Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Chassis > Ark Technology Inc. > ARK 4U-500-CA Black 4U Rackmount Case 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Decent product, TERRIBLE/NON-EXISTENT customer service
Pros: Solid, roomy, holds a BUNCH of drives, locking mechanism works as a latch even without the key
Cons: Not all parts were included (rackmount ears were missing) and ABYSMAL customer support means you can't get them after the fact! No response whatsoever to my last 3 emails!
Other Thoughts: No way I'll buy another Ark Tech case!
Reviewed By:Donny Bahama,4/17/2014 12:46:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-3216 Black 3U Rackmount Server Chassis

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Mid grade case
Pros: Case has 16 drive bays, room for ATX board and power supply.
Has room for 16 drives, plus 2 2.5" internally.
Cons: Factory fans were loud in my setup, I swapped out for quieter fans. Overall, its still a work in process, but I found a few quirks that I've learned to work with/around. Don't plan on using 16 7200rpm fans unless you have mad cooling. I use this in a home, so fans had to be softer, WD Red hard drives work awesome, 30 degrees cooler.
Other Thoughts: Aside from a need for more air flow, the case has been working pretty well for me. Its big and heavy, but thats expected with a box this size. Also note you need a deep rack as this is a good 24" deep box.
Reviewed By:hatrickwah,4/14/2014 8:39:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4411 Black Metal/ Steel, 1.0 mm thickness, 4U Rackmount Server Chassis, 12 SATA Hot-swap Drives, 5 Included Cooling Fans

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unreliable
Pros: Cheap
Cons: The HDD trays on this are awful. They tend to get lose and drop off the drive connection, they reconnect with a little wiggle.
Other Thoughts: Hotswap drives are feature of servers and higher reliability products, this product is extremely substandard. Even not swapping them, just sitting the trays get lose from vibration.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

Please contact our support team to assist you with warranty options.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:ravib123,4/14/2014 6:22:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4411 Black Metal/ Steel, 1.0 mm thickness, 4U Rackmount Server Chassis, 12 SATA Hot-swap Drives, 5 Included Cooling Fans

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 HARD DRIVE CAUGHT ON FIRE!!!!
Pros: low noise, heavy duty steel.
Cons: After installing everything except the hard drives I started by installing 1 of my brand new 4 TB WD Red hard drives. I turned on the server and started to notice a orange glow in the hard drive bay where I had installed the hard drive. I immediatelly shut the PSU off. I pulled the hard drive out and found that it had cought fire and had partially melted the plastic caddy that comes with the case. This is a first time ever for me so I was very shocked and worried that the rest of my system was damaged. Thankfully it appears that only the backplane of the case was damaged since I could not get any other hard drive to be detected by the BIOS if it was connected to the case's backplane. They were detected if connected directly to the motherboard so the backplane was the problem. I doubt that the issue was with the hard drive because but I'm not certain. In any case I would suggest to be very careful if you buy this case and test only one hard drive at a time making sure no fires arise. I've returned this case to newegg today having to pay $66 for the shipping and going through the hassle of un-installing all the hardware that goes into a server so I am extremely disapointed with the brand. This is my first Rosewill case and I'm not interested in buying any other of their products because even though they're cheap, the quality is horrible and even dangerous. The time and money I've lost because of this case is way more than the original price of the case. I now wish I had gone for a more reputalbe (and pricey) option.
Other Thoughts: If you have lots of time and money to spend in returned shipping charges go ahead and make the gamble of buying this case. I see other reviewers have gotten better experience with this case than mine but I would not gamble with this company again.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

Thanks for the feedback we will pass it along to our QA and Design teams.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:Hugster,4/14/2014 11:07:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-230 2U Rackmount Server Case 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Enough
Pros: Case works fine.
Cons: The holes in the rack ears do not line up well with my equipment rack. I ended up having to drill them out a bit to get all 4 screws in place.

I think making the holes into slots would help make alignment easier.
Other Thoughts: Despite the minor mounting problem, I probably would buy this case again.
Reviewed By:Peter O.,4/13/2014 11:07:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4411 Black Metal/ Steel, 1.0 mm thickness, 4U Rackmount Server Chassis, 12 SATA Hot-swap Drives, 5 Included Cooling Fans

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I love this case
Pros: This case is great. I've got it loaded up with 12main drives, plus an SSD for the OS.

The airflow through the drives seems good.
Cons: The hot swap trays are a little flimsy, however it has not caused me any problems.

I wish there were a few extra mounting locations inside the case excluding the host swap bays. I ended up using some double-sided sticky tape to mount the SSD against the side wall of the case.
Other Thoughts: Heads up to anyone buying this: you might want to get some longer SATA cables. I had to get some .5meter SAS2 to SATA cables to connect my raid card to the drive bays and some of the plugs just barely reach.
Reviewed By:Peter O.,4/13/2014 11:02:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D-313SE-MATX Black Aluminum / Steel 3U Rackmount Compact Industrial Chassis - Black Bezel 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good rackmount case for custom server build
Pros: Uses standard power supply. Room for extra fans. Plenty of room for hard drive storage. 3U build allows for aftermarket CPU cooler and/or video card.
Cons: The front fan mount bracket was missing out of the box. Also, some of the screws that hold the rackmount brackets on the left side were loose and damaged. Tightening them stripped the threads. The threads were fixed by chasing them with 8-32 and using new screws. I called iStarUSA tech support and they sent me a fan mount bracket and I had it in a few days.
Other Thoughts: This is not the first iStarUSA case that I have bought and it will not be the last. I think the problems that I had were a fluke, since my previous cases never had any of these problems. I expect things to break, but a company that supports their products deserves my business. I appreciate the prompt support. I didn't take any eggs away due to the support and how easy the fix was.
Reviewed By:KEN C.,4/13/2014 9:34:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO CSE-512L-260B Black 1U Rackmount 14" Mini Server Case Thermal control 260W AC power supply with PFC

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 good with P/S
Pros: Got it for $85, decent price, but accessories are not included. Works with supermicro, be careful if MB is different brand.
Cons: Needed extra power cable for CPU, 4-pin to 8-pin adapter, delayed installation process.
Reviewed By:no accessories,4/10/2014 6:20:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO CSE-512L-260B Black 1U Rackmount 14" Mini Server Case Thermal control 260W AC power supply with PFC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Fine with SuperMicro MBs
Pros: Works fine with SuperMicro MBs and reasonably price with P/S. Although the price was around $90 :-) keep an eye out for deals.
Cons: Might not fit other branded MBs, have to be careful and read the specs and measurement and screw holes, etc., not really a con, just do your homework.
Reviewed By:yadayadayada,4/10/2014 6:17:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-170 Black 1U Rackmount Server Chassis 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good with 4-SATA drives
Pros: Got this for NFS, use mini-ITX board, was able to fit the fourth 3.5" SATA, upside down and screw on side of chassis, behind the CD/DVD bay. Added TP-LINK TG-3468 for NIC bonding and works like a charm. CentOS 6.5 compatible.
Cons: VERY LOUD!!! Put in data center, I don't have to listen to it. Fans are so loud and can cause hearing problem if expose to for long duration.
Reviewed By:earplug,4/10/2014 6:12:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau