Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO CSE-813MTQ-350CB Black 1U Rackmount Server Chassis 350W

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent service with fast shipping
Pros: - Reasonably priced upgrade to my aging system
- Product was brand new in the original packaging and included all accessories. I was quite happy.
Cons: - None
Reviewed By:Anthony A.,7/20/2016 5:09:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-2U2022S47 Black Steel 2U Rackmount Server Chassis w/ V2.2 Micro PS3 EPS-12V 470W Power Supply 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Nice case, low quality PSU
Pros: - Convenient form factor
- Enough room for a small server with 1 or 2 boot drives
Cons: - Cheap PSU, died after 2 year.
- It gets too crowded inside if more than 1 or 2 drives are required
Other Thoughts: I use this case for a VMware server that only have a single SSD boot drive and in this configuration it has enough room for ATX board and few extension cards. However, I had to modify the case covering vents on sides and the top with duct tape to have a good airflow from front to back. The server was running 24/7 for 2 years, fans provided decent airflow and internal components stayed reasonably cool. No dust accumulation at all because of the foam filter.

However, this case comes with low quality PSU that died on me after just 2 years. I have 2 more cases identical to this one that I bought from a different reseller under different brand name (p-link) about 3 years before. They came without PSUs and I purchased Antec EA-380D PSUs separately. Those servers are still kicking without any issues but the new one just died.

The bottom line - the case design is good, PSU is not. I wish that they would sell it without PSU rather than of putting a low quality one inside.
Manufacturer Response:Dear customer. Thanks for your review on Athena Power RM-2U2022S47. According to the specs of this product, the power supply should be an Athena Power AP-MPS3ATX47EP which comes with 3-Year limited warranty. If your Newegg invoicing/purchasing date is within 3 years, please feel free to contact our Customer Service at (626)810-5008 or service@athenapower.us in our regular business hour: 8:30am-5:30pm, Mon.~Fri.

Reviewed By:Dmitri T.,7/17/2016 5:22:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO CSE-745TQ-920B Black 4U Pedestal Server Case 920W 80Plus Platinum 2x 5.25" Peripheral Drive Bay 1x 5.25" Bay that fits 3.5" bay devices External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stay away from SuperMicro Products
Pros: Great advertised features
Cons: The connectors were literally falling off of the SATA backplane when I was attempting to attach cables.
Other Thoughts: This is the second time I have given SuperMicro a chance. I thought that maybe the first time was a fluke, but not at all. I will never purchase another SuperMicro product and if you value your sanity, I'd suggest you taking the same precautions.
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. Please kindly contact our technical support so that we can find out more about your configuration and work with you in finding a solution. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:John J.,7/9/2016 8:14:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D-400-6-ND Black 1.2mm SECC Zinc-Coated Steel 4U Rackmount Compact Stylish Chassis 6 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Impressive
Pros: +Plenty of room.
+Very high quality construction.
+6X 5.25" external drive bays
+No frills
Cons: -2X 80mm exhaust ports (they could've gotten away with 2X 92mm probably).
-The power LED connector is a three-prong style, incompatible with a lot of motherboard headers (I had to get the pliers out and 're-assign' the offending wire :) )
Other Thoughts: This case is a joy to work with. The 6 5.25" bays allow me to have two 4X 3.5" -> 3X 5.25" adapters for two 4-drive RAID arrays. The additional 3.5" bays allow for system drives as well. The power LED thing was a bit of a bummer, but easy enough to fix (This is with an AsRock Extreme4 mATX board). Plenty of room inside when dealing with mATX/mITX. Plenty of room for a dual-fan Noctua NH-L12 installation, as well.
Reviewed By:Caleb R.,6/30/2016 4:55:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-4220 4U Rackmount Server Chassis w/ 20 Hot-Swappable SATA/SAS 6G Drive Bays (Mini SAS Connector)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Avoid - company doesn't respond. Problems with SATA errors on most drives
Pros: The price is right... In theory should be able to use 20 hotswap drives.
Cons: Trouble with any/all drives actually running at full speed. All the drives I've used have been SATA III but mostly connect only at 1.5Gb/s - sometimes 3.0Gb/s. Very slow regardless of what speed is negotiated. I've tried several RAID controllers and even on-board SATA ports and all have trouble.

To use the case I finally just gave up and removed the backplanes and plugged each drive in directly using SATA and Power cables. All drives work at full 6Gb/s this way but no more hot-swap.

Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.
Other Thoughts: I've emailed Norotek 11 times over the last 8 weeks asking if they'd sell me just the backplane pieces and if they had known issues from the time I bought the case... Not a single response even after receiving 'Read' receipts that my email had been read.

Maybe they have gone out of business? Or maybe they only care about selling the things and not actually following up? Just not worth the hassle. Spend a little more and get a case that works and has support after the sale.
Reviewed By:Michael G.,6/27/2016 10:29:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO ITX-S8 Black Black Mini-ITX Form Computer Storage Case Support standard 1U single ATX power supply (NOT included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love this Case! Perfect for home NAS Solutions
Pros: Professional backplane with two SAS SFF8087 ports, makes it much easier to cable when using a SAS controller, only two cables to run to connect all 8 drive bays. Norco disk caddy's are the same as their professional data center caddy's. The caddy's provide power and activity led's that pass-thru a transparent bar from the back of the backplane to the front of the caddy. Caddy quality is high. Includes all screws (including drive screws for caddy's so they are recessed) and several brackets, including a thumb screw wrench. There is an SSD drive mount on one side. Four thumb screws to remove the case and it's easy to get it back on once aligned. Two side vents provide airflow to motherboard and both fans exhaust out the back. Nice front panel power/reset and activity LED's as well as USB2 and USB3 ports. Locking front grill so someone won't reach in and eject a drive. Was evaluating the U-NAS NSC-800 case and this NORCO ITX-S8 is a big larger but much easier to work on. Install was a breeze even with the cons listed below.
Cons: The case must have been impacted during shipping although packaged very well in styrofoam and no indication of box damage, the bottom of the case was bowed in such a way as it would have shorted out the motherboard bottom and the port cover plate wouldn't fit because the bottom was bent an the opening no longer square. I was able to bend it back into position with some gentle prying. Sheet metal is flexible and this can happen with any case. Don't know if maybe it was dropped at the factory or not.

The included fans are too loud for normal use and although pinned as 4 pin PWM fans they are actually only 3 pin. So I replaced the fans with Noctua NF-A8 PWM fans. Much quieter even at full 2200rpm speed. (included fans are 3500rpm). I have found the airflow to be adequate for my needs. Wish there was a pamphlet to explain the included brackets, really didn't need them but would have liked to know how they were intended to be used.
Other Thoughts: Excellent case for a home NAS or even a small business NAS. If you are putting it in your living room or bedroom, replace the stock fans but if it's going in a data coms closet use the stock fans.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/26/2016 12:45:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-2U200H47 Black Aluminum Front Pannel and 1.2mm Steel 2U Rackmount Server Case 470W 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays, Small Form Factor Chassis under 15" in Depth

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Power Supply Failed
Pros: This unit was recommended by a friend that previously has used this unit many times.
Cons: Upon testing of this unit the power supply failed. Just ordered a new power supply to replace this one.
Manufacturer Response:Dear customer. Thank you for your user reviews on Athena Power RM-2U200H47. We also apologize any inconvenience happened on you. If your purchasing date is in 1-year with Newegg, we encourage you to contact with our Customer Service/Tech Support team at (626)810-5008 or service@athenapower.us to request our RMA service for the power supply unit during our regular business hours, 8:30am-5:30pm Mon.-Fri. Again, thank you for your time to have your reviews.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/23/2016 3:21:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4000 - 4U Rackmount Server Case / Chassis - 8 Internal Bays, 7 Cooling Fans Included

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Great Value Case
Pros: - Cheap
- Build quality is certainly there
- Quite a few fans included by default
- Rails were easy to find, "Rosewill RSV-R26LX - 26" 3-Section Ball-Bearing Sliding Rail Kit for Rackmount Chassis"
Cons: - Molex connectors for the included fans were poorly made, pins not aligned and white housing slightly too large.
- Mounting the case is quite odd. I doesn't use the bottom hole of the 4 Units, but rather uses the upper hole for the 5th unit.
- You can easily loose the 4 tiny screws required for removing the top cover.
Other Thoughts: While I didn't have any issues, some people have had issues with the cons I've listed. I'd still recommend this case as it's easier than buying a 2nd hand brand name case and going through the hassle of finding rails and compatible upgrades/parts.
Reviewed By:Peter S.,6/21/2016 3:43:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D406-DE8BK Black 4U Rackmount Compact Stylish Server Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great server case! 8 hotswapable bay's room fora full atx mobo & psu, 7 expansion bay's, solid steel and 2 fans
Pros: plenty of rooms, comes with 2 80mm fan so good cooling, fit atx mobo & psu, solid steel construction, came with all the screws and 8 sata cables for the 8 hotswap bays, i love this case
Cons: NONE!
Other Thoughts: great product at great price, we used it at my office to make a 32 terabyte nas storage server for our 32 security camera's, couldn't be happier with istarusa product in general
Reviewed By:Chaim C.,6/20/2016 10:55:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4412 - 4U Rackmount Server Case or Chassis, 12 SATA / SAS Hot-swap Drives, 5 Cooling Fans Included

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Minor update
Pros: Still happy with this case. I don't regret buying it, and syand by what I said before...


If you can't justify a $700 case for the extra 10% it gives you over this one currently ($230 after shipping) then this isn't a bad choice!
Cons: 1) I decided to try the 80mm fans (which, credit where it's due, are fairly quiet) only to find one of them was broken. Not a huge deal for me, and if I cared it looks like it would be easily swappable.

2) The front cover only closes when the bay doors are completely shut. This means that if you don't want a drive to be connected, don't assume you can leave it in the case as "storage"

To me, this is rather annoying as it would be convenient to pull the drives it a quarter inch so that they're clearly not connected, yet not taking up space on a bookshelf or something.

This is mostly an annoyance, especially given the excess of internal space!

I don't expect most people would have this problem, but maybe someone else will!
Reviewed By:John M.,6/19/2016 4:49:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.