Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R7800 Nighthawk X4S AC2600 Smart WiFi MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great Wifi, not so great when wired
Pros: The WiFi speed and connection are great around 10% to 20% better than asus RT-N66U.
Easy to setup and use with and smartphone.
Cons: When connected to a 16 port Gigabit switch some times is will not recognize all connected devices
Also when trying to configure wired through a wired network it will refresh slower that when connected by WiFi
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a small wireless network, you can't go wrong with this router. Other wise I would search other products.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/25/2016 1:22:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-WR940N_RE Wireless N Router IEEE 802.11b/g/n

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cheap but good
Pros: Used it to throttle my internet in Call Of Duty a few times and it did the job. Works well with Verizon Fios, didn't have any issues.
Cons: No ipv6
Other Thoughts: Recommended
Reviewed By:RICHARD S.,9/24/2016 4:49:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-WR841N Wireless N300 Home Router, 300Mbps, IP QoS, WPS Button

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Solid, cheap router. 3.5/5
Pros: - Definitely cheap, and quality for a relatively long
- Solid starter router
- UI is simple, comprehensive, and ugly. Just how I like it.
- I'm typing this review using it! It most certainly delivers internet, as advertised.
Cons: - I've owned this router for almost three years; it's not so consistent after this amount of time. It was great when I first bought it, it was great when I lived in my first apartment. Now, I'm rebooting this router at *least* twice per week because it's simply stopped responding. Sometimes I have to reboot twice in a row to get it resolving the address my ISP has given me.
- Building off of the first point: I like to allocate a static IP address for my printer, and home server. When the router decides to "showing its age", starting a machine that uses the static IP address causes the router to crash.

** PLEASE NOTE THAT THE ABOVE ARE COMMENTS AFTER 3 YEARS OF CONSISTENT USE. YOUR RESULTS MAY VARY. **
Other Thoughts: All in all, if you're working on a budget and you don't have intense network operations, *absolutely BUY THIS ROUTER*. Just understand that after a couple of years, it starts to show signs of age and doesn't work as well as it used to.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/24/2016 4:27:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-WR841N Wireless N300 Home Router, 300Mbps, IP QoS, WPS Button

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to setup...works brilliantly!
Pros: No issues to be honest.
Inexpensive
Great Signal
Cons: None that I've come across.
Other Thoughts: No-brainer buy. Seriously.
Reviewed By:Randy P.,9/24/2016 10:29:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R6400-100NAS AC1750 Smart Wi-Fi Dual Band Gigabit Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 bad tech support
Pros: looks nice
Cons: the worst tech support ever had the router for less than 30 days cant get the ports to open called tech support and the indian tech support wants to charge me 120 dollars to fix the problem on a new router. never had a problem with linksys. the last netgear device i buy.
Other Thoughts: should have stuck with a linksys
Reviewed By:marc d.,9/24/2016 8:55:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-Link > TP-LINK Archer C8 AC1750 Dual Band Wireless AC Gigabit Router, 2.4GHz 450Mbps+5Ghz 1350Mbps, 1 USB 2.0 Port & 1 USB 3.0 Port, IPv6, Guest Network

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Fast...When it has connection
Pros: Fast network speed
Easy setup
Good set of features and configuration options
USB 2.0 and 3.0
Cons: Limited parental controls - Not an issue for me as I control this on sophos firewall.
I had to take this router out of my network. Connection to internet would intermittently drop for no apparent reason. Would often times have to restart some devices in order to get them to connect again after rebooting router to regain internet. This does not happen with the router that is built into my modem or with the Linksys and Netgear routers this was purchased to replace. Issue is isolated to this router and has not reoccurred since I powered it down and went back to previous setup.

Other Thoughts: I really wanted to like this router. It has some good features for the price. Unfortunately it seems the adage "You get what you pay for" rings true in this case. Not able to recommend based on my experience thus far.
Reviewed By:Terry P.,9/23/2016 10:52:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-Link DIR-879 AC1900 EXO WiFi Router

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Update please
Pros: Please have other guy update his posting from March
Cons: Leaving a bad review from months ago does not help any of us
Other Thoughts: Also, you made no mention of testing your direct connection to your 10.0.0.1 in your review that ONLY makes reference to testing a connection to Google (which admitted when it was hacked btw) So be sure to use pingtest to others besides just Google which may have had the issues you referenced at the time.
Reviewed By:Andrew V.,9/23/2016 3:52:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys WRT1900ACS Open Source Ready Smart Wi-Fi Gigabit Router Supported by DD-WRT, eSATA / USB 3.0 (WRT1900ACS)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great performance and power!
Pros: -Snappy web interface. Very responsive and fast.
-Stylish. Looks like my old wrt54g.
-Great signal on the second floor.(Modem is on first floor)
Cons: -None so far :)
Other Thoughts: It's big!
Getting Gigabit over wireless with no drop outs!
Old comcast modem wireless connection would drop out and was very slow.
Reviewed By:logan b.,9/23/2016 12:27:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC66U Dual-Band Wireless-AC1750 Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad components, bad customer support, bad warranty
Pros: Nice dashboard with a lot of features, uses a hardware accelerated fork of DD-WRT
Cons: A lot of these are built with cheap electronic components that will click and buzz, heard easily from across the room -- it doesn't inspire a lot of confidence in these expensive routers' longevity. What's worse is that if you luck into one of these defective units, ASUS won't allow you to get an advance replacement -- you're expected to sit around without a network for weeks while the RMA process resolves. Avoid at all costs.
Reviewed By:Alex M.,9/23/2016 10:30:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-Link > TP-Link Archer C1900 High Power Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac/n/a 5 GHz IEEE 802.11b/g/n 2.4 GHz

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Long Range Router
Pros: Price/Performance
Signal Strength/Quality (as reported by Wifi Analyzer running on an android device)
Has all of the features that you could want (QOS / traffic prioritization being important to me)
Cons: The stand partially covers where the antennas attach - be gentle attaching them (you should be using the textured part to tighten them, but it's covered)
Other Thoughts: This is a review of a free product received from TP-LinkK as part of the review program.
I would recommend this router as a solid middle of the line router. In fact, I'd recommend it over pricier models which likely have a lot more technology under the hood than you really care about. I tested this side by side with the TP-Link C5400, and as far as Signal Strength and quality, this kept up.
If you are a tech enthusiast who has piles of wifi devices, by all means - go get a sexy flagship router.
But if you have an average number of devices, and want a solid connection at a good distance - just stick with one of these.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/22/2016 5:57:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.