Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > GENERIC > All in1 2.5" 3.5" Dual USB 2.0 SATA IDE HDD Docking Station Hub Card Reader OTB pc laptop Windows 98/ME/ 2000/ XP/ Visa/ 7 and Mac OS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible, shoddy product
Pros: In theory it does everything I need. In reality it did absolutely nothing. Do not buy this product. Purchase something else.
Cons: 1.) The SATA cradle does not securely hold 2.5 drives despite the claim causing them to randomly disconnect from the computer. This makes it IMPOSSIBLE to complete tasks.
2.) Not as described. The unit looked physically different from the photo (I thought I was getting a square but got this flying saucer looking thing with tall arches) and because of this did not fit the space I wanted to use it in.
3.) The unit is made of cheap plastic and is shoddily manufactured per my experience with it.
4.) The literature is in broken English. They cannot be intelligibly read by an English speaking audience.
Other Thoughts: The unit I received is a complete piece of garbage. I am frustrated because this has completely thrown off my plan/schedule, now I have money tied up in a refund process that will take who knows how long to resolve, and I have to go hunting again for a properly built, and functioning HDD docking solution to complete the tasks at hand that this dock should have fixed. I am very_frustrated with this product experience.
Reviewed By:Captain Frustrated,8/19/2014 3:31:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Syba > Syba SY-ENC35026 USB 3.0 Hard Disk Docking Station Supports 3.5" and 2.5" Drives

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Functional, efficient
Pros: Fits 2.5 and 3.5 drives, drives slot fairly easily (took a little breaking in), "power" button to connect/disconnect drive
Cons: None really other than the horizontal nature. If you were cramped for space it could be a problem, but overall it's not a major issue, IMO
Reviewed By:Hazer,8/19/2014 12:36:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX-358 U3C BLK Aluminum / Plastic 3.5" Black USB3.0 & eSATA External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 near-perfect external drive
Pros: Near silent fan and aluminum body keeps HDD cool. The drive sits very securely inside, and the USB 3.0 controller is very good. All transfers happen fairly quickly at USB 3.0 speeds. Obviously a quality, well-built device.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: My son has been using this as a storage drive and as a backup drive for the system. Drive is recognized instantly. I've purchased 3 of the eSATA versions before, and they run and run and run. One has run for 2 years 24/7 as a backup for my server operating system, so they are very reliable.
Reviewed By:RTWjunkie,8/19/2014 7:23:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > VANTEC NST-216S3-BK Aluminum 2.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB 3.0 2.5" SATA 6 Gb/s to USB 3.0 HDD Enclosure - Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Cheap and works
Pros: Works.
Is mostly metal; ends are plastic.
usb 3.0; although you don't need this for standard mechanical hdd's
Cons: Overall, the design is poor. The connection to the hard drive is flimsy; the drive fits loosely inside the case.

Screws are annoying, although it was nice of them to provide a screwdriver.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't get this again or recommend it.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2014 11:30:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RDDO-12002 Rigid aluminum casing and internal plastic shield 2.5" & 3.5" USB2.0 & eSATA Docking Station

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Came as a kit
Pros: Got this as part of a package which included 2 WD Green 2TB drives and the docking station. Great combo price. Had a little trouble getting the drives to show up. Once a little disc management setup was done, that issue was solved. I had it connected as USB3 but since have it as E-Sata. Sits under my desk and if it wouldn't be for the lights I would not know it was running.
Cons: Not really a con but.
Cannot set up in Raid. Not that big a deal to me. Really was a afterthought once i received them. Thought of making them into a NAS but it will not work easily.
Other Thoughts: I am using one drive as a backup disk. The other has my system image on it.
Reviewed By:Kajunman47,8/18/2014 11:10:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > XIGMATEK > XIGMATEK Secure III Extreme Speed Docking Station CPH-SPHET-U08 2.5" & 3.5" Black USB 3.0 6.0GB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: Works great, I've been using it for over a year now with no issues. Used for many different drives and all give increased performance over USB 2.0 docks. Would definitely recommend. Why spend more than you have to?
Cons: The construction does make it feel 'cheap'. Its extremely lightweight, and they could have put a small weight in the bottom to give it a more firm footing to the desk.
Reviewed By:B,8/18/2014 7:15:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > Orico 2598US3-SV Tool-Free Aluminum 2.5" USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive HDD External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Make Your Own Portable HDD
Pros: Easy to install a hard drive
No tools required
Makes it easy to swap drives in and out
All cables included
Cons: Latch can be difficult to work, but it's not as difficult as other reviews indicate (in my opinion)
Other Thoughts: This is a nice, solid case for a hard drive. It's made of solid aluminum, and is built to be rugged. Installing a 2.5 sata hard drive is easy. You open the latched side cover, slip in the drive and then click the latch back into place. It is USB 3.0, so you get blazing fast speeds. It's cheaper than buying any WesternDigital or anything because a. you get to buy the components yourself and b. you can upgrade the internal hard drive whenever you want. I tested mine out with an old laptop hard drive, but I plan to get a 1tb hard drive so I can store photos and stuff when I travel.
Reviewed By:WombatComputing,8/17/2014 5:32:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > Vantec NexStar TX 2.5" SATA to USB 2.0 External Hard Drive/SSD Enclosure - Model NST-210S2-BK

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Avoid
Pros: Easy to put together.
Cons: The connection point to the external enclosure is very loose, and feels flimsy. Have had tons of issues, where the connection wire wobbles a bit, connection dips, and I get errors on the drive as a result. Opt for an enclosure with a sturdier connection.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/17/2014 2:11:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX35-AT-IU SLV Aluminum 3.5" Silver USB 2.0 External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It does what I needed it to do
Pros: Solid case.
Includes needed cables.
Doesn't get too warm (passive cooling).
Also works with 400GB and 500GB IDE drives too!
Cons: Two drives reported that they needed to be formatted and they shouldn't have (they contain data), but this is a Windows issue (MBR probably).
Other Thoughts: Ordered several for old (seldom used) IDE data drives. Use short silver screws for rails inside, then long silver screws to secure drive on side, and then black screws for back (in that order) and you can't go wrong. If one doesn't want to thread, it will work (don't ask me why) in the other hole). I'm not trying to insult anyone, but things sped up moving them in when I figured this order out (back black 2nd was a nightmare, LOL).
Reviewed By:N/A,8/17/2014 9:03:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > Vantec NexStar TX 2.5" SATA to USB 2.0 External Hard Drive/SSD Enclosure - Model NST-210S2-BK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My 2nd One
Pros: Cheap and reliable backup or storage solution. Good home for those old HDD drives you swapped out for SSD. Nice dual USB plug for extra power if needed. Aluminum construction helps keep drive cool and safe.
Cons: Absolutely none at this price point.
Other Thoughts: Drive fits snug in case, probably something you can throw into a backpack without much worry. I keep mine on a shelf and put thin foam padding on the bottom to reduce vibration and "walking around" issues.
Reviewed By:reskiles,8/17/2014 7:30:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau