Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius EAP300 Business Class Indoor High-power Long-range 800mW Wireless-N Access Point/WDS Bridge/WDS AP with Smoke Detector Housing & 802.3af PoE Support

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not the best, not the worst.
Pros: - Smoke detector-like style is definitely appropriate for a business setting.
- Impressive set of features, which is expected if this device is to be the wireless backbone of a populated network. WDS mode, client mode, AP mode.
- PoE compliant.
- Ethernet port is expected but beneficial if you wanted to link up a switch if need be or use the PoE.
- Can disable ALL LEDs. Otherwise this unit is a bright blue color. Disabling all the LEDs makes it so there are not lights at all.. you cannot even tell if the unit is on or not.
- Intuitive interface that is mostly simple to use with one exception mentioned in OTs.
- Unboxing the unit included the basic necessities including mounting screws to secure the two-piece bracket so you can easily remove and replace the device.
Cons: I would definitely expect there to be gigabit ethernet port (at least.) This isn’t really a con in smaller networks. But I imagine that these devices on larger networks, being N300 devices, could experience some overhead if there is a larger user base or heavy bandwidth consumption. A gigabit copper backbone would avoid saturation. A 300Mbps signal halved and slowed by numerous WDS hops (and signal noise in between, packet error correction, etc.) can drop from that theoretical top speed to 2 or 1Mbps easily.

Also it was a bit buggy with working together on my network. Everything connected well with wireless security disabled but for some reason it would not connect for WPA or WPA2.
Other Thoughts: Tip: If you’re one to skip reading the manual then you’ll probably want to know that you have to manually enter a static IP address when setting the device up. In fact, the pdf of the manual is included on a disk. You should probably at least skim the contents…because DHCP is disabled by default and you should know that no changes take effect when you click to submit them. You also have to click “Save/Reload:#” in the top left of the navigation pane. If you do not, then it will read like your changes saved but they will not apply.

Being assigned only one unit, it’s a bit tough to test this out in a practical scenario, but overall this about as well as expected. On the software side, any tech admin or competent techie can set up an efficient, controlled EAP/WDS wifi network. I did not test EAP on this device but I tested WDS and Repeater modes. I wasn’t actually able to get it to work with any encryption. It’s likely an error on my part somewhere, I’m sure.

There is a command Line interface but it is VERY limited. Logs show it running Busybox 1.19.4 but when you connect via Telnet it never gives you shell access. It’s not a pro to have a CLI if you can’t create and run custom scripts or actually do something you can’t easily do on the web interface..

Over all this seems like a decent solution for a smaller network. It seems a little buggy in my testing but I also am using equipment different than Engenius’ brand (DD-WRT devices.) I'm not sure that I would value these at the current $100 price tag, however. I would recommend someone to explore other options in this range..
Reviewed By:Theo,8/17/2014 10:28:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO AirStation Pro 802.11n Plenum-Rated Gigabit Concurrent Dual Band PoE Wireless Access Point - WAPS-APG600H

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: * Concurrent Dual Band
* Multiple SSIDs
* VLANs
Cons: * Weak signal (weaker than the Linksys it was replacing)
* No RADIUS auth
* Clunky UI
Reviewed By:N/A,8/17/2014 7:41:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA801ND Wireless N300 Access Point, 300Mbps, Multifunction, Multiple SSID

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far so good
Pros: Sets up easy, used as access point and repeater in a daisy chain setup. Seems to be stable, no failures to date. Despite some reviews on troubled setups, I have not had those issues. The IP address is easily changed to match existing IP. As far as wireless power goes, it saturates the area pretty good. I setup as repeaters for a customer, no access in second building cinder block walls throughout, now whole area is flooded with signal.
Cons: The 5 eggs are not for newegg's prices, just for the device itself. I bought my most recent ones from a competitor, for $12 a piece less....shame on your newegg, where is the willingness to be competitive?
Other Thoughts: Don't let the fact this is a lesser known company(TP-Link) here, I've very impressed with the value/performance and feature rich products. Now that said, I use them for repeaters and access points, not for main routers(my fav is netgear)
Reviewed By:Ketchup,8/16/2014 8:22:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ENS202EXT High-powered/Long-range Wireless N300 Outdoor AP

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent Range Extender! Amazing coverage distance.
Pros: The line of sight signal is very impressive. I’m able to get around 200+ yards away from the device with 2-3 bars solid. If I walk into the house next door, the signal diminishes rapidly. So if you’re looking to have coverage area inside another building at a distance, be ready to catch and rebroadcast the signal. It was able to get coverage throughout the entire garage, where the normal WiFi signal drops to 1 bar at best at the garage. Which is 20 feet away from the house.

The power over Ethernet is pretty common with most outdoor devices.

Ability to ‘ignore’ regulatory power and boost up to whichever setting you’d like.

There is a ton of configuration options from a management standpoint. For example Vlan, SNMP, auto reboot, WiFi scheduling etc. All of which is very easily configured.

Can be configured without having to plug directly into the device. It broadcasts a wireless signal that you can log into. This can be a little quirky with the windows wireless manager constantly looking for something with internet.

Comes with the required installation parts for a wall or a pole mount.
Cons: Some of the configuration interface is a little quirky. Sometimes the save button on the bottom will update the device with the configuration settings. Other times while configuring you’ll see a save/reload on the top left hand side to commit the changes.

After around 1 week of steady use, the unit itself had a failure. It was no longer powering on at all. After getting a replacement unit, I determined this fault to be in the power plug & PoE adapter. I’m not sure if one took out the other, but the unit itself works flawless with the new power plug & PoE adapter.

The instructions assume that you have some technical knowledge. They give you the default IP address(192.168.1.1), login and password. Beyond that you have to go to their site for more information.

Does not come with even a short Ethernet cable. Make sure you've got an extra one or add it to the purchase! PoE is the only way to power this device.
Other Thoughts: EnGenius Customer support was very friendly and easy to get in touch with. I was only on hold for 10-15 seconds and I have to assume this was an internal transfer from the computer. Of course the troubleshooting for a no-power issue is pretty minimal. The usual try a different wall outlet and or different Ethernet cables. Once determined that something had failed, they advised me to return the product to the vendor as the device is not very old.

Although you would likely mount this vertical, there is no gasket around the wire cover. In time this may allow for some moisture to build up and cause issues.

Compared to the previous models, the initial configuration went a lot easier.

Overall I’m not too concerned with the failed power plug/PoE injector. These kinds of things happen from time to time, and you generally find out in the early days if there is going to be a problem.
Reviewed By:Agro,8/15/2014 2:25:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ECB300 High Transmit RF (up to 29 dBm) Wireless-N AP/CB/WDS w/ AP Management Software

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 After Setup, Works as Expected
Pros: * Mountable design - space saving
* Design is ok - black and does not unnecessarily draw attention
* "Getting Started" guide is clearly found and directed me right out of the box. No bulky manual. Simple to follow.
* Range is impressive. Reaches all the rooms in my 2500 sq. ft. house and outside as well.
* Signal strength is very good. The signal strength is excellent, giving me the ability to stream video, and copy files at top-notch speed.
Cons: * Packaging: Way too much packaging for the size of the unit, power supply, and other items
* Power supply takes up about one and a half plugs on a power strip. At least it's oriented perpendicular to the power strip, so that it doesn't take up more space or have to be on the end.
* Uses the same IP as my existing router, which made setup challenging. Took me hours, and I'm not new to setting this type of a device up.
Other Thoughts: * The setup took a long time because my router's ip address is the same as the unit. Did quite a bit of messing around to get it to work.
* Tested with my laptop to connect to this unit to connect to my router, which worked as expected. Range improvement? Yes. If you are willing to invest the time to make it work, then this is a good unit.
Reviewed By:Tim In PA,8/14/2014 11:10:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > D-Link > D-Link AC1750 Plenum Rated Dual-Band PoE Access Point with two Gigabit Ports and AP Manager Controller

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 3 Months later, AP just died
Pros: Seems to be built sturdy. Fast speeds.
Cons: First one is now dead after only 3 months
Other Thoughts: I am going to see how good the D-Link support really is. I am hoping for a fairly straightforward process, as this is for a very good customer.
Manufacturer Response:We want to thank you for the feedback as we greatly appreciate the input and we are sorry to hear that the product has stopped working for you. Based upon your review, D-Link suggests that you click on the link below and fill out the form accordingly within the next 10 days so one of our technical support specialists can contact you directly and assist you with your issues.

http://supportrequest.dlink.com?id=9f213865ff2a4779a69af5b9a36a78d3&token=e1185ba66773464495297daab88f9387

Thank you for choosing D-Link and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Reviewed By:Agamar,8/13/2014 4:22:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Netgear Inc. > Netgear WN2000RPT Universal WiFi Range Extender Extend wireless network coverage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Refurbished wifi range extender
Pros: works flawlessly no problems detetected , easy to setup, easy to connect.
Cons: it's not a cons but sometimes you have to unplug and replug because it doesn't connect to you're router but thats not a real problem
Other Thoughts: i purchased it because my xbox 360 has no wireless and with this it cost me 25.99$ and i have peace of mind. If i had to buy the wireless it was over 50$ or i could have gone with th e rj45 but i didn't want to pass a 35 feet wire around the house and doing holes. THis way it's quit and easy.
Reviewed By:Joey,8/11/2014 11:39:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > D-Link > D-Link MediaBridge/Access Point (DAP-1533) Wireless N450, Dual-Band, Gigabit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect solution
Pros: Put 2 computers and a security DVR on it. Works perfect.
Cons: Not really a con but good advice.
Never mix brands on a WiFi network. you might get away with it but also might not. A lot of weird things can happen ..I have a WiFi network with 30 devices and found out mixing brands can lead to quirky things ...I am all D-Link now and ALL the mysterious STUFF has stopped.
Other Thoughts: Good TO GO ON A..DIR-655
Reviewed By:N/A,8/11/2014 3:24:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius EAP300 Business Class Indoor High-power Long-range 800mW Wireless-N Access Point/WDS Bridge/WDS AP with Smoke Detector Housing & 802.3af PoE Support

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good for the money
Pros: The EAP300 is a good wireless access point for the price. It is simple to program and I have coverage a quarter mile radius from the access point. I have 2 of these in operation. One is a V1 and the other is a V2, If you are using more than one, make sure that you set the wireless channels away from one another.
Cons: I ordered my two at the same time on the same order. I received a V1 and a V2 of the hardware. The programming is a bit different on the different HW versions. The V2 keeps losing the WPA2 password in programming.
Other Thoughts: Two of the same HW version would have been preferred, but It was easy to figure out the differences in the programming.
Reviewed By:Dowling,8/10/2014 10:51:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA5210G Wireless G High Power Wireless Outdoor Access Point, Multifunction, Outdoor design, Passive PoE

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I've been had!
Pros: None
Cons: Boy, did I get stuck!!! Like others have reported, the software is glitchy BUT the housing is a design flaw too.

I bought this to replace a 2 year old E*Genius that went bad. I climbed a tower to replace the E*Genius to find the outdoor ethernet cable jacket was to long to plug in to this unit and be able to close its door. The reason the door wouldn't close is because the hole in the housing for the ethernet cable to go through is drilled 1/2" to the left of the ethernet port. This can be seem in diagram 2.2 on page 4 of the user manual. Why would they drill the cabinets hole 1/2" to the left of the ethernet port?

Now I have 3 choices. Return the TP-Link to Newegg, or run new ethernet cable with a shorter jacket up a tower or drill my own hole straight below the ethernet port. Of course I drilled.

Well, it worked for 4 days, started going bugs and the computer never found it again after the 8th day.

After 90 minutes on the phone with tech support, there was no solution since I violated the warrantee. However they would email me instructions on how to fix it. Those instructions were to reboot the 5210G even though I told them I had done that 30 times already.

I then phoned Newegg to see if they could help. I found Newegg to be very understanding of the situation and they said they would contact to company on my behalf to see if we could work this out. They did and the company called me speaking Spanish and when they found I only speak English, they hung up...Thats it...I tossed it out and went back to E*Genius.
Other Thoughts: My reason for buying this in the first place was because it was reported to have superior sensitivity. NOT TRUE! It will find an access point with a signal level of just 1db, but like all the other access points, it won't lock on a signal level of less the 14db so its really no better.
Reviewed By:dxshack,8/10/2014 9:38:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau