Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Academic Software > Adobe > Adobe Acrobat XI Professional for Windows - Student & Teacher Edition

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy registration
Pros: Best PDF software in my opinion, could use some pointers on occasion from others, but best overall.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This software is simple to register. You do have to supply the requested information, but I have never had to wait more than two business days for a response with the key.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2014 1:11:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Academic Software > Corel > Corel Painter X3 - Academic

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 As creative as you want to be
Pros: This is an amazingly powerful graphics program. It is as powerful as you are creative...but it takes time to learn how to unleash all of its features. The good news, there are many on-line resources and tons of free brushes and add-ons in the Painter community. It may take years to fully master its capabilities...but the journey should be fun.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Reviewed By:Cali painter,5/20/2014 8:34:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Academic Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Office 365 University – (2 PCs or Macs, 4 Years) Verification Required

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 MS Office 365 :-(
Pros: This version of Office seems to work as well as the earlier versions -- can't really say it has more or better features, but it's not too much different feature-wise for what I do with it. I got it to use for school projects etc.
Cons: The user interface is just plain terrible. It MAY be optimized for touch screen and keyboards, as it says in the blurb, but it sure is awful with a mouse and keyboard. The icons for the various functions all look alike -- no 3D effects to enable distinguishing one from another. The context menus are barely visible -- all the text is in a light grey that doesn't stand out from the white background, so it's difficult to read. MS gives you only 3 options for color schemes, all of them grey.
Other Thoughts: I've been using Office for 15 years, and this one is almost unusable. Where was MS usability testing for this mess? I installed this on one PC out of the two licenses, then went back to Office 2010 -- at least you can see the difference between icons and text and backgrounds.
Reviewed By:UBBR,3/29/2014 2:13:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Academic Software > NUANCE > NUANCE Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12 Premium Student/Teacher Online Validation

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Criminal
Pros: Contents of the box are as advertised.
Cons: My son got this product (student/teacher edition) as a gift in October, 2013. He has since been trying to get the code that will allow him to use it. He has used his student e-mail address as identification. He was asked for his transcript and has sent that. He is still waiting for the code to unlock the program. Nuance is impossible to work with and identit-e.com/nuance is even worse. There is no way to work with these companies and the Naturally Speaking product sits unused and it has been an absolute waste of money.
Reviewed By:Joey,1/21/2014 3:03:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Academic Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Office 365 University – (2 PCs or Macs, 4 Years) Verification Required

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 TERRIBLE
Pros: I have Microsoft Office....
Cons: The whole experience has been terrible. The website says 5-10 minutes for verification and that's simply a joke.
For 79.99...I was really hoping for more than 2 installs, but I knew that going into this adventure...
Once its installed it does what it's supposed to, but it just seems really silly to make you verify all this information, if you just have to go to the support section and have them give you a code anyway. Poor design.
Wish I had an install CD.....
Reviewed By:N/A,1/20/2014 11:43:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Academic Software > NUANCE > NUANCE Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12 Premium Student/Teacher Online Validation

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Perfect! Easy to Register.
Pros: Let's get the registration issue out of the way. If you really are a student or teacher, then you will have your registration key in 5 minutes or less. If you are not a teacher/student, then don't buy this version. I am a University of Phoenix "online" student. Answered around 6 questions before my registration key arrived. Easy.

My version 12 came with a USB headset. Not the best, but not the worst. The headset actually works well, and was recognized by my Windows 7 OS without issue. The microphone does not sit directly in front of my mouth, and I thought that would be an issue. It was not an issue.

The short story is this; I talk fast, and not very clearly. After reading 3 short paragraphs to optimize the software to my speaking style, I swear I can't get the software to make a mistake. I have no reason to blow wind up anyone's skirt. The software works great.

I am a doctoral student, and am getting ready to conduct my research study. Instead of paying around $2000 for someone to transcribe my interview recordings, I will "parrot" the interviews myself (listen, repeat sentence to Dragon, listen, lather, rinse, and repeat).

Final note: you can control your computer with this software. I did it for fun, but it was too much work. But you can give Word commands for example, like "press alt F", "click S", "type myfile", close word.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:Ron,12/18/2013 1:40:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Academic Software > Adobe > Adobe Photoshop Extended CS5 for Windows - Student & Teacher Edition

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great program
Pros: it does everything a photographer needs
Cons: not the newest version
Reviewed By:N/A,10/16/2013 2:10:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Academic Software > NUANCE > NUANCE Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12 Premium Student/Teacher Online Validation

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Beware Licensing issues
Pros: The program generally does what it's supposed to, as long as you've got a solid mike and you're careful with enunciation.
Cons: Licensing is non-trivially awkward, especially for the student/teacher edition. Further, if you need to purchase this for multiple machines, the individual end users must activate each product key to obtain the serial number separately. This is because Nuance limits Academic purchases to one per person per 365 days. A fact that isn't on the box, wasn't in the item description, and wasn't mentioned in the activation process until after the error was flagged.
Other Thoughts: If one user wants this software installed on multiple devices, the Academic license is pretty clearly not an option for purchases after the first one.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/10/2013 4:01:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Academic Software > Corel > Corel Painter 12 - Academic Version

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 get photoshop instead
Pros: versatile interface, pallete board a plus, lots of brushes already installed, few errors, decent layer management, good for texturing, half decent for drawing, has some nice features like kaleidoscope
Cons: for what you are paying for its not worth it. terrible for shading and coloring, selection tools are sloppy, runns oddly at times when not maximized, no select tab, edit tab is limited, overall very limited
Other Thoughts: this is a decent artprogram for playing around a little but if you are serious about art you should get photoshop. this program is extremely limited but is fun for the first few weeks. also they do give you a color mixing pallette which works decently
Reviewed By:N/A,8/29/2013 7:34:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Academic Software > Adobe > Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5 for Windows & Mac - Student & Teacher Edition

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not a volume license
Pros: Nice product.
Cons: If you are buying copies for a school computer lab, you want to talk with Adobe about a volume license. If you order many copies of this Teacher and Student Edition, you will need to provide a student ID for each copy.
Reviewed By:davidmenges,8/21/2013 9:32:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau