Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 MicroServer Server System Intel Pentium G2020T 2.5GHz 2C/2T 2GB DDR3 No Hard Drive 712318-001

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little server for the price
Pros: Small
ILO 4
Holds 4 3.5" drives
Upgradable CPU/RAM
ILO 4
Room for extra drives
Runs FreeNAS 9.2 smoothly
Oh, did I mention, ILO 4?
Cons: Possibly fan if noise is an issue, when running in AHCI mode instead of using RAID the ILO cannot read the SMART temperatures of the drives and overcompensates by boosting fan speed to avoid damaging them.

My microserver is in the basement with my home lab and is still the quietest item I'm running. So this was a non-issue for me.
Other Thoughts: Can't beat it for the price.
Reviewed By:Chris B.,9/8/2016 12:50:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8 GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for File Server and QuickBooks Database Server!
Pros: Fast and stable, very well built with high quality components
Cons: Takes forever to get to the OS, but then is very fast! Windows 7 gives a Parity error upon Shutdown, but reboots fine.
Reviewed By:Jonathan K.,8/11/2016 9:55:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8 GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent for the Price
Pros: Brand name server for under $250.

Works with any of about a dozen or more operating systems.

Good power supply.

Good airflow to keep drives cool.
Cons: Doesn't come with a "Server Setup for Dummies" instruction manual.
Other Thoughts: For users who gave a bad review may I offer a suggestion? Please do your homework before you complain.

Hewlett Packard Enterprise Support Center has what you need. Go there and type in the model number HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System. You will see the following are available:

Drivers and Downloads for over 12 operating systems in drop-down menu.

User Guide
Setup and Install - general
Service and maintenance information
Getting started
General Reference
White papers
View all documents
and more on Left-hand menu.

Drivers and Software Downloads page: a variety of drivers and utilities listed here.

Other users complained of lack of instructions, driver support and minimal operating system support. It took me less than 2 minutes to find all of the above information from HP. This product is a business/commercial type item so you need to check their Enterprise support center online. There are too many variables in OS, drivers, languages and user guides to include them in the box with the product.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Andrew!

Thank you for the feedback. In response to your thoughts on the content, the link to the ML10 guide is http://h20566.www2.hpe.com/hpsc/swd/public/readIndex?sp4ts.oid=7796452&swLangOid=8&swEnvOid=4138. We wanted to make sure you had this in order to create ease in setting up your new system.

Melissa
HPE

Reviewed By:Andrew M.,8/8/2016 2:33:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8 GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Sheer and utter garbage
Pros: I wouldn't know. You can't just put DVD ROM in it and install the OS it will not find the hard drive
Cons: Way above beginner level horrible documentation both on YouTube and on HP website.
Other Thoughts: I see other folks are having the same problem. I find it interesting that one even put a link to the YouTube video that you can't use with this machine because it doesn't have a virtual install disk or intelligent provisioning. Would it kill them to put a CD or even a piece of paper with some basic instructions? I see a return in the near future....
Manufacturer Response:Hi There - The ML10 guide link is http://h20566.www2.hpe.com/hpsc/swd/public/readIndex?sp4ts.oid=7796452&swLangOid=8&swEnvOid=4138 if you dig into the SPP Section it will help walk you through RAID setup on this machine. Happy to help if you need any other information. Please just let us know!

Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/2/2016 6:41:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8 GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: - Cheap
- Once booted up, It runs quietly
Cons: - Installing OS can be a bit tricky
Other Thoughts: - Installing an OS was a bit tricky (win 2012). There are documents online to help with installation. Outside of that, it is a good bargain for its price.
Manufacturer Response:Link to product guide is http://h20566.www2.hpe.com/hpsc/swd/public/readIndex?sp4ts.oid=7796452&swLangOid=8&swEnvOid=4138 Please let us know if HPE can be of any other help on content for this ML10.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/25/2016 8:50:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo System x3100 M5 5457ECU 4U Intel Xeon E3-1220 v3 3.10 GHz 8GB RAM 1TB HDD Mini-tower Server

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great price for a solid server. Just needed a little tweaking..
Pros: For a Server 2012 R2 Essentials build. Only needed to add a few extra parts to get it up to par (see other). ).
Cons: If you do not know what your doing, I would stay away from this device, there is no support for this item from Lenovo/IBM unless you have a contract with them. I had a hard time just trying to get part numbers but luckily I finally googled the correct term.

I had to play around on their website to get the correct drivers. I had a lot of trial and error. Once I get the right drivers, I documented it for future use.
Other Thoughts: It is a shame it doesn't come with caddy's for all of the bays. I would rather see a system without hard drive but with Caddy's vs offering a single hard drive solution. Regardless, here are some part numbers that might help you out...

RAM - 8gb is good however I really want to play it safe or if you plan on running a hypervisor, you will need a bit more. So I purchased another 8gb stick googling IBM part number 00D5015 or 00D5016. Expect to pay around $55 per stick. [So far the system boots just fine]

Caddy - Google search Lenovo 69Y5342. This will lead you down a rabbit hole of solutions. I ended up paying $17/caddy

Raid Upgrade - the Built in raid controller only supports Raid 1 and Raid 0. To get Raid 5 you need to google search Lenovo 81Y4406. Please note that this "part" is only a license key. Your not changing out any physical hardware
Then you need to google Lenovo FoD. You should find a PDF regarding Features on Demand. From there you can install the new key.

All said and done, minus the cost of the physical hard drives i needed to purchase (2 x 2.5" SSD & 4 x 3.5" HDD), I spent around $600 to get the system a Bare Quad Core 16gb Ram server with Raid 5 support.
Reviewed By:David C.,7/19/2016 11:30:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer 70B7002KUX 5U Tower Server - Intel Xeon E5-2407 v2 2.40 GHz

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent features. Plenty of upgrade options.
Pros: - well featured with plenty of room for an additional CPU, RAM modules, SAS drives ,etc.
- excellent construction and reliability
- great price for this caliber of product
Cons: - does not include the spare redundant power supply
- does not include any caddies for the SAS drives
Reviewed By:David M.,7/9/2016 5:13:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8 GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Setting up the RAID is a nightmare!
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Finding a driver to configure the RAID. Since this is a bare-bones server, nothing comes with the unit. I've spent hour on the HP website trying to find drivers that will get the hard drives to be recognized with the RAID, to no avail. Most tips refer to a a Gen8/9 that has a Virtual Install Disk, or pressing F5 or F10 during boot to get to the ASU. This doesn't happen with this model.
Other Thoughts: I would gladly pay more to get more. This bare-bones server could have in the very least included old outdated drivers for the RAID. After hours of frustration I am regretting this purchase and from reading in forums so are others.
Manufacturer Response:Hi there. You can access our product guide through this link and you can access RAID support through our SPP section. http://h20566.www2.hpe.com/hpsc/swd/public/readIndex?sp4ts.oid=7796452&swLangOid=8&swEnvOid=4138

Reviewed By:Matthew S.,6/23/2016 1:25:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
3 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 G1610T 1P 4GB-U B120i Non-hot Plug SATA Server (819185-001)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wonderful little server
Pros: -4 drive bays plus a bonus internal SATA port
-Internal USB port
-Internal MicroSD card slot
-Remote access card integrated (iLO onboard)
-Redundant 1Gb networking cards that can be LACP bonded in software
-Compact
Cons: -Low RAM allocation for the price
-RAM is unusual (ECC unbuffered) and therefore expensive
-Only 2 RAM slots limits max memory, even though CPU supports more (Dell T20 supports more, for example)
Other Thoughts: -Just be aware of the 16GB limit.
-If you can buy this in Europe, do that instead, as it's <$250 there right now.
-HP is past due to update this line.
Reviewed By:Sean H.,6/11/2016 10:50:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Habey > Habey BIS-6763 Fanless Intel Core-i3 mini PC with COM/Serial Port

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Difficult to use
Pros: This is a rugged and potentially powerful fanless computer that could be quite useful in a variety of non traditional settings.
Cons: As far as I can tell, there is no support or user community for this product. Calls and emails to Habey have all gone unanswered. An internet search results in a vacuum. There are no drivers listed on their website. The Intel website does not have drivers that are obviously useful for this product though that may change with more investigation.
Other Thoughts: I am in the habit of placing computers in remote and hostile location for monitoring tasks so I was excited to see a fanless rugged computer appear at this price point. The i3 mobile processor also promised better performance than the usual atom processor fare. However, at least under WinXP this has been an exceptionally difficult product to use.
Initially I could not get the product to POST. That was however related to the seating of the memory in its socket which was for me uncomfortably tight. That being resolved, the unit powered on and the BIOS was accessible. Memory, SSD and attached external USB CD drive were recognized. Predictably, WinXP did not find a SATA driver and installation of WinXP required slip streaming the Intel Moble Express Chipset SATA ACHI Controller onto the WinXP installation disc using nLite. It is at this point that I am stalled. There are a number of subsystems that lack drivers and they are predictable. Ethernet, video, SM bus all lack drivers. The standard Intel drivers downloaded off the Intel site do not work here.
I have further contacts out to Habey peding and I will post addendums to this review should I discover drivers that will allow this computer to function. I am planning on continuing to work with this computer for a while longer in hopes if actually getting it to function.

Update to review: 06/11/16. This update may be moot since NewEgg does not seem to be stocking this anymore. However, since there is still nothing out there regarding this PC, I though I would update the interwebs with my experience. Habey now has drivers on their website for WinXP and Win7. The WinXP drivers worked ok but my SSD failed recently and I have tried to update to Win 7 32 bit. The LAN, chipset and audio drivers seem to work but the video drivers cause the system to freeze, not loading the desktop. You can revert to the generic drivers and the system will function but at a low resolution. The motherboard is coded TN-2367M which pull up a similar appearing board on a Chinese website but I could not find any drivers there.
Reviewed By:Derek K.,6/11/2016 4:25:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.