Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WR841N Wireless N300 Home Router, 300Mbps, IP QoS, WPS Button

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Misleading Appearance
Pros: Cost efficient, I received it for free bundled with a new modem

Amazing range, I receive one bar which is still lightning fast connection a building and a half away while walking my dog

Great speeds, the Comcast modem didn't work well with our phones or PS4 but this router has fixed that problem and everything seems about as fast as a wired connection

Great strength through our walls and buildings

Hasn't reset or heated up on me yet
Cons: Old and outdated appearance
Other Thoughts: The router may look like a little cheap backup or in my case placeholder, but after using it for two weeks, I will likely not get a replacement router as this one is working so well.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 3:19:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC87R Wireless-AC2400 Dual-band Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Awesome
Pros: Very Fast
Excellent Range
Good Looks
Cons: Very Large
USB 3.0 Upfront
Other Thoughts: Introduction:
I've had this for a few days now and I love it. I mainly use my router to plug in an external hard drive and stream HD movies to my various devices and it works great for that. I tested USB speeds with my old setup and new setup with results below.
Old Setup:
Asus N66u Router and Netgear N900 USB Clients
Transfer 1GB file to bedroom PC (8ft from router, no walls) average speed aprx 8Mb/s
Transfer 1GB file to living room PC (30ft from router, 3 walls) average speed aprx 3Mb/s
New Setup:
Asus AC87R Router and Netgear A6200 USB Clients
Transfer 1GB file to bedroom PC (8ft from router, no walls) average speed aprx 22Mb/s (3X Faster)
Transfer 1GB file to living room PC (30ft from router, 3 walls) average speed aprx 23Mb/s (8X Faster!)
Conclusion:
I saw 3 times the transfer speed from my external hard drive in the bedroom and 8 times the speed to the living room. What’s interesting is that both capped out around 23Mb/s despite there being a huge difference in distance which leads me to believe my clients are the bottleneck to the transfer speed. This was a huge upgrade to my home network and I highly recommend it if you have clients that support it. The range also increased with 5Ghz having better signal strength on my devices than 2.4Ghz which is insane because 5Ghz on the N66u would not reach throughout my house but the AC87R pushes it through the house and even outside. I’m so impressed and even though it’s refurbished it looks and acts brand new. This thing is about the size of 2 N66u's and the good looks are slightly diminished by the USB 3.0 cord hanging off the front but those are small complaints. Thanks Newegg!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 3:01:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N12/D1 Wireless-N300 3-in-1 Router/AP/Range Extender IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g/n

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice router, works well with Tomato
Pros: Installation was straightforward. Coverage is good in my moderately large house. Quite reliable so far. Works with Tomato firmware.
Cons: Asus' rebate procedure is problematic.
Other Thoughts: Having difficulties which I attributed to my old router, I chose this model because it supports Tomato firmware, was well-reviewed and reasonably priced. Various sites give various information about how to install and use Tomato, and if Newegg permitted me to do so I would post a link to the site which I found most helpful with this particular router. Can't do that, but be assured it wasn't too difficult to find.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 1:28:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC56U AC1300 Dual-Band Gigabit Wireless Router

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good features but not so great range on the 2.4Ghz frequency
Pros: Great features and great UI
* I find the USB 3 hard drive connectivity extremely helpful to share files that can be accessed from any computer.
* Good long powersupply cable and a thin adapter so it doesn't block two slots on the power extension
* Great speeds when accessing items on the switch or the USB 3.0 port. I can max out the 1Gbps ports
* Guest network - this is awesome so I can provide wifi to my friends without giving them access to the other computers or my shared hard drive
* Haven't had to reset this router unless I changed a major setting
Cons: I find the range and speed on the wifi access (2.4Ghz) very low - haven't seen issues with 5Ghz. I had expected much higher range and noticed the 2.4Ghz issue as one of my laptops doesnt support 5Ghz. I've tried changing the channel and some settings based on Internet forum posts where people have seen the same issue, used INSSIDer to find channels that don't have conflicts at my home but that hasn't worked either.

At first I thought this was an issue in my apartment but after moving to two different apartments and changing the location of the router within my apartment, I've sort of given up. I don't get decent range on my laptop in my bedroom which is <30 feet away from router (in the living room) and is separated by just two drywalls and this is across all channels. Unfortunately, I wish I had verified all this when I first got the router - I would have returned it. I have the router setup centrally on a single floor apartment. The other thing I notice is that if I keep a ping google.com -t ON on the laptop in my bed room, every 30 seconds to minute or so, I get a couple of pings which result in destination host unreachable. I don't see this on my computer which is connected to the router via wired network so this is definitely a wifi issue.

I ended up buying a Netgear power line adapter kit and used that along with my old router to get range in my bedroom. I wish I didn't have to do that. Given how great ASUS router reviews have been, but given my experience with the unit I got, I'm not sure I'll recommend them.
Other Thoughts: I don't use the AIDisk (to share your usb drive so it can be accessed from anywhere) so I don't know how that works. I've also not tried the download manager and print share features.

Given my range problems, I wish I had bought a router with external antenna - maybe that would have solved some problems.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 11:57:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N12/D1 Wireless-N300 3-in-1 Router/AP/Range Extender IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g/n

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Used this as my main wireless router for over a year. The ethernet ports are 1Gbps and the wireless is as rated 300Mbps up and downstream. I upgraded to an ac router but use this as a wireless repeater to a guest network (Will have half the bandwidth 150Mbps). Very reliable and wireless doesnt drop at all.
Cons: Single core CPU on router... if that means something to anyone. The range is certainly a little smaller as compared to its competitors but not bad at all.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 9:20:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC56U Dual-Band Wireless-AC1200 Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n Asus Certified

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA out the box
Pros: Well cannot even test the unit. so NONE!
Cons: -Dead out of the box
-The unit support is on one side, so laying it flat with wires plugged in at the bottom is harder. Even though the arm raises the unit at an angle, the CAT6 wires lift the whole unit up
Other Thoughts: After replacing the order for new unit to get it faster and not wait for return and ship I realized The newegg flash site mentioned 2 year warranty but unit had a 90day warranty sticker. I bought it based on the 2 year warranty and not sure what to do here.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Naveen,

Thank your for your time in posting a review about our products. On behalf of ASUS, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. Let me assist you.

You mentioned that the unit is dead out of the box, aren't you able to use the unit or was is turning on when you tried to use it or is it booting up? usually there is a warranty card that comes with the unit for your reference. For further assistance, please email me at customerloyalty@asus.com and place the case #N150704503 in the subject line for a reference.

Thank you for choosing ASUS!

Best regards,
Jerry A
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 6:28:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-692GR Concurrent Dual Band Wireless N900 Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Router Stopped Working, NO DHCP
Pros: OK
Cons: Note: The product has advertisement as 3-years limited warranty.

I came to know from the TRENDnet customer service recent trouble with the router issue, i.e., I am not able to get to Internet when I connect my computer via this router (or Limited connection message with NO internet access).

Support ticket was raised, but response is not satisfied. Here are the responses,

1) The router itself has a 1 year warranty.
2) The free support for Trendnet products is only valid for up to one year past the devices discontinue date. The router that you have was discontinued on 2/21/2014, which indicates the free support for the unit ended in February of 2015.

Question: Similar to any purchase, I thought I have support and valid for 1 year (NOT expecting 3 year warranty though advertised) from the date of MY purchase NOT TRENDnet discontinues the product.

So please pay attention when you buy a product (thinking like me) and when there is a issue, you will not get voice support (with in the warranty period)
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 4:04:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys EA8500 AC2600 Dual-Band Smart WI-FI Wireless Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Aesthetics: Very nice looking router. Very unobtrusive. It will sit on a desk or mount on the wall. I prefer mounting on the wall to get the router above possible interference.

Setup: It's extremely easy to set up. Follow the Quick start guide, answer A few questions and your ready to go.

Documentation: A user guide is on the included CD. It is more than adequate in getting you through any normal setup issues you may have. It's doubtful that you will need it. In case something does go wrong an you need some help there is a link to tech support

Range: It has great range.The signal strength on my laptop indicated 5 bars (100%) every where inside the house. It could be as much as 50' away. Outside, it maintained a 80% signal strength out past 125' until it dropped to 60% which it kept until I reached almost 300'.

Speed: My family noticed an increase in speed from the start. I haven't had complaints lately that the online games were lagging. Everyone seems to be happier with this router. I previously used a high end router in this price range. This one is noticeably faster

Connectivity: Very configurable to suit your needs including advanced routing and VLAN capabilities

Server:The Server capabilities are very nice. Connecting a USB or eSATA external drive or both, gives you network attached storage with capabilities that, just a short time ago, would only be found in a dedicated server. This router turns your external hard drives into a ftp server and/or a media server, with full control over what is shared.
.
Security: Security on this router was certainly not an after thought. The basics are there for the less technical users, to more advanced features like DMZ, DDNS and port forwarding.

Other Features: Parental controls are really nice It's nice to be able to choose which devices can be accessed or when they can be accessed. Wireless can also be scheduled to turn on or off at certain times. If no one is home during the day, wireless is not needed nor wanted.
Cons: No real cons for me. The Twonky server interface is apply named. It works quite well., but the interface is a bit different than I have been used to. I would prefer a more traditional interface, but that's just personal preference.
Other Thoughts: While the price may seem high at first glance, this is a lot of router. The NAS capabilities could save you much time, money and frustration by being a central backup for your devices instead of a back up drive for each device. The server features would be greatly appreciated to a family member that is away from home. This router has features that the basic user will greatly appreciate, and advanced features that should satisfy all but the most demanding users. If you bought a Smart TV for its additional features, and you like a few luxuries in your car, then you will like this router.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 4:02:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO WZR-1750DHPD AirStation AC 1750 Gigabit Dual Band Wireless Router, DD-WRT Open Source Pre-Installed

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Depends on the price.
Pros: * Standard barrel connector. (12 volts at 4 amps, black tip.)
* Fully supported by DD-WRT, including daily builds.
* Physical power switch.
* USB 3 port.
* Dual radio.
Cons: * OpenWrt compatibility is incomplete.
* Runs hot under load and warm while idle.
* The function LEDs are dim and indistinct, but the "BUFFALO" logo is bright white.
Other Thoughts: OpenWrt 15.05 lacks full support for the WZR-1750DHPD because it requires the broadcom-wl driver package for ARM, which is not yet integrated. +1 star when this happens.

* Wall mounting screws are bundled, but this model is designed for a desktop or shelf.
* Bundled with a 48 watt power brick.
* No external antenna port.
* ARM7L CPU.
Reviewed By:dajhorn,7/1/2015 1:48:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys AC1900 Dual Band SMART Wi-Fi Gigabit Router (EA6900)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't Buy, or you will have problem after the return period is over
Pros: Work well for about one month.
Cons: Bought it in May and start to have problem by end of June. Connection drop several times a day. At that period, I can't return it.. Company "tech help" is useless.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 12:17:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.