Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless AP > Cisco Systems, Inc. > CISCO Aironet 700 Series AIR-CAP702I-A-K9 Internal Antenna Access Point

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Needs a controller
Pros: Works very well, pretty easy setup if you're familiar with cisco aironets and in general it's fairly intuitive but there's a LOT of options, so it may be somewhat confusing to the novice user...although usually novice users aren't setting up $400 access points..
Cons: I didn't realize this model required a controller, the AIR-SAP702I is the "standalone" - apparently the S in the model number is standalone, which can be configured without the controller.

I didn't have a controller so I returned it, NewEgg was very good about the return, the standalone model has performed very well.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/5/2015 10:28:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA801ND Wireless N300 Access Point, 300Mbps, Multifunction, Multiple SSID

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wroks great
Pros: Easy set up.
Cons: Comes set on 192.168 network. If you aren't using this network you have to configure a device to talk to it. Not that big a deal.
Other Thoughts: Configured it and forgot about it. I would recommend.
Reviewed By:Ian,5/3/2015 12:30:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet Wireless AC Easy-Upgrader TEW-820AP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unexpected Disappointment
Pros: Small footprint, micro usb ac/dc power adapter,
Cons: Too light-weight, cannot stand vertical, topples over with network and power cables attached. Lacks ventilation vents. See other thoughts.
Other Thoughts: As I write this review, the TEW-820AP has been RMA'd and is on it way back for a replacement. I had hoped it would be as reliable as the TEW-637AP Easy N upgrader I have been using for the past 4 years but it failed. First, the installation CD would not run the setup wizard. I got an execution error. Second, the power led in the wpa switch failed, it either displayed red or not at all, mostly, not at all. Never could determine if the unit was properly functioning. I did successfully get into the device management mode thru my browser and make modifications unique to my network (static ip, ssid, network key). I contacted Trendet support but no positive solution, The representative suggested it might be defective and recommended I send it to them for warranty service. I restored the device to its factory default settings, requested an RMA from Newegg for a replacement and off it has gone. Trendnet has been very reliable for me and I have more Trendnet network devices than any other brand. A TEW-P21G Print Server has been in continuous operation for 8 years and still going. I purchased the TEW-820AP at special price during an email e-blast sale that was almost a 50% reduction. Requesting an RMA and shipping back to Newegg for a new replacement was worth the expense. I am still below the current selling price. I will update this review based on the results I get from the replacement when it is successfully installed.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Anonymous,

We apologize for the inconvenience. Please keep up us updated on your findings of the replacement unit. If this is not to your liking or meets your expecations please contact me directly at adrian@trendnet.com , reference "CGZ1554" in the subject line. Thanks again for your support of TRENDnet Products.

Regards,

Adrian
TRENDnet Sales Support

Reviewed By:Sr Techie,5/1/2015 11:25:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti PicoStation M2HP 2.4GHz 802.11g/n High Power Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Powerful and easy to setup!
Pros: Has many features for more advanced uses, but basic setup was fairly straight forward. Price and size were bonus.
Cons: Doesn't work as universal repeater.
Other Thoughts: I am ordering more of these to expand a wireless network.
Reviewed By:JASON J.,4/29/2015 11:34:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business WAP371-A-K9 Wireless-AC/N Dual Radio Access Point with Single Point Setup

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Home Setup
Pros: Easy Setup
Multiple SSIDs
Multiple Concurrent radios
SSID-to-VLAN mapping
ACLs
QoS

I have two of these APs in my house, mounted out-of-the-way on the ceiling. One is in the basement, one is on the second floor. They're mounted as close to the center of the floor as possible and my house is approximately 40'x40'. I don't have any issues with connectivity when it comes to laptops. The two iPhones that connect don't have the same range as laptops, but I don't really find that surprising.

Management of them is nice, and single-point setup is pretty cool. All in all, I find the GUI to be fairly straightforward and simple.
Cons: Price.

To make full use of 80 MHz of bandwidth on the 5 GHz band, you need PoE+, not standard PoE. You can try using 80 MHz on the 5G band with standard PoE, but don't be shocked if the AP locks up and/or reboots.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I'm pretty happy with these. They replaced a couple of different models of AP (a Cisco 321 and Linksys 4400) and I'm happy with that. Bonus: upgrade to 802.11ac whenever I get devices capable of it.
Reviewed By:Adam C.,4/28/2015 6:27:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Linksys > LINKSYS WAP300N Dual Band N300 Wireless AP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Typical NEWAGE Linksys
Pros: Had some hopes for this, I don't know why. Nothing to see here.
Cons: Wired connection at 100MB\s. You can choose 2.4 GHz OR 5.0 GHz not both. Will require a physical reboot after large amount of traffic (Operating at 5.0GHz), latest firmware. Support is garbage as they only want more money from you. I promise you will be disappointed with this product.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/27/2015 8:47:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > UbiQuiTi NanoStation LOCOM5 N150 Indoor/Outdoor AirMAX CPE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Impressive Units!
Pros: Price, Ease of Installation, Performance, Many Configuration Videos are available. LEDs on the back of the unit show status at a glance and also can be used for alignment.
Cons: Does NOT use Standard POE Connection without additional adapter.

Only Pole Mount is included.

Only 100Mb connection but says the wireless link is up to 300mbps between them.
Other Thoughts: I bought a Pair of These to bridge my network between two buildings. To say that I am very impressed with them is an understatement!

These units are relatively small, light weight and have an impressive software installed in them. Setting them up was a snap using their Alignment Option that uses a Beep that gets higher pitched as you are getting the best location signal.

Beware that these are POE but only with the included 24V Adapter, does not work with Standard POE Switches without an additional adapter which was a bit of an issue for us.

They are designed to be mounted on a pole, the mount can not be removed but additional mounts can be purchased. I ended up getting the Window / Wall Mounts which worked but not quite as expected.

Since the day they have been installed they have been working perfectly transferring security camera video without a single hiccup. I highly recommend these.
Reviewed By:Peter L.,4/26/2015 2:38:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EDIMAX > Edimax EW-7288APC 11AC Add-On Station, Add AC450 5GHz to 11n Home Router for Faster Connection, Hassle Free Zero Installation, Supports Wi-Fi Bridge Mode / Access Point Mode

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 100Mbps only
Pros: Low cost, stable
Cons: It only has a 100Mbps Ethernet so you will never get AC speed as all traffic in an out will be capped by the Ethernet. They should clearly state the Ethernet speed in the specs. It not on NewEgg or the Edimax site, which means somebody want to mislead us.
Other Thoughts: I bough this to add N/AC to my network which is Gigabit, was very disappointed to discover that I can only access wires devices at 100Mb.
Manufacturer Response:Dear customer,

Thank you for your feedback about our EW-7288APC.

Indeed the Ethernet port of the EW-7288PAC is 100mbps while its wireless is 5G 802.11ac speed. Your feedback has been forwarded to our sales and marketing department.

Please feel free to contact our tech support at (408)988-6092 or write an email to " support@edimax.us ". Our tech support team will assist you with any issues. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,
Edimax Tech Support Team

Reviewed By:Igor,4/24/2015 1:05:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-LR-3, UniFi AP Long Range 3 Pack, UniFi AP-LR 3-Pack PoE 300 Mbps

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great Product / bad software
Pros: Up and running fine....
Cons: Download the software and it does not install correctly on Windows.
Looks like the *exe points to the wrong location.
Works on one system, doesn't on another
Reviewed By:RJF,4/23/2015 8:41:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Netgear Inc. > Netgear WAC120-100NAS Dual Band 802.11ac Access Point

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Skip it. Worst AP I have ever owned, worse
Pros: Great stated feature set (on paper)

Pro-grade SOHO access point.
Cons: This has been the flakiest device I have ever owned. Every half hour-40 minutes it dumps all the connected clients. Cannot watch a movie on my AppleTV or Roku, even browsing the web drops out. Cell phones keep reverting to cell towers because the wifi drops. Logging on the device is pretty useless.

Also device is 'locked' to North America for channel and regulatory settings.
Other Thoughts: DONT DO IT! Scroll down and find another device to click on. This one isnt ready for prime time.

Ive opened a ticket with Netgear, but theres a lot of crickets in the background. Opening an RMA with NewEgg.
Reviewed By:ADave,4/23/2015 11:47:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.