Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Avatar > Avatar A-Workstation Mid-Tower ATX Workstation Intel Core i7-4770 3.4 GHz 16GB DDR3 1600 120 GB SDD (boot-up drive) 2 TB SATA III 7200 RPM Windows 7 professional (Media DVD included) WS I7-47K600-SSD

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very Happy but What's the Catch?
Pros: Bought this when I ran numbers of upgrading my 4 GB RAM, i7 (!st Gen) WIN 7 HP Elite desktop with a corrupted WIN7-home. I opted for this because it was upgrade in all matters - I'd get a SSD. 16 GB RAM. faster (current) i7 processor. More storage 2TB (compared to 1TB). I bought it with the intent to upgrade to WIN 10. Did that without a hitch last weekend.
Runs very fast! But it should. I have not loaded any Adobe products or Office software yet. I am looking forward to seeing what it does with a download + rendering in Lightroom while Photoshop and Powerpoint are open and running.
Cons: One thing was prior to upgrade from WIN7 Pro to Win10 Pro, I tried to check if all my drivers were up to date - especially the BioS from Avatar. I thought getting HP to assist customers was tough - this Avatar was tough to find online. Never did find any driver updates or uploads. In fact a Google search mostly returned links about the Cameron movie with the same name.
But ran Windows update without messing with the driver update for WIN7 and it went smoothly and fast.
So other than the fact that AVATAR is not as well-known as HP, I am happy. Oh and I hear the boot SSD (120 GB) might not be big enough but I plan on storing media on the 2TB drive. I hope that WIN 10 and Lightroom CC(2015) fit on the SSD. If so 120 GB would be big enough for me.
Oh and it has no wireless but I use ethernet cable anyway.
Other Thoughts: The price for this Avatar was a bargain compared to what one would pay for a similarly equipped HP workstation. I keep wondering what was the catch?
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 12:00:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB DDR3 1600 1 x 500GB 7200RPM 3.5" 70A4001MUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Small Business Server
Pros: Server-class processor E3-1225v3 and mainboard server-class chipset C226, with the full Intel AMT 9.0 (VPro) support, ECC memory, and built in TPM. Great price as I could not build a comparable E3-12xxV3 Haswell based system with a server mainboard for under $400, because this processor alone cost over $200. No extra mounting HW needed for up to four 3.5" HDD. Six USB 3.0.
Cons: Many roles will need slightly more memory and HDD, but that's not expensive if using third-party. I found NewEgg Item#: N82E16820242042 was an exact match for original OEM supplied 4GB ECC UDIMM module (identical Hynix part number, 1Rx8, ECC Unbuffered 1.35V, DDR3L-1600 CL11-11-11). Third and fourth HDDs are tougher to access/install, which is tradeoff for case being only 14.5" tall. Only one GigEth (Intel) port, so need to add Ethernet expansion card if using for router/firewall role. Couldn't find any BIOS support for SATA/HDD passwords, but not common to use with server role.
Other Thoughts: Best details on this server are found in the "TS140 Platform Specifications and Overview", https://download.lenovo.com/parts/ThinkCentre/TS140_productspecifications.pdf
Very quiet in default BIOS thermal setting - includes front fan, rear fan, and two small HDD tray fans, plus CPU and PS fans.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/16/2015 8:25:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB DDR3 1600 1 x 500GB 7200RPM 3.5" 70A4001MUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for workstations
Pros: Inexpensive systems that are easily upgradable. Super quiet. Build quality is very good. I was quite surprised at how good these machines are for the money.
Cons: Wish the power supply connector was standard, but that is easy enough to get around if ever needed.
Other Thoughts: After adding some RAM and replacing the drive with an SSD, we're using these as workstations at our business continuity site (which gets used every quarter). The E3-1225 Xeon is getting dated, but it works fine for what we're using them for.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/15/2015 5:26:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB 70A4001LUX

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Picky Server
Pros: Quiet, Easy to Configure and work in.
Esxi 6.0 Worked and detected all hardware including built in NIC.
VCenter 6.0 works without a flaw. Running 5 Servers and 2 Workstations on the system without issue. Fantastic Lab Server just watch out for the NIC issue if you need to add another.
Crucial Memory Worked Perfectly:
Crucial 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Unbuffered DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Server Memory Model CT2KIT102472BD160B
Cons: REALLY picky about NIC's.
The following INTEL NIC WILL NOT WORK! System will fail to post
Intel EXPI9402PTBLK. Costing me over $30 to return and restock. Don't make my mistake ONLY two non-Lenovo cards are on the support list:
Intel E1G44HTBLK Server Adapter I340-T2
Intel E1G44HTBLK Server Adapter I340-T4
Other Thoughts: Ordering either the T2 or the T4 will update with my findings.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/14/2015 2:25:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TD340 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E5-2403 v2 70B5001TUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Server for the Money I have ever purchased
Pros: This server was on a shell shocker deal for under $400 with a 2GB SAS drive. The total value of this deal was almost $1000.00 and honestly it would have been worth that price. I purchase this server and have upgraded it to 36GB ram. Still using the single Xeon processor but it is nice to know I have the option to add a second with up to 128GB ram.

I am using this server to run ESXi 6.0 and have had zero issues. I added a USB 3.0 PCI card since the server did not have any no big deal. This server runs several Server 2012 R2 VM's with no issue. This is a great solution to get started with Virtualization because you have the ability to continue to upgrade this machine to a incredible level so it will grow with you.
Cons: No USB 3.0 ports, Have to purchase drive caddies (common), Server ships with SAS controller and I would rather have had SATA for a server at this price point.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/11/2015 11:31:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 E3-1220Lv2 4GB-U B120i LFF 2x1TB Server/S-Buy 783958-S01

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Lots of money for little Value
Pros: Form factor
HP reliability....?
USB 3
GPT partition support
Cons: Fake RAID/ no RAID 5
Non hot swap
Slow boot up, 3-5 minutes
No driver support for RAID card
2 core processor
HP update downgraded the firmware....?
Reviewed By:N/A,8/7/2015 7:51:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB 70A4001LUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This thing rocks!
Pros: Intel Xeon processor, lots of ram (capable), plenty of space for HDDs and SSDs, FAST for our uses.
Cons: Needs more space for HDD's.
Other Thoughts: We are a small business and needed a backup server to sync all files from our old server to this one. I WISH we had two of these things! It's so fast. Granted, we are not a high-traffic facility, but if you are a small business, this would be a great choice.

We run Linux and put /root and /swap on an SSD and /home on the 3 HDD's in RAID 5. The read/write is plenty fast and we have been very satisfied with it's performance and stability.

I would love to have this thing at my house running as my home media server!!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 3:52:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant DL380 G5 Rack Server System (B-grade Scratch and Dent) 2 x (Intel Xeon 5160 3.0GHz 2C/2T) 16GB DDR2 667 4 x 72GB RCHPDL380-G5-N5

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wow
Pros: HP Quality
Cons: None other than I should have ordered more of them.
Other Thoughts: Can't beat this for the money. I went all over the case and cannot find any dents. Some scratches from it being mounted/dismounted but that's normal wear. 2 dual cores might not meet some folks needs.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 9:30:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML110 G7 Server System Intel Xeon E3-1240 3.3GHz 4C/8T 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 No Hard Drive 656766-S01

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great entry level server
Pros: Inexpensive, built for 24x7 uptime and reliability, easy to configure. I use these for small office server needs with RAID 0 configuration.
Cons: can't think of any
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2015 7:08:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB 70A4001LUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best money I've Spent
Pros: This is the best bang for the buck you'll find. I run a home based web server hosting 25-30 websites and 2 full time minecraft servers all on 24 gigs of ram. Installed a 256gig SSD

I'm running Linux Lite a version based on Debian 8 and run the LAMP stack and a firewall as well as email server. This machine boots in 3 seconds.

I use Image for linux for all my backups https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/downloads-image-for-linux.htm

I will be purchasing another one of these servers just to have for future use.
It's very well built and super quiet and runs very cool

If you've got the cash pick one up, maybe pick up a couple. If you need something reliable... this is it
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2015 7:05:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.