Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i3-4160 Haswell Dual-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 54W Desktop ProcessorIntel HD Graphics 4400 BX80646I34160

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really Nice Chip
Pros: Easy installation and fast fast fast results with an SSD. I used a leftover stock copper core sink from a previous i5 install so almost no heat generation. My 3rd i3, I really respect this chip as a strong reliable workhorse for the price. Wanted the hyperthreading for a little future-proofing.. i3's xtra threads and more cpu instruction sets should help down the road. Yes, a Pentium 3258 O/C'd would probably have more raw power @ 4.2 or so... but the i3 is a first string starter on anyone's bench.
Cons: Same as the first two I3s.....none!
Other Thoughts: Miss the overclock option of course... however this chip makes me forget about it prettty quick. HD 4400 graphics means I can skip the video card too. This chip screams value IMHO. Look for it on sale w/free shipping at the Egg and then never have to look back again.
Reviewed By:MikeMan,1/26/2015 5:09:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Desktops > AMD > AMD FX-8320 Vishera 8-Core 3.5GHz (4.0GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W Desktop Processor FD8320FRHKBOX

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice CPU but...
Pros: Plays all the games I throw at it plus is able to handle multiple tasks while gaming. 8 cores that aren't shared or locked in some way. Great entry to mid level CPU for gamers, like myself, who want to run separate CPU / GPU configurations.
Cons: Kinda already starting to be an entry level of CPU with a lot of games recommending non-turbo 8 core 4 ghz or higher configurations.
Stock heatsink and fan is weak. Okay for small uses but if wanting to use the turbo option or run this CPU under a load for long, invest in a better cooling system.
Other Thoughts: Besides the problem of the stock heatsink and fan being a bit left to be desired, I would still recommend this CPU.
I'm even apt to try the turbo settings on this CPU once I get a liquid cooling system that I got for this recently.
Reviewed By:Targo,1/26/2015 3:08:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge Quad-Core 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 3000 BX80623I52500K

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: I've had this processor since release and running at 4.5ghz for all these years and it has not let me down yet. This chip is a BEAST
Cons: None at all
Other Thoughts: Best processor ever made hands down
Reviewed By:N/A,1/26/2015 12:41:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Desktops > AMD > AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W Desktop Processor FD8350FRHKBOX

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice CPU, get a better cooler.
Pros: More than enough cores to run multiple apps and not bog down. No "virtual" cores via hyperthreading so no worry about slow downs due to two threads competing for the same resources. Decently fast, slightly slower per core than a Phenom II x4 965 running @4.07 Ghz when all threads are at 100%. But unless you are going to be maxing all the cores at the same time this cpu will outpace the 965. In WoW with the 965 I was getting around 40 fps average with the settings at good with the 8350 I am getting about the same frame rate with the settings at high and a few at ultra outdoors. Indoors I was getting around 65 fps with the 965 and I am now getting around 105 fps with the higher settings. Running 16GB 1600Mhz ram, 890fx chipset, ssd, and a pair of 6850's @ 850 Mhz core. The stock cooler idles around 14c to 19c depending on the room temp. My GPU is idling around 35c with one card shut down.
Cons: The cooler is WAY undersized for the heat this thing can pump out and extremely loud when the fan spins up. I ran the Phenom II overclocked on the stock cooler and did not have any issues of overheating, this cpu overheats just being ran at 100% and factory clockings.

I have pretty good airflow through the case and while I am going to pick up a couple more 120MM fans by no means should it be locking up or shutting down. The factory cooler just will not cut it on this one unless you get a water cooled edition. Auto clockings and voltage this thing is going up to around the mid to upper 70's c, my gpu's are getting to around 62c max.

DO NOT ATTEMPT TO OC WITH A STOCK COOLER/PASTE, in fact if you buy this cpu buy a better cooler to begin with even if you are not going to OC. I have a feeling part of the problem with the stock cooler is that the air being vented from the cooler is being pulled back into the fan and recirculating. I would rather have seen a cooler boxed with the cpu more like the 212 EVO where the air can be pushed through straight to an exhaust fan.
Other Thoughts: I just bought a 212 evo to throw on this after seeing comparisons showing the temps I am getting on stock at 70c to 80c and the evo on the same loading is getting 45c to 50c.

It is a little arbitrary to talk about the per core performance being slightly slower at the same clock speed but I will try to elaborate a little. I ran a x11 miner on the Phenom II @4.07 Ghz and received ~ 250 khash/s or 62.5 khash/s per core, the 8350 at 4.1ghz in turbo mode runs ~ 400 khash/s or 50 khash/s per core at a slightly higher clock speed. Both done with one thread per core so the hexacore cpu vs the quad core at nearly the same clock speed is slightly slower. With that said running less than 8 threads on the hexacore does yield nearly the same performance so this may be due to the overhead of managing twice the threads and if you are going to overclock you can get the performance higher.

I have not done a lot of other testing but I think what I have outlined should give you an idea of performance comparison. When the 212EVO comes in on Thursday I will be doing some more and see if everything holds true.
Reviewed By:NightShade,1/26/2015 9:40:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4600 BX80646I74790

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Nice
Pros: Everything.

Has QuickSync; AES support; vPro (nice, when paired with appropriate motherboard); VT-x, VT-d, VT-x with EPT (nice, when using virtualization technologies that support it); and a number of other useful features onboard.
Cons: I don't like the heatsink/fan mountings that rely on "push pins" to secure them to the motherboard. I have had too many "push pin" heatsink/fan assemblies "get loose" or just plain "wonky" on me. I replace those "push pin" assemblies with Dynatron K5 92mm (N82E16835114136) heatsink/fan mountings that use screws to secure the entire assembly to the motherboard in a "sandwich" fashion; heatsink/fin-MB-backplate.
Other Thoughts: I don't overclock so I could not justify the cost of a i7-4790K.

I am using this in a Windows 7 system that supports VMware-based virtual machines and has a Supermicro motherboard (N82E16813182829) that supports the various Intel VT features mentioned above.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/26/2015 4:47:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i7-4790K Haswell Quad-Core 4.0GHz LGA 1150 Desktop Processor BX80646I74790K

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome CPU
Pros: Insanely fast and powerful cpu with a very cool temps (stock)
Highly recommended to all PC gamer/video editor
Cons: None, but i suggest you buy an aftermarket cpu cooler
Other Thoughts: got the X438 batch and my normal temp is 26~32C only
Reviewed By:N/A,1/25/2015 9:57:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Desktops > AMD > AMD A8-6600K Richland Quad-Core 3.9GHz Socket FM2 100W Desktop Processor - Black Edition AMD Radeon HD 8570D AD660KWOHLBOX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good value for my money
Pros: Perfect for what I need. I mostly used it as an HTPC and run Minecraft for the kids. Built in video is ok. I can play most games with decent quality. Some folks complained about high temperature and it crashing (even playing Minecraft). I did not get this at all even after hours of play. I'm using the stock heatsink but I did use my own high quality thermal paste. Perhaps that's what made the difference. I have it running 24/7 for weeks. No problem yet.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Relence,1/25/2015 9:16:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Desktops > AMD > AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W Desktop Processor FD8350FRHKBOX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What can I say!
Pros: AMD did it again. Another AMD marvel of the computer age. Super fast and eight cores.
Cons: None yet!!!
Reviewed By:Michael S.,1/25/2015 7:30:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i3-4150 Haswell Dual-Core 3.5GHz LGA 1150 54W Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4400 BX80646I34150

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Intel Core i3-4150
Pros: Solid CPU, can handle moderate gaming. Very good for a home computer or budget build. Paired this CPU with an r9 280.
Cons: Graphic intense games like to heat up the CPU to the point of shut down (75*Celcius+), bought a new heat sink and hopefully that will help keep it a little cooler once I get it on. (Over heated on Payday 2 and shut down)
Other Thoughts: If you're looking to game heavily, look into an i5, at least. Especially if you're wanting to play minecraft.

(I also have 3 fans in my case not including the heat sink, my airflow isn't the issue either.)
Reviewed By:mxracer663,1/25/2015 6:10:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i7-4770K Haswell Quad-Core 3.5GHz LGA 1150 84W Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics BX80646I74770K

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Processor
Pros: Blistering performance, runs cool, Z87 chipset is nice.
Cons: None I can think of
Other Thoughts: I got my 4770k in 2013 (Dec 28 to be exact) and have had it for a year an a month almost. It tears through any video editing or rendering I throw at it. Gaming @ 1080p is superb with a GTX 780 Dual FTW. Runs cool at idle and load. Temps at idle with a H100i are about 31 C and it loads at about 63-66C depending on how warm my room is. Would recommend it to anybody.
Reviewed By:,,1/25/2015 6:03:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.