Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN nüvi 265T 3.5" GPS with FM Live traffic

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: None
Cons: Beware!!! There is a difference between lifetime traffic update and lifetime map updates. The main reason I bought this was because I thought lifetime traffic update meant lifetime map update. Currently $89.95 extra from Garmin. That's more than I paid for the entire unit!
Other Thoughts: Turn info only when you are almost past turn off. No lane instructions.
Really hate the semantics game Garmin plays regarding included free updates!
Reviewed By:Ppaul,8/29/2014 11:57:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN nuvi 2557LMT 5.0" GPS Navigation w/ Lifetime Map & Traffic Update

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Garmin
Pros: Easy to use. It has been very solid and accurate.
Cons: Garmin changed the menus so it took me a little while to find certain features. They buried the custom POI option in a spot that isn't a very intuitive spot.
Other Thoughts: I use this primarily for work. My wife was very impressed with it when she recently used it to travel to a wedding. She had not been all that impressed with Garmin before using this unit and says that she would like to use this one more when she travels for her work. Definite improvement over printed the Map Quest maps that she insisted on using because she didn't like the other Garmin that she had occasionally used. It gets high marks from me because it will eliminate her trying to look at printed directions while she drives (very stubborn and old school).
Reviewed By:N/A,8/14/2014 6:00:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN Forerunner 210 1" GPS Navigation w/ Heart Rate Monitor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 GARMIN Forerunner 210
Pros: It records in sections as you would like it during the day for different exercises and gives you a total calories burned per section and entire day.
Cons: Sometimes the GPS takes more than a minute to locate. Especially of you are trying to set up for a run indoors before heading out.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/14/2014 12:47:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN nuvi 2797LMT 7.0" GPS Navigation w/ Lifetime Map & Traffic Update

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Disappointed
Pros: Nothing ...nothing at all.
Cons: Never did work
Other Thoughts: Bought the 2797LMT in May 2013, and used it once that year for one day to guide me in locating houses that I was looking to buy. Upon returning home I put the 2797LMT back in the its box and placed it in my chifferobe. This month, Aug. 2014, took the unit and tried to use it but, it would not even turn on even though it was plugged into the cigarette lighter in the car.

Called Garmin support the next day, explained the problem, and was informed that the unit needed to have the battery charged and that it would take 8 to 12 hours to reach a full charge. So, at 9 a.m. I plugged the unit into the computer, turned the monitor off, and waited 12 hours. At 9 P.M. disconnected the unit, pushed the on button, and got nothing but a logo screen that flashed for about 3 seconds.

Called support again, was instructed to try several different methods of start processes, but still nothing but a logo screen flash. It was suggested by support that the unit needs to be sent back for repair and because it is out of warranty ( 1 year from the purchase date) the repair cost would be over $100. In addition I might not get my unit back, but may get a refurbished one or may be a new one. I scoffed at the repair cost, then explained that I would rather go back to using my laptop and Microsoft ‘s Streets and Trips 2013 instead. She then stated that a s a courtesy she could reduce that repair cost to $54.

After paying over $320 for this product, I would expect a longer warranty, no repair cost, and a new replacement not a refurbished unit.

Note to Garmin: Sell the refurbish units as B stock at a reduced price like most other companies do. As an example I COAST flashlights have a lifetime warranty and only charge for return shipping which is only around $5.50. EVGA sends out a new video card if the card is still covered and sells the refurbished unit in the B stock store.

I am disappointed and expected a product that works, but that said I also know that things sometimes fail. My major disappointment is the lack of a longer warranty, repair cost, and possibility of having the unit being replaced with a refurbished one.

Would I recommend this Garmin product? No.
Reviewed By:Sarge,8/12/2014 9:02:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN nuvi 3590LMT 5.0" GPS Navigation w/ Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent
Pros: As far as GPS's go this is a winner. None are perfect and I've tried the major brands ( we all have experienced that :HUH?W WHAT?! moment) but this comes closest for my needs.

Also, I also highly recommend ElectroBrands, the company that handled the sale. Quick & friendly service.
Cons: None for my needs
Reviewed By:Dan,8/7/2014 10:09:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > Garmin nuvi 2455LMT 4.3" GPS Navigation with Lifetime Map & Traffic Updates

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really good device
Pros: Simple, fast to find satellite, easy to navigate menu, good POI, fast re-calculation, free map updates and traffic.
Cons: Re routs when you chose to after traffic delays are display are not the best.
Other Thoughts: I borrowed an identical unit on a trip to Canada before I purchase and was the reason I got this as I loved the borrowed one. Found all my address (hotel, zoo, tourist areas, etc), perfect routing. Used the POI since my cell phone did not work in Canada and found restaurants, parking and other locations with ease and fast. Traffic delays displayed on the device prior to hitting the jams and offered alternate routes with a time saving estimate. I would have love for it to know about constructions on the alternate routes and that bit me, but I believe it is impossible to send that info to the device.
After reading other reviews I ordered a micro SD right away. They are right that the internal storage is almost full when you get it. I installed the micro SD as soon as I opened the box and all worked perfect.
Plugged in to Windows 7 Ultimate x64 computer, downloaded Garmin Express and updated the maps with ease and zero issues. The updated maps were listed for North America so I'm confident that USA and CAN are part of that. You will register your device right from Garmin Express. The software sees the SD card and goes right to it. There is a warning given that the update writes device required files to the card and if you take it out the unit may stop working. I'm not going to try to see if that is a valid statement, if they warned me I will make sure the card is there. Added free icons and voices that are available trough the software.
You must keep in mind that the traffic FM receiver is in the automobile power cable. If you use any other power, or are on battery you will not get traffic updates. Garmin Express also updates the internal database of FM traffic stations.
Reviewed By:Hector,7/31/2014 8:20:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS Navigation w/ Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to use
Pros: Fast update, screen is a nice size, & best of all easy to use!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Great buy
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2014 10:15:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN nuvi 2597LMT 5.0" GPS Navigation w/ Lifetime Map & Traffic Update

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Garmin 2597LMT
Pros: I have been using this Garmin for many months now and it works GREAT!! The screen is large enough to see the map while driving and the directions are clear and concise. The "Voice Command" function is easy to use especially while driving so you don't have to make manual selections with your fingers while searching for gas stations, rest areas, food. I also used it to store many future trips and when I am ready, I just retrive my saved trips and all the routes are preprogrammed. Free lifetime map and traffic updates are just what you need to keep up with all the new roads.
Cons: As with any navigation device, you must review and scan the route it chose to be sure it is the best route to your location. I always choose the main roads/interstates first, but sometimes it gets you there using some back roads. So look first and alter before you drive any long distances.
Other Thoughts: I have even loaded my trips in my home outside of the car just using the built in battery. This saved me time sitting in my car.
NewEgg has the best price and fastest delivery I have found on the internet.
Reviewed By:Nelson B.,7/29/2014 5:12:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN nuvi 2557LMT 5.0" GPS Navigation w/ Lifetime Map & Traffic Update

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Garmin nuvi 2557LMT GPS
Pros: It is a very easy GPS to operate and has lot info built in to it , have used it a lot and is all way get me there or very close.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: very good buy at newegg.com, like doing business with them.
Reviewed By:jimbob,7/29/2014 4:09:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN nuvi 2557LMT 5.0" GPS Navigation w/ Lifetime Map & Traffic Update

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Needs Improvement
Pros: Its very light weight.
Great screen in broad day light.
2.5 hour battery is nice.
Lifetime updates is a must in todays world.
Does Not lock out when moving.
Cons: It is slow connecting to satellites.

traffic has not warned of a single thing yet and I have been driving with it for over 2,000 miles now and there are times where it should have warned me...

It refuses, absolutely refuses to reroute if you go off the already selected route. Non stop will it tell you to take u-turns. It will never re-calculate on its own. You have hit stop, go back to recent address, and have it start a new a trip. From there it will finally see the way you want to go.

I have it set on max detail yet when I am home, where there are only two roads near me, it wont show any road names. Unless I zoom in and get the "800ft" legend. If I do anything that takes off the map it resets and no road names. Very annoying

If you choose "routes" to see alternative routes. They will be identical except for about 1 mile of road. Then it says no other routes for the 3rd box. Its not at all adventurous.

On my way home to NY from FL, it kept prompting me to get off the highway and take back roads for 10 miles that went right beside the highway. Each time I would have to cancel and start a new route, then it would get out of its stupid old road for no reason loop.

It throws a fit if you have to ever stop for something called gas. I had to stop 4 times for the trip home and every time I got off the highway it threw a hissy fit. And when I finally got back on the highway, it took it upon its self to make a completely different route that made no sense! So again, cancel, start new route...

There is construction near me and the 81N on-ramp from 17E is closed. (Has been for over a month). I took my own way and the Garmin absolutely freaked out. Non stop u-turns. Even where I couldn't actually do so, it still told me too. I feel sorry for anyone trying to get through hear following one of these. The only way to stop it was to, yep, you got it by now, cancel, recent address, start new route, go. Then it finally saw, there was another way of getting home that didn't demand a u-turn every 5ft.
Other Thoughts: I am used to a 2006 GM GPS disc in our 2007 Suburban. Yes it is very outdated. GM wants $200 for a new dvd. I do like the GM GPS because it first prompts you with 3 very different routes. "Faster", "Shorter", and "Other". Each are very different from the other 2 so you have a nice selection. If you decide to go your own way the GM GPS will only ask once that you u-turn, it will then recalculate to the exact route you are going. The GM GPS doesn't throw a hissy fit if I ever have to stop for something along the trip. The GM GPS does completely lock out unless the car is in Park, very dumb. The Garmin luckily does not.

I was able to snag this for $ 1 2 0 .00 Really, if I paid more, I would be kicking myself for not simply buying the $200 GM disc. I dont like the fact that GM is greedy but I do like the way the GM GPS operates far more than this Garmin.

So really, I thought I would really like this GPS but it was a big let down really. Garmin has a lot to straighten out before it becomes any bit intuitive.
Reviewed By:Joe in NY,7/26/2014 10:53:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau