Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD BLACK SERIES WD1600BEKX 160GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A Few Months use...
Pros: - good price
Cons: - Failed after 6 months
Other Thoughts: Bought the drive 08/2015, and just failed first day of 02/2016... every other WD drive lasted years...
Was used in a home-built firewall as a simple boot device.
This is the last time I get cheap and purchase a "refurbished" hard drive
Reviewed By:Nick E.,2/4/2016 11:11:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great product. Once appropriately installed, it works flawlessly.
Pros: Works faster than the previous drive. Nice to have the hard drive space.
Cons: Seagate installation software was cumbersome and ineffectual when cloning a hard drive from an HP Elitebook 8540w.
Other Thoughts: Installed on an Elitebook 8540w. Seagate DiscWizard was unable to properly clone hard drives with the necessary partition sizes...at least beyond my own abilities or time. Did myself a favor and used the software that came with an Apricorn SATA wire 3.0 (EZ Gig IV Cloning software). It worked like a charm, seamlessly.
Reviewed By:Darin B.,2/4/2016 9:34:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Game Drive for PlayStation STBD1000101 1TB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Laptop SSHD Retail Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Faster load times may not be worth the cost
Pros: This drive is a nice upgrade for the Playstation4. The SSD component of the drive does make game loading times faster. The hard drive installed easily. The drive was a drop in replacement. No modifications are necessary. Pop the back off the PS4, remove a screw to remove the drive caddy and then remove a couple of screws that hold the drive in the caddy. Reverse the process to install the hybrid drive. The load times were reduced 10-30 seconds per game. The hybrid drive itself controls where games are loaded and stored. When you first install a game, the game will be loaded to the spinning hard drive platters. The hybrid drive will then determine what content is moved to the solid state storage part of the drive. You have no way of knowing or controlling it.
Cons: You can back up all of your game data but you will need to reload the O/S onto the new drive and then you need to install of your games and then restore your data. It would be nice if there was a clone option to image the old drive and install the new drive.

While the drive is faster, there are other laptop size drives that will fit the PS4. This drive is labeled specifically for the PS4 Seagate has an identical drive that is not labeled for the PS4. There is no reason to pay more for this drive.

The warranty on this drive is only 1 year. Similar drives can be purchased with a three year warranty. It is hard to justify the more expensive cost for a PS4 branded drive with a shorter warranty.
Other Thoughts: This drive did what it said. Games loaded faster. The installation was easy. Backing up data and transferring it was simple although time consuming. You need to decide is 20-30 seconds is worth the cost of upgrading your stock hard drive. I tried the install a couple of times and load times were always very similar. Based on performance I would give the drive 5 eggs. The fact that the drive is more expensive than similar non branded drives makes me give it a 4 egg rating.
Reviewed By:Mark T.,2/4/2016 7:32:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Spinpoint M9T ST2000LM003 2TB 5400 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 In PS4
Pros: -Works in PS4
-No major issues
Cons: -none
Other Thoughts: The HDD occasionally makes a 1-2 second long beep noise while I'm playing on the PS4. This is not even a daily occurrence. I read about other HDDs doing this as well on PS4.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/2/2016 11:48:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST500LM000 500GB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD - Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 disaponting!
Pros: bought 3 none worked. My buddy bought 3 all worked. Guess is the luck of the draw.
Cons: Bought 3 all 3 DOA
Other Thoughts: Kind of on the fence on this. Is a 50- 50 chance. Is it worth it to you?
Reviewed By:Victor H.,2/1/2016 9:03:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Hybrid Drives are GREAT!
Pros: I bought a new laptop with a A10-5750M, 8GB ram & a 1TB drive with Windows 8.1. Before I even ran it I ordered this drive & 16GB of g.skill ram. I booted the laptop, yawn, and made not of the hardware then removed the OE drive. I installed this drive and Windows 7. During the install it was rebooting faster than I could enter the BIOS. Reboots as quick as 14 seconds and on average cold boots as quick as 31 seconds.

For years Seagate has been my go to brand for hard drives. Between overall reliability and low noise they can't be beat. I have some Seagate drives approaching 10 years old and they still work and are quiet.
Cons: Not really a con just a preference. I would like to see these drives have 16-32GB flash drive & 7200RPM.

Seriously, no matter the age of the machine these drives will wake them up.
Other Thoughts: I will & do recommend this product. I will buy more of these. These are a great compromise between full blown SSD and even a 7200RPM HDD.
Reviewed By:DONALD B.,1/30/2016 1:12:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Red 1TB NAS Mobile Hard Disk Drive - Intellipower SATA 6 Gb/s 16MB Cache 2.5 Inch - WD10JFCX

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Another Not happy camper
Pros: none since I'm not happy with it.
Thought it would be a nice second HDD for the laptop but it seems to have very erratic behaviour
Cons: After reading for a while it seems to get stuck and lag.
Sometimes I'm writing stuff on the disc and all of a sudden it just disappears from the list of available drives in the laptop
Other Thoughts: Nothing but frustration
Manufacturer Response:Greetings Fernando G.
It is important to know the WD Red family of NAS Hard Drives are designed and supported for 1-8 Bay NAS (Network Attached Storage) enclosures. For more information related to the features and compatibility for this particular WD Red 2.5” drive, please follow the link below.
“WD Red NAS Hard Drives Product Features”: http://bit.ly/1f0RHLh

We appreciate your feedback, and want you to experience the performance and reliability we’re known for. If your particular laptop has two internal drive bays, you may be interested in our WD Green 2.5” or WD Blue 2.5” drives as a secondary storage. Please follow the links below for more information.
“WD Green Mobile Hard Drives”: http://bit.ly/1QvYnni
“WD Blue Mobile Hard Drives”: http://bit.ly/1P0IzpV

Although WD desktop hard drives should work properly in external enclosures we are not able to provide technical support for drives in this configuration because there are many different external bridgeboard and enclosure manufacturers, each with their own command sets, levels of compatibility, and technical issues. Any additional questions about using a WD hard drive in an external enclosure should be directed to the company that manufactured the enclosure. For any external storage may we suggest either our My Passport or My Book family of drives, please follow the links below for a list of our external drives.
“My Book Family of Drives”: http://bit.ly/1NE3Sfb
“My Passport Family of Drives”: http://bit.ly/1lYlyf1

If the above information and links don’t fully address your particular usage and concerns, please contact us by phone or Email from the below information and be sure to mention this Newegg review with the support team member on your initial contact to properly reference your concerns and provide a good outcome.

Need Help? Please follow the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(855) 559-3733.
http://bit.ly/18IaCvD

Reviewed By:Fernando G.,1/27/2016 3:31:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Momentus STBD1000100 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache 2.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Notebook Hard Drive -Retail kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Upgrade for PS3!
Pros: Purchased as an upgrade for my PS3. Installed without a hitch and works like a charm. Arrived fairly quickly (by standard mail) and was very well packaged.
Cons: So far, so good after 2 weeks of use. If I experience any problems I will update my review.
Reviewed By:David G.,1/27/2016 3:26:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Failed after 3 years
Pros: Gave me BIG storage on my old laptop
Cons: And a false sense of security. It failed, data unrecoverable, although the old laptop lives on.
Other Thoughts: Should have replaced the laptop. New philosophy = 1T is too big for a laptop. Use external drives as needed.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Bo,

We apologize for the problem with your 1TB Laptop SSHD drive and would like to talk with you to determine the root cause and an available resolution.

A support case (#05313782) has been created that will reference your review and our response. Please contact us directly using the following link:

http://support2.seagate.com/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:Bo F.,1/25/2016 9:08:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate ST500LM021 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Laptop Thin Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Seagate ST500LM021 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Laptop Thin Hard Drive
Pros: Went right in as a replacement drive with no trouble. Works well. Is a vast improvement over the 5400rpm 8meg cache drive that it replaced. Got it on sale. Newegg is awesome!
Cons: No con really for my application. There could be issue with some laptops for the thickness. Some laptops have a mounting system that would not work with the thin size of this.
Other Thoughts: It took the operating system right in and works like a champ.
Reviewed By:John H.,1/23/2016 11:02:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.