Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 2.5" & 3.5" Dual bay Black SATA III, HDD Docking Station for Easy Clone and Backup, CL-ENC50060

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Accessing HD works great
Pros: Allows me to access data on extra HDs easily. Small, fast, super easy to use. Good price for very good tech specs, USB3, compatible with SATA 3, 2 drives at once, 3.5" and adapter to hold 2.5" drives.
Cons: USB cable is short.
Other Thoughts: Moved countries and brought 4 internal 3.5" HDs with me for computer I left. Got this to access the drives and it works well. I am not hot swapping and don't use to clone for now. Connect now with 2 HDs, 1TB each and no issues. Able to access both. I have been using it for a few weeks without problem. I don't access info that often, but it has copied very large files, allows me to connect to 2 drives and do what I need. Simple to insert and remove drives. I have not hot swapped, insert drives before turning on. Using with USB 2.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2015 7:01:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX100-PU3-25B – Armer External 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure – 9.5 mm HDDs Up to 1 TB, USB 3.0, SATA I / II, White LED Indicator, 100% Screw-Less

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Rosewill RX100-PU3-25B – Armer External 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure – 9.5 mm HDDs Up to 1 TB, USB 3.0, SATA I / II, White LED Indicator, 100% Screw-Less
Pros: Works OK.
Cons: Feels a little cheap, no instructions on removal of cover, broke a couple of the tabs getting it off, but it still stays on so not a biggie.
Reviewed By:Wylieboy,3/25/2015 4:14:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > Vantec NexStar 3 3.5" IDE to USB 2.0 External Hard Drive Enclosure (Brilliant Red) - Model NST-360U2-RD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Very well made unit. Instructions were clear. Owned most of 5 years without any problems.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Used for keeping Images and other backup material.
Reviewed By:lucky9,3/25/2015 12:14:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > STARTECH > StarTech S3510BMU33ET 3.5" Black SATA III USB3.0 & eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure w/ UASP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not buy, 2/3 broken in less than six months
Pros: Cheap. Work great until they break. The idea of being able to put this on my desktop machine or server, and swap out disks as needed was very exciting. Unfortunately, the poor construction and materials just don't live up to the promise.
Cons: Flimsy. Half of disks don't seat well if at all. Two of the units broke with an internal connector actually falling off. Cheap construction.
Other Thoughts: Even using very carefully these units do not hold up. Don't even think about field use. The only way I would recommend using these is if you put a disk in and never plan to swap it out. But then, why buy this one when you could get a one time unit for less?
Reviewed By:w1ljam35,3/25/2015 9:34:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill Armer RX304-APU3-35B - External 3.5" SATA III 6 Gb/s Hard Drive Enclosure - USB 3.0 & eSATA Connection, Aluminum Body, 80 mm Variable Speed Fan with On / Off Switch, LED Display Panel

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So much better than I expected
Pros: It looks great and works great. It is smaller than my old external case. It is pretty quiet. The display on the fan speed and temp are very nice to have as I have this connected to a machine in a closet.
Cons: Nothing yet.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/25/2015 6:00:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Transcend > Transcend TS0GSJ25S3 2.5" SATA USB 3.0 External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 TS0GSJ25S3
Pros: Very well made and has a brushed aluminum case. (looks professional) Has a cushion on the inside at the bottom and in the middle inside of case to keep the SSD/Hard Drive snug. Aluminum case keeps the drives cool and quiet. well made plastic ends are both removable to excess the drive. Both of the ends have 2 screws that thread into the aluminum case so they will not strip with frequent removal. Included cord is USB cord measures just under 18" long or 45cm. 3.0 I was very impressed with the quality. Great job as always Transcend!
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I looked for a quality case and this has a thick case that would not dent and is on the heavy duty side. I was very happily surprised with the quality and plug and play of this Transcend TS0GSJ25S3 2.5" SATA USB 3.0 External Enclosure.
Reviewed By:Newegg Quality 1,3/24/2015 10:46:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 2.5" & 3.5" Dual bay Black SATA III, HDD Docking Station for Easy Clone and Backup, CL-ENC50060

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 seems to do the job ok
Pros: low price, fast transfer speeds when connected to a pc, 1 button cloning, spacers for 2.5" drives
Cons: cheaply built. cloning software is horrible.
Reviewed By:Larryrod77,3/24/2015 8:04:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill Armer RX304-APU3-35B - External 3.5" SATA III 6 Gb/s Hard Drive Enclosure - USB 3.0 & eSATA Connection, Aluminum Body, 80 mm Variable Speed Fan with On / Off Switch, LED Display Panel

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA , Smelled like burnt components when opened box
Pros: Nice display, variable speed per temp is a plus, has usb 3.0 cable esata cable and also esata header, screwdriver. Fan is quiet compared to my last rosewill external enclosure.
Cons: DOA. Smelled like burnt component when i opened box. I decided to try anyhow. When plugged in and all setup windows recognizes a drive being plugged in and the enclosures drive activity light blinks , drive spins up and never recognises the partitions. In windows computer management, the drive shows up the full 3TB but no partition and a red X on the drive itself. Luckily i was able to fix my drive with a program since windows said there were errors now since i put it into this defective product.
Other Thoughts: Rosewill ...... you need to protect the bottom of the circuit board (the one with the drive power leads coming out of it ) with non conductive material. The board probably gets damaged when you clip the long leads or when you put it into the case and it touches the aluminum case. This very cheap fix would lead to less cases being returned.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/24/2015 4:40:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > VANTEC NexStar HX4R NST-640S3R-BK Aluminum / Plastic 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB3.0 & eSATA Quad Bay RAID HDD Enclosure

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: worked fine to it died
Cons: died after owning it 1.5years. evidently a common issue. starts telling you a single drive has failed. replaced, week later claims same slot failed, replaced, happens again. now whole device disconnects from machine every 40min. not a good device if you are looking for longevity.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/24/2015 12:15:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > AMS (American Media Systems) > AMS VENUS DS-DS3RPRO2 Aluminum / Plastic 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB3.0 & eSATA 2 Bay Hot-Swappable RAID Storage Enclosure

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works, but LOUD
Pros: Works. Easy to setup, just plug-and-play. Supports 4TB drives.
Cons: Drive rails are stiff and don't slide smoothly. The latching "buttons" are flimsy, and the drive handles keep falling open. The fan is EXTREMELY LOUD, which may be a problem in some settings. (I'm planning to replace with a high-quality quiet 50mm fan, but haven't had a chance to do so yet.) Not the quality I was hoping to get for the price.
Other Thoughts: You may not be able to use eSATA to access both hard drives with certain devices. I was able to use USB3 to get access to both drives through my Netgear Router.
Reviewed By:Michael,3/23/2015 10:33:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.