Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate ST2000LM007 2TB 128MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Drive
Pros: Speed.
Smooth operation.
Size.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Been using the drive for about a month with no problems.
Speed peaks out at 140MB/s read and write.
Good performance with more granular workloads as well.
Thin enough to be compatible with ultra-books.
Reviewed By:Mick W.,8/24/2016 7:14:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue 500GB Mobile 7.00mm Hard Disk Drive - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 2.5 Inch - WD5000LPVX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great drive for a ps3
Pros: 500 gigs, reliable, quiet, sata.
Cons: a bit pricey for the time of purchase. i bought this and the ps3 drive bracket at the same time.
Other Thoughts: if you can find one for less than $60, jump on it. use it for movie storage.
Reviewed By:Angelo F.,8/23/2016 11:59:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate ST2000LM007 2TB 128MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 For what it is, a storage add-on for laptops and other small form factor builds, it is a great option.
Pros: The physical size: 2.5" width, 7mm thickness. There aren't many small form factor hard disks that offer this much storage space or the 128MB cache, if any. If you are looking to replace a laptop secondary storage drive, this Seagate 2TB 5400RPM is the way to go. Paired with an SSD to run Windows and applications this is the perfect solution.
And I wouldn't limit it's uses to just a laptop or notebook. If you have any small form factor micro-ITX build that is lacking space for additional traditional 3.5" hard disks this will also be a great solution. Less heat, less noise, and will fit into any SSD designed tray to give you a good extra 2TB.
The Seagate ST2000LM007 is also a great portable option for users. Purchase an external housing designed for SATA SSDs, throw this thing in there, and you've got your own 2TB USB 3.0, eSATA, or Thunderbolt portable disk. It's light weight and low heat producing design also make it a good on-the-go solution.
Cons: For the scenario this device is designed for, I don't see any cons.
Other Thoughts: While in actual use transferring 2GB video files from a SATA SSD to this Seagate ST2000LM007 the speeds reached ~185MB/s, while averaging ~120MB/s. Transferring the same files back to that same SSD the speeds reached ~110MB/s, averaging ~85MB/s.

Running virtual tests with a disk speed measuring application using file sizes from 512KB up to 40GB the results averaged at:

Read:
min: 70 MB/s
max: 140 MB/s
total avg: 101 MB/s

Write:
min: 47 MB/s
max: 131
total avg: 94 MB/s

I would say those are fairly good results with a 5400RPM disk housed in this mini 2.5" form factor.
Reviewed By:Marcus A.,8/23/2016 3:10:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue 500GB Mobile 7.00mm Hard Disk Drive - 5400 RPM SATA 6Gb/s Cache 2.5 Inch - WD5000LPCX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Stable workhorse
Pros: Zero failures of more than 25 of these drives in use, some for several years.
Cons: Won't make me a sandwich?
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/21/2016 10:49:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA PH2100U-1I54 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Retail Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked in a PS4
Pros: Works
Cheap
Good upgrade for my PS4
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,8/21/2016 6:28:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate ST2000LM007 2TB 128MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great storage drive at a great price!
Pros: 2tb at 7mm for under $100. 128m cache? Really? Absolute work horse for quick file dumps, backup jobs, etc. Quite and relatively low heat.
Cons: Not really a con as it preforms just fine, but it is a 5400 rpm disk.
Other Thoughts: With SSD’s being so low now, I would not advocate using a 5400 rpm disk as a boot disk. If you had to go mechanical you can find SSHD disks that will give you that boost while using your OS and the space you need for an overall good experience. You could theoretically use this as a boot drive, and it would not be a bad option, just there are better choices out there for this.

Now that that’s out of the way, I absolutely loved this drive. When I saw that this thing had 128m of cache it really had me dying to try it out. For small quick file dumps or retrievals, this thing literally is a rocket for a 5400rpm drive. Sub 1.5G files I was writing at over 200 MBps and I was coping those same files from the disk at over 350 MBps. But as soon as you start into prolonged writes or reads, you break into the 50-80 MBps range. And that range is what is about what I expected for a 5400 RPM drive. But you have to ask yourself what you are looking for. Most of the files I store are under 2G and im keeping them on my large storage to keep them, not use them.

Overall I loved this drive for what it is. A faster than normal 5400 RPM storage drive. It offers far greater performance (briefly) than other 5400 RPM drives I’ve used in the past but will fall off if prolonged writes happen. If your trying to compare this with an SSHD or an SSD then your barking up the wrong tree. But if you are looking for a good drive that is not going to break the bank and offer you a ton of storage and fit in a 7mm housing for thin laptops, then I would look no further.
Reviewed By:Brian D.,8/20/2016 12:27:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 7K1000 HTS721010A9E630 (0J22423) 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive (Standard model) Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Performance and Low Noise
Pros: This well-packaged drive runs at a whisper and performs its duties promptly. Though I have used this drive only two days, I would say it's an excellent bargain.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Robert S.,8/19/2016 8:53:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black 750GB Performance Mobile Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 16MB Cache 2.5 Inch - WD7500BPKX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far so good
Pros: For an HDD, these 2 1/2" drives are fast. I have two. In real world, I cloned 175GB main drive to this drive in 22 minutes. My other is going strong after 3 yrs, and my 3 1/2" WD Black is about the same age running well. Don't think I'll ever buy a 3 1/2" again, though, with the smaller drives good and with SSd's.
Cons: My main drives are SSD's, but I use at least 3 drives for each one to back up. Yeah. Learned the hard way (with different brand). But no problems here, knock on wood.
Reviewed By:Mark M.,8/19/2016 9:44:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Benchmark Tests Not a Good Indicator !!
Pros: UPDATE 08-19-2016:
Still going strong after 3 years. Windows boots up fast and our everyday programs load quickly. Having over 900GB of storage space has been very useful over time as we saved more and more stuff on this drive. While several different Seagate 3.5-inch desktop drives have garnered many complaints from users, this laptop size 2.5-inch has proven to be very reliable indeed.

Speedy performance in spite of benchmark tests! (See Other Thoughts below.)

SSD-like speed with 1TB capacity - best of both worlds.

Runs quietly and doesn't reduce battery life.
Cons: Not really a con, but infrequently used files open at regular HDD speed.
Other Thoughts: I found there's not much point in running benchmark performance tests because they tend to measure only the regular spinning hard drive part of this SSHD. And, those results don't provide a true picture of the benefits you get from a Hybrid drive.

Instead, use it for a few days and you'll notice that your computer boots up quickly and all your favorite programs and your internet browser are very quick & snappy compared to a regular laptop hard drive. It just needs a few days to "learn" what you use frequently .... and speed those things up.

About four or five months ago we installed one of these in our laptop. It has a basic Pentium Dual-core P6100 2.0GHz cpu and SATA II capability. We had been running a Kingston V+100 96GB SSD which was great except it doesn't give you much space for storing a bunch of videos, photos and a sizable music collection. After we installed the Seagate SSHD there was little or no reduction in performance compared to the pure SSD, plus we got a ton of extra storage space. And, the laptop boots up and opens programs and web pages just as quickly as our desktop Core i3 which also has an SSD in it.

In other words, it's the combination of the big capacity hard drive + the little SSD that counts, not a benchmark test result.

(As usual, Windows will report your 1TB drive as being 931GB of usable space. Windows says 1024MB equals 1GB compared to hard drive makers who say 1000MB equals 1GB; ergo, Windows says you have fewer GBs than the manufacturer says.)
Reviewed By:Andrew M.,8/19/2016 9:19:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate ST2000LM007 2TB 128MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great price for a 2TB upgrade, bur the joy was very short-lived.
Pros: Drive Is small and fast and a drop-in replacement for laptops that are running short of space with a 1 TB HDD. Plus Seagate managed to fit 2TB in a 7mm case, while most 2TB laptop drives today are still 9mm or larger and won't fit in today's laptops. With the pricing this is a deal to jump at, and I did. With the abundance of free space on my drive, my Windows 10 seemed to really speed up
Cons: Unfortunately, after about two weeks of use I started having periodic freezes lasting a few seconds to to a couple minutes or more, then the machine would recover on its own, with no message or error, or permanent problem. I never attributed this behavior to the new hard disk but thought it might be due to some network glitches, and thought little of it.

I finally got up the nerve to do the Windows 10 Anniversary Update, now that I had plenty of free disk space and experienced quite a lot of freezes while the update was running, after which the machine would again resume on its own. Then came the freeze which it didn't recover from. after waiting more than 30 minutes, I rebooted. Apparently, Windows Update was able to determine that it was in the middle of the Anniversary Update and resumed the update. things went along well for a while until one of the update-initiated reboots.

When the machine rebooted (still in the middle of the Anniversary Update), it started a chkdsk on its own. Chkdsk made it through 10% of the disk and froze (with the circles still spinning on the startup screen). I waited more than 2 hours, and it never got past 10%. It was frozen there. After manually rebooting, it started up chkdskagain, and it again froze at 10%.

I powered down the machine and removed the drive and ran a standalone surface-scan on a different machine, and beginning at about 10 %, it logged 118 bad sectors in a row, then the sector-scan program froze.

Taken in conjunction with the many other reports of problems with this particular model of drive, it looks like Seagate made a very ambitious attempt to meed a market need, but the product still had some challenges as it went out the door.
Other Thoughts: Due to the many other problem reports logged here with this model (Seagate ST2000LM007) drive, I opted for a refund rather than a replacement with another of the same model. I would not recommend this as an upgrade/expansion path at this time, although I am certain Seagate is working diligently to find and fix the issues with this product). As for finding an alternative, especially a 7mm drive within a reasonable price range, good luck. I'm still looking.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/19/2016 9:15:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.