Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Core i3-4130 3.4GHz 4GB 70A4000HUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent WHS
Pros: Inexpensive and well built
Cons: Only 2 of the 4 3.5" bays are easily accessible for hard drive installation.
Other Thoughts: This is really designed as an entry level server case, not an enterprise server. However the WHS software was not on the accepted software list, it loaded just fine and works wonderful!
Reviewed By:Busch,11/21/2014 12:48:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant DL320s Rack Server System Dual Core E3070 2.66Ghz 2 x 1GB HDD 442137-B21

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 My Review
Pros: Low cost, lots of storage capacity, was able to install Windows Storage Server 2012r2 no problems (2 drivers needed to download from HP - HP iLO drivers), nice array controller, extra power supplies easy to find and cheap
Cons: HP Gen1 technology a bit dated
LOUD (think "jet engine", but this is true of most older HP Proliant servers)
doesn't come with array controller battery
Warranty NOT via HP - Can't get Service Pack download without service contract, but you can get all the needed drivers
Other Thoughts: For the price, this is hard to beat if you need a storage server. I wish I would have got the one with more ECC memory after seeing it listed for only $20 more. The array battery is easy to find, as well as the extra power supplies. Would have given 5 stars if it came with the array battery.
Reviewed By:RonM,11/21/2014 5:26:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > DELL > Dell PowerEdge T20 Mini-tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225, 4GB Memory, 1TB HDD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid server at a good price
Pros: Decent price. Easy to use design. Very quiet. Once you load it up you can forget about it. Worked right out of the box with FreeNAS.
Cons: It would be nice if it had space for more drives.
Other Thoughts: I've been running FreeNAS on this machine for about 4 months and I couldn't be happier. I'm in a small business environment. I was previously using a WD World Book integrated NAS, and it gave me nothing but problems. This new machine has just run quietly in the closet and provided me with cloud storage I control (using BTSync) and reliable (and fast) shares.
Reviewed By:Steve C,11/15/2014 5:12:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer G7 N54L 1P 4GB-U Non-hot Plug SATA 150W PS Server (744900-001)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor Suppor
Pros: None
Cons: HP requires you have an active Care Package in order to download firmware or bios updates.

The Gen 7s have an issue loading Microsoft Server 2012 R2 because of hardware instability caused by the embedded NIC.

If your goal is to use Server 2012 on this ensure you update the bios prior to your 1 year warranty expiring. And don't plan on doing anything that requires updates after it it has expired. A new care pack costs double what I paid for the server initially.
Reviewed By:David T,11/11/2014 12:01:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Core i3-4130 3.4GHz 4GB 70A4000HUX

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Plenty Good
Pros: * Inexpensive
* Quiet
* Low-power consumption
* More powerful than the AMD Turion 2.2GHz it replaced
* Adequate drive accomodations
Cons: Not as well engineered as the HP Proliant Microserver line
Other Thoughts: Bought this for my new video server. I originally used an HP Proliant N45L, then upgraded to an N54L last year. I loved the design of those machines, but was looking for a little more horsepower. This TS140 fit the bill nicely. It runs Win 7 Pro 64-bit with Windows Media Center, and a Ceton infiniTV-4 card. It is noticeably snappier than the previous machines. The 4GB RAM seems adequate, but I am going to add another 4GB RAM just because. The OS runs off a Crucial 128GB SSD, and the storage is via twin WD Red NAS 3TB drives. Very nice!
Reviewed By:johneed,11/10/2014 11:04:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant DL360 G5 Rack Server System (B-grade Scratch and Dent) 2 x (Intel Xeon 5160 3.0GHz 2C/2T) 8GB 4 x 72GB 10000RPM 2.5" SAS RCHPDL360-G5-N2

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Exactly what I needed
Pros: Everything worked as it should. Great server to lab on. If purchased new 5 years ago this sever would have cost 3500.00 to 4500.00 there about.
Cons: Only problem was dead CMOS battery.. Which would screw up VM's due to RBSU reset.
Other Thoughts: Every time the server was shut down completely it would lose RBSU settings. Replaced with fresh battery and all is good. I know it is B Stock.. But still should have been checked by reseller. Taking 2 stars for bad QA.
Reviewed By:SETH M.,11/9/2014 7:53:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Core i3-4130 3.4GHz 4GB 70A4000HUX

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 BAD
Pros: non - compared to all the others
MY main mistake is buying one.

PRIMARY DATA - NOT disclosed
Cons: Firm WARE installed
Check BIOS , every crucial item has a id code
Bios limits you
NOTE: the Firmware is a chip installed on the motherboard
NO WAY TO CHANGE
CPU cannot be changed
Other Thoughts: Within a week, I lost he ability to access ,the internet
Made in china, , no support
Reviewed By:Jim,11/7/2014 5:37:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > DELL > Dell PowerEdge T20 Mini-tower Server System Intel Pentium G3220, 4GB Memory

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple, yet fast enough
Pros: Low profile.
Attractive bezel.
Intel chipset.
UEFI.
Quiet.
Cool.
Fast
Cons: Longer than appears in the photos.

Only one NIC.

The bottom bay for the storage drive may be a bit too low.
Other Thoughts: Installed this in a network environment of 5- users. Installed Windows Server 2012 on a Samsung 840 Pro SSD and it is fast. Very good value for the price. I venture to say that with more RAM, on a Gigabit network, this machien could handle 25 concurrent users.

I suspect this machine would be ideal for LAMP, VOIP, and/or firewall appliances.

It would be great if it were a bit shorter in length and/or slimmer in width.

If you are looking for an inexpensive, simple, value server, get this. You'll simply need a storage drive (HDD or SSD) and you'll be all set. You won't be disappointed.

By the way, an optical drive is not included.
Reviewed By:Adolfo,10/24/2014 6:25:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > ASRock > ASRock Rack Server System Intel Avoton C2750 Octa Core 12 Bay 3.5" SATA HDD 1U12LW-C2750

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Dense ZFS server
Pros: 1) This is 12 HDDs in 1U density.
Put this into perspective: usual 24HDD / 4U = 6 HDD/U, more elaborate Supermicro's (drives on both sides) 36HDD / 4U = 9 HDD/U, and with mere Supermicro's expander (drives on both sides) 45HDD / 4U = 11.25 HDD/U.
2) There is 1 CPU and a network controller for 12 HDDs, keeping ratio cpu to hdd higher than 4U with 60 HDDs in a box, and may be on par with 24 HDD 4U with powerfull/expensive cpu.
3) All parts are standard: flex-ATX PSU, mini-ITX motherboard. It is a high HDD density mobo with STANDARD parts! True wimpy storage server.
4) With half-height PCIe card (LSI HBA with two SFF-8087), two SSDs can be placed on the side, so as to be hot swappable (one of these is ZFS cache, and needs an option for potential hot swap in the future. This makes a ZFS system with 12 data HDDs, 1 cache SSD, and 1 root SSD.
Cons: 1) Marwell controller. There has been reported at least two issues in FreeBSD with Marwell: no proper hot-plug and instability under load.
This requires a SAS card. Straight HBA from LSI does the job.
So, one needs a card and SAS cables (mind the legth, as this is a long mobo).
2) 250W sounds slightly too low for 12 HDDs. IF drives spin up at the same time, that is a peak current draw, and it will take 250W leaving nothing for cpu.
Luckily, this is a standard flex-ATX PSU, and 400W models can be found for sale.
3) There is no settings in BIOS about spinning up drives, like in Supermicro's MB, or even in LSI SAS cards. Without setting drives to spin up one-by-one, how one can be sure about power consumption at the start?
4) There is a setting in MB to spin down drives, when happen to be not in use. You may not want such behaviour, so disable it.
5) I'd love to have hardware jumper on a motherboard to disable BMC.
Other Thoughts: I had initially in mind and cost calculation a system with Xeon E3, 24 HDDs in 4U. Two of these ASRock servers provide the same number of drives, more compute power per HDD, more RAM and SSD cache per HDD, all in 2U, and for the same money!

I should've given 4 eggs, but I'll add 1 more to counter-act other guy's review, as he completely missed that with SAS card in each server, he would've had a cost effective stack of 30 Hardoop HDFS servers. This extra cost is nothing in comparison to the cost of 360 HDDs. His sloppiness in this judgement will cost his employer either extra rack, or extra fansy hardware, or both.

The other thought is that it would be nice to see just this lovely 12 HDD in 1U case for sale. Then one may put some Xeon E3 on mini-ITX, proper PSU, tailoring server perfectly for ones needs. It is possible as all parts are maid standard!
Reviewed By:ZFS guy,10/17/2014 6:12:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Avatar > Avatar Pedestal Tower Workstation System Intel Pentium G3220 3.0GHz 4GB RAM 1TB HDD 7200RPM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great PC
Pros: I am very happy with the purchase of this unit. I saw it pop up on a deal site for a great price after MIR and I couldn’t be happier with the purchase. The unit came with an MSI B85M-P33 motherboard and a Western Digital hard drive. The build quality is very high in my opinion. All cables were properly routed and zip-tied and the interior was very clean. I would definitely buy an Avatar product again!!
Cons: Case and power supply are cheaply made. The power supply should last a while however as the watt draw for this unit was very low.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely buy an Avatar product again!!
Reviewed By:N/A,10/8/2014 6:40:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.