Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXA8-5557 (rev. 1.0) AMD Bolton M3 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM AMD Radeon HD 8550G Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Pretty good for what it is...
Pros: (UPDATE) -

Was just surfing the web and the Brix shutoff, almost like the power was unplugged. No ramping of the fans, no warnings from Windows. Just shut down. Am currently filling out form for an RMA. Doubt I'll see any resolution, but we'll see.


Great compact unit with lots of configuration options. Love how it's a quad core in the size of a small cube. Too note: lower latency RAM does work with this chipset. I used the 16gb Ripjaw kit without issues. Was able to load Plex media server, Netflix, and Kodi on this box, allowing it to stream a 1080p signal to my 48" TV. Works great as a media server, and having multiple options for configuration was a huge plus for me. Bought a 250gb msata EVO for primary drive and a 500gb sata for a secondary.
Cons: The only downside to this is using a 3 year old chip on 32nm tech. I had to disassemble a couple times to reapply the thermal paste 'just right' in order to get temps under wraps. Sitting at 27c idle and around 60-70c under load. I didn't notice the fan noise as much as other people, but I'm halfway deaf anyways.

Make sure you disable USB 3.0 ports in the BIOS prior to installation of OS. WIN10 loaded in about 10-15 minutes from a USB stick. Once loaded, USB 3.0 ports can be enabled.
Other Thoughts: Liked mine so much that I bought another to assemble for my mom for xmas. Both units exhibited the temp issue, but both were resolved by reapplying thermal paste (AC5). Watch the sales on Newegg, this has dropped to $119 shipped occasionally. (Got mine for $129/ea.). Throw in 16gb of ram and an SSD and you have a screamer.

Wireless card could be better... if you are feeling saucy, I would suggest replacing with an Intel unit.
Reviewed By:Kristopher F.,6/27/2016 4:28:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ZOTAC > Zotac ZBOX-MN321-P-U 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM NVIDIA GeForce GT 720 w/1GB DDR3 Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to install, works as expected
Pros: - its small and we were able to install it behind a tv
- wifi is working fine, get the signal even if the router is far
- worked as expected
Cons: - had to update the video driver manually because it didnt work with our 4k TV
Other Thoughts: this devide run 24/7 and is reliable. Don't had any problem with it since a month
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/27/2016 1:46:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel NUC Skull Canyon NUC6i7KYK kit with 6th gen. Intel Core i7 processor, M.2 SSD Compatible, Dual DDR4 Memory Max 32GB with Intel Iris Pro graphics, Thunderbolt 3, No OS, Windows 10 Compatible

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Sparkels in monitor and no TPM chip ==> NO Bitlocker
Pros: - Small, powerful, durable and portable. I basically needed a handheld workstation that I can carry between home and work. A nice laptop with similar power would be too big and too fragile.
Cons: - The graphics has these sparkling pixel artifacts. I don't know if it's a driver problem or hardware. I have ~10 days to find out.

- No TPM chip ==> NO Bitlocker
Other Thoughts: I was completely blind sided by the lack of a TPM chip and ordered it just assuming any decent computer built in 2016 would have one.

Alas it doesn't have one. However the processor does have an embedded PTT which Intel claims:

Intel HTTP address /content/www/us/en/support/boards-and-kits/intel-nuc-boards/000007452.html

Supports bitlocker. On Win10, tpm.msc claims there is a TPM with "reduced functionality" and it lets me setup bitlocker but it doesn't work. It can't boot from it and requires the recovery key to start.

If it's a hardware problem the Skull Canyon is going back (~10 days left). If it's a software problem I'll wait for a fix.

Same thing on the graphics problem. I need to find out if it's a hardware problem or not.
Reviewed By:David G.,6/26/2016 10:34:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel NUC Skull Canyon NUC6i7KYK kit with 6th gen. Intel Core i7 processor, M.2 SSD Compatible, Dual DDR4 Memory Max 32GB with Intel Iris Pro graphics, Thunderbolt 3, No OS, Windows 10 Compatible

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Less than 90 days, it is busted already
Pros: * fast, quiet, and stable temperature
* easy to upgrade
* compatible with ubuntu 16.04 LTS
Cons: * unstable video, crash reported by many when running both mDP and USB-C at max resolution
* bad Wifi module
* overly fancy BIOS, BIOS should be simple because it is only access by peoples know what they are doing
Other Thoughts: So mine is dead in less than 90 days with very very light use. After finally able to run it on dual 2560x1440 on ubuntu (require adding xorg.conf to force 2560x1440 when X starts to show the login screen). The wifi module has been acting up, video sometime wouldn't come up when boot ... but I just brush it off as isolated incident and nothing to worry about. Yesterday, wifi won't connect after multiple reboot. A few more reboot, the wifi just stop the OS from rebooting. A few more attempt live USB, it wouldn't even start the monitors (the monitors are connected but in sleep mode). I checked the monitors with another computer, not the monitors problem. I just sent 'warranty' request to Intel last night. I will keep updating this to let everyone how it goes (if newegg allows)
Reviewed By:WAYNE W.,6/26/2016 6:14:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel NUC (Next Unit of Computing) BOXNUC6I5SYH 2 x 260Pin SO-DIMM Intel Iris graphics 540 1 x full-size HDMI 1.4b 1 x mini DisplayPort 1.2 Aluminum and Plastic Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst intel product ever
Pros: Nothing good to say about this
Cons: Software AND hardware. Software support is very limited. This NUC is "designed" for Windows 10 as the intel page specifies. Windows 7 USB 3.0 creator utility from Intel worked for 1st half of installation but USB 3.0 failed to load during 2nd half. After many hours of fighting through software issues we gave up and installed Windows 10. The user would have to constantly force NUC off and then turn back on because the screen would go black. A month later the hdmi port stopped sending out a video signal completely. This had very light use (word, excel, outlook) so it was not even being stressed at all.
Other Thoughts: We have about 20 NUCs. We were excited for 6th gen NUCs. They completely disappointed us and we are back to buying the 5th gen NUCs. I have been buying intel products for almost 15 years and this is my first intel RMA. This product was not ready for the market, more research and development is clearly required.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/24/2016 7:13:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle NC01U5 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Black Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very compact PC
Pros: Very compact! Smaller than I thought it would be, and very light. Speed is about what I'd expect - fairly snappy.
Cons: The description as of when I write this is incorrect - this does not have the i5-5250u, it has the i5-5200u. Look up the spec sheet on Shuttle's website and you'll see. Also, as a result of being so compact, there are some tradeoffs. There are two RAM slots, but you have to completely remove the motherboard to access the second one, as well as to access the M.2 slot. If you use a 2.5" drive, it has a somewhat cumbersome bracket mounting system, and you must get a drive that is 7mm thick, rather than the usual 9.5mm. But again, at this size, I think it's cool that it supports 2.5" drives at all.
Other Thoughts: Don't forget the restrictions! 7mm drives and DDR3L memory. Other than that a pretty decent product, especially at the lower price I got it for as a Shell Shocker deal.
Reviewed By:David S.,6/23/2016 10:12:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXBT-1900 (rev. 1.0) 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Black Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love this little guy.
Pros: It comes in at a great price, good performance, and silent. I have been having fun with this comp. I played world of tanks with it without over heating, on min settings and getting 35 to 45 fpm, at 1366 x 768. At 1600 x 900 it drops down to 27 - 32, still playable but gets a little warm.

I did not get this to play games on but it can so i will. I got this for a small comp to take around to my parents for movie night and it does that great too.
Cons: You need a portable dvd player to install driver or down load them from the internet. But no big deal so not going to take stars off for that. I had the dvd and a spare ssd with windows pre loadded.
Other Thoughts: I love this little guy already and will get one for my mom house. On a good tv this thing looks great. The j1900 quad runs as good or better than the amd 5350. 120 gig ssd, 8 gig of ram and a lot of little fun.
Reviewed By:steven s.,6/22/2016 11:24:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE BRIX GB-BSi3-6100 (rev. 1.0) 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics 520 Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Was more than a little aggravated, but now I'm thrilled.
Pros: Small & fast! Perfect for my retail store
Has Win7 drivers
Good tech support
Cons: Issue at first with memory compatibility (see below)
RMA process takes a while. And, the tech support phone line wait is looooong. (But worth the wait.)
Other Thoughts: I bought several of these and they appeared to all be DOA. I sent one off to Gigabyte via RMA and it turns out the problem was the memory I was using - Ripjaws 16gb DDR3L. It turns out even though this is on their hardware compatibility list (HCL), the version of bios on the box was not compatible. Using a temporary smaller stick from another mfgr, I was able to upgrade the bios to the latest and voila! I put in my 16gb and it works perfect.

I have to say kudos to Gigabyte too for the fact that they published a complete set of Win7 drivers for the box. I have to have Win7 due to compatibility issues with point of sale software I'm using. Thank you!
Reviewed By:Darrel D.,6/20/2016 1:38:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXBT-1900 (rev. 1.0) 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Black Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: so far nothing
Cons: popped in SODIMM and SSD and pressed power. LED lit up but nothing on HDMI or VGA... no BIOS, no setup screen, no opportunity to load an OS. DOA.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for your difficulty with your GIGABYTE product. Please contact us at
newegg-support@gigabyteusa.com with the case number 133083 in the e-mail subject line. We will provide personalized service and analysis to help solve your issue ASAP. If the matter is urgent, please send us your contact number, and we will contact you.

GIGABYTE VIP Support Team

Reviewed By:Charles M.,6/19/2016 7:08:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle SH170R6 Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel H170 4 x 288Pin DIMM 1 x HDMI + 2 x DisplayPort support triple independent display 4K/2K playback Integrated in CPU (Intel HD 530 Graphics) Black Mini PC with Intel Skylake platform

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great VMware Box **Warning**, Must use 6.0 Update 2
Pros: Fast and quiet
Low Power
Cons: Can only use a latest version at the time of the writing, which is 6.0 Update 2.
Other Thoughts: I wish it had two NICs onboard. I remedied this with an addtional 4 port Intel NIC
Reviewed By:Scott C.,6/18/2016 12:10:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.