Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PEX40049 Flex-2-port SATA III 6Gbps PCIe Card, Hard Drive Connectors can be set as External or Internal Ports by Jumpers

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not work
Pros: None
Cons: Doesn't work. It clearly is a non-functional device as detailed below.
Other Thoughts: Product states this, but it has 2 external and 2 internal ports, but you can only use one or the other as they are shared. It is default jumpered internal which makes no sense for an eSATA card IMHO.
The device does not identify itself to Windows. At all. It simply does not show up. What is odd is an attached drive DOES show up, but is unknown since there is no driver for the controller, it's just being passed through dumb. As such, you MUST run the installer mentioned in the pamphlet, because there is no device to update drivers on.
Once you install, you must reboot, which isn't abnormal, but it's not optimal, and most devices don't require that these days.
While the card is then listed in storage controllers, it still does not work given the attached drives are still listed as unknown devices and do not show up in disk management. Other cards work, it's this card not the disk or system.
In picking at the files in the install directory, there is no listed support for server 2012 versions, only 2008. I missed this in the specifications, and this was entirely unexpected. Apparently this card will only work on Win 7 era OS, nothing later, because the hardware is 5 years out of date and they have not written newer drivers.

All around, this thing is junk.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/26/2016 4:27:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PCI40074 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 1:5 (5x1) Internal SATA II Port Multiplier (PM)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Jury Still Out....
Pros: Price
Needed a 5 port multiplier to add more disks for space on a new system for more storage
Cons: Just is still out. I have been unable to get windows 8.1 prof to see all 5 drives. Only sees 1 drive once and a while.
Other Thoughts: I am going to start changing out sata cables to see if this works.
Reviewed By:Ryan A.,9/23/2016 4:39:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PEX20212 PCI-Express 2.0 x1 USB 3.0 4 Port USB 3.0 PCI-e 2.0 x1 Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not VR Capable
Pros: - Okay for adding USB 3.0 ports to an older computer or one that has no ports.
Cons: - Not VR Capable - I bought this for a computer I was building and when I ran VR Ready tests both on Steam and a 2nd party application, both tests I ran said there was known problems and issues with this particular unit and a competitor unit was recommended
Other Thoughts: - In hindsight, if I had known what I know now, I would not have purchased this particular unit.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We're sorry to hear that you had issues with this 4 port usb 3.0 card

Based on the problem you described, it seems you might have driver issues, and the ports were not performing at peak capacity to be used with your VR headset. There are some issues with certain USB 3.0 and 3.1 chipsets on the HTC Vive.

We ask that you please contact our support team to assist you by emailing support@sybausa.com.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.
- Regards, SYBA CST JA 20160926

Reviewed By:Peter W.,9/22/2016 4:22:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40108 4 Port SATA III PCI-e 2.0 x1 Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far so good
Pros: Plug and play with Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, easy install, showed up quickly with 2 sata cables (short, but a nice extra), came with a mini cd of drivers and booklet for install and warranty.
Cons: It MAY have stopped my USB 3 internal port from working, but that would be the motherboard having the pcie and USB 3 running parallel, not this cards issue. I'll have to swap pcie ports to find out if that's the issue.
Other Thoughts: Not running a raid setup, just needed extra ports, which this supplies. Only have media drives plugged in, so speed isn't that necessary, but handles ~8TB from 3 drives and a bluray drive like a champ. Will probably buy another so I can internally install all my drives!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/18/2016 10:44:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PEX20212 PCI-Express 2.0 x1 USB 3.0 4 Port USB 3.0 PCI-e 2.0 x1 Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works when others don't
Pros: Renesas chipset works in Windows Server 2008 R2. Install driver from included CD or download from Syba.
Includes short bracket for small format cases.
Cons: Crosswise orientation of USB ports may cause case slots to interfere with properly inserting some USB cables. Adjust card to center connectors in slot opening before fastening the top mounting screw.
Other Thoughts: Tried several cards in a Windows server but most would only connect at USB 2.0 speeds. This one cut my backup time (to external drive) from five hours to two!
Reviewed By:Donald W.,9/16/2016 7:53:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > LSI > LSI LSI00320 PCI-Express 2.0 x8 Low Profile Ready Nytro WarpDrive BLP4-1600 Application Acceleration Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 wrong catigory?
Pros: from what i gather this is not a raid controller at all and is categorised in the wrong place. and should be under SSD catigory.
this is actually a 1.6TB SSD on a pci express interface which is intended to be used for specific professional applications as a data cache.
Cons: na
Other Thoughts: na
Reviewed By:john m.,9/15/2016 7:35:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PEX40040 PCI-Express 2.0 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Pex40040
Pros: It works
Easy to install
Cons: Benchmarks are showing that if I run my internal ssd off this card the ssd is slower than if I plug the ssd into a sata 2 port on the mobo....bummer
Other Thoughts: I suppose that if you just want to add a port for a hdd the card would be fine but that's not what I bought it for.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

Thank you for your interest in Syba products.

Please verify that you have the following drivers installed for this device.

The drivers can be found here.
http://www.sybausa.com/index.php?route=product/product/download&download_id=467

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.
Regards, Syba CST 302

Reviewed By:Robert I.,9/12/2016 10:06:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent SATA Card!
Pros: -Excellent SATA Card. Adds 4 ports and only takes up 1 slot.
-All ports are real, rather than being port multiplied, or some other shennanigans.
-Installing drivers was a breeze. Just fire up the device manager and point it to the correct INF files. Tested on Win7 x64, Win10 x64, and temporarily on Linux Mint.
-No junkware required. I installed it anyway to check it out, but it works fine without.
-Barely affects POST times.
-Dipped to $25 CAD on sale!
-4K speeds are on-par with my onboard. (very good; a reasonable card for SSDs)
-I am using it for 6TB/8TB HDDs. Copies from one drive to another at maximum HDD performance. I wanted more space for recording and large projects.
Cons: -Can't think of any. Do your research. Only buy it if it meets your needs.
Other Thoughts: -Bought another in case this one fails. Some people reported failures.
-Seems like most low egg reviews are failures to properly research the product. Since I've looked at many RAID controllers, I can tell you that this one actually has rather good/accurate documentation. I'd classify it poor compared to most other PC parts, and atrocious compared to motherboard documentation, but it's very good for RAID controller documentation. (Which is almost never accurate.)
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/8/2016 1:18:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Addonics Technologies > Addonics M2 PCIe SSD - PCIe 3.0 4-Lane Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 3 eggs based on functionality--not price.
Pros: M.2 speeds should allot 3200 MB/s read/writes, with the right SSD. These are a good price.
Cons: I have a limited number of PCI slots. So, I want them all filled up with useful items. I sold this adapter on an EBaysed site, and got another that did the same thing but also had 4 SATA (signal) ports. Guess what? That's 4 more SSDs I can add to my PC.
Other Thoughts: Would not buy, knowing my full options.
Reviewed By:Michael B.,9/7/2016 7:34:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketRAID 2720SGL PCI-Express 2.0 x8 Low Profile SATA / SAS Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Direct from Highpoint support: desktop HDDs may cause this controller to become nonresponsive
Pros: There would be some, but all are negated by cons (example: easy install - negated by the fact that I have to yank it and find another card)
Cons: (direct from support): use of desktop HDDs may cause this controller to become nonresponsive.
Other Thoughts: Per ticket 23879 on Highpoint Global Support system, desktop HDDs may cause this controller to become nonresponsive.

I purchased two of these, and both would become nonresponsive under heavy load. Internal event logs within the card show NO issues. Disk checks within the web gui return NO issues. Array verification within the web gui returns NO issues. But as soon as there's heavy I/O for more than a few minutes, the controller becomes nonresponsive. To clarify what I mean by nonresponsive: Disk IO in the performance monitor suddenly drops precipitously, until it hits absolute zero, at which point the drive becomes unaccessible. Also at this point, trying to communicate with the controller via WebGUI is unsuccessful. It never returns to responsiveness until the PC is rebooted. Once rebooted, there are still NO reports of errors within the Highpoint WebGUI, and even after this verification or disk checks will be successful. However, looking at the windows error log, there are NUMEROUS instances of, "The driver for device \Device\Scsi\272x_1x1 detected a port timeout due to prolonged inactivity. All associated busses were reset in an effort to clear the condition.", alongside several "The device, \Device\Scsi\272x_1x1, did not respond within the timeout period.".

I submitted this issue to highpoint support, hoping for some guidance. Their response, in all it extensive and helpful glory, "As we know that this Toshiba HDD is for desktop environment and it is not suitable for RAID environment."

So. I must take their word for it. If you use a brand new, error free (per the card's own diagnostics) desktop hard drive, in an array that validates just fine (again per the card's own diagnostics), your controller may become unresponsive any time it sees a load.
Reviewed By:Richard S.,9/6/2016 9:31:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.