Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB 1 x 500GB 7200RPM 3.5" Operating System None 70A4001MUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good server
Pros: Quiet, low power, reasonably fast Xeon chip
Cons: none so far
Other Thoughts: Pretty good little server box
Reviewed By:maccheese4,1/26/2015 9:09:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML350 G9 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E5-2609 v3 8GB None ship standard; includes 6 LFF hard drive blanks 765819-001

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best for Home Server/Small Business
Pros: dont let other reviews fool you. You don't have to buy HP drives. The HD cages use special screws (star) but other than that the Hard drive fits fine... after all they are all standard size of either 3.5" or 2.5".

Been using these servers since G6 and I can't say enough great things about em. Spend a little money on three 6tb hard drives and one 256GB SSD. They all fit great in this server. One of the other things I like about these proliants is they are scalable. Granted you buy HP parts you can scale these servers up to support a lot of different configurations.
Cons: HP Parts can be expensive. If you didn't buy support or ran out of support, replacing components can be very costly.
Other Thoughts: the Motherboard RAM DIMMs are built a lot more sturdy than the G7s. I use this server at home to run Windows Server Essentials and PLEX Media Server and it runs flawlessly. I upgraded memory to 16GB and added a SSD for my OS.
Reviewed By:threedo,1/26/2015 6:42:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Core i3-4130 3.4GHz 4GB 70A4000HUX

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A great choice for specialty needs
Pros: -35W @ idle
-65W @ 100% cpu (this i3 by itself is rated @ 65W, meaning the PSU and motherboard are incredibly efficient)
-Whisper quiet, even while running almost a dozen routers in GNS3
-Front fan duct designed well for keeping the internal drives cool
-Completely tool-less case design
-Best tool-less PCI slot system I've ever seen
-Nicely designed internal drive vibration mounts (not sure why people are complaining about this)
-More USB 3.0 ports than USB 2.0 ports
-Windows Server 2012 runs SMOOOOOOTH as butter with this hardware
-The lack of a hard drive reduces the price, and allows you to get ones you prefer instead of whatever brand they want you to have
Cons: -Tool-less external drive mounts are poorly engineered... just use the screw holes with some thumb screws instead
-COM 2 header does not take standard DB-9 harness connector (not a huge deal, but still)
-No RDIMM ECC memory support (but at this price point, you can't really expect that... at least it does UDIMM ECC)
-Single NIC
-Front USB 3.0 harness header is not a standard connector
-Non-standard power supply connector, but same voltages and pin sizes and typical PSUs. Easy to adapt to an aftermarket unit (and if you think otherwise, you have no business being inside of a computer chassis).
Other Thoughts: If you plan on a 10Gb NIC or running a 12Gb SAS setup, be sure to use the 1st X16 PCIe slot for the best bandwidth. That one is a Gen3 PCIe while the other slots are just Gen2.

Also, I'm really shocked at how many of the one-egg reviews are way out of line, especially the guys using Server 2003 and non-R2 2008. If you value the security of your servers, you'd get smart and upgrade already. Lenovo did you a favor by not supplying drivers for those operating systems. Additionally, if you think this is really an enterprise class server, you should seek another profession. This is designed for specialty tasks and small business needs, not a datacenter. The specs alone should be enough to tell you that.

In closing, this server is perfect for things you would typically see an appliance for, like an IP camera security DVR, a small business database server, or even a firewall/VPN system. This would also be a good light-duty NAS, and also does ok with GNS3 (though I have since changed over to one of the Xeon-E3 models for Cisco training).

Also, these servers are made in Mexico, not China despite what another reviewer said. I guess nobody reads anymore.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/24/2015 11:52:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB 70A4001LUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great machine!
Pros: - Cheap Entry Level Server/Workstation
- Very Quiet
- Small Footprint Mini-ATX
- Motherboard RAID 0/1/5/10
- USB 2.0/3.0
- 4 Drive Bays plus Slim DVD
- Flexibility/Upgradeability
- PCIe 16 slot
Cons: - Placement of front panel USB connector limits video card length
- Limited power supply options w/o using aftermarket adapters 24/20 to 14 pin required
Other Thoughts: The cheapest entry server/workstation I have owned. Previous experience with many Dells, a few HPs, and one Fujitsu. Bought six TS140s so far. 3 x i3-4130s, 2 x e3-1225v3, and 1 x e3-1275v3. They are highly upgradeable: CPU, memory, video, NIC, etc. Case in point...I have have upgraded one machine to e3-1271 v3, and one to i7-4790K. I have a mix of ECC and non-ECC, just not in the same machine. I have 1 x GT640, 1 x GTX 650Ti, 3 x GTX750Ti, and 1 x GTX 760 video (ITX variant). I have 3 x standard 280W PS, 2 x 450W and 1 x 660W PS. As mentioned, aftermarket power supplies require 20/24 pin to 14 pin adapter (~$20). Each of my machines has SSD as OS drive and mix of SSDs/HDDs as data drives. One machine is configured with three SSDs (On-board RAID 5 Data). I have 4 x Win 8.1 Workstations and 2 x Win 8.1/Server 2012 R2 dual boot. No experience with LINUX on these yet. These are really entry level servers that double very well as workstations. Not quite as refined as the brands listed above, but also not as expensive. Not sure I understand the two drive bay commentary...this model supports up to four HDDs/SSDs in addition to the DVD-ROM. You have the option of putting a third drive in the same bay as the DVD-ROM and the option of putting a 4th drive in the HDD adapter tray provided in the second 5.25 bay (you will need SATA cables to go beyond two drives of any flavor. Six machines in use and the only problem has been a case fan replaced under warranty. I agree that customer service leaves a lot to be desired.
Reviewed By:John A,1/24/2015 5:59:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB 70A4001LUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great server for the price!!
Pros: Speed and reliability are among the top pros for me. This server had all of the specs i needed for my customer. The customer was very pleased with everything.
Cons: 4GB or ram was a bit low. I maxed it out at 32 GB and this server was very fast.
Other Thoughts: It is a small server with only 2 drive bays. The RAM will need to be upgraded if you want to run applications such as SQL server and any other serious apps.
Reviewed By:JTK0984,1/20/2015 7:41:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML350 G9 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E5-2609 v3 8GB None ship standard; includes 6 LFF hard drive blanks 765819-001

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 AWFUL
Pros: Looks well built
Cons: Everything requires a special part. The DVD drive has to be a special drive. After buying two drives, I finally found one that fits and now am having a maddening time finding a power cable to connect the drive to the power supply. Oh and speaking of the power supply, no power leads to power the drive exist. I am looking for a cable to connect to molex and so far its been tough. The hard drive have to be from HP so if you don't like that another CON. A friend suggested I buy an HP server and after 1 month of searching the the special parts I REGRET my decision to buy one.

Also I had to slightly bend the DVD drive mounts just to get the drive to it, and its supposed to be the correct drive. The HP site really stinks in my opinion for support.
Reviewed By:Dental Rich,1/20/2015 6:26:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1220V2 3.1GHz 4C/4T 2GB Operating System None 737649-S01

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ProLiant ML10 Server
Pros: Xeon processor, price, product nicely laid out, works great.
Cons: For me none, but I was fine with only one 3.5” HDD mounting point without either mounting a second HDD where the ODD goes or buying HP’s mounting cage. I understand where it would be nice to easily mount two HDDs for a RAID configuration.
Other Thoughts: I was looking for a low cost home server and this fit the bill. I added a HDD and load MS Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials. Everything is working just fine. Hard to beat the price given the same Xeon processor was list on Newegg for $199.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/19/2015 6:35:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP Workstation Z420 - CMT - 1 x Xeon E5-1620V2 / 3.7 GHz - RAM 8 GB - HDD 500 GB - DVD SuperMulti - Quadro K2000 - GigE - Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Workstation
Pros: - Affordable. Even though this is last year's model, the price point for a low-to-mid Xeon makes this an excellent bargain. It's still faster, spec wise, than most high end i7's regardless.
- Case is in a class of its own. 100% Screwless. Comes with ALL parts you'll need to max out the hard drive and optical bays. Very easy to get at everything. Add the included 600 watt PS and this case was made to be upgraded.
- VERY QUIET. HP put some serious engineering into this case, between the fans, the heatsink, and all the duct work, this thing is seriously quiet (and even still after my upgrades, see below).
- Front and back USB 2 and 3, 1394a, and audio ports
- Lots of Sata ports (both 3Gb/s and 6Gb/s), more hard drives than the chassis can support!
- Includes Memory Duct add on (which is required to go past 8GB)
- Comes with Windows 8.1 install disc plus Win7 recovery discs (and license to use both)
- Stock install (Win7) is nice, if I wasn't replacing the stock drive, I probably wouldn't have reinstalled windows. Nice clean install for once from an OEM.
- 3 year Next Business Day On Site support package included
Cons: - Graphics Card. The graphics card with this system is NOT a gaming card. It is a high end workstation graphics card. Yes it will play *some* games, it is more geared for media (audio/video) editing, not games. However, the card itself is a beautiful card and powers my 24" LEDs nicely. I'm not much of a gamer and more of a A/V person, so this card will work just dandy.
- No eSata. No eSata is included with this model, however, you can buy an add on (from HP direct) that will give you eSata. However, it does not support hotplug (as it just connects to the internal Sata ports)
- USB 3 ports. I really wish HP gave me some more USB 3 ports, especially with the lack of built-in eSata, if I want to add even MORE storage, two in the rear just isn't enough. (there are two in front also..)
- HP BIOS. I was surprised to see that HP uses its stock business line BIOS on such a high end workstation. And as always (to me), HP BIOS leaves alot to be desired. This machine is no exception. I'm mainly upset that you can't 100% disable the onboard sound (as I added a SB Audigy to this machine). Yes it still works, but it would be nice to totally disable the onboard audio all together.
- RAID is Windows only. There's no ROM based utility, the RAID has to be configured within Windows using the Intel Rapid Storage Technology software. Not a big deal, I'm using Windows anyways, and the RAID isn't my primary boot device.
- RAID and SSD setup is tricky. Make sure you've set the BIOS to EFI mode and AHCI + RAID!
- No Windows 7 install disc, only restore discs! (but comes with Windows 8.1 install disc)

My only other Con is more about the picture on newegg. It's incorrect. The picture appears to show the computer with a media bay and a "handle". This model does not come with either. These are add ons from HP. Not a big deal, as I would have removed both anyways due to upgrades.
Other Thoughts: I bought this to replace my ailing 7 year old Core2Duo and boy what an upgrade. My desktop at home has now turned into a quasi server, so I wanted to make sure I could add enough internal storage, and still have the ability play my old games, do some virtualization, run my plex server, and video editing and not have it slow me down. This machine does it all and more.

This machine served me as a base machine, as I added a 512gb SSD, twin 4TB hard drives in RAID 1, upgraded memory to 32GB, and added a Blu-ray burner. This thing just screams now. I'm really questioning why I didn't do this sooner.

Even with my cons (which are mostly nit pics), I am extremely pleased with this workstation. I would highly recommend this to a power user who wants a server-like workstation that can be upgraded.
Reviewed By:Kris H,1/18/2015 7:40:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Core i3-4130 3.4GHz 4GB 70A4000HUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great!!
Pros: I normally order on newegg daily and try to avoid the market place items because of there normal long waits. This item came quickly for a server i was very surprised to see it. The seller did a great job the item came fast and for the price to support raid 0, 1, and 10 i was really surprised. The quality is good and had no issues loading server 2012 r2.
Cons: None so far can't complain about a base i3 system for 200 bucks.
Reviewed By:pitstop,1/16/2015 5:28:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 Ultra Micro Tower Server System Intel Pentium G2020T 2.5GHz 2C/2T 2GB No Hard Drive Operating System None 712318-001

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 1.5yrs as media server
Pros: - form factor (sits next to bed in bedroom)
- quiet (never notice it, but it does sit next to a bigger pc so maybe it just blends its noise in :)
- hdd storage for its size (fits 4!)
Cons: - CPU could be beefier, but suits my purpose
Other Thoughts: After stuffing 4hdds in this this when it arrived, I installed ubuntu server and plex, and I haven't had to physically touch it for as long as I can remember. CPU could be a bit beefier for transcoding multiple video streams, but in my case Plex usually does direct play and there's no transcoding going on. Overall satisfied with this purchase, especially for the use I've gotten out of it.
Reviewed By:Jake,1/14/2015 6:51:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.