Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-2304 2U Rackmount 2U Short Depth Rackmount Chassis with 4 x Hot Swap Trays Standard ATX power supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pretty Good Little NAS case
Pros: - (4) Hot Swap Drive Bays (3.5in and 2.5in drives can be mounted)
- Solid Construction, uses thick steel that is has protective plastic
- Comes with (3) 40mm 10k RPM fans, they move a good amount of air
- Open to air design.
- Short Depth
- Support ATX PSU's
- Small Power Button and recessed Reset Button
Cons: - Doesn't come with any SFF-8087 cables.
- Fans are very loud!
- All 3 Fans mount just above the I/O shield plate but they hang down like 1/2 inch onto the shield plate so if you have tall I/O they may not fit and air is partially block from flowing.
- Drive trays aren't super snug when mounted, meaning they visually look a little crooked. Not a huge deal.
- There is no dampening for the drive bays so when they are spinning, the whole case is vibrating. If mounted in a rack it probably doesn't matter much though but if it sits on a desktop, get some case feet.
- You need some short FLAT HEAD (emphasis on flat head, not pan head) M3 x 0.5 screws (like 4 or 5mm long) to mount the 2.5in drives because it doesn't come with any.
- MoBo extends up to the drive bays, so expansion cards can't be any longer than your mATX MoBo.
- Power LED is pretty Bright (green) washes out the HDD activity light right next to it (haven't used the other lights on front) but you can just look at the drive tray activity light.
- The bottom of the front is a steel mesh and you can see some of your cabling (sata cables, psu connections) through it.
- No place to mount fans on the steel mesh front nor is it filtered so dust build-up might be a problem.
Other Thoughts: I feel like this case should really be a 4.5 Star but that rounds up to 5 i guess.

Some Notes
- Uses SFF-8087 connector for drive bays, you will need a REVERSE breakout cable if drive bays go directly to MoBo. I made the mistake of buying a forward cable and of course that didn't work.
- It didn't come with any flat head M3 screws so I had to buy some from a hardware store to mount 2.5in drives (like 10 cents a piece for me).
- The circuitry for the hot swap drive can easily be removed so you don't have to use it but you will still have to use the drive trays to mount the drives.
- Actually comes with (1) Power LED, (1) HDD Activity LED, (3 not 2) NIC LED's, and (1) Critical LED
- Front USB ports are 2.0

I am mainly using this for a WMC Server to record and serve TV to my extenders so it goes to sleep for most of the day and therefore cooling won't be a problem with the low power processor that I am using.
Reviewed By:Brian F.,1/23/2015 10:44:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-4220 4U Rackmount Server Chassis w/ 20 Hot-Swappable SATA/SAS 6G Drive Bays (Mini SAS Connector)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome!
Pros: Room for 20 drives, 2 SSDs and 1 CD/DVD Rom.

Was shipped double boxed and everything is awesome. Plenty of room for everything.
Cons: Even though there is room for everything I found it easier to take out the middle fan rack to access the power supply and SFF-8087 bottom connectors and then put the fans back in.
Reviewed By:David Z,1/21/2015 1:59:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Habey > Habey EMC-800S Silver Heavy duty 3mm aluminum Slim Mini-ITX HTPC/NAS/Server Chassis 120W Internal Power Supply, 60W External AC Power Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 For the money, this is the best it gets
Pros: As a professional tech builder of 20 years, I have a lot of good things to say about this case. The 3mm thickness is amazing; which makes it not only solid, but a good heat radiator. The actual case is better looking in life than as shown in the OEM photos. Habey raises the SSD mount so that the power and sata cables connect without rubbing against the mount plate. The pre-cut holes for antenna (2) and com ports are perfect. The box packaging is thick and insulated by poly-foam in a way that it can survive a football punt by an insane shipper. The case is perfect for low power 2-in-1 combo boards. It is super easy to mount the motherboard. They include all screw sets and ties; they even had the proper SSD screws, which were color coded. The box is attractive as a HTPC and the power button has a beautiful glow that truly makes the box pretty while in use.
Cons: For the price I paid, I should not be complaining. But there are many issues with this box. My power supply enclosure was delivered broken. It opened and bits of plastic fell out. These were the plastic pins that hold the halves of the power casing together. I will have to crazy glue it back shut, but it does power the unit. There are NO side USB ports. This is a very big disappointment. Most units like these may not have them on the front but this unit has none at all. The casing for the DVD shelf is solid, but it is a huge hassle to take apart just to mount the SSD. But I would rather a huge hassle, then a bad SSD mount altogether, which many other brands have not perfected. Had it not been for these flaws, I would have given this case 5 eggs.
Other Thoughts: I welcome the OEM to contact me about this case. I am going into production to sell about 50 a month. If this case were improved, I would stick with it.. even if cost $5 more per case to just get those extra USB ports on the side or front.
Reviewed By:Robert K,1/20/2015 4:06:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Habey > Habey EMC-800S Silver Heavy duty 3mm aluminum Slim Mini-ITX HTPC/NAS/Server Chassis 120W Internal Power Supply, 60W External AC Power Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I Love This Little Guy!
Pros: Solid material, decent power supply, room for 2 drives, holes for airflow, great packaging, fast shipping (as always)
Cons: Lack of instructions (you have to remove the control board to really fit your motherboard in The manual wasn't super clear and I had to trouble getting it to boot at first.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking at this, I assume you're considering the small space for a linux-box, mini-server, media center, etc. That's why I pulled the trigger on this unit. At inches of height, I was able to fit a decent aftermarket CPU cooler, and have plenty of room for cable routing on the edges.

I was also able to get a 2nd fan to blow air out which was nice.

I was able to get a SSD on the side closest to where the CPU cooler would be, in addition to the included bracket mount. 3 inches is perfect, I thought anything less was way too small and I'm glad I chose this over the 2.5 inch units. The price was very reasonable, and after spending some time routing the cables I'm very happy.

I'm running Ubuntu out of this box, plus using this as a media server and streaming media to my phone, as well as hosting a game server and several other things. Fantastic box, super small and perfect for media center with a small footprint and solid construction.
Reviewed By:Cody K,1/16/2015 2:38:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-4220 4U Rackmount Server Chassis w/ 20 Hot-Swappable SATA/SAS 6G Drive Bays (Mini SAS Connector)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: heavy duty and sturdy design, affordable 20bay hot swap. flexable use and mounting options
Cons: na
Other Thoughts: running 6 drives in raid 6 with 2 ssds in raid 0 with no downtime for 2 months now, no issues with my backpanes or anything else.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/15/2015 4:27:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4412 Black Metal/ Steel, 1.0 mm thickness, 4U Rackmount Server Case, 12 SATA/SAS Hot-swap Drives, 5 Included Cooling Fans

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Don't be afraidd!
Pros: I was kinda afraid buying this, seeing no reviews, but bought anyway, seeing I needed it.
Anyway, Pros,
1) This thing is huge! I had no idea how large 4U was, but now that I know, I'd prolly say to go with a 2U or 3U, unless you wanted to build a gaming rig in a server rack.
2) Overall, I really enjoy the build quality, heavy duty metal on nearly everything, the front panel looks really sleek.
3) Really, I love this Rackmounted Server. I'm a gamer, and work mostly with tower cases, but this was a joy to build in, and had a lot of mostly empty space, which I thought was really awesome.. Not really the point of a rackmounted server, but hey.
4) Also, I didn't see them putting this anywhere, but they have 12 SATA cables, in packs of four. I thought I'd need to use some spares I have, but they had it covered nicely.
Cons: Honestly, there weren't many.
1) I wish that they included a molex, or at least a long enough one to fit all of the fans/harddrives in without an issue. Mine is currently straining and is floating around, which makes me on nerves thinking about.
2) I suppose a way to easily remove the front panel (with the lock) just that way it would be out of the way a bit more.
3) The sata/sas hotswap trays are plastic, and while they are of high quality and pretty rugged, it was a weird contrast from the rest of the rack.. I also found them hard to place back properly, but that's probably because I'm new to racks and that particular style of hotswap trays.
Other Thoughts: I love this rack, seriously..
I can understand why no one would review it, but hey, I really love it ;_;
Reviewed By:Thekey147,1/11/2015 12:00:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO CSE-731i-300B Black Pedestal Server Case 300W Power Supply w/ PFC 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great SOHO Server Case
Pros: This is a great little chassis/power supply combination. My obsessive-compulsiveness appreciates the lack of audio connectors and the lack of flashy blue LEDs, as well as the rugged construction and the overall easy of use/building.
Cons: While a lot of folks remark on how nicely this integrates with Supermicro boards, it didn't quite work out that way with my A1SAM-2550F. This wasn't horribly painful, but wasn't quite what I was expecting either.

It'd be nice if they included more than just the one fan, but it's hard to complain too much about that, considering the price.

I do miss the beautifully designed drive carriers that Fractal uses in their cases, but these aren't that bad either.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/10/2015 10:56:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Ark Technology Inc. > ARK 3U550PS Black 3U Rackmount Server Case 420W 4 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not a bad case for the money
Pros: Lightweight and no front door to break off during shipping
Cons: Kind of hard to work with, the drive cages are in weird spots and the included power supply's motherboard cables are too short . I used a different PS
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this and would definitely buy it again if it were in stock
Reviewed By:CHRIS S.,1/6/2015 1:14:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D Value D-214-MATX Black Steel 2U Rackmount Compact Server Case 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not As Pictured
Pros: Low price
Cons: Came with non-standard holes for rack mounting
Other Thoughts: Of the four rack mount holes on each side, the middle holes seem fine. But the top and bottom holes are centered 1/2 inch above/below the edge of chassis, when they should be 1/4 inch as pictured. Also different from the picture the top and bottom mounting holes are horizontally aligned with ends of the handles, in the photo they do not align.
Manufacturer Response:Dear valued customer:
Per our conversation via iStarUSA tech support, please kindly send in the image of misalignment as you see it on the chassis your received. We have not heard back from you in three weeks.


Thank you,
iStarUSA Group

Reviewed By:N/A,1/3/2015 1:15:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Logisys Computer > Logisys CS4801H Black 1.2MM Steel 4U Rackmount Industrial Server Case 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 very tough
Pros: Very impressed with how solid this thing feels. I'm gonna be using this as a part of a portable recording studio of sorts, so integrity is very important to me.
Cons: It's heavy af.
Reviewed By:jordan,12/30/2014 1:51:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.