Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Tablet PCs > Lenovo > ThinkPad Intel Core 2 Duo 4GB Memory 160GB HDD 12.1" Touchscreen Multimode Tablet PC Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit X61

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Tablet PC not Touch Tablet
Pros: I love it, but this is not an iPad type tablet or the x230 tablet. It only uses the stylus.

A lot of the negative reviews are due to people not understanding what they are purchasing. I gave it 3-stars because it should either be 1-star or 5-stars. Either you will hate it, or you will love it. If you do not need a stylus DO NOT purchase this notebook. Period. Otherwise, it may be for you.

I have purchased two of these models from Newegg but from different vendors. Many of them were originally leased to schools, and some have a lot of wear. They are several years old and at least a generation behind in technology.

If you want a multi-touch screen (iPad-like), purchase something else. If you do not need a touch screen that uses a stylus, purchase something else. If you can afford something more expensive, weigh your options. If you only want a cheap notebook, purchase something else.

If you need a touch (stylus) screen, this is a cheap solution with limitations. It will run MS Office 2010 Student & Home version, and it is especially good for taking notes in OneNote. It could be used for some graphics software, but it is probably underpowered for Photoshop or AutoCAD.

This is not a Netbook. This is a full featured notebook with a touch (stylus) screen, and it can run any applications that any other notebook can run. The only limitation would be that the hardware may be underpowered due to its age.

The hardware is a lower end computer, but for most people it will run all the software applications they need. It is not a gaming machine, but it will run some games. You would need to check the specs. It will run Office and any financial or business software.

This is also a good way to tryout a stylus type notebook without spending a lot of money. I would not pay more than two hundred for one of these, and I caught them on sale for one hundred & seventy.

At the time, a new X230 was well out of my budget, and this was a bargain. I may buy another one of these as a spare before they are all gone.
Cons: The ones I purchased were used and had a lot of wear. For those, the seller did not refurbish them to the original condition. The first one was in fairly good condition, but the second was not as good.

For the second, the hinge is loose, but it still works. The closing latch is not as tight as when new, and I need to fiddle with it to get it to snap shut. The HDD would bootup, but it started having problems due to bad sectors. I saved the return shipping and put it towards an upgraded HDD instead. The battery lasted a few months, but it finally died.

This notebook is not an Open Box or Returned item. It is a highly used item, and this is to help you make an informed decision.

It is also a 4:3 screen ratio. For note taking, this is not the same ratio as a sheet of paper. A 16:10 or 16:9 widescreen is a better ratio.

The stylus can be used as a mouse, but it may take a while to get used to how it works.
Other Thoughts: My stepson had one in high school, and when he showed me what it could do, I wanted one. At the time, they were substantially more than this used one is.

He got his in 2008, and when he graduated, they returned them. The school was leasing the notebooks, and I suspect the company sold them. If so, his was fairly beat-up.

I got him one of the refurbished X61 Tablet for college, and many of his classmates were impressed that he could take notes by hand. When that one got stolen, I had to replace it, and when he got the X230 Tablet, I inherited the X61 Tablet.

It was my stepson's only computer, but it is not my primary computer. I use it for paper replacement applications. It is not as light as some of today's notebooks, but for the price/features, it is light enough.

Mine came with 2Gb of RAM and a 60Gb HDD. I increased the RAM to 4Gb, and I replaced the HDD with a 250Gb HDD. (There is a HDD limit for this notebook, and I think it is 260Gb. I think the motherboard RAM limit is 4Gb.) I also replaced the battery when it went bad. I may replace the closing latch, but that involves more parts than just the latch.

If you replace parts, you need to check the model numbers carefully. There can be substantial differences between the X61 and X61 Tablet. There are also hardware limitations, and it will not recognize RAM or HDD larger than a certain size. This is NOT a Windows X32 vs, X64 issue. It is a motherboard architecture issue.

Dell replacement parts are very expensive. You can get cheaper replacements, but you need to be careful. Some batteries will fit, but they do not have the rubber feet. They may not be as secure. My replacement was longer, but it has more cells for longer life. I used glue to transfer the rubber parts. The battery, RAM, and HDD are easy to replace.

The closing latch and hinge would be more difficult. When purchasing other parts, the sellers do not always understand that there are differences between the X61 and X61 Tablet. They will list a part as compatible for both when it is only for the X61.

If you are going to replace any internal parts, I would get the X61 parts list to compare. Also, you should be skeptical about photos. A lot of times it is a stick photo.

I think there are are some utilities on the Lenovo website. Mine came with a Windows 7 install CD, but it is only for refurbished computers. I do not know if this one comes with the CD, but Microsoft may have one for purchase. You should be able to burn a restore disk.

Windows 7 has Tablet PC utilities. These are very helpful, and there are also OCR features in Office. Other software also may have features to take advantage of the stylus. The "eraser" end works as an eraser.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2014 9:26:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Lenovo > Lenovo Thinkpad X61 12.1" Touchscreen Multimode Tablet With Intel Core 2 Duo L7500 1.60Ghz, 2GB DDR2 SDRAM, 100GB HDD, Intel GMA X3100, Digital Pen, Windows 7 Home 32 Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Really nice but....
Pros: Clean and functional
Cons: Better deals available...and it's through NEWEGG-ergo, I got taken
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome little computer for the price HOWEVER, I see now that Newegg is offering a core 2 duo with 4 gig ram and windows 7 pro for $30 less than what I paid for this thing. BTW-this one shipped with a Centrino vPro. Installed a Samsung SSD and upped the memory and this thing runs almost as good as one of my much more expensive laptops. Not a bad investment until you find out there's more for less. Thanks Newegg.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/26/2014 2:13:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Lenovo > ThinkPad S Series Intel Core i3 3217U 1.8 GHz 4GB Memory 320GB HDD 12.5" Tablet PC Windows 8 Pro 64-bit S230u (33472YU)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice machine - good choice!
Pros: Purchased this for my wife and she absolutely loves it. I have also used the machine several times and am impressed with the overall quality of it. Trained by Lenovo some years ago I have been a fan of their products ever since and so far this machine lives up to my high expectations. Twist feature works great, keyboard is friendly to use, we're both thoroughly impressed with the video quality. Overall this is a great machine!
Cons: It is a little bit sluggish compared to what I'm used to and even she said it's not quite as quick as she would have hoped. I did have to disable the auto-dim as others have noted - Lenovo seriously has to fix that!
Other Thoughts: For the price this is an excellent buy. My wife wanted a convertible PC/Tablet and after a couple of months of painstaking research this one rose to the surface...and we're glad we locked in on it.
Reviewed By:DFW Andy,7/6/2014 7:40:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Lenovo > Lenovo Thinkpad X61 12.1" Touchscreen Multimode Tablet With Intel Core 2 Duo L7500 1.60Ghz, 2GB DDR2 SDRAM, 100GB HDD, Intel GMA X3100, Digital Pen, Windows 7 Home 32 Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Old just gets older
Pros: Cheap.
Cons: Cheap and getting older by the day. First week or two thought it just needed more updates.

Now just shuts down randomly whenever it wants.
Other Thoughts: It's rather upsetting when something shuts down without warning, makes you not even want to turn it on.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2014 12:49:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Lenovo > ThinkPad X Series Intel Core i7 8GB Memory 320GB HDD 12.5" Tablet PC Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit X230t (34383N5)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 All the info not listed
Pros: With a few upgrades this is one of the most powerful computer in its class. It has a super processor and is very user friendly in terms of upgrades (16 GB RAM, SSD, etc.)

Lenovo support has been really great so far.

The touch and pen features are nice and the build quality seems good.
Cons: This computer does NOT come with the following:
- Webcam
- any Bluetooth capability
- Fingerprint reader
- despite not having webcam, it has the 2x2 wireless card, not the 3x3
- Backlit keyboard

Additionally, it comes with a strange Army Golden Master version of Windows which crashed (for me) before it was even set up and would not boot after that, causing me to have to order recovery media from Lenovo (NewEgg only offered a computer with no guarantees about Windows).

The recovery process was not hard but it was annoying. I do not have any problems with the machine at this time (about 2 weeks into ownership) and the price was pretty good (not amazing but good)

The screen on this thing isn't great for any sort of media intense experience - fine for school/office use.

Mostly, lack of Bluetooth and webcam were just unforeseen bummers - and to a lesser extent, the fingerprint scanner too.
Other Thoughts: The computer has the multi-touch screen, not the outdoor screen. It DOES come with the digitizer pen

For any who are looking at this computer now, think hard about whether it is what you really want. As is, it is not a future proof computer but with a few hundred bucks in upgrades, it is a great machine. For me it was a great option.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/27/2014 3:15:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Lenovo > Lenovo Thinkpad X61 12.1" Touchscreen Multimode Tablet With Intel Core 2 Duo L7500 1.60Ghz, 2GB DDR2 SDRAM, 100GB HDD, Intel GMA X3100, Digital Pen, Windows 7 Home 32 Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Great laptop for the money, and the touch screen function takes a bit to get used to using a stylist but is smooth. The transition from laptop to tablet is simple.
Cons: First one came with a DOA battery, after a RMA the new one had no battery issues so far (besides arriving with <5% charge). Only additional complaint is the hinge for the screen, the cover seems to be loose I'll probably pull it apart and see if its a loose screw, it doesnt effect the screen rotation or support more of a visual issue.
Other Thoughts: If you need a laptop quickly I would look at another product, given 3 of the reviewers have had issues with DOA batteries, maybe Newegg or their reseller have fixed this issue, but it was frustrating receiving a defective product. The keyboard was definitely replaced, although the TrackPiont was the original
Reviewed By:Eric C,6/26/2014 6:17:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Hewlett-Packard > HP 2740P 12.1" Touchscreen Laptop Rotating Display Tablet PC Intel Core i5 2.40Ghz, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 160GB HDD, Webcam, Firewire, Digital Pen (Stylus), Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Laptop once all Set-Up
Pros: *Touchscreen
*2.0mp webcam (most laptops these days include 1.3mp webcam)
*Caps and Number Lock keys have light indicators to let you know when their on or off
*Energy Star Certified
*Turns into a tablet
*Very fast! Intel i5 first gen and 4gb ram is good for photoshop, word, and watching movies on youtube. Good Laptop for school.
*$309 after taxes, fairly cheap even though this laptop is almost 4 and 1/2 years old.
*You buy a add on which you can attach to the bottom of the laptop to have a dvd/cd burner/player. Also another add on is available which extends the laptop's battery anywhere between 8 hours or 11 hours.
Cons: Worst part about this laptop was that out of the box the Wireless Internet, Touchscreen and even Windows 7 did not work properly. I had to connect to the internet through an Ethernet port (wired connection), then verify that Windows 7 was genuine, and then download the drivers from HP's official website. A bit too much work, but worth it in the end, as it is a decent laptop.
*Something somewhat falsely advertised was the backlit keyboard. It is not backlit like newer laptops, this laptop just has a mini light that pops out which shines light at the keyboard. Not bad, but still not all that great.
*The battery life is decent. A little under 4 hours for browsing on full brightness. Should have a dvd/cd drive built-in if it gives that kind of battery life.
*Touchpad is a bit small.
*Intel i5 yes, but it is the first generation one, so I kind of feel ripped off. This may just last me 2 more years max.
Other Thoughts: Overall a decent laptop for the money. But will take maybe an hour for full set-up before proper use. Good for school, but this laptop will slowly become obsolete in my opinion within 2 years.
Reviewed By:Shteeg,6/17/2014 10:30:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Hewlett-Packard > HP 2740P 12.1" Touchscreen Laptop Rotating Display Tablet PC Intel Core i5 2.40Ghz, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 160GB HDD, Webcam, Firewire, Digital Pen (Stylus), Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Ouch - poor
Pros: The basic design and operation is ok.
Cons: The unit is not even a B grade. The reconditioning job was poor. This unit was heavily used and maybe slightly abused. The battery was not up to par for a refurb, the stylus won't pop out of the holder. One of the screen stabilizer pins is missing, so the screen will not stay in place, once in tablet mode. The main lock latch is wonky. Also the O/S had to be installed when I turned the unit on. No problem except I had to spend two hours downloading and installing ALL drivers and service packs. Unit crashed twice on basic install of Windows Seven. Bottom line poor refurb, or unit should not have been sent out for resale to us. New Egg should think of their customers prior to selling less than B grade refurbs.
Other Thoughts: Sorry I ordered this one.
I actually sent back a Lenovo X61 prior.
Bad battery, etc.
Would not buy a refurb from New Egg again.
Reviewed By:Dr.Rico,6/15/2014 5:07:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Lenovo > Lenovo Thinkpad X61 12.1" Touchscreen Multimode Tablet With Intel Core 2 Duo L7500 1.60Ghz, 2GB DDR2 SDRAM, 100GB HDD, Intel GMA X3100, Digital Pen, Windows 7 Home 32 Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Laptop for the price!
Pros: This is a great little laptop for the price. It was clean and in perfect shape. It looks new. Windows 7 runs great even though it only has only 2GB of RAM.
The 100GB hard drive is 7200RPM and it's pretty snappy...
Great for the kids homework and browsing.
Cons: It does NOT have a touchpad... It comes with a TrackPoint which is IBM's old pointer technology. However it is easy to adjust and manipulate.
Other Thoughts: If my memory doesn't fail me, this used to be a $2000.00 laptop. It was like having the Porche of laptops with touch technology in 2007...
Reviewed By:Marcos,6/9/2014 1:19:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Lenovo > Lenovo Thinkpad X61 12.1" Touchscreen Multimode Tablet With Intel Core 2 Duo L7500 1.60Ghz, 2GB DDR2 SDRAM, 100GB HDD, Intel GMA X3100, Digital Pen, Windows 7 Home 32 Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Same as other guy
Pros: Great price for what my sister-in-law needed. Normally I would have recommended a tablet, but she needs to print from this and wireless printing was not an option. She was on a very tight budget and while the tech here is dated, it was by far and away better than what she could have bought for under $200 in the tablet realm. The ability to use this a large touch screen tablet is what caught my eye for what she wanted
Cons: Got it. Plugged in battery and AC cord so I could update W7 while it was charging. EXCEPT, that it didn't charge. Inspected the battery only to find it had a crack in it and it would not charge. Kept getting charge error light blinking. RMA'd it and am waiting for "new" one. I'll get back to you on how it went.
Other Thoughts: Will update
Reviewed By:rkrebs11,5/14/2014 4:44:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau