Mavericks the day it arrived. Unfortunately, it got easier in two days when the FW800 ports both died. USB2 still works but that's of no value. Likely the chip died. Doesn't seem to be anything the looks physically amiss regarding the connection, such as a bad solder or port connection.
Other Thoughts: Since I don't have USB3 on my most current MBP, a late 2011, I still use FW800 constantly, especially as it keeps drive use compatible with my other computers, all of which have FW800. I have no need for Thunderbolt storage at their price and function. Recently bought a handful of 4T drives which I knew most of my other enclosures couldn't handle, so this seemed like a great deal at less then half the price of the original price.

Oh well. I put off RMAing it out of sheer whatever, but now that's where it goes.
Reviewed By:Spigmu,7/10/2014 6:24:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill METAS BLACK Rigid Aluminum Body and ABS plastic top cover 3.5" USB3.0 & eSATA External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Excellent, annoying fan
Pros: Strong design, easy to install and change.
Cons: The fan on mine is noisy. It's adjustable in speed, but that doesn't help it much with noise sometimes. Eventually it stops, but will start again.
Other Thoughts: This is a well designed case with great ventalation. The sound of the fan being noisy is not enough for me to take down the rating though, as it does it's job with keeping the air flow. Great product and would highly recommend if you don't mind the fan sounding loud sometimes like there's something hitting it. I've tried adjusting the tightness of the screws for that, it doesn't make a difference. Still recommend you buy!
Reviewed By:DMMDestroyer,7/9/2014 10:28:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 6618SUS-WH 2.5"/3.5" SATA USB2.0 e-SATA Hard Drive Enclosure External Docking Station 12V/2.5A Power Adapter Included (White)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Does exactly what I wanted it to do.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:JT,7/9/2014 1:53:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX-DU101 Plastic 2.5" & 3.5" Black USB 2.0 Docking Station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: none
Cons: finally opened these to use them to back up data and of the two I ordered both of them are dead on the first try to use them.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/9/2014 7:18:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau