Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Super-Multi Portable DVD Rewriter with M-DISC Model GP50NB40

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 did not last one day
Pros: Great Price. Fast shipping. Portable and small.
Cons: Would not read it's own driver disc. There are explicit, instructions on how to download drivers, which if not followed to the letter will cause the drive to malfunction. Those are LG's words. Not worth the bother. After 3-4 attempts at downloading driver, machine would no longer eject disc. And as other commenters have stated, the power cord pictured IS NOT included. But "may be purchased at additional cost".
Other Thoughts: Over all a terrible experience. Lucky Goldstar, no longer on my list of vendors.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 1:28:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > Lite-On EBAU108 External DVD-Writer - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect portable device.
Pros: Working for 6 month in OsX and Windows, no problems so far.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 12:06:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 (3.0 Compatible) External DVD Writer Model SE-208GB/RSBD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great external USB DVD Writer
Pros: It works
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:Raj,8/26/2015 5:13:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Super-Multi Portable DVD Rewriter with M-DISC Model GP50NB40

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 works well
Pros: small portable
Cons: a bit noisy
Other Thoughts: would buy again
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2015 4:33:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Plextor > PLEXTOR USB 2.0 External 6X BD Combo Super Multi Drive Model PX-B310U

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't play BluRay movies
Pros: It can read files?
Cons: Well, I bought this to let the kids watch movies on a laptop while we were traveling without wifi. I know bluray is a dead technology, but we have a box set of Harry Potter and well I need to keep the kids quiet on an 11 hour trip. What you aren't told about this player is that the included software is like 5 years old and doesn't work to show movies. Literally spent an hour trying to get it to work, but just found many other frustrated users that Plextor would bundle non-working software. So I went to plan B and downloaded a trial of one of the newer software packages that normally costs $50, the price of this stupid drive, but luckily I would get 30 days free and that would get me through my trip! It worked, hooray! I packed it up, set off for our 11 hour train ride and wouldn't you know, on the train, set up the player and laptop and the player works for about 3-4 minutes before registering an error and shutting down. You see, when I tested I only watched for 1-2 minutes before I assumed it worked. The whole purpose for this was shot and I felt like I was using windows 95 when using this player. Oh, and it is huge - I would have done better to bring an xbox with us. What a hunk of junk - I have been happy with Plextor in the past, but clearly they are falling behind.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2015 12:22:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 (3.0 Compatible) External DVD Writer Model SE-208GB/RSBD

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Hmmm
Pros: Looks nice
Cons: Spun up, spun down, Windows recognized drive, then forgot... rinse-lather-repeat. Sometimes ended up OK, sometimes not.
Other Thoughts: Back it goes to Newegg.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2015 11:19:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Kanguru > Kanguru USB 2.0 External CD/DVD Drive Model U2-DVDRW-24X

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Records slow
Pros: Good deal. Drive records slow. Reads normal speed , but
is not fast writer.
Cons: Price jump after purchase. Good deals seemed to go away.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/20/2015 9:36:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 (3.0 Compatible) External DVD Writer Model SE-208GB/RSBD

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 O.D.D.
Pros: It works. (see Cons).
Cons: It won't work without an adapter cable to provide additional power. The supplied single cable is extremely short. The supplied cable will not adequately power the drive. I knew this beforehand.

Accordingly, I purchased this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812200736
Other Thoughts: Feeling burned. I bought this. Then I saw a discount code added to the listing after purchase.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/20/2015 12:04:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 Black External Slim CD/DVD Writer Model SDRW-08D2S-U

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Power / Data Cable Could Be Better
Pros: * Stylish slim design.
* Includes additional utility disk that includes disk encryption and burning software.
* A fairly quiet drive during operation.
* Current pricing makes it an affordable purchase.
Cons: * Gloss finish really shows the fingerprints.
* Data cable end that plugs into computer's USB port could have a tighter fit. On my newer Thinkpad the plug has a little looseness in the USB ports so the laptop has difficulty recognizing the drive unless I put a little upward tension on the cable. The same ports have a snug plug fit when using my wireless mouse or external hard drive and no tensioning is needed. On my other Thinkpad, the cable has a little wiggle, but no connection problems.
Other Thoughts: * I was primarily looking for a low cost drive to do occasional hard drive images of my laptops. Since two of my laptops lacked an optical drive, I needed an external optical drive to boot my imaging software for backups to an external hard drive. Overall the drive perform well except for the cable problem on the one Thinkpad which is only two months old.
* Although it isn't a deal breaker, it would have been nice if a carry case was included for storage. Nothing fancy, a simple vinyl pouch with a velco flap would have been a nice additional for storing the drive and cable when not in use.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2015 10:37:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 (3.0 Compatible) External DVD Writer Model SE-208GB/RSBD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Samsung usb 2.0 external dvd
Pros: I have had this dvd burner for some months. It is great for its size. It burns fast and without any problems. I haven't had any problems with it. Great buy.
Cons: I have no cons as of yet
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2015 7:34:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.