Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS1104 4-Port USB DVI KVMP Switch with Audio and Cables

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Most complicated
Pros: None that I can see as it does not work out of the box like the old KVM did.
Cons: Upgraded from an older Iogear that worked for over 10 years and still works, but wanted sound and USB ports for mouse and keyboard as new PCs have done away with PS2 ports. The GSC1104 has no video and will not switch to other ports. Very complicated on updating the firmware. still can't get it updated. Hot key does not work and can't change it. only thing that works are the mouse, keyboard and sound. No video and no switching using hotkey. Instructions are lacking and difficult to follow. Have only been able to switch ports using the switch on front of device. Only get video by running it directly from PC to monitor.
Other Thoughts: No I would not recommend this device as it is to difficult to get running using the instructions provided. Limited video resolution not like the old box I used.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. The GCS1104 is a very high selling plug, low failure and play KVM. Upgrading the firmware is done though USB. Since the GCS1104 is an emulated KVM there is no guarantee with any keyboard other than a basic 104 key wired keyboard unless it is an IOGEAR brand. The GCS1104 supports resolutions up to 1920x 1280 (Single link DVI) To better service you and understand your set up, please feel to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Frederick K.,8/27/2016 11:25:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > ATEN > ATEN CS782DP 2-Port UHD 4K USB DisplayPort KVM Switch - allows to access two 4K-enabled computers from a single USB keyboard, USB mouse, and DisplayPort video console

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Feeding to Apple LED Cinema Display, works well for attached MacBook Pro and attached Digital Audio G4
Pros: PC1 on the CS782DP is connected to an Early 2011 MacBook Pro; the MBP's output shows fine at 2560 x 1440 on the Cinema Display whenever PC1 is activated via the CS782DP's remote Port Selection Pushbutton. PC2 is connected to a 2001 Mac Digital Audio G4 via a Gefen GTV-DVIDL-2-MDP Dual Link DVI to Mini DisplayPort Converter; the G4's output shows fine at 1280 x 720 (the CS782-compatible limit for the G4's graphics hardware/driver) whenever PC2 is activated via the CS782DP's remote Port Selection Pushbutton.
Cons: If I put the MBP to sleep while it is connected through the CS782DP to my 27-inch Apple LED Cinema Display, the display goes into deep sleep mode and won't wake up when I switch the CS782DP to connect it with the G4. (In the previous version of this review, I reported that the Gefen GTV-DVIDL-2-MDP Dual Link DVI to Mini DisplayPort Converter lost Sync after 15 minutes connected as PC2 through ATEN CS782DP KVM switch. That eventually turned out to be caused by a forgotten default System Preferences setting in Mac OS X 10.3.9 on the G4.)
Other Thoughts: There is a workaround for the above Cons problem, which works only because my MBP is USB-cabled to the CS782DP via an external keyboard rather than the laptop itself. The workaround—suggested by a second-level Apple Support person—is to _first_ activate PC2 via the CS782DP's remote Port Selection Pushbutton, and _then_ to put the MBP to sleep via Ctrl-Shift-MediaEject or Ctrl-Shift-Power entered on the _laptop_ keyboard. Also note that, because CS782DP's PC ports are DisplayPort but G4's Radeon output is DVI (also has VGA output, but this didn't work when tried—before CS782DP arrived—directly connected to Cinema Display through converters), a DVI-to-DisplayPort converter such as the Gefen—plus a Mini-DisplayPort-to-DisplayPort adapter for the Gefen's output to the CS782DP—is needed.
Reviewed By:David H.,8/24/2016 7:46:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > APC > APC AP5808 Rackmount LCD Console with Integrated KVM Switch

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good product, doesn't ship with actual items needed
Pros: - Easy to install
- Compatible with everything
- Expansion port for additional management on one unit
Cons: - Only comes with ONE (x1) vga/usb cable and ONE (x1) vga/ps2 cable. Really??? Come on APC...

By the way, the box and contents legit say you get only one. This is a unit NOT ready for use out of the box. You have to be prepared to buy more proprietary cables from APC.
Other Thoughts: I'd recommended it if you get this on a good deal to offset the additional cost of 7 more of theri proprietary vga/usb cabling.
Reviewed By:Will H.,8/24/2016 2:27:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > LINKSKEY > LINKSKEY LDV-DM202AUSK 2-port Dual Monitor DVI Audio & Mic KVM Switch w/ Cables

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great product!
Pros: Easy setup
All cables included
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: If you have two or three monitors, this is a great product when sharing between two PCs.
Reviewed By:Kenneth R.,8/22/2016 7:02:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > LINKSKEY > LINKSKEY LKU-S02ASK Slim Palmtop USB Audio & Mic KVM Switch w/ Cables

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Lasted just shy of 3 years
Pros: Price, great while it worked
Cons: Durability
Other Thoughts: I bought this new here on 9/27/2013. It's now the end of August 2016. I used it to switch between two Windows computers, a server and a desktop, maybe once a week. It was easy to install and worked well until this morning. It still works for PC1, but PC2 just has the LED flashing. Screen is visible, but no mouse or KB input so you cannot do anything while connected. Direct connecting the KB and mouse then rebooting and reinstalling the software did not fix the problem, so I'm presuming it has failed on the one side.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/22/2016 8:24:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > D-Link > D-Link DKVM-4U 4-Port USB KVM Switch

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works great... but...
Pros: Works great. Sever rack with KVM console.
Cons: States it includes two 6 foot KVM cables. Item shipped with 4 foot cables instead. I believe this was a D-Link issue though.
Other Thoughts: Trying to work out resolution. (bought 2)
Reviewed By:Darrin S.,8/18/2016 6:51:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV231DPU2 2-port DisplayPort KVM switch - USB 2.0 - 4K

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great KVM switch with a few caveats
Pros: Small, supports two computers running DisplayPort 1.1 and USB 2.0, switches quickly and without issue. I have not tested with 4K, but it works well with my Dell U3014 (2560 x 1600). Includes USB ports for keyboard, mouse, and a generic USB device (for instance, a printer).
Cons: Ports are not all on one side; the ports to the computers and displayport out are on the back, while ports for the keyboard, mouse, and shared USB device are on the front. Makes wires hard to keep clean. DisplayPort 1.1 is old, as is USB 2.0. Plan accordingly (DisplayPort 1.1 is only rated for 4K at 30 Hz; I have not tested this).
Other Thoughts: The cables and ports it comes with are full-sized DisplayPort; you'll have to buy others if you have miniDisplayPort devices.

Important: This device is USB BUS POWERED. I actually like this feature, because there is no obnoxious wall wart. However, the switch needs the bus power of BOTH USB ports from each computer on the switch to work. If you are only using a single machine for the moment (think of using a laptop that you occasionally plug in), you MUST plug the second USB port into something else, or the keyboard and/or mouse will lose power and start dropping keystrokes. To remedy, plug BOTH USB inputs (USB #1 and #1) into the same computer. I have also tried plugging a single USB port into USB 3.0 (higher amperage vs. USB 2.0) and it does not work.

Important: This switch does NOT emulate anything. So, when you switch from one computer to another, it is as if you are unplugging the Keyboard/Monitor/Mouse from the previous computer. This is normally not a problem in our age of hot-plug/PnP devices, but the loss of a DisplayPort link could cause problems if you are in the middle of watching HDCP-protected content (i.e., a blu-ray movie won't play unless the monitor is on and HDCP-protected). I like this feature because I need to use this with a workplace computer, on which I am not allowed to install drivers/have admin privileges, so plug and play is the way to go. But be warned if that is not your use case.
Reviewed By:Nicholas K.,8/17/2016 4:54:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS632U 2-Port USB PLUS KVM Switch with Built-in KVM Cables and Audio Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reliable and solid performance
Pros: Never have an issue with ghost keys
Has always been an inexpensive and reliable KVM
No software or drivers needed
No visible display quality loss by using this median device
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Perhaps a mounting bracket would be a nice touch or some included velcro strips for cable management.

I highly recommend this product for any type of setup. I have used these between two servers, along with on my home work bench.
Reviewed By:Jon S.,8/17/2016 12:12:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Coboc > Coboc KVM-2DVIUA 2-Ports 4K2K USB/DVI-D KVM Switch Kit w/ Audio &Mic - Dual-Link DVI 3840 x 2160

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Compact. Simple hook-up. Manageable price point.
Pros: Has band-width for large screens at this price!
Despite the cons it does what I wanted, just traditional KVM.
A touch of the toe switches Keyboard/Video/Mouse perfectly until you discover the secret hot-key combination.
Cons: NO MANUAL:
checked other brands to see what HOT-KEY might work (<Ctrl><Ctrl> does);
no indication why there is a 9V INPUT and no transformer is supplied to experiment.

Can't get a peep out of loud speakers which function perfectly when plugged directly into either computer. Haven't checked the mic. connection.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/12/2016 9:29:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS634U MiniView USB KVM Switch with audio and cables

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Still great
Pros: - works great
- 4 connections
- Price
Cons: - absolutely none
Other Thoughts: Love this thing! Been using one in my office for about 6 years now and i recently needed another kvm. Shipped around and still can't find anything better so i grabbed another. Really just a rock solid and nice functional device. Scroll scroll + 1-4 and you're switching between four machines. I've never had to reboot a machine to get it to work.

Be careful with mice. If you buy a gaming type mouse that really needs drivers you may have issues. Stick to basic-ish mice.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/10/2016 9:05:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.