Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX-358 U3C BLK Aluminum / Plastic 3.5" Black SATA I/II USB3.0 & eSATA External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as intended
Pros: I actually like the LED and side fan. For me, the fan is ultra quiet. The unit can be set on it's side, or lay horizontal. Performance is fine, can't expect much more out of USB 3.0 with SATA II.
Cons: Doesn't offer SATA III supported drives. While I understand that the throughput on USB 3.0 is limited to 5Gbps (theoretical), it just would be great to get some SATA III capability (6Gbps)... it can be done. do it.
Other Thoughts: I'm not so keen on how the fan is housed in the unit creating an uneven surface. You really can not lay the unit down on the fan side. What would have been nice is to just make the unit a little larger and square (looking at it's front profile). and have a small gap internally with the fan and have ventilation holes around the sides to let air in. This way the unit could lay down on either side and still have air flow.
Reviewed By:humble,10/28/2014 1:34:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF2-SU2S2 3.5" Black SATA I/II USB2.0 & eSATA Pro Box 4 Bay Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Lasted for over 3 years
Pros: Competitive Price
Good Looks
Works as expected when you know what you're doing
Auto fan speed (fairly quiet at the lowest setting)
Cons: Abysmal User Manual (a simple leaflet)
Ditto for customer service (no support tel# on their website, late and incomplete replies on the support forum)
Awkward drive bracket and front cover
Replacement boards are not publicly available, you have to struggle to get one
Other Thoughts: I used this box for about 3 years, 24/7, connected through an eSata cable, it just recently failed and the problem was the Sata backplane board. Instead of throwing the whole box away I decided to try and get a replacement board which required me to go through their support forum and when that wasn't enough by emailing the RMA department (yes they do have one!!).
They told me that they sent a few replacement boards to their Toronto office (which is just one very small unit in an industrial mall littered by computer and Mediasonic parts). I took my dead box there and the board was replaced in couple of minutes for $35 + tax
I can now get a few more years out of my USB2 box, but in the meantime I purchased the USB3 version anyway for my new HTPC.

I think for the price you get a pretty decent unit, not so bad customer support, but don't expect it to last for more than a few years especially if you use it 24/7 like I do.

If Mediasonic included a better user manual with more in depth info on the Sata controllers the user needs to use, they can avoid some confusion and low ratings due to user frustration. I have a rather high tech background but not all users are like that.
Reviewed By:ray_a,10/28/2014 9:07:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX81U-ES-25A 2.5" SATA to USB 2.0 External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Product, Great Price
Pros: Nicely packaged, easy to follow instructions, works when you plug it in. If you can use a screwdriver and once played with Legos, setup is quick and painless. Sleek case, looks good. It comes with software, but you don't need it if you're just using it for everyday tasks or recovering laptop HD. Great product at a great price!
Cons: I have no complaints. It saved my life when my laptop died.
Reviewed By:Zach,10/28/2014 7:12:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill Hard Drive Enclosure for 2.5" SATA SSD/HDD. USB 3.0 Connection, 100% Screw-less, Aluminum Body External Enclosure, Model: Armer RX200-APU3-25B

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very good product
Pros: Easy to open / close. very solid build. Working flawlessly. USB Cable (short) attached so no need of hanging cables around....
Cons: Nothing to mention
Reviewed By:Haresh,10/28/2014 6:06:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RDDO-12002 Rigid aluminum casing and internal plastic shield 2.5" & 3.5" SATA USB2.0 & eSATA Docking Station

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Adequate
Pros: Inexpensive
Easy to connect/use
Cons: Doesn't recognize both hard drives, in eSata mode (on my system, at least)
[works fine, in USB mode]
Other Thoughts: I use for simple backups... in this manner, it works perfectly fine.
Reviewed By:Amadan,10/28/2014 4:08:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > STARTECH > StarTech SATDOCKU3SEF USB 3.0 eSATA Hard Drive Docking Station with Cooling Fan

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: Includes all necessary cables
Cons: DOA
Other Thoughts: Waste of my time. Returned for refund.
Reviewed By:Justin B.,10/28/2014 2:01:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX-358 V2 SLV (Silver) 3.5" SATA to USB & eSATA External Enclosure w/Int.80mm Fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Rosewill RX-358 V2 SLV (Silver)
Pros: Fast shipping from Newegg. Terrific price. 3 TB drive runs really cool.
I bought one of these two weeks ago and liked it so well that I bought a second one. Both worked perfectly when I received them. Installed my new 3 TB Seagate NAS drives and backed up 888 GB of data from my NAS. Exactly what I needed.
Cons: Today, two weeks to the day since I received it, when I turned on the Rosewill RX-358 with my NAS backup I heard a pop and now my computer won’t boot with it on. Swapped my new SEAGATE ST3000VN000 NAS backup drive to the other RX-358 and fortunately my new 3 TB drive wasn’t damaged and the computer boots normally. I put a known good 750 GB drive in the questionable RX-358 and once again the computer wouldn’t boot. It doesn’t matter if I use the eSATA interface or the USB 2 cable to connect the RX-358, the computer will not boot with this RX-358 connected.
Other Thoughts: I gave a 5 Star rating because these appear to be very well built units that keep my drives as cool as if they were powered off. I’m ascribing the premature failure to infant mortality and hopefully Newegg will be willing to replace it with a new one.
Reviewed By:Pete,10/27/2014 8:53:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RDDO-13001 Rigid aluminum casing and internal plastic shield 2.5" & 3.5" Black SATA USB3.0 & eSATA Dual Bay Docking Station

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great for the price
Pros: Works perfectly on USB
Cons: Only one drive on eSata.
Slow drive to drive copy over the USB ATA ATAPI Bridge.
Other Thoughts: Bought the open box one before I saw the new one. Stuck 2 2-gig Seagates into it and turned it on. Both drives popped up on the desktop right away. Like I said slow drive 1 to drive 2 copying. About 60 gigs in 30 minutes. Somewhat faster drive 1 or 2 to an internal sata. About 88 Gig in 11 minutes. The drives both sleep in USB mode when the computer is put to sleep. Which is great. Otherwise they spin and stay warm. For a little over $20 bucks I''m happy.
Reviewed By:HAVEC,10/27/2014 8:00:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > VANTEC NexStar HX4R NST-640S3R-BK Aluminum / Plastic 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB3.0 & eSATA Quad Bay RAID HDD Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 24/7 Operation without issue
Pros: Super easy setup. Work's flawless with Nighthawk AC1900 wireless share. Running always on config with personal web service for ftp. Fan speed adjustable, Again easy setup- my setup: 4 wd enterprise 3tb drives - raid 10 - fan keeps it nice and cool.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Soda2112,10/27/2014 4:56:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > STARTECH > StarTech S3510BMU33B USB 3.0 to 3.5” SATA III Hard Drive Enclosure with Fan and Upright Design – SATA 6 Gbps & UASP Support

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Startech case doesn't work
Pros: Easy to install
Cons: Opened case according to instructions. Inserted drive into case. Powered on - does not work, dead as a doornail.
Other Thoughts: Why only a 30 day return period? This case should be replaced anytime if it does not work with drive installed.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/27/2014 1:07:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau