Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-PA8010 KIT AV1200 Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's Electric!
Pros: Blazing fast. These are a fantastic way to add network connectivity to any area of your electrical grid so long as your devices are on the same breaker box. Setup is super quick and performance is leaps and bounds better than the AV500 units I was using before. My streaming devices are much happier on these units and now I don't have to stand on one leg holding a metal clothes hanger to ensure my wifi signal can reach to the farthest reaches of my home. Indicators are easy to read and the product works as advertised. They don't seem to get too hot due to the large vents on the sides of the units and they feel solidly built like they won't be completely obliterated by a toddler being a little careless with their toys in the same room.
Cons: Huge? The units themselves are actually really big. Not sure if that's really a con though because they have quite a bit of venting to keep them from getting overheated. I haven't noticed any other cons though which means they don't have too many.
Other Thoughts: If you don't have the option to expand your ethernet connectivity with cat5e or cat6, these units are a great option when you want performance that rivals the best wifi routers while being able to ensure that you're able to directly hook up a device over ethernet. I'm digging them and now that I have these as well as the AV500 units, there is nowhere on my property that is unnetworkable now.
Reviewed By:Matthew S.,9/28/2016 3:41:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-PA7020 KIT HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV1000 2 –Port Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit, up to 1000 Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid 2-Port Powerline Adapter
Pros: No dropped signals
Super-easy setup
Two Ethernet ports
Large but doesn't block outlet
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I've been running powerline adapters in my house since 2008, and have had good experiences with TP-Link products over the years so I was looking forward to testing these. As with most powerline adapters setup couldn't be simpler, just connect one of the adapters into the wall near your router and connect one of the included CAT5 cables to the router. Then connect the other device to your computer, wherever it is located in your house, and you'll on the internet in seconds --- it doesn't get much easier than that.
To test the speed of the adapters I measured the transfer of a 1GB video file from my PC to a personal server that's part of my network. First I connected the personal server to the second port on the adapter connected to my cable modem, and was pleased to see the same transfer speeds I get when directly connected to the modem (85 MB/s). This frees up one of the modems ports.
Next I moved the personal server across the house and measured the transfer speed of the same file. The bad news is that I could only get 6.5 MB/s, but the good news is that I could get only 2 MB/s on my old adapter. The newer technology makes upgrading worthwhile if you're running old equipment. And in all fairness to the TP-Link adapter, network speed in a powerline environment is affected by many variables and I've found that the best I can get with any adapter is about 50% of the internet download speed, tops. In my case that equates to about 85 MB/s off the modem and 25 - 40 MB/s off the powerline adapter. That is still more than sufficient for streaming Netflix, etc., which is why I continue to use these devices rather than crawl under the house and run CAT5 cable.
I've tested many powerline adapters and have always been pleased with the reliability of TP-Link devices. In addition to the super simple setup they are not prone to dropped signals and the need for rebooting (as in unplugging and replugging). Throw the two ports into the mix and they're easy to recommend.
Reviewed By:Cecil S.,9/28/2016 12:32:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPL-406E2K Powerline 500 AV Nano Adapter Kit, up to 500 Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product, works exactly as advertised.
Pros: Picked it up on the Labor Day sale, great price.
Extremely easy setup. Plug into wall socket near router and desired computer. Wire with included ethernet cables. Press sync button on the adapter near the computer. Done.
Cons: The only con is the slightly deceptive advertising about the "Up to 500mbps" nonsense. But it appears all of the manufacturers of these do it. Realistically, there are only two speeds of these types of adapters. Those that are 10/100 and those that at gigabit.
Other Thoughts: Would definitely recommend. In my situation, works just as well as running ethernet to the router. Might by more of this model for some of the other devices in the home, but it's also equally possible I'll get some of the ones that support gigabit speeds.
Reviewed By:Jason M.,9/28/2016 1:06:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-PA7020 KIT HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV1000 2 –Port Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit, up to 1000 Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product, easy set up and reliable.
Pros: -Easy Plug and Play setup
-2 Ports on each adapter
-Ethernet cables included
-Over the period of 1 week the speed is consistent and has not dropped once
Cons: -Not getting the model with 3 ports is my only con but that isn't reason to knock any eggs
Other Thoughts: I have 130Mbps down and 5Mbps up through my ISP. With every powerline kit I have tested I have never been able to get over 36Mbps until now. With this powerline kit I am able to get almost 80Mbps down and I get my full 5Mbps up from one side of the house to the other (1900SF). In my living room I have my modem, HD Homerun Prime, an ASUS wireless router with a 4TB external hard drive attached to it. Transferring files through the powerline from my PC to that external drive connected to that router I get 18Mbps to 23Mbps but that said the USB port on the ASUS router is 2.0 so that definitely plays a role. All that said I was close to giving up on powerline adapters but this kit has given me renewed hope that the technology is evolving and is an extremely affordable means to running internet on the same power grid where WiFi is an issue.

Lastly I would like to point out that I have tested quite a few different adapters and if you are having an issue where your speed is really low I have found the cause to be too much noise in that receptacle. Try to use a receptacle where no major appliances are plugged into it because they create too much noise in that receptacle. Never attach a powerline adapter to a power strip as that will also have a big impact on speed and reliability. Its no secret TP-Link makes solid networking hardware and I can definitely recommend this product to anyone without a doubt. This product has earned its place in my home network and I will continue to use it going forward. 5 Eggs!
Reviewed By:Carlos A.,9/26/2016 7:56:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-PA4010 TKIT AV500 Powerline Adapter 3-Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Too easy! Works well!
Pros: Plug in devices, push the pairing button and bam! Works downstairs to upstairs; took it to a friends house and worked from basement to top floor.
Cons: Nothing really, must plug directly into a plug in, no power strip. That concerns me with power surges..
Other Thoughts: Works awesome for the price, better than wireless! Wireless can be finicky, this is a stable wired connection.
Reviewed By:Roland L.,9/25/2016 5:32:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-PA2010KIT AV200 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 200Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best product I've bought
Pros: This is just like having an Ethernet cable running all the way to my router. I love this thing, because when gaming, the latency is much lower than over wireless, and I can get my full bandwidth on the other side of the house from the router (Thats where the 5ghz Wifi starts to cut out).
Cons: In the past year, they've stopped working twice, but I just had to unplug them, then plug them back in.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend this to anyone that doesn't have their router in the same room as their pc/gaming device, especially anyone that is into gaming,
Reviewed By:Steven D.,9/24/2016 2:55:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-PA8010 KIT AV1200 Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Reasonable speeds
Pros: Plug and play out of the box, which makes for a very simple setup.
Highly recommended to pair the devices though which will encrypt the connection!
The included application is actually really nice, most power line adapters do not include such capability, the software will allow you to view connection speeds to help troubleshoot poor performing devices.
Middle LED indicator changes color based in signal strength for better positioning.
Cons: On the same Circuit (my room) i was only about to get 60Mbit's which was surprisingly low, these results were verified by Speedtest.net and LAN transfers (1Gb clients) using SSD's which was rather dissapointing, swapping to my 802.11AC AP I was pushing 180Mbit's on Speedtest.net (max Internet speed) and significantly higher for LAN transfers.
My house is a little over 100 years old, the wiring was upgraded about 15 years ago though.
Other Thoughts: It seems in general how my house is wired it is not very compatible with powerline adapters. I moved the primary adapter to the circuit where the networking equipment is, and no matter where I plugged in the remote adapter I was getting between 20-30Mbits, which is the same result as when the powerline adapter was on my room (only two locations with ethernet runs for testing.

Reason why I am giving it 4/5 stars is this issue most likely has to do with my houses wiring. I didn't expect to get near the 1200 speeds that it is capable, but what I did get was much less than expected.

Other important things to note, these adapters like most power line adapters are large, and can block the neighboring plug if the other plug is a bit large, or is a wall wart.

This product may work better for you, however with Wireless AC these have some tough competition, unless the wireless signal is rather poor.
Reviewed By:Peter C.,9/23/2016 6:51:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPL-308E2K Powerline AV200 Nano Adapter Kit, Up to 200Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Work as they are supposed to.
Pros: Use it in a townhouse to avoid having to have wifi in the basement. Slow, but perfectly fine for something running a media server.
Cons: Speed isn't great, but if you're watching movies and not transferring huge files, it is great.
Reviewed By:Jason G.,9/23/2016 6:40:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-PA8010 KIT AV1200 Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Powertastic!
Pros: For this review I initially thought that I would not have much to say about a powerline adapter and I was prepared for mediocrity, thanks to my previous but limited experience with powerline adapters in the past. The first thing I noticed when opening this device was the fact the devices are pretty sleek and look quite nice which is nice since a lot of times tech gear is made to look like tech gear instead of as a part of the home. After approving of the aesthetic design I decided to try it out with my desktop which I normally have hardwired to my network switch. Once plugging it in I was pleasantly surprised that the plug-n-play nature of the device did actually work just as easily as advertised! I plugged the devices in, I secured by hitting the buttons, and was setup in a no time flat! After being setup I decided to do some network tests and found that I was pretty much getting the rated speeds (not quite but that is expected) of the gigabit port (peaked at about 100MB/s). I also used an electricity measuring device to measure the amount of electricity this used and found that it matched what was listed on the spec sheet. I was pleasantly surprised with the excellent connectivity I achieved with this device and the speeds worked quite well! After seeing how well it did on my desktop I decided to use it for about a week and did not see any adverse effects. In the past I have been disappointed with powerline adapters but these really did win me over and I am no longer only willing to recommend them as a last resort but instead I will recommend them as a pretty good option when connectivity is a concern.
Another pro would be the fact that you can easily connect multiple pairs of adapters in the same house, which is usually quite a pain with older powerline adapters but I guess these make it just as easy as securing them. I could not test this since I only received 1 pair.
Cons: As long as you know the limitations of powerline adapters I could not find any real cons other than the fact that this model does not have a power outlet passthrough and it does block a substantial portion of the outlet. I also don’t much care for the color since normally this will be located under a desk so I would think that black blends in better.
Other Thoughts: So one of the cons was that it blocks a large portion of the outlet but that is basically standard for powerlines. Another thing I wanted to mention was the fact that the prongs are a little too low which causes the top of the device to interfere with the upper outlet but you can still comfortable plug in a 2 prong plug. The fact that the device is white rubs me the wrong way because I would think this device will most likely be low or behind something so it should be black to be less noticeable but the white device look is nice.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/23/2016 4:04:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-PA8010 KIT AV1200 Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I'm Impressed!!!
Pros: * It is truly plug and play, there is no set up required.
Pressing a button on each unit will secure the connection.
* The quick install guide is very well done and easy to understand.
* The units are well put together and nice 2 meter cat 5e cables included.
* Very fast. Connection speed reached 1002 Mbps according to the include software.
I tested transfer speeds with LAN_SpeedTest. Write speeds to my NAS, were in the 240 Mbps range, approximately 3x that of the 802.11AC Dual Band Gigabit adapter that I usually use. Read speeds also greatly improved. I tried the power line adapter on a system that is usually hardwired cat5 Ethernet. The Powerline adapter, consistently, averaged about a 30% improvement on both write and read speeds. Actual large file transfers confirmed the improvement in performance.
* Very handy utility software. The Application shows a graphic depiction of your Powerline network . It will show the connection speeds between the units both ways, upload and download, It allows tweaking the connection based on the type of use you prefer. The choices are internet, VoIP, online gaming or audio and video. It will let you name the units for easier ID. It also will update the firmware. It is simple, but, well thought out.
* MIMO technology allows this system to use all three wires in your electrical system The line, neutral and ground wires, increasing capacity and stability.
* The price is right!! A nice WIFI adapter will cost almost as much. It is certainly cheaper than the total cost of running Ethernet cable.
Cons: The only con is that each module takes up an outlet. Most houses never have enough outlets. A pass through model of this unit is available to solve this issue if it is a problem for you.
Other Thoughts: Why doesn't it reach near the 1200 Mbps speed? This is what Tp-Link says about that:
1.The theoretical maximum channel data transfer rate is derived from HomePlug AV2 specifications. Actual data transfer rate will vary from network environment including: distance, network traffic, noise on electrical wires, building material and construction, quality of electrical installation and other adverse conditions.
2.Actual data will vary because of the network conditions and environment factors.

I do have a concern. Having lost three computers at one time from a lighting strike to a power line, I am concerned with the lack of a way to connect this to a surge protector. Inline Ethernet surge protectors do exist, but you would need one on each unit which would add significantly to the cost. I will be disconnecting these from my computers at the first sign of lightning!

I was very pleasantly surprised with this system. It would be handy to have around simply for a quick connection to a smart TV or any other device that you may acquire. I certainly will be recommending this to everybody!!
Reviewed By:Steven H.,9/22/2016 11:00:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.