Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Powerline Networking > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPL-307E2K Powerline AV Adapter Kit with Bonus Outlet Up to 200Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great way to expand your wired network
Pros: Work as intended. Good price to performance ratio. Running strong for about 2 years. Have used in two different homes with no issues in either location.
Cons: n/a
Other Thoughts: First time you pair them, it is best to be in the same room so you do not have to run back and forth. 2 years out they have work as expected. After you do the initial pairing they are easy to move to a new location.

I have not used the 110 volt plug feature on the face.

Make sure your room does not switch off the bottom outlet you are using as these are large and hang down and would cover the second outlet if you plugged them in the top of the outlet.
Reviewed By:Cool GTX,3/2/2015 9:10:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPL-401E Powerline 500 AV Adapter Up to 500Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after 11.5 months
Pros: Plug and play installation and worked great from day one until it died
Cons: Died almost at the limit of the warranty
Other Thoughts: This is the 2nd Ethernet over powerline adapter to die on me. The other was an Actiontec that died at 13 months so i am out of luck on that one.
Reviewed By:a2myke,3/1/2015 9:21:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Actiontec > Actiontec PWR511K01 500Mbps Powerline Network Adapter Kit Up to 500Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after 13 months
Pros: Worked right out of the box.
Cons: Dead after 13 months (just past the warranty. I opened it and it has 1 dead capacitor.
It died in February so it was not a surge plus they instruct you to not connect it through a surge protector because it can block the signal. I also had a Trendnet TPL-401E die on me at 11.5 months
Other Thoughts: With my failure rate with these Ethernet over powerline adapters, it looks like it is more like a subscription service.
Reviewed By:a2myke,3/1/2015 8:43:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPL-306E2K Compact Powerline AV Adapter Kit Up to 200Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked better than expected
Pros: I really doubted that it would work to get network out at the farm production barn, but decided to try it anyhow when it was on sale for a Shell Shocker. In fact, I didn't even try it for quit awhile, thinking it was going to be a waste of time. In spite of being over 300 ft away from the main router, going through 3 electrical panels, and being near a large solar inverter, it worked first try; had I known how quick it was going to be to try, I would have done it sooner. Now we have network and internet for our production computer in the barn. At that distance, it may not be the fastest, but I was amazed that it worked at all. If it will work under these conditions, I can't see why it wouldn't work great for more normal consumer applications.
Cons: Haven't found any, since it does what I needed it to.
Reviewed By:mushroom farmer,3/1/2015 8:25:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Actiontec > Actiontec PWR511WB1 500 AV Powerline Network Adapter Up to 500Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed twice inside 18 months.
Pros: Worked pretty well when it wasn't completely non-functioning. It would occasionally lose the link to the Z side, but was corrected easily by pressing the reset button.
Cons: The first pair I bought worked for about 9 months before breaking. One of the units simply wouldn't power up and made a humming sound. Replacement pair lasted about 6 months. Basically the same thing happened.

Replacement units only carry a 90 day warranty.

Either I hit the bad luck lotto with these units or they have a high fail rate. I'd bet it's the latter.

***AVOID PURCHASE***
Reviewed By:N/A,2/27/2015 2:37:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > D-Link > D-Link DHP-309AV PowerLine AV+ Mini Adapter Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works perfectly everywhere
Pros: Totally plug & play. Connected to router upstairs, back circuit. 2nd unit downstairs and will connect on front or back circuit. My Netgear WGR614 is probably dying - disconnects often, and only getting 12Mbs out of max 18 Mbs. With powerline attached, actually getting 20-22 Mbs - higher than I'm paying for. Have moved it around to various outlets for temp use, and always reconnects instantly. It's been flawless for me.
Cons: So far zero.
Other Thoughts: I have an old house with lousy wiring. My expectations were low, but bought it on sale, so . . . Results are such that I couldn't expect more from this product.
Reviewed By:rastarman,2/27/2015 9:13:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Linksys > LINKSYS PLEK400-NP Powerline AV 1-Port Network Adapter Kit Up to 200Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Plug and Play
Pros: Works out of the box
Awesome sale price
Excellent connection
Cons: Only one port (easily fixed with a switch)
Other Thoughts: I live in a a two story with router upstairs and use this to get a better connection to all of my home theater devices on the first floor. Although I purchased the single port I have it wired into a switch which works great. I am now able to get HD stream, which I was unable to get over wireless. I purchased this for under $20 which was a fantastic sale price.
Reviewed By:Evan,2/27/2015 9:06:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA2010KIT AV 200Mbps Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome little devices
Pros: I definitely love this thing, it does exactly what it needs to do.
My router is in the other room of the house and cannot be moved. My house is quiet old and the signal with these bad boys is amazing. I used to have 8mbps download and about 2mbps upload now I get 30mbps download and 9mbps upload.
Cons: This isn't really a bad con because every powerline is usually like this, but only 1 ethernet port. I just recently bought a switch so I have plenty more ethernet ports to use the powerline all over my room/house
Reviewed By:scwbrian,2/27/2015 6:54:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL PLA5405KIT HomePlug AV2 MIMO 1200 Mbps Powerline Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It will periodically stop working for no reason
Pros: Very high speeds ( Effective rates of about 150 Mbps -- 170 Mbps in my network). Previous generation products would not get more than 60 Mbps .
Cons: Buggy product. It will simply stop working at random times. All LEDs will show a light red color and never recover. You will need to unplug ALL adapters and then plug them back. This never happened with any previous Zyxel product that I owned.
Other Thoughts: I called Zyxel technical support. They are aware about this issue, but they told they won't offer any fix. Their "warranty" is a joke.
Reviewed By:Carl Russ,2/26/2015 4:54:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Linksys > LINKSYS PLEK400-NP Powerline AV 1-Port Network Adapter Kit Up to 200Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to set up & works great
Pros: Easy, quick setup.
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: Bought this in order to move a WiFi Access Point to a more suitable location. (Could not run new wiring.) The setup could not have been easier & it works exactly the way I need it to. Now the WiFi AP is in the family area while the rest of the network gear is out of sight.
Reviewed By:Nick Name,2/23/2015 6:32:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.