Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Router (R7000)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't like Apple. Horrible tech support from NG.
Pros: High speed service when it works. Easy to configure interface.
Cons: Unstable. Requires rebooting weekly. Also, Apple doesn't like password many times, and refuses to connect. Netgear tech support could only check the spelling of the password configured on the unit. No other tech support skills. No understanding of WPA-2 handshaking, or troubleshooting. Unit getting returned for a different brand.

Apple network experts troubleshot unit. No problem seen on their end.
Other Thoughts: If you have a Mac, you might want to try something else.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2014 4:15:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N16 Wireless Router 802.11b/g/n up to 300Mbps DD-WRT Open Source support with USB Storage, Printer And Media Server

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Outside of warranty
Pros: Loved it when it was working.
Cons: The warranty is 2 years. My unit is 2 years and 4 months old. Came home from work and the wireless was down. Upon inspection I found that the router no longer had power. Tried switching the outlet and then the adapter sill no power. Hooked up a 10 year old D-Link and had no problems. ASUS tells me there is nothing they can do other than have me pay $77 for shipping and repair.
Other Thoughts: I'm a reasonable person and asked for a discount on a new router that I would purchase. I was told again that once the unit is out of warranty there is nothing that ASUS can do. I asked for a manager and was told that every manager was in a meeting.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2014 3:43:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C7 v2 AC1750 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 TP-LINK Archer C7 v2 AC1750 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
Pros: Fast, good signal strength/range
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: I have been testing this router out and so far I am very pleased with it. I connect at 866Mbps link speed on my Galaxy s5 at 5GHz. On speed test net, I am getting 95/38 download/upload . I now get a strong 5GHz signal on my Ipad Air downstairs where previously I could not use 5GHz there. So far, all connections have been rock solid.
Reviewed By:mike231,7/22/2014 3:15:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N66U Dual-Band Wireless-N900 Gigabit Router, DD-WRT Open Source support, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great router
Pros: dual band, range, speed, USB, guest login
Cons: non-really, do wish USB ports where 3.0 instead of 2.0.
Other Thoughts: Only use as AP, as Verizon MI424WR is my primary. Previously had Linksys WRT54G as AP. From where router is set (bedroom) to front door 25 feet hardly no range due to concrete walls with constant disconnects. With RT-N66U I get fair range with no disconnects on both bands. I have no reception in front of building, but get about 200-250 ft in the rear with 2.4GHz.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2014 12:58:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO AirStation HighPower N300 Wireless Router - WHR-HP-G300N

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Warranty Not Good
Pros: It was good for over a year without any problems, except recently I had to reboot router twice a day.
Cons: I have a home office and they want to replace it by me sending the product back first and not being able to work for two weeks while they send a new one. So they obviously want you to buy a new one if you have a need everyday to be productive. In essence there is no warranty!!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2014 12:11:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Router (R7000)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 GET ONE NOW
Pros: Best router I have ever purchased,, I can't say enough,, just read through the features and that is what you get,, fast, super easy UI and a plethora of setup options, top shelf security. Plus a USB3 i/o for my movie drive!
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: Had a stupid problem with a wireless printer,, contacted Netgear support and resolved my issue. This company cares about the customer. BUY ONE NOW
Reviewed By:BluesJamJim,7/22/2014 10:57:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WNR2000-100NAR Wireless-N Router 802.11b/g/n up to 300Mbps/ 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Port x4 IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g/n

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Router
Pros: Flashed to DD-WRT.
Handled a full torrent connection load.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Using as a repeater with dd-wrt and havent had any issues.
I bought this to replace the Rosewill N300 that would lockup under a heavy torrent load while repeating and it does the job wonderfully.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2014 10:51:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys WRT120N Wireless Router 802.11b/g/n up to 150Mbps/ 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Port x4

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It's okay
Pros: Hasn't broken in 5ish+ years, signal is consistent, fast wired connection.
Cons: SLOW on devices connected wirelessly My internet is 25mbs and I get less than half that on all b/g/n connections, quite a bit overpriced for what you get
Other Thoughts: Basically it's great if you want to run wires and convenient for connecting phones wirelessly. I wouldn't use wireless for gaming, netflix, etc... on other devices that need better speeds.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2014 9:27:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys AC1900 Dual Band SMART Wi-Fi Gigabit Router (EA6900)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Router
Pros: Good range, solid ports, fast processing, easy setup.
Cons: Price
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure what all these 1-eggers are talking about. By no means am I discounting their experience and maybe I was just lucky, but I have not had any of the issues they have. On the LAN I have:
3 PCs, 2 NAS devices, 3 media players, Xbox, TV.
Wireless I have: 5 phones, laptop, tablet.

I bought this router because of my fast connection and because the EA3500 just simply couldnt keep up with my demand. Wired, the 6900 eats whatever I throw at it for breakfast. Gaming is smooth and file copies are only limited by disk speed (I love my Samsung 840 Pro).
This thing has been in operation since Dec '13 and continues to go strong. There is the occasional reboot that is required, but I can do that whenever and from wherever I want through the cloud. The only thing I would count as a con is that the interface sometimes gets confused about the device names, but I have a spreadsheet of MAC addresses that I use for static IP addressing anyway, so it's not that big of a deal. I paid over $200 for this at the time - it's only $160 right now - I'd get one and see for yourself. There is NO router that is perfect - remember that.
Reviewed By:Darknesss1,7/22/2014 7:43:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N66U Dual-Band Wireless-N900 Gigabit Router, DD-WRT Open Source support, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Got a dud!
Pros: Worked great - when it worked. More features than you can shake a stick at.
Cons: After just 3 days it started dropping the WAN connection. Tested this by plugging a PC and a cheap rosewill RNX 300 router to the cable modem. Worked great in both instances. Then plugged ASUS back in and rebooted everything. Still no connect after an hour of repeatedly trying. Then It became really slow and unresponsive just trying to get into the router setup. Even plugged in with a gigabit wired connection. So already having problems less than a week in is totally unacceptable. Boxed it back up and it is going back for a refund.
Other Thoughts: It appears that these are hit or miss, out of the gate, but it appears from reviews of long term owners, that they have long term reliability issues with diminishing signal strength, connection timeouts, and more and more frequent reboots. Sorry ASUS I gave you a try, but your product needs to just work, first and foremost, then worry about the bells and whistles and gee whiz features.

Was really no point calling tech support as it worked well for three days, and I really don't want to spend many hours trying to get the thing to work (likely fruitlessly). On top of that, all of the reviews pointing out longer term reliability issues have encouraged me to just get a refund while I still can.
Reviewed By:M. Lowe,7/21/2014 11:22:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau