Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 2588US3 Tool-Free USB 3.0 2.5-inch SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure Adapter Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Simple, USB3, really convenient to switch drives.
Cons: Very short cable, once in a while the disk slips off the connector and stops working until you reseat it.
Other Thoughts: Can be difficult to open, but that seems like an OK tradeoff to be sure it never falls open unintentionally.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/5/2015 2:25:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 2588US3 Tool-Free USB 3.0 2.5-inch SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure Adapter Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great use for an old SSD! (or a new one...)
Pros: Just popped the old SSD into this box, closed the lid, plugged in the included USB 3.0 cable and bam! It instantly showed up as a hard drive in Windows 8.1.

It really was that easy.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I have an old 80 GB SSD that's really too small to be a primary disc anymore that was just siting around so I got this box and cable thing to give the old thing a new purpose. This would also work great for cloning from your old disk to a new 2,5" HDD or SSD that you would temporarily install in this box for the cloning procedure.

Interesting note: When attached to my USB 3.0 port, Windows saw this particular 80 GB Intel SSD as an internal, rather than an external drive.
Reviewed By:Randall H.,3/5/2015 12:20:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > INSTEN > Insten 1042813 Blue SATA External Enclosure Version 2

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Price and works
Pros: Good price and received remarkably fast.
Works
Cons: The red light on it is freakishly bright
Other Thoughts: I used it to retrieve data from a 2.5" sata from a laptop that died.
Reviewed By:Bill S Clinton Esq,3/4/2015 6:18:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill hDock RX303-PU3-35B - 2.5" & 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Docking Station - USB 3.0 Connection to Computer, SD / MS / MMC Memory Card Reader and 2 x USB 3.0 Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Really disappointed in Roswell
Pros: Looks nice, looks well made.
Cons: Doesn't work at all. It will not initialize any disk placed in the device. I have tried 5 different various sized and branded hard drives. It simply does not work. I tested in windows 8.1, and 7 64. Same results. As a huge Roswell supporter I am very let down about this product. I can manually connect the drives and they work. If I connect through this it will not initialize any disk. Waste of money.
Other Thoughts: I can manually plug hard drives into my PC. I bought this so I could hot swap data drives. I will just throw it away in the trash and write it up as a waste. It if the first Roswell product that has ever failed to do what it says it does. I will not be purchasing a Roswell product again. Shame, its a nice looking piece of plastic.
Reviewed By:ITUofLGuy,3/3/2015 5:43:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > Vantec NexStar MX Dual Bay 3.5" SATA to USB 3.0 / eSATA RAID Enclosure

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 If you just have to go cheap....
Pros: It is a cheap solution IF you can find drives cheap enough.
Cons: Just not really worth it. Go look at pre-built RAID solutions on this same site, and you will see. VERY annoying setup. And it randomly shuts off for me and has to be remounted. I've noticed that just after a shutdown like this the enclosure is very warm. Also this seems to happen under sustained load, like streaming video to my HTPC, which is what I use it for, so.....
Other Thoughts: Just not really worth it at all. At the time I bought mine I got a steal on 2TB drives that made it worth it. But now you can get complete built boxes WITH HDDs already installed for around the same cost as building it yourself.

If you're going DIY, just build a cheap real NAS. If you understand the basics of Linux you can use a free OS to run a dedicated cheap PC with as many HDDs as you have room for, and in whatever RAID or mhddfs or aufs or etc that you like.

After over a year with this piece, I have to say I wish I'd just built a real NAS from the beginning, which is what I've done now.
Reviewed By:sketchman,3/3/2015 8:04:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > STARTECH > StarTech S2510BMU33CB 2.5" USB 3.0 Aluminum SATA III Hard Drive Enclosure w/ UASP and Built-in Cable

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 don't buy . period
Pros: none
Cons: never worked from day one. same exact thing as other reviews
Reviewed By:N/A,3/3/2015 12:16:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX25-AT-SC-BLK Aluminum & plastic 2.5" Black SATA USB2.0 & eSATA External Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Nice compact design.
Looks great.
LEDs aren't too bright for me.
eSATA and USB support.
Tech support replaced the first one I purchased since the USB controller went bad. The replacement works great.
Cons: The USB Cable is unlabeled.
The instructions are not very informative.
No eSATAp support.
eSATA is difficult to get working with the lack of documentation on the provided USB cable.
The LEDs may be a bit bright for some.
Requires a full power USB port for some drives sometimes even needing the additional power-only USB connector.
Sometimes decides you cannot safely eject the drive thus requiring shutting the computer down. This happens on both USB and eSATA.
First one I received had a bad USB controller. Data transfers slowed to a stop and would never finish. eSATA still works fine on it though.

See other thoughts about eSATA and the USB cable.


Minor gripes:
The edges of the aluminum housing is pretty sharp.
The panels don't quite line up.
The panel that you screw into feels like it might break if you tighten too much.


All of this together made me knock an egg off. The DOA unit is not part of that decision though, especially with how helpful Rosewill tech support was.
Other Thoughts: The provided cable needs to be labeled. Either this or Rosewill needs to explain it in the instructions. Be it as it may, the cable itself is pretty simple.

I'll attempt to describe the cable:
You have the connection that goes into the drive itself and as you go down the cable it has the Data+Power USB connection and then another off-shoot USB connection. This off-shoot connection is POWER ONLY.

Now, to get eSATA working with the provided USB cable you need to connect the off-shoot power only connection on the provided cable into a full power USB 2.0 port.

If your drive needs more than the max 500ma that USB 2.0 provides (or your port can't provide the power the drive needs) you will need to hook the Data plug into a USB wall charger that provides more power.

Another option is to pick up a 5v @ 650ma (but no higher than 5v @ 1A) power adapter with a barrel power connector. Rosewill did have the drive designed with the Polarity stamped into the housing for the connecter but they unfortunately did not provide any information about it. I do not know what one you will need since the way I described (power only USB + eSATA) has worked fine for me so i haven't needed to purchase one.


I also wanted to mention that Rosewill was great about the first one I purchased. As I described USB-only transfers would slow to a stop and not complete. eSATA worked fine. I was told this was actually a defective unit and the replacement I was sent has worked perfect.
Reviewed By:Christopher H.,3/2/2015 7:53:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProBox K32-SU3 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB 3.0 SuperSpeed SATA HDD External Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not use with XboxOne
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Cheap.

Enclosure has issues documented all over the web with it disconnecting and or powering down. Originally bought to use with XboxOne but it goes on and offline constantly.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/2/2015 4:02:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > STARTECH > StarTech SAT3510BU3 Aluminum / Plastic 3.5" BlackSuperSpeed USB 3.0 SATA Hard Drive Enclosure w/ Fan

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: has a fan
Cons: dead on arrival
Reviewed By:N/A,3/1/2015 8:13:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > Vantec NexStar TX 2.5" SATA to USB 2.0 External Hard Drive/SSD Enclosure - Model NST-210S2-BK

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: -Quality material
-Price
Cons: -No additional screws
-Cable
Other Thoughts: Quality assembly, but I wish they included the two small screws you will need to secure the pieces together. No issues so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/1/2015 4:19:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.