Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40057 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 Low Profile SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 4-ports RAID Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wow
Pros: I did benchmarks running a SSD drive hooked up to SATA II, SATA III with no drivers and SATA III with drivers. Wow is all I can saw with this card. My speeds went from 100k to 500k to 3M megs per second on the read and writes. Use to take 10 min to boot now at 3min total time.
Cons: None I love this card.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/30/2015 8:35:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40057 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 Low Profile SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 4-ports RAID Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed very quickly, never RMA'ed
Pros: It seemed like a dream come true. But it was too good to be true.
Cons: RAIDs were unstable and failed after only a few hours or minutes. Eventually became unusable. I was sick of messing with it so I didn't want a replacement and it was too late to get a refund.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for your dissatisfaction with the quality of this controller card.

Our tech support team is more than happy to provide any information you may need when determining the compatibility and specification of a device.

We are more than happy to provide all of our customers with a prompt exchange whenever a product becomes defective.

SYBA offers an online RMA form, the user can easily fill out the form and submit it for a quick RMA return and exchange. It is SYBA's policy to answer all customer inquiries within 24 hours (M-F)

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 01292015

Reviewed By:N/A,1/27/2015 9:22:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketRAID 620 PCI-Express 2.0 x1 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unusable
Pros: May work fine in a different setting
Cons: Was told by HighPoint RocketRAID tech support over the phone before I bought it that it WOULD add it's 2 STA ports to the BIOS's list of available drive that I can boot to. This is now proven to be incorrect.
Other Thoughts: Must return it now.
Reviewed By:Rich,1/24/2015 8:44:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-VIA-1A2S VIA PCI SATA 1.5G / IDE ATA 133 Combo Controller Card / Supports Raid 0, 1, 0+1, JBOD, non-RAID mode

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great with Windows 7 64-bit
Pros: Works right out of the box. Windows loaded the 64-bit driver automatically. I have Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: I used to have Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit. With that I was able to use an old Maxtor SATA/150 PCI card. Unfortunately there is no 64-bit driver for this old card (yes I looked).

BTW, I have Windows 7 Home Premium Family Pack which has both 32-bit & 64-bit disks.
Reviewed By:MisterEd,1/23/2015 11:16:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketRAID 2721 PCI-Express 2.0 x8 Low Profile SATA / SAS Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad soiftware makes this a bad choice
Pros: I have the 2730 version of this product. This is not even close to being my first highpoint product, but it will be my last. I have been trying to get answers for a month now from highpoint support. They do get back within a couple days, but they seldom say anything relevant to the problems. This controller has had a slew of problems (used with the Highpont EJ340), the latest being that for no reason, it often drops all drives and puts the array offline. The poorly written drivers think the drive is offline after the driver puts the drives to sleep. When it next tries to access the drives the spin up time causes the software to think that the drives are offline and thus marks all drives on a channel offline. If you do get this arra, for whatever reason make sure for raid 5 that there are at least 2 drives on a chelle, or it will be thrown into a multi-day recovery. If you use raid 6, make sure you have at least 3 on a channel. That way you can often just do a rescan to bring the array back online. If that does not work, there is a recovery option that may bring drives back into a normal status w/o the multi day rebuild, but don't count on it because this is not true raid, just poorly written software backe by the worst support imaginable.
Cons: Everything
Reviewed By:N/A,1/23/2015 11:03:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketRAID 2740 PCI-Express 2.0 x16 Low Profile SATA / SAS RAID Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 2700 Series has poorly written drivers
Pros: I have the 2720 version of this product. This is not even close to being my first highpoint product, but it will be my last. I have been trying to get answers for a month now from highpoint support. They do get back within a couple days, but they seldom say anything relevant to the problems. This controller has had a slew of problems (used with the Highpont EJ340), the latest being that for no reason, it often drops all drives and puts the array offline. The poorly written drivers think the drive is offline after the driver puts the drives to sleep. When it next tries to access the drives the spin up time causes the software to think that the drives are offline and thus marks all drives on a channel offline. If you do get this arra, for whatever reason make sure for raid 5 that there are at least 2 drives on a chelle, or it will be thrown into a multi-day recovery. If you use raid 6, make sure you have at least 3 on a channel. That way you can often just do a rescan to bring the array back online. If that does not work, there is a recovery option that may bring drives back into a normal status w/o the multi day rebuild, but don't count on it because this is not true raid, just poorly written software backe by the worst support imaginable.
Cons: Pretty much everything
Reviewed By:Dallas,1/23/2015 11:00:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketRAID 2720SGL PCI-Express 2.0 x8 Low Profile SATA / SAS Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poorly written drivers, bad support.
Pros: This is not even close to being my first highpoint product, but it will be my last. I have been trying to get answers for a month now from highpoint support. They do get back within a couple days, but they seldom say anything relevant to the problems. This controller has had a slew of problems (used with the Highpont EJ340), the latest being that for no reason, it often drops all drives and puts the array offline. The poorly written drivers think the drive is offline after the driver puts the drives to sleep. When it next tries to access the drives the spin up time causes the software to think that the drives are offline and thus marks all drives on a channel offline. If you do get this arra, for whatever reason make sure for raid 5 that there are at least 2 drives on a chelle, or it will be thrown into a multi-day recovery. If you use raid 6, make sure you have at least 3 on a channel. That way you can often just do a rescan to bring the array back online. If that does not work, there is a recovery option that may bring drives back into a normal status w/o the multi day rebuild, but don't count on it because this is not true raid, just poorly written software backe by the worst support imaginable.
Cons: The documentation is poor at best
Other Thoughts: I have had earlier highpoint products that were not this bad.
Reviewed By:DLDB,1/23/2015 10:56:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > LSI > LSI LSI00244 (9201-16i) PCI-Express 2.0 x8 SATA / SAS Host Bus Adapter Card, Single Pack--Avago Technologies

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great!!!
Pros: Works perfect. Been running between 12 to 20 drives on it for about 2 months. Called LSI for info on booting issue and they knew how to fix it in like 30 seconds.
Cons: none yet
Other Thoughts: People are saying that they can't boot from local SATA ports. After I added 8 drives I also had this problem and when I called LSI they talked me thru going in the LSI config and setting it to not look at the LSI controller for the boot and that fixed it right up.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/21/2015 1:54:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PCI40037 SATA II (3.0Gb/s) 1:5 (5x1) Port Multiplier PCI Mounting Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Well, here I am again...
Pros: Not that I can tell
Cons: Too many to tell
Other Thoughts: Don't bother with this card. Buy from somewhere else to get a port multiplier/RAID card from another manufacturer.

I RMA'ed one of these cards almost two years ago. I got a replacement card. I tested it fully, and it tested okay. I set it on my shelf to keep as a spare/replacement. Now I need a replacement. Guess what...the card now will not work. The center red light on the card blinks constantly, and it will not build a RAID of any sort. I've owned the card (starting with the one that this one replaced) for more than the 3 years originally listed as the warranty period, so no RMA for me, regardless of the fact that this card now shows a lifetime warranty on parts. And just what is the labor that carries only a 1 year warranty? I suspect it's a way for the company to get around the lifetime warranty by claiming that some labor has to be performed on the card..

I am very disappointed in the performance of this card, not its performance in a computer but its performance on the shelf waiting to be installed.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for your dissatisfaction with the performance of this port multiplier.

We are more than happy to provide all of our customers with a prompt exchange whenever a product becomes defective.

SYBA offers an online RMA form, the user can easily fill out the form and submit it for a quick RMA return and exchange. It is SYBA's policy to answer all customer inquiries within 24 hours (M-F)

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 01292015

Reviewed By:Bob W,1/21/2015 6:35:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 needed for more drives in a storage server
Pros: Quick and easy install, didn't need the driver disc (good because the server has no optical drive) detected the drives I plugged in quickly and seems to be working rather well.
Cons: none as of yet
Other Thoughts: Good idea for a storage rig to add 4 extra ports.
I'm not playing with RAID until i have the server on a decent UPS first.
Reviewed By:Trylen,1/20/2015 4:21:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.