Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40057 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 Low Profile SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 4-ports RAID Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SATA III Card
Pros: Effortless plug and play
Exactly as described
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Got this because my cheap-o HP desktop came with only 2 SATA ports; just enough for HD and DVD/RW drive.
I did notneed/ use/try the RAID features.
Reviewed By:Old Man,4/17/2014 11:02:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > LSI > LSI LSI00302 (9207-8i Kit) PCI-Express 3.0 x8 Low Profile SATA / SAS Host Controller Card - Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast, works with Linux
Pros: Bought this to interface to a 24-drive SAS backplane in a server enclosure. It works well with CentOS Linux (kernel 2.6.32), both for drive access and to do enclosure management (ie, make the backplane LEDs work). Drives are hot-swappable. Fast. PCI-express 3.0 means that it will never be the bottleneck, even when using all eight SAS links flat-out.
Cons: Boot times increase. Not sure why LSI's option ROMs take so long to start. Not a big deal for a server that stays on 24/7 though.
Other Thoughts: Note that this is an HBA, not a RAID controller. It does not do RAID5/6 on board, it's simply a way to talk to your SAS drives.

Bought this to build a storage server. Using a Supermicro 6047 24-disk chassis. The server runs CentOS 6.5 and uses ZFS. bonnie++ benchmarks on a raidz2 array with eight 3TB Seagate 7200 rpm SAS disks gave about 540 MB/s sequential write, about 600 MB/s on read. The 4-link interface to the backplane would likely be a bottleneck once all 24 slots on the backplane are populated, but that's still more speed than I'd need for now.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2014 5:07:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HP1-SU3 PCI Express USB 3.0 ProBox Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Seems cheap
Pros: It works
Cons: When I first plugged it in it said there were power issues. I think I resolved it but ever since before I installed it I was skeptical of the quality
Other Thoughts: Rarely use it as I don't trust it yet
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2014 3:46:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint Rocket 640L PCI-Express 2.0 x4 Low Profile SATA III (6.0Gb/s) RAID Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 LINUX USER BE WARED
Pros: Newegg 's good customer services for return
Cons: This card can't work well in linux , I am using centos 6.5/ ubuntu 12.04 LTS . this card would randomly kick out harddrives. since I bought 2 of these cards , and they work the same , so I am pretty sure it's the designing problem of this product.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/17/2014 9:17:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint Rocket 644L PCI-Express 2.0 x4 SATA RAID Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 18 Months and No Troubles
Pros: Have successfully used this card with 2 8-bay Sans Digital servers using RAID 5 arrays. Highpoint, though weak on tech support, has a nice web-based app to manage the arrays.
My first card from Sans Digital which would not do RAID expansion. Expansion has been done 3 times flawlessly. RAID verification has also run well.
The web app creates a good event log. Also includes SMART hard drive tests with about 15 status measures for each drive. If you don't need phone support hand-holding, I highly recommend Highpoint RAID cards.
Cons: No phone support.
Support is a 2-3 day turnaround via email.
Reviewed By:Statman,4/17/2014 7:41:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-SATA150R PCI 2.2 SATA Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Quick & easy install, runs fine.
Pros: - Easy to install
- Cheap
- Allows for 2 more SATA ports
- Transfer rate is around 70 mb/a
- Sees drives over 2.2 TB
- Makes use of those old PCI slots
- RAID 0 or 1

I bought this originally just to have 2 extra sata ports on my system, but when I got a 3tb internal drive that my legacy bios mobo could not see it beyond 756gb, this drive saved it.

Plugged it in and windows recognized it and downloaded the drivers automatically from Windows Update. No need to use the confusing CD. Speeds are around 70mb/s.
Cons: - Drivers cd is confusing and clustered
- Cheap SATA cable
- Poor documentation.
Reviewed By:Jvr,4/16/2014 3:22:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-VIA-1A2S VIA PCI SATA 1.5G / IDE ATA 133 Combo Controller Card / Supports Raid 0, 1, 0+1, JBOD, non-RAID mode

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 PCI adapter w/ IDE, 2x SATA + Raid
Pros: - Multiple expandability via PCI slot
- Easy to install
- Has its own BIOS to handle RAID setup and usage
- Simple instructions on how to get it working
- Works better than a KINGWIN ADP-06 SATA to IDE Bridge Board
Cons: - Has its own BIOS to handle RAID setup and usage. This adds a bit of extra time to the POST process when your machine boots up.

- A bit tricky to setup if not attaching to a HDD or not setting up a RAID array (instructions focused on RAID/HDD setup)
Other Thoughts: This is a great little board. I needed a way to attached a SATA DVD-Writer to an aging Pre-SATA motherboard. I tried to use a KINGWIN ADP-06 SATA to IDE Bridge with no luck, so I purchased this one local, since it was cheaper than the Egg price. It has worked flawlessly.

Setup is a bit tricky if not attaching an HDD, or not setting up a RAID. I had to findle around with various configurations of board + drive before the board would report to the BIOS and WIN XP:

(1) install bare board & boot the PC. Windows will not notice the board.
(2) shut down, attach the non-HDD drive (an ASUS Model DRW-24F1ST for me), and reboot.
(3) Install the drivers, per instructions, when Windows detects the now functional board
(4) reboot and notice the board BIOS that follows the Motherboard BIOS POST process.
(5) Everything works well
Reviewed By:Lo Vaquero,4/16/2014 1:39:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Adaptec > Adaptec RAID 6805E 2271800-R 6Gb/s SATA/SAS 8 Internal Ports w/ 128MB Cache Memory Controller Card, Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 update on my last review
Pros: see 1st review.
Cons: about the raid bios. It's UEFI friendly meaning it works with UEFI biosf for the motherboard/. One thing, you have to set your UEFI bios on your motherbostf to boot storage controller in legacy mode. If you try UEFI mode, the raid cards bios doesn't get loaded into either nvram or the motherboard bios itself.. And the raid card has a text bios, not a gui bios. And for those loving windows 8/8.1 fast booting, yes the card fast boot once the raid bios has been loaded. For the raid bios to load,it takes approx. 30 seconds.
Other Thoughts: if money permitted, I would upgrade my mb to a g1.sniper 5, add a 3rd video card, use the creative sound onboard and get a lsi 9371-4i card.

This is what I am using right now:

Intel Xeon E3-1245v3 3.4 ghz quad core (got it for $299 at xmas on the egg, now $355)
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H mb
8gb of patriot viper 2 ram at 1866mhz
2x Zotac gtx 770 amp video cards
Antec HCG-850M psu
2x OCZ agility 3 ssd's in raid 0 (using marvell controller, intel controller on some 8 series mb's don't like sandforce ssd's)
sb recon 3d pci-e
pioneer bdr-208
Reviewed By:wheeljack12,4/15/2014 9:35:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > LSI > LSI MegaRAID Internal Low-Power SATA/SAS 9240-8i 6Gb/s PCI-Express 2.0 RAID Controller Card, Kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Absolute Garbage
Pros: none
Cons: Does not work. Support does not run out of business hours, support team has no product knowledge. It took three weeks for me to in the configuration menu after trying several different webios updates, drivers do not work on windows 7/64. The only solution offered was for me to mix and match drivers with bios versions. DO NOT BUY
Reviewed By:md132002,4/15/2014 3:56:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Adaptec > Adaptec RAID 6805E 2271800-R 6Gb/s SATA/SAS 8 Internal Ports w/ 128MB Cache Memory Controller Card, Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 nice little hardware raid card!
Pros: nice little hardware raid card. for those using snb, ivb or haswell, this is a nice on some motherboards. My brother and I have a pci-e 3.0 x8/x8 with a pci-e 2.0 3 times x1 with a x4 slot that disables the two x1 slots between the x16 3.0 slots. Even for those using a pci-e 3.0 x8,x4,x4 this is also nice. I am using a ga-z87x-ud3h and it works fine in terms of the driver. see cons about maxview manager software. Is a UEFI motherboard friendly card. see cons about the raid bios.
Cons: maxview storage manager is a bit poop when it comes to tweaking and cleaning your pc. One, you have to only install the driver for MEI, if you install the whole MEI suite, maxview storage manger (internet browser based) complains that the CIM server service is not running when trying to login into the manager. Even if you restart the CIM service, ,maxview still poops out. And if you are tweaker like me who wants to squeeze all of the speed out of your system, maxview may poop out on you again with a maxview server service not running. Again, you can restart the maxview server service and it still won't work. Had to chuck out the card because of this.
Other Thoughts: The card has 4 screw holes for a 40mm fan. Looking to repurchase the raid card in a couple of months and buy a noctua 40mm fan along with a rosewill thor v2 case. Why such a big case. Because with the fan installed, it makes the card a dual slot card technically (maybe 1 1/2 slots). Anyhow, you can't use this with fan in a atx case and motherboard because there is not enough space for a 40mm long x10mm wide fan.
Reviewed By:wheeljack12,4/14/2014 3:59:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau