Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > LSI > LSI MegaRAID SAS 9341-4i (LSI00419) PCI-Express 3.0 x8 Low Profile SATA / SAS High Performance Four-Port 12Gb/s RAID Controller (Single Pack)--Avago Technologies

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 worthless card
Pros: Good specifications, as to what it says it can do, and is support on...

The bios utility is easy to use and powerful. same feel you get in Dell Raid cards.
Cons: doesn't do what it says its capable of...

gets really hot.
Other Thoughts: I have never felt the need to give 1 egg before this one. I have been trying to get this card to work for the last 2 months, to no avail. Its drivers simply refuse to correctly work with any flavor of windows I run with it. whether as a boot volume or even as a secondary disk this card is not recognized by windows. I have tried all of my PCI-e ports, and manually injected drivers into windows, but nothing works. Even the RAID management software doesn't open (poor webconsole). I Really want my money back for this product, I have never seen such a failure, and never buying LSI again.
Reviewed By:macuser89,12/26/2014 2:31:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-219 Silicon Image PCI Express eSata x2 NCQ non-RAID SATA II Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Bloodless Installation, Faultless Operation
Pros: Purchased to supplement my MOBO eSATA controllers which did not support SANS DIGITAL 4 PORT JBOD tower storage enclosure. Installed card into ASROCK Z68, 64 BIT WIN 7 system. There was no need to search internet for suitable drivers, WIN 7 took care of that. Attached tower enclosure with 3 HDD's (2 ea 1 TB, and 1 4 TB) and the system immediately ran correctly without additional keyboard entries or mouse clicks. Will check to see if both eSATA connectors are operational as needed.
Cons: Set up was so error free that I wasted an extra 15 minutes trying to find out if was truly operational by checking Device manager and Storage manager.
Other Thoughts: Reviews by others on this card and the SANS tower enclosure were somewhat mediocre. I will write an addendum to this review if after 6 mos to a year the system falls apart. For now, all is well!
Reviewed By:factfilter,12/24/2014 10:53:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Areca > areca ARC-1882IX-12 PCI-Express 3.0 x8 SATA / SAS 16 Ports 6Gb/s SAS/SATA RAID Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Exceptional card
Pros: This card is fast. I bought this card 4 years ago. Since then my HTPC has been shipped 5 times, reassemble 3 times, I even had a 1 yr period where it and the hard drives were sitting in a box. I just rebuilt my server finally a couple days ago, and after a minor problem (see other thoughts) the RAID came up just as I left it.
Cons: I have a hard time putting any CONS in here because this is a classic example of "you get what you pay for" and not in the typical cheap or negative way. You are buying a professional, high quality device. Not a phone number to call to speak to a "tech guy" that will tell you to update your drivers/firmware/ect.
Other Thoughts: I'm not knocking this product because its not really an defect or flaw, just something to know is a possible issue. I had two builds where I ran into the same issue (albeit 2 yrs apart). The card threw "BIOS Disk not found" errors at POST until I installed the motherboard chipset drivers.

I am going through the features and yes, it is not a typical layout/organization. But just like trying to use a Windows PC after using Apple for 10 years, you have to get use to it.
Reviewed By:Sterikics,12/23/2014 2:12:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > SIIG, Inc > SIIG SC-SA0R11-S1 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 4-Port Hybrid RAID Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Product
Pros: Internal or External SATAIII 6Gbps
SSD Hybrid
PCI-E 2.0
4TB HDD Supported
Hardware Offload
Cons: Manufacture should provide better HDD support information, There are a lot of large disks coming out now, and knowing the limits would be nice for selecting an my future external raid enclosure. "Verified 4TB support" helped me with this build, but won't help me for future uses.
I'll give gladly 5 eggs if better HDD support information is provided
Other Thoughts: Installed into an older LGA 775 that functions as my Microsoft File Server running Server 2008 R2 SP1. Immediately detected my two WD 4TB drives, which are now running in a RAID 0.

Took at 2TB data transfer at near 180~MB/sec without any issues (Note: copy source is an older SATA 1.5gbps RAID 0)

I think I'm going to get a couple of external SATAIII enclosures for this card later on, great find for personal/in-home storage.

Those who still have a CD reader, the CD does have all the needed drivers for Microsoft Visa/7/2008, you can either integrate them in an image or use the GUI installer.
Reviewed By:Richard,12/22/2014 6:40:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketRAID 2720SGL PCI-Express 2.0 x8 Low Profile SATA / SAS Controller Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Driver support
Pros: Very cheep for what you get
Fast controller with a lot of features
BIOS interface is extremely easy to use
Cons: The driver installer that shipped with it did not work. I couldn't even install them manually using device manager. I had to download them from the site and run the 64 bit installer. Maybe it's specific to Windows 8.1 but I didn't check on another OS
Other Thoughts: I'm using this for my PLEX server. 8 drivers in a RAID 5. Performance preferred over redundancy as the entire RAID set will be copied to another build.
Reviewed By:Espartagus,12/22/2014 5:42:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40062 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Windows Drivers Buggy
Pros: I suppose you get what you pay for. This is a very inexpensive SATA controller.
Cons: This card (and perhaps the rest of the Syba family of PCIe SATA controllers) is to be avoided for Windows.

Based on my experience, the card itself is solid but the Windows drivers from Syba are apparently buggy, rendering it unusable for Windows (if you care about the integrity of your data). I would be interested in contrary experiences.

-------

Here’s my analysis:

Relevant components: this card; RED NAS 3TB drives; Supermicro Rangeley MB. Note that drives are always spun up before the start of testing, so this isn’t an issue with spun down drives not responding.

While working in Windows 7 I noticed that occasionally one or more drives attached to this controller would disappear and I’d have to reboot or even reset the PC to get them back. Further investigation revealed that I could make this happen almost at will by using a trivial C program that writes 32 gigabytes of data to a drive (or drives in a Windows software RAID0) on this controller.

I tried this with Windows Server 2012 and Windows Server 2012 R2 with NTFS and ReFS, with and without Storage Spaces, and with and without integrity streams. Same failure all around.

From the above I conclude this isn’t specific to a variant of Windows, a particular filesystem, or software RAID.

If I try the same thing in FreeBSD 9.3 it is rock solid, even after hours of testing.

From this I conclude my PC is sound, the card is sound, the FreeBSD driver is sound.

I switched out this controller for a HighPoint 2720. Ran all the same Windows tests – no problems at all.

So it would appear the Syba Windows drivers are buggy.

-------

There is also a physical problem with this card. The full size bracket that comes with this card is about 3 millimeters taller than other cards I’ve worked with so you may need some adjustment to get it s c r e w e d (the censor software didn't like that word) in –I added washers between the bracket and the case to close the gap.

-------

Needless to say I’ll be returning this item shortly.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for your dissatisfaction with the quality of this controller card.

Please note that the drivers for this card have been verified as stable with Windows OS.

Windows is the only supported platform for Marvell chipsets which is why one is used in this controller.

We would suggest that you update your motherboard/BIOS, and ensure that any system updates have been applied.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 12262014

Reviewed By:Anon,12/22/2014 5:19:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > SIIG, Inc > SIIG SC-SA0N11-S1 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 2-Port Host Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 didn't work w/ my intel mobo
Pros: Fits ok.
Cons: Started booting fine and passing data through external port with no problems. Recognised optical drive and read with no problems.
Could not boot from optical drive, then would not recognise external drive and finally motherboard would not boot with card installed. Tried multiple slots, including an x4.
Contacted support and they said the chipset on my motherboard was causing the problems. SIIG contacted Intel and Intel knows about the problem and says there is no fix for it.
I am using a z87x-d3h mobo, and this is the problem.(?)
Other Thoughts: I did not buy at newegg and obviously I am sending it back.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/22/2014 11:24:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketRAID 640L PCI-Express 2.0 x4 Low Profile SATA RAID Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great controller
Pros: Second HighPoint controller with no issues. Paired with four WD20EFRX 2TB IntelliPower in RAID 5.
Cons: Software RAID.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/21/2014 7:26:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > SIIG, Inc > SIIG SC-SA0R11-S1 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 4-Port Hybrid RAID Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 fails after 2 months
Pros: worked for the first 2 months, just long enough to where I couldn't return the item.
Cons: do not buy, does not last
Reviewed By:N/A,12/21/2014 11:35:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PCI40010 PCI SATA II (3.0Gb/s) 4 Port RAID 0/1/5/10 JBOD Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 JBOD card Raid stuff
Pros: When you get it to work, it works exactly as intented. Got my JBOB up, but not without some efforts. I came close to just walk on it with anger. Than I got it to work.

I feel very happy about the product now
Cons: Documentation is terrible.
Installing drivers from a mini CD is the worst format they could think. Not a single optic driver out of 3 would take it. Which could mean the problem was faulty disk to begin with.

Driver from their site are manual installationonly, No easy setup. They would let you downlaod 3 of them, but only one worked.

Their manual will misslead you into trying to instal the wrong driver if you aim a JBOD first. Their raid 5 driver will let you do everytihng.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/21/2014 9:51:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.