Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 2588US3-BK Tool Free USB 3.0 External Hard Drive Enclosure for 2.5" SATA HDD and SSD – Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Generates hard drive failing error/ will not wake up.
Pros: -Seems to be fast when it works.
-Easy to set up.
Cons: -Goes to sleep after a large data transfer and will not come back. I have to unplug it and plug it back in to use it again.
-Started generating imminent hard drive failure errors. Move the disk back to it's USB2 enclosure and it works without issue.
Other Thoughts: I moved a disk out of a Buffalo drive station to this unit hoping to get some faster file transfers but I cannot get it to work reliably. It would go to sleep after large transfers and not come back and I would get I/O errors in syslog. The only way I could get it to work again is to unplug it and plug it back in. I disabled power management for the port but it didn't help. It then caused the OS to start sending out cryptic imminent hard drive failure errors. I re-installed the disk into the original enclosure and it works fine with no errors.

I got this item some months back but only got a chance to mess with it about a week ago so I'm stuck with it now.
Reviewed By:joseph k.,8/29/2016 7:24:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 6619US3-BK SuperSpeed USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" and 3.5" HDD, SSD [8TB Support]

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good while it worked..
Pros: Quick speeds
Cons: Doesn't work.
Stopped working after 6 months
Contacted support, and they have not responded. No support means it is Garbage
Reviewed By:Eilan B.,8/28/2016 6:17:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO Tool-Free USB 3.0 & eSATA to 2.5" and 3.5" SATA External Hard Disk Drive Lay-Flat Docking Station [Support 8TB]- Black (6518SUS3)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Working
Pros: Works using eSATA to a desktop computer and using USB to a notebook computer.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Thus far have only used it lightly except for a couple large file sequential write speed tests of an SSD drive.
Reviewed By:Alan M.,8/28/2016 4:46:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Silverstone > SilverStone TS10 Aluminum / Plastic 2.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB 3.0 7mm 2.5" SSD/HDD USB 3.0 Super Speed Enclosure

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 SSD drive too thick
Pros: Luckily I have another drive that fits in the case.
Cons: The Samsung SSD (Model: MZ-5PA2560/001) I wanted to put in the case is too thick. Wow, I never thought my review would ever show up but, it has and I feel bed because I did get the Samsung SSD to fit in the enclosure after removing the back cover from the SSD.
Other Thoughts: Don't make the mistake I made and be sure to check the dimensions of your drive. Wow, I never thought my review would ever show up but, it has and I feel bed because I did get the Samsung SSD to fit in the enclosure after removing the back cover from the SSD.
Reviewed By:Lloyd H.,8/28/2016 3:21:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 4 Bay USB 3.0 SATA Hard Drive Docking Station/Duplicator for 2.5 inch & 3.5 inch HDD -Black (6648US3-C-V1)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as intended
Pros: Allows me to have 4 drives through a single USB 3.0 port.
Cons: Didn't saturate the USB 3.0 port.
Other Thoughts: It did as well as I expected. Since I'm using this for backups of a network shared drive, the fact that it doesn't saturate the USB 3.0 port is a non issue. It gives me most of the 1000Mb/s (125MB/s) speed that my network is very capable of. My tests mainly used 4 4TB drives that performed at 150MB/s each and 550MB/s when in a Stripped Storage Space on a Sata channel. On their own and in a pool they only reached 100MB/s through this adapter. I'm assuming this is the cap. I didn't bother using a SSD since I have another ORICO product that encloses that and it gives me 350MB/s (Sata gives 550MB/s) which leads me to the conclusion that this is a USB 3.0 problem. Please note that all of these tests were on the same system. My network usage wasn't tested. I used Crystal Mark for the benchmarks.

If someone is using a pooling solution for backups, this is a decent product. If you want speed, use a SAS enclosure. I was a bit annoyed that it didn't have an eSata port like it's smaller siblings. That's on me for making a bad assumption. I wonder how it would have fared over eSata.
Reviewed By:THADDEUS G.,8/28/2016 11:45:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX-358 V2 SLV - Silver, 3.5" SATA to USB & eSATA External Enclosure with Internal 80 mm Fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome product. 5 of them still going strong.
Pros: Attractive and very sturdy construction. Like the ability to use eSATA and still have the ability to be backwards compatible.
Cons: None, on durability but I do find one thing annoying and it's with nearly all enclosures on the market. If you are designing an enclosure with side accent lighting why on earth would you have one side on all the time and one on only with activity. Looks STUPID. I took all five of mine and rewired the blue LEDs together so that both sides are always blue and I added 2 internal green LEDs for activity. It is SOOOOO much more attractive now. Always on blue accents and an internal green glow with activity. Wish I could attach a pic. Obviously this isn't a functional issue, just for looks. Just a pet peeve of mine.
Other Thoughts: I purchased 5 over the course of about a year and if they were still available I'd buy 1 or 2 more.
Reviewed By:Glendon G.,8/26/2016 7:09:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > STARTECH > StarTech.com M.2 SATA External SSD Enclosure USB 3.0 with UASP USB 3.0 to SATA III M.2 Solid State Drive (SM2NGFFMBU33)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Worked perfectly
Pros: Bought it to clone externally to a Samsung 850 EVO M.@ 500Gb SATA III SSD drive for an ASUS ROG GL752VW which only had a 128Gb C: drive and I wanted bigger. Put the 850 in the enclosure, no problems. I did read reviews that the enclosure usb cable could cause problems, so didn't bother with it, just used a Belkin USB 3.1 cable I had. Straight forward from there, used Samsung Data Migration for the cloning. Up and running in just a few minutes. Would have given a 5/5 if I wasn't wary about using the provided cable. Not a big deal though if you have your own.
Cons: None really.
Other Thoughts: Ordered on a Monday and had it in hand on Thursday. No issues with ordering or delivery.
Reviewed By:Chris S.,8/26/2016 5:02:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > STARTECH > USB 3.0 / eSATA to 2.5 / 3.5” SATA HDD / SSD Duplicator Dock – Standalone Hard Drive Cloner – SATA 6Gbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Drive Cloning Dock
Pros: USB 3.0 works very well - OS finds drives quickly and works well in pass-thru mode - Using PC cloning software. I routinely clone old drives to new ones and have been struggling for years with esata docks and add-on cards. So far a great product and time will tell if will be a long-term solution.

I used the dock in standalone mode and it works well also. Great job StarTech !
Cons: If you use it in standalone mode and it encounters read errors on the source disk, it halts the clone. Startech does make a drive that will ignore errors, but I have software that will accomplish that.
Reviewed By:Patrick C.,8/26/2016 12:44:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO Portable Tool Free 2.5 inch SATA to USB2.0 External Hard Drive Enclosure-Black(2588US)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Case
Pros: Easy no tool drive holder
Works great
Cons: For the price, none.
Reviewed By:ELVIN K.,8/25/2016 6:20:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK MB174U3S-4SB Metal body with partial plastic 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB 3.0 & eSATA Black Vortex 4 Bay USB 3.0 & eSATA External HDD Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works, easy to setup
Pros: - Recognized by linux
- Works
Cons: - Drive serial numbers are we-written by the USB interface, haven't checked the esata.
- The drive caddy requires special countersunk screws which are included, but don't lose them!
- Hotplug didn't seem to work with USB2, but worked fine under USB3.
Other Thoughts: Dimensions of the unit strongly suggest that it would fit in 3x 5.25" drive bays if you took the feet off the bottom. So fat it's working like a charm as JBOD for a zfs pool backup ( 4x 4T HGST in raidz-1 ).
Reviewed By:Eric W.,8/25/2016 4:56:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.