Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Areca > areca ARC-1883ix-16-2G PCI-Express 3.0 x8 SAS RAID Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Stellar Performance
Pros: I've been using Areca controllers for years and this one represents a performance leap forward. Previous controllers (12xx, 16xx) card did decent RAID 6 and RAID 0+1. Some of my improved performance is due to 16 channels rather than 8, but I have a 16xx 16 channel and it doesn't compare.

Using 16 WD 2tb Enterprise disks, set up in RAID 0+1, set for 4K sectors, 64K sequential reads run at 5.5 gigabytes per second (83000 IOPS) and writes run at 5.8 GB/s (91000 IOPS). Random reads and writes of 4k blocks run 4500-5500.

Making Tiered Storage Space (MS Server 2012 R2), this is so fast you need a handful of SSDs or the SSDs will slow down the HDD array)
Cons: None Yet
Reviewed By:Jim,10/29/2014 8:41:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > SIIG, Inc > SIIG SC-SA0R11-S1 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 4-Port Hybrid RAID Controller Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 poor compatibility
Pros: not so cheap
Cons: First off this is the same product as http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816132046 check out the model number PI49230-2X2B on the board. All the chips are the same too. However, the other card was cheaper then this one.

Running xubuntu 14.04 3.13.0-24 This card had a conflict with something in the OS or virtualBox. When I installed 4x 3TB drives on this card and grew my existing raid5 5x 3TB drives it would fail about 5min into the reshaping process. Luckily I was able to boot into init3 and force continue the raid reshaping process. Now that its done I can get rid of this faulty card.

With VirtualBox uninstalled it seems that the card is stable for now. But I can't risk it.
Other Thoughts: I didn't own this exact brand but it is indeed the same card so I just wanted to warn people.
Reviewed By:INIT_6,10/29/2014 7:13:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-230 PCI Express 4 Ports SATA III HDD Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor capability
Pros: Cheap.
Cons: First off this is the same product as http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816150041 check out the model number PI49230-2X2B on the board. All the chips are the same too.

Running xubuntu 14.04 3.13.0-24 This card had a conflict with something in the OS or virtualBox. When I installed 4x 3TB drives on this card and grew my existing raid5 5x 3TB drives it would fail about 5min into the reshaping process. Luckily I was able to boot into init3 and force continue the raid reshaping process. Now that its done I can get rid of this faulty card.

With VirtualBox uninstalled it seems that the card is stable for now. But I can't risk it.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

If you are not fully satisfied with our product please contact us at the number below or one of the email addresses below to better assist you in resolving your problem.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:INIT_6,10/29/2014 7:10:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PCI40074 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 1:5 (5x1) Internal SATA II Port Multiplier (PM)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Satisfied
Pros: I bought these to replace SATA 1.5g PCI controllers I was previously using for my fileserver with a software RAID. Everything went very very well with one exception, but I am not certain if it is the cards fault or a problem with a particular seagate hard drive.

Writing to a software raid using one card, I get about 55MB/s over the network.
Cons: I ran into an issue where one of the ports did not appear to be working, eventually found that a particular Seagate hard drive I was using did not work in that one port, swapped ports and all five ports and hard drives worked fine. Unknown if this is a hard disk fault or an issue with this card.
Reviewed By:Ed,10/29/2014 3:42:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketRAID 2720SGL PCI-Express 2.0 x8 Low Profile SATA / SAS Controller Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Raid 5 Issue with 8T Array
Pros: Cheapish
Fastish (for a hybrid card)
Cons: Lies about individual drives' SMART data (doesn't show "real" numbers)
Slow rebuilds / drive checks
Issue with AMD booting (ASROCK mobo with Phenom II x4 - issue was "fixed" when upgraded CPU to FX-8350)
Just found BIG issue trying to RAID 5 with three 4TB HDs - created array, tested, discovered write speeds of only 40MBps! - rebuilt as RAID0 with same drives, write speed jumped to 450 MBps. Workaround- set back to RAID5, but manually set the size down from default (max size) to 7950 GB - for some reason, this worked, and now get expected write speed of 320 MBps. (Read speed was always good)
Other Thoughts: Would like to see new firmware that fixes the SMART issue, but am not holding my breath.
Reviewed By:Hurn,10/28/2014 2:10:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-229U4 PCI-Express 2.0 x1 USB 3.0 Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 What a relief!
Pros: It works! 4 ports. Decent speeds for an add-on card. TI drivers, not Renesas. Only 4 eggs because I haven't had it long enough.
Cons: This is nit picky. If you go to get the latest drivers from their website, use the search box, not the guided search. This product won't show up in the guided search. It will come up when you try to find it through the search box.
Other Thoughts: I had a Silverstone card with Renesas drivers. What a pain. The drivers had to be reinstalled weekly and even at that, one of the ports (it only had 2) just quit after about 9 months. I've only had this Rosewill card a few days but so far everytime I've hooked an external drive up to it, its worked. When you've spent the past lord-only-knows how many months futzing with getting your computer to access an external drive, this is an incredible relief. Am using it in a Windows 7 Dell desktop (XPS 7100 circa 2009) that didn't come with USB 3.0 ports.

Edit: Newegg's okay with 'lord', not with the 3 letter g-word. Strange.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/27/2014 3:53:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PEX40039 PCI-Express 2.0 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as intended
Pros: Easy to install. Worked immediately with on a system that was already set up earlier.
Gives a significant speed improvement to my SSD compared to SATA II.
Cons: the "press any key to abort" step during boot should be shorter.
Reviewed By:Remi,10/26/2014 5:58:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Areca > areca ARC-1224-8i-MM PCI-Express 2.0 x8 SATA / SAS RAID Controller Card with mini-SAS Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 THIS CARD WORKS ON NONE SERVER MOTHERBOARDS
Pros: ok heres my setup:
motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU:I7 4820k @ 4.8ghz
Ram:4x4Gb @ 2400hz
2 samsung 250Gb SSD in raid 1 for windows
8x4Tb western digital red in raid 10 strip size: 128b
so me i was looking for a raid card to use on a none server board i tried a lsi mega raid card did not work so i was trying card left and right and now i finally found a card that works aka the one im reviewing
also for more info this card supports strip size up to 1024b and its working beautifully so i STRONGLY recommend this card to anyone wanting to run alot of drives in raid 5,6,10, 10+ spare
Cons: none
Reviewed By:kevin,10/26/2014 10:12:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does what it says without a hiccup
Pros: Adds 4 SATA ports to my server for $30
Just as fast as onboard SATA with the same drives
Installed easily and worked out of the box.
Cons: None for what it is
Reviewed By:N/A,10/26/2014 8:41:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > STARTECH > StarTech 4 Port PCI SATA RAID Controller Adapter Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not supported in Linux as hardware RAID
Pros: Has 4 SATA connectors.
Cons: Not supported in Linux as hardware RAID
Other Thoughts: Old configuration menu. very simple.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/24/2014 4:39:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau