Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > VANTEC NexStar SuperSpeed NST-D400SU3-BK Plastic 2.5" & 3.5" Black SATA USB3.0 & eSATA Dual Bay Hard Drive Dock

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent
Pros: The biggest pro is that this Vantec dock actually connects at USB 3.0 speeds to the USB 3.0 ports on my Asus P8Z77-V Pro motherboard under Windows 8.1. In general, very, VERY few of the USB 3.0 devices I've tried have managed this (even though they did so under Windows 7 just fine). Usually, they connect at only USB 2.0 speeds. Or, sometimes, they won't connect at all.
Cons: No real cons. I suppose I could stretch things to say that this dock is much bigger than the other docks I've used. But, that's pretty minor.
Other Thoughts: Right now, my testing is incomplete. It turns out that even though my motherboard uses SATA 3.0 (6 Gb/s) and USB 3.0 (5 Gb/s), the drives I have for backups are all capable of just 3 Gb/s. I'm ordering a current drive and when it gets here, I'll update this review. But here are my HD Tune results for what I've got:

Western Digital WD640AALS (USB 3.0 numbers first, then eSATA numbers):
Minimum Transfer Rate = 61.3 MB/s and 61.3 MB/s
Maximum Transfer Rate = 110.9 MB/s and 103.0 MB/s
Average Transfer Rate = 92.1 MB/s and 89.3 MB/s
Access Time = 11.9 ms and 11.9 ms
Burst Rate = 111.4 MB/s and 78.9 MB/s
CPU Usage = 3.6% and 2.9%

Intel SSDSA2M160G2GC (USB 3.0 numbers first, then eSATA numbers):
Minimum Transfer Rate = 141.4 MB/s and 99.6 MB/s
Maximum Transfer Rate = 183.6 MB/s and 112.3 MB/s
Average Transfer Rate = 173.0 MB/s and 108.6 MB/s
Access Time = 0.1 ms and 0.1 ms
Burst Rate = 79.3 MB/s and 67.6 MB/s
CPU Usage = 6.4% and 3.5%

So, even the SSD is only reaching (very roughly) around half the real-world expected maximum of 300 MB/s for these drive. But, interestingly, using the USB 3.0 connector on the dock give significantly better performance that does using the eSATA connector.

We'll see what happens when I try a 6 Gb/s drive (coming soon).
Reviewed By:David A. Lessnau,9/19/2014 4:20:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX-358 V2 BLK (Black) 3.5" SATA to USB & eSATA Ext. Enclosure w/Int.80mm fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This is Number Five
Pros: Excellent product
FREE shipping
Great Price
Has eSATA- a really great plus
Has a fan- also a great plus
Cons: None
Reviewed By:jadinolf,9/19/2014 4:04:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Five Star Inc > Portable USB 2.0 2.5" inch SATA Hard Disk Drive External Case Enclosure Box pc laptop

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works really well
Pros: I expected the case to be thin and plastic-like. It is very sturdy and the Hard Drive fits in it perfectly. It even came with a little screw driver! Too bad it broke :(
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,9/19/2014 2:22:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > STARTECH > StarTech SLMSOPTB USB to Slimline CD/DVD Optical Drive Black External Enclosure - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with Blu-ray Drive
Pros: Easy to install
Comes with dual USB cable for power
Cons: Did not include faceplate for the drive
Other Thoughts: I had a dead Dell laptop with a CD/DVD burner and Blu-ray (read only) drive. Easy to install into the enclosure, and it works perfectly to play back Blu-ray movies with Cyberlink software. The only downside was since the original Dell faceplate was a weird slanted shape I had to find one that was flat from my spare parts. But once I found one that fit it has worked perfectly.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/19/2014 11:13:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO SuperSpeed USB 3.0/2.0 to 2.5"/3.5" SATA Hard Drive Docking Station - Support 3TB

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Product
Pros: Works well! Wish it had an eSATA connection, but USB 3.0 is much faster than 2.0.
Cons: None so far!
Other Thoughts: As I stated, an eSATA connection would have made this enclosure better. I also have a Rosewill dual 2.0 and eSATA enclosure, and tend to use it more because of the eSATA.
Reviewed By:bobbl,9/18/2014 5:07:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > MC Power Electronic > 893u2IS Multi-Function HDD Docking Station 2.5"/3.5" 2x SATA & 1x IDE HDD Docking Station Clone USB 2.0 HUB

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Product documentation
Pros: Product does work as a plug and play docking station as I am able to format a 2 TB SATA drive inserted. I have not tried the IDE drive nor have I tried the photo disk reading capability.
Cons: Documentation needs some improvement. Fortunately my wife speaks Chinese so calling the vendor was not a real issue except for the 12 hrs. difference. Driver software somewhat confusing as it includes setup files so I was able to install somewhat but Win OS does not recognize some because it is not on their list.
Other Thoughts: If wanting to clone, use SW documented in US or Europe. Also, even though PCClone EX software is downloadable I would question if it would operate with Win OS. or it would actually see the docking station.
Use for reading drives that were removed from computer and copy / paste to drives that were replaced in computer.
Reviewed By:jerry,9/18/2014 10:39:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Thermaltake > Thermaltake BlacX ST0005U External Hard Drive SATA Enclosure Docking Station 2.5" & 3.5" USB 2.0 & eSATA

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad switch design
Pros: None
Cons: The switch on these do not last. I NEVER turn them off, however this is the second one where the switch turns itself off and will NOT click back on!
Other Thoughts: Very disappointed in thermaltake, this is a design flaw, but I believe all five of mine are out of warranty, so I guess it is time to dump Tt and find another mfgr!
Reviewed By:Offsprung,9/18/2014 12:06:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX-358 U3C BLK Aluminum / Plastic 3.5" Black SATA I/II USB3.0 & eSATA External Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: USB 3.0 works with my Gigabyte X79 and X99 motherboards
Cons: eSATA DOES NOT work with my Gigabyte X79 and X99 motherboards. Works fine with my older XFX 790i Ultra motherboard.
Other Thoughts: I don't see a firmware upgrade on the Rosewill website. So I guess this product is now obsolete
Reviewed By:N/A,9/17/2014 6:45:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > T-Mod Enterprise Co., ltd. > Archgon MH-3643-JSC USB 3.0 & eSATA Quad Bay 2.5"/3.5" HDD Enclosure w/4 Speeds of Cooling Fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Super Quality Expansion Enclosure
Pros: Fantastic Quality, Solid Case
Easy Access, Quick Release Drive-Carriers
Nice Visual LEDS for Enclosure Status
Very Small Foot Print
Cons: No Controller (No JBOD/RAID functions) its ONLY a multiple drive expansion case.
Although it has 4 fan speeds you really have no control over these speeds, they are driven by temp and I found the 80mm fan noticeable, not loud though.
Other Thoughts: I returned this unit unfortunately since on the MFG's website, very limited website, it stated that their other similar 4 bay had RAID/JBOD functions and since the link for this unit didn't work I made the mistake of assuming this unit was the same since they are almost identical, and now I believe neither of the two has these features. I didn't mark them down in stars because as long as you know this and if this fits your build you can't go wrong with this enclosure.
Reviewed By:Steve M,9/17/2014 5:19:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > Vantec NexStar TX 2.5" SATA to USB 2.0 External Hard Drive/SSD Enclosure - Model NST-210S2-BK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: For the price you can't beat it. Solid design and does what its supposed to.
Cons: None that i found
Reviewed By:N/A,9/17/2014 11:46:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau