Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ECB350 N300 High Power (29 dBm) Wireless Gigabit Access Point/CB/WDS/Repeater with Network Management Software

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Powerful, Right Price
Pros: From the get-go, budget home network brands like TP Link and EnGenius weren’t stellar – I have purchased and reviewed more than a dozen different products from the two manufacturers. However, things have been turning around for them, and this AP is helping!

My home is two levels, plus a full basement. My router sits on the main floor in a large, open living room. I get great signal in 95% of the house, but the signal in my one mostly unused spare bedroom is essentially nil. It will connect, but with next to no speed or reliability. Enter the ECB350: an AP/repeater that has a (relatively speaking) powerful transmit rating of 29dB. Granted, I have this sitting only about 20 feet from the bedroom in question, but I get full wifi signal strength and internet speed.

Another of my all-time favorite features for any network hardware (cameras especially) is the ability to do PoE. This device allows you to run just a powered Ethernet cable to the back of it – perfect if you are putting this up high, or up in an attic where getting an extra outlet can be a challenge.
Cons: As others have pointed out, EnGenius’ budget status is still confirmed by its less-than-user-friendly interface. Networking can be very confusing, and the setup isn’t the best. For those who have some knowledge or have had to do this before it isn’t a huge deal, but again, not ideal.

Worth mentioning that even though it does support PoE, the RJ-45 included is tiny. Not a big deal for me (I make my own cables anyhow) but definitely could be for many people.
Other Thoughts: Tough to knock this product, really. It does exactly what it is designed to do and does a great job of it with powerful transmit rates that really can cut through walls and ceilings.
Reviewed By:Dean M.,9/23/2016 4:27:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ECB350 N300 High Power (29 dBm) Wireless Gigabit Access Point/CB/WDS/Repeater with Network Management Software

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Value
Pros: Fantastic range. Not difficult to set up.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommended to anyone who does not need dual band wi-fi. I don't need 5Ghz, so this is a great value.
Note: Out of the box, AP IP set to 192.168.1.1. To avoid potential conflict on network, I changed it to 192.168.1.50. Works like a charm (wrote IP in sticky note so i'd remember if i need to log in to the AP later).
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/21/2016 8:32:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-Link > TP-Link EAP330 AC1900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Ceiling Mount Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This hands down will get the work done, TP-Link has you covered!
Pros: “This is a review of a free product received from TP-LINK as part of the review program.”

After installing the very clean sleek TP-Link EAP320 on the wall I downloaded the EAP controller software. This was the best place to start, once I clicked on the "access points" tab I noticed the EAP320 was in pending status, this was quickly adopted by choosing the check mark on the right hand side, then entering my user and pass-admin,admin by default.
After setting up the EAP320 in the EAP controller webpage, I decided to take a peek at the access points own webpage. This was were I set up the SSID and changed the passwords to ones I needed, I also was able to setup the channels here and separated them from the others as not to cause interference.
I also updated the firmware from the EAP controller software, this was a snap. Just download newest version and upgrade, this was one of the easiest access points to update. TP-Link has really done a great job with the fit and finish with the new EAP320/330 seems to have a metal bottom and very strong housing. The wireless range has been better than expected, this is a great working class access point. The other very nice touch is this one has is a guest network it allows a very clean interface the include prompts to follow for logging in. This feature allows you to remove guests after certain time limits, which is great for public free wifi areas.

Installation - Very Easy
Setup - Very Easy
Quality of Network - Top Notch
Tools- With the use of the EAP controller software this has to be the most complete solution.
Cons: -Works as should, no cons to date.
Other Thoughts: If you are wanting to expand your workplace or larger space in general this is the product for you, I have been testing quite a few and have had no drops and no unwanted disconnects.
The EAP330 model will also have the POE or Power Over Ethernet, which allows for installations without the need for the small power brick attached as it get is power from the network cables(special network switch is needed).

Overall great product, great price point, you will really like the simplistic yet very deep and stable settings in a very small package!!
Reviewed By:Michael E.,9/19/2016 9:02:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-Outdoor+, UniFi AP Outdoor+ 2.4GHz PoE 802.11n 300Mbps up 600 ft

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product!
Pros: Easy to set up and great range.
Cons: Had no problems with installation.
Other Thoughts: Will continue to buy these.
Reviewed By:John J.,9/15/2016 2:22:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EDIMAX > EDIMAX EW-7288APC 11AC (5GHz Band only) Range Extender / Add-on Station, to Extend / Add 11AC Wi-Fi Signal for Faster and Cleaner Connection

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great signal for a small area
Pros: This router offers a very fast connection when you are nearby. I am using it in a dorm room so I only need something that serves a radius of about fifteen feet, and this works great for that. I am getting the same quality on WiFi that I was getting on the ethernet connection beforehand.
Cons: Setup is a little finicky at first, for example I couldn't access the admin page after actually adding it to the network. Also, like I said, the range is great when you're close. Once I move about two rooms away the signal doesn't even register on my phone. This may be because of the dorm situation, but I am the only 5 GHz band, and the school wifi reaches the entire floor from one central access point.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend this for somebody who needs something that they can just plug in and use for a small setting, such as a dorm room, or perhaps for adding WiFi to a gaming system instead of running an ethernet cable. If you need something for full house coverage, I would definitely upgrade to a full AC router with a lot more power
Reviewed By:Bryan E.,9/13/2016 7:15:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius N-EnStation2 Kit N300 Long-Range Wireless 2.4 GHz Outdoor Access Point/Bridge Kit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 You get what you pay for!
Pros: It sometimes works.
Cons: -Right after I got the system installed one of the units got filled with water when it rained. EnGenius sent a replacement, but that still meant it was down for a few weeks.

-The setup is not that straight forward. To get the initial link to work I had to play around with settings, then reboot and see if it worked.

-I have to periodically reboot both units because the connection will simply stop working.
Other Thoughts: If you want a reliable outdoor wifi you will need to spend more money.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/13/2016 6:21:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius EAP600 N600 High-Power Dual-Band Gigabit Indoor Wireless Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Absolutely powerful!
Pros: This unit has an excellent signal strength.

It is easy to configure, provided you have a basic understanding of wi-fi networks.

Highly recommended!
Cons: - It should be more obvious that the saving of settings is a two-step process.
Other Thoughts: I purchased my first one for my brother and I was so impressed that I ordered one for my house.
Reviewed By:Guy L.,9/11/2016 7:46:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ENS200 Long Range Wireless 11N Outdoor AP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Deceptive features, no better than a consumer routers
Pros: Has choices for multiple modes of operation (Access Point, WDS, Router, and Bridge) and several nice options available for logging/monitoring/tweaking.

I chose to run this as an access point, and after a little bit of tweaking to get some settings changed, I was able to connect to it no problem.

That’s pretty much it, which is kind of sad.
Cons: The ENS200 is an example of pretty deceptive advertising. Yes, it is true that connections can be made at 2.4GHz 802.11n speeds. But, there are only two possibilities with this AP, and neither are good. You can wire the AP to the LAN, but will ultimately be connecting to the rest of the network at a cap of *100Mbps*. Or, you can bridge the AP wirelessly, which may help on the speed aspect, but like with any wireless bridge, the connection quality goes down. Expect more latency (which may not change the speed) and generally a poorer connection than if you were hooked to a real AP. So much for speed.

Let’s say you move past this, and decide that speed is not for you. After all, distance connectivity is more important, so you plan to hook this AP as a WDS or a wired access point and have a more remote site connect to it. Well, don’t expect much better range than a standard consumer router. In comparison with an Asus RT-N66U running Shibby Tomato and with no modification to transmit power or other 802.11 settings, this access point perform no better than this consumer router. Yes, I upped the transmit power and modified other settings, but nothing good came from it. As I walked away from both of my APs and tracked the signal from my phone, they started at the same strength and decreased at the same rate. So much for “long range.”

Then we get to all the features that are supposedly offered by the AP. If you can get past the clunky UI to actually configure it, you’ll find that some of the settings do absolutely nothing. For example, I wanted to disable the CLI (telnet, TCP port 23). I turned that off in the settings and made sure that there were no outstanding changes in the “save/changes: #” section. Then I port scanned the AP and saw port 23 still being opened. It was, I was able to login via telnet with no issues. So much for features and management.
Other Thoughts: I have another EnGenius AP and I really like it (though it is an indoor one). It’s much easier to configure, has even more features, and actually is advertised without being misleading. Why is this AP such a stark contrast?
Reviewed By:Brandon W.,9/10/2016 12:02:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > UbiQuiTi NanoStation LOCOM5 N150 Indoor/Outdoor AirMAX CPE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Can't say enough good things about this device!
Pros: Stable, fast, predictable performance and a price that's almost too good to be true. I use them to connect remote buildings and poles for HD IP surveillance systems and love the fact that I can almost treat them as if they were actually wired. Crazy range and bandwidth to spare.
Cons: You have to know what you are doing when you set one up. There are plenty of tutorials available, but don't expect much help from the manufacturer.
Other Thoughts: If you need to jump long distances with high speed network connectivity, this is a fantastic choice.
Reviewed By:Tim T.,9/9/2016 7:14:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti Networks UAP-AC-LR-US 802.11ac Long Range Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Powerful range.
Pros: reliable and strong
Cons: nothing
Reviewed By:Marcy P.,9/8/2016 7:50:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.