Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SRA-F-O ATX Server Motherboard LGA 2011-3 Intel C612

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unstable, 2 RMAs, Completely Unreliable
Pros: - Looks pretty.
- Has room for 3x GPUs. (but no add-on cards)
- The 10x SATA ports are at 90 degrees, making cabling much cleaner.
Cons: Board #1 (new retail package from NewEgg): Complete instability. Random hardware lockups/freezes from 2m to 5h (no Linux kernel panics - just pure lockups). So, I installed Windows 2012R2 thinking it may be Linux. It was greatly exasperated under Windows! Tested each 8GB ram stick one at a time: lockups. Disconnected all devices: lockups. Changed to a different PSU: lockups.

Technical support had several "BETA BIOS's" they wanted me to flash. Hesitant, I tried. The system would never take a "Recovery" SUPER.ROM flash. Technical support couldn't help with this, as they just gave the standard directions. So, I finally just grabbed and modified a normal flash USB image (why a customer has to go the extreme of hacking a bios flash update, goes to show you the level of quality of this product) to get the BETA BIOS to load. It worked for a few reboots; but now, the system hands during the diagnostics. Email support has been great; but, they say to RMA the board.

Extremely hesitant to RMA the board, as this system is in production, I tool the EXTRA time to migrate everything to a very old stable server - and RMA'd the board.

Board #2 (RMA product/not retail package): Better. Took the BIOS flash on first try. After a few days using the existing W2K12R2 system I had on the previous board, it started to show hard lockups again. So I paved the machine and went back to Debian stable. Once every week it would hard lock. Paved the system and went to Ubuntu, same hard locks.

Swapped out memory with KNOWN GOOD 64 GB ECC memory from another server, that was running 1+ year straight with no reboot. Changed SSDs to KNOWN GOOD SSDs. Same hard lock ups about once a week.

Support just keeps sending me beta BIOSes. I flashed one.

Paved the system and went back to W2K12R2. Seemed fairly stable for about 3 weeks - and now the hard locks are happening again. Then they become common, every few days.

RMA #2...

Board #3 (RMA product, "personally tested and stable for 1 week" the support rep said): Better than #2, the board is fairly stable.

But as I am writing this, it still hard-locks after several weeks, or every other month.

There are no Windows blue screen dumps to examine - remember, these are all HARD LOCKUPs. Even under Linux. Even tried no Supermicro drivers and just use Windows drivers. Hard lockups. Tried the Windows drivers. Hard lockups. Linux Debian and Ubuntu, hard lockups.

I give up...

DO NOT BUY THIS BOARD.
Other Thoughts: I came back to re-write my previous 1-egg review after 2 RMAs and dozens of Supermicro support tickets.

First, Supermicro Technical Support is really good. I used pure email and they were always very responsive within 4 to 8 hours, even in the middle of the day here in there US where support was mostly overseas. A+

Second, other Supermicro motherboards I have had over the last 20 years are perfectly stable. This "version" is not.

Overall: It was a very hard decision between this board and the X10DAL (the X10DAL allows for all three x16 GPU slots to be used with a single CPU - and has room for 1 additional x8 connected to the PCH!). I disable IPMI due to it's hackable/laughable security.

I went with SuperMicro for their reputation for stability. This product has completely let me down and I advise against it.
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us again. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:ERIC D.,1/13/2017 7:08:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-A1SRi-2758F-O Mini ITX Server Motherboard DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works well, fails in about a year
Pros: - Passively cooled (quiet)
- Low power consumption
- Powerful enough for an always on home server
Cons: - Owned 2, first one failed in 13 months, the second in 12 months.
Other Thoughts: - Requires ECC SO-DIMMs for RAM, which are somewhat rare and a bit expensive.
- Caveat: Oddly, the manufacturer warranty covers 1 year for parts, 3 years labor. I purchased the 3 year replacement warranty, and its coverage does not start until 3 years after purchase, meaning neither OEM or warranty will cover you for parts from years 2-3 (years 4-6 however are covered...) . Trying to get it resolved with newegg.
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. Please kindly contact our technical support so that we can find out more about your configuration and work with you in finding a solution. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Alister L.,1/12/2017 12:03:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock EP2C602-4L/D16 SSI EEB Server Motherboard Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602 DDR3 1866 / 1600 / 1333 / 1066 R/LR ECC and UDIMM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great mb
Pros: - lots of sata
- quite reliable
Cons: - need more sata III for ssd
Reviewed By:Aaron D.,1/11/2017 8:16:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SRA-O ATX Server Motherboard LGA 2011-3 Intel C612

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Time to RMA this board for a third time..
Pros: Lots of SATA ports.
Cons: RMA #1
This board was working well for about four months, then began to occasionally reboot. After a while, the reboots became more frequent until it was apparent that it was hardware related. A cold start of the board would run for 24-48 hours, reboot, then afterwards reboot on intervals between five seconds and two minutes. I RMA'd the board, clearly noted the issue in the RMA request, then also attached a taped a piece of paper to the board that said "INTERMITTENT ISSUE. MAY TAKE 48 HOURS FOR ISSUE TO OCCUR." I then shipped it to Supermicro on my own dime.

Naturally, their RMA department tested it for one hour then sent it back to me as "no problem found".

RMA #2
Upon receiving the board back, I verified that the issue still occurred and got another RMA number. This time, I spoke with a technician who gave me special directions to make sure the board would come to him. I then shipped it back to Supermicro again, on my own dime.

Two weeks later, the technician contacted me to inform that he was able to replicate the issue, and that a replacement board would be mailed out.

RMA #3
I received the replacement board and decided to benchtest it prior to assembly. I found that the board locks up during POST when I try to
boot memtest86 from a USB stick on either of the USB ports located on the connector that also contains the PS2 port.

So, now I have what appears to be someone else's problem board. So now, RMA #3 will be coming along shortly.
Other Thoughts: If you buy this product, make sure to test it outside of the chassis for a long burn-in period prior to building your computer. If your board fails, be aware that it may take an incredible amount of your personal time and several replacements to get one that actually works.
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. If you still have any question regarding to the motherboard, feel free to contact us again. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Grant F.,1/11/2017 7:35:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10DRI Extended ATX Server Motherboard Dual LGA 2011 R3 Intel C612

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Problems Rma it with supermicro
Pros: Second board works good
Cons: Rma does not cover anything. I had all the components hook up the power supply plug in and no power to the board. Took a few days to try to fix it and test all components. I had to wait a almost a month to get my cpu from newegg, so could not test the board within 30 days. So I did not visual inspect the board until I did received the cpu and when I did I found the one corner was cracked. I still put the board in the cassis and that is when I found out it would not power on. I emailed supermicro about an rma for the power failure. Supermicro sent me a new board as I sent them the bad board in the same box they sent me. They received the board and because the corner was cracked supermicro emailed me and stated the rma was not allowed. Then supermicro also stated that rma did not cover failure(s) or defect(s) caused by misuse, accident, abnormal or unusual heavy use, improper packaging or handling, neglect, abuse, alteration, improper installation, unauthorized repair or modification, improper testing or causes external to the product such as, but not limited to, excessive heat or humidity, power failures, power surges. I am thinking what is the point of their rma. It's a JOKE! Supermicro did get back to me about this said they have to send it up the chain. All the person from supermicro had to do is accept the rma in this situation and make things right. This is my first time using supermicro as I usually use Asus which I have not had any problems with. I would use Asus instead of Supermicro. So read this and be careful of supermicro. We spend a lot of money on these broad and expect top notch service. So I say shame on them.
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:ken s.,1/11/2017 3:54:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS P9D-I LGA1150/ Intel C222/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ V&2GbE/ Mini-ITX Server Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Product failed after 2 days - Newegg will not replace
Pros: It worked for 2 days and had a somewhat decent, however outdated iKVM/BMC interface
Cons: After 2 days I could not remotely connect via RDP or the BMC interface and neither responded to pings. I hooked up a monitor and there was no signal via a DVI or DVI>VGA cable. I reset the CMOS, removed the battery and reset CMOS, but nothing allowed me to recover the interface. The light indicating the BMC interface is working comes on very dim, then goes out after it initializes, so I can see something happening via the lights on the motherboard.

As this product cannot be returned, I am contacting the manufacturer. I will update with the resolution when I have one.
Other Thoughts: I have never had a Dell, HP or Supermicro product fail like this. I love Asus's consumer line, but be wary of the commercial line.
Reviewed By:Eric H.,1/9/2017 10:11:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock C2550D4I Mini ITX Server Motherboard FCBGA1283 DDR3 1600 / 1333

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good NAS board until it dies with voltage issues
Pros: Like most people I bought this for use in a FreeNAS box at home. Lots of SATA ports, ok CPU performance, dual Intel NICs, low power usage, and remote management are a winning combination. It ran FreeNAS with an eight disk pool plus two small old SSDs as a mirror boot pool. Few reasonably priced motherboards have 10+ onboard SATA ports.
Cons: I bought this in August 2015 and put it behind a $500 APC Smart UPS 1500. It ran without issue until mid-November 2016. One day I come home and found my NAS was off. I leave it running 24/7 except for reboots to install updates so this is unexpected. It also won't start. It finally boots up after power cycling it 4 or 5 times. A one time occurrence? I click restart from the FreeNAS web GUI. Same issue trying to restart again. Logged into the IPMI interface and find the voltages are all over the place. My NAS is serious business so a flakey motherboard just won't work. When I finally get it to start again after another 5 or 6 power cycles I save the FreeNAS config and detach the main ZFS pool. Motherboard is removed from the case since it can't be trusted. I'll probably toss it. :( It is eventually replaced with a SuperMicro X11SSH-CTF and an Intel i3-6100.
Other Thoughts: - In 15 years of PC building this is the first motherboard I've had fail. My desktop motherboard is an ASRock X99 and it's fine. Maybe just an issue with ASRock Rack or this specific model?
- The single thread performance of this CPU is not so good. In over a year of usage and monitoring I found that most of the times I hit a limit it was because a single thread was maxed. CPU benchmark single thread score for 2550 is 596. Score for the i3-6100 that replaced it is 2102. The improvement is obvious.
- In early January 2017 I run across a reddit thread in /r/FreeNAS talking about voltage issues for this board. I guess my experience is not unusual.
Reviewed By:Randall W.,1/7/2017 9:18:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > TYAN > TYAN S5365G3NR ATX Server Motherboard Dual 479 Intel E7520 DDR2 400

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A very rare mobo for a very rare platform.
Pros: - arguably the best motherboard for the Sossaman platform
- ATX form factor, fits any standard case, unlike the Intel mobo which is EATX.
- compared to the Intel & Supermicro Sossman mobos, this board has many more slots for expansion.

I run mine with the SL8WT CPUs (2.00Ghz, dual core). Also running 4x 2GB DDR2-3200 ECC+REG. I have had various expansion cards installed: video cards, PCI PCI-X & PCIE NICs of all sort (including 10GbE cards), sound card, TV tuners etc. OS's that I know work are: Windows 7, 8.1, Server 2008 (all 32-bit, see cons), PfSense. I've always run mine with a SSD (Intel of some sort) - this combined with the 8GB & 4 cores makes it rather snappy!
I highly recommend updating the BIOS - I needed a floppy drive to do this. Doing so allowed better RAM compatibility as well as running a GPU in the first PCIEx8 slot. (see cons) I actually cut out the end of the first PCIEx8 slot to allow installation of PCIEx16 cards - works 100%! :)

At time of writing, mine is configured as such:

Tyan Tiger S5365G3NR
2x Intel Xeon SL8WT (2Ghz, each a dual core)
2x Dynatron i65G heatsinks (listed here on Newegg, has one review by a clutz named Eric B. - ignore his review, clearly didn't do his product research!)
4x 2GB DDR2-400/PC2-3200 ECC+REG (Hynix I think)
XFX 550W PSU
2x Chelsio 320 10GbE PCIEx8 NIC
2x Intel Desktop 1000/Pro PCI NIC
2x Intel 6-port GbE PCI-X NIC
Intel 520 60GB SSD
Lian Li PC-A7110B
pfSense 2.3.2_1 (latest x86/32-bit release at time of writing (05-01-2017)
Cons: There are minor cavets, both with the Sossman platform and this mobo:

- no PCIEx16 slot
- the Sossman platform does NOT do x64 - 32-bit (x86) ONLY!
- very finicky with RAM, apparently will only take speed 3200 (ie DDR2-400/PC2-3200) ECC+REG. The ECC+REG is non-negotiable - desktop RAM will /not/ work, don't even bother trying! I have only ever tried to run 400/3200 RAM, always had success. Apparently others have used 667/5300 RAM in the Intel mobo successfully, but personally I wouldn't bother risking it with the hassle.
- depending which mobo you get, heatsinks are hard to come buy - especially for the Tyan mobo! The Intel mobo has the standard s771 mounting holes, but this Tyan mobo is proprietary. Can't recall what mounting system the Supermicro mobos use.
- The Northbridge chipset heatsink gets quite toasty on the Tyan, highly recommend a fan pointed at it!
Other Thoughts: This motherboard is for the Intel platform, code name, 'Sossaman' (google it). It's nearest desktop relative is Core Duo - /not/ Core 2 Duo, Core Duo (CD). CD was so short-lived, if you blinked, you would have missed it. There is a massive thread over at XtremeSystems forums, have a read if interested! (The thread spans about 7 years!) There are only three different CPU models available. I have forgotten the stepping codes(?) for all but the most readily available model: the 2.00Ghz one. All three models are dual core. The slowest runs at 1.66, the fastest at 2.13. The 1.66 can still be found probably on fleebay, but there has only ever been found a single 2.13 on fleebay (go read the XS thread!). I think the code for the 2.13 is SL9HM.
Sossaman's biggest drawback is that it only does 32-bit/x86. It's also losing (if not already lost) it's appeal as a low power platform. The CPUs that are used are glorified laptop CPUs - they only have a TDP of 31W. Unfortunately with only 4 cores total in a system running at a meager 2Ghz, they are lacking in oopmf in more demanding tasks. With a SSD and enough RAM (4GB min.), yes, it can easily do your word processing etc & if you drop in a GPU that off-loads HD content, should play any video media/Youtube content etc. I have kept mine for nostalgic and personal reasons but also didn't want to have the system sitting idle; well..it is..I have installed pfSense, but I need to learn it first before actually 'putting it into production'.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/4/2017 11:30:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10DAI-O Extended ATX Xeon Server Motherboard Dual LGA 2011-3 Intel C612

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Total Garbage
Pros: Taught me patience, cuz after 1 year of "owning" this board, I've used a working device for a total of.... NEVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Forced me to rethink my dislike of ASUS mobos.
There customer service is really great.
Cons: The first Mobo I bought had an entire bank of ram not recognized by the software!
The replacement Mobo I got from SuperMicro was DOA. They claimed the pins in the sockets were bent. They charged me $50 to "fix" this issue. In the end, they just sent me a new, second replacement mobo... AFTER 2 MONTHS!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The second replacement mobo I got from SM was...DOA!
O for 3 SM, Keep up the good work!
Other Thoughts: On the only marginally working board I had, it didn't like booting up with an AMD video cards. It didn't like having more than one Nvidia video card installed at the same time. So, trying to use this board for HPC uses is out too.

Over the last 2 years, I have assembled about 2 dozen computers. The only mobos I have ever had an issue with come from... wait for it..... SUPERMICRO!

I'm tired of dealing with SM customer service. They really are nice people. At this point, anything less than a full refund is unacceptable. $296.00 please.
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. Please kindly contact our technical support so that we can find out more about your configuration and work with you in finding a solution. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Andrew E.,1/4/2017 8:29:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE MD60-SC0 E-ATX / SSI EEB Server Motherboard 2 x LGA 2011 R3

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 does not support V4 out of the box
Pros: Great features for the sale price.
Cons: Unfortunately we bought this before the other review was posted. It is true that this board does NOT support V4 Processors out of the box. The only way to get them to work is with a bios update that can only be accomplished if you can get into the bios at least once to enable the IPMI. We ended up purchasing, for a one time use, a $200 V3 processor to get this working.
Other Thoughts: As the other review stated, do not buy this unless you have a V3 Processor to use to update it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/4/2017 7:15:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.