Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Seagate > Seagate STAM2000100 2TB GoFlex Home Network Storage System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good product easy to set up,with great tech support
Pros: works great backup to computers
Cons: does not have a sleep mode, runs continously but has lasted two years
Other Thoughts: would recommend to anyone everyone needs backup
Reviewed By:Tom C.,5/21/2016 9:55:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > SYNOLOGY DS716+ NAS Server DiskStation Quad Core 2.08 GHz 2Bay 2G DDR3 (No HDD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quality Product
Pros: Small footprint
Fast transfer
Easy Setup
Nice DMS/Control Panel
Cons: None that I can find so far
Other Thoughts: The setup was easy. Installing the drive and then the software was a snap. Figuring out volumes, folder, users, and groups was pretty easy, but I do have some experience with that. Getting the email working took a few tries, but nothing out of the ordinary. One thing is I could not figure out how to setup the backup to an external USB drive. I emailed support and did not hear back the next morning. Called and got right through and the tech walked me through the processes. Just after that I get and email back with the instruction, it was nicer to have the guy on the phone to answer questions. We are using this with about 5 users working off it anytime, and response is good. Out old Buffalo Terastation takes forever to show files on our Macs, but our Synology shows them right away. The search in the DMS makes locating files quick on any machine since it is web based. I am really impressed. I just purchased a WD My Cloud EX2 Ultra, for my personal use. Comparing the two the Synology seems faster and the interface a little more robust, however, there is a significant price difference. I am glad I bought the WD for my person use the Synology for work. One more thing is I also purchased 2 4tb HGST 7200rpm hard drives.
Reviewed By:Lisa M.,5/19/2016 12:23:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS415+ Diskless System DiskStation 4-Bay NAS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 DS415+ - Worth it
Pros: Quality construction
Nice software
Easy setup
Good, low power consuming processor
Lot o' features
Quiet
Cons: They don't give it away, do they...
Other Thoughts: This is my first Synology NAS. I can totally see why is has a good reputation. It is well made, loading the drives was fast & easy. They fit in well without any play and seated firmly. There even was screws for 2.5" drive mounting included. The setup and software was even better. Navigating was straightforward and I was running in very little time. This unit cost a bit, but at least you get some value & functionality for your $; you can't always say that.
Reviewed By:John T.,5/19/2016 5:45:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ReadyNAS 104 4-Bay Network Attached Storage Diskless (RN10400)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good price, competent network storage for backups, very slow
Pros: + I got it on sale for a great price
+ fire and forget RAID. All you have to do is install the drives into the toolless caddies, plug them in, and let it rebuild
+ quiet and handsome
+ works very well as a target for network backups
Cons: - Slow. Dog slow. If dogs were actually this slow, they'd be euthanized. 50MB/s - 60MB/s transfer speeds, but if you turn on bitrot protection (which is the whole point of operating a multi-terabyte RAID system running BTRFS, so you should), you're looking at 20MB/s - 30MB/s
- CPU so underpowered that it's practically useless for anything besides (very slow) fileserving. Forget enabling anti-virus, Plex server, or anything else (fortunately, I have no need or I would have returned this product long ago.)
- Other ReadyNAS systems with the CPU performance that are actually worthwhile are far more expensive than they should be for the actual changes in hardware you get.
Other Thoughts: If all you need is a network backup target that does RAID where you can put the drives in and never think about it again, and/or if you need a device that can occasionally serve files over the network and are prepared to be patient, this is a perfectly adequate product if you can get it at or under $200. If you need something that can run Plex, or serve files simultaneously to multiple users, or serve as a transparent network drive for your workstation, do not buy this unless you enjoy pounding your forehead repeatedly on your desk. I knew from reviews going in that this wasn't the fastest thing in the world, and I was prepared to be patient with it, especially for the price, but it does seriously try my patience some times.
Manufacturer Response:Thanks for your review Jason, we appreciate your honesty and your feedback. We're listening to our customers here and we want to help you get the most from ReadyNAS. Please feel free to email us at netgearteam@netgear.com, and include a copy/paste of this review (as you were very detailed about the speed issues, etc., and this will be helpful for me to pass on to our ReadyNAS team) and we'll get in touch with you directly. It would also be helpful if you could let us know the firmware version that's currently installed on your unit.

Thanks again and we hope to hear from you soon.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:Jason O.,5/17/2016 9:22:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > ioSafe > ioSafe NAS 214 214-DISKLESS powered by Synology DSM Fireproof and Waterproof 1YR Hardware Warranty Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product easy to setup and a solid secure backup device.
Pros: It is easy to setup and has a very good selection of professional software already available to install. The disk drive installation is painless and the redundancy setup is automatic.
Cons: For a period of time I did not realize that there is a power button on the lower left corner - there is an "LED" next to the power label but thought that this is just a power indicator. Any it took me a bit to realize that the switch id the "LED" as well. I now have three of these devices.
Other Thoughts: I recommend this product to use as a daily backup and/or synchronization on the fly.
Reviewed By:Antoine G.,5/16/2016 12:04:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS212 Diskless System DiskStation - Feature-rich 2-bay NAS Server for Workgroups and Offices

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Synology DS 212
Pros: Work great as an external drive, but the NAS functions and most apps are very finiky. I consider myself as pretty knowledgeable with PCs, not as much on networking skills. I found the setup was very difficult. Allot of apps change settings, so I spent more time working and playing with settings than I did actually running it.
Ended up giving it to my son who works as a network admin. He got it going but agreed it was difficult.
Cons: Hard to set up
Not for the average home user unless they have a network admin to help.
Short life span for a backup / file sharing device.
Other Thoughts: Unit recently died after about 24 months of very light use. It sat un-used most of that time.
Pulling the drives and putting them into a WD My Cloud NAS box. It sounds much more user friendly that this device.
Unless they've made allot of changes I wouldn't recommend Synology NAS products.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/15/2016 1:37:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS416slim (Diskless) Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Tiny NAS platform offers interesting possibilities
Pros: Extremely low power (approx 15-18 watts fully loaded)
Dual gigabit ethernet
Four 2.5" drive bays, ideal for SSD
Ability to access the NAS OS via SSH
Cons: Relatively slow, even with SSD
Rear facing, non-locking drive bays
Side-facing power and status lights
Fan underneath blows air up
Reporting statistics do not seem to have historical data
Bays are only 12.5mm, precluding the use of 15mm drives like the ST4000LM016
Other Thoughts: Several years ago we purchased some iomega StorCenter IX2 NAS units, which, after several firmware fixes because we were one of the few customers to try using iSCSI on it, eventually got it to be stable as a basic tier shared storage for our VMware boxes. Many of our VM's are totally lightweight, and in the office environment, we've focused on low power, low noise solutions. They were slow but very reliable. Four of them fit nicely on a rack shelf, and provided sufficient speed. However, the lack of a second ethernet made network maintenance tricky, as a switch reload would kill the datastores. The hypervisors have fully redundant failover networking so the single ethernet to the NAS units kinda sucked.

The DS416slim seems to be the logical replacement, offering some new possibilities. Unlike the iomega units, the Synology is happy to present an entire RAID1 as an iSCSI LUN, and since it has four bays, it can simultaneously do two of them. Performance against a pair of Seagate/Samsung Spinpoint M9T 2TB's in RAID1 from a single VM doing sequential reads/writes seemed to cap out around 30MByte/sec, while a pair of Samsung 850 EVO's in RAID1 was able to get up to around 35MB/sec. Multiple VM's could push the total activity out a bit past 80MB/sec, at which point it seemed that the CPU on the NAS was very busy and could not cope with more.

The IOPS on the SSD datastore seemed to peak at somewhat over 1000 IOPS, which is obviously unimpressive for SSD, but awesome compared to HDD. It seems the Synology, combined with some inexpensive SSD like the PNY CS1311 (20GB/day endurance) which is available for around $210 for 960GB on sale, can provide two different tiers of low end storage, which is very attractive.

Unlike the iomega, the Synology configuration was straightforward, iSCSI worked, iSCSI multipath worked, the administrative interface isn't particularly weird or obtuse, and the ability to twiddle with the NAS OS and add a script to tweak drive APM settings to stop constant load/unload cycles means it is practical to use a larger cheap hard drive in these.

Relative to the iomega, the performance seems to be something approaching double, there are twice as many ethernet ports, there are twice as many hard drive bays (although they're 2.5"), and the price is approximately double what we paid for the iomegas.

The primary disappointment is that after about four years (since the iomegas), it'd have been nice to see NAS units with some significantly faster speeds. However, I suppose that a NAS vendor has to continue to try to create a high end for the more profitable business oriented devices, so putting a better CPU into a low end device doesn't make sense. Too bad, since the 88F6820 is actually available at speeds greater than 1GHz.

UPDATE:

I don't know exactly what precipitated the change, but now running random read traffic, the unit is sustaining 2.8K IOPS at about 50MBytes/sec from its SSD RAID1, or if changed to large sequential reads, around 130MBytes/sec aggregate. Still relatively slow, but substantially better than before, and it's been consistent for over 24 hours.
Reviewed By:J G.,5/13/2016 9:33:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > ioSafe > ioSafe NAS 214 214-DISKLESS powered by Synology DSM Fireproof and Waterproof 1YR Hardware Warranty Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Tank!
Pros: very solid, very easy to setup up and the help is also very good
Cons: we just got it but have had no performance issues, works like a charm.
Other Thoughts: all things considered i would buy another one if the need arose.
Reviewed By:darryl s.,5/13/2016 6:54:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS1815+ Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst thing money can buy
Pros: Parity Consistently check is being running for 48 hours and still at 38%, the device is unusable when that check is being perform.
Their tech support is useless, every support detail is being quote from their manual.
This is worst technology device I have ever bought..
Giving it one day and this check is not finished, this is going back.
Cons: Weak Tech support
Reviewed By:N/A,5/12/2016 4:57:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-451-US Diskless System 4-Bay Personal Cloud NAS with HDMI output, DLNA, AirPlay and PLEX Support

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Would not recommend
Pros: This is my first NAS. I chose QNAP because I read that it was easy to use, which it turned out to be.
Cons: The connectors to two out of four harddrives have issues. Since this was my first NAS I didn't really understand that there were issues with it from the beginning. I used red WD harddrives and harddrives in the same two slots kept failing. I tried replacing these harddrives twice for each failing slot (so have bought 8 total) thinking it was the harddrives that were the problem but the failures kept happening for the same two slots.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this product. It has a limited one year warranty. It is difficult to figure out if there are issues with the QNAP or if the issues are with the harddrives. Once I figured it out, I was already out of the warranty period.
Reviewed By:yeon y.,5/12/2016 11:06:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.