Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 3TB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBFJK0030HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Like it so far
Pros: High capacity, compatible with XBOX One. Quiet,
Cons: None thus far...
Reviewed By:N/A,9/4/2015 3:16:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 3TB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBFJK0030HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A little wary, but good customer service
Pros: FAST on a good USB 3 controller. I get consistent large-file transfers of about 125 MB/s. I use this drive for nightly backups and it sits quietly, scooping up all the data I need it to. It uses a standard USB 3.0 micro port so if you misplace the supplied cord you can use a common micro USB cord from your phone in a pinch and replacement 3.0 cables are easy to buy online.
Cons: The first item wasn't quite DOA, but it had some unrecoverable errors during my initial 1.2 TB backup. The 2nd drive had a brief issue after a firmware update but it resolved itself. The plastic casing feels a little cheap compared to some of the nicer (and more expensive) models like the MyBook Studio but at this price, I don't expect premium aesthetic design -- it's about the same as my 2 year old MyBook Mac so at least the quality is consistent.
Other Thoughts: The first defective drive was exchanged by Newegg since it had only been a few weeks. I posted a review when the 2nd drive started acting up: Strange noises prompted me to run diagnostics and update firmware. After firmware update the drive was shutting itself down after 10-15 seconds of being plugged in. I submitted an RMA request to Western Digital and received a prompt reply less than 1 bus. day later. By that time the drive had apparently been rebooted enough to work normally again.

There are always failures in any series of hard drives and I would prefer not to deal with issues like this, but at least with a reputable brand like there is good warranty support.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/2/2015 1:17:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB2000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does the job
Pros: Quiet operation
LED isn't bright - no distraction
Plenty fast through USB 3.0
Cons: No power button
Could use a longer USB cable since it runs off AC power
Other Thoughts: I don't have any problems with this drive. I was aware of the cons when purchasing. Basically it just works and I don't have to worry about it.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 10:26:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB2000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not work with windows backup
Pros: Good read and write speed. The usb cable reaches when placed top of the server.
Cons: Will not work with windows server 2008 r2 or windows 7 backup. I purchased the 2tb drive hoping to avoid this problem. Even though the website says its compatible it is not. fsinfo comes up with 4k for everything no 512k. Contacted support they said "it was hit or miss" ?! Website says newer drives will get formatted as gpt so I tried formatting with gpt and same problem.

I used an old 512gb drive with 512 bytes per sector and 4k bytes per physical sector and windows backup works without a problem.

Interesting / confusing seatools reports the 2tb drive as 512 bytes per sector and 4k bytes per physical sector.

So avoid all seagate external drives if you are backing up windows 7 and windows server 2008 r2. I am going to go with WDC at least they have the formatting tool even though the transfer rate is reduced because of it.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 7:49:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV2000300

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Seagate Expansion 2TB
Pros: Received in a well packed box for a refurbished product.. Easy install. Fast and quiet. Work fine in Windows 10. Recommended.
Cons: Nothing up to now.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 6:50:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 3TB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBFJK0030HBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 two out of two failed units in 65 days
Pros: Sturdy design, 7200 RPM, 2nd drive worked for a few weeks.
Cons: The first drive I received had to be RMA'd through Newegg after just a few days. It mounted and appeared to operate normally but during my initial backups it would report an error after about half an hour of copying. Ran WD Utilities extended test (surface scan) and it reported a failure. Replacement drive came and appeared to work fine but two days ago started making an unnerving sound so I ran WD Utilities extended test on this drive as well. The test never completed and now the drive shuts itself off about 20 seconds after I power it on. Time to go through WD warranty service since I'm beyond Newegg's return window.
Other Thoughts: I've only had one out of dozens of WD drives fail before this so I hope they will make it right again.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Kent,
We are very sorry to hear that your drive did not function so soon after it was delivered. Western Digital does rigorously test and verify all of our drives, prior to shipping, and we would like to assure you that what you have experienced is extremely abnormal. We do stand behind our warranty for the duration of the products provided warranty period, and as such, we are here to support our products regardless of the circumstances.
We would appreciate the opportunity to assist you on any problems you may have, resulting in a positive resolution to your issue. Please contact us at (800) 275-4932, or via our support website at: https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 6:16:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent drive...prev omit
Pros: Lots of space, performs well.
Cons: External power supply...see Other Thoughts
Other Thoughts: Had uninstall the default Samsung software. After time, was only reading 64mb available. Nothing else. I though it crashed but once I reinstalled the software and repaired, it came back. Heads up.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 1:03:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Extremely Slow
Pros: These are large and cheap storage drives. I have had no bad sectors or corrupt files.
Cons: These drives are extremely slow. It has taken eight days to copy 32GB to the drive, normally this operation from one internal drive to another would only take about ten minutes.
Other Thoughts: I have two of these drive and they both exhibit fast write speeds that taper off quickly to about 150KB/s.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Kyle,

Please verify that the latest USB chipset drivers and Windows updates are installed for your system, as not having the latest drivers and updates can cause the symptoms described in your review. Please reference the following support article for more details:

http://goo.gl/t6ASqf

If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact our support staff and we will be happy to assist further:

http://www.seagate.com/contacts/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 7:52:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives Titanium-II 750GB USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive TFD750U16

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Stable Product
Pros: This was a good back-up storage-system from back when it was first released.
Cons: Can feel hot to touch but this is true of most External-HDDs. You just have to be careful not to stack stuff on top of it where it gets little to no ventillation or you will likely eventually experience a bad day as I did this with a different External-HDD one day when I wasn't paying close enough attention.
Other Thoughts: I know this is a long time to be writing a review, a whole seven years after purchase, but it's still running & operational & functional for me even to this very day. Nice product even though this model is probably no longer manufactured due to newer & even higher-end products of this arche-type being released out into the market.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 1:58:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Bad Power Adapters, I Think?
Pros: Lots of inexpensive, modular storage
Cons: Transfer speeds below 1 MB/s, probably due to power supply
Other Thoughts: So I am confused by this drive. I own several USB 3.0 external drives that I can plug in an run diagnostics on and get pretty consistent results. However, when I plugged in these new drives (I bought two), right out of the box they were giving me less than 1 MB/s write speeds, and maybe 3MB/s read speeds, give or take. Then I swapped out the power and USB cable from a different seagate drive and get a nice 160-180 MB/s both read and write. So I think the drives are ok, but the power/USB cables they provided are bad? I did try switching out the USB cable they sent, and got decent results (120 MB/s) so I think it is the power unit that is the likely culprit. It's too bad, because I was really excited about these, but with all the time I've had to waste trying to figure out what's wrong, I probably would have been better off going with a different product.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Joseph,

We apologize for the power supply problems experienced with your Expansion Desktop drives. We would like to talk with you by phone to determine an available resolution. A support case (05022020) has been created that will reference your review and our response. Our support contact number in the US/Canada is 800-732-4283. If outside of this region, or for additional support options, please try us here:

http://www.seagate.com/contacts/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2015 4:55:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.