Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX-358 U3C BLK Aluminum / Plastic 3.5" Black USB3.0 & eSATA External Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great enclosure
Pros: This enclosure is smaller than I expected.

The fan is very quiet.

Compatible with Windows 8.1 and SATA III drives. This is not listed in the specs.
Cons: The LED may be too bright to some. However, you can disable the fan by disconnecting the fan wire from the board.

There are no rubber feet so the enclosure could slide around and scratch your desk.

The enclosure requires ten screws so assembling the enclosure can be tedious and time consuming.

On one of the two enclosures I ordered, one screw that secures the hard drive to the enclosure did not fit because the hole on the enclosure did not alight to the hole on the drive.

If you have to place the enclosure on the right side of your desk, the fan will be facing away from you. You could flip the enclosure upside down but the logo would be upside down.

The instruction manual needs to be updated.
Other Thoughts: The enclosure is great but poorly designed.
Instead of requiring ten screws, the top, side, and bottom should be one piece that slides over the body of the enclosure and secured with thumbscrews.
This, LED on/off or dimmable controls, and rubber feet would make this the perfect enclosure.
Reviewed By:SeanS83,7/31/2014 9:11:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > VANTEC NexStar HX4R NST-640S3R-BK Aluminum / Plastic 3.5" Black USB3.0 & eSATA Quad Bay RAID HDD Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked perfectly, looks amazing!
Pros: I've gone through a number of HDD enclosures like this, mainly from Sans Digital. I kept having to replace them because the power supplies would burn out not long after the warranty expired. For the cost of having a replacement power supply shipped to me and the time to swap it out, it ends up being faster to order a new enclosure. I went with this one because my needs are pretty basic (JBOD configuration attached to a WHS 2011 server). The setup was a snap, I just swapped the drives into the enclosure, plugged in the eSATA and power cables, and it worked without a hitch. Some have commented that the fan is loud, but that doesn't match my experience. I couldn't hear the fan at all. I've got four 2TB drives in it currently, two WD Green, a Seagate, and a Samsung. All of them are working great and the transfer speeds are what you'd expect for eSATA (100MB/s). So far, it's performed swimmingly and the design is one of the more attractive I've seen for this type of device. Oh, and look closely in the box if you don't spot the screws for the HDDs. Someone reviewed one of these saying it did not come with them, but mine had them in a small baggie that was taped to the inside of the box. You'll only need eight of them (2 per drive), but my bag had nine in it. The drives are loaded into end covers that screw onto the drive on the sides, ensuring they seat perfectly upon insertion, then lock in place with a sliding plastic switch. It's a nifty design that ensures swapping out a drive is a pretty easy thing to do. As I said, I've not had much luck with HDD enclosures in the past, but if this one holds up for awhile , I'd definitely purchase another as a replacement. As for the LEDs on the front, you have a green power LED at the top, and four blue LEDs that represent the hard drives, aligned vertically down the center. All the lights are the same intensity, which is not too bright to be offensive in a home theater environment, nor so dim that you're unable to see drive activity that might be taking place.
Cons: I personally have had zero issues, but according to some other reviewers, there can be problems with things like loud fans and loose USB connections creating annoyance and performance problems. Hopefully those problems are rare, because I can tell you in all honesty, I'm extremely pleased with mine! If it holds up for a good length of time, you just can't beat what you get for the price.
Other Thoughts: I'd take a chance on this one. The design is a thing of beauty that needs to be witnessed firsthand, and if you do get a dud, at least you bought it from Newegg, so returning it shouldn't be any problem whatsoever.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2014 5:28:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK MB981U3N-1SA Plastic 2.5" & 3.5" Black USB 3.0 USB 3.0 2.5" / 3.5" SATA & IDE Hard Drive & SSD Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great tool
Pros: everything
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: it does exactly what it's supposed too, and does it well.

if you need one, get it, it's great
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2014 4:53:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO Tool Free Screw-Less USB 3.0 2.5-inch SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure Case with Sleeve for HDD SSD SATA Drive -Gray

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Product
Pros: Ordered two of these for system backups. They both work as advertised. Easy to set up and easy to use. Using with PNY XLR8 SSDs. Takes just over four minutes to back up a hard drive. Previously, using external hard drives, the backups would take more than twenty minutes.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Don,7/31/2014 9:48:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Five Star Inc > Portable USB 2.0 2.5" inch SATA Hard Disk Drive External Case Enclosure Box pc laptop

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Little Case...
Pros: Cheap.
Only needs 2 screws
Comes with Screwdriver + screws
Does not require external power
Cons: A little lose (you can hear the hard drive in the case if you turn it upside down and back up again)
Back panel of enclosure is slightly lose, no screws to screw that in.
Other Thoughts: For the price you can't beat it. It does not have fans with it, but if you wanted an enclosure with fans you'd pay a little bit more. I am satisfied and I'll probably order one more in the future.
Reviewed By:d2lover88,7/31/2014 9:43:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK MB981U3N-1SA Plastic 2.5" & 3.5" Black USB 3.0 USB 3.0 2.5" / 3.5" SATA & IDE Hard Drive & SSD Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Worked - for about a day
Pros: The product does what it says. I could connect to older IDE HDDs and SATA HDDs of both 2.5 and 3.5 dimensions.
Cons: * The product stopped working after about 4 hours of use.
- Windows sees the ICY DOCK, but any drive connected to it just clicks and windows is unable to see the drives.
- Does it for multiple drives, so i know its the Dock, not the drives themselves.
* Easily blows away File Allocation Table (fixable, but time consuming)
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2014 9:24:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > BYTECC INC > BYTECC T-300 2.5" & 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB 3.0 USB 3.0 to 2.5" / 3.5" HDD / SSD SATA III / 6G Docking Station

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Doesn't work with WD drives
Pros: Runs at expected USB 3.0 speed with non-WD drives.
Uses generic Windows 8.1 driver
Cons: I have a bunch of drives laying around, sadly all my larger capacity drives are Western Digital. The dock will not work with those drives (3TB). A copy operation will run for a few seconds and then generate a "fatal hardware failure" error. These drives work fine in my old USB 2.0 dock. My Seagate and Hitachi drives work fine in the Bytecc dock.
Other Thoughts: If you don't use WD drives, you will probably be OK with this dock, if you do have WD drives, run away!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2014 7:34:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK FlexCage MB975SP-B Aluminum / Plastic 3.5" & 5.25" Black Tray-less 5 x 3.5" HDD in 3 x 5.25" Bay SATA Cage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works good, however drives tend to slide back out when unhooking
Pros: I'm using this adapter to mount 2 ssd boot drives in a norco 450b case. This adapter easily allows mounting of the 2 drives and doesn't require any screws to mount the drives.
Cons: Since the drives do not require screws to mount they can just slide back out the back when pulled on!

Because of this I half to be careful when going to unhook the power and sata cables from the drives because the drives want to pull right out of the adapter!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2014 7:21:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > Vantec NexStar NST-DP100S3 standalone SATA 2.5” & 3.5” Hard Drive Duplicator Dock with USB 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works!
Pros: Did exactly what it said it would do. I needed to do a simple "1 button" clone of a laptop hard drive that had reported a SMART event of an impending failure. Loaded both the old (250 gig) and new (500 gig) drive, turned on power, hit button, and in less than an hour, it was cloned. Popped in new drive, set a partition for the additional space, and all is good. Chose this one because it had better reviews than some of the cheaper external docking station/duplicators.
Cons: So far none.... time will tell.
Reviewed By:John,7/31/2014 6:31:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX81U-ES-25A 2.5" SATA to USB 2.0 External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Def worth buying
Pros: Cheap, works fine and easy to set up
Cons: none so far
Other Thoughts: Worth the purchase.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2014 12:09:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau