Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop NAS > Seagate > Seagate STCS6000100 6TB (2 x 3TB) Personal Cloud 2-bay NAS server

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Backup Software Lacking
Pros: I liked the out of the box solution, plugged it in and it asked me whether we were going with Raid 1 (3Tb mirrored) or Raid 0 (6Tb) - nice. Was able to find software on the network, and as others mentioned it did an auto update
Cons: You would think that Seagate, if anybody, would perfect their backup software. Nope! Took an email to Seagate support who advised that I had to ensure a half dozen services were turned on. After that I could at least see the drive, but .... I can't
"Add Cloud" to backup from Windows 10, and the backup App built into the Personal Cloud does not allow for backing up to OneDrive, which is absolutely insane, given it cost only $100 per year and you get a terrabyte of storage for up to 5 people.

The plan had been to backup the Seagate Personal Cloud to OneDrive and that doesn't work, and the Seagate Backup Dashboard doesn't seem to allow any Cloud Drives to be added - another email to support, so maybe ...
Other Thoughts: If they fixed their software this could be a fantastic piece of kit. I want to ensure that family photos aren't lost, and this was to be the solution.
Reviewed By:CDB,8/26/2015 4:13:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO LinkStation 420 4 TB 2-Drive (2 x 2 TB) High Performance RAID NAS Personal Cloud Storage and Media Server - LS420D0402

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works fine for me
Pros: Easy to set up and reasonably quiet. Inexpensive for the amount of space you get. Works find in my house with 5 computers set up and using it as a shared drive.
Cons: Management software is not intuitive and could use improvement.
Other Thoughts: Not the fastest NAS on the market, but hey, that's not what I bought. I bought a NAS that was good value for the money. If you are looking for a super fast NAS, then get one with more horsepower and faster drives (or build your own). For home or small office use, mostly as back up and file sharing, it performs just fine.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 11:36:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > ioSafe > ioSafe 1515+ ND000-0 Diskless System Fireproof and Waterproof 1YR Hardware Warranty NAS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Built like a tank
Pros: It's built extremely well. The construction is very solid and heavy. Synology NAS is a well respected platform. So far the performance has been very good. It has many bonus features like a web server, mail server, etc.
Cons: The web interface looks awful. The colors and icons look like they were designed by the art department at Fisher Price. Everything is so dumbed-down that it's kind of annoying for an IT professional to use. The web interface has the look of cheap consumer gear. It would be 5 stars if the user interface were better.
Other Thoughts: We are using it as an iSCSI target, and it works well for that. It's really a much nicer piece of equipment than the user interface would lead you to believe.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2015 4:10:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO LS210D0201 2TB LinkStation 210 NAS Personal Cloud Storage and Media Server

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Recommend putting this thing on its side
Pros: Easy to set up. Fairly decent speeds over 1G network.
Cons: Needs a wider base if its going to be stand on its feet.
Other Thoughts: If you buy this device, recommend laying it down on its side. I've already knocked it over once. The drive wasn't working at all for a few days. Its stopped clicking, but I don't trust the drive integrity anymore. If the feet were wider apart, it might not get tipped so easily.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2015 11:57:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Thecus > Thecus W4000 4-Bay Cloud Ready Windows NAS Powered by Intel Atom

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 NOT TO BE MISTAKEN FOR A MEDIA CENTER
Pros: cool that it runs windows. looks to be nicely integrated with the suite of products.
probably great for a small business file server.
Cons: Makes a terrible media center.
No drivers for onboard video card means that you can never get hardware acceleration or anything that you'd call "HD" out of the HDMI connection. This failing is bordering on misleading.
Lags on playing most flash videos and cant actually play a 480P divx without lagging.
They have all kinds of benchmarks on the box and online for how many HD streams it can --serve-- to another device, but it can --decode-- less than one.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't mine finding this out on my own except for the steep restocking fee.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 12:31:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS215j Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Nice
Pros: Very Nice unit. Using as a file server for a 3 person office and it works great. Interface is great, quick, and robust. External drive connection is great and is easy to backup.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2015 7:18:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO LS220DE LinkStation 220 RAID NAS Personal Cloud Storage and Media Server

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 OK for Basic or Home use
Pros: Cheap. Simple to use. Support was good.
Cons: External drive connection through USB port was terrible. Did not work with any drive that was SATA. Thus backing up the device was next to impossible. Were able to get some older IDE drive to connect. User interface very slow.
Other Thoughts: Did not try any media sharing or anything else. Wanted to use as a file server for a 3 person office, but the inability to back the device up reliably made this not a good choice. Turned it into a network device to do image backups once a month, seems to work good for that.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2015 7:15:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DiskStation DS214play Diskless System Network Storage - Retail

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: Very easy to set up, Easy to navigate, great as a file server. This thing is a very very good Nas box for storing files.
Cons: Where it lacks is in its media streaming. Has issues steaming over wifi, often stops to buffer. Some 1080p videos even take time to buffer over wired connection. Very picky with what files it does recognize.
Other Thoughts: Overall this product is great for a file server. It's easy to set up, easy to access (lan and over web) the apps are very well thought out. Where it lacks is in processing power, if you have a lot of 180p videos and it needs to teams code them then I would suggest using and actual PC as the transcoder and using this as storage space. If I had to do it over I would not go with the "play" version as that is the only part that doesn't work very well.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/22/2015 7:48:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS1515+ Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: It's Synology. It's easy to install, it's easy to setup
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I also own a previous version, the DS1511+. I started to run short of drive space, and decided to purchase another unit instead of just upgrading drives. The improvements over the previous version are noticeable. The better CPU and more RAM lets me get more performance than I was getting (which was already pretty good). 4 Gig NIC's over two is advantageous, as I needed at least 3 (one for iSCSI, one for DLNA service to the user VLAN since it can't be routed, and one for other services). The biggest sign of the upgrade to me was when I did the disk check after creating the RAID array. I have 5 4TB drives setup in a RAID6, and it took about 12 hours to do the checks. The same check on 5 2TB drives in the 1511 took 36 hours. I have been very happy with my 1511, and have no doubt that I'll be exceedingly happy with the 1515. The 1511 isn't going anywhere either, it's being repurposed to an iSCSI only unit so I can separate my VMware storage from the rest of my stuff.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/21/2015 9:34:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS214+ Diskless System DiskStation 2-Bay Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible out of your local network
Pros: - Easy Install

- Super fast and easy to set-up on your local network
Cons: - Terrible outside of the Local Network

- 100Kb/s when using quick connect

- Need 3rd part software for WebDAV connection on windows (having the NAS files in your windows explorer as mapped network drives)

- Finder (OS X) crashed when attempting to copy a file from WebDAV connection (Attempted individually on 3 different Mac Computers at 3 different locations)

- Cloud Station slows anything working from that file

- Photo Station needs to process anything uploaded (1000 pictures take 6 hours)
- You could use Photo Station Uploader to have the processing done locally on your PC but that software crashes after a couple uses (Both Mac and Windows)
Other Thoughts: This NAS is terrible out of the local network. Be warned, using "Quick Connect" the speeds are painfully slow (think 100Kb/s slow). This isn't just me, there is a Synology forum post that dates back to 2012 with many people having the same issue.

Trying other methods of remote access, like WebDAV turned out to be painful as well. Windows doesn't natively support WebDAV so you would have to pay $40 PER MACHINE to get a 3rd party software to set up WebDAV, this is coming from Synology tutorial on setting up WebDAV. If you have Mac you're in luck because it natively supports a WebDAV connection, problem is that anytime you try and copy a file over it will crash Finder.

Ultimately, if you want to work with files remotely then you will have to use quick connect, be prepared to wait with dial-up speeds.

Other issues: Cloud station, the feature to "make your own Dropbox", has speed issues, slows anything you're working with out of that file to a crawl. This may be because of connection issues because it uses quick connect (the 100Kb/s connection). If it is because of that, then the software is terribly inefficient, it should run off of your hard drive then back up to the NAS, like Dropbox does. Side note, as I'm typing this, cloud station is constantly loosing connection and re-connecting.

Photo Station. Really nice tool! Problems - If you import through photo station then the NAS has to process all of the files for Photo Station to use. This means that your NAS will be bogged down churning through these photos. 1000 photos takes about 6 hours. There is a way around this, using Photo Station Uploader from Synology, problem is, the application crashes after a few uploads. I've tried it on my Mac and my windows, both crash, re-installed on the windows machine, still crashes.

This may all be a connection issue, but I have tried everything. My internet speeds at my home and when I am accessing remotely are both about 80MB up and down. I've contacted Synology support and they say that everything is fine after looking at the log file and connecting through WebDAV to test (I think that they only connected and didn't try moving files, that's when Finder crashes).

I'm still in talks with them (have been for over a week now) and will update if I solve any of these issues but as of now, this is terrible outside of your Local Network and it seems like I have had issues at every turn.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/21/2015 8:26:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.