Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-LR – Indoor Wireless N300 Long Range Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best access point EVER
Pros: No dropouts
Extremely long range
Looks super cool
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I have lived in my current house for about 13 years now. I have always struggled with an access point that will not require frequent resets and that would cover my house 100%. This thing does the job perfectly. I used to have 40% on Ipad and <20 from my phone in master bathroom. My son struggled with reception upstairs (directly above old access point). ZERO problems with this Ubiquiti one. It is such a solid product that I now run my PS3 wireless instead of over ethernet. I could not be more pleased with this product and can NOT recommend it enough. The UniFi software that is used works on Win7 perfectly and was actually the easiest access point config ever. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
Reviewed By:JimL,1/27/2015 12:14:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Netgear Inc. > Netgear Broadband ADSL2+ Modem

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 NetGear DM111P
Pros: - price is good
- ADSL+2
-setup et manage with web interface
Cons: - Easy setup installation does not work for me but I easyly install it with manual setup
- Does not install easily with D-Link Dir-615
Reviewed By:Claude Charest,1/25/2015 9:18:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-LR – Indoor Wireless N300 Long Range Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for roaming between access points
Pros: I used these access points in large houses (4000 sq. ft. and above) where a single router or access point can't reach the whole house. Even better is that these control clients roaming between them. No longer is it up to the client when it wants to switch from on access point to another. With the Zero Handoff feature enabled, the access point forces the client to move to the higher strength access point. Macs are especially stubborn about switching and this fixes their "stickiness". If you buy these, you would DISABLE the wi-fi on your router an d only use these - as many as you need to cover your property.
Cons: Best if you have someone to do the wiring/mounting for you if you're not handy to get a professional cable run and mounting.
Other Thoughts: Just beware of these items. They are power over ethernet. You have to have a power outlet near the access point or run a cable from the POE injector brick to the access point. There is no web interface like with most routers via an ip address. You have to install/run their controller software from a computer and you must have java installed. Again, not a big deal - just different.
Reviewed By:Goombaneetra Jones,1/22/2015 7:44:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Linksys > Linksys LAPAC1750 IEEE 802.11ac 1.71 Gbps Wireless Access Point - ISM Band - UNII Band - 1 x Network (RJ-45)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not quite ready for primetime
Pros: These access points are probably the least expensive 3x3 MIMO 802.11ac dual band access points out there that support PoE. We got 3 to replace some old 2.4GHz 802.11N 150MB/s ones that we have installed in our large 3200 sq foot home. The setup of each was easy once installed. The hexagonal form factor with one system LED looks sleek and modern and blends into our decor very well.
Cons: The ceiling mounting instructions could have been better...only had instructions for mounting on office ceiling tile and not ceiling drywall. The specs for PoE power draw of each unit was not published on the website or part of the documentation. Kind of a big deal if you need to make sure your PoE injectors/switch have enough juice to power them. Had to contact support to find this out (27W PoE draw each) which prompted me to need to buy a new 90W PoE gigabit switch to power the three that we have. Finally (and this will be a dealbreaker for some) the current published 1.0.05.00 firmware does not allow ANY modern Android device (i.e. 4.4.4 KitKat) to connect to the access point. FYI, some devices that are Android based (i.e. Kindle Fire tablets and Fire TV) seem to connect fine. I am currently beta testing the 1.0.07.00 firmware which fixes the Android issue but that is not in full release yet...seriously though, who doesn't test the most common smartphone OS on a device like this?? Fail, especially for a business class device of this cost.
Reviewed By:lantirn_light,1/21/2015 10:48:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-AC UniFi Indoor Dual Band Wireless AC1750 3x3 MIMO Access Point/Bridge 2x Gigabit Port

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Hope you don't need their customer service
Pros: Compact shape
Cons: Broke in six weeks. Slow, deliberately unresponsive customer service. Requires Java 7
Other Thoughts: Bought this as a companion to UAP Pro to cover half of the office and to give users with new phones somewhat better wifi throughput.
Device stopped working in about six weeks - beginning of December. Checked to see if it can be restarted, software promptly crashed - turns out Java was updated to version 8, while Ubiquiti will not work beyond version 7.
Newegg will not help beyond 30 days (it was about 45 days from date of purchase) so no replacement.
Ubiquiti requires email contact which is sheer madness - describe all that you did to verify that device is broken, etc, etc. Check the cables, check the PoE injector, send all numbers from the back of unit. Seven emails later - ok, get an RMA. By then it's January 5.
Forward in time, it's January 19 as I am leaving this review and replacement unit did not arrive. I am getting different product from another brand.
None of those guys for a moment thinks: "We've sold $300 worth of junk, let's help him.". Mind you, I have eight other people relying on my decision to deploy this device.
In conclusion, if you buy Ubiquiti, you better hope it works, because if it breaks it's as good as burning money.
Reviewed By:Kris P.,1/18/2015 3:33:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti NanoStation LocoM2 , N150 2.4 GHz 2x2 MIMO Nano Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy installation, LONG range!
Pros: Super long range: I tested a pair of these boxes at 1000 ft (line of site through two rows of trees) and they worked great. They also worked from inside two buildings at 500 ft.

The bar graph LEDs are a plus since they indicate a connected bridge. They are weatherproof and easy to mount. They are cheap and the setup page is easy to navigate.
Cons: They should come with an adjustable wall mounting bracket since few people will actually mount them to a pole. I had to use a flagpole holder and a short piece of 1" PVC pipe.
Other Thoughts: I have a small IT business and these units fill a niche that I have been trying to fill for a few years.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/15/2015 1:28:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius N-ENH500 Kit(2 x ENH500) N300 Business-Class, Long Range 5GHz Wireless Bridge/Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far so good
Pros: Easy setup, nothing around that used 5Ghz band so no issues with interference.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Used for a 300 yard wireless bridge between two buildings. One brick and one steel and they work great about 15-20ft off the ground for me.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/15/2015 10:14:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ENS202EXT N300 High-powered/Long-range Wireless Outdoor Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent
Pros: Excellent coverage. I have two guest houses and it reaches all.
Cons: The setup is different from other devices.
1. You really do have to set your PC's Ethernet to static and plug directly in.
2. You must save after each panel change.
3. Tech support recommends changing the IP of the unit to 192.168.0.250. Just do it....
4. Set your PC back to what ever it was and login to make other changes.
Other Thoughts: Tech support was great. I had a bad line to wherever the tech was and he stayed right with me.
Reviewed By:Mikeyrose,1/15/2015 5:56:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-LR – Indoor Wireless N300 Long Range Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Superb equipment
Pros: This thing is terrific. It's priced fairly. It has high power and high throughput, which makes it perfect for the educational setting I'm using it in. The build quality is very good. It has a setup scheme that's a little complex for a one-unit installation, but obviously scales up nicely.
Cons: None worth mentioning
Other Thoughts: Follow the enclosed installation instructions.
Reviewed By:Ollie,1/14/2015 2:43:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-LR – Indoor Wireless N300 Long Range Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: The Range is excellent
Cons: The transfer speed is only ~65Mbps.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/14/2015 7:10:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.