Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant G7 N54L MicroServer Server System AMD Turion II Model Neo N54L 2GB DDR3 250GB LFF 704941-001

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little box
Pros: Great little server so far have only owned for about a month. Running Server 2008 R2 hosting a small FTP server for personal use as well as a Web server. Quiet, so far reliable, no real issues so far.
Cons: Small drive that comes with it, honestly though for my uses its not bad. low on the ram side, an couple extra gbs would speed this up a little faster
Other Thoughts: All in all its a good box, the HDD and RAM are both upgradeable so it is not a big problem
Reviewed By:Alex M.,2/2/2016 4:38:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo System x3100 M5 5457ECU 4U Intel Xeon E3-1220 v3 3.10 GHz 8GB RAM 1TB HDD Mini-tower Server

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good knockabout/SOHO server for the price
Pros: I bought this for a VMWare lab, but it's good for any sort of light server duty. 2 NICs with reasonably stable drivers and 4 bays for SATA drives. Quiet for what it is, except when the fans kick on full-blast at boot.
Cons: It only takes low-voltage ECC unbuffered DIMMs, so if you have some desktop memory lying around you were hoping to use, forget it. Keep in mind that it's a server; don't complain when you get nickel and dimed for things like drive carriers that would be included with a home PC. Fan noise will be mistaken for a quadcopter at boot-up, although it settles down to barely noticeable under normal load.
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind that it's a server, and make sure you do your research and read the manufacturer docs before buying to make sure it's exactly what you want.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/29/2016 2:07:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Habey > Habey Fanless System Intel Bay Trail Celeron J1900 Quad Core 2.0 GHz BIS-6774-J1900 with 3 x LANs

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 ok, beware of the specs
Pros: little, fanless
Cons: one memory slot only, does not support 1600, but 1300, also the format is not the small dim, but the "regular" laptop memory. dopes not take the smaller factor so-dimm,
you cannot insert a sata disk without prying the heatsink from the enclosure as they are glued together, the memory and an msata drive can be put in the mobo just unscrewing,
Reviewed By:Mariano P.,1/21/2016 2:11:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TD340 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E5-2403 v2 70B5001TUX

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I love this Box!
Pros: Got this server in the Shellshocker deal, setup was not terrible, but do-able. It only came with 8GB of Ram, luckily the server it replaced supports the same Memory: "Kingston 8GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Unbuffered DDR3 1600 Server Memory w/TS Model KVR16E11/8" Bought that here too, super cheap now.
Been Running it as my Lab server for over 120 days and I love it. It was way cheaper the the server it replaces and has several upgrade options
Cons: - The deal did not include HDD mounts, that sucked, found some on elsewhere.
- I wanted to Automate prepping the RAID volume and installing the OS with MDT but I could not find the SaS config tool on Lenovo's Site. I just did it by hand (Lame)
Other Thoughts: I don't like how the Out-of-band Management NIC is shared with the NIC 1, I would have preferred a dedicated separate NIC. I do believe you can configure either of the dual NICs to run Out-of-band mgmt dedicated. But over-all inconvenient if you planned to do NIC teaming
Reviewed By:Richard R.,1/15/2016 2:13:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2 GHz 4GB PC3-12800E 1600 MHz DDR3 ECC 1 x 500GB 7200RPM 3.5"

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I wish I could give 0 stars
Pros: Low cost
Cons: I have purchased 4 of these for my company, all loaded with Windows 2012 Essentials and located to different geographic locations. I added hardrives, memory to 16GB. ALL of these machines shut down randomly causing a lot of trouble for my users in these locations. I have searched land and earth for a solution, updated drivers, firmware and anything else and the situation is the same. A WASTE of time. I would never buy any of these again even if it is for 10 bucks. Garbage.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/8/2016 7:24:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo System x3100 M5 5457ECU 4U Intel Xeon E3-1220 v3 3.10 GHz 8GB RAM 1TB HDD Mini-tower Server

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great price
Pros: Pretty powerful and worked out great. I wish I saw this price pretty good deal.
Cons: NA
Other Thoughts: NA
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/5/2016 10:14:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > DELL > Dell PowerEdge T20 Mini-tower Server System Intel Pentium G3220, 4GB Memory

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works great for my needs
Pros: Fairly small footprint
Decent price
Cons: Ram size
Other Thoughts: Plugged it in, threw Ubuntu 14.04 Server on it. Loaded up plex and backed up all my pictures to it and put it in a corner. I might upgrade the ram so I can run a ARK server on it also but for a plex server it is great. Only reason I gave it 4 out of 5 is because nothing is perfect. I rarely give perfect reviews.
Reviewed By:Scott C.,12/29/2015 3:14:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo System x3100 M5 5457ECU 4U Intel Xeon E3-1220 v3 3.10 GHz 8GB RAM 1TB HDD Mini-tower Server

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Incomplete chasis!!! Server doesn't come with hdd brackets so cannot do raid on it! Cannot install additional drives.. so pretty much useless if attempting to run RAID since cannot install more drives
Pros: none
Cons: Bought to run with 2 mirrored drives, it comes with one drive and no way to install additional drive. Needs a simple swap caddy tray which is not included. Contacted Lenovo, they transfered me to IBM, which in turn transfered me back to Lenovo.!! All just to purchase a simple tray to add hard drive. Needless to say it is very disappointing that Lenovo ships a chasis without trays to install the additional drives.! Any box of lesser price comes with slot/bays to install drives not this one.
Reviewed By:Martin M.,12/28/2015 9:35:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML310e Gen8 v2 E3-1220v3 1P 4GB NHP 4 LFF 350W PS Server Smart Buy 724977-S01

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Bang for Buck Barebones Server out there.
Pros: Easy to setup, built in drivers and other features make installing Server 2012 easy. If you use an oem HP 2012 Server CD, it's a breeze.
Just add more RAM and HDD's to complete the package.
Cons: Really nothing.
Other Thoughts: The included CPU has a single thread rating of 1729 on passmark which is great for the price. It has been rock solid 24/7 for 4 months now.
Reviewed By:Jason H.,12/22/2015 12:29:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer RD350 70D60025UX 1U Rack Server - 1 x Intel Xeon E5-2603 v3 Hexa-core (6 Core) 1.60 GHz

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good "Test Lab" Server
Pros: Good inexpensive server for use in as a "test lab" virtual server.
Supports more than 32G of Ram
Fairly quiet
Cons: A few "Gotchas" to be aware of:

-The 110i onboard raid controller is not support by VMware. Even if you set up an array, VMware will only see the individual drives. Probably true for Xen and Hyper-V as well.
-Only comes with 1 PCIe riser card. You'll need to spend an additional $50 if you want to use 2 PCIe expansion cards
-Doesn't come with any HDD Caddy/Trays. These are $25 apiece, or you can be cheap and just stick the HDD (sata) straight into the sockets.
-Has 16 memory slots, but only 8 per CPU. If you want to use all 16 Memory slots, you'll need to add a second CPU.
Other Thoughts: Some other stuff to be aware of:
-The E5-2603 CPU does not have Hyper Threads. 6 Cores is exactly what you get and VMware will only have 6 Logical processors
-Only has 2 onboard NIC's.
-Only comes with one PSU (total 2)
Reviewed By:Louis L.,12/20/2015 2:50:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.