Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS1104 4-Port USB DVI KVMP Switch with Audio and Cables

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Beware!
Pros: DVI ports with DVI-D Connectors. fits new LCDs and Video Cards.
Fast Switch and Easy to use.
Cons: It produces too much heat. approx. ~ 80 F - 90 F at the bottom of the device.

the usb port for mouse and keyboard may not work with mouse.
Other Thoughts: I gave it 2 eggs cause of the problems of the usb and the mouse. It may need a firmware update, but there is not new firmware update. Now it gets ridiculous when you want to update the firmware of the devide. you need to plug a computer directly with the monitor, mose and keyboard and usb to the KVM in other to update the firmware. to update firmware, your keyboard have to be connected to your kvm first then you need to press num lock + - then release num lock then type "u p g r a d e" no quotes. Then click on the firmware update software that you can download from iogear.com. I tried this before calling iogear. and It did not work.

Then, I call iogear and talk to one of their technitians. which told me to try to plug the mouse in a different computer to test my mouse (???). then told to try the kvm in a different computer (???). then told me sorry your kvm is defective. So I order a new one and received 2 days after and guess what. same thing. I would recommend to buy insurance from newegg just in case this device dies on you.

Now the mouse works on a different usb port of the kvm but it does not work in the set usb port for mouse. but now all your usb have to switch to the next computer you are using by pressing and holding, instead of just pressing and the keyboard mouse and monitor switches.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for your experience. The GCS1104 has built in mouse emulation, meaning it is looking for a basic wired 2 button mouse. No guarantee with anything else. This emulation can be turned off with HSM settings through the KVM. The sequence described above would be to get into these settings. Also some of the suggestions above you were asked to try are basic troubleshooting steps since this is a plug and play device. With the emulation off it should work with almost all mice. This would be the same as the usb peripheral ports on the KVM with the emulation turned off. The Upgrade process would not work if you are already at the latest level of firmware. The GCS1102 and GCS1104 are very hot selling KVM's with a very low failure rate. If you cannot change ports with using hot key commands from your keyboard, the keyboard may not be compatible with the emulation of the KVM. To better service you and understand your set up, please feel to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2014 8:34:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-423K 4-Port USB PS/2 Audio KVM Switch Kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Trendnet TK-423K 4 port
Pros: came with (way too short) cables. Also came with (way too short) audio stereo cables. Too short = 6'. Way too short = 4'. The unit seems well made with good action on the buttons.
Cons: Didn't work. No video, no KB and no Mouse switching. Weird cable setup: 1 USB + 1 PS2 with a warning on it NOT to use it if you use the USB connector. Video is done by old style 15 pin connector which is useless with a DVI or Displayport connector. A DVI (with the 4 analog) pins by the blade to a 15 pin adapter didn't get video. I stated with USB for KB & Mouse and got nada. The same thing happened when I unplugged the USB connector and used the PS/2 connector. Manual, if you can call it that consists of a shortcut guide. No troubleshooting tips,no phone number for support.

It would be very nice if there was a wired or even better a wireless remote.

Overall a useless and a total waste of time for me. Will RMA.
Other Thoughts: It's about time that KVM makers began to make reasonably priced KVMs that worked with DVI and Displayport connections and not 20+ year old VGA connectors. TImes have changed!
Reviewed By:SFO Alan,7/21/2014 2:06:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV431DUSBU 4 Port 1U Rack Mount USB KVM Switch with OSD

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Ease of switching PCs from keyboard.
Cons: The default video resolution was set for 1024 x 768. I couldn't get my SBS 2008 server to "see" the higher resolution after I adjusted it on the KVM switch until I rebooted the server.
Other Thoughts: So far, it has worked just as it's supposed to. At first, I was disappointed that it didn't come with cables but for the features it has and rack mount capability, I can understand so they can keep the price reasonable (rack mount kit additional). You do have to use their cables because of the combined USB and video connection at the switch but the 10 foot cables I purchased were reasonable and this did simplify installation. Happy with it so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2014 6:49:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > Syba > SYBA SY-KVM20075 2-port KVM Switch (DVI/USB/Audio) Perfect for Windows and Mac Systems

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Incompatible with Linux and Mac OSX.
Pros: Cheap and simple.
Cons: Incompatible with Linux and Mac OSX
Other Thoughts: I usually don't write reviews, but I hope that my experience will spare someone else a headache in the future. I cannot say if this thing works fine on PC/Windows (it may, I have not tested it); however, I believe it is false advertisement to say it works for OSX and Linux.

I purchased on of these because it was cheap and had DVI support; however, when I got it, I had much trouble getting it to detect the monitor. Finally I got it to detect; however, on my Mac there were horizontal defects streaking my screen and suddenly the monitor would drop out.

I gave it the benefit of the doubt and thought perhaps I just happened to have gotten a defective unit. So I got a replacement. However the second was worse than the first. My Linux machine would not get more than 800x600 and my Mac machine would get a purple screen at best. I tried all the restarting the machines and ensuring the connectivity of the cables but nothing works. I ensured everything worked when I had a direct connection to the monitor (not going through the KVM). From everything I can tell, this unit just doesn't work.

If you are not on a PC/Windows, don't bother with this KVM.
Reviewed By:Judah,7/19/2014 8:45:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV431DD2DUA KVM

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 1 Year
Pros: This switched worked fairly well for just over one year.
Cons: I had issues switching ports using the hot keys from day one. I have owned many KVM switches over the years and never had one that was this difficult to switch via hotkey.

Can be VERY slow switching ports, sometimes as much as 1.5 minutes for input devices to become available.

Just after a year of semi-daily use one of the usb ports on the built in hub quit working. Then the mouse port, then the keyboard port. It is no longer a KVM switch, it is now just a V switch.
Other Thoughts: This doesn't seem to support wireless input devices very well, which is common amongst switches like these, I just wanted to point it out.

This switch is far too expensive to have lasted only a year. I would not recommend it to anyone.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/18/2014 6:32:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV231UADVI 2 Port DVI + USB KVM Switch with Audio

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome So Far
Pros: This switch is fantastic so far. It was easy to hook up, intuitive, and worked as soon as I had everything booted up. I have a PC (for everything) and a Mac Pro (audio engineering) hooked up to it and it transitions between the two seamlessly. I even have my USB audio interface plugged into the switch and it handles the switch between computers perfectly. As far as operation, I have no complaints.
Cons: It didn't come with USB A/B cables. You'd think that if you're paying over $100 for a piece of hardware that requires USB A/B cables to function they'd be in the box. That was pretty frustrating since I didn't realize it didn't come with any and the only ones I could get locally were from Be$tBuy (24.99 each). Needless to say, I'm ordering some on newegg and taking the BB ones back since they're like $5 max here.
Other Thoughts: I'll update this if I ever have a problem, but for now I'm quite satisfied!
Reviewed By:JiggaWagga,7/15/2014 3:10:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-803R 8-Port USB+PS/2 Rack Mount KVM Switch

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: Cheap
Cons: USB Device not Recognized on ever computer it was tried on, W2K8R2 Server, W2K3 server , Windows 7 64-bit. Windows XP.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Valued Customer,

I apologize for the overall frustration this has caused you. Please contact me directly at adrian@trendnet.com so we can resolve this as soon as possible. Thank you for your feedback as it is very valuable to us and helps us gain more knowledge on how to improve.

Please also include a link to this review in your email.

Warm Regards,
Adrian
TRENDnet Support Team
www.trendnet.com/support

Reviewed By:N/A,7/15/2014 2:57:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV431DVIUA 4 Port DVI USB KVM Switch with Audio and USB 2.0 Hub

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Perfectly as I see fit
Pros: USB 2.0 over the PS/2 layout
DVI over VGA
Added on Audio and Mic.
Works over Windows XP, 2008 R2, 2012 R2, 7, and 8.
Cons: DVI ports need to be spread out just a little bit.
Other Thoughts: I've been looking for some KVM switch like this for sometime at the right price. I did not regret getting this.
Reviewed By:Davis Le,7/15/2014 1:21:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > Rosewill > Rosewill RKV-2UC 2-Port USB KVM Switch

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great KVM
Pros: Great KVM with small footprint.
Cons: The cable to the switch button is really thin. If it breaks you have to buy a new unit.
Other Thoughts: Other than the cable for the switch been really thin this unit works great
Reviewed By:alexisro,7/14/2014 3:44:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS1104 4-Port USB DVI KVMP Switch with Audio and Cables

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works good
Pros: Being used with a Win8 PC, Win7 laptop, and a Mac Mini. Does everything as advertised. No problems with audio, video, keyboard or mouse. I'm using an HP LCD monitor, a MS keyboard, and a logitech mouse.
Cons: Lots of wires but knew that going in.
Other Thoughts: My PC & Laptop didn't recognize the Logitech mouse at first but all I had to do is unplug the mouse from the mouse console port and plug it in to the extra USB 2.0 port that also gets switched. After that it worked flawless.
Reviewed By:RP,7/12/2014 10:53:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau