Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless AP > Linksys > Linksys LAPAC1750 IEEE 802.11ac 1.71 Gbps Wireless Access Point - ISM Band - UNII Band - 1 x Network (RJ-45)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great AP!!
Pros: AP performs as expected. Throughput is within range of spec with heavy usage. Easy installation, especially in ceiling tile. 3 units provide more than enough coverage for about 15000 sq ft of office space.
WPA2 Enterprise configuration is working flawlessly with RADIUS running on Server 2012 R2.

Supports up to 8 SSID's in both bands which is unnecessarily excessive, but it allows me to "hide" a regular WPA2 Personal network for devices that won't accept my certificate.

Overall, a great product.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: With mutilple Catalyst 3750's pushing out 370 watts of PoE power, having several of these is not an issue. However, using more than one in a home network environment might push the limits of your PoE switch.
Reviewed By:Lyle,3/27/2015 9:20:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA7510N 5GHz 150Mbps Wireless N High Power Outdoor Access Point, Multifunction, Outdoor design, Passive PoE

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not so good performance
Pros: Fairly easy setup, units to work in good weather.
Cons: I bought 2 of these, using them to connect two buildings about 800 meters apart. Both are mounted about 30ft in the air with a clear line of site of eachother. I'm only able to get about 15-20Mbps transfer speeds in ideal conditions. As it approaches this limit, latency shoots up to 300+ms. Signal strength on the antenna alignment page is around 60%. They are aimed as perfectly as they could be. So to get only this % signal and speeds at such a short distance (TPLink says they work over 20Km), is disappointing.
Worse, we got some snow today, and the signal quality dropped to 20%.
Other Thoughts: Might try plugging an external antenna into them, or replacing them, but they won't work for our needs.
Reviewed By:GreenEnvy22,3/26/2015 8:15:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP – UniFi Indoor Wireless N300 Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Little Guys
Pros: They did the job easily, and with absolutely no problems. They are inobtrusive, out of the way, and provide great coverage.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I bought a three pack, and will be buying another three for another floor.
Best wireless routers I ever bought
Reviewed By:mrweb,3/25/2015 7:42:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius EAP1750H AC1750 802.11ac 3x3 Dual Band Gigabit Ceiling Mount Access Point/WDS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Interestiong Piece of Kit
Pros: This is a great item from Engenius, who I have discovered in the last few years and find their items to be well designed and user friendly.
For starters the configuration menu is simple and yet advanced at the same time. It allows you to configure 8 SSIDs for use as well as set up guest networks separate from the main network. There is a VLAN setup for virtual and VPN connections, remote setup, remote logging, remote monitoring, and a host of other useful features too numerous to name. The software for remote montioring, configuring, and logging is great for what it does and is free.
Security features are a plenty in this AP. This works well for a SoHo Environment or bridged in a larger office building. The 3x3 array and bandwidth monitoring (sharing, beamforming, etc.) is great for getting to the farther reaches of the environment while still maintaining throughput.
Access to the menu is easy to get to and configuring the setup is done through a few clicks. Which leads me to the con.
Cons: The menu has you save every setting TWICE to get it configure. This quickly becomes a pain with a few changes and the change log annoys me to no end (personal).

Not a fan of security being turned off by default. As an AP which is meant for business use this should be turned on from the factory. Setting security is easy and not a hassle, just requires saving the settings...TWICE.

The included Ethernet cable really is too short to do any configuring with. I had a hard time trying to use it to connect to my desktop PC. I connected it to my wife's laptop but it literally sat on half of the laptop to do that. What really needs to be included is a 6' or 12' Ethernet cable. As this device is supposed to be mounted on the ceiling/wall the included cable makes it impossible to setup if you somehow go that route first (at my business they put the device in the loop and then connect to it to configure it).

Another thing I noticed is it uses the standard 192.168.1.1 IP to login to the device and that is something used by Netgear, Linksys, TP-Link routers as well. I use a D-Link which has 192.168.0.1 as the standard IP to login with but it did present a problem with my Netgear R6100 that I have in AP mode. I had to wind up getting a longer Ethernet cable, hooking it to my wife's laptop and then configure it from there.

Could never get PoE to work. Instructions state to use either the PoE Cable or an AC Adapter but not both. A b it further down in the instructions and they say to use both. Bit confusing but just know PoE doesn't work with the included cable or my 5 over Ethernet cables (Cat 5e - of course this could be my failure to have the correct cabling).
Other Thoughts: I did update the firmware to the latest available. This was a painless process that updated rather quickly. Afterwards I could tell it had a bit better range and connectivity. I did not get a chance to mount this to my ceiling yet but where I have it setup it reaches my Roku and Phones about 35' away and through several walls. I have fairly strong AC 5GHz signal and the speeds are remarkable.

If Engenius can get past the inital PoE, Redundant saving of settings, and minor goofs, this kit will definitely be worth its price tag.

One note, I never did get the PoE to power the device but like a previous reader mentioned it might ne an PoE injector cable.
Reviewed By:WarEagleUS,3/25/2015 5:13:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius EAP1750H AC1750 802.11ac 3x3 Dual Band Gigabit Ceiling Mount Access Point/WDS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Capable but not polished enough
Pros: PoE
Guest Network
8 SSID’s
3 streams 5Ghz and 2.4Ghz
Scheduled reboot option
Cons: should be config from factory with something other than 192.168.1.1
No PoE injector (should skip the 12v adapter)
AP should really come with default security on, both bands had it off?
No graphs? no logging? In the GUI (seems there is a EZ controller standalone software)
Critical flaw, in online manual and quick guide, “changes” button top right to apply settings!
Other Thoughts: My first impression of the AP was oh look PoE, and its ceiling wall mount. Then I went on to open and view the instructions, I was a bit disappointed with instructions that were very basic, and did not sate much were to get more info, like on different wall mount setup configurations. I was disappointed with the product as a whole. First if it was to be wall/ceiling mount then the power cable should be also white, it would just look horrible white device with black cable running down, as a guy I would not care too much, but as for wife/GF or any female you will hear no end about it, that can be guaranteed (be it business or home). I was disappointed because as someone else mentioned, they should have really sent a PoE injector with this product and they could have skipped on the 12v adaptor, just have the user use the PoE injector. Then I would call this really a wall/ceiling mount that can get away with just 1 clean cable. Otherwise this product really does not stand out on this as a strength, as most other router/AP’s might have this feature but they are not designed for ceiling/wall mount as this model claims as a feature/strength.


I am not sure if this device feels professional enough, with all the lack and overall feel that it was rushed and unfinished product, this is all keeping in mind with the price tag that it carries, if it was half or 2/3 the price then I could see these shortcomings being passed by. The GUI is lacking, I am spoiled with Open source firmware’s that offer so much, and other consumer products that have far more advanced features, even if I may not use them, with the price tag I expect a bit more. I cannot conclude (casual user) on the connection quality, as my routers, need rebooting of their own and the ISP loses connection, only with time will I be able to pin point when and if I run into connection issues, though I would assume someone using it in a small business would find issues right away if they exist as other users have mentioned.


Had issue with the unit not saving settings? I had upgraded the firmware, read the online manual! Was about to give up on this unit! Thought mine was defective! All over the manual it says “Save: Click Save to confirm the changes”! wrong! That will only save it temporary and not APPLY, the user has to click on the Changes button which as far as I was reading was not mentioned in the manual! I had normally got used to routers needing reboot for changes to take effect and thus I hit reboot the device under the “reset” button but never dawned on me to hit the changes…


Bottom line this unit is capable but seems to have been rushed or not polished enough.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/24/2015 2:40:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-AC UniFi Indoor Dual Band Wireless AC1750 3x3 MIMO Access Point/Bridge 2x Gigabit Port

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for office
Pros: Great Item easy setup and management console. Provides great speed and range. Highly recommend over other WAP's I have used in the past.
Cons: nada
Reviewed By:cubebase,3/24/2015 11:16:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Netgear Inc. > Netgear WN2000RPT Universal WiFi Range Extender Extend wireless network coverage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Working Fine
Pros: It provides a good extended signal, particularly at the end of the house where I use my Blackberry Playbook and my wife uses her Acer tablet. Before adding this extender, her tablet would disconnect periodically and my Playbook was agonizingly slow and had problems connecting. After adding this, my wife can use her tablet in the kitchen with no problems, and my Playbook is great. I can even watch streaming video on it now, something I could never do before.
Cons: When I purchased this (refurbished) extender, had no problems with setup and connection to my router. After it was in use for a while, though, the lights on the unit were very erratic, even the power led would go off periodically. Then, the extender would disconnect and reconnect of with no rhyme or reason. I was about to send it back for replacement, then I decided that because it was such a bargain, I'd just live with it and look for another. Well---a few months later---I've had absolutely no problems with it since its intial 'problem period.' Maybe it was just having personal problems at first? Anyway, I believe I've had a real bargain!
Reviewed By:N/A,3/23/2015 4:50:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP – UniFi Indoor Wireless N300 Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Pretty disappointed
Pros: PoE, so it only needs one cable running to the device. It's just a circular, inoffensive design, so it's unobtrusive if mounted on a wall somewhere - it rather looks like a slightly larger smoke detector.
Cons: Well... Just about everything else.

The management software (which requires Java be installed... not a great decision from a security standpoint) is slow and cumbersome. It takes a long time to locate and then allow any changes to an AP. Changes must then be pushed to the device, which takes at least a few minutes to provision and reboot, This is much longer than any of the multitudes of other APs I've worked with. One can find the appropriate settings for wireless security options, radio channels, etc, though it's probably the clunkiest of the interfaces I've seen.

I'm willing to forgive a lot of the management issues, since someone doesn't go in there making changes all the time. But, in actual wireless use, it's worse.

This unit was purchased to replace an inexpensive TP-Link AP which had occasional service issues. With the N30 placed in the same location as the TP-Link, the signal strength was slightly less strong in other rooms compared to the TP-Link. Signal strength was supposed to be superior with this model, so this was very disappointing.

The worst part is the stability of the AP. We completely lost all wifi signal every few hours, requiring the unit to be rebooted.

We've set up a return for the N300. I'd say this unit might be defective, but I don't want to try another one given the software requirements and usability experience. We are pretty unlikely to get another Ubiquiti product, especially since they all use the same mediocre management software.
Other Thoughts: I was extremely surprised that we had so much trouble given all the other great reviews. It's the first time we had a product experience so contrary to what the average rating would suggest.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/22/2015 1:33:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-650AP Wireless N150 18 dBm Access Point, WDS, Repeater and AP Client Bridge

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 NOT PoE
Pros: It's an AP
Cons: This is not PoE - Power over Ethernet. I bought two of these specifically for PoE support, because it says "PoE" in the tile, and this model doesn't include it. False advertising.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Joe,

We apologize for the misinformation. The TEW-650AP is not a PoE appliance. We will notify the seller immediately to have this information corrected.


Regards,

Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support

Reviewed By:Joe,3/21/2015 9:09:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > UbiQuiTi NanoStation NSM5 N150 5 GHz Indoor/Outdoor AirMAX CPE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked for me
Pros: Pole mounting worked great, made installation quick and simple.
Straight forward configuration and installation; worked the first time through.
Cons: The antennas take longer to connect, after a reboot, than I would expect; the antenna will be online and I can log into the web interface 30-60sec before the link is established. Seems a bit petty when writing it down, but when you're just sitting staring at the screen waiting for the link to get established it feels longer.
Other Thoughts: Setup: Shooting, line of sight, ~400ft through a plywood covered window to the roof of a neighboring building. I am receiving almost a perfect signal with the gain turned down to 15dBm (the antennas will go up to 27dBm). I haven't had any connection issues, overall please with the performance.
Reviewed By:Curtis,3/19/2015 5:24:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.