Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Addonics Technologies > Addonics ADSA3GPX1-2E PCI Express eSATA and SATA II 2 Port eSATA II RAID Controller

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Works, But Not On Newer Hardware
Pros: Works if you have an older system (i.e., Core 2 Duo). Supports multiplexing
Cons: This item does not work with newer computers. For two newer, Core i5/7 systems (Dell Optiplex 790 and Precision T7600), neither the BIOS, nor the operating system enumerates the card. When installed in an older, Core 2 Duo, both the BIOS and the operating system enumerates the card. This leads me to conclude there is a design flaw with the card or firmware.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2014 1:56:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > LSI > LSI MegaRAID SAS 9341-4i (LSI00406) PCI-Express 3.0 x8 Low Profile SATA / SAS High Performance Four-Port 12Gb/s RAID Controller (Kit)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 does not work with desktop motherboards!
Pros: nice card. Advertised as SAS 12gbit.
Cons: One, for Sata, it only can do sata III 6 gbit (600mb/sec). Waste of a pci-e 3.0 8x cards bandwidth. Two, because it's hybrid hardware raid (partial hardware raid), it relies on higher amounts of NVRAM on a motherboard. So, if you are using a desktop motherboard, your mb's nvram can't keep all of the bios info from the raid card in it. All though, I had smaller brother of the 9371-4i, the 9240-4i years ago and it worked on a 4 way sli classified motherboard from EVGA. I am currently using a gigabyte g1.sniper motherboard. Technically also a 4 way gpu motherboard.
Other Thoughts: Going to return this at the end of july for a refund. If you want cheap true hardware raid (ROC or raid on chip,basically the chip on the board holds all of it's bios info on the raid card's ROC and doesn't transfer anything to the motherboards bios)for the desktop, get a adaptec 6805e, a 40mm fan (the card has 40mm screw mounting holes). This card actually has a the right amount of bandwidth for 4 ssd's even though the 6805e is a 8 port card!
Reviewed By:wheeljack12,7/25/2014 7:46:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > LSI > LSI MegaRAID SAS 9341-8i (LSI00407) PCI-Express 3.0 x8 Low Profile SATA / SAS High Performance Eight-Port 12Gb/s RAID Controller (Single Pack)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great card with updated bios
Pros: The olders LSI cards had a goofy webbios that you needed to really click around alot to get anywhere.

the NEW LSI cards use the wonderful dell lsi raid bios (perc) which is awesome and you can get in and build your raid in seconds. We are definitely getting good speeds with 6 Samsung evo drives connected to this card. anyone who cries about boot up time - needs to realize this is a SERVER raid card - NOT a workstation raid card. workstations can use software raid - windows 8 and windows 2012 have excellent sata raid that is good enough for windows on the baremetal. the ONLY reason to use a hardware raid card is for vmware which requires one (until the new vsan but we are holding off on that until its a little more proven in our use scenario and bug free).
Cons: need to buy LOTS of add on's which triple the price - to get cache cade 2.0, battery backup, etc.
Other Thoughts: These cards a HUGE performance boost over the old 9271-8i cards from LSI we used to use. those are reliable as hell also - but 12gbps is key with lots of 6gbps ssd drives needing I/O.
Reviewed By:CloudAssure,7/23/2014 12:44:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PCI40010 PCI SATA II (3.0Gb/s) 4 Port RAID 0/1/5/10 JBOD Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Fast and reliable - works as advertised, and easy to manage. Run drives without any special setup as is, and RAID setup is really easy to do when you want it
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Saturn,7/23/2014 1:05:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40062 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great upgrade options for SSDs on a pre-SATA3 M/B
Pros: Onboard (ASUS P6X58D) Intel SATA2 and Marvell 9123 SATA3 PCIe 2.0 x1 (5Gb/s<6Gb/s, duh!) couldn't keep up with my SSD. With this Marvell 9235 card and 2 PCIe lanes (10Gb/s>6Gb/s, good!) my SSD is getting close to what I expected based on online reviews.
Cons: n/a
Other Thoughts: Probably not as fast as native Intel/AMD SATA 3 solutions, but that's not the point anyway.
Reviewed By:itsbfb,7/23/2014 12:47:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-VIA-1A2S VIA PCI SATA 1.5G / IDE ATA 133 Combo Controller Card / Supports Raid 0, 1, 0+1, JBOD, non-RAID mode

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: So cheap, works perfectly!
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Saturn,7/23/2014 12:36:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A perfect fit
Pros: Price, 4 SATA ports
Works out of the box with Ubuntu Server
good throughput
Works with my 3TB drives
Not HW RAID
PCIe x1
Cons: data throughput could be better but that's picking nits
Other Thoughts: Excellent choice for JBOD or software RAID. With 3 of these I can get 16 drives into my media server. Where else you going to get that for under $100?! And without a huge performance hit, too - performance is more than acceptable. My motherboard has 1 PCIe x16 and 2 x PCIe x1 slots, so this worked out beautifully.
Reviewed By:Donny Bahama,7/22/2014 11:56:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Adaptec > Adaptec 81605ZQ (2281600-R) PCI-Express 3.0 x8 Low Profile SATA / SAS High Port Count SAS/SATA RAID Adapters

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Monstrously Fast
Pros: maxCache is rockin'
Cons: Price
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2014 1:28:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketRAID 2720SGL PCI-Express 2.0 x8 Low Profile SATA / SAS Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great card!
Pros: Update:
Initially setup 7 x 4tb Seagate ST4000DM000 / STBD4000400 on RAID 6 over a year ago. It took about 12 hours to build the array. I had about 18.2tb usable, and getting about 700MB/s read and 698MB/s writes (sequential).

I just expanded the array with another 4tb drive (same Seagate brand to have 8 x 4tb hard drives). Now getting over 800MB/s sequential read and write speeds.
Cons: I heard many mixed reviews and was a bit worried before I bought the drives. Thankfully everything is working fine.

Expansion took about 3 days. This is one of the drawbacks of not getting a FULLY dedicated RAID card (this card apparently uses a hybrid approach), but I knew what I was getting into since you can't beat the price and don't really need fast rebuild speeds.
Other Thoughts: I'm also using Intel RAID0 (for my crucial SSDs) as my boot drive. I've heard many people having issues with this. It took me a few minutes to google the solution: flash the RAID BIOS, and disable two features: "Reallocate EBDA" and "INT13".
Reviewed By:Chuy Ayala,7/21/2014 11:38:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketRAID 2640x1 PCI-Express x1 Four-Port SATA and SAS RAID Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor Linux Support
Pros: Relatively Cheap
Cons: Drivers are not updated to work on modern Linux Operating Systems. They claim support for 3.0+ Linux Kernel, but the source driver files are just broken. Thankfully someone out there decided to put a patch on one of the forums to make it work. Although even with the patch, you still have to re-make and install the driver every time you do a kernel update (which happens often on Ubuntu). I ended up settling on CentOS 6 simply because they use an older 2.X kernel. Also, manufacturer support does not respond.
Other Thoughts: I've wasted many hours trying to get this working. If you value your time and sanity, then spend a few extra bucks and get one of the more reputable ones.
Reviewed By:Michael,7/21/2014 5:18:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau