Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N66U Dual-Band Wireless-N900 Gigabit Router, DD-WRT Open Source support, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great router
Pros: Fast, reliable, 5Ghz band, this router is amazing, especially compared to what I came from, loving it so far, fast connection speeds, slick looking, great router
Cons: Forgot my admin user and password for the web GUI but I think that's just a me issue, and it works anyway, I have no need to adjust settings so I'm fine, just a bummer that I don't have many 5Ghz capable devices
Other Thoughts: All around great router, sexy packaging, sexy look
Reviewed By:Technerd,8/22/2014 3:01:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC68W Dual-Band Wireless-AC1900 Gigabit Router

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not as good as the one I thought I would replace
Pros: It works.
Cons: It did not work better than the 2011 Netgear 4500 I was replacing in the hope of even better range and speed. No difference in range and the speed caused video tranmission interruptions consitently. Was inneffective with my Slingbox.

It now sits idle next to my Netgear.
Reviewed By:Bigstick,8/22/2014 12:46:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WNDR3400 N600 Wireless Router Simultaneous Dual Band IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n 2.4/5GHz 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Port x4

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't Recommend
Pros: Only thing good about this is that it supports faster speeds than most routers and has dual band.
Cons: First model had to be rma and after receiving my replacement everything seemed ok until the next day. Speeds fluctuate too much. One day I get 7 to 8mbps the next day I get 28mbps. It's not my internet provider because plugged directly to my modem I get over 25 every time. I have constant disconnects and also my Nest thermostat keeps going offline after getting this. My old one band 300 belkin router is better.
Other Thoughts: I wish I could return it for my money but that's not possible. Maybe I can sell it and get a different router. Oh well, you live and you learn.
I don't recommend paying anything over $50 on this.
Reviewed By:Jaz,8/22/2014 10:08:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC68U Wireless-AC1900 Dual Band Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Continuously disconnects...
Pros: Range is better than most routers.
Cons: This router is awful. I bought this because I read that the reviews were good, but its not. It continuously disconnected every 30 minutes or so, and in some cases I need to restart the router for it to work. Not worth the money for it.
Reviewed By:Cue,8/22/2014 9:34:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR Centria WNDR4720-100NAS All-in-One Back-up, Media Server, N900 Dual Band Gigabit Wi-Fi Router; 2TB Version (WNDR4720)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worked great until the warranty expired
Pros: Good range
Cons: Device heated up and ruined electronics.
Device gave no warning of impending HD failure
It really needs a heat monitor.
Other Thoughts: I picked this up in January of 2013 to replace my WRT54G.
By August of 2014, it failed. The tech support was negligible as it was out of warranty. The router heated itself up so much, it ruined the internal 2Tb HD. (Which makes for a bad NAS as there is no redundancy.) It also heated up the circuitry around the WIFI. It now is a wired router with no NAS.
You can actually see discoloration from heat on the circuit boards of the router and drive. (anyone know where I can get a replacement board for a 2TB Seagate drive and a REALLY small Torx driver?)

I am running out of router options. Linksys apparently does not care about security (won't patch their old stuff) and Netgear does not seem to want to fix this heat problem. Apple oversimplifies (for me). I think I will try ASUS next.
Reviewed By:PacMan,8/22/2014 8:33:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys E4200 Maximum Performance Dual-Band N Router IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: served the purpose as a router, but does not allow for medium end routing

I had trouble with the limit of port forwarding functions, never forwarded correctly. also limit of only 10 ports.

should work for every day use.
average wifi range

I since moved on for this router
Cons: does not allow for wireless AP when connected via LAN. Cisco only instructs to use as a AP when connected via WAN, which is silly if you want all connected devices to be on your LAN.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/22/2014 7:03:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO WZR-1750DHPD AirStation AC 1750 Gigabit Dual Band Wireless Router, DD-WRT Open Source Pre-Installed

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Overall? Great!
Pros: We used this router during a large convention, in a crowded hotel with wireless signals and people every which way. Range was excellent, going through multiple ballrooms from our central hub. Speed and performance remained consistent across the board, never had much issue. We had a 100Mbit connection to it and we were able to stream multiple HD feeds at the same time without issue.

Setting up the router is easy, and the instructions were clear-cut. The package was also minimal on waste (bonus).
Cons: The admin interface left a lot to be lacking. While it's full of features, we found it incredibly unresponsive during setup. Make multiple changes and the router would not save them consistently. We had to save after each and every change, which was proceeded by a 30-40 seconds pause.

Once configured the router had no problems. Just took a bit of time to get everything where we wanted it.
Other Thoughts: Comes with wall mounting hardware. HURRAY!

All the admin/login info for the router's control panel comes in a convenient little slide tab on the router itself. The tab has the default password written on it to help prevent intrusion out of the box, and is removable at that. More companies should do this.
Reviewed By:Preyfar,8/22/2014 6:18:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR AC1750 Dual Band WiFi Gigabit Router R6300-NAS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Intermittently fun project
Pros: Looks great. Often works, for a while at least. The Netgear Genie program sometimes helps restore internet connectivity.
Cons: Often -- frequently, in fact -- drops internet for no reason. Is it overheating? Is it affected by solar flares? I thought I had a correlation with wind speeds, but that didn't pan out.

The Netgear Genie program sometimes doesn't help.
Other Thoughts: This router is a fun challenge for those seeking a high-maintenance intermittent internet connection. Okay for e-mailing and reading text-only web pages. Not so good for streaming or for uses that require a reliable connection, like for work.
Reviewed By:flybob,8/21/2014 7:52:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WDR3600 Dual Band Wireless N600 Router, Gigabit, 2.4GHz 300Mbps+5GHz 300Mbps, 2 USB port, IP QoS, Wireless On/Off Switch

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: It works
Does most of what you want in a router
Cons: Does not have any QoS as advertised
Range is acceptable, but not great
Certain settings require reboot
Other Thoughts: Would be a great router if it didn't have false advertising.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/21/2014 6:48:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N66U Dual-Band Wireless-N900 Gigabit Router, DD-WRT Open Source support, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Disappointed so far
Pros: Very nice interface, a lot of configuration options, Firewall, VPN, dual band wireless, very easy to setup.
Cons: No wall mounting options, seems to run very hot.

On the second day of ownership, I am not longer able to reach https://192.168.1.1 to manage the device. To me that's a deal breaker. This device was supposed to be an upgrade for an older Netgear.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/21/2014 6:47:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau