Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO LS-Q2.0TL/R5 2TB LinkStation Quad Shared Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 SLOOOW
Pros: has raid 5 support and 1gbit nic
usb for printer and/or backups disk are nice
Cons: SLOOOOW
the webinterface is sloow. takes severla second just to change menu.

transfer speed on raid 10 is around 15-20MB/s thats pretty petty for raid 10.
i wanted to run raid5 but just setting up raid5 and checking an empty raid arry had an ETA of 7hours...

This is absolute horrific speed and the 1gbit/s noc is worthless as the units just about fully utilize 100mbit/s nic speed.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/5/2015 4:40:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology BC214se 2300 6TB (2 x 3TB) BeyondCloud Mirror 2-Bay 6TB (2 X 3TB) Network Attached Storage (NAS)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Always good products from Synology
Pros: Easy to setup, easy to manage, LOTS of options.
Cons: We have had no problems with this or our other Synology box.
Other Thoughts: I have worked with several NAS devices and Synology is by far the best. We have an older 5-bay Synology in our server room and it just runs. We rarely need to touch it.
Reviewed By:Brad R.,5/5/2015 9:39:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Seagate > Seagate ST3500841ET-RK 500GB Mirra Sync and Share Personal Server

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible User Interface
Pros: Small. Quiet. Cheap. Seagate was selling these things out for a song and I thought, what the heck. Found out that with a bit of luck it can be converted into a small, useful computer that should run a not-too-robust version of Linux.
Cons: Absolutely awful user interface. Difficult to retrieve or restore the files that had been backed up. Small HDD by any standards at 320 or 500 GB. Retail cost was way overpriced. I was never able to backup my OS.
Reviewed By:dMf,5/4/2015 4:07:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Seagate > Seagate STCS8000100 8TB (2 x 4TB) Personal Cloud 2-bay NAS server

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Simple to Use
Pros: Being meant for the home, Seagate did a good job considering the dimensions of the unit and it is aesthetically pleasing and fitting for the home. The drives are side-by-side to fit in a low-profile space.

The included instructions are reasonably simple to understand and get you set up. It is also easy enough to do service with. Provided instructions can show you how to open the device and swap drives.

The software (something you must install) handles the mapping of the drive for you, allowing you to even access the drive remotely without you having to set up a virtual private network.

The device handled streaming pretty well for me. On iOS, you can also use VLC to watch content from the server.

The included apps provide more functionality to make your content more accessible.

Efficiency is also considered. There are settings for power savings. By default, the drives turn off after 20 minutes (lowest setting). You can also have this hooked up to a network UPS should you have one.
Cons: The web interface and apps are a little on the slow side.

Using the web interface for service management and configuration, a third of the time was spent waiting for each page to finish loading.
Other Thoughts: This low-profile NAS design seems practically made to sit with your other home theater equipment. The only noise generated by the device is strictly from the drives themselves. That means they are no more loud than your modern set-top box.

On that note, it has an option to turn off the activity light. Very happy to see that.

Setup can take a long time to perform, so be aware that it won't be ready right out of the box.

Be aware that if you let the drives turn off, there will be a few moments before your device will become responsive again, as the drives have to spin up.

This NAS supports levels RAID 0 (striping, allowing faster transfers and up to double capacity) and RAID 1 (mirrored, providing reliability). With the included drives, that means RAID 0 will provide 8GB capacity, and RAID 1 will provide 4GB capacity while also being okay if one drive fails.
Reviewed By:Zac H.,5/3/2015 1:19:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS214+ Diskless System DiskStation 2-Bay Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Device
Pros: Easy to learn how to set up.
Took me one day with no pri knowledge of Synology,
to totally replace a Windows File server in a small non profit office.

Took one additional day to figure out how to have automatic remote offsite back ups going to an identical 214+ device as well as pc to Synology back ups!

Support on the Synology forums is also excellent.

Buy this you will like it.
Cons: No cons.
Reviewed By:Mark,4/29/2015 2:59:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO LS220DE LinkStation 220 RAID NAS Personal Cloud Storage and Media Server

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Disappointed
Pros: Didn't get to even try using it.
Cons: Came DOA, plugged in according to directions and power light came on for split second before going out and will not come back on. Neither will the fan spin. Checked power supply and that works.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/29/2015 1:13:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Drobo > Drobo 5N 5-bay NAS Storage Array, Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best NAS
Pros: I use my Drobo 5N for storing ripped and streaming Blu rays, Dvd's and all of my personal documents and photos. It is perfectly capable of streaming high bit rate files to any of my HTPC and even multiple PCS simultaneously. This is all done without using the msata SSD option which I will be upgrading this coming week.
Cons: Costs money?
Reviewed By:N/A,4/28/2015 3:13:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS1515+ Network Storage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Synology DS 1515+
Pros: Fast setup and simple setup. Update was fast and the 1515+ will beep after completion. About 15 minutes to get it up and running.

Installation of the applications are straight forward, video station does gathers metadata, rating, summary and poster art for movies added. You can play videos from the browser or access the files directly as a network share.

Plex Media Server seems a bit processor intensive on the device but it does work.

It can do link aggregation, bonding of 3 Ethernet ports at this time, so backups, file transfers, streaming/encoding on the fly is no problem with this unit.
Adding an external 2.5 usb 2.0 hard drive formatted NTFS automatically shared the device to the shared network.
The included tools/features/free apps, you can scrub the drives for any data inconsistencies, schedule quick or full S.M.A.R.T scans, security checks such as weak passwords, and virus scanning. You can also do folder level encryption which still maintains fast transfer speeds.

I was able to add a 4GBs ram stick easily, take off 5 screws and cover, just be sure to check you are using the correct specifications, total 6GBs of ram.

The user interface is easily accessible, very smooth and easy to use resembles a Linux desktop.

The build quality of the enclosure is a solid metal with some plastic. The drive caddies are made of plastic and metal latch that is lockable with a plastic key. Plastic retainers on the side snap off and on the hard drives for retention. The caddies also have rubber grommets to reduce vibration or to improve the fit of the hard drives.

Currently using 5x HSTG 4TB NAS which are on the DS1515+ compatibility list. No problems at this time. Configured with Hybrid RAID 1 disk failure for fault tolerance.

Accessing the web or share via Windows or OSX without any issues.

You can expand the unit with 2 or 5 bay expansion bay units from Synology.
2x eSATA ports for that feature or add external hard drives with the 4 USB 3.0 ports. Seamlessly works with NTFS formatted drives.
Cons: Expensive. If you want the most out of the unit, you will need to pay the extra cash for a more capable switch, cat 5 cables only 2 included. The drive caddies could be made of metal, the retaining clips feel solid but I don't know how long they will last due to being plastic. The biggest fear is breaking off a plastic notch off the clip.

The packaging was horrible, the box arrived completely open with the top smashed off and taped back together with clear shipping tape. It shipped in the original box from Synology with no additional protection.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this unit to consolidate all my external hard drives, encrypt personal files, stream music, videos, pictures. I intend to use the USB 3.0 ports for additional backups or removable drives for on the go always synced and up to date files.

I drop it 1 star because the retail shipping box fell apart. When you purchase a product you also pay for the package it comes in, and it falling apart prior to arrival is not acceptable especially for a $800+ unit.
Reviewed By:Alfred,4/28/2015 10:00:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS1515+ Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Synology DS1515+
Pros: The DS1515+ seems to be an outstanding product for the prosumer/home user. 4 Gig ethernet ports that support link aggregation, 5 hot swappable bays and low power consumption for a 24/7 nas, hardware encryption provided by the quad core atom. It is capable of doing personal cloud storage, on the fly video encoding with diskstation, plex server support, music station, and photo station so you can have all your personal multimedia on one central device also apps for your andorid or apple devices to support these features. It is cross platform Linux, OSX Windows and you can use it with supported web browsers for its easy to use web interface. It can support various types of raid 0/1/5/6 and 1-2 disk fault tolerant hybrid raid where drive size doesn't matter but redundency and protection are kept in tact. 3 year warranty. This unit boast an abundance of features and functions for both home users to SMBs. As an IT for 7 years it provides a balance of home multimedia, remote personal cloud and SMB replication, automated folder/file sync, high availability, support for virtualzation, ssd cache, and the ability to expand as your business grows with Synologys Expansion Units.

I got the unit for the folder level encryption with hardware support for faster transfer speeds, high availability and bandwith from the Link Aggregation, consolidate all my multimedia in one secure unit that can replicate/automate to an external mass storage device that can support most file systems via usb and raid or hybrid raid for 1-2 disk fault tolerance. The cloud capability of pulling all your data from one drive, drob box and other supported services. As an avid traveler, losing your personal data at home or on the road can be prevented by having a copy in the cloud, at home and offsite locations. Having the 1515+ automatically Syncronize your DAS connected direct via USB 3.0, updates to the cloud and leaving the 1515+ at home covers all that. It may take some time and thought to setting it all up and finding the right company for cloud backups. If you lose your drive on the road, you can use the 1515+ cloud funtions or pull from a 3rd party cloud.

Overall I just want a reliable solid piece of hardware, easy to use with advanced features and the 1515+ does it all.
Cons: The units box was damaged, dirty and open. I will test to verify if the packaging holds its purpose, to protect the product. $800+ unit should be packaged with some care not sent in the retail box with a sticker slapped on for the customer. I cannot tell if the unit is unused or refurbished because the box is breached, opened and resealed with clear packaging tape.

No HDMI, but who wants a 5 bay NAS grinding and clicking away at your home theater?
Expensive for a home user but moderate for a SMB.
Hardware qualified vendor list for compatable components.
You can go full 3rd party cloud but anything connecting to the internet is open for intrusion.
The need better packaging, cardboard, foam and wrap, eventually the consumer will move or relocate and will reuse the packaging and its protective foam. I cannot do that in this case.
Other Thoughts: This product deserves better. I give it one egg because my box looks like one big scrambled egg taped back together like humpty dumpty. I would like to give this product a better overall rating, but not until i test the unit as a whole, how good the packaging protects the product. As customers we buy things for its purpose, even the box that it comes with. I cannot do a video onboxing with an open box and busted box sorry youtubers. If this device is fully functional i will update my comments and rating.
Reviewed By:Alfred,4/28/2015 4:49:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS414slim Compact & Eco-Friendly NAS Server

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I love this entire line
Pros: Very small footprint, very quiet, redundant lan, great feature set, great web based administration. Ability to use 4 total drives.
Cons: Only two USB ports...that is the best con I can come up with.
Other Thoughts: Big fan of Synology's entire line of home and small business NASs. These units are extremely easy to setup and install.
Reviewed By:VyReN,4/27/2015 11:18:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.