Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > DELL > Dell PowerEdge T20 Mini-tower Server System Intel Pentium G3220, 4GB Memory

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for FreeNAS!
Pros: Great low price, ECC memory, quality case, easy to work with. Compatible with FreeNAS out of the box!
Cons: Only 4 onboard SATA ports (more can be added via PCIe expansion card, so maybe not really a con).
Other Thoughts: This server box is perfect for FreeNAS, I am using 4 x 3TB hard drives on RAIDZ2. Installation and setup was as smooth as it can possibly get, thanks Dell.
Reviewed By:NelsonV,4/9/2014 4:14:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 Ultra Micro Tower Server System Intel Celeron G1610T 2.3GHz 2C/2T 2GB No Hard Drive Operating System None 712317-001

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent home/small office server
Pros: Simple, all-in-one design
Compact form factor
Rugged, high-quality build
Cons: Somewhat noisy
Other Thoughts: This is an EXCELLENT home server. I debated between buying all the individual parts and putting together on my own (like I do with all my PC's), but this little box packs everything you need in a price range that is fantastic.

The noise from the fan is a minor con, not really even that bad. I also added an extra 2 GB of RAM, (kinda expensive RAM, but that's what you get with ECC).

You CAN use the space above the drive cage (normally reserved for a slim optical drive) for an SSD, unlike what was previously stated in another review. You just have to move some cables around.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/9/2014 2:38:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS130 1105E6U Tower Server - 1 x Intel Xeon E3-1225V2 3.2GHz

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buyer Beware!
Pros: It all came to the address I requested
Cons: Horrible system. I have Windows server 2003 installed. All sorts of problems. While initializing RAID 1 drives, a continuous beep occurs and continues until power is cut. There is no reference in any lenovo help as to the cause (never states a continuous beep is a possibility). I have emailed Lenovo 3 times and never once even heard back. I have posted on their help forums, no reply. This is an appalling product, and should be avoided at all costs!
Reviewed By:N/A,4/8/2014 10:08:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Core i3-4130 3.4GHz 4GB No Hard Drive Operating System None 70A4000HUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far, great...
Pros: Got this from Newegg Marketplace. Results atypical, your experience may vary.

Dirt simple to set up. I'm not really a "server guy" and this wasn't any kind of a challenge.

* Grab a HDD (didn't setup RAID, this system is primarily for me to Train for MCSE 2012),
* Get a copy of Windows Server (Hint: College student? Check out Dreamspark.com. With proof of attendance to a college, you can get a 5-user copy of Windows Server 2012 R2 for free)
* Set up the BIOS (Press F1). No drivers needed (base install covers all the bases for one hard drive).
* I have the system set up for RDP, so there was no need for a KVM once it's configured and running. Use your Windows Vista/7/8 system, dial in with RDP, and have fun!


Points that other reviewers made: 1) (for me, anyway) all of the SATA Cables for each bay came preinstalled (enough for 2 drives, with the cables channeled down to the case so they're not all over the place.) If you get a marketplace system, understand it's not sold directly by Newegg, so there may be variances. 2) Having a PCI-E x16 slot running at x8 speed isn't a bad thing for a server. It's a bad thing for gamers. This isn't meant to be a Desktop computer. Please don't use it for one. 3) Memory is picky with servers, always has been. 4) Again, what use does a Server system have for Sleep, when it's supposed to be running for background services? If you're concerned about your monitor, set that to shut off in 10 minutes. 5) Windows Server 2003 is going to have architectural differences (especially if you're using 32-bit on this 64-bit system), so it may not run very well (also: Really? Why 2003?) Finally, 6) short of Newegg's policies, don't expect Lenovo to support you short of hardware failure. If you're having software problems, I feel bad for you son... (guess the rest of the delivery.)
Cons: So far none. Once I'm done with MCSE, I'm going to set this up to make a private web/email server for my family to make use of. If I can manage to find a cheap enough SAS Controller and exterior chassis, I might build a RAID on the system for more space, but it's not a pressing issue just yet.

I had to hit the front LED's with electrical tape, as this is running in my bedroom and the lights are bright. For a 24-hour system, the lights are bright enough to keep someone light sensitive awake (not the worse, but bright enough.) This is more of a style-points issue, and not worth dropping an egg over.

Finally: Windows Server 2012's color scheme sucks (cerulean blue/cyan hurts the eyes.) Fortunately this can be fixed: Server Manager > Manage > head to Services, choose Desktop Enhancements. Adds some stripped back Windows 8 components, allowing you to change colors for the windows as well as the Modern UI elements. Also, not a con, since for the same as above, this is a style-points issue, and second, WS2012 doesn't come with the server, so you are your own tech support. That's how it is.
Reviewed By:Uninventive,4/5/2014 1:16:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 Ultra Micro Tower Server System Intel Celeron G1610T 2.3GHz 2C/2T 2GB No Hard Drive Operating System None 712317-001

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Home Server
Pros: This is a good looking well built MicroServer – definitely a step up from the G7 N54L (which is also a wonderful & versatile box in itself).
I’ve found it to be an excellent learning tool even in it’s stock condition and if your adventurous you can really enhance the capabilities of this Gen8 MicroServer many fold.
So far I’ve run Server 2012 on it as well as Windows Home Server 2011 in several different configurations – AHCI and RAID on the B120i and RAID on the P222.
Cons: None. Wish I had another.
Other Thoughts: This Machine is easy to upgrade/mod.

Since October 2013 I have:
Upgraded the RAM with Kingston 16GB KVR1333D3E9SK2/16G (see my review over there) that I had been running in my N40L

Upgraded the CPU to a Zeon E3-1265L V2 (very nice!)

Attached a SFF-8087 breakout cable to the onboard mini-SAS port (get a Forward cable – like what you would get for a RR2720) of the System Board (disconnecting the HP mini-SAS connector to goes to the 4 Drive cage first)

Added a Schoondoggy Drive Mount (SDM) so that I could add an additional 2*2.5” WD 1TB drives in the open space inside next to the PSU (attached to Ports 3 & 4 of the B120i).

Added two SSD’s in the ODD space to use as my OS (attached to Ports 1 & 2 of the B120i)

Added a P222 to drive the 4 bay drive cage via the HP mini-SAS connector that had been plugged into the System Board

I love working with this Machine! Thanks Newegg for the great deal too!
Reviewed By:John S.,3/31/2014 3:56:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 Ultra Micro Tower Server System Intel Celeron G1610T 2.3GHz 2C/2T 2GB No Hard Drive Operating System None 712317-001

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Well done!
Pros: Great build quality.
Easy to upgrade RAM and CPU.
Works well with VMWare ESXi.
Cons: As long as you do not plan to use VT-D on the Sata controller, it's all going well.
The CPU heatsink is not of a standard format so it is not easy to replace it with a larger one. The server comes with a passive 35Watts TDP heat sink. Still, I'm currently using a Xeon 1240 v2 and everything's ok.
Other Thoughts: This is a great unit for a home lab or small enterprise. It is well built and easy to upgrade. I would just recommend not trying to use that unit as both a virtual machines server and a NAS. I tried for weeks and it's really not easy to do (if even possible)!
Reviewed By:frankyboy,3/30/2014 10:19:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant G7 N54L MicroServer Server System AMD Turion II Model Neo N54L 2GB 250GB LFF Operating System None 704941-001

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Little workhorse
Pros: Great little server. I currently have it as a WHS box providing backups, but only because I had an unused license. I would probably either roll it with FreeNAS or unRAID for backup purposes.
Cons: Doesn't come with more memory out of the box.
Other Thoughts: Love how it can run ESXi. The processor isn't all that beefy (i.e., no video transcoding), but for fileserver / devserver duties, this thing is awesome.
Reviewed By:Jaime M,3/25/2014 5:15:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB No Hard Drive Operating System None 70A4001LUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Value
Pros: Excellent equipment for the price. This is my 2nd one that I've purchased. Great server for smaller networks (<15 workstations).
Cons: n/a
Reviewed By:DollarBill$$,3/24/2014 5:54:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Core i3-4130 3.4GHz 4GB No Hard Drive Operating System None 70A4000HUX

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 unprofessional
Pros: Intel Core i3-4130 3.4GHz
Drivers for Windows 7, 8.1, (DESKTOP OS) and Server 2012r2 (SERVER OS).
Cons: Technical Support rep should look for another job - inherently dishonest - multiple times.

USB 3.0 drivers cause BSOD.

Primary GPU card slot advertised as 1 x PCIe GEN3: HH/FL x16 mechanical, x16 electrical but is both confirmed in windows and linux as 1 x PCIe GEN2: HH/FL x16 mechanical, x08 electrical.

Website states "ThinkServer TS140 – an enterprise-class tower server." This is false. As you may notice in the pictures provided by NewEgg the Blue Plastic Mounting Bracket for the HDD's is an indicator as stated by the Lenovo rep as a system unit that does NOT support Hot swapping and/or hot plugging. This is unacceptable.
Their ThinkServer-TS140-Datasheet.pdf states "A comprehensive options, services and NAS storage portfolio...". Network-attached storage (NAS) and RAID are synonymous. Wiki states "For example, computer RAID disk arrays allow a faulty disk to be hot-swapped for a new one...".

Their is an issue with the BIOS where the multiple monitor capability does not work properly in 'AUTO' mode.

Lenovo did not anticipate that even though they advertise the TS140 as a SERVER it is technically a WORKSTATION since drivers for both DESKTOP OS and SERVER OS are provided.

If you desire to use the SERVER as a WORKSTATION you will NOT be able to put the computer to sleep since Lenovo has disabled it.
Other Thoughts: i am so disgusted with the Technical Support Rep of Lenovo that i'll just keep my other thoughts to myself.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/23/2014 1:22:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
2 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Habey > Habey BIS-6761 Fanless Intel Celeron 857 1.20GHz with COM/Serial Port

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't boot non-windows
Pros: Silent / expandable via mini pci-e
Cons: Won't boot GPT partitions, Wont boot Grub, no ubuntu, no smoothwall

No response from support when asking how to disable secure boot.
Other Thoughts: I have a feeling that either UEFI or secure boot is the problem, but their support alias has not responded to any inquiries at all.
Manufacturer Response:Sorry about that. Some time the email might get lost on the way. Can you please contact us at 909-594-7600 x 107 to talk to our support? We will try our best to help you on your issue. According to our experience, most issues can be fixed through trouble shooting.

Reviewed By:J.P.,3/22/2014 10:42:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau