Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys E8350 AC2400 4X4 Dual-Band Gigabit Wi-Fi Router, Optimal for HD Video Streaming and Lag-Free Gaming

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Premium Price does not offer Premium Performance
Pros: I was very excited to receive this router for review. Out of the box you get the router, the antennas for the router, a power adapter, an Ethernet cable and some instructions and setup CD. Initial setup had a hiccup (see cons), but after I was able to fix relatively quickly and had wifi working for my apartment. The range on the router is quite powerful as I still received a signal from it outside my apartment and in my car using my smartphone. The strength of the Wi-Fi is pretty strong (when it doesn’t drop..see cons) as I was able to game and stream Hulu and Netflix at the same time. The router does come with a USB 3.0 port to attach an external hard drive or printer to it to provide networking for those peripherals. This router is very savvy in the way that it provides very little LED’s on it (located on the back), which means you can stick this in your bedroom without having a lightshow occur every night.
Cons: There are quite a few downsides to this router, which is a bit upsetting since this is supposed to be a higher end router. From setup I had an issue where during setup it froze on the screen and sat there for more than 10 minutes not doing anything. I had to end the process, factory reset the router to factory settings and start all over. It did work after that, but I am not sure why I had to do that out of the box. Once setup the signal was just fine, but I noticed on the 2.4 GHz band that it did not perform too well and dropped the signal a couple times. I have charter internet with 60 Mbps speeds down and seemed to only be getting about half of that on the 2.4 GHz band. The power brick on most routers is annoying and this one is no exception as it hogs 2 spaces on my power strip. The Firmware update process is annoying as you have to go to Linksys’s website and download the firmware and then push it to the router. For a premium router, I should not have to do this. Screwing in the Antennas is a bit of a pain with the design of this router. Connecting USB drives and devices also proved annoying as sometimes they wouldn’t fit in all the way and the router would detect them different than what they were.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this hasn’t been my favorite product to review. For being such a premium router I found many issues with the design and software that leads me to say that I would not buy this router personally. I had the original Linksys WRT54GL when it first released and while it lasted a good 3-4 years, I still had various issues with it and I was expecting a bit more from Linksys with the new AC standard that is releasing today. With some firmware updates this could be brought up to 4 eggs, but for now I am giving it 3. If it was just with the firmware, then that can be fixed, but the design needs to be re-looked at by Linksys for future models with the issues of plugging in USB devices and the Antennas.
Reviewed By:flarestorm99,3/31/2015 8:02:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-AC750RT - Dual Band Wireless AC750 Router with Two (2) High Power Antennas - IEEE802.11AC, b / g / n - Wi-Fi Data Rates Up to 433 Mbps (5.0 GHz) + 300 Mbps (2.4 GHz)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy Set-up,
Pros: 55 Down & 5 Up,, Easy Set-up,, The USB Network sharing. My WD ext USB hard drive shows on all the Computers on my Home network.
Cons: so far so good
Reviewed By:Dave,3/30/2015 11:59:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-AC750RT - Dual Band Wireless AC750 Router with Two (2) High Power Antennas - IEEE802.11AC, b / g / n - Wi-Fi Data Rates Up to 433 Mbps (5.0 GHz) + 300 Mbps (2.4 GHz)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good speed and save for the money
Pros: Good speeds. Works excellent for the money. I have had several Rosewill routers over the years... Because of budget I went with rosewill years ago because I was exhausted with power cycling the linksys routers I previously had. I found a diamond in the rough... The first router literally worked without a powercycle for 2 years.. amazing. I hope I get that out of this one
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Sammie,3/30/2015 11:56:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys WRT54GL Wireless Broadband Router 802.11b/g up to 54Mbps/ Compatible with Open Source DD-WRT (not pre-load)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Suprisingly does work
Pros: Does work, like other reviews have said, it is an easy setup, l love the dd-wrt open source software once I translated it from Chinese to English (which you have to do every time you change a tab), great range and security.
Cons: Shipping took nearly the max of the time frame, no tracking information given, from reading the description thoroughly before purchasing I believed I was getting a brand new router in the box, not a very low end refurbished unit, bundled up and put in a "ziploc" bag, missing manual and setup disc, was not damaged in shipping but the plastic casing of the router looked like it had been tied to and dragged from a car, the detachable antanae(s) were new and in new condition, I was rightly upset and should have called new egg, I know they would have taken care of me, but after a while I was able to turn it into a positive experience, Im glad someone pulled this router out of a land fill and refurbished it and charged a price of an in box new router so I can help save mother earth. almost forgot browsing through the software and translating it takes nearly triple the time...maybe it's time I should learn Chinese...that would be a positive.
Other Thoughts: I do feel better after being able to comment...Thanx.
Reviewed By:Mavin R Johnson,3/30/2015 11:06:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N10P Wireless N150 Router IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g/n

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad Wirelless router
Pros: This Wireless Router are so slow make connection keep lost singyal and browsing using this wirelesst router make you want to kill your self LOL. cause so slow and make you mad.
Cons: Bad wireless router dont get this type router
Reviewed By:tim,3/30/2015 9:56:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N66U Dual-Band Wireless-N900 Gigabit Router, DD-WRT Open Source support, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great as usual
Pros: Low cost combo router/wap with very flexible os/firmware options available.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: You know how good these are that's why your here, just buy it.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/30/2015 9:23:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO WXR-1900DHP AirStation Extreme AC 1900 Gigabit Dual Band Wireless Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Gigabit Router
Pros: Works great out of the box, with both a simple configuration mode to get you started and an advanced configuration mode for more tech-savvy people who like to tweak their settings. The advanced configuration is packed with features under an intuitive navigation scheme. This router seems to do it all.

I like that WPA2 security is enabled by default, this will protect people who just use their router out of the box. The area of coverage is excellent, and of course the speeds are excellent. My switch reads gigabit speeds out of the router, as advertised, and the WIFI is extremely fast as well.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: The WXR-1900DHP is an excellent modern router, really can't go wrong with this one.
Reviewed By:Nick,3/30/2015 8:14:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-Link Xtreme Gigabit Router (DIR-655) Wireless N300, USB SharePort, Gigabit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Old router, but great customer support
Pros: Very helpful customer support. See details, below
Cons: Router's signal cannot reach far end of house. See details, below.
Other Thoughts: I have owned this router since February 2009. Located at the far end of a subbasement in a split level home, the wireless signal does not reach the top floor at the opposite end of the house. During the past six years, I have had to reset the router twice due to a lost signal. Most recently, today. According to D-Link customer support, the router "lost the connection with the server." As a result I could not connect wirelessly or via ethernet cable to the internet through the router. However, within a half hour, customer support was able to restore the connection. Specifically, Mylene (ID AR004212) was able to walk me through what needed to be done to restore the connection. Amazingly, she did this even though the router was well beyond its one-year warranty period. The restoration took far less than the 15 minutes we were on the phone. I spend at least half that time fruitlessly looking for the Admin password, that I had failed to record in the usual places. I did record it, but found it only after I reset the router.
Reviewed By:Abe18,3/30/2015 8:04:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC3200 Tri-Band AC3200 Wireless Gigabit Router

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Firmware Should Do Better
Pros: Powerful hardware. Modern functionality. Good Range. Good warranty.
Cons: Physical Size. Firmware not so good.
Other Thoughts: I bought this to solve several issues with my 'almost modern' wifi setup that included an N900 Router, AC1750 Router and an N450 AP. At one point I started getting clients denied and dropped. Moving 2.4 GHz channels did not resolve the issue and several tests verified some of the elements were malfunctioning. I wanted to throw in the latest and the bestest to see how I fare with it and got ASUS AC3200 Router. I set this up as an AP, which I do not recommend unless you have no other option, thus, losing many of the great functionalities of this router. I had clients dropping left and right with the new setup as well, However, it was resolvable by moving the roter to a new location and setting the 2.4GHz channel to whatever channel was available that did not overlap with the other 2.4GHz signals from the environment (neighbors, public wifi etc). The firmware, when you set the 2.4GHz band to Auto Channel, should be able to locate the best possible channel for the signal, but this one constantly set it to a channel that already had several signals coming from the environment while there was a very good channel candidate available! (it set channel to 11 while channel 4 was the best candidate. There were signals on channels 1,6,8 and 11 coming from the environment, making channel 4 the best option). Even with this, the router should try to keep its clients, not drop them with the least of interference. Clients kept getting dropped due to an intermittently detected remote signal on a nearby channel! With the newer clients at 5GHz though, there is no such problem, at least one would not expect there to be any! Ironically there was a 5.4GHz signal from a neighbor at control channel 149, which the Auto Channel sets this router's 5.4GHz signal to!
With my several months of experience with ASUS AC3200 in AP Mode, I had no other major issues after resolving the issues with dropped clients.
AC3200's physical size is not suitable for mounting on walls. It is Huge. There is also a small design flaw with the physical locations of buttons. Anytime you want to hold the router while it is in service and move it around maybe, you end up accidentally touching the WiFi button int he fron of the router where one would normally grab the router from. Turn of WiFi and kids will start yelling at you :)
Reviewed By:N/A,3/30/2015 6:43:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC52U Great-Value Dual-Band AC750 Wireless Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Delivers Far More Than Anticipated
Pros: I did not think the router would make such a significant impact on the speed on my internet, but I was definitely proven wrong with this router. It delivers far more than I would have expected. The 2.4 ghz has excellent range and delivers amazing speed. The 5ghz channel is superb and has decent range. The router setup page is very easy to configure with little to no knowledge. In conclusion, this is the best router out there for the price.
Cons: Not much can be for the cons except the 5ghz band could have better range.
Reviewed By:coolguy1o1,3/30/2015 6:22:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.