Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Memory > G.SKILL > G.SKILL 16GB (2 x 8G) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3L 1600 (PC3L 12800) Laptop Memory Model F3-1600C11D-16GSL

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 it works well
Pros: good works well.
Cons: not really until now
Reviewed By:Jisang J.,9/22/2016 11:43:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Memory > HyperX > HyperX Impact 16GB (2 x 8G) 260-Pin DDR4 SO-DIMM DDR4 2400 (PC4 19200) Laptop Memory Model HX424S14IBK2/16

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not compatible with my laptop
Pros: none for me.
Cons: Not compatible with MSI GT62VR 1060 laptop.
Reviewed By:Charles O.,9/22/2016 1:39:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Memory > Crucial > Ballistix Sport SODIMM 8GB (2 x 4GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3L 1600 (PC3L 12800) Laptop Memory Model BLS2K4G3N169ES4

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This is a GREAT 8GB kit!
Pros: I tested this memory out in an HP 8470p i5 Duo 3320M laptop. Max memory is 16GB. For whatever reason, I mistakenly bought this kit instead of 2 X 8GB sticks to max out the memory on my HP. I tested this and found that the memory is fast!

Easy to install on my laptop.

Cass Latency is 9 (CL9)!

PC3L! The HP 8470p can take both PC3 & PC3L
Cons: Nothing.
Other Thoughts: This is Crucible memory (859B is the label for system BIOS). I took the liberty of testing the same process 4 times with different setups memory-wise. I timed the same process 4 times (registry scan for cleaning the registry of my laptop). The configurations varied but each had 8GB of memory. The first was an 8GB stick of Crucible memory with a CL of 11 & PC3L 12800. The 2nd was 4GB of Hynix CL12 PC3L 12800S AND 4GB of this Ballistix CL9 PC3L 12800. The 3rd was both (8GB) Ballistix CL9 PC3L 12800. The 4th was Ballistix CL9 PC3L 12800 AND Samsung CL11 PC3L 10600S. The final configuration was the Samsung PC3L 10600S CL11 AND the Hynix CL11 PC3L 12800. The Samsung memory lowered the speed because it clocks as the slowest (1333 MHz vs 1600 MHz)
The fastest time for 1, 2, & 3 was 31 seconds for a full registry scan. The longest time was 48 seconds. Average was 34 for 1, & 2. The average for #3 was 33 seconds.
The fastest time for 4 & 5 was 34 seconds. The slowest was 65 seconds. Average was 43 seconds.
All that to say this...There was no appreciable difference between the CL9 and the CL11 at PC3L 12800.

I tested both sticks WITH a Hynix 4GB stick (CL11, PC3L). No problems whatsoever. I thought there might be a problem running 2 sticks with different latencies? Nothing happened over several hours of operations.

I mistakenly bought this thinking it to be a single 8GB stick. Rather than sending back and paying shipping and a restocking fee; I gave it to a friend as a gift for some work he did for me. He was very appreciative!

While this is nice memory, I would say that speed-wise, I recommend buying the less expensive Crucible memory rather than paying a premium for the Crucible Ballistix Sport memory. I MUST mention that I am not a gamer. This is for routine small business applications.

Hope this helps!
Reviewed By:Mark H.,9/20/2016 6:53:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Memory > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 16GB (2 x 8G) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3L 1600 (PC3L 12800) Laptop Memory Model SP016GLSTU160N22NE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent inexpensive memory
Pros: Cheap
Manufactured to specs
Lifetime Warranty
Cons: none so far
Other Thoughts: Ran this on a memtest loop for ~12 hours. Passed with flying colors, and now running in my HP probook for about a week with no issues.
Reviewed By:Dustin H.,9/20/2016 4:21:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Memory > Corsair > CORSAIR ValueSelect 8GB (2 x 4GB) 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Laptop Memory Model VS8GSDSKIT800D2

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked in a HP Pavilion 1261wm Laptop
Pros: Fired up, will run like a souped up laptop
Cons: none :)
Other Thoughts: would buy again :)
Reviewed By:Phillip T.,9/20/2016 3:53:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Memory > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 8GB (2 x 4GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3L 1600 (PC3L 12800) Laptop Memory Model SP008GLSTU160N22NE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Straightforward product
Pros: 8gb ddr3 1600mhz is fast enough
Low voltage
Ram posted at correct speed and was recognized by my HP laptop with no fuss
Cons: Packaging is that plastic stuff that's really hard to cut and almost always ends up in you getting cut and is not really a con but the only thing i didn't like about this product.
Other Thoughts: Many people buy ram that runs at high frequencies but really the only thing that matters is how much ram you have. Unless you are doing ramdisks or something that would lean on your ram speed, there is almost no difference in speeds for the average user. For a simple laptop upgrade to add some snappiness this will do more than fine.
Reviewed By:Joseph C.,9/20/2016 2:36:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Memory > Corsair > CORSAIR ValueSelect 2GB 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Laptop Memory Model VS2GSDS667D2

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Upgrade Time
Pros: - Didn't cause computer to explode.
Cons: - Doesn't taste very good.
Other Thoughts: Bought as a memory upgrade for my Late 2006 (A1211) MacBook Pro to max it out. Works great, nothing else to say about it.
Reviewed By:Thomas M.,9/20/2016 8:27:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Memory > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 8GB (2 x 4GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3L 1600 (PC3L 12800) Laptop Memory Model SP008GLSTU160N22NE

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 All Aspects Hit The Sweet Spot
Pros: Primarily for me the number one pro for this set of memory is that there wasn't any compatibility issues. I'm using a Dell latitude E6520. I have found this laptop to be an exceptional performance laptop for a very reasonable price. It has good BIOS with plenty of flexibility for CPU and RAM compatibility. It also has a CPU socket where you can swap CPUs without any soldering or gluing. Most sets of quality RAM these days will be detected correctly and automatically set to the proper timings and clock speed.

Originally, I was running 2x4 GB of 1333 MHz, CAS9 with optional voltage of 1.35v or 1.5v depending on your BIOS. It was a surprisingly decent set of RAM for original equipment. The read and write bandwidth of that RAM was just a little less than 20 GB/sec. This RAM, which is made by Silicon Power, is a 2x4 GB set at 1600 MHz, CAS11 and 1.35v or 1.5v. It's read and write bandwidth was just about 22.3 GB/sec. So under these circumstances, the age old question of timing vs. clock speed seems to have been answered. With my old 1333 MHz RAM at CAS9 and this 1600 MHz set at CAS 11, both of them dual channel. I lost 2 clock cycles on the CAS with this memory but picked up a decent bump in the clock speed, which resulted in about a 10% improvement in overall bandwidth.

With the majority of laptops, your onboard GPU will rely on shared system memory for any kind of 3D rendering and most games. So system memory performance is far more important in laptops and desktops with integrated GPUs for gaming. Most desktops have graphics cards with onboard VRAM that has incredibly high bandwidth compared to standard system memory like DDR3, etc. So if you regularly use your laptop for gaming, a RAM upgrade is your best bet to try and improve your framerate. For me, 1600 MHz is my limit, as my BIOS won't accept anything faster.

I've never used a Silicon Power product before. I usually don't like to gamble with new brands that are unknown to me, but these sticks of RAM turned out quite nice. The overall construction quality was excellent. The low voltage should help to keep temps down. The speed is good, the timings are ok. The warranty is awesome, they have a lifetime warranty. That is normally something I always look for when purchasing new hardware for my computer. As computer hardware isn't always reliable over the long term. The price of this set of RAM ranges from excellent to average, depending on sale prices and seller inventory. This set of RAM wasn't intended to be high performance memory. Its targeted more towards economical grade. Low voltage, low power, low heat. Pretty much exactly what the vast majority of people using laptops would want, unless you're using a laptop cooler and leave it plugged in most of the time. For me, Silicon Power is a brand I'm going to remember and keep in mind when shopping for hardware in the future.
Cons: These RAM sticks come in the most irritating type of packaging there is. The sealed rigid plastic packaging that's crimped around the edges. A lot of the RAM I've owned throughout the years has often come in thin plastic packaging. But I have got some nice high end RAM that came in boxes.

The CAS latency is pretty high at 11. But it doesn't seem to hinder this RAMs performance by much. Sometimes sacrifices need to be made to keep voltage low and heat to a minimum.

No heat sinks. This RAM doesn't really need heat sinks, but I always prefer to have them on any set of RAM. That's not always a bad thing. Some laptops don't have the room for heat sinks.
Other Thoughts: I was a bit nervous about compatibility issues after I had already ordered this memory and then saw it was DDR3L. But DDR3 and DDR3L are the same thing. They all fit the same slot. The “L” in DDR3L stands for Low Voltage. At least that's what my research indicated. Many standard sets of DDR3 run at 1.5v. Even if your motherboard BIOS doesn't support 1.35v memory, this set of RAM should perform fine as it's also officially 1.5v compatible. It would almost certainly run a bit hotter, so if you are having heat issues with your laptop then that is something to be avoided. Either find a set of RAM that is 1.5v native or has a nice set of heat sinks or find a set of heat sinks that would fit your RAM. If you're gaming, I would recommend a laptop cooler regardless of what type of laptop you're using. I have personally been having some nasty heat issues with my laptop, a Dell Latitude E6520 with an i7 2720QM. When I installed the RAM I decided to pull the heat sink and replace the thermal paste. I'm very glad I did. Whoever installed the heat sink botched it badly. The heat sink was so tight the thermal paste was all squeezed out from between the copper block and the CPU and GPU. So I replaced the thermal paste and my temps dropped about 10C on average. Very happy with that result. I also cleaned the fan, I recommend anybody who pulls their laptop apart do the same while they have it apart.

Even if you're not a gamer, a memory upgrade should improve your computers speed and load times. Especially with the newer operating systems. Windows Vista and XP didn't really require a ton of memory to operate efficiently. However, with newer Windows operating systems, especially Windows 10. The amount of memory you need is at least 8 GB in my opinion. Even for simple tasks like browsing the Internet, watching videos, photo editing and so on. Just the other day, when I was monitoring my memory usage, I was surprised to see that it was in excess of 5 GB and I was only browsing the Internet. I had quite a few windows open, but many modern websites contain high resolution pics, adds, videos and effects. Which will fill up your memory in a hurry. So if you're running a modern operating system, gaming, or if you have less than 8 GB of RAM or if you've only got a single stick of RAM installed. Then you should definitely consider a memory upgrade such as this set. With this set you get a dual channel set with the maximum speed and capacity of most DDR3 laptops and a lifetime warranty. You really can't go wrong. If you're not sure about compatibility, contact your laptop manufacturer and ask them or go online in the forums and ask around. I've found that most people with the necessary knowledge will usually chime in to help.

So, for the high CAS latency and the lack of heat sinks I am deducting one Egg. If it would have had a CAS of 9 and a set of decent heat sinks, It would definitely deserve 5 Eggs. It's still a great set of RAM as is.
Reviewed By:David K.,9/20/2016 1:42:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Memory > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 8GB (2 x 4GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3L 1600 (PC3L 12800) Laptop Memory Model SP008GLSTU160N22NE

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good energy efficient memory
Pros: Operates at 1.35V, this compared to the standard DDR3 SODIMM at 1.5 V, saves about 10 percent in power consumption. This would translate to better battery life when doing memory intensive tasks, such a code compilation. The SPD detection automatically detects the lower voltage setting and properly set up the voltage and latency setting to operate the RAM properly, no manual tweaking required. The laptop system has been running continuously since RAM had been installed for more than 1 week without any issue. The response of the system is speed despite of using the lower voltage RAM.
Cons: The unit is CAS 11, which is not the most speedy RAM. Name brand RAM at high cost point could operate at 1.35V at CAS 9 via better binning. However, those parts would also come at a much higher price point. The performance advantage on normal operation is about 5%, so for any practical purposes, these RAM sticks are good price/performance balance buys.
Other Thoughts: These RAM chips replaced the original 1.5V DDR3 SODIMM in a Thinkpad T430 units. It performed stablely after the update and the RAM were detected automatically by the laptop to operate at the lower supply voltage without any issue. The battery consumption should be better by theory, however, it has not been very noticeable in practice.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/19/2016 5:42:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Memory > G.SKILL > G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Laptop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-4GBSQ

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Exact fit and application compatability!
Pros: Easy install, worked as described, sped up my laptop, fair price. I went with these because of my previous good experience with a previous purchase of the G.SKILL brand for a different machine.
Cons: No real cons.
Other Thoughts: Previously I purchased a set of G.SKILL (different model) for my desktop PC and worked perfectly so I purchased this brand again , and I would buy this brand again in the future as needed. I would recommend this product for accurate applications. Make sure your desktop or laptop specs show compatibility. I've seen this product get a bad rap due to the buyer not understanding the limitations of their machine.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/19/2016 12:42:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.