Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB 70A4001LUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This thing rocks!
Pros: Intel Xeon processor, lots of ram (capable), plenty of space for HDDs and SSDs, FAST for our uses.
Cons: Needs more space for HDD's.
Other Thoughts: We are a small business and needed a backup server to sync all files from our old server to this one. I WISH we had two of these things! It's so fast. Granted, we are not a high-traffic facility, but if you are a small business, this would be a great choice.

We run Linux and put /root and /swap on an SSD and /home on the 3 HDD's in RAID 5. The read/write is plenty fast and we have been very satisfied with it's performance and stability.

I would love to have this thing at my house running as my home media server!!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 3:52:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant DL380 G5 Rack Server System (B-grade Scratch and Dent) 2 x (Intel Xeon 5160 3.0GHz 2C/2T) 16GB DDR2 667 4 x 72GB RCHPDL380-G5-N5

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wow
Pros: HP Quality
Cons: None other than I should have ordered more of them.
Other Thoughts: Can't beat this for the money. I went all over the case and cannot find any dents. Some scratches from it being mounted/dismounted but that's normal wear. 2 dual cores might not meet some folks needs.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 9:30:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML110 G7 Server System Intel Xeon E3-1240 3.3GHz 4C/8T 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 No Hard Drive 656766-S01

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great entry level server
Pros: Inexpensive, built for 24x7 uptime and reliability, easy to configure. I use these for small office server needs with RAID 0 configuration.
Cons: can't think of any
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2015 7:08:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB 70A4001LUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best money I've Spent
Pros: This is the best bang for the buck you'll find. I run a home based web server hosting 25-30 websites and 2 full time minecraft servers all on 24 gigs of ram. Installed a 256gig SSD

I'm running Linux Lite a version based on Debian 8 and run the LAMP stack and a firewall as well as email server. This machine boots in 3 seconds.

I use Image for linux for all my backups https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/downloads-image-for-linux.htm

I will be purchasing another one of these servers just to have for future use.
It's very well built and super quiet and runs very cool

If you've got the cash pick one up, maybe pick up a couple. If you need something reliable... this is it
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2015 7:05:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > DELL > Dell PowerEdge T20 Mini-tower Server System Intel Pentium G3220, 4GB Memory

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good deal
Pros: can't build anything that is geared strictly to server usage this inexpensive. Has all the right bios features for a small server not found on regular desktops
Cons: had to mount 500g drives upside down. the quick-mount system was not well-designed.
Other Thoughts: I would buy it again if I could repeat the opportunity.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/19/2015 6:34:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB DDR3 1600 1 x 500GB 7200RPM 3.5" 70A4001MUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice quiet server box
Pros: Price: Good deal for a case, PS, Xeon CPU and mobo plus the 4GB of ECC ram.
Quiet: Although it comes with multiple fans, they are very quiet during normal operation. HDs also have screwless soft plastic sleds that keep noise down and install easily.
RAID: Supports Intel RST. I was able to migrate an existing RAID 1 array (mirror) to this server by just setting the BIOS SATA to RAID and plugging them in.
Current I/O: USB 3.0 and SATA 3 (6 Gbps)
Compatible: Runs Windows 8.1 just fine, expanded RAM to 16GB (4 slots of 4GB) at auction prices, ready for VM work.
Support: BIOS update available at Lenovo worked flawlessly
Cons: BIOS is not setup for gamers (no OC...), onboard video shares RAM, need to add RAM.
Limited Expansion: Only 3 HD slots (I set mine up with 120GB boot SSD, pair of WD Black drives for RAID 1), 4 SATA (1 used by CD/DVD ROM which is a laptop style drive).
To upgrade PSU, requires 20/24 pin to 14 pin adapter (available elsewhere)
Other Thoughts: I do not play video games on this machine, and it is not intended for that purpose. I hate the 1U servers because the tiny high speed fans sound like squirrels fighting.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/16/2015 4:03:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB 70A4001LUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Linux workstation
Pros: Excellent CPU, quiet, adequate built-in graphics (I'm not a gamer), works perfectly with Linux (Fedora 21 and 22), supports 3 monitors, accepts ECC or non-ECC memory (including mixing). *Excellent* value.
Cons: Optical drive is read-only (DVD-ROM), there are only 2 3.5" bays.
Other Thoughts: I've had this for about 6 months, and I'm *very* happy with it. 4 GB RAM isn't enough for me, so I bought two 8 GB sticks of non-ECC RAM, and I bought a 1 TB Seagate hybrid drive for storage. I couldn't be happier.

I see one of the negative reviews is a warning about the NIC under Linux—I have never had a problem. Maybe the other reviewer is using an Ubuntu LTS or something (i.e., an old kernel with outdated drivers), but with Fedora 21 and 22 it has been highly stable. If you're looking for a good Linux workstation I highly recommend this.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/16/2015 3:05:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS440 70AQ000XUX 5U Tower Server - 1 x Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.20 GHz

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good 2nd machine but obsolete.
Pros: Can access while turned off. Great hot swaps. Using F12 key very easy multiple boots. Is an Xeon processor & Reasonably fast and snappy. Plenty of room for further hard drives over 4 it is set up for if you overcome PSU issues.
Cons: Obsolete DDR3 Mem. Obsolete E3 CPU and the weakest one with no hyperthreading. The lines off the PSU do not allow expansion or an advanced Video Card so you have to tinker. Only SAS 6gb/s instead of the new 12gb/s. O.K. for second machine. Make first an E5 costing about $1000.
Other Thoughts: I bought mine elsewhere for $300 as they are a glut on Lenovo's inventory as they become more obsolete. Do not over pay. Price out on Newegg an E5 with similar power CPU and SuperMircro keyboard about $1000.Then you get hyperthreading, DDR4 memory and 12 gb/s SAS.
i.e. the cutting edge not last decade's product.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/16/2015 8:21:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > DELL > Dell PowerEdge T20 Mini-tower Server System Intel Pentium G3220, 4GB Memory

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little machine
Pros: Quiet, low power, easy drive install, fast enough, Intel server north bridge, ECC memory. Intel on-board RAID. Server 2012 R2 installed fine. Intel on-board NIC.
Cons: Lacking full size optical bay.
Other Thoughts: I have the Pentium 3ghz version procured elsewhere. Using two Western Digital Red 3 TB drives in RAID 1. Idles at 20 watts and goes to 24 watts when writing data to the server.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/16/2015 7:12:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB DDR3 1600 1 x 500GB 7200RPM 3.5" 70A4001MUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome for small business server or home workstation/Lab server
Pros: Server is a a perfect blend of functionality, power and cost. The standard CPU in there is more than enough for most workloads, I updated my specs to :

Xeon E3-1276 v3 (using this for plex so more threads is better)
32gb NON ECC RAM ( this can use non ecc, just cant mix with the current stick in there)
2x 4tb hdd raid 1 (movies and file shares)
1*500gb ssd (for my Hyper-V lab)
Full support for Server 2008/2012/2012R2
Cons: None really, this is a hell of a deal
Other Thoughts: I used to have a raid 10 with 4 HDD's, however I determined I never was going to need 8tb of storage (its just personal use at home) and would rather have a super fast test enviroment for VM's (install of linux went from 30-40min to about 10 !) so I swapped out the 2 HDD for an ssd. Not sure what Dennis is talking about. Even with a full load and 4 hdds, I have ZERO issues.

As other's mentioned. This is mean for a Server/Workstation. Those type of workloads dont even require a dedicated GFX card let alone a mid to highend one that consumes 100-200w

For a workstation or server just get it, best deal around !
Reviewed By:N/A,7/16/2015 5:00:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.