Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ENH220EXT N300 Long-Range Wireless 2.4GHz Outdoor Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor product. Stay away! Client purchased these to expand WiFi coverage area.
Pros: Feels solid. Appears like a good a radio.
Cons: - Poor firmware. Very Glitchy and Buggy even after updating. Servery limited configuration options.
- POE injectors can barely push 48v 100 feet.
- Customer service, poor product knowledge and TS.
- Wireless signal can cover about a 50 foot radius (falls way short of "Long-Range") including max power
Other Thoughts: - I would not recommend this product for anyone other than those who feel they deserve it.

- Telecommunications & Wireless. Engineering and Design Professional (FCC)
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/11/2016 5:24:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EDIMAX > EDIMAX EW-7288APC 11AC (5GHz Band only) Range Extender / Add-on Station, to Extend / Add 11AC Wi-Fi Signal for Faster and Cleaner Connection

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Correction
Pros: Price
Cons: NA- Have not used yet
Other Thoughts: FYI~ Ethernet is 10/100MB (Bytes per second) connection is different than 433mbs (bits per second). Divide 433 by 8 and you get 54MB per second (Theoretically)
Reviewed By:Thomas S.,2/9/2016 12:43:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA801ND Wireless N300 Access Point, 300Mbps, Multifunction, Multiple SSID

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stay away from hardware version 3
Pros: I bought two of these access points from two different sellers. The one with hardware version 2 is absolutely perfect, blazing fast and incredibly simple to setup.
Cons: The second one arrived the next day and when I saw that it was a newer version I assumed it would be even better. I was completely wrong about that. Still simple to setup but the max download speed I could get was not even 1Mbps and that's very noticeable with a 50Mbps internet connection.
Other Thoughts: It really pains me to give this product one egg because version 2 was perfect and for only $25 it's unbelievable. However for TP-Link to redesign its hardware and then slap a newer version label on it is also unbelievable. Stay away from this piece of garbage unless you're lucky enough to find a version 2, its like gold in the pile of dirt that we call access points.
Reviewed By:Zachary A.,2/8/2016 3:29:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA901ND_RE Wireless N Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 cheap, works, comes with free PoE injector
Pros: One of the cheapest access points, and it includes a free power over Ethernet injector in case you want it in an attic or somewhere else without an AC power outlet. Great value!
Cons: Does not use DHCP by default, so setup involves extra steps unless you want to leak your wifi password/admin password over open WiFi:

1. power it up WITHOUT a wired Ethernet connection, join the open wireless network it creates
2. login to admin web interface: enable DHCP, enable TKIP, change its wifi password to something temporary
3. connect ethernet, reboot, check router to see what DHCP address it got
4. login to admin web interface over wired connection: set wifi password and web admin password to final values
5. reboot, use NetStumbler to verify your SSID has 1 more AP than it had before

Still a 5-egg product since it's so inexpensive.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/7/2016 11:27:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > ZyXEL > ZyXEL NWA1121-NI Single-Radio Ceiling Mount N300 Gigabit PoE Access Point (AP)/Repeater

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 solid AP
Pros: Very configurable. Love the PoE option which made install easier. It's been up for one month so far without any issues or needed resets.
Cons: The initial setup was difficult, which required enabling java and java script and popups. I still could not access it with firefox (I had to use Opera instead.) But once I got in and changed the IP to the subdomain of my home network, then I could access with any browser... strange.
Other Thoughts: Other than the difficult initial setup, it has been a stable good AP.
Reviewed By:Paul P.,2/7/2016 9:59:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-753DAP N600 Dual Band PoE Gigabit Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reliable and easy to use
Pros: Set up is simple.
UI is straightforward.
Works every day
No maintenance
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Have 4 of these access points deployed around the facility and they work without issue.
TRENDnet products may not be the cheapest or the fastest, but they have been very reliable.
Reviewed By:Ross T.,2/5/2016 11:27:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-Outdoor+, UniFi AP Outdoor+ 2.4GHz PoE 802.11n 300Mbps up 600 ft

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: It works.
Manage all AP's from one management web page.
Cons: Not much
Other Thoughts: I've been pretty happy with these, overall.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/4/2016 10:50:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > FELLOWES > Fellowes 9140303 Under Desk Keyboard Drawer

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Boo
Pros: Looks like the one in the picture. Shipping was fast. The color matches my keyboard? Easy price.
Cons: Not very sturdy. The keyboard tray is sturdy, but the mouse pad is really flimsy. I was really hoping to get my keyboard and mouse off of my desk. Solved the keyboard but now I need to find somewhere for my mouse. Le sigh.
Reviewed By:Justin P.,2/4/2016 8:30:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > FELLOWES > Fellowes 9140303 Under Desk Keyboard Drawer

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Okay, I guess
Pros: It is what it looks like in the pic. Installation was easy. Easy price.
Cons: Can't really complain too much for the price, but I doubt it will last a year. Pretty flimsy and the mouse pad is weak. Whole unit bends and warps when you rest your hands on the keyboard/mouse.
Other Thoughts: I could see this being viable for an employer trying to shut-up a nagging employee for a few months.
Reviewed By:Justin P.,2/3/2016 9:28:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > ZyXEL > ZyXEL NWA1123-AC Plenum Rated Dual-Radio Ceiling Mount AC1200 Gigabit PoE Access Point (AP)/Repeater

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Setup is pretty easy once you know the ins and outs of t his device
Pros: As many people have said there are a few challenges to setting this device up, I believe Stanley M said he had a problem restricting the Guest wireless devices to only access the internet. I too had that problem. I contacted Zyxel support and after a while they helped me fix this problem.

You see what they forgot to tell everyone is that in addition to what the user guide tells you, you not only need to enable the Intra BSS blocking feature, by checking the check box, you also need to enable the Layer 2 Isolation feature by checking the check box. If you only see the layer 2 isolation option check that box, it might still work, it depends on which version of firmware you have.

I got an advanced version from support which was supposed to be better, it was version V210AAOX1_DF20160202. Next you need to go to your Layer 2 isolation tab and enter the LAN MAC address of your router to get all this to work. If you don't, then the wireless devices will only be able to join the network but they can't go out to the internet, if you don't enable the Layer 2 isolation feature for the Guest SSID, then the devices wont be restricted from the LAN.

If you have a .0 subnet and you are setting this device up for its first time, you will notice the device has an IP of 192.168.1.2, to reach its web interface you can statically assign an IP to the PC or laptop you are working from to something like 192.168.1.10, then click OK and OK until you have closed out and applied the new temporary IP settings on your PCs NIC. Once the IP has changed to the .1 subnet, you should be able to load the web interface to manage the Access point, now statically assign an IP to match your .0 subnet in the network settings of the Access Point, make sure it does not conflict with an existing IP already in use on your .0 subnet and write it down or get a screenshot, you do not want to forget what you changed the IP to. Apply the changes in the ZyXel web interface, change your PC NIC to work as it did before you made these changes and load up the web interface to the AP on the new IP address. Now proceed with the setup , when setting up the SSID names remember to make each one unique like Home 2.4g and Home 5G or Guest 2.4G and Guest 5G

I am posting this here in hopes it helps others with the same problem and maybe it will help Stan who posted this problem a long time ago about restricting guest devices. Good luck to all in the setup of this device
Cons: Zyxel could refine the firmware to be more automated when configuring things like a guest SSID, they should have a guest SSID check box in the SSID settings that will automatically sense the router or gateway and automatically apply the various other settings needed for this to work, it would speed up setup and make it a lot easier for the people setting these devices up as well as less work for Zyxel support.

Zyxel could also update their user manual to show the additional settings I was told in the same area where it shows people how to setup the SSIDs, this would help a lot.
Other Thoughts: The device so far seems pretty good, it even has a Wi-Fi analyzer to let you know what channels are being used around you, at which point you pick the ones least used or not at all. It also seems to give some pretty good feedback on how the AP it self is doing and the connection speeds of the 2.4 and 5Ghz frequencies. Its only been a few hours, so if I find any stability problems I will report back with an update but all seems good so far, now that I have it all setup.
Reviewed By:Frank R.,2/3/2016 5:31:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.