Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Hope you're not in a hurry
Pros: Price
Cons: No drive. Been waiting over a week, and it looks like it will take two weeks to get to me. Can't tell you how the drive is, but I can only hope it doesn't arrive damaged.
Other Thoughts: Guess you're supposed to purchase a prime membership in order to get items shipped to you, which means that there is no longer a price advantage. I have been ordering from Newegg for years, but will have to take some time and look elsewhere before ordering again.
Reviewed By:Dr. Jay,9/19/2014 10:30:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Great - After Full Format
Pros: Very pleased overall. Small initial problems getting it to work but after full format it worked great.
Cons: Had to format first to get it to be recognized and work properly. Other than that, it has been running great for about a month. No issues so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/18/2014 1:35:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV2000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent external hard drive
Pros: -Attractive looking black case
-Comes complete with USB cable and power cord
-Has a blue power/read/write LED to let you know you're plugged in and blinks during read/write sessions
-Read/Write speeds as very fast
- Very quiet running but hums a little when placed on a hard surface but I don't find that to be annoying
1.8 TB preformated disk space.
Cons: I haven't come across any yet.
Other Thoughts: I love this hard drive so much, I'm planning on purchasing the 4 TB external hard drive when it goes on sale. I need to unload 3 internal hard drives of files and this is the perfect solution for me. It's great for portable use too.
Reviewed By:Robert,9/18/2014 12:07:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk
Pros: Large storage and 3.0 usb
Cons: If you want to store a few pictures at a time this is for you. If you want to store large files like movies for get it with out drops and loss of data--Samsung should be ashamed to put their name on this product.
Reviewed By:mike o,9/18/2014 10:01:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > ioSafe > ioSafe SOLO G3 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive with Fireproof / Waterproof, 1 year DATA Recovery SVC SK2TB

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Really great product
Pros: Absolutely love this product. It was super easy to set up and maintain. I have had backups saving here for about 6 months now and have had to restore some of them - no issues at all. The sturdy design and fireproof/waterproof design makes me feel even more secure about trusting (my life of data) on this product. Highly recommend!
Cons: Havent found any yet
Other Thoughts: Great backup solution at an affordable price. It offers fast read and write speeds and haven't noticed any latency issues. I haven't had to contact customer service for any reason, but this is a good thing!
Reviewed By:gmccleary11,9/17/2014 7:13:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation 3TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Hard Drive HD-LC3.0U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice external storage.
Pros: Lots of room. Quiet drive. Small LED light. Powers of or goes in suspend when you unhook usb cable.
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: I wonder what brand drive is inside. Maybe I will pop the cover one day to see.
Reviewed By:Richard,9/17/2014 11:52:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy for older people
Pros: I gave one of these to my parents for backup purposes. It worked right out of the box with their system & my Mob backs things up on a regular basis. I use this for backup as well & have had no issues with my GNU/Linux system. parted handles the large drive size with ease using GPT. Also, the cost per terabyte was fantastic.

If you are daring, you can crack the case open & gain access to a USB 3.0 SATA adapter. Please check the warranty before doing anything like this.
Cons: Very short warranty.
Reviewed By:From out of the West,9/17/2014 10:55:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 2TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT2000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome HDD
Pros: I would say it's an awesome HDD.
I had a portable one, and what I like about this one is that it has a separate power connector.
I like the size, (not internal space), because it just makes my life easier. I use this product to back up all my data.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/17/2014 7:07:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D201TDB Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not what you think
Pros: Samsung is a pretty good brand with high quality most of the times.
Cons: Would not of bought if known has a Seagate brand hard drive in it. Samsung drives seem to hold their ground pretty well when used in NAS storage units. So if you have grown to not prefer Seagate hard drives DO NOT BUY. They are nowhere as good or dependable as they used to be. Might as well get on board with Maxtor and Western Digatal as being junk. Hope someone will find this information useful.
Reviewed By:Monkeybutt,9/16/2014 4:17:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Price, Solid ext USB 3 drive...
Pros: So far so good, holds data, getting decent USB 3.0 transfer rates, this was on sale and so the price was great and it doesn't seem to be a heater (good air flow).
Cons: This is a Seagate manufactured drive with a Sammy Logo... Not sure 2-3 years down the road if there's a problem how that will play out warranty wise.

-supplied USB 3.0 Cord is too short (an annoyance) for those of us needing more than 18"

-1 egg for the Samsung software - it's buggy. I'm considering scrapping the included software and using other solutions (for encryption and backing up).
Reviewed By:SuperK,9/16/2014 10:49:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau