Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > Intel > Intel NUC BOXD54250WYKH1 2 x 204Pin Intel HD Graphics 5000 Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great system... maybe?
Pros: Looks nice. Converts A/C to heat.
Cons: I was not looking forward to the digging-in-and-finding-the-right-memory game, and noticed the "May we recommend" on the bottom of the page. "Oh," I said to myself, "How nice of NewEgg! They're showing me the compatible RAM!" So I bought it. And, well, it's my fault -- I shouldn't have trusted something that convenient. But you guessed it: wrong voltage. Now I gotta RMA it, and pay restocking fee, blah, blah, blah. Bottom line: no, you may *NOT* recommend it. If you wanna recommend a USB keyboard or a mouse or a 2.5" SATA SSD, please go for it -- that stuff is usually pretty obvious. But please do *NOT* recommend memory unless you're certain it's the *RIGHT* memory.
Other Thoughts: 'Nuff said.
Reviewed By:Ken D'Ambrosio,7/21/2014 12:05:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > Intel > Intel BOXDN2820FYKH0 1 x 204Pin Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The HTPC of 2013-2014 is wonderful
Pros: Cheap HTPC, supports infrared (I use Logitech Mouse combo keyboard k400). Excellent home server for FTP, media and a second computer.

!!! IMPORTANT - FOR THE FOLKS THAT HAVE BOUGHT IT !!!

!!!UPGRADE BIOS: Latest 034, released on 05/13/2014 from the Intel website. I upgraded using the F7 key and giving path to the .BIO file. I would recommend that you be on a UPS at this time. All my equipment is.

!!!WHEN INSTALLING Windows 7 or Windows 8x: In the BIOS choose expected OS as either WIN 7 or WIN 8x in the ADVANCED > BOOT section. Also do not change this setting when booting normally under that OS else you will get a BSOD. Means keep on Win 7 if using Win 7 and Win 8x id using Win 8, 8.1Pro.

!!!AUDIO DRIVERS are the same for Win 7 and Win 8x so if the ones in the archive for 8.1Pro download them separately or other x64 archives. I use it thru Bluetooth and TV HDMI.

!!! Chipset drivers: IF you do not install the CHIPSET drivers, you will have the slowest NUC ever. So install them right after the Windows 8.1 Pro installs. Then install rest of the drivers.

The DN2820FYKH, based on the Intel Celeron N2820 is a perfect HTPC. It is perfect for watching movies, Skype (provided your webcam can do H.264 encoding - Logitech c920, c930e, else performance issues will crop up due to encoding overhead), MS Office (Word, Excel, etc.).

No super games or computing work, etc. It is NOT a number cruncher. The aim was to make an excellent HTPC and they have delivered.
Cons: The USB 2.0 ports seem to have more power than the USB 3.0 port in the front.
Yes I will keep my NUC as it performs as advertised. ONLY DOES NOT DO WELL UNDER WIN 7.
Other Thoughts: My hardware configuration in each NUC: (I got two of mine thru NewEgg.com)
1. Intel NUC - DN2820FYKH with the N2820 (not the N2830).
2. DDR3 RAM - 8GB Patriot PC3-12800H(800MHz) 1600 CL9 (PV316G160LC9SK) 9-9-9-24 Viper Performance SODIMM 1.35V. The memory came as 2 pack of 2x8GB.
3. HDD 1TB - Western Digital WD10JFCX. "Z" Height 9mm.

To get the max you will need to use the following using the Windows platform:
1. Windows 8.1, 8.1Pro (recommended).
2. Latest drivers from Intel (place them on the USB that will be installing from).
3. Windows update.
4. Anti-virus (Symantec Endpoint for Business or Bit-defender)
5. Latest Adobe flash player (14.0.0.145 at the time of this article).
6. XBMC - It uses the Windows OS base.

Using Linux: (Only XBMC performs graphically. Also a great SCP,FTP server)
1. Linux Mint 17 + XBMC
2. Ubuntu 14.04 LTS + XBMC
3. XBMCbuntu. (Use this for XBMC only functionality, I installed all 3 but appreciate only #1 and #2)
Do not forget to update and upgrade (sudo apt-get update, sudo apt-get upgrade).

In 8.1: Netflix app (the HTML5 version works wonderful - 10% CPU load). YouTube too (using IE HTML5) performs like a charm. Rending of 1080p is 10% CPU load and 4K (yes 4K) is 35%. The output is of course limited to 1080p as the HDMI port does not allow for 4K.

Ubuntu and Linux mint support the DN2820FYKH a 100% out of the box.

Use it under Linux or Win 8.1? My take is that install Win 8.1 Pro, HYPER-V and then Linux on it (a minimal install for SCP transfers) or on the BIOS level separately. I like Linux but currently Google chrome (Firefox and Chromium too) is unable to take the advantage of the hardware decoding and also a proper Skype is not there. But the very nature of Linux to be virus free and super stable is something that always attracts me.
Reviewed By:Randy - San Diego,7/20/2014 3:47:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXBT-2807 1 x 204Pin Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU Mini-PC Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead on arrival
Pros: small form factor
Cons: dead on arrival, power on light turned on but it displayed no image when I plugged it into my monitor. possibly a problem with the processor.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for your difficulty with your GIGABYTE product. Please contact us at newegg-support@gigabyteusa.com with the case number 112043 in the e-mail subject line. We will provide personalized service and analysis to help solve your issue ASAP. If the matter is urgent, please send us your contact number, and we will contact you.


GIGABYTE VIP Support Team

Reviewed By:jcq,7/20/2014 8:59:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > Intel > Intel BOXD54250WYK Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU NUC Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Intel Box54250WYK mini desktop computer
Pros: small in size, comes with mounting bracket that can connect to the back of the monitor, or to the wall/desk. fast with powerful graphics, equipped with mSATA SSD (as no other drive will fit.
Can support 2 monitors using mini display port and / or mini HDMI port
Cons: As the power adaptor is to low in wattage, some external hard disks and external DVD, use expensive 1.35V laptop memory,
Use mini HDMI, that is very delicate connector, and take it in and out will damage the connector.
Other Thoughts: It is great to replace a desktop in places that there is no room for the computer box, It is slower than a similar price tower box.
Reviewed By:eitan d.,7/20/2014 7:14:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS LIVA 2GB DDR3L RAM installed Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product
Pros: Product works perfectly for browsing and gotomypc sessions to other machines which is how I am using it. I also needed the connection to two monitors. Installed Windows 8.1 from a usb connected dvd drive. Plays videos from my media server with no problems.
Cons: Only about 10G left after installing Windows 8.1, Chrome browser, CPUid, and VLC.
Reviewed By:BobB,7/18/2014 8:59:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > Intel > Intel BOXDN2820FYKH0 1 x 204Pin Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Criticism regarding build is justified
Pros: Once I got it running, I was impressed with the performance. For $129, this was a steal. My wife needs a basic PC for productivity tasks. With an SSD, this thing is very fast, quiet and energy efficient.
Cons: Amazingly enough, the BIOS that ships with this kit does not support Win 7. The errata sheet in the box specifically says the BIOS supports Win 8.x, and an update is required for Win 7 installs. Further, there are some BIOS tweaks required, even after the update. C'mon guys, do you really want to sell computers? Why on earth would you release something to the public that does not support Win 7 out of the box? I'm not a huge Apple fan, but they would never pull something like this.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/17/2014 9:08:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > Intel > Intel BOXDN2820FYKH0 1 x 204Pin Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 pretty nice little box
Pros: pretty quick with windows 8.1 with media center installed. USB 3.0, HDMI, built in IR that works out of the box with windows media center remotes. bay trail based SOC and bay trail has some really highly rated remarks on the web.
Cons: only sata2 port for hard drive. realtek gigabit network. no DVI or VGA. use this with a HDMI TV or monitor with HDMI.

500+ MB zip file from intel with drivers bundle. that's a lot of bloat. i only needed 3 or 4 of the supplied drivers. chipset, video, TXE, and infrared (may not have needed infrared but installed anyway)
video driver doesn't support over/under scan adjustment like nvidia and ATI cards do. i had to find a setting on my TV to adjust so i could see clock/start button/etc...
Other Thoughts: well when you get this capable little machine for little money you knew there were sacrifices somewhere. would be nice to have sata3 would also be nice if intel would have used one of their own network cards, but at this price you can't expect top of the line components.
from my reading on this SOC it seems like none support sata3... or at least no documents specifically say it's sata2 or sata3. just that it supports 2.5" hard drive.

G-skill F3-1600C9D-8GSL 1.35v memory works.

purchased two of these little boxes and both work good, no real complaints here.
Reviewed By:wolderiii,7/17/2014 12:40:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXi5G-760 Intel HM87 2 x 204Pin NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Best mini pc so far.
Pros: Powerful specs in a small form factor.
Unlike past brix devices, comes with minihdmi to hdmi cable so you wont run into compatability issues using adapters.
Does not boot with minidisplay port to vga or hdmi adapter but will work after initial installation.
Cons: Runs hot and loud but to be expected for a small enclosure, worrisome though.
Wireless card strength is awful using b/g/n router: biggest grievance. Get an external wireless card or possibly an ac router.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/17/2014 12:28:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > Intel > Intel BOXDN2820FYKH0 1 x 204Pin Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 You'll probably need to update the BIOS out of the box
Pros: Beautiful hardware.
Cons: Ships with crippled BIOS.
Other Thoughts: Out of the box, with 8GB of the exact model of approved Crucial memory, this computer acted almost exactly like a brick. The power light came on but nothing ever appeared on the display. I tried 2 different monitors. This seems to be a relatively common problem.

There is a really good chance you'll need to you need install the latest BIOS using the recovery procedure.

1. Download the latest recovery BIOS (filename ends in .BIO) from https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=23879. As of July 2014 it's version 34.

2. Follow the instructions at http://www.intel.com/support/motherboards/desktop/sb/CS-034524.htm to update your BIOS. Essentially, you need to pull the jumper from the motherboard (it's the only one) and power on with the bios on a USB stick in one of the NUC's USB slots.

Oddly, with the jumper out, the NUC was able to display the BIOS update steps on my monitor even though with the jumper installed nothing was ever displayed. The process took 3.5 minutes from power on to completion. Windows 7 installed effortlessly; now comes the driver drill.
Reviewed By:techie52,7/16/2014 8:58:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXi5-4200 2 x 204Pin Intel HD Graphics 4400 Integrated by CPU Mini-PC Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 My GIGABYTE GB-BXi5-4200 Freezes During BIOS Update
Pros: Small, Not Power Hungry, Quiet. When it works it works well.
Cons: Intermittent lock ups. This thing would work for a few weeks without any problems (except Firefox would crash every few hours).

I had the F3 bios and saw that there was a F5 BIOS available.

Downloaded F5 and in the middle of flashing it froze. Now when i turn the unit on there is no activity. It's DEAD.

How do I bring this PC back to life?

I have the Kingston 120 GB SMS200S3 SSD and 8GB, 2x4 of Corsair CMSO4GX3M1C1333C9 installed. Both are on the approved components list.

Do I send the unit to gigabyte or do I buy a new BIOS chip and solder it myself?
Other Thoughts: $400 for the Brix, $90 for the RAM and $85 for the SSD. I gotta get this thing working again.
Reviewed By:Dando,7/16/2014 5:57:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau