Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 (3.0 Compatible) External DVD Writer Model SE-208GB/RSRD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SAMSUNG USB 2.0 (3.0 Compatible) External DVD Writer Model SE-208GB/RSRD
Pros: Works nicely with Mac computers. Slim, good style. Great price. (I'm responding to someone who wanted to know if the device works with a Mac OS 10.6.8, but Newegg didn't make it easy to respond to this particular question to the prospect who asked it.)
Cons: Don't see any yet
Reviewed By:N/A,5/29/2015 2:11:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Super-Multi Portable DVD Rewriter with M-DISC Model GP50NB40

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works like a charm
Pros: The USB DVD drive worked on a Dell Venue 8 Pro tablet with windows 8 and on an old Toshiba Portege m200 with windows xp. It started up without any issues on both devices.
Cons: The only issue I saw was it does take a little bit to start up. But I did expect that as I use to have a very old usb 1 cd writable drive back in the day.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/26/2015 11:23:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 6x External Slim Blu Ray Combo with BDXL Support Model SBC-06D2X-U

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works
Pros: Plug and play. Bootable to my ThinkPad X220 tablet.
Cons: Requires both USB to be plug in to write properly.
Other Thoughts: I don't have enough USB on one of my newer laptop so it ruined a few blank DVDs while making backup. It is my fault not following the instruction so no egg taken.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/26/2015 8:56:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 (3.0 Compatible) External DVD Writer Model SE-208GB/RSBD

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 black cat
Pros: light slim. plug and play. works on mac, too.

includes cable and write software. no external power adapter needed
Cons: open button is a bit slow.

if you have to be careful with this. doesn't seem like the sturdiest drive but it's built for mobility and ease of plug and play usage
Reviewed By:N/A,5/25/2015 5:20:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Super-Multi Portable DVD Rewriter with M-DISC Model GP50NB40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Well
Pros: small compact inexpensive reads scratched disks. I am amazed at the performance.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: The DVD is dead, but there are still allot of movies on DVD. I had a less than perfect DVD that I was trying to rip. I have two other highly rated DVD burners i purchased on Newegg, an Asus, and a Lite-On SATA drives (manufactured 2013, 2012) that I tried first and both drives aborted half way through the disk with multiple errors. This LG USB drive, although about half the speed of the above drives, was able to rip the problem DVD with no errors logged. I don't understand why the LG was so good, and the other drives, were so bad, but the bottom line is it made through the scratched disk and I got my rip. I will continue to pull this drive out when i have problem disks.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/25/2015 2:24:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 Black External Slim CD/DVD Writer Model SDRW-08D2S-U/BLK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ASUS
Pros: Quiet and functions as advertised. Never had a problem reading or writing cds and dvds
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: This is one of the very few types of electronics I would buy refurbished.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/19/2015 10:31:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Rosewill > Rosewill Model ROD-EX002 - Slim Aluminum 8X DVD Writer - USB 2.0 - External Optical Drive for PCs - Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Lasted 3 years
Pros: Lasted just over 3 years. It's small.
Cons: It's pretty slow, and only lasted 3 years. It never left our hardware bench.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/18/2015 8:21:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 External CD/DVD Rewriter With M-Disc Support (Black)-model GP65NB60

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Swift and Quiet
Pros: Single cable connection for power and data is fantastic for something with moving parts. The drive works as advertised, with decent speed and less noise than I had been anticipating.
Cons: This is not the fastest DVD drive I've ever worked with (though it seems to be nearly 50% faster than the only other drive currently functional in my household, which is in a 17" Dell laptop that is serving primary duty as desktop replacement and rarely leaves its dock). The finish seems easy to scratch, and the unit as a whole feels a little under built, but what can you expect at this price point? You can still spend more money on an equivalent unit meant for internal installation in a desktop machine, and that requires the support of a full on case and external power supply (not to mention a separate data cable).
Reviewed By:N/A,5/17/2015 6:14:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 External Super Multi DVD Rewriter Model GE24NU40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Useful and Versatile
Pros: Has solid software material and functions.
Cons: None when used a lot portably.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/12/2015 3:21:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 External Blu-Ray 6X Writer with BDXL Support Model SBW-06D2X-U/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Avoid - worked for 6 months then died
Pros: No external power required. Small and has nice stand to make it easy to setup on desk next to you.
Cons: Delicate. USB mini connector doesn't hold cable.
Other Thoughts: Mini USB connector from day one really didn't hold cable tightly. Spent first hour after receiving product trying to get it recognized by win8.1. Pushed the cable in on the back about another 1/16th of inch... presto started working.
Four months later win8.1 stopped detecting the drive. Moved to my win7 machine which recognized it but as soon as I didn't anything but list the directories the drive would disappear (reboot) and a couple minutes later reappear. Wont recognize any blank disks anymore.
RMA started today.
Reviewed By:megaoldgeek,5/9/2015 12:08:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.