Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV2000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Off to a terrible start
Pros: Very speedy delivery by NewEgg
Cons: Bought the drive to backup my HD using Windows Backup (no need for the bells and whistles in other backup packages in my world so I stick to the standard here). Set it up on arrival and started complete backup at about 7 PM. By 3:19 AM it had failed to complete (error code 0x8078002A) "one of the backup files could not be created". Spent several hours off and on the Seagate site trying to find solutions and started running their SeaTools diagnostic about 8:30 AM. Now it is 4 PM and it's still running with no progress meter, no diagnostics, just sitting there eating CPU cycles. Started case with Seagate via e-mail this AM, and no acknowledgement from them yet that I exist. Bottom line is that this turkey is going back, probably tomorrow or as soon as I can get an RMA.
Other Thoughts: If, as another responder indicated, for some reason this device is incompatible with Windows Backup, the fact belongs in the product specs. Otherwise all you are doing is setting yourself up for the administrative overhead of an RMA and annoying a faithful customer.
Reviewed By:Geoff Brown,7/22/2014 1:17:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV3000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died within a year
Pros: It died within my warranty period.
Cons: The fact that it died at all. I bought this drive to back up my data from a Synology DS412+ NAS. It failed a SIMPLE test last night so I am currently dealing with Seagate's warranty department.
Reviewed By:Not a Seagate fan,7/22/2014 11:50:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D201TDB Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Large capacity
Pros: Decent capacity, quiet running. Used for occasional backups of a 1TB
plus desktop. Having suddenly lost a large external drive (not Samsung) unexpectedly, I generally unplug this new one at other times. Has 3 year warranty.
Cons: Samsung software must be running to use drive out of the box. (I have tried using it any other way.) I turned the Activity light away from my eyes, since it's kind of annoying.
Other Thoughts: Samsung has since started offering larger models (3TB and up)
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2014 10:42:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't Work
Pros: I bought it on sale - great price per GB
Cons: I have Win7 x64 and an EVGA X58 FTW MoBo.
Hard drive didn't work out of the box. Plugged it in and Windows didn't recognize it.
Turns out my PC also won't boot with this plugged in to the USB port. I'm sure you can imagine how much time/frustration it took me to realize this after coming home from traveling
Other Thoughts: When I have time to screw around with it I'll see if I can figure out how to get it working and.
Reviewed By:Ryan,7/22/2014 7:50:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation 4TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Hard Drive HD-LC4.0U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: When I purchased, it was $169, ten dollars less than the cheapest 4 Tb I could find.
Cons: Did not come preloaded with the answers to the question of life.
Reviewed By:Coast Ranger,7/22/2014 5:45:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio Desk 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive HDWC250XK3J1 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well
Pros: Inexpensive and fast
Cons: None yet
Other Thoughts: I bought two of these to use as backup drives. I have filled both of them to capacity about 12 times so far. No complaints. Speed is great, I worry a little about heat in an essentially sealed plastic (insulating) housing.
Reviewed By:Jeff,7/20/2014 6:38:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's a pretty standard basic external HDD
Pros: From a non-technical perspective:

I bought 2 of these and they both work fine. It's an external HDD, and though the marketing materials do promise encryption and backup both are entirely software based. That means you'll have to install Samsung's software on your computer (and every computer to which you'd want to attach this HDD for encryption) as well as meaning that your computer will be responsible for all the encryption (in other words it could slow down your computer).

Regardless, in my professional opinion I'd stay away from software that comes bundled with a HDD from an electronics manufacturer. This is priced like a hard drive (and nothing more) and it's probably best used as such.

This version of the D3 Station, the 4TB model, actually contains a slower hard drive than the 3TB and the 2TB models. So despite the performance of USB 3.0, the drive is actually slower than other USB 3.0 alternatives from the same manufacturer.

To answer a common question: Yes, you can plug this into a USB 2.0 port and it will work just fine.

The drive is powered by an external power supply, not by USB. The power supply is of an average sized "wall wart" style, and comes with adapters for just about every country imaginable (yes, including the US and Canada).

To use the drive just for storage (no encryption, etc.) you do NOT NEED to install any of the bundled software. It should be detected by Windows, OSX, or *nix as a mass storage device (or whatever your OS calls it) without issue.

Note that older operating systems may not support a drive that's over 2TB! That's not a failing of this product specifically, it's simply because the idea of a single 4TB drive was CRAZY when Windows XP came out in 2001 (just as an example). There are ways to get a 4TB hard drive to "work" in older operating systems -- Google it, there's plenty of info out there.

The drive came formatted with a full 4TB (well, less due to file system overhead / byte calculations) partition, and on that partition was all of the Samsung software. I don't recall what filesystem it came with, and I've already wiped the drives.

I was pretty pleased that the software did NOT try to "autoplay" in my Win7 system.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Some tasty technical bits:

Mine contained Seagate ST4000DM000 internal drives. That's a standard 3.5" 6Gbps 5900RPM SATA HDD. It does not appear to be crippled in any way. It works when attached to a standard motherboard SATA port, and works attached to a PERC H200 (flashed to an LSI 9211-8i in IT mode).

The case is pretty easy to open. There are 2 screws under two of the footpads, and the side that was screw-ed in pops right off. (NE won't let me use the past participle form of "screw"). I found directions online on how to open the 3TB model (they share the same enclosure), and it worked great. The best tip was to use a credit card (actually use an old gift card or something you don't mind damaging) to pry around the edge. The softer plastic of the card won't damage the harder plastic of the enclosure, so you won't have as much of an issue with RMAs.

There is no "warranty void if this sticker is removed" sticker. Just in case you were curious. I do not recommend voiding your warranty, and I do not recommend opening the case. But really it's pretty easy.

There are 2 ports in the back (well, 3ish): Power (12V / 1.5A / center +) and micro USB 3.0, which is of course a regular micro USB port with the USB 3.0 side port.

Yes, you can use a standard micro USB cable with no problem. The included cable is short, and if your computer doesn't support USB 3.0 there's no need to use it.

I've owned these drives for a grand total of a day, so I can't speak to reliability. If I experience failure(s) then you can rest assured that I'll update this review. If it's not updated then assume they're still working fine from the date that this was posted.

Last thoughts: If you do get a deal on this D3 Station and want to use the drive internally (as did I), make sure you check recent reviews. Sometimes manufacturers do change internal disk interfaces and/or cripple drives and/or change drives completely without changing the model number of the external product nor doing anything noticeable to the consumer.

Just because I got a plain old ST4000DM000 doesn't mean that you will. That's always the risk with these external drives: You don't know for sure what's going to be inside when you get it.

Just as an aside: Whenever you buy a hard drive and it's sold as "4TB" or "2TB" or "500MB" or whatever, you're going to "see" less space than that available on the disk once it's formatted. That's true of all drives. The actual usable amount will depend upon your file system, operating system, and file system options. I hate when I see people rate a drive poorly because it "wasn't as big as they promised". There are various technical and marketing reasons why that happens, and though it's not always fair it's at least pretty consistent within the industry. Maybe they should have to say "4TB class drive" like they do with "55 inch class" TVs.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/18/2014 3:36:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Net N900 HD Dual Band Router Wireless N WiFi Router Accelerate HD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Upgrade
Pros: This is my second N900 (a refurb) and it works as flawlessly as the first. The first one is still running <grin>. Setup was very easy, lots of options to tweak, if you want. Wireless setup and performance is easy and stable.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Kudos to Grassroots Computer for shipping time and package integrity
Reviewed By:N/A,7/18/2014 12:20:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Touro Desk Pro 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive 0S03503 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great BUT ...
Pros: - 4tb capacity (of course smaller when formatted)
- Nice looking enclosure; vented too
- USB 3.0
Cons: - No on/off power button
- Spins down after about 5 minutes of inactivity
- Runs kind of warm to hot; even having a vented enclosure
Other Thoughts: It's a great drive for temporary archiving (no HDD or SSD should be used for long term archiving anyways) of your library of files.

I purchased this thinking it would be great to use for editing (photos, videos, music) but if you don't constantly utilize this drive, it will go into a "power save" mode ... which is not good for editing but great for general purpose use as it will save the disk's and save a bit of power too.

Even for general use, just be aware that if you haven't accessed this drive within about 5 minutes, it will spin down. Then when you do need to access the drive, it will take about 30 - 40 seconds to spin back up.

I wish HGST had put this on their website for the specs. I probably would not have purchased it if I had known this prior to buying ... at least for my needs.

Still, overall a decent external storage HDD w/USB 3.0.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/18/2014 11:54:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 3TB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBFJK0030HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Its great
Pros: - USB 3.0
- 3TB for a low price
- Excellent NewEgg Shipping Time Frame

I am using this as a backup drive for my home computer... I plugged it in before going to bed and woke up to the back up being complete.... I am a fan. I was using a Seagate drive previously but after having a few Seagate drives completely die on me, I have decided to stick to WD for my larger data storage needs.
Cons: None so far. Will update if this changes.
Other Thoughts: I wish I would've waited just one day to order this.. the day after I bought the 3TB for 119.99, NewEgg dropped the price of the 4TB to 159.99 and an extra terabyte for 40 bucks is totally worth it... but I am too lazy to return the one I already have that is larger than the one I lost. Just an after thought.
Reviewed By:Jack,7/18/2014 8:08:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau