Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Kingwin Inc. > KINGWIN EZD-2535U3 2.5" & 3.5" 2.5”/3.5” SATA I/II/III Hard Disk Drive (HDD) or Solid-State Drive (SSD) USB 3.0 SuperSpeed USB 3.0 to SATA Drive Docking Station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unreliable
Pros: Drivers easily install, compact - no brainer operation in theory
It was cheap when I got it
Cons: eSATA never worked. USB connection to the computer was flaky and stopped working after several uses - tested on several machines. I did use the external power supply, the computers did not see the hard drive in spite of the fact that the USB drivers had installed. You need to be very careful when inserting the hard drive into the dock - which I did but it still broke. Present status - in the garbage.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/24/2016 9:20:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > VANTEC MRK-250FD Plastic & Aluminum Alloy 2.5" IDE USB 2.0 & SATA External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 wow, still kicking!
Pros: Still works, I'm impressed.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:M. H.,6/23/2016 4:31:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 2588US3-BK Tool Free USB 3.0 External Hard Drive Enclosure for 2.5" SATA HDD and SSD – Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ORICO 2588US3-BK Tool Free USB 3.0 External Hard Drive Enclosure for 2.5" SATA HDD and SSD – Black
Pros: Cool enclosure! usb 3. only one wire to operate it. Great design and value for money!
Cons: The manual is mostly useless, but it is easy to use.
Other Thoughts: Fast shipping by Newegg.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/23/2016 2:08:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO Dual Bay SATA to USB3.0 External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" and 3.5" HDD, SSD with Duplicator/Clone Function [2 x 6TB support]-Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Looks like a return product out of the new egg box
Pros: Not sure if any...
Cons: Not sure if it's a return project or not, but the stickers on the product box were already half peeled off when I opened the Newegg box.
Plugged it in regardless, and the lights turned on, but disks don't detect on computer, and power goes on and off randomly..
Reviewed By:Gigi C.,6/21/2016 11:00:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 6619US3-BK SuperSpeed USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" and 3.5" HDD, SSD [8TB Support]

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Work fine
Pros: nice design
Cons: none right now
Reviewed By:Chen Y.,6/20/2016 11:15:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Thermaltake > Thermaltake BlacX Duet (ST0014U) ABS Plastic 2.5" & 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB 2.0 & eSATA Dual Hard Drives Docking Station

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worked fine for anything under 2tb, over, not so much
Pros: Always worked as intended until I got a 4tb drive.
Cons: Does not work with 4k drives over 2tb it seems. Need to buy another that does now.
Reviewed By:Michael B.,6/20/2016 4:46:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Thermaltake > Thermaltake BlacX Duet 5G ST0022U ABS Plastic 2.5" & 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB 3.0 HDD Docking Station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Ceased working after 3 months.. No receipt = no RMA
Pros: - Easy to use like the USB 2.0 version. Just seat drives and power on.
Cons: - Ceased working after 3 months. I read the reviews prior to buying and thought I'd roll the dice. Unfortunately, they were not in my favor. No longer have the receipt, so I can't return it. Didn't buy it from Newegg, but I researched it here. Don't make the same mistake.
Other Thoughts: - I have the USB 2.0 version of the duet that I've had for years (6+) that is still functioning like a champ. It's unfortunate Thermaltake couldn't get it right with this model.
Reviewed By:Michael P.,6/20/2016 6:21:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > STARTECH > StarTech SAT3510BU3 Aluminum / Plastic 3.5" BlackSuperSpeed USB 3.0 SATA Hard Drive Enclosure w/ Fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works, easy to set up
Pros: Does what it says on the tin. What more can I say?
Cons: Nothing wrong so far.
Reviewed By:Howard S.,6/20/2016 1:58:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > STARTECH > StarTech.com M.2 SATA External SSD Enclosure USB 3.0 with UASP USB 3.0 to SATA III M.2 Solid State Drive (SM2NGFFMBU33)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product that works well.
Pros: Solid construction and I appreciate the inclusion of extra mounting fasterners, along with the screwdriver in a reusable plastic pouch.
I can confirm it works with a SAMSUNG SM951 M.2 256GB Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) .
Cons: The mounting screw and nut to secure the end of the unit onto the board is a little funky, but I was able to finger tighten enough that it'll be fine. Hardly a showstopper that is not worth deducting an egg.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/18/2016 10:34:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > VANTEC EZ Swap EX MRK-253ST-BK Aluminum / Plastic 2.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB 3.0 2.5" SATA III SSD/HDD Mobile Rack (Full Kit)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Longtime users will have some nit picks. Everyone else should be happy
Pros: It's great to see this product line has been going for about 10 years w/o any change to the physical form factor. I have the older versions of this kit including the USB 2.0 PATA and USB 2.0 SATA version. They are all physically compatible which is great. This one is easily the fastest yet. I paired this enclosure with an SSD and it just flies when installed in the mobile rack running at full SATA 6Gb/s speeds. It's great to be able to just pop this out when you need to get going and still use it with a laptop. The USB 3.0 speeds make this very usable compared to the older USB 2.0 ones. With the old ones I did resort to some jury rigging of the SATA connector on the back of the enclosure to get more speed out of them on PC's without the dock.
Cons: Does not include a carrying case. For reference the older versions of this product included a case that also had a pocket for the cables. It appears Vantec has gotten cheaper with the value-added extras.

Does not support UASP over USB 3.0. This is actually not mentioned anywhere in the specifications or the box so it's worth pointing out for anyone who needs to know. I have some other enclosures, external drives, and even one SATA to USB 3.0 converter cable (from Vantec no less) that do so this would have been nice for eking out that last bit of performance.

This enclosure is not compatible with older versions of the mobile rack. I thought my unit was defective when I first popped it into my PC that already had an older version of the mobile rack installed. It would just get a red light and then a whole lot of nothing. Once I installed the new mobile rack, it started working right. This is quite unfortunate because I was counting on being able to just stick it into a few different PC's and get the full SATA speed since I have a few of the older mobile racks. The older enclosures are forwards compatible with this new rack. This is only going to be an issue for longtime users. Most buyers probably don't need to worry about this point.

No additional power connector beyond the SATA power connector and USB 3.0 port on the back of the enclosure. The USB 2.0 versions of this enclosure had an additional power port and included a USB power cable to go with it which was nice for flexibility. This one is more of a nit pick for me because of how I made use of it. I would use an internal SATA to ESATA cable on the enclosure and pair it with the USB power cable to connect this enclosure to other laptops and desktops that didn't have the mobile rack but did have an ESATA port. This allowed me to get the full SATA speed w/o having the mobile rack everywhere. Hopefully, I won't still feel the need to do this now that USB 3.0 is so much faster.
Other Thoughts: Great if you have a PC that supports hot-swappable SATA with easy ways to eject them while the PC is on. Then it's so trivial to swap between these enclosures w/o even having to power cycle.

Long time users will want to buy the version that includes the mobile rack in order to get the maximum use out of this w/ all the enclosures. In summary, the included mobile rack works with the older versions of the enclosure. The older racks do not work with this enclosure.
Reviewed By:Eric L.,6/17/2016 11:47:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.