Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Chassis > Chenbro > CHENBRO RM42300-F 1.2 mm SGCC 4U Rackmount Server Case 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Chenbro get's it right
Pros: Great case. Allot of small details that you would expect to be overlooked at this price point are thoughtfully covered. Plenty of options for customization, plenty of fan options (I assumed the stock fans would be noisy and bought a few silenx versions).

Useful information is actually etched onto the interior metal, a rare thing that is greatly appreciated, and a comprehensive sticker is pasted to the roof of the top panel. Just about any ATX PS can be installed, even ones that are "longer".
Cons: No real defect in this case.

About the only improvement I would make to it is if the case was about 1 or 2 inches deeper. I know it's intended to be shallow, and that there is a MUCH deeper version available, but if this one were just an inch deeper then there would be room to have the internal 3.5 inch drives fully seated back and still have room for an additional 80mm fan in front. As it stands, if you want the 80mm fan in front of the HD's, then you have to extend the drives out of the cage about an inch (using two screws per side instead of three). That's not a problem, but on an ATX board, depending on where your CPU is, you may bump into the cooler. Then again, if you have a cooler blowing front-to-back in that location, you don't really need a fan in front of the HD's. So, not really a defect.
Other Thoughts: At 4U, this case may be a bit larger then you might need, but it will accomodate just about any future hardware combination you might have.
Reviewed By:isomage,5/4/2015 9:51:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Chenbro > CHENBRO RM42300-F 1.2 mm SGCC 4U Rackmount Server Case 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 BIG Case
Pros: Big, sturdy construction, plenty of room for fans.
Cons: Doesn't come with 2nd drive cage for left side.
Other Thoughts: I didn't mind not having the 2nd cage, I mounted a 120mm fan on the left side.
Reviewed By:VyReN,4/27/2015 11:48:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Chenbro > CHENBRO RM42300-F 1.2 mm SGCC 4U Rackmount Server Case 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best cheap case out there
Pros: I have two of these cases; one is a hyper-v server, the other ESXi. Solid construction, good airflow, lots of space for drives. This is my favorite rack-mount case for builds. I find myself wishing my other cases were as easy to work with as this one.
Cons: I do wish it came with the second drive cage, or at least it was easier to find the secondary cage.
Other Thoughts: It is a short case, so you will have to make sure any multiple hot-swap bays will fit.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/27/2015 10:40:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SuperChassis CSE-512L-200B Black 1U Rackmount Server Case 200W

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Definately use a SUPER MICRO motherboard. Motherboard contacts only fit super micro.
Pros: The case actually fits more super micro motherboards then what is listed. I am using a X10SLL-F-0 edition motherboard from supermicro and it fit. According to their website it said it wouldn't fit or work. Yet it does. I like the fact that the case comes with both types of back plates as I can easily put the right back plate to match. Which gives a professional look that my customer will like. Air cooling is efficient and comes with extra plastic walls to keep air flowing in the right direction. I recommend using a SSD drives for this unit as the cooling is past the front drive cage and doesn't off much air flow for the hard drives. But again this is typical in a 1U case. Great handles on the unit that are solid to make it easier to lift into the rack.
Cons: Stock cooler doesn't fit but kind of expected since this is a 1U case. Everything 1U you need to order a separate cooling unit for it to work. Power cables for the HD are too long and not necessary to be that long. Had to tie up more cable in a tight cramped space. Power supply is weird. it has an 8 Pin 12 volt rail and a 20 pin power connector. This normally is not a problem because it can be adapted for smaller. Just seems odd. I removed an egg from this review because the power supply has a little hummm noise that is a little annoying. I might need to investigate this further to see if this is a problem or by design.
Other Thoughts: Over all this is a great case. But when you purchase a supermicro case be sure to get a supermicro motherboard. They don't fit anything else. I attempted to line up another ASRock server motherboard and it won't fit properly. Not that I was intending to use the ASRock, just wanted to see if the motherboard contacts were in a different position. They are. then again supermicro server motherboards are great and have all the professional perks of the higher class server motherboards.
Reviewed By:BrianHelp,4/25/2015 6:26:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D-213-MATX Black Metal/ Aluminum 2U Rackmount microATX Server Chassis

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very nice rack mount case
Pros: Simple and inexpensive. Able to use standard PSU and CPU fans.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I have several of these, Some actual metal servers and others as ESXi 5.x hosts. This is an excellent case if you avoid a couple trouble areas. If you are going to use 3.5 HDDs then you are limited to 2 as it's almost impossible to fit them in the two lower mounting slots because the motherboard interferes with that area.
I always combine this case with a 4 x 2.5 drive cage that fits in the external bay and it's just shallow enough to allow the PSU cables to fit. I can completely remove the two 3.5 drive brackets if I need extra room.
If you put the case into an enclosure rather than a rack it can be a pain to remove it just to get into the case compared to a rack on rails but then again this doesn't cost $500+ dollars.
Reviewed By:Raland,4/22/2015 12:45:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Antec > Antec ATLAS Black Pedestal Server Case 4 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 GOOD PRODUCT
Pros: This is a generally solid case that we wouldn't classify as server case, as it's a bit on the small side for that sort of application. However, It does make a good PC case and has a 120mm rear bulkhead fan that moves plenty of air without sounding like a running vacuum cleaner. Sheet metal fit-up is good, making assembly relatively painless. All-in-all, a solid product with a nice appearance.
Cons: In our experience, the stick-on rubber feet tend to eventually come off.
Other Thoughts: We recommend this chassis with no reservations. Note that it has provisions for mounting an 80mm fan on the removable side panel. You may find installing such a fan worthwhile if you do use this chassis for a server build.
Reviewed By:BILL B.,4/21/2015 11:16:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-Z2600 - 2U Rackmount Server Case / Chassis - 4 x 3.5" Internal HDD Bays, 3 Included 80mm Cooling Fans

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product
Pros: Plenty of space
Neat clean appearance in the rack
Loses its heat well (always a concern in a rack)
Cons: None really, it could use a slightly more sturdy rack mount, but I don't plan on rolling my server cabinet down the street so it should be fine.
Would be better if it came with a power supply so you don't have to guess about what would fit in it.
Other Thoughts: Overall, its an excellent way to build your own rack-mount server.
Saves a ton of cash and you end up with a piece of equipment that is customized to your needs.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/16/2015 7:36:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D Value D-214-MATX Black Steel 2U Rackmount Compact Server Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: I like the short case depth, it is a good fit for 2 post racks. I haven't had any issues installing fans blowing inward from the front. It's a basic usable 2U case.
Cons: As mentioned:
* there are plenty of sharp edges
* non-standard mounting holes - initially I thought the other reviewer was at fault, just not mounting on the correct set of Us, nope, he was dead right, non-standard holes, I tried moving it throughout 3Us and never found a correct mounting point for (4) screws, you can still mount it but it is a bit ghetto (2 screw in cleanly but the other 2 are almost stripping out due to the case's holes versus the rack's holes)
* you cannot mount multiples of these on top of each other because 1) non-standard mounting holes and 2) if using the top power supply vent you'll be blocking it with the next case
Other Thoughts: I'm trying to understand the power supply venting in the top of the case. If you know for a fact they'll never be covered with other rack equipment then they are helpful (ish). Otherwise, you can't take the chance and need to always install a back-venting power supply, so why add the vents at all? It could be with such a low price point they want it to be available for all kinds of use.

I've used the 3U version of this case and the holes line up.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/15/2015 10:51:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA S-35-DE5BL Black Aluminum / Steel Tower Compact Stylish 5x 3.5" Hotswap Trayless mini-ITX Tower - Blue HDD Handle

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 D Livesay
Pros: Good build quality looks nice
Cons: lacks power supply, lacks rear fan, case cover is flimsy at bottom.
Power supply brackets are not reversible to other side of case. mother board cable to short to reach so i had to reverse power supply which works fine but now it's just laying in the case with now way to secure it.
WAY WAY OVER PRICED!
Other Thoughts: poor design of power supply bracket. the designers anticipated power supply being reversed because their are escape holes on both sides of box so why the heck didn't they make the bracket reversible instead of spot welding it to the case bottom (STUPID).
after i ordered this sorry case i found one on the bay for the same price that came with a rear fan and 300 watt power supply for the same price. i think it was C-1 buy it not this greedy piece of junk.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/14/2015 8:02:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-1204 Black 1U Rackmount Server Case

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Terrible Rackmount Chassis
Pros: The Chassis looks nice, Great interior layout. Good cable routing
Cons: Chassis can't be rack mounted with the lid/top installed due to manufacturing of the lid that overlaps the chassis. This is obviously a design flaw they have chosen not to fix. Even when paired with their own recommended rails (RL-26) the lid will not go on with the rails installed. Norco's solution: Take the lid off. Who in their right mind would run a 1U server chassis with no lid. Airflow is key in a 1U chassis.

Needless to say I was shocked when dealing with Norco after they finally responded (more than a week wait) with the solution of running with no lid or mounting the chassis on a server shelf. Isn't the point of a rack mount chassis is being able to rack mount it?

Chassis also uses extremely thin material so there is an excessive amount of chassis flex. So much so that the included fans will vibrate the chassis. Drive trays while adequate fir pretty tight and require an abnormal amount of pressure to install and more importantly, remove.

So in closing the unit looks nice but based on the fact you can't rack mount this unit with the lid on using their own recommended rails, I can't knowingly recommend this chassis to anyone. If it was sub $100 then maybe, but it is definitely overpriced at $140.

Spend a little extra money and go with Supermicro. Norco isn't quite ready for prime time.
Reviewed By:wbrace,4/13/2015 6:00:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.