Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 7K1000 HTS721010A9E630 (0J22423) 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive (Standard model) Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 MBP Replacement
Pros: Quiet, fast, high spin 2.5" drive at 1Tb. Much quieter than the OEM Seagate, even under load. Price point was great, particularly catching it on sale.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Purchased to replace OEM 500Gb in my Apple Mac Book Pro 17" mid-2010.

Removed the old drive, installed the HGST, and upgraded the RAM. Put the bottom back on, booted from the old drive via external USB-to-SATA long enough to start the OS X Yosemite installer. After clean install, migrated my documents from the old drive. Haven't looked back.
Reviewed By:Parradoxx,5/28/2015 2:07:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST500LM000 500GB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD - Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: helps boot time considerably
Cons: n/a
Reviewed By:N/A,5/26/2015 10:26:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Bummer for me
Pros: It is mostly a terrabyte & has been running for over a month.
Cons: I would discourage you from buying this drive. I may have a lemon, but the performance is miserable to worse. It doesn't even keep up with standard Seagate drives I got three-four years ago.
Other Thoughts: Look to the real SSD's; 500Gb available now for less than $200, on sale. You will be a great deal happier.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/26/2015 9:57:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Momentus 5400.6 ST9500325AS 500GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great shipping and Part worked pefectly
Pros: I bought this as a part to replace one that currently was not working. The part was successful in replacing the old one.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,5/26/2015 5:10:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black² Dual Drive 2.5" 120 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD Kit WD1001X06XDTL

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A WONDERFUL product!
Pros: Combined Storage of an SSD & a standard HDD in 1 physical footprint is FANTASTIC!

Speed (Read & Write) are within 5% tolerance of both drives standalone equivalent. Copy speed to/from the HDD to SSD and from SSD to HDD was exactly as expected.

Price is very fair (I got it when it was on sale for $150)

FIVE year warranty!! This is better than their Red NAS Drives.

Boot time is very respectable.
Cons: Packaging is very excessive. Almost 5 times the size of what is needed, but is used to show how proud they are of their product. Comes with a "USB" drive included that simply directs you to the WD Download page for the device (see next Con comment).

120GB SSD is recognized instantly via Windows driver database, but 1TB HDD requires an additional piece of software from WD. Have yet to be able to find a way to avoid this.

Formatting the SSD erases the HDD as well.

Drive is missing the 2 rear physical mounting screw holes on the rear of the drive. Not a huge deal but it made mounting it in a laptop a bit tricky.
Other Thoughts: I have an Acer TimelineX Laptop that originally came with a 500GB WD HDD. I use this laptop on a daily basis and it sees more work on average than my edit rig or my gaming rig. I originally didnt want an HDD and this was when SSDs were becoming more and more affordable, but a 500+ SSD would still carry a pricetag higher than the laptop itself. But I didnt want to sacrifice a higher capacity of storage for the convenience and speed of an SSD. So to remedy this I decided to remove the optical drive and replace it with a 2nd HDD Adapter Caddy ($10 average price) and place a 1TB WD HDD in it and then use a 120 GB SSD where the original HDD was located. This allowed me the speed and convenience of a boot SSD and the availability of a standard HDD for large capacity storage. This was the optimal setup until a few situations arose that I needed my SSD, HDD AND optical drive all at the same time. This happened on more than one occasion, and on 2 separate occasions impacted me to the point that it cost me income when out working with a client. So, when WD Released the Black2 Dual Drive that allowed me to have my 120GB SDD Boot drive, my 1TB HDD for mass storage AND recover usage of my Optical drive, it was a no brainer for me. The price was originally $300 but I found it on sale around Christmas on Newegg for $150 which made it even more of a no brainer. If you want to breathe new life into an older laptop, combine SSD & HDD into one footprint, or simply want to avoid having to choose between an SSD or HDD in a laptop, then THIS is the product for you.
Reviewed By:RhettRO,5/26/2015 8:05:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Spinpoint M8 ST1000LM024 (HN-M101MBB/EX2) 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No like the older product
Pros: Great price
Was wonderful after hours on the phone with Samsung
helping me
Cons: Newegg's site said this was a direct replacement for the same item I purchased in 2012....same P/N except former ended in /Z4...this one in /EX2
Other Thoughts: Newegg made no effort to help make this work. Their site needs to state all support must come from Samsung/Seagate
Reviewed By:Annie,5/23/2015 11:31:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Red WD10JFCX 1TB IntelliPower SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" NAS Internal Hard Drive - Bulk

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 WD Red WD10JFCX IntelliPower Sata 6.0, 2.5" NAS HD
Pros: NONE!!!
Cons: Installed in computer, tried to format, showed quick format , I accepted. While trying to use showed disk errors, corrected by Windows. Went back to format, immediately went quick format, back using, more errors, back to format, this time I forced full format. For a 1 TB HD drive it took little time to format. Went to Computer mode from start button to observe hard drives and noted that HD appeared but without showing storage info but the name was faded as though it were fading out of sight. Turned computer off, then on and disk had disappeared. Went to bios, HD had disappeared. Plugged it into another computer, never appeared in bios nor on computer disc display. Just bought an Orico USB3 external 2 disc/3.5"-2.5" docking station, installed station in a computer, placed 2.5 NAS HD in docking station and nothing. Removed 2.5" NAS HD and installed SATA 3.5" with known partitions in docking station and everything showed up on the HD display. placed 2.5" NAS HD in docking station and all HD data previously displayed DISAPPEARED! With the 3.5" HD running beside the 2.5" NAS HD, nothing, not one HD showed up in the HD display. It sure looks very defective. Supposed to be new, too [11Nov 2014].
Other Thoughts: If I could make this assessment with NO EGGS, I'd do it. Since I'm past the 30 day limit, I must now deal with WD. I'd just like a replacement 'cuz I don't like to give up and what should be a good thing.
Reviewed By:NUN,5/23/2015 9:08:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black² Dual Drive 2.5" 120 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD Kit WD1001X06XDTL

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A touch thicker than regular HDD's
Pros: - Very fast
- Seems stable
- No bad sectors
- Easy to partition
Cons: - A little bit larger than most laptop HDD's, so you may want to be careful buying these if you have an extremely shallow HDD slot. It's a tight fit!
Other Thoughts: I'd recommend this to anybody who wants a SSD/HDD combo. Excellent product.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/23/2015 6:06:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 7K1000 HTS721010A9E630 (0J22423) 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive (Standard model) Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage
Pros: None
Cons: Does not last.
Other Thoughts: Lasted 5 months and died with no warning. Avoid like the plague.
Reviewed By:Mack,5/22/2015 4:46:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Momentus Thin ST500LT012 500GB 5400 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Sometimes you get a lemon
Pros: Price
Cons: Failed the first day
Other Thoughts: I guess it was my turn to get a dud. I purchased this drive to use as a clone for my laptop. Right off the bat I had problems with the cloned drive randomly "locking up". Ran the Seagate diagnostics tool on it and it failed the tests. Newegg was great about shipping me a replacement. i will update this if the replacement has any issues.
Reviewed By:Texas-Mark,5/22/2015 9:02:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.