Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I like Windows 7 Professional, I have it on another machine
Pros: It's a good operating system.
Cons: The disk I bought had a sticker over the key code, when I pulled the sticker off, it ruined the key code and I could not use the disk. Wasted $130 something on a disk I could not use.
Other Thoughts: Windows 7 is a good system if you can get a disk that you can use. I would give top rating if the disk was usable.
Reviewed By:Alva W.,6/29/2016 8:40:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Proprietary going like apple" big mistake" apple finally learned
Pros: not much good to say
Cons: updates are no longer user friendly " cant choose what you want in your own device"
Programs in office do not work with win 10. Not backward compatible.
Try going back and that is a joke.

Other Thoughts: doing nothing but damaging their own company... period.
Win 7 over all is a better os. Even win 8.1 isn't this bad. At least in win 8.1 you
get to choose what goes into your computer.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/28/2016 2:43:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Win 8.1
Pros: solid OS, one of my faves for the longest. fairly cheap.
Cons: not good if you're stacking a lot of RAM. anything over 16GB will mess with your computer, even though win 7 x64 is supposed to support up to 32...
Other Thoughts: windows 8.1 is pretty solid despite its GUI.
Reviewed By:Jacob W.,6/26/2016 2:15:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Home - 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Hmmm...
Pros: Start menu is way better than whatever those (expletive) tile things are in Windows 8.1. Loaded up on new build and detected everything with no problems. Hooked up hard drive from old Win 8.1 gaming computer and copied all game files, etc. to new hard drive using File Explorer with no problem. OS loads pretty fast from plain old WD Blue 1TB hard drive. Learning curve is minimal. Got it for seventy nine dollars on sale (thank you newegg). DX12.... Just friggin’ works with no hitches so far.
Cons: I do not like Edge. Tried to download new drivers for GPU and it kept asking me what program I wanted to use to open them. Maybe I’m the dumb one here, but notepad does not work real well for installing drivers. A quick download of Firefox fixed this and I was well on my way. Seems like there is a lot of STUFF going on in the background. Seems most of it can be turned off through custom settings. Automatic updates are just that… automatic. From what I gather, you get them and they are installed whether you want them or not. You can pick and choose what time they are downloaded and installed though. I can live with that I guess.
Other Thoughts: O.K. gonna vent here for a moment. I’m tired of hearing about everyone’s first world problems. We have two of the greatest companies ever right here in the good ol’ USA in Microsoft and Intel, yet everyone seems to want to get up on on their soap box and bash them… for what? These companies and their employees bust their a55es to put out top notch products for us at extremely reasonable prices. If Microsoft needs to know what kind of kinky STUFF I’m looking at, then that is their problem. If you are worried about Microsoft spying on you, then you probably need to see a therapist. Want more privacy? Turn off your computer and go for a walk in the woods. IoT is coming whether you want it or not. I started using computers that consisted of a teletype hooked up to a mainframe four towns over (Oregon Trail). That any of this stuff works is a miracle to me. Andrei Sakharov’s vision of a Universal Information System is a reality. My daughter can sit in the front yard under a tree and all the information in the world, anything she wants to know, is right there at her finger tips. Microsoft is a huge part of what makes that possible. Eat your heart out Library of Alexandria!

In closing, just want to say, “Thank you!” to the Microsoft employees for their most excellent work… it’s not lost on me.

One final thought for all the die hard Windows 7 fans out there… the dinosaurs died off and they are not coming back.

Intel i5-6600K CPU
MSI Z170-A Pro Motherboard
G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) SDRAM DDR4 3000 Model F4-3000C15D-16GVR
ASUS GeForce GTX 970 STRIX GPU
Antec TruePower Classic series TP-750C 750W PSU
WD Blue 1TB hard drive
ASUS DVD-Writer Model DRW-24F1ST - OEM optical drive
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT BF Mid Tower Computer Case
Cooler Master Sleeve Bearing 120mm Silent Case Fan (4-Pack)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
Prolimatech PRO-PK3-1.5G Nano Aluminum High-Grade Thermal Compound
Windows 10 OS

$960.00 from newegg

P.S. I have an old HP 2000 laptop that sports an AMD E-300 APU. It’s what I am writing this review on right now. The screen is scratched and filthy. It’s missing keys. There looks to be what can only be described as jelly from a jelly doughnut wadded in the bottom and side CPU cooler vent holes. The power cord has been spliced back together with electrical tape ‘cause the cat chewed through it on several occasions… the thing has just been used and abused. I had Windows 8.1 on it, and recently I started getting .dll errors on startup along with other errors while it was running (Firefox not responding, etc). Performance was sluggish to say the least. So I decided to see if upgrading to Windows 10 would help. I went to the Windows 10 upgrade site, downloaded the upgrade assistant and ran it. The assistant told me that while this computer was eligible for the upgrade, it could not be performed due to several system errors??? I just about gave up when I remembered that I had the Windows 10 installation disk from my new build. With the computer up and running I threw the disk in the optical drive and ran it… Three hours later (yep, it took a Spongebob Squarepants three hours) Windows 10 was installed on this old piece of junk with all of my files and settings saved just the way they were on the old 8.1 OS. This horribly long review was written using Word 2003 on Windows 10. No more .dll errors, Firefox works perfectly and the system boots and runs programs much faster. DUDE… SWEET!

Tl;dr

If your older system is eligible for the free upgrade to Windows 10 and ya want to do it, this disk can be used for the installation media. My older gaming computer is next.

-ML
Reviewed By:MICHAEL L.,6/20/2016 6:33:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Pro - Full Version (32 & 64-bit) / USB Flash Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Overall, its not a bad operating system
Pros: Worked well on my computer with little to no down time. Insert the USB and boot, easy enough for anyone to install.
Cons: Very limited experience compared to the previous windows operating systems. I felt like Microsoft knew everything about me... Cortana and all of the information stealing code embedded into the OS feels almost criminal at times. Definitely felt like Microsoft is invading my privacy with this release, this operating system constantly collects information about the user and sending it to its developer.
Other Thoughts: Other than the intrusive behavior, the system runs solid. Little to no hiccups and its able to make even my girlfriends older laptop run faster than I've ever seen it before. Microsofts inability to keep their nose out of my private life caused it to lose one egg.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/17/2016 5:04:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 "It works. That's good enough, right?" - some MS Developer
Pros: + Better interface than MS DOS and Windows 3 and 3.11.

+ Decent stability to run my games.

I went to the Apple-side about 3 years ago. I decided recently that I want a PC for gaming specifically. I built a machine and chose this OS because I figured, "hey, most recent Pro version of Windows, surely it will be good." It is not. It is bad.
Cons: - Cortana is annoying - I got rid of "her" within the first 15 minutes of it annoying me.

- Clunky interface. Terrible interface. Oh, and bad interface.

- Has compatibility with most drivers.

- Still not as intuitive as the iOS that Apple produces. Get it together Microsoft. And you charge how much money for this trash?
Other Thoughts: Don't get this.
Reviewed By:Kyle H.,6/14/2016 1:42:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Home - 64-bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I am pleased with Wndows 10. Learned how to customize the Start menu so it worls for me.
Pros: Installed in less than an hour. All hardware drivers installed including older printer drivers working. Boots up faster than Win 7 even with older BIOS.
Cons: Like some others....after using the DVD drive to install the OS it then does not recognize the drive. Not found in Device Manager. Had to "show hidden device," then remove the device, then the OS installs it on a reboot. Kind of bad for an ATAPI SATA device with ATAPI devices made standard decades ago. Hence the 4 star review.

DID NOT use Express settings. far too many privacy concerns. Worked thru the customized settings to deselect the privacy concerns.
Other Thoughts: I am happy with Win10 so far, learning how to find things inside it. Wished MS had designed it this way from early on. The new interface makes sense with the new groupings.
Reviewed By:Thomas M.,6/14/2016 5:12:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 If only it had DirectX 12
Pros: Better than Windows 8. Better than Windows 10. I hate Windows 8.
Cons: They added the tracking software that windows 8 and 10 have.
It does not have DirectX12.
Other Thoughts: I wish prioritizing processes was easier. I wish process monitoring was more robust.
Reviewed By:Indiana G.,6/13/2016 8:55:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Home - 64-bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It's windows enough said
Pros: It came on time
Cons: Zero product protection. 0 instruction. Don't buy this unless you know exactly what your getting.
Other Thoughts: However if you know what your buying then get it.
Reviewed By:Jerry P.,6/13/2016 2:12:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Pro - Full Version (32 & 64-bit) / USB Flash Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good product
Pros: Boosts performance from windows 7 to windows 10.
Cons: nothing really
Other Thoughts: I finally stopped my demo of Windows 7 and got windows 10.
Reviewed By:Christopher R.,6/12/2016 2:50:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.