Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > STARTECH > StarTech PEXESAT322I PCI-Express x1 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 2 Int/2 Ext SATA Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not perfect, but it works
Pros: As long as you read and follow the manual, StarTech's card provides additional SATA ports on Windows 7, 8.1, 10, and Server 2012 R2 systems. It is far from a perfect solution, but if your system is port-limited, adding a pair of internal or external ports is made simple.

If you are connecting traditional hard drives (i.e. not SSD drives), the port multiplier option may be useful. Transfer speed is limited by the x1 slot bandwidth, so connecting to a SSD or fast RAID 0 will not give the speed you expect. Than said, we haven't seen issues with drives mysteriously dropping or becoming corrupted.
Cons: The SATA III 6.0Gb/s is somewhat misleading. The card itself is SATA III capable. Unfortunately even a single SATA III SSD easily saturates the PCIe x1 connection. Attaching two SSDs is a waste of money. If, however, you have an extra hard drive and external enclosure or two around, this StarTech card gives more consistent throughput than a standard USB 3 connection along with lower CPU usage. If you use a UASP capable USB 3 enclosure along with Win 8.1 or 10, that blows this card away.
Other Thoughts: As other reviewers mention, read the manual. It's short, concise, and necessary. There are a few potential gotchas that you may face depending on your system and intended usage.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 10:50:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProBox HP1-SS3 PCI-Express 2.0 x1 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Mediasonic PCI-E SATA III Cards
Pros: Upgraded from Koutech SATA II cards, downloaded the drivers first from Mediasonic.ca, installed like a dream (all three of them), installed drivers, no problems encountered at all.
Cons: Wish there was a card that had four SATA III port so I could reclaim some of my slots.
Other Thoughts: Installed like a dream, works great. I have a lot of hard drives attached to this desktop and all are detected as they should be.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 2:29:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: Easy to install, allowed me to upgrade a 6 year old motherboard to SATA3 without so much as a hiccup.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Make sure to insert the card, boot to the operating system and let the drivers install before rebooting and connecting your OS drive. Smooth sailing.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 10:13:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40057 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 Low Profile SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 4-ports RAID Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 BE Careful when Buying This
Pros: Worked, However it Kills my audio. I have contacted SYBA support, but so far no response from them. Result is I have a card that Useless.
I have an Asus 5E3 Deluxe Motherboard. When I plug this card into the PCIe X16 slot expansion slot, my audio driver is removed. These are shared expansion slots so I am assuming something is not written correctly in the driver of the card to allow it to work in shared slots. Motherboard manual say you may have to configure card in bios. But did not see anything in the bios to set up regarding this card.
Cons: Has conflicts Kills Audio in my system. No response from Syba support team which claims they respond in 24 hours. Have tried talking with Asus support but they had little help to offer on this problem.
Other Thoughts: Since I was very busy and did not have a chance to try this card. I cannot return it to Newegg. My Bad! But Syba should step up and help me trouble shoot this problem. But they have not.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2015 10:53:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40089 2-port SATAIII, PCI-E, x1, Revision 2.0, (Full & Low Profile); ASMedia Chipset, RAID

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do NOT BUY
Pros: none
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Piece of junk so is the company do not buy This product it will destroy your computer trust me the package it came with was open so who knows where it has been, it is not safe it will damage your computer buyer beware low price yes but you will pay for it in the long run.
As FAR AS THEIR SUPPORT JUST AS BAD IT TOOK ME A WEEK BEFORE THEY EVEN ACKNOWLEDGE ME BEWARE ...THEY DO NOT CARE FOR THE CUSTOMER.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 1:41:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProBox HP1-SS3 PCI-Express 2.0 x1 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as described
Pros: Stable port multiple operation with their eight drive external box
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: I own their eight drive external box and had trouble with the USB 3 interface, Using the motherboard eSATA would only recognize five drives, this was advertised as being able to recognize all eight and it does. I use the external box as single backup drives so RAID isn't used and I can't comment on how this works for RAID.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/22/2015 6:12:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX20174 Low Profile USB3.1 2 Port USB 3.1 Type A PCI-e 2.0 x 4 Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Slightly faster than USB 3.0
Pros: After you plug in card and turn on PC, windows update will automatically try to locate driver online. Be sure to cancel this, and load the driver on the disk. To locate the right driver on the disk you must read the really small print in the "manual" that comes with product.
Cons: Bought 2, one was DOA. Does not appear to be quality made. Was unable to locate an up to date driver on company website.
Other Thoughts: Avg file transfer speed around 120 MB/s, or about 20%faster than USB 3.0.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/22/2015 7:28:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > SIIG, Inc > SIIG SC-SA0R11-S1 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 4-Port Hybrid RAID Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Inexpensive and FAST!
Pros: 1. Inexpensive
2. Fast
3. Hardware offload of all RAID functions (ARM Cortex CPU onboard)
4. Supports RAID 0/1/10
5. Supports internal and external SATA arrays
6. Supports SSD caching called "Hyper Duo"
7. On board firmware is extremely easy to use
PCI-E x2

I set this up for a RAID 0 array of two Seagate Surveillance HDDs (2TB x 2 giving 4TB array). The write and read sequential speeds are anywhere from 320 MB/s to 360 MB/s from file size transfers 32KB and up per ATTO. The 64KB stripe size was used.

Drivers are WHQL Certified.
Cons: 1. No RAID 5 support
2. Jumpers must be used to configure external vs internal arrays
3. Only 32KB or 64KB stripe sizes, nothing more than that
4. The two cables that came with the card were bargain basement to say the least. They did not have locking latches and were not marked as 6 Gb/s. I can only assume the cables were validated for 3 Gb/s. I used different cables.
Other Thoughts: My setup:

Intel Core i5-3570K CPU at default clocks
Zalman CNPS-5X air cooler
Gigabyte Z77MX-D3H mATX mobo
8 GB DDR3-1600 CL8 (2 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical)
240GB Mushkin Enhanced Chronos Deluxe SSD drive as OS/applications
Intel i350-T2 dual gigabit Ethernet adapter, PCI-E x4, set for Adaptive Load Balancing with Fail-over
SiiG SC-SA0R11-S1 RAID controller card (hardware RAID 0/1/10 controller, ARM Cortex CPU) PCI-E x2
2 - Seagate Surveillance HDDs, 2TB each, 4TB total RAID 0 array size, 64KB stripe
Seasonic 300W Bronze Certified Active PFC PSU
Windows 8.1
Reviewed By:N/A,8/20/2015 8:01:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SI-PEX40064 Works Great on Ubuntu Mate
Pros: Easy install. Works great. I bought this card to move SATA HDD off the motherboard, and use the 4 SATA ports on the motherboard for 4 CD/DVD burners. This will be used for church CD duplication. I didn't have to redo the HDD at all. The mobo is Intel DG965SS, and OS is Ubuntu Mate 15.04 Linux. The system boots perfectly with this card attached to my HDD.
Cons: I wish the board or instructions had the individual SATA ports labelled.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2015 11:04:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PEX40054 PCI-Express 2.0 x4 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) HyperDuo 4-port RAID Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 What's the point? UPDATED
Pros: Sorry for the repeat - NEWEGG makes it impossible to edit your reviews!

Can't beat the price.

With the proper BIOS, chipset, and driver updates, you should be able to get OK utilization of the 2 PCI lanes this card provides. More than enough speed for any spinning disk drives. However, we maxed out at a disappointing 700MB/s write and (interestingly enough) 620GB/s read using 4 Samsung 850 PRO SSDs in RAID0.
Cons: This is an exceedingly poor physical board design:

SYBA used jumpers to redirect SATA data streams between internal and external ports. This essentially adds 16 more potential points of failure and encourages the consumer to rub their grubby fingers all over them. Ideally, these signals should be switch in silicon. But at the very least, SYBA should have used 4 pole switches to preclude contamination and just make it easier on their customer.

The two fixed internal SATA connectors are mounted edge-wise so connecting cables is easy but they do not support locking cables and it is very easy to dislodge one. We resorted to hot glue, I'm ashamed to say, to secure these.

The two internal connectors associated with the jumpered ports DO support locking SATA cables but come straight out of the PCB so regular SATA cables will interfere with an adjacent PCIe slot - you'll need to use cables with a 90 degree connector. Make sure you get ones that bend in the right direction.

Our application is for all internal SATA ports only so the jumpers were pretty annoying to me.

The paper documentation that comes in the box is pretty bad in my opinion. Marketing this kind of product to consumers, there should have been very clear diagrams (ie. pictures) of all jumpers and connectors. You can take a microscope to the board and figure out what they meant but your basic tech consumer shouldn't have to. Also, at the very end of this document, they direct you to a third party driver download site for drivers. This I find unconscionable. The drivers are available on the SYBA site but it takes a little exploring to find them. And by the way, you will need these - don't run this board on the default Microsoft drivers.

SYBA (or possibly Marvell) did something funny with the drive activity signals at J9 and J10. In all other controllers I have dealt with and with the motherboards that support injection from a PCI controller, this signal is an open collector transistor that pulls low on disk activity and can be used in a "wired-OR" configuration with other disk controllers. The two boards we are evaluating are either both broken or simply don't work that way. In any case we were unsuccessful getting the disk activity signal to work with our ASUS motherboard.

Finally, one of the two boards we were evaluating started locking up the disk subsystems after a few days testing. This is a lab environment and it is entirely possible we blew this up ourselves - that's why we buy two for evaluation :)
Other Thoughts: It should be noted that our target system is an aging ASUS Z8NA-D6 running Windows Server 2012 R2 (which is not officially supported by SYBA). We are testing with Samsung 850 PRO SSDs and Western Digital Black spinning media drives. The Z8NA-D6 is only PCI express 2.0 but if we can max out the PCI lanes it should have a successful second life as a file server and VM host.

We were disappointed in our initial results using Storage Spaces (OS level striping/tiering) and so we went back and tested the card using the HyperDuo with RAID0 across four Samsung 850 PRO SSDs. Surprisingly, this made less than 2% difference. We still got 700/620GB/s write/read throughput. We are still not sure why read speeds are slower.

UPDATED SUMMARY: If 600-700GB/s is an acceptable ceiling, you gotta have cheap, and you don't mind working for it, this might be your card.

Next up on our evaluation: SUPERMICRO AOC-SAS2LP-MV8 - still pending.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2015 10:03:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.