Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock E3C224D4I-14S Extended mini ITX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 Intel C224 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great board
Pros: Everything and more on this board. This will spoil me.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Extended ITX was not an issue and knew what i was getting into before I bought. I used a ARK IPC-1.5U1525 case with minor modifications to remove one of the drive holders and the screw posts. This was fine for me as it also had a a 4x 2.5" drive bays Im using instead. I installed a retail i5 CPU that was listed on the ASROCK compatibility matrix and non-ecc ram.
Reviewed By:Nick,8/22/2014 4:18:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-A1SRi-2758F-O Mini ITX Server Motherboard DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Not too shabby
Pros: All intel chips, runs esxi 5.5, 8 cores, support 32+ GB ram. IPMI and IP KVM with virtual media support.
Cons: If anything, just a bit slow, but hey... it's Atom.
Other Thoughts: This thing is a great replacement to my 2012 Mac Mini ESXi cluster. I'm using this for a home lab for Cisco UC. I bought two of these. I'm running esxi 5.5u1, 32GB Kingston ECC RAM. It's not the speediest of servers, but for what it offers in the form factor it's a great bang for the buck. I'm booting esxi from usb and can get 4-6 heavily used VMs running with little issue. The integrated IPMI and KVM support is top notch and what I expect from supermicro.
Reviewed By:Nick,8/22/2014 4:07:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE 7PESH3 SSI EEB Server Motherboard Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602 DDR3 1600/1333/1066

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 broken
Pros: shiny
Cons: bad hardware - will need to rma. memory not recognized.

really bad - gigabyte web site is broken - can't get to support or faqs. really frustrating to have website not available...
Other Thoughts: would avoid gigabyte products
Reviewed By:N/A,8/22/2014 2:25:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO C7Z97-OCE Intel Z97 LGA 1150 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s Dual Gb LAN DDR3 3300 (OC) Server Grade Gaming ATX Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 The new BIOS is ready
Pros: good quality, clean board with easy setup, I like the M.2 cache feature to booster my overall performance a lot
Cons: no SATA express and USB 3.1 as expected
Other Thoughts: I bought this board to replace my old Z77 motherboards because it went dead and out of manufacture warranty. I have been running C7Z97-OCE for more than a week without any issue by far. Also found that there is new BIOS 1.0b available on supermicro website to fix the RAID hard drive detect issue but didn't bother to download.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/20/2014 6:33:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SAT-O ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 DDR3 1600/1333/1066

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Beware
Pros: None
Cons: Almost got ripped off and purchased this board.
The Newegg data says
"ECC Supported - Yes".
BUT... The manual downloaded from Supermicro, they say is for this motherboard, "MNL-1544" says
"DDR3 Unbuffered Non-ECC"

Also, the Newegg Data lists
SATA 8 x SATA 6.0Gb/s
Additional SATA 2 x SATA 6.0Gb/s
giving the impression of the board having 10 SATA 3 ports.
The Manual says there is a TOTAL of 8. Not 8 with 2 additional
Six (6) I-SATA
Two (2) A-SATA
Other Thoughts: The Supermicro web site is terrible and is very difficult to locate information. A search on MBD-X10SAT-O comes up "NOT FOUND". The manual is for the X10SAT.
Reviewed By:M,8/20/2014 2:17:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SAT-O ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 DDR3 1600/1333/1066

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 You need Unbuffered Memory!
Pros: Seems like a very solid Mobo. Has a head for just about everything you could need. LGA 1150 socket is nice for cheaper Xeons / Core i series processors.
Cons: Newegg isn't specific about what kind of RAM you need to buy for it; only says ECC, doesn't say it needs to be unbuffered (UDIMM) memory. I knocked an egg for the lack of info, and the delay it has now caused in my DIY SAN project because I need to return the old RAM and get refunded so I can repurchase correct memory.
Other Thoughts: Will come back and add any other information I get once the board becomes a bootable server.
Reviewed By:DJClark079,8/19/2014 10:59:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SLM+LN4F-O Micro ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: * USB 3.0
* Small form factor with quad LAN (previous Supermicro boards that had quad LAN were full ATX size boards)
* Onboard IPMI (pretty much a standard now)
* Sufficient amount of 4 pin fan headers
* Overall the board has a good layout and will be familiar right away if you used Supermicro's X9 1155 series motherboards.
* All drivers provided by Supermicro for Windows Server 2012 worked perfectly fine. No unknown devices listed in device manager.
Cons: * These must have been sitting for a while in a warehouse after being shipped from Supermicro because both the BIOS and IPMI firmware was pretty outdated. You should update both, but especially the IPMI firmware to patch up any possible security loose ends from the recently discovered IPMI exploits. Though these newer X10 boards weren't noted as being affected, better safe than sorry.

* New Intel I250 network controllers used on these boards are not automatically detected by Windows Server 2012 and will need drivers downloaded and installed. For those configuring these servers remotely, you will have to get creative and create an ISO with the drivers. You can then mount that ISO using IPMI virtual media.

* If you are trying to boot Linux live CD Linux bootable media ISO's using either the IPMI virtual media OR USB flash drives, you will be left scratching your head as to why you're staring at a kernel panic. These new boards feature something called xHCI. You will want to make sure that you disable xHCI in BIOS and enable all *HCI support in BIOS in order for your system to properly boot live CD media using the IPMI virtual media tool and/or any regular USB flash drive bootable ISO.
Other Thoughts: The first board we purchased a few months ago had a bad PCI-E slot causing very strange issues and leaving us troubleshooting the board for several hours. Luckily it seems that it was just that board. Overall we are very happy with this successor to the X9SCi-LN4F board we were previously using.
Reviewed By:NetFire,8/18/2014 1:58:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-H8SCM Micro ATX Server Motherboard Socket C32 AMD SR5650 DDR3 1333

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 8-pin CPU power connector
Pros: Great board --> just have to bring attention to the con I ran into.
Cons: Look at the 8-pin CPU power connector. Notice that cap directly beneath it? Now go look at your PSU of choice and take note of the clip size on the 8-pin cable. I have several $$$ PSU's from Corsair (AX, RM and TX Series) that won't work due to that cap and having looked at a range of other Power Supplies here there appears to be compatibility issues with several other PSU's unless you are willing to get out an XACTO knife on your cable...
Other Thoughts: At home I have a handful of ECS FM2 boards that have a cap in the same spot --> ECS flipped the 8-pin CPU power connector 180 degrees thus no problem.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2014 8:48:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > TYAN > TYAN S5535AG2NR-HE Micro ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 Intel C226 DDR3 1600/1333/1066

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for a compact, low-power server
Pros: ECC, supports CPU video, PCIe 3.0, USB 3.0, 6 SATA 3 ports, Intel LAN.
Good price for C226.
Cons: Could have a nicer I/O shield.
Other Thoughts: With Linux, 3 SSDs, and a Core i3 idle power is under 30W, full load under 60W.
For my application CPU video is more convenient than IPMI.
This board would also be suitable for a workstation.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/17/2014 3:59:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SL7-F-O uATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 Intel C222 DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Runs perfect for FreeNAS build
Pros: have had this board for a few months now, runs perfectly for a FreeNAS build. tons of sata/sas ports. 12 drive array (2 x RAIDZ2) 800MB/s writes and 1.2GB/s reads. LSI controller only adds a few watts compared to my old Areca card.
Cons: Not much in the way of fan control for a desktop setup. It would have been nice if they had provided a rackmount and desktop mode you could switch between. It's profile is set for smaller very high speed fans used in rackmount cases so it doesn't really spin down lower RPM desktop fans. Luckily the fans I used included adapters for fan speed so it was able to set them at a level that didn't produce so much noise.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommend for a FreeNAS build.
Reviewed By:Marx,8/16/2014 8:00:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau