Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS916+ (8GB) Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed after 8 hours powered on
Pros: - Nice web interface.
- Kind of easy to use if you only do basic stuff. It would be a great NAS for your grandma.
Cons: - Difficult to add community built packages
- Synology built packages are too limited, open source options are better
- Low quality parts
Other Thoughts: - It failed so fast I don't think I can use Synology products again. Maybe it's just the power adapter, it's a cheap laptop adapter after all. Either way, the experience left me thinking that I should build my own NAS using better components. I have the regret.
Reviewed By:Josh S.,8/28/2016 3:01:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS216j Diskless System NAS DiskStation

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 NAS starter
Pros: good for casual users and families who want network storage. load up all the kids music, movies, backups and schoolwork in one location for easy access. plugged a 4tb into a bay and the rest was easy.

it was super easy to start and I like the software interface. simple and effective.

good device to dip your feet into a NAS enviroment, learn ins and outs before going high end

this will suffice for most family's needs
Cons: not compatible with newer 10tb drives, hopefully with firmware update
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/25/2016 6:18:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS416play Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 unhappy Synology client
Pros: Great as a paperweight
Able to use the Logitech Media Server from "packages" to connect my 2 Squeezebox Duets
Cons: previous owner of a DS 209+ with "0" connectivity problems
unable to connect remotely from mobile phone apps
No WebDav available to connect remotely so installed WebDav from "packages" Still nothing
Support? There is none! Only sends confirmantion emails on complaints
Other Thoughts: Been a Syno user for over 12 years. Using old HDs from DS 209+ which still work in this 416play. Received notice from support they're not compatible. Also said my router was not compatible even though it's listed in their router configuration. Never had problems with other DS 209+ in this regard. Unable to connect remotely, Going to return this item and purchase a Qnap!
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

Could you reach out with your ticket number with our support team so I can look into this? We'd like to see what's going on.

Thanks,
Synology Support

Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/18/2016 3:42:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS916+ (8GB) Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazying
Pros: Fast when sending and receiving data never goes below 100mbps, I'm using old HDD's Ive saved up order time and still can reach these speeds. Tons of programs like cloud sync and media server. The media utility is by far my favorite part, it makes a nice UI for movies with the feel of on-line streaming. Nice to chose a move on my phone and cast to to TV and even control the playback and sound from the phone. Discovering new applications every week. Sends notifications when system is not reachable via internet to an e-mail
Cons: Although synology makes the applications as user friendly as possible it does take a bit of prior computer knowledge for some applications. There are plenty f on-line guides and videos created by synology and users to help but a few minutes of research will save hours of trying to setup incorrectly yourself. Always take few minutes to verify the steps to save time down the road.
Other Thoughts: This model i bought for home use but slowly using for a personal business. This one has plenty of power.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/18/2016 2:56:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-451-US Diskless System 4-Bay Personal Cloud NAS with HDMI output, DLNA, AirPlay and PLEX Support

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent Plex Server
Pros: Dual core Intel CPU
Twin soddim slots
Compact power supply
Dual gigabit Ethernet ports
Cons: 1 gigabyte of ram standard
Loud beeps when starting up
Other Thoughts: I upgraded it immediately out of the box to 8 gigabytes of ram which makes it run silky smooth when streaming 1080p content through Plex. CPU is more than capable of transcoding 1080p content. This is an excellent NAS and I don't understand all of the negative reviews. I personally believe it works great for my purposes.
Reviewed By:Hannah L.,8/16/2016 9:04:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS216j Diskless System NAS DiskStation

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Everything a NAS should be
Pros: Easy to setup, very robust web based management software. Nearly all the features of their high end devices on this entry level unit.

This unit has the ability to add modules to make it a mail server, media server, database server, etc. The web management console has a tablet optimized interface, should you use one to connect.

At it's core this device is Linux based, but the management interface means never having to deal with it. But, you can enable SSH and play under the covers if you wish.
Cons: Drives are not hot swappable. The tiny little screws that hold the case on actually screw into the plastic housing, so take some care not strip them out when assembling the unit
Other Thoughts: I've set this up with two 3TB Seagate HDD's, and created shares to use as the target for Windows 10 backups of our devices here at the house. It was about an hour from the time I started unpacking everything to when it was ready to use. I haven't yet tried out connecting to it with the mobile app from outside my network.

I was please to discover when I plugged my APC UPS into one of the USB slots, the device recognized it and can be configured to shut down safely before the UPS dies.

The ability to adjust the intensity of the front LEDs is cute, and kinda cool.
Reviewed By:Nathan D.,8/14/2016 6:46:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-451-US Diskless System 4-Bay Personal Cloud NAS with HDMI output, DLNA, AirPlay and PLEX Support

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Terrible support from QNAP and New Egg
Pros: When it works and you've got it configured, I suppose it's a working NAS.
Cons: I want to post my experiences using the QNAP 451 which I purchased based on the Wirecutter's review of the 251 two bay system.

I bought this system on Black Friday of 2015, loaded it up with some consumer hard drives, and started setting it up to replace the Mac Mini that I was using as a server. First off, the biggest issue with the device is that while there is an App Store, packages are created by QNAP users. Therefore, packages for the most useful apps (not made by QNAP) are usually some (or many) versions behind. This included Madsonic, which I planned to use for music streaming and Transmission, a torrent client.

I ended up installing both manually, but I know many people would have given up by then. Transmission I got by installing the Entware package distribution system and installing from there. Subsonic - the music streamer software Masonic is based on) - I installed manually (and in fact, wrote a lengthy medium post on how to get it installed).

Moreover, the 451 technically allows the user to upgrade the system’s RAM. I was happy to be able to upgrade to 8GB of RAM. However, what QNAP doesn’t tell you is that it’s a nightmare to access the secondary RAM slot based on how the device is put together. The second RAM slot is underneath part of the metal frame, and even with my smaller hands it was nearly impossible to get RAM into the slot and seated correctly. It’s a really frustrating experience, and I’m surprised I didn’t get injured or break the device. This is besides the point that the device is mostly made of plastic and taking it completely apart to install upgraded RAM, I was often worried the device would break.

Getting it configured - even in the limited way I was using it - took forever, and more than once I regretted getting this over, say, a local RAID system attached to a new Mac Mini. At this point, I’d recommend most users get an actual computer running Linux, Mac OS, or Windows, and use that as a server instead. Doing so is worth the few hundred dollars of extra cost. But I learned from the experience and was content to run the system as it was.

Then, after a few months, the device started rebooting on its own. I had configured it to email me when the powered down (and when there were errors) and I suddenly started getting tons of emails from week to week. Not only did it shutdown by itself (it’s actually plugged into an APC battery system that should give it an hour to shut down if there are power issues) it would complain about file system errors when it booted back up.

The system had everything on it - my CDs, my photos, project files, everything. So data integrity is a big deal, and I began backing things up and communicating with QNAP’s tech support. I’ve had worse tech support experiences, but not many.

QNAP used a branded version of Team Viewer to look into my system. The device’s file system kept popping up errors. Their first solution was to try and fix the errors using Unix commands. When the system rebooted and popped more file system errors, they recommended that I replace all of the HDs. I knew that I had used quality consumer drives, so I didn’t balk at their recommendation, and spent $700 on 4 NAS drives. In the mean time, I backed up my files to whatever other drives I had around, but wasn’t able to save everything.

Things should be all well and good right? Of course not - even with the new drives and a reinitialization of the system, I still kept getting file system errors and reboots. QNAP asks me to replace the upgraded RAM with the default 1GB stick and try again. I do so, and again reinitialize the system. Still reboots and errors. Great. So QNAP finally gets to the point, after several weeks of back and forth, of letting me RMA the device.

Some great companies, like Apple, just take a faulty device and replace it with a new one or a working refurb. QNAP is not like those companies. they told me they’d replace the mainboard and send it back. Not ideal for a device that should work for years without me having to do anything, but fine.

However, after all of this, the thing that gets me is that they want me to pay to ship this heavy device back to them in CA to get the board replaced.

Configuring and servicing this device has been a huge nightmare, and even after it was configured, I've barely been able to use it or trust my data to it. I highly recommend others avoid QNAP. At this point, I’d be happier with a $400 Windows desktop or laptop machine, locally hooked to some kind of local RAID system for my storage needs.
Other Thoughts: I'd avoid like the plague. Much better off with any number of options, including building a FreeNAS system, or using a pre-existing Linux, Mac, or Windows system.
Reviewed By:Ridwan K.,8/13/2016 3:34:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS216j Diskless System NAS DiskStation

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 very good, but bad network cable and confusing software
Pros: works well, fast transfers (once you replace the network cable), minimum 60 MB/s or so (multitudinous small files), hardware is compact and easily configured.
I don't use the the Internet features, and so thankfully the software has the ability to configure offline (unlike MyBook, and so many others, which require a router and an Internet connection)
Cons: It comes with a bad network cable; once replaced transfer rates soar.

I understand that this is NAS, but is it absolutely necessary to use 3 different ill-labeled menus in order to: 1) initialize a hard drive, 2) format a hard drive, and 3) then create a partition? (None of the menu header labels reflect that they contain these basic operations.) One just has to get used to the way the terminology that Synology uses. (Then the next time you need to do it, you forget the sequence.)
Other Thoughts: I just want network storage; so I format both hard drives JBOD. With the HGST/Hitachi 0F12470 Ultrastar 7K3000, 2TB, 64MB, 7200RPM, SATA III, 6.0GB/B, the cost is under $90 for four TB of storage. Then I have another set of these hard drives that are also formatted JBOD to which I copy the the data, and thereafter I lay aside the first set. That's my redundancy. It may be crude, but this way I feel that I can avoid using a UPS, the models of which (for home networks) are horribly expensive, are unreliable, and have ridiculously short battery life).
Reviewed By:Ann J.,8/11/2016 8:06:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS416play Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome NAS!
Pros: I upgraded from a DS212j. The DS416play is super fast. I got the play model because it was actually cheaper than the straight 416. As far as transcoding goes, for me I just don't understand the need for it. In my house we are all on android and any recent android phone can easily play .mkvs using MX player, although I do use audio station and that transcodes my wma lossless files because android won't play wma lossless... I use Kodi on my HTPC and it streams all my movies, tv shows and music no problem at all.
The synology interface is really easy to use. I also use it for backing up files, super easy with cloud station. I have 4 2TB WD red drives setup with SHR so if one drive fails I can recover everything easily. I am really happy with this NAS and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stream their media collection and for backing up files.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/9/2016 8:06:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-453A-4G-US (4GB RAM version) 4-Bay Professional-grade NAS. Intel Braswell Quad-core 1.6 GHz CPU with Media Transcoding Support 4K Playback

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Loaded With Features
Pros: - works great
- stable reliable storage
- worth the money
Cons: - takes some time to learn and configure all the settings
- if you don't set it up properly you will eat up a large chunk of the storage space
- definitely read the manual before you buy
Other Thoughts: - i would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a network storage solution
- great for a plex server or dnla
- can be use for kodi, virtual machines, kareoke etc.
Reviewed By:Jerry D.,8/9/2016 7:24:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.