Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXI3H-4010 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics 4400 Integrated by CPU Mini-PC Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great PC for moderate tasks
Pros: Tiny. No more huge media pc for me. Can transport to other peoples house or to my shop no problem. Runs a 27" TV through HDMI wth full audio at max resolution.
Cons: None yet.
Other Thoughts: It also runs the pcb design software I use for my job, although I haven't tried to do that while also streaming video to the TV.

I have built many, many pc's over the years and will probably not be buying any more ATX, mini ATX, nor even a micro ATX mobos.
Reviewed By:My dog Baxter,9/29/2014 9:50:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXI3H-4010 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics 4400 Integrated by CPU Mini-PC Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent for Media Center
Pros: This is an excellent compact PC that will serve well as your media center PC. Putting it together was a snap. Just add the SO-DIMM memory and mSATA SSD modules and you're good to go. This unit can also take a standard 2.5" SSD.

The Core i3 processor is good enough for most media center tasks. However if you are planning to use it for more than just a media center I would recommend you go to Core i5.

It is so quiet. I have not noticed the fan.
Cons: Power cable included is short.
Other Thoughts: I have added a Flirc dongle for Media Center remote capability and using my old Windows Media Center remote with it.
On software side I am using Plex Home Theater and XBMC.
Reviewed By:naknomik,9/28/2014 8:00:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXBT-2807 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU Mini-PC Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Mini PC
Pros: This Mini PC gets the job done. It is not a speed demon but I set it up in my guest room and it is quite and low profile. It has plenty of ports for everything that you can possibly need, and more than perfect for what I need.

I added 8Gb of Ram and 500Gb Sata drive. You can improve performances by using SSD.
Cons: I had problems installing Windows 8 but I managed to do so by starting Windows 7 setup so that I could partition the drive and then restart the PC and start installing Windows 8. Make sure that you change the firmware options before the setup starts. There are 2 options (Win7 and Win8) in the bios. It took a while to figure this out. I am not sure why the Win 8 setup would not partition my drive so follow the standard setup and if you run into the same problem use the above as a trick to get the job done. After the installation I installed the Win 8 drivers that come on the CD and is has been running ever since. I also got a laptop cooling pad with a nice fan and I sit the box on it for extra cooling. You do not need that but they are cheap and very quite.
Other Thoughts: There are more powerful units but for $200 I am very pleased with it and once again it is perfect for my needs. This would also be a great multimedia box with XBMC installed on it.
Reviewed By:Nico,9/28/2014 7:44:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > ZOTAC > Zotac ZBOX-ID83-P Intel Core i3 3120M,4GB RAM,500G HDD,Intel HD4000 Graphics integrated by CPU,Mini PC

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worked great for a year and a half
Pros: Worked perfectly until it stopped booting up. Very compact, quiet.
Cons: The manufacturers warranty lasts for a year. After that you are on your own. Zotac doesn't do repairs and their tech support wasn't helpful. Similar to many other owners, the zbox simply stopped turning on one day. I purchased a new power cord but it wasn't the issue. Before purchasing, do a search for "zotac zbox won't boot" and consider yourself warned.
Other Thoughts: I'll be using the hd and memory in a new Intel NUC.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/27/2014 4:12:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS LIVA 2GB DDR3L RAM installed Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great for what it does.. if it would work.
Pros: when it works it's great. It's silent and although a little sluggish (expected b/c of it's lower end CPU) it has enough horsepower to handle windows 8.1 without a problem.
Cons: I had two units and both had hardware failures. The first had a bad eMMC and the second had a bad power light. I didn't think the power light would be a problem, but not knowing when it was on or off was annoying when working with it. I don't understand why they include a DVD of drivers when the PC doesn't include a DVD. Would a 2gb USB stick with the drivers have cost that much more?
Other Thoughts: I like this unit, I like the concept of a small fan-less PC. I think if it came already assembled and tested it would have been a keeper. As it stands I think the nature of having to put it together causes hardware failures. I'll keep my eye open and if Intel launches a Core M version with windows with Bing, I may give this concept another try..
Manufacturer Response:We are sorry to hear about the issue you had with the storage and LED. Windows 7 is unable to be installed into eMMC due to the option ROM, which is not supported from Intel and Microsoft. If have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us.

We also hank you for your feedback. It is appreciated. We need your feedback in order to improve the quality of our products and service.

Our hours are Mon-Fri 9am-6pm PST.

Thank you,
Andy
Phone# 1-510-456-9836
Email: andy_K@ecsusa.com

Reviewed By:Mike P,9/27/2014 12:54:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle SH61R4 V2 Intel Socket LGA1155 2 x 240Pin DIMM Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU Black Mini / Booksize Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 no problems
Pros: I've used these XPC's for over 10 years. They're small enough but big enough to not be a hassle and they always work. Every time I go to something different I come back to the shuttles because I don't have problems with them, the go together easy and work.
Cons: the chassis might be a little cheaper than it used to be
Reviewed By:PG,9/26/2014 9:25:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > Intel > Intel NUC Kit DC3217BY Intel QS77 2 x 204Pin Core i3 3217U 1.8GHz HD Graphics 4000 Integrated by CPU Chassis

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Small
Light
Solid build
Cons: Runs very warm
Clover adapter isn't included
Other Thoughts: I wanted to use the NUC to install SteamOS on. It took some work to do, but I finally did it. I was very impressed with how well it ran games and even the home streaming of games. The only problem is that it ran pretty warm, so make sure it's placed in a well ventilated area.

One thing to remember before buying this is that it is incomplete. You still need to purchase an mSATA SSD, 204-pin RAM, a cloverleaf power cable, and(maybe) a mini-PCI wireless card.

I don't understand why the power cable is incomplete. They're not expensive and it just adds something else that you have to buy to an already incomplete system.

All in all, I love the idea of the book-sized PCs and I think the NUC is perfect for someone that does light computing.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/26/2014 3:47:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS LIVA 2GB DDR3L RAM installed Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Liva + Lubuntu = Very impressive!
Pros: -Silent!

-USB 3.0

-Gigabit network

-Dual monitor support

-Ubuntu (or Lubuntu) Just Works

-100+ MB/sec writes to HDD attached via USB3 exposed as a Samba share. Plenty fast enough for streaming any video content.
Cons: It's not terribly powerful, but for a fileserver, it's fast enough. Keep the OS lean and it will do the job fine.

32GB MMC storage isn't much, but keep that in mind when choosing the OS, hence why I chose Lubuntu.

For HTPC use, it really needs an IR sensor. Also some digital audio output e.g. SPDIF would be very nice as my receiver does not accept HDMI.
Other Thoughts: I got this on sale for $125 to replace a Windows 7 desktop server and I have to say, this has been a very pleasant experience. I installed Lubuntu and everything pretty much worked straight out of the gate. I did not attempt to get the wifi/bluetooth module working as I have a wired LAN and no bluetooth accessories.

It's hosting a number of samba fileshares, runs Plex media server, and automatically downloads, catalogs and serves up fun stuff, all while connected to a VPN. CPU usage ranges from 15-100% depending on load, but I haven't seen any slowdown. Memory usage stays around 1.2GB out of the available 2GB.

Overall, I am blown away by this little guy. He's quiet, uses very little electricity and has freed up my desk space and an entire server for other uses.
Reviewed By:Brad,9/26/2014 12:20:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > Foxconn > Foxconn iBT-29 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great system, just not with Windows 7
Pros: Itty bitty teeny tiny.

The included plastic pry tool means that you can open the case without scratching it. It should also be useful for opening XBox's.
Cons: The included USB driver stick didn't function at all. As noted elsewhere, Foxconn's end-user driver site is nearly unusable due to Javascript problems. Google "nt-ibt29 drivers site:foxconnchannel.com" for a useable download site.

It was difficult to install Windows 7 on this system. I recommend Windows 8.
Other Thoughts: The BIOS needs to be set to Windows 7 mode for the installer to even start. The Windows 7 installer couldn't find the hard drive despite begin supplied with the right drivers, so I ended up putting the install sources on the hard drive and installing from there (weird, but it works).
Reviewed By:Craig Putnam,9/26/2014 9:40:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXi5G-760 Intel HM87 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Perfect Travel Companion for Nvidia Shield
Pros: excellent gaming performance for size, price includes mini hdmi and miniDP cables, 6GB VRAM, streams to NVidia Shield portable
Cons: The GPU is neither a desktop GTX 760 nor a GTX 870M, loud under load (I measured 76+dB at 1.5 feet away), limited "BIOS", mediocre wireless performance
Other Thoughts: It is unclear what the GPU is exactly. From the specs via GPU-Z it looks to be a GTX870M with Optimus disabled, so you have to use the Gigabyte provided GeForce driver. nVidia's latest desktop and laptop drivers do not recognize the GPU. I took off one star for this. Otherwise, I am very satisfied with the performance (I usually run in Turbo mode set in the BIOS). When I travel, I bring the Brix, my nVidia portable, over ear headphones, and a netgear PR2000 - perfect travel gaming setup for me. I installed Windows 8.1 Pro and use Microsoft`s Remote Login Android app on the Shield when not streaming games.

installed components:
memory: Corsair Vengeance 8gb 1600 (2x4gb)
Boot drive: Crucial M500 msata 240gb
2nd Drive: Seagate 600 SSD 240gb
Reviewed By:Turkey Hill,9/25/2014 7:47:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau