Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Kangaroo > Kangaroo Plus Mobile Mini PC, Intel Atom x5 Z8500, 4GB LPDDR3, 64GB eMMC, Finger Print Reader, Non OS, Windows 10 compatible

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked for a little while - performance was slow
Pros: Small and portable
Sleek
Was okay while it lasted
Cons: Overheated often and would affect performance - could not watch videos
Would not power up after approximately 3 or 4 months after purchase
RMA process requires you to pay for and arrange return shipping
Reviewed By:Gabriel M.,7/28/2016 5:23:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle NC01U5 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Black Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Overall it's good.
Pros: Cheap. Of course the overall quality is not as good as intel nuc but it's totally expected.
Cons: The Fan is kinda loud. After updating the Bios firmware you can set the fan speed tho. The slowest speed (3000rpm) is noticeable if you put it right in front you. The max speed is very loud.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/28/2016 12:16:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ZOTAC > ZOTAC ZBOX C Series CI323 Nano Passive Cooling Mini PC with Intel Celeron N3150 Quad-Core CPU Intel HD Graphics Barebones System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really nice silent pc
Pros: Small, silent, well built, reliable (for three weeks at least)
Cons: I didn't buy it sooner
Other Thoughts: I had no problems installing Ubuntu Linux 16.04 on a 120gb SSD. Everything was recognized including the two 8gb sticks of ram for a total of 16gb. My plan was to build my own router but I think I'll get another couple of these and use them for desktops in some situations. It is surprisingly capable for the price and size. I am interested to see how Windows 10 would do on this.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/27/2016 5:25:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel NUC Skull Canyon NUC6i7KYK kit with 6th gen. Intel Core i7 processor, M.2 SSD Compatible, Dual DDR4 Memory Max 32GB with Intel Iris Pro graphics, Thunderbolt 3, No OS, Windows 10 Compatible

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very Good but Not Great - cannot drive 2 monitors from TB3 port
Pros: - it is small, light, portable
- surprisingly fast, only 15% slower than Devils Canyon running intensive Excel-database computations
Cons: TB3 USB-C port does not support multiple monitors.

I have tried daisy chaining 2 Apple TB displays using the Startech TB3-TB adapter and it did not work.
I have tried attaching 2 Apple Cinema displays using the Startech TB-Dual DP adapter and it did not work.

The 2nd monitor does not work. While it could be the Startech adapters, I spoke with Intel support and they indicated that each display had to be separately connected to the TB3, HDMI and mDP connectors, that you could not use a splitter. I found this very strange/disappointing given that TB3 is supposed to be able to support multiple monitors from a single connection. Whats the point of having TB3 if you cannot daisy chain devices?

The 6/3/16 BIOS update supposedly contained a fix to allow daisy-chaining of TB devices. But after the BIOS update it still did not work. But perhaps it would work if the 2nd device is not a monitor? I do not have any device to test it out.

At any rate, it is very disappointing that the TB3 port does not support 2 monitors (either TB or mDP).

Update: I managed to figure out how to drive 3 Apple Cinema Displays. I bought a Startech mDP - dual DP adapter and a Startech TB3 - DP adapter. So while it cannot drive TB displays it can drive 3 2560x1920 ACDs.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/26/2016 6:06:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > GIGABYTE > Gigabyte BRIX GB-BXi7-5775, Intel 5th Gen Core i7 Processor, Iris Pro 6200 on board Graphics, supports 2.5" HDD x 1, mSATA SSD Slot x 1, Ultra Compact PC Design with 4k resolution output via HDMI

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not so great
Pros: Small footprint, 17 processor
Cons: First one came in with the plug for the hard drive broken., Second was DOA. Blue light came on and the machine just sat there. After about 4 days, the third one refused to access the boot drive, telling me to choose a device with the op sys on it. Would not let me access CMOS. Took the drive out and placed it in another machine, drive booted right up and back to NewEgg went the third computer. I purchase an I5 model a couple of years ago and have had good luck with it... but horrible luck with the I7,
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for your difficulty with your GIGABYTE product. Please contact us at
newegg-support@gigabyteusa.com with the case number 134469 in the e-mail subject line. We will provide personalized service and analysis to help solve your issue ASAP. If the matter is urgent, please send us your contact number, and we will contact you.

GIGABYTE VIP Support Team

Reviewed By:James P.,7/26/2016 12:48:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > MSI > MSI B032-001BUS Intel NM10 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel GMA 3600 Black Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No GMA 3600 driver for win x64
Pros: -Cheap
-Low power
-Heavy duty Case
Cons: -NO Windows x64 driver for GMA 3600; only can find x86 driver
-Cable is very short
-Cannot find any information on website
Other Thoughts: It's waste time to find the GMA 3600 win7 x64 driver. I will try to install ubuntu later.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Eric,

We apolgize for the issues that you are having with this product.

Driver support page.
https://www.msi.com/Desktop/Wind_Box_DC540.html#hero-specification

Thank you for sharing your experience with the MSI product. We certainly value your feedback and please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenient experience. If possible, please provide me with more details to the symptoms of your PC so I can better assist in help finding a solution. Make sure to contact us with further details at usreview@msi.com with a complete list of hardware specifications for further analysis on QVL parts. Make sure you are properly flashing BIOS. Download it from our website Extract the file to a fat formatted usb stick. Then navigate in bios to the tools menu and use the MFlash utility to do the flash. Let your system update the firmware as needed. The board should be left alone during this process. If you need further assistant, please feel free to contact our technical support department directly at 626.271.1004 from M to F, 9am to 6pm Pacific standard Time.

Thank you for choosing MSI!

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | JT072816010 usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:Eric C.,7/25/2016 11:49:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXBT-1900 (rev. 1.0) 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Black Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good for HTPC
Pros: Easy to setup. Installed windows 7, play hd videos no problem. Set up plex for HTPC and connected to an external hard drive. Better than all of the other so called "tv boxes"
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/25/2016 7:35:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > MSI > MSI B032-001BUS Intel NM10 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel GMA 3600 Black Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Useless if you don't have Windows 7 32-Bit
Pros: -It's small and fairly quiet.
-Very cheap for a PC.
-Snappy processor if running the right OS.
-Very low power.
-Could be used for typing up Word docs, running a display, point of sale etc. Some internet browsing, but the lack of graphics support means even DVDs will lag and stutter.
-The only real use for this PC without Windows 7 32-bit is as a server or very very basic functioning PC.
Cons: -Without Windows 7 32-bit (SPECIFICALLY 32-bit), the drivers for the integrated graphics WILL NOT WORK. It doesn't matter whether you use 4GB of RAM. There is a driver issue unique to this particular chipset, specifically the Cedar Trail D2500 Atom processor.
-Linux drivers are very poor for the integrated graphics because for whatever reason, the company Intel used (PowerVR) for their GMA 3600 integrated graphics decided to make drivers proprietary. Performance will be extremely poor on any OS other than 32-bit Windows 7.
Other Thoughts: -I would not buy this product again unless I needed a server. The lack of support for Linux is absolutely a deal breaker.
-While it only cost about $30 on sale, I'd much rather put that money into a Raspberry Pi 3 system that might actually work.

For more info on the issue with drivers, here is a FAQ from Intel regarding GMA 3600 support (or lack thereof): http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/graphics-drivers/000005823.html
Manufacturer Response:Dear Ian,

We apolgize for the issues that you are having with this product.

Driver support page.
https://www.msi.com/Desktop/Wind_Box_DC540.html#hero-specification

Thank you for sharing your experience with the MSI product. We certainly value your feedback and please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenient experience. If possible, please provide me with more details to the symptoms of your PC so I can better assist in help finding a solution. Make sure to contact us with further details at usreview@msi.com with a complete list of hardware specifications for further analysis on QVL parts. Make sure you are properly flashing BIOS. Download it from our website Extract the file to a fat formatted usb stick. Then navigate in bios to the tools menu and use the MFlash utility to do the flash. Let your system update the firmware as needed. The board should be left alone during this process. If you need further assistant, please feel free to contact our technical support department directly at 626.271.1004 from M to F, 9am to 6pm Pacific standard Time.

Thank you for choosing MSI!

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | JT072816009 usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:Ian S.,7/25/2016 11:45:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ZOTAC > ZOTAC ZBOX MAGNUS EN980 Gaming Mini PC, ZBOX-EN980-U, Intel Core i5-6400 Quad-core CPU NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Graphics VR Ready Liquid Cooled Whisper Quiet Aluminum Body Ultra Compact Barebones No Mem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Magnum sized power
Pros: Compact PC, water-cooled, able to run VR if you have it. 4 monitor support (although I only have 2). Pretty quiet and didn’t have any overheating issues.
Cons: High price.
Other Thoughts: Kind of heavy for its size.

First time going ZOTAC, and first time using one of these mini pcs. I haven’t really heard of them before but I was looking to buy a new system and found this in my research. It was a pretty weird change going from my full sized PC to this thing, but I wasn’t disappointed. I was looking for something that was compact and powerful enough to play all my games smoothly and this was able to hit all the requirements. League of Legends, Overwatch, and Battlefield 4 (can’t wait for BF1) have never looked so good! I added in 16GB of G.skill RAM and a Samsung 512GB SSD. Bonus is that it can play VR. I don’t have a VR set but it’s cool to know I can run one if I wanted to.

The high price won’t make this the first choice of some people. But if you like the looks, the performance, and the fact that it’s only slightly bigger than a toaster, this is for you!
Reviewed By:jamie s.,7/22/2016 12:50:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > MSI > MSI B032-001BUS Intel NM10 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel GMA 3600 Black Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Performed as expected, does what I need it to
Pros: - Very inexpensive - $30 on special from Newegg. Install a 240GB SSD ($60) and 8GB ram ($28) and you have something that works reasonably well.
- Despite what the specs say (max 4GB), it will recognize 8GB of ram.
- Installed Windows 10 without problems.
- Installed Ubuntu 16.04 server 64 bit (no desktop) without problems.
- Fairly low power requirements.
- Has an HDMI port. This makes it convenient to connect a monitor or TV or whatever.
Cons: - Older Atom processor, not hyperthreaded, with two cores. Speed is adequate.
- Graphics capabilities are not something to tweet home about.
- External power brick. Though this one is small, I prefer internal power supplies.
- SATA 1.5GB/s???
- No USB 3.0 ports.
Other Thoughts: Got two of these when they were on sale, and wasn't disappointed. The Windows 10 install functions fine for a light usage machine, and the Ubuntu server is something I can keep running all the time since it doesn't draw much power. For the amount of money I put into them, they are competitive with single board computers for running Linux.
Reviewed By:Jeff W.,7/20/2016 10:42:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.