Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro - 64-bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 OEM means --
Pros: A lot of things do work, but Metro...ugh.
Cons: To me there at least two very worst aspects to this offer:
1. It's OEM! That means that you can not put it on your next build. Unless you call MS and beg, and maybe you can, if you don't change too much (hdd, ok, but not new motherboard: am I wrong?)...sheesh Pro should mean PRO, buy it, use it, put it on your next build, you gave us money, enjoy.
2. METRO! Slows down slower computers a lot, medium builds somewhat, measurably on fast computers.
3. haha, you can no longer see how big files and directories are that are selected in File Explorer. Removing this feature, which I use a lot, was tragically stupid. Did they lose the code? Perhaps someone had pepper on their salad? I do NOT get it! I have not been able to restore it after a year....
Other Thoughts: A lot has been said about the problems in Windows 8 choice of interface. Many problems are so epic that MS is skipping a generation # to try to distance itself with the NBT! (next big thing) And it's giving that one, 10, away. Note, it will have fatal flaws that will never be disclosed; it already has working back doors for the Now Secure A gen zy. It has screen doors off the porch for Chinlee hackers to gain direct access.

OEM is bound to gain a new meaning: perhaps the software will bond with the hardware and you will not be able to upgrade unless you're Greek?
Reviewed By:TenOx,1/28/2015 4:50:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 win 7 home prem 64 bit sp1
Pros: It's a very solid os. I did not have anything against Win 8
This is familar, and old people like me like that.
Cons: no cons, this system is like my old tractor, it just keeps
starting up and doing what u ask it to.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 3:41:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 W7 OEM
Pros: None.
Cons: OEM version, not sure how install will go.
Other Thoughts: For business use. We are not going the Windows 8 route. Bought these as standbys to install in new PCs, if needed. They are OEM versions and I have not installed them yet. Exactly as advertized, shipped fast.
Reviewed By:Joe FCI,1/27/2015 9:42:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Familiar, comfortable Windows 7
Pros: IT'S NOT WINDOWS 8/8.1! As many other people have said, Windows 8/8.1 just aren't as good as Windows 7. I'm comfortable with this OS, and it works just fine.
Cons: Ummm.... it doesn't come with free gold?
Other Thoughts: With Windows 10 coming out soonish, I'm thinking of upgrading to that, it is supposed to be fairly similar to Windows 7. Although, I'll wait and see.
Reviewed By:David A.,1/27/2015 4:22:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than windows 8
Pros: Its good
Cons: nine
Reviewed By:N/A,1/25/2015 9:38:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 32-bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Poor Packaging
Pros: It appears to be a Win 7 disk, but I haven't installed it yet.
Cons: It came in a cardboard sleeve inside a bag with 1/4-inch bubble cushioning. If the shipper had let a box rest on this, the disk would have been damaged. Opening the sealed cardboard sleeve required bringing a sharp edge within 1/8-inch of the disk. If I had made a mistake, I would have damaged the disk. It should have come in a plastic box for protection. Microsoft did this to save a buck or so out of $140. Bad move.
Reviewed By:Larry,1/24/2015 9:41:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 One of the best MS ever made!
Pros: Windows 7 has to be one of the best operating systems Microsoft has ever made. In previous generations, it was Windows 2000 Professional or Windows XP.

This operating system is supported until 2020, and will use all of your RAM. Driver support is also top-notch, and new motherboards are still supporting it.

Aero, the glassy user interface design, still rocks after all these years. I truly hope that Microsoft bundles it with Windows 10, when it is released later this year. In the tech preview forums, this is one of the most requested features, with over 44,000 votes!!

If you do not need remote desktop and a few other advanced features, Windows 7 Home Premium will work fine for you. Keep this in mind if you want to save some cash!

It runs great on Solid State Drives as well, though you will want to custom configure such an installation. (For example, making sure System Restore does not use up too much space if you keep it running, making sure Defragmentation is disabled for the SSD, etc.)
Cons: Only five more years of support, many modern pre-built machines do NOT have Windows 7 drivers, especially laptops. Check the manufacturer's website if you are UPGRADING from Windows 8 to 7. Yes, UPGRADING. :)

NOTE: Since Service Pack 1, Microsoft has released almost 200 updates. Be aware that you will spend a great deal of time running said updates, especially if you are installing this on a slow hard drive! (5400rpm.)

Microsoft is REFUSING to release a Service Pack 2. Something tells me this might be to spite people who are sticking with Windows 7...!
Other Thoughts: Unless Windows 10 is a compelling "free" upgrade for me, I am going to be using this on my main production machine until it is no longer practical to do so.

Also, don't worry if the DVD is damaged in any way -- Which is unlikely -- but if it happens, since this is final return item:

All you need is the product key. You can *LEGALLY* obtain all of the various Windows 7 disc images as electronic downloads. In this instance, you would need Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1. The download is under 4GB and can be burned to a DVD-R disc, OR flashed to a cheap USB flash drive for Quick Install. (Look for Windows 7 Legal ISO download links. They are legal, because the product cannot be used without the key!).

Make sure you do not lose the product key, and you stick it onto the case of your computer! If you are installing this on a laptop, you might want to consider placing it under the battery if it can fit, so it doesn't rub off.

************DO NOT OPEN THE PRODUCT SLEEVE IF YOU INTEND TO KEEP THIS PRODUCT FOR SALE TO SOMEONE ELSE LATER. The product key will be exposed, and no-one will believe you if you say you did not use it!! Obviously if you are a system builder and attach the key to each machine regardless, this is not an issue. If however you plan to sell this as-new, unopened on an auction site or something --- Keep this in mind!
Reviewed By:Mike M.,1/24/2015 1:25:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Advisement !
Pros: Just wanted to let people know that the new chipsets like H or Z97 will require windows 7 or later due to no drivers for Vista. If you have Vista and are planning to upgrade your system with this chipset, then you will need to purchase at least Windows 7. FYI.
Cons: none. Use at work and home. Great OS !
Other Thoughts: Wish I would of got this OS much, much sooner.
Reviewed By:Mzungu,1/24/2015 12:54:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 True MS OEM Win7 Pro 64 bit
Pros: Clearly a MS OEM package with DVD, product key, sleeve, etc..
Installed on arrival; no issues, smooth.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:JimInRaleigh,1/23/2015 6:34:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 - Full Version (32 & 64-bit)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 swag
Pros: I am building my second computer with this os
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,1/23/2015 1:42:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.