Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Adaptec > Adaptec Series 7 2274500-R 71605ESinglePCI-Express 3.0 x8 Low Profile SATA / SAS RAID Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Scaling works very well. Runs hot.
Pros: It works a little better than the HighPoint RocketRAID I had that was equivalent. The speeds are a tad faster, but not by much.
Cons: The card runs very hot and will shut down without enough airflow across it. I put the card on the bottom and placed a small fan blowing across the heatsink that runs continuously. There is a fan kit somewhere for it, but I didn't find anywhere to order one besides from China for some reason, but I didn't exhaustively search. I updated to this card for the EUFI boot feature, but cannot get it to work. I was able to partition the drive and format (makes 4 partitions automatically for EUFI) and installed Windows 10, but it won't boot to it for some reason and after a few attempts I gave up. Windows can't repair the boot problem either. I'm guessing I will have to open a tech ticket with Adaptec....
Other Thoughts: It's a good card. Just have airflow for it because the heat builds up and it shuts down after a few minutes. It doesn't take much air blowing across the heatsink to cool it a lot. I would give it a 5, but the specific feature I purchased this card for doesn't seem to work for me. Adaptec said Windows 10 doesn't need additional drivers.
Reviewed By:Sandon A.,7/28/2016 9:43:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HP1-U34F PCI Express 4 Ports External USB 3.0 PCI Express Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works
Pros: 4 USB 3,0 ports which is kinda uncommon.. most have 2.
Cons: None..
Other Thoughts: Another great product.. Thanks Mediasonic.. Got it at a good price..
Reviewed By:Don T.,7/24/2016 8:46:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PEX20212 PCI-Express 2.0 x1 USB 3.0 4 Port USB 3.0 PCI-e 2.0 x1 Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as advertised.
Pros: Low profile bracket included. Works fine in my low profile Dell OptiPlex 580 to give it 4 USB 3.0 connections with Windows 10 and 2 LINUXES. The only spot I had available was in a full length PCI slot and it still fit and works.
Cons: Case width opening is a bit tight. Took some adjustment so the USB 3.0 connectors for various cables would fit through case metal separation slots. Needs a separate PS connector. Be aware you may need another MOLEX power y-adaptor.
Reviewed By:Robert S.,7/24/2016 5:43:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product as I expected was totally easy to set up
Pros: I owned a previous older model for 7 years needed a new one for a new build and was just as I expected install set up was a breeze
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: If on a budget and just building your own system and need a controller card you can not go wrong with this model
Reviewed By:Jose V.,7/22/2016 3:43:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just worked
Pros: - Plugged it into a Dell Precision 690 running Win Server 2012 R2. The Dell's controller recognized only 2TB of a 6TB drive. It showed up as 6TB when cabled to the SYBA. Formatted down to 5.46TB with 64KB allocation size. It just worked.
Cons: - no Cons
Other Thoughts: - Would recommend, definitely.
Reviewed By:Michael L.,7/22/2016 5:04:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Very confusing information
Pros: If you simply need a few extra SATA III ports to add mechanical drives to your machine then you will probably be pleased with this card. With Windows 10 it is plug and play but you don't get the optimum performance from the card. With the Windows 10 default drivers the fastest read speed with a SSD drive that I saw was 393 MBsec measured with ATTO. If you use the Windows 8 Marvel 92XX drivers from the included disk then I saw speeds of 403 MBsec. Using the default SATA III ports on my ASUS Sabertooth X58 board the measured speed was 413 MBsec. The specs for my drive is 540 MBsec read speed and 460 MBsec write speed.
Cons: The user's guide for this controller card indicates that it is a PCI-Express X2 interface that is compatible with the X4, X8, or X16 PCI-Express slots. The card actually requires a PCI-Express 2.0 - X1, X4, X8, or X16 slot. The instruction manual also indicates that you can press the CTRL key plus the M key to activate the RAID utility. This card does not appear to support RAID at all.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this card thinking that it would allow me to see the maximum speed of my SSD drive so I am really disappointed with my purchase. If the user's manual had not stated that it required a X4, X8, or X16 socket then I would not have purchased the card and instead would have opted for the SI-PEX40057 card instead. If you are looking for true SATA III speeds then look at the PEX40057, PEX40062, or PEX40063 instead of this card.

This was my own fault because the listing on NewEgg.com says that this card has a Marvell 88SE9215 controller so I should have known better since that only supports X1. Again to reiterate, if you are simply wanting to add SATA III ports to your machine for mechanical drives and have no desire to establish a RAID array then this is an inexpensive card that will probably fit the bill.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We're sorry for the confusion the title might have had for you. This is indeed a PCI Express x1 slot for version 2.0 slots. We're sorry to hear that you are not reaching the maximum speeds of your SSD. If however you are not constantly moving large files, then we ask that you focus y our attention to the 4K read and write speeds of your SSD, as those are the speeds that matter and are used for giving system the quickness that users go for.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.
- Regards, SYBA CST 20160722

Reviewed By:Virgil B.,7/21/2016 5:50:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40089 PCI-Express 2.0 2-port SATA III, PCI-E, x1, Revision 2.0, (Full & Low Profile); ASMedia Chipset, RAID

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't waste your time
Pros: cheap
Cons: DOA. This part doesn't cost enough to waste my time with an RMA. Should have read more reviews,, as it seems I am far from the only one who got this part DOA. I'll never waste my time with SYBA again.
Other Thoughts: I'm really get sick of this. Lately I have about a 25% DOA/failure in the first month rate with neweg parts.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We're sorry to hear that you had trouble with this controller card. It's concerning to hear that you have a high percentage of DOA items. We ask that you contact our support@sybausa.com in order to figure out what maybe causing your components to not be functioning. Make sure that card the card is properly inserted to the PCI express slot and that the drives attached to the card are initialized through disk management.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.
- Regards, SYBA CST 20160722

Reviewed By:Alexander C.,7/20/2016 2:34:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > LSI > LSI 9300-8i PCI-Express 3.0 SATA / SAS 8-Port SAS3 12Gb/s HBA - Single--Avago Technologies

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Whoa.. IO has never felt better
Pros: NO RAID
Real HBA
PCI Gen 3
Works awesome with Windows Storage Spaces
Cons: cost?
Other Thoughts: I'm using this on my whitebox hypervisor. Since ESX doesn't let you do anything with storage system i decided to use hyper-v and windows storage spaces. My storage space is a combo of ssd and hhd which is called a "tiered pool". With a TP windows puts the "hot" files on SSD and "cold" on HHD. I've also configured each volume with its own SSD write cache (storage space parameter).

Result: Super fast VMs. No disk contention, no exhausted disk caches, no more lengthy disk queues.

This is a great freaken product.
Reviewed By:Rich N.,7/17/2016 4:29:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > STARTECH > StarTech PEXESAT322I PCI-Express x1 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 2 Int/2 Ext SATA Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works as advertised
Pros: Jumpers to select an internal or external SATA port, any two can be active at one time
Cons: not compatible with SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR4M6GNC 4-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier JBOD Tower (no eSATA card bundled) - the purpose for which I purchased it initially
Other Thoughts: N40 server from HP, WHS2011 - one internal disk was seen OK but the external enclosure from SansDigital did not see any disks. Other cards have seen one disk. Seems there is a compatibility issue between the specific module of SD tower listed above and Asmedia 106x chip used in this card
Reviewed By:Luc P.,7/16/2016 8:37:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-SA2PEX-1E1I PCI Express SATA II (3.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as advertised
Pros: Installed in a N40 G7 server with a bracket mod to connect a SanDigital external 4 disk enclosure - SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR4M6GNC 4-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier JBOD Tower (no eSATA card bundled)
Cons: no low profile bracket included, only full bracket, requires mods to use in low profile server
Other Thoughts: No built in drivers into WHS2011 but the bundled driver disk had the right info (SI 3132 chip). N40 mini server from HP
Reviewed By:Luc P.,7/16/2016 8:31:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.