Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SLL-S-O uATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 Intel C222 DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Untitled Review
Pros: It works, no DOA, and it has a little list to verify you're getting everything. Like most server motherboards, runs Linux.
Cons: This board is solid, it might hurt somebody if you hit them with it. It also has sharp soldering points on the back, so you can also hurt people just by letting them hold it. I do not recommend throwing it at people either. This board is very dangerous if used in such circumstances.
Other Thoughts: There are some LED lights on this board that light up and I have no idea what they do.

I would also like other buyers to keep in mind that this is a minimalist motherboard, the kind of board that's lower cost for less ram capabilities, less expansion slots, no IPMI, etc. That is why this board is of a lower cost.
Reviewed By:MissionControl,9/30/2014 1:07:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X9DR3-LN4F+-O Enhanced Extended ATX Server Motherboard Dual LGA 2011 DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Sluggish
Pros: Supports dual 2011 v2
Sturdy
All cables included
Cons: Only half the PCI slots work with 1 CPU
The BIOS post takes forever.
Got a B7 memory post error first time powering on. Called tech support, they said to reset the BIOS and I did said "problem fixed - ok - bye"
Having a memory issue again where the south channels of RAM will not work in ANY configuration, so I have only the single lane memory with 6x16gb, and it's shaky at best. I feel I got a lemon of a board. But the POST time - takes forever compared to my Intel boards.
Reviewed By:Todd,9/29/2014 7:14:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS KGPE-D16 SSI EEB Server Motherboard Dual Socket G34 AMD SR5690 DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Looks good on paper!
Pros: Dual G34 support
16 memory slots
Seems affordable
Cons: One CPU slot did not work out of the box
Took a long frustrating time to diagnose boot issues, which were really hardware issues
ASUS support totally useless. Waited on the phone for 2 hours with no reply. Serice site down. RMA not available online and on and on...
Other Thoughts: This is my 4th ASUS motherboard since 2002. I had positive outcome with the previous plain vanilaa boards. Don't know what to make of all the positive reviews posted here. However, it appears that the negative reviews are rising fast.

I have lost too much time trying to make things work. I should have gone with SuperMicro boards, specifically SUPERMICRO MBD-H8DG6 looks good and has great reviews.
Reviewed By:CR,9/28/2014 2:59:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-H8QGL-6F-O SWTX Server Motherboard Quad Socket G34 Dual AMD SR5690 DDR3 1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: A truly grand motherboard.
Cons: 1/4 inch smaller in both directions might be nice.
Other Thoughts: none
Reviewed By:Richard,9/28/2014 4:02:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SL7-F-O uATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 Intel C222 DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with freenas
Pros: Nice quality and build, strong features for the money. It works well with freenas, the internal usb header is a nice addition.
Cons: lacks manual and documentation, you have to hunt it down.
Other Thoughts: This memory kit is 100% compatible
CT2KIT102472BD160B, use this combo for freenas.
Reviewed By:Mynorx,9/24/2014 11:56:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO X9SRA Single Socket R (LGA 2011) E5 ATX Workstation/Server Motherboard DDR3 1600 12xUSB, 2x PCI-E 3.0 x16

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Overall solid
Pros: Large maximum memory size with ECC support, USB 3.0, onboard audio, and a pair of PCIe 3.0 x16 slots make this a great platform for a user workstation with an add-in video card.
Cons: Not many other usable PCIe slots. Although it has 2 x8 slots, they are next to each other at the end of the board. My LSI RAID card was touching the power supply next to the end of the board. This would be fine if your case has lots of room between power supply and MB.

I also had memory slot issues, but it seemed to be caused not by grounding problems, but instead by bending of the motherboard. If I didn't completely tighten the screws holding down the motherboard, all memory slots work fine.
Other Thoughts: Despite what other reviewers have said, this motherboard has a standard Intel LGA2011 heatsink attachment configuration. LGA2011 is different from older Intel sockets, but this motherboard is the same as all other "wide" LGA2011 ILM boards, which is most of them. Any heatsink advertised as supporting the 2011 socket will work on this motherboard.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/24/2014 10:02:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS KGPE-D16 SSI EEB Server Motherboard Dual Socket G34 AMD SR5690 DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Will not buy any Asus server motherboard again
Pros: - looks good
- dedicated management lan
- other equipment (PCIe and PCI slots)
Cons: - Random reboots , can not run it 24x7
- integrated GPU is a garbage (8MB of video ram). Ubuntu can not even switch to high-resolution
- 3rd LAN can not be used for networking
- requires a separate card for iKVM
- most onboard SAS/SATA connectors does not work out from the box. Requires a separate card for proprietary PIKE slot. Since card uses proprietary slot, it will become useless after motherboard replacement
- USB 2.0
- onboard SATA 3GB/s
- very long POST
Other Thoughts: Reboots randomly every ~20 hours even without load. Under short stress tests (memtest and CPU benchmarks) does not seem to reboot. Looks like some ACPI/bios-related issue.

My config: Ubuntu Server 14.04, 2x6128 Opteron, 8x8GB Supermicro F617R2-RT, 500W PSU

I would better go for Supermicro or Tyan motherboard.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

I do apologize that you experienced issues with your motherboard. If you would like to discuss this case further, please contact me through email and include your reference number within the subject line. In addition, please provide me with what troubleshooting steps you had tried, as well as the rest of the systems hardware configuration. Thank you. Cs#N140953185

Regards,

Lou
ASUS Customer Loyalty
cc-lou@asus.com

Reviewed By:N/A,9/24/2014 4:39:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock C2750D4I Mini ITX Server Motherboard FCBGA1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not impressed at all
Pros: Low Power comsumtion small form factor
loads of sata ports and up to 64gig ram
Ecc Suppport
Cons: Extremly unstable overheats like crazy they shoud have included a small fan
No Raid options other than 0 and 1
useless for data center home server applications
Other Thoughts: If you are not concerned about the data integrity and or you have other backup optoins this is a good choose for you with tons of sata ports and memory support. i am using it as a test web server i would have liked some raid option provided it has 12 sata cables so most likely people are going to be using it in home or small business environment.
Manufacturer Response:Dear ASRock Customer

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Depending on the number of storage medias in the configuration and their I/O load, case fans should be added accordingly based on the operating temperature.
The onboard Marvell SE9230 is capable of RAID 10 configuration when there are 4 HDDs connected.
Same board is also equipped in our 1U12LX-C2750 which is ideal for cold storage and data center application at link below.
http://www.asrockrack.com/general/productdetail.asp?Model=1U12LX-C2750

If you have any technical inquiry, please contact us with detail problem description at william@asrockamerica.com. We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock SUPPORT
Tech Support Email: http://event.asrock.com/tsd.asp?ln=en

Reviewed By:Ali the Tech,9/22/2014 9:52:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X9DR7-LN4F-O Extended ATX Server Motherboard Dual LGA 2011 DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 RMA #1
Pros: Beautiful board with lots of features and connectivity options.
Cons: I wish it had 10Gbe ports but that's what extra PCIe slots are for.
Board was partially DOA.
Other Thoughts: I bought two E5-2603v2 processors and installed them however any time the CPU2 socket was populated, but board would hang at boot time with "System Initializing ... BC"
Troubleshot by email with Supermicro tech support and the conclusion was to RMA the board. Oh well, I'm not phased. Can't wait for #2 to arrive!
Reviewed By:L. Joseph,9/17/2014 8:19:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS KGPE-D16 SSI EEB Server Motherboard Dual Socket G34 AMD SR5690 DDR3 1600/1333/1066/800

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good board
Pros: Great board build carefully.

I have 3 of these boards, one older rev board running (2) 6200 16 cores each with 64Gb ECC - running at 1333

All (3) systems I build are in Antec Titan server case, not the best case, but the board fits nicely and have room for 8 internal drives.

The newer KGPE-D16's (all have 3201 bios) are running:
(2) Opteron 6386SE @ 2.8Ghz - Best G34 chip.

Running with 128Gb Ram - runs at 1600 - Kingston 16Gb Chips - fills all orange slots. (looked up on Kingston.com)

Using the good - Noctua G34 Cpu Coolers

Power supply: Don't cheap out on this! many that did reviews got low-end junk ones and modified them. Get a Seaonic 850 Platinum which has the (3) total DC connectors for Mainboard.

Raid: wow - someone here was using the garbage promise software raid. lol - don't do this. I got an LSI 92XX series HARDARE RAID cards - one is an 4i/4e - and have it hooked up to a external drive cage - SAS2 drives, BBU, Cachcade option - SSD infront of RAID (yes hot spares) This is better than the Pike offerings - spend another $500+ for good RAID.

Runs tons of stuff easily.
Cons: No drivers for Vmware - just what it can detect.

No temps or Fan sensors! Please post here if you have this board running ESXi 5.5 u2 and can see them.

I have 158 sensors - plus I can see raid health in VMware, so that is ok - but not perfect.
Other Thoughts: Got a virtual render box that I gave 20 cores to run Autocad renders. Crushes everything...
Reviewed By:Got Vmware?,9/16/2014 2:34:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau