Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mac Software > Parallels > Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product, flawless execution
Pros: I was reluctant to make the move to using windows on a mac, but I have a HP Laptop that I used with Quickbooks Pro for my small business. That was the only thing I used the windows computer for. After it died on me twice, I got to thinking of how incredibly reliable my MacBook Pro is. So I purchased Parallels and a copy of Windows and have NEVER looked back. QBPro runs faster on my MBP than the HP, it is more stable, and was worth every penny. If you have any hesitation, I am here to tell you to take the plunge.
Cons: There have been, to date, no cons that I can think of
Reviewed By:lmhufty,4/9/2014 4:55:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > ESET > ESET CyberSecurity for Mac

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Meh
Pros: Came bundled with my 1 year subscription to an Eset Smart Security for a PC I built.
Cons: Kinda clunky interface. I had hoped it would prove its usefulness to my daughter who is convinced that Apple Macbooks are never compromised by malware. It made it hard for me to also convince her to renew it when the subscription is up.
Other Thoughts: Who ever thought it was a lifetime subscription? Any malware security sofware worth its salt is always going to charge a subscription fee. If it's promoted as free and it sounds too good to be true then, as they say, it is. I only wish it found at least some little piece of malware on the Macbook Pro to justify purchasing it again.
Reviewed By:Ronreb,4/5/2014 8:25:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > NUANCE > NUANCE Dragon Dictate for Mac 4.0

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 This is the fourth version but still works like beta software.
Pros: It translates speech to words well
Cons: It does everything else poorly
Other Thoughts: I have been using Nuance dictation products for over 10 years. I think that Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12 for Windows is excellent, despite some clunky user interface design. But Dragon Dictate for Mac is in a class of its own for software bugs.

The software does a pretty good job of following my voice and putting words on the screen. The problem starts any time the user wants to make a change. For example, if a user wants to add a couple of words in the middle of a sentence in a previous paragraph, placing the cursor there and then dictating might get correct words but incorrect placement or punctuation.

- I have had instances where the inserted word wasn't placed where the cursor was, but one or two words away.

- Often Dragon adds an extra space or two before the inserted word and does not add a space after the inserted word.

- If an insertion is not a full sentence, sometimes Dragon will capitalize the first word as though it were a full sentence.

- When inserting a full sentence, Dragon might not capitalize the first letter of the inserted sentence.

- It doesn't do new paragraphs correctly. After hitting a carriage return by hand the cursor will go to a new line, but Dragon will insert two spaces before the first character on that line. Also, sometimes it will not capitalize the first word of the new sentence.

- Dragon will not capitalize the first word of each line in a list. Oddly, if a previous line in a list ends in a period then it will capitalize the first word of the next line.

And so it goes. This becomes irritating very quickly because when the user makes corrections each correction requires further correction. You might find that this process is still faster than typing if you are a slow typist like me.

Some readers may think that they will get used to these idiosyncrasies. Unfortunately the idiosyncrasies are different for each particular Mac program and are a problem even in Dragon's own built-in text editor.

You might wonder how Dragon could release a product with such obvious programming errors. It is easy to say that this software is not yet ready for sale and that the bugs need to be worked out. However, this is Dragon's fourth release since 2010. If you wish to reward Nuance for its lackadaisical approach to writing software code, then please plunk down your $200.
Reviewed By:Brian,3/31/2014 5:38:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > NUANCE > NUANCE Dragon Dictate for Mac 3.0

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Don't count on the rebate
Pros: Product is OK on high end equipment. Don't even think about mid range or lower PC's or Macs regardless of what requirements say
Cons: See Pro's
Other Thoughts: Thought it would be a deal with rebate, Problem is, I never received any feedback or $$.
Reviewed By:Roger,3/30/2014 8:39:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Roxio > Roxio Easy VHS To DVD For Mac

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 working fine
Pros: Simple to install, plug n play. Interface very simple load quickly. Very low latency. Not bad recordings off VHS
Cons: The device gets a but warm but bat bad
Other Thoughts: Not sure if it matters, I've got a mid 2009 macbook and this device is designed around that period. Not sure I'm having a good experience due to compatibility. Works good from my stand point
Reviewed By:jperez260,3/23/2014 3:29:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > SMITHMICRO SOFTWARE > SmithMicro Aquazone Blue Planet

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Seriously...
Pros: Im sure its great if you are a mac user. Plus I looked up the site and the details look amazing!
Cons: THIS IS GETTING BUNDLED WITH WINDOWS OPERATING SYSTEMS!!! ITS FOR MAC!!!
Other Thoughts: This is the second time I have seen this software bundled with windows 7. It is mac based software... Sorry NewEgg but this does seem to be a tad dumb. Just last week win7 was bundled with AVG 2014. I love NewEgg but this bundle makes no sense.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/20/2014 7:38:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > SMITHMICRO SOFTWARE > SmithMicro Voila

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome. A+++++
Pros: This is the best software for my mac and it was free.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:DriverXPro,2/5/2014 2:36:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > SMITHMICRO SOFTWARE > SmithMicro Aquazone Blue Planet

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Silly ....
Pros: none...unless you're a mac user
Cons: I buy nothing but pc parts & I get a freebie combo item aquazone screen saver....for mac only.
Other Thoughts: just plain sillyness.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/2/2014 6:42:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > SMITHMICRO SOFTWARE > SmithMicro Voila

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 GREAT
Pros: IT IS VERY GOOD, AND USEFUL
Cons: NO
Reviewed By:N/A,2/2/2014 9:42:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Parallels > Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac - OEM

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good for new users, little improvement from Version 8
Pros: Smoothly functioning virtual machine software optimized for Windows 8.1. With adequate resources, this can be used to run just about anything including games. This can also be used to install a variety of other operating systems as well.
Cons: There isn't much improvement from the previous version of Parallels Desktop 8. There's a lot of buzzwords to describe the changes, but little observable functionality to justify paying extra money for this version over the previous one.
Other Thoughts: For first time users who get a good price, this is a good place to start for virtual machine software. But, also consider the previous version to save some money as you won't find much difference between the two.
Reviewed By:Derek,2/2/2014 9:38:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau