Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV500 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 500Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to setup, better than Wifi
Pros: - Setup easy as plug and play (literally)
- Better than Wifi
Cons: - Not gigabyte
Other Thoughts: I was using a wifi USB adapter and it was a bit laggy in multiplayer games. Now with the Powerline Adapter lag is gone!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/26/2016 1:01:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > Netgear Inc. > Netgear PL1200-100PAS HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV1200 Powerline Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit, up to 1200Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to setup, wired connection in 10 minutes
Pros: Saves the hassles of having to install 50-100ft or even more of ethernet cables and splitters all throughout your house
Man if I knew about these 10 years ago if they were invented
Cons: 5ft inluded ethernet cable to get from router to outlet, and device to outlet.
Could include options to ship with bigger ethernet lengths
Other Thoughts: Just about the same price as 50ft-100ft of ethernet cable
Highly recommend will save more than a handful of time
Reviewed By:Dominic P.,7/26/2016 2:17:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPL-408E2K Powerline AV2 AV600 Adapter Kit, Up to 600Mbps

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Disappointed
Pros: Faster than previous TPL-303E. Reports 145-150Mbps most of the time. Dropouts from HDHomeRun are less when running something like speedtest.net.
Cons: Multiple times per day my PC shows it no longer has internet access. Then I see the orange power-line link is on. If I enable and re-enable the PC's network interface, it clears and starts going again. The TPL-303E never did that.
Other Thoughts: I thought this would be a simple upgrade. Waiting to see what TRENDnet says. Sigh.
Manufacturer Response:"Hello,

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with the Powerline 500 AV2 Adapter Kit, TPL-408E2K. To rule out a hardware issue with the specific TPL-408E, switch their places in the network. Please also try a different device on the TPL-408E and see if it gets the same results. If you would like assistance please email me at adrian@trendnet.com and we will have a support representative contact you. Please include a link to this review.


Regards,

Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support
"

Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/23/2016 5:22:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > D-Link > D-Link DHP-701AV HomePlug AV2 AV2000 MIMO Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit, up to 2000Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid!
Pros: Speed, easy setup
Cons: Can't be used upside down in dual outlets if below is not enough room to not loose both outlets, only plugs into outlet not extension (speed loss if it works), connect light less bright (middle) than others (left and right) so you might think you have no matching connection.
Other Thoughts: First time I'm using such a product, didn't know what to expect. Replaced an Oppo wireless connection to get BR-movies from NAS w/o interruptions. Did not measure any speed but compared to wireless N it's way faster. I also attached a GB switch and now have ports galore. I'd say this is an excellent product for a very specific purpose.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/21/2016 2:02:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA411KIT High-speed AV 500Mbps Mini Powerline Adapter Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 highly recommended
Pros: plug-and-play, never looked at the manual, just plugged them in connected and off to the races. Speed test results are basically the same through these units as when directly connected to the router.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: worked so well I bought another pair and relegated my -n router to back-up role
Reviewed By:james m.,7/20/2016 4:51:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPL-308E2K Powerline AV200 Nano Adapter Kit, Up to 200Mbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good old , old school power line adapter
Pros: reliable, easy setup
Cons: slow, not OK for full speed networking, but it's fine for my 15 mbps internet
Other Thoughts: for 20$ well worth it
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/19/2016 12:06:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL PLA5456KIT HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV2000 Powerline Pass-Thru 2-Port Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit, up to 2000Mbps Transmit: up to 2000 Mbps Receive: up to 2000 Mbps Powerline Speeds: up to 2000 Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Work great for 3 months
Pros: They were easy to set up and worked really well for about 2 and a half months. First they started dropping connection 2 or three times a week.... But still had great through put
Cons: Now they've stopped talking altogether. Just get the red LED... ��
I've reset them both now the one seems to still try to ping the other, but I believe it has quit.
I've tried finding a place that sells just one at a reasonable price... No luck.
Other Thoughts: They do run very hot, I've had them plugged into outlets with good air circulation around thrm, but I think it's taken its toll.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/17/2016 2:02:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA6010KIT AV600 Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, Up to 600Mbps, Gigabit Ports, Plug and Play, Power Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as expected (fast!)
Pros: - Easy to set up
- Fast speeds (32-42mbps consistently across a house's wiring)
- Steady ping that's equivalent to that of my previous wireless setup
Cons: - Technology doesn't work well through breakers (I couldn't hook it up right out of the modem, so I went down the line and hooked it up to a gigabit switch I have)
- Instructions past linking the two adapters (setting up a powerline network, etc) not included
Other Thoughts: - "Expensive" but equally convenient
- I would explore a more permanent Ethernet solution if I were living here full time, but powerline made a fast, stable connection easy to set up
- Three green lights do flash 24/7 (cover them up with tape if you're bugged by that)
Reviewed By:Eamon K.,7/14/2016 9:20:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV500 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 500Mbps

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works as intended, slower than wireless
Pros: Plug & Play easy to connect and set up on any wireless network
Works as described, turns a power outlet into and ethernet port for direct connection.
Cons: I purchased this adapter kit because my wifi was unreliable a floor down and on the opposite end of the house as my modem. I rent an apartment below my landlord who owns the modem so besides running wires through the walls, this is one of the few options I'm left with.
I ran speedtests multiple times in different settings, before and after installing the adapters and the results showed my 300mbps wifi card receiving double, or close to double the speeds from the wired connection using these adapters.
Maybe there are some settings I can tweak or haven't properly installed something, but as for now, these adapters are unfortunately useless to me.
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

Thank you for reviewing our Powerline Starter Kit.

Please bear in mind that the theoretical maximum channel data transfer rate is derived from HomePlug AV specifications. Actual data transfer rate will vary from network environment including: distance, network traffic, noise on electrical wires, building material and construction, quality of electrical installation and other adverse conditions.

Actual data will vary because of the network conditions and environment factors.

The terms "AV500" and "500Mbps," are derived from applicable specifications and refer to the theoretical maximum physical-layer data transfer rate. Those terms are used on this product solely to indicate its compatibility with other " AV500" or " 500Mbps" PowerLine devices. Actual data speeds vary and are limited by the product's Ethernet port and other network conditions such as data traffic, electrical noise, and wiring issues.

Our 24/7 Support Team is always available and happy to answer any questions you may have about our products. Please feel free to contact us any time at the e-mail address below, and one of our Support Agents will gladly assist you.

Best Regards!
TP-LINK Support Team
(866) 225-8139
ussupportteam@tp-link.com

Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/14/2016 10:48:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPL-408E2K Powerline AV2 AV600 Adapter Kit, Up to 600Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to set up and use
Pros: I liked that I could get wired speeds and not have to worry about dropping signal from wifi to the corner of my house where my system is.
Cons: It does get hot when left on for a long amount of time and transferring a lot of data. You cannot connect it through a surge protector, you MUST connect it directly to the wall or a non surge splitter like extension cord (basic extension)
Other Thoughts: I ripped my case open (one screw and popped tabs) and mounted a copper heatsink found here (or elsewhere online) and it helped a great bit from it locking up. It IS a modified cover now but they should have implemented a heat sink on the chip they get so hot! Works like it should
Reviewed By:ALBERT K.,7/11/2016 9:51:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.