Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS412+ Diskless System High-Performance & Easy to Manage 4-bay All-in-1 NAS Server for SMB Users

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Operating continuously without issue since 11/2012
Cons: None that I can think of
Other Thoughts: I only realized how long this NAS had been running without a hiccup when it alerted me that a drive needed to be replaced (hot swappable).

I wish I had the room for the 8 bay version.
Reviewed By:A. Lewis,4/23/2014 2:32:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS213j Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 One of my favorite toys in the house
Pros: - Easy to set up
- Works great out of the box
- Good help documentation in the interface as well as plenty or resources online
- Nice selection of apps (particularly Download Station and Cloud Station).
- But most importantly, it's fast and reliable!
Cons: - Slightly under-powered CPU for some of the functionality that's available in the OS. For instance, you can ZIP and un-ZIP files directly through the NAS but it maxes out the CPU. Because of this, I usually ask friends to *not* use the "Download Folder" option when I share assets since the NAS will ZIP up the files before sending (or technically while sending). That might be fine for small shares but not ones that are 1+ GB in size. I haven't seen any stability issues, but prefer not having my NAS run at 100% CPU if it's not necessary. It can also stream TV through a network/USB tuner, but HD streams use up a lot of CPU as well.

- The Cloud Station app lets you set how many versions should be retained for all of your content that's shared through it, and also lets you delete versions individually or for an entire share. However, it would be nice to have the versioning setting available for individual shares/folders instead of just one global setting. For instance, I would like to keep my documents versioned that I keep in my CloudStation home directory, but not necessarily my video/music files.
Other Thoughts: I'm really loving this NAS and finding new things to use it for, even after 6 months of owning it. Some thoughts:

- I have 2x3TB drives using the default Hybrid RAID which amounts to about 2.78TB of redundant storage.

- Getting on average 600Mbps (75MBps) read/write speeds between the NAS and my HTPC, which are both on the same gigabit switch. That's about what the specs are, though it should get slightly better read speeds. I'm very happy with those numbers though.

- I'm using this as storage for all of my movies as well as for my TV shows that I record using my HTPC (via a HDHomeRun Prime network tuner, which is also awesome). Unfortunately Windows Media Center does not allow network drives as primary storage for recorded video, so I have a scheduled task that moves files over from the default location to my NAS. Then I added my NAS shared folder to WMC as a source for recorded TV. Works great.

- Loving Download Station and the associated apps for all of my devices (I have Android, iOS, and WP8; and all of them work smoothly).

- Speaking of which, I love the fact that Synology has created good native apps for all three of the main mobile OSes. That includes Download Station as well as File Station and others.

- Recently I've also downloaded the Git Server to store my app development projects, instead of storing them on Dropbox as I did before. Works great so far.

- I'm currently using the Cloud Station to store all of my work files, and have also gotten my girlfriend to use it for storing her photography files (so that she can work on the same Lightroom catalogs from multiple computers). I'm very happy with the app in general, though I had to turn off the desktop notifications since it would get a little annoying with large transfers (unlike Dropbox which waits to sync everything and notifies you once).

- I have also tested out the Video Station, which I like for streaming videos when I'm away from home. Though it doesn't seem as mature of a product as some of the other apps (I believe it was introduced fairly recently). For instance, there's no way to add a whole folder of videos to a watchlist. Instead, I have to add each individual video, which can become tedious for tutorial packages that contain 100+ small video files. I understand that it was probably primarily developed for Movies, but it would be nice to have some extra configurability. Also, the DTV tuner option is pretty awesome, but it too lacks customizations such as easily organizing channels and seems to be a little buggy. The guide data also doesn't show up for me.

Overall I'm extremely happy with this purchase and look forward to buying more Synology products in the future.
Reviewed By:JM,4/23/2014 8:53:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO HD-QL8TU3R5 8TB (4 x 2TB) DriveStation Quad USB 3.0 Four-drive storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buffalo HD-QL8TU3R5
Pros: 8TB
Cons: Always goes to sleep and takes about 3 seconds to spin back up.
Bundled software is supposed to control if the drive sleeps or not and when, but it has no effect on the device.
Devices freezes all the time - unable to wake up or access without physically restarting
Bundled backup software is old, poorly designed and very hard to use.
No updates from the company - seems they are abandoning fixing any issues with the software or drive.
Other Thoughts: Purchased this hoping it would be of equal quality and usefulness as my older Buffalo Terastation (latter is a NAS not USB). As it turns out, the greatest flaw is the one thing it lists as a plus - green. This is NOT a drive for daily or frequent use. The drive is only useful if you only plan to do occasional backups. For daily use, it is worthless junk.
Reviewed By:jpr,4/22/2014 6:50:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Western Digital > WD WDBVHT0080JCH-NESN 8TB (2 x 4TB) My Book Live Duo Personal Cloud Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very Slow
Pros: This very slow device, DLNA takes more 2-3 minutes to communicate with supported device. Very disappointed with this purchase. Recommend to build your on backup/media server system using Plesk or similar media servers
Cons: slow,slow,very slow
Reviewed By:vj,4/22/2014 11:24:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS411J Diskless System DiskStation 4-bay NAS Server for Small Office and Home Use

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love this little guy
Pros: Great little NAS for home/small office use. I use it to store pictures, movies, and data at home. Easy to setup, fairly quiet, and nice interface. Much better throughput than the Buffalo that came out about the same time.
Cons: Nothing really significant.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/21/2014 6:04:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS213 Diskless System DiskStation - Simple Set-Up, Easy Efficiency

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Swiss-Army Knife Server
Pros: I got it on a newegg sale 1st of all. Its small, uses minimal power with lower temperatures than a regular tower server. Very very good supported software apps ( with a simple web interface to manage them and a very well laid out web interface to manage the utility functions. Seems good for novice to pro. Its a very efficient server in a great size with an excellent price for the home or small business.
Cons: There is a " background Bitcoin generating" malware specifically targeted for Synology servers so read up on it! I would like a more detailed app for monitoring and detail-managing the packet-data going in and out of the network interface.
Other Thoughts: Its on good advice to get NAS HD's specifically for this Synology unit and other similar servers in my opinion. I know many people get by with desktop HD's but from my experience your going down the headache road for sure, and the warranty times covered can be much longer on NAS HD's.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/21/2014 2:02:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS414 Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't do it
Pros: None that I could see. Cheap is only a plus if it works
Cons: Most devices I've ever bought have a default IP and you access the GUI via browser. This unit comes with no IP, no OS and no firmware. It's just a box into which you put your own hard drives. According to their support (for whom I was on hold 48 minutes), you have to download the OS, install their software on your PC, connect the box directly to your PCs network port, use the software to determine the box's auto-config address an, I guess, use the same software to pump the OS into the box. I pretty much gave up on him after he told me there was no OS and I had to download it before going offline and connecting the box to my PCs network jack. I'm returning this puppy and buying a real NAS.
Other Thoughts: I can't imagine it would have cost much more to put a firmware GUI in there with a default address, my $50 router had that.
Reviewed By:bragit,4/21/2014 11:23:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Seagate > Seagate Central STCG2000100 2TB Cloud Storage System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great looking device
Pros: 2TB of storage. USB printer support. Looks good.
Cons: Not blazing fast. UI is not intuitive.
Other Thoughts: The price seems in line with the performance.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/21/2014 10:55:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO LinkStation Duo 2-Bay 2 TB (2 x 1 TB) RAID Network Attached Storage (NAS) - LS-WX2.0TL/R1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst purchasing decision ever
Pros: Small. Quiet. Worked OK for the first 9 months. Probably would work OK as a network backup device, but it is not suitable as a network server. Buying from newegg is always a great experience!!!
Cons: After 9 months of usage, I started getting "Communication Error with LS-WVL" popups on all 5 of my computers that were using the NAS and running NAS-Navigator2. I replaced my router and network cables and that did not help, so it was definitely a problem with the NAS. A month after that, Drive 1 in a Raid 1 array started getting errors. I broke up the Raid array, intending to reformat Drive 1 and then rebuild the array. After breaking up the array, the device reformatted both disks. I don't think Buffalo understands that the purpose of Raid 1 arrays is to preserve data in the case of a hard drive failure. Documentation is very poor and does not address breaking up Raid Arrays, or actions to take when you have a bad drive. The online forum has a question from a user as to how to go about replacing a bad drive and it is sitting unanswered and has been for months. At its best, the NAS would have spotty performance. When scrolling through photos ( I have thousands of photos on my NAS), I could scroll through 15 photos, then have to wait 10 seconds for it to get another batch of 15, repeat ad infinitum. This could be very frustrating to Type A personalities. The NAS did not meet my performance expectations and did not meet my longevity expectations.
Other Thoughts: There is no way to tell when the hard drives are spinning, so it is impossible to tell if "Auto" power mode actually saves power and preserves Hard Drives from excessive spinning. After I get the good hard drive out of this thing, the rest is going in the trash. The death of a Buffalo is a tragic thing, but I will be glad to get rid of this after all the grief it has caused.
Reviewed By:Dusty Sander,4/21/2014 7:56:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Western Digital > WD My Cloud EX2 4TB Personal Cloud Storage - NAS (WDBVKW0040JCH-NESN)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 WD My Cloud EX2 NAS device
Pros: Easy to set up on gigabit ethernet network with Apple Mac (OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion, OS X 10.7 Lion), and PC (Windows 7 Home Premium).
Cons: WD setup software incompatible with Mac OS X 10.9.2 (despite what WD states). I did setup a workaround to get the NAS device to work in JBOD mode. BUT this was only possible because I had already set up NAS device on other computers (OS X 10.8 & 10.7). WD support was quick to respond and spent time (via eMail) trying to find fix, but could not ID a solution. Nothing helpful on WD support site or Apple support site.
Other Thoughts: Use caution if you intend to purchase the WD My Cloud EX2 IF you intend to use with a Macintosh AND your only operating system is OS X 10.9.x Mavericks.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. When initially configuring the drive we have provided our customers with a My Cloud Learning Center online and have provided the link below for reference.
“My Cloud How To’s”: http://setup.wd2go.com/?mod=howTo&device=mc

If for any reason the issue you encountered was due to a browser problem we recommend trying a different browser to access the Dashboard configuration page, or installing our shortcut tool for the My Cloud; “WD Quick View”, as this device is fully supported for Mac OS X 10.6/.7/.8/.9 & Windows XP/Vista/7/8.
“How to access the Dashboard on a WD My Cloud, WD My Cloud Mirror, EX2, or EX4 Personal Cloud drive”: http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/10420
“WD Quick View for Mac”: http://support.wd.com/product/download.asp?groupid=904&sid=183&lang=en

If our support team is able to further assist you with any concerns you may have please contact us via phone or email below and mention this Newegg review along with your previous case number.
http://support.wdc.com/contact/contact.asp?lang=en&ct=personalcloud
(855) 842-5370

Reviewed By:N/A,4/20/2014 10:13:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau