Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless AP > Amped Wireless > Amped Wireless APA20 High Power 700mW Dual Band AC Wi-Fi Access Point

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad Choice
Pros: Easy installation. Works fast , until it quits working.
Cons: Did not last, Bought 3 of these for different locations, all 3 have now failed.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/22/2014 7:55:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WN604-100NAS Wireless-N 150 Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: great! just as described netgear great product
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,10/21/2014 1:40:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > D-Link > D-Link DAP-1665 Wireless AC1200 Dual Band Gigabit Access Point

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent AP; range sucks
Pros: The AP was very easy to setup. The .local does work so you don't have to figure out what IP it obtained. Very simple GUI; liked that. Not the least -- the AP does look cute; white plastic with rabbit ears antennas. Not the least is the fact that this is a dual band 2.4GHz and 5GHz AP. Now onto the speed -- compared to my older Linksys 2.4GHz only AP I get about 50% more bandwidth with this one. Excellent!
Cons: Range is really bad; both bands that is. I am comparing it with older Linksys 2.4GHz only AP and on that band I got much better coverage in terms of distance. Obviously we are talking the same physical setting -- same house and location of the AP.
Other Thoughts: This AP gets what you would expect in terms of speed. My older Linksys 2.4GHz only AP was terrible so I am a happy customer all said and done. Range does lack but at this point I like the speed better than roaming around the house with my devices. It is a thing about priority over one feature or the other.
Reviewed By:Bubba198,10/20/2014 8:39:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UniFi AP Enterprise WiFi System Long Range UAP-LR

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 First Ubiquiti AP
Pros: Long range. Simple interface. Clean looking. Nice mounting bracket. POE included. PRICE!!!
Cons: No gig Ethernet port. Only operates in the 2.4 Ghz band. Neither really a con at this price point.
Other Thoughts: I should have bought one of these earlier. I tried using 3 other brand of consumer grade wireless routers to provide full coverage in a somewhat long 2000+ sq. foot ranch house before finally choosing to buy this.

Range galore!! The range on this thing is solid. I set the unit up temporarily in the center of the house. The signal can easily be reached in any room upstairs or in the basement, as well as down the 50' driveway and pretty much throughout the yard (~ 1 acre).

I almost bought two, but as a previous reviewer said, it was overkill.

For the money this thing is hard to beat. The software is clean and easy to use. It is really geared toward business use, but can also be deployed easily at home.

As time goes on I will post again on the longevity/issues/etc.
Reviewed By:mosestech99,10/18/2014 11:42:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business WAP321-A-K9 Wireless-N Selectable-Band Access Point w/ PoE and Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Using for Open Access
Pros: Easy to setup.
Purchased 2 for Open Access and they seem to be working well.
Cons: Remember to purchase the power supply if not doing POE.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/18/2014 10:42:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business WAP321-A-K9 Wireless-N Selectable-Band Access Point w/ PoE and Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cisco needs to address firmware issues
Pros: Solid hardware, small compact design, low power, and a simple GUI interface.
Cons: This WAP321 is the worst Cisco product I have had the displeasure to work on, and I have been working with various Cisco equipment sense early 1999. This Cisco WAP321 hardware is very solid, but Cisco’s total lack of responsibility to fix the software stability issues has me completely dumbfounded. Looking on the Cisco forums page this reliability issue has been going on for more than two years with no resolution.

I normally do not buy small business grade Cisco gear even for home. However my wife has been gently encouraging me to lower our total carbon foot print. So I bought this WAP321. This was to replace my Cisco wireless LAN controller and five Cisco APs which is total overkill for my 2.5k sq ft house.

The setup of the WAP321 was awesomely simple, in fact much easier than the enterprise counterpart. I was up and working in less than 10 minutes. However this was short lived about every 24 hours I would lose connectivity to both the wireless radio and wired administrative interface. To fix it I would simply reboot the device, I did this for two days before researching it. First I did just a googled search on it and was shock as to how many people are having similar if not the exact same issues. Many people suggested upgrading the firmware which would make sense if there was a memory leak of similar type of bug. The factory firmware on my WAP321 is 1.0.2.3 so I upgraded it to the next rev 1.0.3.4 but the problem still persisted. I thought it might be something in my environment so I have access to a testing lab with a separate set of switches very basic configuration within a Faraday cage. (For those of you that are unfamiliar with a Faraday cage it is an enclosed space that blocks all RF from leaving or entering.) When in the Faraday cage the problem still processed. I then took the device back home and tried firmware 1.0.4.2 the problem still persisted. Then I tried firmware 1.0.4.4 this rev I got a deferent reaction the problem went from having to reboot every 24 hours to having to do it every 4 hours.

At this point I was almost ready to admit defeat and go with a deferent competitor product or continue to use my enterprise Cisco solution despite my effort to reduce my carbon foot print. I looked on Newegg site and most reports were 5 stars but looking at the date the people could have only had the firmware prior to 1.0.2.3 which is 1.0.1.10. I downgraded my firmware to the version prior to what mine was factory shipped on. It has been working on 1.0.1.10 for 30 days now no issue. I happy it is working and my carbon footprint has been reduced. I am however very concerned that as new security threats emerge that I will not be able to upgrade this until Cisco fixes this reliability issue.
Other Thoughts: I would hope Cisco fixes the firmware reliability issue.
Reviewed By:Craig K.,10/17/2014 12:30:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA801ND Wireless N300 Access Point, 300Mbps, Multifunction, Multiple SSID

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Didn't work reliably
Pros: Worked with pcs and laptop.
Cons: Refused to work reliably with smart phones of several types tested. Only worked with PCs and notebooks.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/17/2014 9:42:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > ZyXEL > ZyXEL NWA1123-AC Plenum Rated Dual-Radio Ceiling Mount AC1200 Gigabit PoE Access Point (AP)/Repeater

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent!
Pros: Excellent wireless range
Awesome performance
Extensive configuration options
Incredible telephone support (not that I needed to call on this one)
Cons: For those unfamiliar with Zyxel configuration menus it can be a bit confusing navigating the options, of which there are many.
Other Thoughts: Zyxel has made another excellent product with this NWA1123-AC wireless access point. I bought two to ensure good coverage in a small office and it turns that given the exceptional range of this product I could have gotten away with just one. The Zyxel menu is not the same as what is found in the generic D-Link/Netgear/Linksys/Etc home devices. It is far more customizable and with that comes some complexity. However if you are familiar with any other Zyxel networking products it will look familiar to you. And as always Zyxel has awesome and free technical support (not that I needed it on this item, but I have called them plenty of times in the past for other advanced technical question about their firewall/vpn products). Keep in mind that any other SMB/Enterprise quality product from Cisco and other offers mind boggling complexity (if not trained in the product) and only paid technical support. I found that the easiest way to configure the device was to connect to it wirelessly before attaching it to your network - something they did not suggest in their quick start guide. I already had a device on my network that shared the default ip address of the device which is why I tried doing the configuration wirelessly but still suggest it for anyone as a universal approach. I could not be more pleased with the range and performance of this product.
Reviewed By:c.m.,10/16/2014 12:41:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Netgear Inc. > Netgear WN2000RPT Universal WiFi Range Extender Extend wireless network coverage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Repeater!
Pros: Easy setup. Make sure you have your router settings set on a specific wireless channel (not auto) and this may resolve the issue that people are having with connectivity. My guess is that when the router changes wireless channels on auto, the connection to the repeater drops out. I have NO issues and I have dual routers and dual repeaters. I ran my main router on wireless channel 1, and the secondary on wireless channel 11. These repeaters work excellent with my setup :) FYI... I am running dual Netgear wireless routers in my setup.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Hard to beat for the $15 (each) price that I paid for both.
Reviewed By:jsdrums,10/16/2014 11:33:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA801ND Wireless N300 Access Point, 300Mbps, Multifunction, Multiple SSID

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good value
Pros: Easy to setup. Dual antennas.
Cons: Power seems a bit weak. Having trouble with smartphones getting access to internet with it. They can connect to the ap but not the internet always.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/15/2014 1:11:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau