Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > 3ware > 3ware 9550SX-4LP 64-bit/133MHz PCI-X SATA II (3.0Gb/s) Raid Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 RAID Controller - Great Customer service
Pros: Shipped fast and order handled well
Cons: No problem with the manufacturer, but we found we had ordered the wrong part.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a product review, but a shout-out for Neweggs' customer service. They were awesome for us and we appreciate it!
Reviewed By:Elizabeth M.,6/29/2016 1:26:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome little card
Pros: Purchased this because I ran out of SATA ports on my motherboard. I installed it and it worked fine without additional drivers. I did not run it in a RAID configuration so I can't comment on how well it works with RAID. I only have three DVD burners hooked up to the card so I can't comment on the transfer speed between hard drives.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:kenneth p.,6/28/2016 9:17:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Areca > areca ARC-1210 PCI-Express x8 SATA II (3.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great with one catch while using this in 2016 under Windows 10
Pros: After a great many problems with the Intel software RAID solution, I gave in and bought this card. I have used it for a great many years (7?) without a single glitch. One small exception, see the con below.
Cons: Recently (June 2016), this controller started disappearing, where it no longer showed up in the web interface, and windows only had a cached copy of some of the contents (mainly the directory names). Rebooting would resolve it for a while. After much trail and error, I realized that the card was in a PCIe x4 slot instead of a PCIe x8. I moved the card, and voila: back to the old reliable behavior.
Other Thoughts: Running with four WD black 1TB in RAID 5. Would consider switching to newer hardware RAID, or scaling down to 1TB using M.2 SSD.
Reviewed By:Coert V.,6/22/2016 10:27:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Intel > Intel RMS25JB040 PCI-Express 2.0 x8 SATA / SAS Integrated RAID Module

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Highly reliable hardware RAID
Pros: This is a nice inexpensive way to take an Intel server board software RAID and turn it into a hardware RAID (compatible with ESXI).
Cons: Watch your current cables. They are probably not compatible with this card and you will need to order an alternative.
Other Thoughts: As another reviewer pointed out, this card is only compatible with certain Intel motherboards and server systems. Make sure you verify with Intel that this card will actually work on your board.
Reviewed By:Michael F.,6/21/2016 2:10:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint Rocket 620AP PCI-Express 2.0 x1 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Useless unless you have 1 SSD and 1 HDD
Pros: Lightweight should minimize the return shipping charges.
Cons: Like others, I got burned by the completely undocumented restriction that a mirror set requires one SSD and one HDD!
Other Thoughts: I sure hope the RMA process works.
Reviewed By:Peter S.,6/20/2016 4:03:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PEX40104 SATA 8-Port SATA III 6G PCI-E 2.0 x1 Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Too much money for a product that did not work.
Pros: It allows me to add up to 8 sata devices, but no hard drives.
Cons: This need to update the driver software. This would easily fix the issues with this device.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking to expand your Sata ports, don't buy this device for HDDs or SSDs it does NOT play nice with them.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,
Thank you for your interest in Syba products. The Driver ID number is DL-0141501. The latest drivers for this device can be found here. http://www.drivers-download.com/en/search.php

Reviewed By:Nicholas V.,6/17/2016 10:33:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > LSI > LSI LSI00244 (9201-16i) PCI-Express 2.0 x8 SATA / SAS Host Bus Adapter Card, Single Pack--Avago Technologies

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for windows storage space
Pros: It is very good for windows storage space. I have two of these cards running on my windows 2012 file server , giving me 32 internal ports, plus the 8 ports on the motherboard, my server can support up to 40 drives total. I haven't used up all the ports yet, but I have drives connect to both cards and the performance seems decent from both.
Cons: The only cons is that it makes me spent more $ on storage. I have spent over $5000 worth of hard drives in past 1 year. But it is not a bad thing since now finally I have time to do a total re-organization of my photo and video collections.
Other Thoughts: My past two orders were shipped with same day delivery. Newegg simply rocks.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/16/2016 7:23:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint Rocket 620AP PCI-Express 2.0 x1 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not actually support raid 1
Pros: None
Cons: This card does not support raid 1 with two HDDs. Apparently it is only designed to raid an SSD and HDD together.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/14/2016 2:58:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40071 8 Internal SATA III Ports PCI-Express Card, PCI-e x2 Slot, Specification V2.0 Plus Low Profile Bracket

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Couldn't get it to appear in Device Manager when installed in 2 different PCs
Pros: Would have been great had it worked.
Cons: [1] I installed it in 2 different PCs, but card did not show up in Device Manager, nor did the attached disk drive(s) show up in Disk Manager. (Because it is Marvell based, I also disabled the Marvell chip on the motherboard to determine if there was a conflict between the motherboard Marvell and the expansion card Marvell, still didn't appear). [2] Product ordered was SYBA, product delivered had "IOCREST" on box. IOCREST website near zero support, SYBA website has more support information. Moreover, the paper/printed manual was not in the box nor could I find a place to download same.
Other Thoughts: While I would not recommend it, it seems that many folks have success with it. Note that some complaints are due to customer ignorance, as in, not knowing that the driver has to be installed for Windows to see 8 (not 4) drives and that only 4 connections are bootable.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,
We apologize for the problems you have been experiencing with our device. Please verify that you are installing our card in a PCIe V2.0 slot of any size larger than X2.
Please navigate to our website for drivers, manuals, and our Marvell RAID utility.
http://www.sybausa.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=160&search=SI-PEX40071+

Right-click and Update Driver Software.
Select: Browse my computer for driver software.
Select: Let me pick from list of device drivers on my computer.
Check in: Show compatible hardware.

Click Standard SATA AHCI Controller
Click Have Disk button
Click Browse, navigate to Driver Windows files:
92XX > Windows OS > Bit Version (i386 = 32bit;amd64 = 64bit) > mvs91xx.inf ; click next

Window will prompt that the driver has no digital signature, Select: 'Install these drivers anyway'

Drivers should be installed.

Reviewed By:BRUCE M.,6/13/2016 3:54:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-MPE40095 Low Profile Ready SATA Mini PCI-Express Half Size 2 Port SATA III RAID Controller

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Wasted my money
Pros: Small profile fits in mobo without running into RAM.
Cons: Appears to only work with Windows, so I have no idea whether it works at all.
Other Thoughts: Shame on me for not thoroughly researching the part before ordering it, but at least it was only $30 wasted.
Was trying to expand the storage on a home server, will probably buy a new mobo instead.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,
We apologize for the problems you have been experiencing. This card is compatible with Linux. No drivers will be needed as it is built into Linux. Once card is installed you should see the additional controller upon reboot.

Reviewed By:Joshua L.,6/11/2016 11:52:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.