Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys AC1900 Dual Band SMART Wi-Fi Gigabit Router (EA6900)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent for its price
Pros: As mentioned by other users, this is quite easy to set up and get running. Took about 15 minutes to have it working as my other more expensive router, with very similar range. Had my wife set it up a 2nd time after resetting, to see how easy it would be for a less tech-oriented person, and I was not disappointed. It's quite refreshing to see how brands are now catering to users with less experience, but still offering great support and options for set up. Any device that does not require me to call in due to confusing instructions is a plus in my book. Application on the phone is easy to navigate, but lags at times, could be fixed in future revisions.

Options given also require some experience if trying to use manual settings, but VPN is quite easy to set up and configure further, not a problem for a user with just basic router knowledge.

Only have a 1000+ sqft area to go by, but the signal was pretty consistent across the floor plan, and speeds did not change much even when using multiple streaming services.

Beamforming is very welcome, as it redirects signal better throughout the space and there is not much room to improve there.
Cons: This would be twice as good if DD-WRT was supported, but I have hope of it being compatible soon. Not the manufacturer's fault, so no eggs are taken off.

I have to say the price is a bit steep, and needs mention, but it wouldn't deter me from purchasing it knowing of its capacities, use of use, and limitations beforehand.
Reviewed By:ph4ntom,3/4/2015 4:06:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N66U Dual-Band Wireless-N900 Gigabit Router, DD-WRT Open Source support, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 OK, if you don't mind getting hacked
Pros: Does its job as a "router" well.
Cons: Easily hacked. I bought 2 for different locations and both have been hacked. The last attack brought up a Phishing "FCC" page on every device (PC, iMac, iPhone, iPad) that connected to it that said my internet service had been "suspended" until I verified my age. Just push here please. Just google "asus router vulnerability" and you'll see the list of problems. Fortunately for me, the hackers were none too subtle and I shut things down quickly. I am also suspect of the DDNS service as well as the USB attached drive capabilities. To be fair, this is not the only router that has been recently hacked.
Other Thoughts: And yes, the admin pw was changed to something obscure. Firmware updated occasionally. If you have these units and must continue to run them, consider the Merlin firmware update which has addressed some of the known/published issues. Conversations with my ISP security folk lead me to believe that this is the tip of the iceberg after several exploits were widely published a short time ago. Mine are heading for the trash.
Reviewed By:Roger M.,3/4/2015 1:31:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC66R Dual-Band Wireless-AC1750 Gigabit Router –Asus Certified.

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Stable
Pros: Prompt delivery, easy setup, good coverage, very stable, many features and options. Capable of running 3rd party firmware such as DD-WRT, Tomato, Melin, etc.
Cons: USB ports are 2.0, would like at least one to be 3.0.
Other Thoughts: I was a little hesitant buying a refurbished unit but have no complaints so far. This unit replaced my TP-Link WR-1043ND which worked great until I bricked it trying to update DD-WRT. Asus updates their firmware regularly, and since the stock firmware provides all the features I need, I'll stick with that for now. My internet download speed is limited to 15 MB so I probably could have gone with something much cheaper, however, most low end units don't have the features I need such as VPN, FTP, port forwarding, USB, Guest access, etc. Although the coverage is adequate and much the same as my previous router, I was expecting to see a little more power out. I have to assume that Asus has the power out set for the maximum allowed by FCC regulations. I don't have any devices (yet) that use the 5Ghz band so I disabled that for now. Asus provides a stand that allows the unit to be oriented either vertically or horizontally. Setting it up vertically allowed me to bend the antennas down slightly for better coverage downstairs. This unit does not have a fan and does run a little warm. Probably not an issue in the short term but heat does affect reliability in the long run. To be fair, most higher end dual band routers run a little warm and don't have fans either.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/4/2015 12:15:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netis Systems > Netis WF2419 Wireless N300 AP Router Repeater Client All in One with 5dBi High Gain Antenna

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Review Update
Pros: I retract my previous review! Works Great. Low price for what you get.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Contacted net-is tech support. They did a RMA and works fine now. They were very helpful and worked with me as well as wanting to know the cause of the problem I retract my statement from before. It was a bug in the firmware. New unit working well. No Problems.
Reviewed By:Intlwaters,3/4/2015 11:44:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netis Systems > NETIS WF2420 Wireless N300 Mini Size AP Router/Repeater

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Re: Review
Pros: I retract my previous review! Works Great! Low Price for what you get!
Cons: None really. Cable Kinda short but easy fix.
Other Thoughts: Contacted net-is tech support. They did a RMA and works fine now. They were very helpful and worked with me as well as wanting to know the cause of the problem I retract my statement from before. It was a bug in the firmware. New unit working well. No Problems.
Reviewed By:Intlwaters,3/4/2015 11:41:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WDR3600 Dual Band Wireless N600 Router, Gigabit, 2.4GHz 300Mbps+5GHz 300Mbps, 2 USB port, IP QoS, Wireless On/Off Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good router, be sure to update the firmware.
Pros: Good hardware, supports 2.4HGz and 5GHz, can stream video from online and also across my wireless to apple tv and popcorn hour. Be sure to upgrade to the latest firmware (available on manufacturer website)
Cons: didnt see much online about custom firmware for this router / chipset... doesnt really need it though. the range could be better...
Other Thoughts: There are a few tweaks to the configs you need the latest firmware to be able to change. Might not be the best router for people who are not tech savvy... some configuration needed to make this perform best. see what channel other routers near you are running on and try to get your own channel (especially if you are in an apartment)
Reviewed By:N/A,3/4/2015 11:04:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C7 AC1750 Dual Band Wireless AC Gigabit Router, 2.4GHz 450Mbps+5Ghz 1350Mbps, 2 USB Ports, IPv6, Guest Network

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Strongest 5GHz Signal
Pros: As the title states, this router has great 5GHz signal strength. Without naming any specific routers, this is x2-x2.5 more powerful than my main $200 router. That in itself was surprising since my $200 router has the strongest 5GHz signal of any of my other routers.

I know a lot of people complain about the user interface, and yeah, it's not the most modern design but everything is easy to find. I am aware of the interface stability problems people have been complaining about but I have not run into any of those either. Could just be a manufacturing defect in some.
Cons: My 5GHz rant (con for all 5HGz, not just this router):

In my opinion, you don't need 5GHz. the wireless N with 2.4GHz is faster than any average home internet speed so you won't even notice a difference. 5GHz is just a feature that uninformed people waste their money on because it's the latest thing. In reality, since the wavelengths are shorter (because 5GHz vs 2.4GHz) walls actually kill your signal strength more than with 2.4GHz.

There are only 3 reasons for 5GHz:
-If you are getting interference (aka connection drops) on the 2.4GHz band from neighbors or microwaves
-If you need the extra fast speed on a LAN network that your computer probably won't even utilize
-If you get the latest tech for the sake of wasting money on inferior features.

Reasons for only using 2.4GHz and ignoring 5GHz all together:
-Same internet speed as 5GHz
-Better signal strength
-Less interference from walls
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great router for the price. One of the best I have seen in this cost range. It may not have USB 3.0 but doesn't matter to me. Interface is not very modern but all the features are easy to find and not hidden away.
Reviewed By:axelrod360,3/4/2015 10:42:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Belkin > BELKIN F9K1102 N600 DB Wireless Dual-Band N+ Router IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 OK Router model 7D 8301 v1
Pros: Easy to setup, fairly strong signal, no problems with it
Cons: drops out, has required a reset a couple of times, directional placement, stronger signal would be nice.
Other Thoughts: I bought this router a couple of years ago from a large retailer to replace a 10 year old a,b,g router. I wanted an updated product, and this has filled the bill, My house is a split level, with the master bedroom above the garage and the router is on the first floor next to the cable modem. The signal is spotty at best in the master bedroom and I would like a stronger signal. The cable company recently upgraded to 50 Mbps and this signal is not fully utilized. The second floor is where I do most of my internet surfing, the signal is strong if I reposition the router a certain way, must be angled about 45 degrees from an inside wall. I am looking for a better, faster router.
Reviewed By:tbkimbrel,3/4/2015 9:45:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N66U Dual-Band Wireless-N900 Gigabit Router, DD-WRT Open Source support, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Wireless
Pros: Good range and good encryption, very please with this router.
Cons: Running microwave oven causes signal to drop out.
Other Thoughts: No problem using in large house through concrete block rooms.
Reviewed By:Joe,3/4/2015 7:31:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO AirStation HighPower N600 Gigabit Simultaneous Dual Band DD-WRT Wireless Router - WZR-600DHP

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 DOA
Pros: Fast. Easy to flash to dd-wrt
Cons: Right out of the box with default settings could not get to admin webpage directly connected to lan but could ping router... Could not get chromecast to work on this router either. Tried flashing dd-wrt and it was successful but had the same problems.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/4/2015 2:49:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.