Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 awesome drives
Pros: everything. great drives. Great for backups and storage.
Cons: they are not free lol.
Other Thoughts: great drives. internally they are seagate 4 platter 5900 RPM single drives. You can pull the physical drives out of the enclosure (though it'd nuke your warranty) and use them as an internal SATA Storage drive. Some drives in enclosures do not allow you to do that.
Reviewed By:burn0u7,8/26/2014 4:11:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible enclosure
Pros: It came on when I powered it up, that's about it.
One thing to note: My beef is not with the actual Hard Drive that is inside but rather the hardware/firmware of the enclosure.
Cons: The enclosure will disconnect itself when under load, copying files. Needed to cycle the power to bring it back online after which it would do the same thing over. I bought this drive for a main backup to my Synology NAS.. I made sure all hibernation options were off in the NAS. I tested the same procedure with another 2TB drive that I have and no problems at all. I returned this drive after 12 hours of testing and repeated failures.
Other Thoughts: I am a biomedical technologist specializing in medical imaging equipment and I deal with computers and digital hardware everyday, stay away from this drive. And to top off my frustration, I realized afterwards that I would have to pay shipping from my own pocket to return the enclosure back to newegg for a refund.. I will not be buying anything else from newegg.
Reviewed By:Mani,8/26/2014 4:57:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV5000100

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Beefy
Pros: Obviously the drive capacity is massive. The drive is so large you almost have to buy two just for redundancy's sake... How else would you back up 5 TB (actually 4.5 TB after formatting). In addition to being very large, the drive is reasonably fast. Read speed benchmarks at an average of 150.1 MB/s, write benchmarks average 142.8 MB/s. Not blazing, but adequate. The drive includes a 4 ft USB 3 cable and a generic power supply that fits securely into the ordinary black casing.
Cons: I wasn't kidding about buying two, it's a lot of data to put in one place, so don't over-rely on this thing. Its weaksauce one-year warranty isn't confidence inspiring either. As a nitpick, some rubber feet on the side would have been nice to make the drive able to stand vertically.
Other Thoughts: As you may notice from other reviews, the drive is not easy to use as an internal disk. You're paying for a product specifically marketed as an external hard drive, so I don't hold that against it. Nevertheless, it's good to be aware of it in case you had such plans. Don't be cheap. If you need a large internal drive, get one. Also, remember to hit "Convert to GPT disk" in Disk Management if you need to reformat.

This would be a great drive to serve as a backup location for multiple volumes on a single PC. It reads and writes within acceptable limits, doesn't make annoying sounds and remembers all the things. Tested on an ASRock based PC running Windows 7 Pro, benchmarked with HDTune 5.5 Pro.
Reviewed By:Leaf,8/25/2014 10:41:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Huge storage space, issues with temp and sleep
Pros: - large storage for the price
- Runs cool in computer tower (delete all partitions, delete unallocated partitions, reinitialize as GPT drive then quick format: this will void the warranty though)
- reliable seagate warranty service (experienced it)
Cons: - 2 years warranty only
- runs very hot in the plastic enclosure (although improved)
- Drive will never go to sleep after ejection from the windows but will keep running and over heating without a purpose diminishing it's life expectancy : MAJOR REPETITIVE ISSUE WITH SEAGATE EXTERNAL DRIVES : they can't build a circuit board with the option of going to sleep when ejected? this is an electronic junior student tech home work project ! come on seagate
Other Thoughts: - compatible with Seagate Goflex (4tb) bases with same power_sleep issues but nicer style.
- Runs cool in computer tower at 30 degress with much more life expectancy for the drive and lower physical damage probability
- these drives need a dual 30 mm thin fans at the end of the enclosure for efficient ventilation and increased life expectancy
Reviewed By:an no_namous,8/25/2014 2:52:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 4TB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBFJK0040HBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Probably shouldn't buy
Pros: It can store a lot?
Cons: It's always asking me to install the WD software.
This may be my fault but I dropped the HD ONCE. But it completely stopped working. And I transferred ALL my files to this HD.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2014 9:51:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Seagate Life Expectancy
Pros: Low Price
Cons: While I do not have this model, I do have both 3 and 4 TB Seagate drives which I pulled out of service. The reason is that with a bit over a year of use one failed outright and the others have very high read write failures.
Other Thoughts: Buying Seagate drives wasted over a grand in hardware costs and over ten times that cleaning up the mess.

I replaced all the Seagate drives with Hitachi.
Reviewed By:RJ Riley,8/23/2014 7:31:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 2TB Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Happy with it
Pros: Three years into this as a backup drive for a relative. It's on 24/7 and has never had an issue. Quiet, quick enough for it's purpose and survived a 3' drop onto a brick floor on more than one occasion.
Cons: Nope
Other Thoughts: Does what it was bought for, day in and day out. Rock solid reliable
Reviewed By:Closet Geek,8/22/2014 8:37:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Backup Drive with Space to Spare
Pros: Easy to setup under Windows and Linux. Massive size suitable for backing up media libraries. Looks great on your desk on on top of a full tower. USB 3.0 transfers are lightning fast and especially so for incremental (de-duplicated) backups. Drive stays nice and cool due to excellent cooling. Also is extremely quiet.
Cons: Only a 2 year warranty. No way to shut it down via an external power switch. The surface loves to attract finger prints so keep a cloth handy if you care about that. eSATA would be a nice addition to this drive as well but with USB 3.0 its not really a necessity.
Other Thoughts: Awesome drive for the price and space. I would definitely recommend this drive to someone looking for a single system backup drive or even a network backup drive if you have a router (or server) that supports it.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/22/2014 12:37:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Seagate Customer Service
Pros: Works great when you get one that works.
Cons: My first one died quickly.
Other Thoughts: I bought one that died quickly (my first review was for the one that died.). I called Seagate and was told that it wasn't a problem and that they would replace it. After a few minor problems Seagate sent the replacement and it works great.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/22/2014 8:43:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation 4TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Hard Drive HD-LC4.0U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great buy
Pros: Big Cheap Quiet Not flashy
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Cweord,8/21/2014 8:26:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau