Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI MSI Gaming Z170A GAMING M3 LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Decent product, long term issues requiring third party software or replacement to solve.
Pros: Beautiful well built board, has plenty of space and the mounting setup is stable for all the components.

Overall when I was building a new rig I wanted to go for a good product from a company I trusted that would give me the most bang for the buck in a single GPU setup, this was it.

Excellent BIOS and on board support for OC, USB 3.0, and AV/out.
Cons: Overall I had no issues until a half year in. For the last month I've been fighting with a massive slow down in everything I've used the computer for. Games were taking minutes to load from a SSD, web pages were behaving like I was on dial up, and in game I was dropping a massive amount of frames. Had to run through a bunch of troubleshooting steps but finally I was down to the CPU acting odd even though my usage wasn't showing high in Windows Task Manager and Performance Monitor. I even upgraded to Windows 10 thinking my OS was to blame, but it wasn't.

Turns out the temp sensor for the CPU on many Z170A boards is defective and turns temperature throttling up to 100% even at 30 degrees C.

If you end up with the same issue and can't find a reason behind it download Intel XTU, it gives a simple and excellent reading of actual CPU usage that showed me pegged at 100% and showed thermal throttling at 100%. After a little more digging I found a forum thread of people with the same series board and the same issue. They recommended a piece of software called ThrottleStop to disable the built in thermal protection.

Followed through and immediately I was back to running like normal.

Sadly I can no longer RMA the board, and will have to hope I don't have any thermal events long term that damage the MB/CPU, but it's nearly unusable with the bad temp sensor.
Other Thoughts: Overall a decent product, but I couldn't recommend to anyone not willing to risk getting a defective sensor. From what I've found it could be DOA, or may wait just long enough you can't get a return on it before failing. That being said it's still a decent budget board if you're willing to deal with the potential issues.

Aside from that I love the rest of the product.
Reviewed By:Liam D.,6/29/2016 2:23:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO ALPHA LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No complaints here
Pros: Easy to use BIOS
Overclocked my 6700k rather effortlessly to 4.8 Ghz.
Overclocked Ram easily enough
Cons: really no issues
Other Thoughts: i7 6700K, Asus ROG Maximus VIII Hero Alpha Motherboard, ASUS STRIX 980ti x2 in SLI, 16GB DDR4 @ 3200Mhz, Samsung EVO 850 500GB SSD, WB Black 5TB HDD, LG Bluray Burner, Corsair HX1200i PSU, Corsair H115i Liquid CPU Cooler, Corsair 750D Airflow Edition Case outfitted with Noctua 140mm 2000RPM fans. Win 10 Home.
Reviewed By:Darrin D.,6/29/2016 11:55:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock X99 Extreme4 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Cheap and easy to overclock
Pros: Cheap and has some bios features that enable simple overclocking.
Cons: May or may not have burned up my CPU we put it in. RMAing the core back to intel as it went bad while in this mobo. Had a H100i Corsair cooler on it so doubt it was overheating.
Reviewed By:Brice B.,6/29/2016 11:55:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z170A SLI Plus LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Motherboard went bad
Pros: I honestly did like this board before it went bad.
Cons: After 5 months of using it my pc randomly turned off last week. I took it in for repairs and was informed that the board was faulty.
Reviewed By:Bracky K.,6/29/2016 11:40:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 (rev. 1.0) LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 it wokrs as it should
Pros: easy bios
cool lighting and just looks cool
Cons: not really a con but they should display which ddr4 ram is support for this board so make sure you do your homework and buy ram that is compatible
Other Thoughts: it still gets 5 eggs though its not gigabytes fault
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/29/2016 11:38:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z170-A LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Mother Board
Pros: The amount of info in the Bios that you can tweak is phenomenal. Very nice mobo and was super easy to install.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:Daniel M.,6/29/2016 10:06:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS X99-PRO/USB 3.1 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Options Gallore
Pros: Plenty of options for overclocking and fan management. Great looking bios.
Cons: Box game open with loose parts everywhere... when I attempted to register, the device came back as being previously registered by someone else. This means NewEgg has no problem selling its consumers used products as new. it is sad
Other Thoughts: Great motherboard, worked well even though the extra parts came floating in the box. Glad it works, happier that it works as well as it does
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued ASUS Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback on this matter and I will be letting the related department know about the issues you are experiencing. Have you already contacted your Place of Purchase for an exchange for a new motherboard? Please provide me with more details on this situation so we can take the appropriate steps to get this issues straightened out. If you need assistance with any technical questions or general inquiries, feel free to email me at cl-nestor@asus.com using N160690329 as reference to your case.

Thank you for choosing ASUS!

Best Regards,
-Nestor
ASUS Customer Loyalty - US Support

Reviewed By:Hector N.,6/29/2016 9:07:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: Color scheme
Cons: I ordered this as apart of a long due upgrade. It arrived dead on arrival and am still waiting to hear back from MSI on my RMA.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

We apologize for the issues that you are having with this product.

If you have not go through troubleshooting yet, then feel free to contact our tech support team for assistance at 626.271.1004 from M to F, 9am to 6pm Pacific Time.
If you have gone through troubleshooting and confirmed the symptom, then please kindly visit the URL below to set up a RMA for warranty service.
http://service.msicomputer.com/msi_user/rma_form_new.aspx

Reviewed By:Brandon E.,6/29/2016 8:48:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming Fatal1ty X99M Killer/3.1 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Redlicious
Pros: -Love the red headsinks and matching slots/connectors
-Two LAN connectors
-Excellent overclocking potential
-Easy to use overclocking options in BIOS, along with the ability to save overclocking profiles
-Well-packaged
Cons: -Might need to watch the size of the CPU heatsink, as clearance is a bit tight with the RAM slots
-Occasionally upgrading BIOS breaks the overclock, and have to re-tweak the settings. Personal feeling here is don't upgrade unless there's a reason to.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely would recommend, great board, and great overclock potential.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/29/2016 8:21:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-H170-Gaming 3 (rev. 1.0) LGA 1151 Intel H170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 GREAT Motherboard for the Money
Pros: Easy Install - The "G" Connector is Brilliant
Durable
BIOS was simple to configure
Love the 'padding' on the back connections template
Cons: It didn't assemble itself?
Other Thoughts: I've been building my own PC's for a very long time and it's been a few years since I've done it, so this motherboard made building a PC a breeze. The BIOS is phenomenal, the 'G-Connector" Gigabyte has created to connect the Case wiring to the motherboard is a brilliant idea.. it made a normally painful task a breeze.. saved me a ton of time. I didn't have any issues getting this installed and everything worked on first boot. Can't say enough good about this motherboard.
Reviewed By:Daryl P.,6/29/2016 8:03:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.