Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Please educate yourself before making false statements about drive capacities
Pros: There are in fact 5000000000 bytes of space on your drive. Marketing promotes the space as a base 10 value which is not a lie or misleading, but appears that way for those less educated in how a computer represents memory (including harddrive) space. For a computer it is base2. So 2 to the 10th power is 1024 and that is what a computer uses to convert bytes to Kbytes to Mbytes to Gbytes to Tbytes. So when a computer represents something in Kbytes it is divided by 1024 instead of base 10 dividing by 1000. If you take the 5000000000000 and divide by 1024, you get 4882812500 Kbytes. Divide it again by 1024 and you get 4768371 MBytes. Divide it again by 1024 and you get 4656 GBytes. Divide it again and you get 4.54 TBytes (suprise suprise suprise it is the value you are all quoting when you are stating it is short space). So you are getting every last bytes that is listed in Base 10 it is just that your computer is showing it in Base 2. Don't believe me, make you computer display your drive capacity in Bytes instead of TBytes and you will see.
Cons: See Pros for a quick lesson on capacity representation on a computer. Others have corrected misinformation about the connector so I won't go on about that.
Other Thoughts: I own the older version of this drive and love it. I am in the process of purchasing the new version and see people are still complaining about getting shorted on space when they aren't and giving 1 egg because they think they are right when they are actually wrong about the point they are making. This drive looks great and I hope it can also operate horizontal (foot pads and such) as the drives tend to last longer in that orientation.
Reviewed By:Gus,4/24/2015 1:59:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Drive
Pros: No Autoplay Software
5TB
Compact Size
USB 3.0
Cons: USB 3.0 Micro B Connector
Other Thoughts: The Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive is relatively small as it is just slightly larger than a standard 3.5" internal disk. The drive has a flat black finish with a triangle/pyramid texture on the two large sides. The bottom and back of the drive have triangle passive vents. The USB 3 Micro B and power connections are also located on the back of the drive. It is unfortunate that the drive uses Micro B for the USB 3 connection instead of USB A connection, which adds compatibility along with feeling less flimsy. When powered on and plugged into a computer, the long single blue LED becomes visible on the top of the drive and blinks for activity.

Windows 7 and 8.1 recognized the Seagate Expansion drive automatically as it is formatted with NTFS. There were no auto run prompts for included software. The only data included on the drive was Seagate hardware registration, which was simple to complete. After completing the registration, I removed all data from the drive which left 4.54 TB of formatted space.

When concurrently copying over 3 TB of data from multiple disks to the Seagate Expansion drive, the average write speed was 112MB/s. Copying data from the Seagate Expansion drive to the computer averaged a read speed of 120MB/s. The drive itself was warm to the touch while data was being copied but not hot.

I recommend this drive for anyone looking for a large USB 3 drive that is small in physical size.
Reviewed By:Brandon,4/24/2015 12:24:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works flawlessly
Pros: I have owned this device for over a year. I was able to transfer all of me media files onto this drive!

I bought this drive to use with a laptop that I have hooked up to my TV. This drive has worked really well for my purpose!
Cons: Has external power. Cant get around that with the large capacity. I knew this when i purchased the drive.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this for full price wish i would have been able to get it for the price it is currently listed at. :P
Reviewed By:Scott E.,4/24/2015 11:07:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works flawlessly
Pros: This is a huge drive! I was able to back up all media files that I had wandering around my house and put them into one place!

I bought this drive for a media PC that I have hooked up to my TV. I have used this now for over a year and it works really well.

I thought about turning that computer into a server for the whole house and the size of this drive would surely help out!
Cons: Needs external power. I knew this when I purchased it. Cant get around that for this kind of capacity.
Other Thoughts: Overall really happy with this drive.
Reviewed By:Scott E.,4/24/2015 10:55:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 NOT a "proprietary cable"
Pros: very large capacity. Good access speeds. I have not had a failure, but I am using it for back up of my media server so I am pretty much write once in my application of this drive
Cons: No so far
Other Thoughts: The claim by some reviewers that cable is propriety is wrong. There are three types of industry standard USB 3 cables. "USB 3.0 A", "USB 3.0 B" and "USB 3.0 micro B".

This device uses industry standard USB 3.0 Micro B. You can buy generics of this cable on Newegg , Amz , Mono. In Brick and Mortar you can find them every day at at WM, TGT, OD, Stp, and MCenter.

If you put "USB 3.0 micro" into the newegg search bar above you can see the first two hits are $4 and $4.15 for this cable.

Western Digital, HGST AND Seagate use this3.0 micro B extensively on a variety of their external drives. If every major maker is using them -- it is not "proprietary."
Reviewed By:Corrector,4/24/2015 8:48:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D201TDB Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 JUNK! Can't format.
Pros: I bought this in June, 2014 and paid $70 for it.
Cons: I've turned this thing on maybe five times to copy data to it just to test it out. Today, I hook it up, and although Windows "sees" it, it can't format it or write to it. So, now I need to attempt the dreaded RMA process. Oh, and there is no power switch on this thing. I've always hated that fact.
Other Thoughts: Even if Samsung offers to fix this brick, I highly doubt I will ever use it again. I can't trust this thing. Look at all of the other bad reviews. Do you really want to take that kind of chance with a piece of plastic junk? That's all it is folks. Listen to everyone on here. Unless you're just plain lucky, I would spend a few dollars more on something with better reviews.
Reviewed By:Jim R.,4/24/2015 8:37:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Insane Deal - Hope It Lasts
Pros: -Bottomless Pit!
-Price per TB is as low as it gets.
-Looks better than its predecessor.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: I bought this after having the prior model STBV5000100 for 3 months with no problems. I may have to replace all my 2-3TB drives (which seems to have general reliability issues) with these guys.

The USB cable included & drive connection are NOT proprietary. They are a mirco USB 3.0 male & female respectively. Most portable USB 3.0 drives, USB 3.0 hubs larger than 4 ports, & some phones use this connection type.
Reviewed By:Megas,4/24/2015 6:41:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 8TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT8000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A few months in and no complaints
Pros: Quiet. Relatively compact shell. Running 24x7 for a few months so far and no troubles at all.
Cons: Can't think of any.
Other Thoughts: This size at this price makes it a great choice for archiving large amounts of data.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/24/2015 1:04:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB3000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Simple plug and play installation. Comes with USB 3 cable. Hi transfer rates. Works as expected.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:Bob,4/23/2015 10:56:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > ioSafe > ioSafe SOLO G3 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive with Fireproof / Waterproof, 1 year DATA Recovery SVC SK2TB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy Setup
Pros: We are using this as a third backup to a Synology NAS running in RAID. Installation was plug and play, and it has worked flawlessly for a backup destination. If someone is looking for the security of an external backup that can handle some natural disaster this is the product for you. As a SMB that doesn't require a ton of storage this is a good solution for our needs. It comes with a decent length USB cable giving you flexibility in where you locate the device. And the enclosure has the added feature of a mounting hole.
Cons: I only wish this had network capability at this price point.
Reviewed By:ZiggyP,4/23/2015 9:02:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.