Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TVS-471-i3-4G-US High-performance Turbo vNAS with 4K video playback and transcoding

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Easy Setup, Almost Does What it Claims
Pros: Price with Plex 15% discount at the time
Works right out of the box
Upgradeable, but voids warranty
Excellent Plex server with up to 1080p H.265 transcoding
Sometimes easy user interface
Cloud storage of photos/videos appears to work well but I haven't fully explored this
High quality construction
Cons: ios installation failed half way through but didn't tell me leading to much lost time
Not powerful enough, out-of-the-box, to transcode my 4K material in Plex to other formats such as Fire TV, phones, and tablets
Multiple user interfaces, including Windows app, but each has faults and limitations. Use the web interface.
Other Thoughts: Since my unit wouldn't do the claimed 4K transcoding for Plex I chose to replace the processor and memory. Now it runs 50% faster, does the job, but has no warranty. Overall this was an expensive way to handle the need for a Plex server, but I haven't regretted separating my video editing machine from my Plex server.
Reviewed By:Ted H.,9/27/2016 1:09:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP HS-251-US Diskless System 2-Bay Fanless Personal Cloud NAS with HDMI output, DLNA, AirPlay and PLEX Support

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk.
Pros: in theory
Cons: -Lots of Updates
-Lots of Application Updates
-Lots of lost Data
Other Thoughts: -would not recommend
Device worked OK, when it works, I have put 2 different types of HD's in this machine and none have lasted 4 months. eventually the device shows no storage capacity and will not recognize the HD's when you remove the HD's they don't work anywhere else, so your data is lost. Then you format the drives and they work I stuck them in my old HP home server and they are up and working perfectly for over a year now. 2- WD Red 3TB HD's, and 2- Seagate 2TBNAS drives. all 4 drives have done this, but yet all 4 are in my HP server running strong! This device doesn't work well at all.. don't waste your money.
Reviewed By:Bruce B.,9/27/2016 11:14:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS1515+ Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR
Pros: Easy set up
Large storage
Cons: Nothing so far
Other Thoughts: Just scratched the surface so far so much to absorb and learn on this. Meeting all my demands so far
Reviewed By:curtis g.,9/23/2016 6:17:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-563-2G-US Diskless System 5-Bay AMD 64bit x86-based NAS, Quad Core 2.0GHz, 2GB RAM, 2 x 1GbE, 10G-ready

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Incredibly configurable (blessing and a curse)
Pros: -Excellent value
-Good transfer speeds
-Dual LAN
-Virtualization station is awesome. Allows you to do pretty much anything for people who know what they are doing.
Cons: My complaints are with the built-in software. Just like my other experiences with linux, things rarely "just work." But If you put in a lot of time and effort and install your own OS with virtualization, you can work around most of these things. Examples:
-The built-in ffmpeg transcoding is done with the CPU when there is a GPU available to use! why?
-Built-in Surveillance station is lacking many basic features. It feels half baked. Solved by using zoneminder in virtual machine.
-The default QVideo app for mobile devices has audio stuttering issues. Works if I use other video players like VLC.
-Hard disks rarely power down because they are always in use because OS files are installed on them.
Other Thoughts: People with no experience in IT can use it, but you can get so much more out of this product if you are willing to put a lot of time into configuration.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/21/2016 12:00:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS916+ (8GB) Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DSM 6.X
Pros: Look nice and features rich (if you can set them up successfully).
Cons: Difficult to setup correctly. Too many little settings that can go wrong and all Synology tech support can do is to point you to or send you a link to to a KB article.
Other Thoughts: Would not recommend to any typical user unless you are really familiar with how to set it up and can put up with lousy tech support.
Manufacturer Response:Hi,

What specifically are you trying to setup? We want our customers to be able to easily setup their unit, certainly for basic storage and backup. We do point customers to our tutorials because we find they are better written and more clear than what would be provided over the phone, and so that our customers can have resources even if we aren't available. If you feel like there is something wrong with the unit while you are trying to set it up, we would be happy to take a look by asking you to submit a ticket here: https://myds.synology.com/support/support_form.php

Thanks,
Synology Support

Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/15/2016 5:12:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-451-US Diskless System 4-Bay Personal Cloud NAS with HDMI output, DLNA, AirPlay and PLEX Support

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great product ... well it was at first
Pros: Easy setup
Easy Management
Hardware is superior to "other" options
Cons: Software is not as mature or friendly as synology
Why did it have to be white - HATE the color
Too many models with identical descriptions, though I was buying the 4GB version ... ended up with the 1GB.
Other Thoughts: I work with NETAPP, IBM and EMC storage so I found this to be fairly easy to configure and use.
New users may not find it so easy. I would not recommend this to anyone who did not understand what a RAID was or what the different RAID levels are and how they perform.
I am not using PLEX on the NAS, but have my media on an iSCSI LUN which my PLEX server connects to. No issues at all.
When transferring files I commonly see transfer rates around 90MB/s on this.
My synology 214 would top out around 60.
Not much more to say ... if you know what you are doing this is a great unit buy it.
If you are new to networked storage you will have a bit of a learning curve, but should be OK as long as you can google.
OH ... put NAS drives in it ... if you put cheap green drives in a NAS you should not own a NAS.

UPDATE: As of about 1 month ago the 451 will not run for more than about an hour before it locks up ... no errors populate all the light indications are normal but the NAS will be inaccessible and the only way to return it to operation is to force a reboot. I've done factory resets, rebuilt arrays swapped drives and the issue remains. I no longer trust this unit.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/13/2016 8:07:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS716+II Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I am purchasing my 5th DS716+II today
Pros: These are great little devices for small businesses with no more than a few computers to backup. Although I am sure it has power to backup a couple of dozen or even more and can have an expansion box added to it, but I generally put in a 5bay or more for larger businesses. I am getting many small businesses and home based businesses that are concerned about protecting their data from ransomware. This box has all the features I need to protect customer's data. To safeguard from ransomware, I set these up with password protected network shares. Then I do not map any drive letters or allow any systems to remember the username/password credentials. The user/password is only stored within the backup software (ShadowProtect) which takes hourly imaged based incremental backups. I also enable snapshots (generally daily) as another layer of protection within the nas. I have not found any of the cheaper models of 2bay Synology boxes to have all the features needed like snapshot and hot swappable raid1. Have not had any issues with these.
Cons: Synology boxes have had a few security exposures in the past so make sure you keep your NAS patched
Reviewed By:Mike W.,9/12/2016 9:25:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ReadyNAS 314 4-Bay Network Attached Storage Diskless (RN31400)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent NAS
Pros: This unit is a great buy and is cheaper than buying one with disks included. I bought (4) WD Red drives separately with the unit and saved $120.00. Setup is simple. The two NIC ports are fast when using the port aggregation on my Netgear X8 router.
Cons: So far, none/
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/11/2016 8:59:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS216+II Diskless System Network - Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very good product. The perfect NAS solution for me, Linux user.
Pros: The software available for my Linux OS
Cons: no comments
Reviewed By:Eugenio G.,9/11/2016 6:54:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > Qnap TS-531P-2G-US 5 Bay SATA 6 Gb/s NAS, Quad-core 1.4 GHz Cortex-A15 CPU, 2 GB RAM, 4 Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great device- be sure to read MFG site about what it does or can do.
Pros: Many hardware and software options. This is really good for more technical people. However it is not to complicated either.
1.) 4 - 1 Gbps connections. Optional 10 Gbps. Many many ways to configure.
2.) 2 GB ram upgradable to 16 GB.
3.) SSD cache. Use two ssd drives for read and write cache, really improves iops (single drive about 150).
4.) Many many more software features that are helpful or usable.
5.) Wide scale internet based security configurations to limit access or not.
Cons: I would agree with other customer, it would be nice to have a manual to read prior to setup (like a cd). Make sure you take your time on first setup, do a lot of playing before you migrate data.

Make sure you use the QNAP ram, the Kingston RAM I bought that Kingston's site said would work ended up locking up my system over and over after a QTS upgrade. And QNAP support has stated they only support the ram sold on the QNAP web site.
Other Thoughts: My ATTO benchmark. Two computers like MOBO, single 1 gig nics, peaked at 105 MB/s each while running same setting at the same time or as close as possible. To push this device I will need 4 - 5 computers or 2 with dual teamed 1 Gbps nics. Average of larger transfers 50 - 75 MB/s each, depends a lot on ssd cache settings and options configured for ATTO. Optional software availability is amazing. I hope it keeps working and that the 8 GB 2 x 4 I ordered works and my 3 - 3 TB NAS drives work (ordered). When I get them I will wipe and restart. Overall performance is amazing if you take a little time to learn a little about networking and SSD cache. I will use 2 SSD for cache, 3 - 3 TB Raid 5 drives for data and bump up to 8 GB ram (this part currently is not needed just doing it). Later if I can afford a 10 Gig upgrade, I will, but that is very costly right now. 4 - 1 Gbps is very usable now.
Reviewed By:Royce W.,9/7/2016 8:24:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.