Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > BYTECC INC > BYTECC SATA3-EC200 6Gbps eSATA III 2 Ports ExpressCard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Win 7 & Win 10!!!
Pros: I have two laptops: Dell 1537 (Win 10) and an HP 8470p (Win 7). Both serve me well and this card is a good addition for both.

Each has an eSATA port already onboard, but I have many external drives with eSATA capabilities (3 external HDD enclosures with USB 2.0 & eSATA.) I am currently upgrading to USB 3.0. This card helps me have all 3 external HDDs connected at SATA speeds. (I know; I know...eSATA and USB 3.0 are nearly the same speed.) I didn't want to do away with the old enclosures.

On the Dell running Win 10, it installed seamlessly. I didn't even have to fool with the driver CD that came with the card.

On the HP running Win 7, that was a different story. Basically, I got the BSOD (Blue Screen of Death for those who've never experienced it) when I inserted the card for the first time. Upon the ensuing reboot/restart, I went into the Device Manager and located the device that was having an issue. (There may be many, but the one you are looking for is the one labelled "Expresscard". I used the browse feature to point the updater to the CD drive that had the proper driver (I picked the WHOLE drive and checked the box that said "include subfolders".) The next thing I knew, I was up and running. So now I can have all 3 eSATA HDDs connected at the same time at way faster speed than USB 2.0!

Of the testing that I have done with this card thus far, I haven't noticed any problems with the transfer speeds.
Cons: None that I can think of at this moment.
Other Thoughts: I've only had this a couple of days and really only sunk my teeth into it for a few hours before writing this review. It would have been nice if they at least put an extender panel on the side (so you cannot accidentally knock it loose.) I guess that means I gotta get those EC Bracket2 Stabilizers for 34 mm expresscards!

Cheers all!
Reviewed By:Mark H.,9/17/2016 4:12:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not work *2
Pros: Flush mount
Cons: Flush mount "cool" does not matter when your system does not recognize the device. Dell Studio XP 1645 Win 7 (64) is a 100% fail. I tried a replacement card in both this and a friend's netbook. Both cards failed.
Other Thoughts: I can keep the card in my PCI slot to prevent dust from entering.
Reviewed By:Michael B.,9/7/2016 6:16:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Addonics Technologies > Addonics ADEXSA6G-2E eSATA ExpressCard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed
Pros: None
Cons: Not reliable. Failed 10 months of occasional use. Now hot swappable as advertised.
Reviewed By:Steven Y.,9/6/2016 2:38:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECESATA254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm eSATA II Controller Adapter Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 As advertised
Pros: Plugged it into my Linux laptop, and instantly two 3GB/s SATA ports appear. Works fine with all my external drives.
Cons: As mentioned in the instructions, you have to be careful plugging in the cable because the insertion force will push the card in enough to cause it to be ejected. That's bad news if you had operations in progress on the other drive. I don't see any easy way to avoid that problem on a flush mount card, though. And, it's not SATA III, but was never claimed to be.
Other Thoughts: Why the heck is an Express/34 filler/adapter included with an Express/54 card? That's just weird.
Reviewed By:Robert N.,8/11/2016 3:44:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Transcend > Transcend PCMCIA ATA Adapter. Convert CompactFlash CF Card to PCMCIA slot. Model TS0MCF2PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Extremely compatible, reliable, and rugged
Pros: See my title! I've got quite a few of these units and have yet to have a failure. They spend their time in some pretty harsh conditions and they just work. What more could you ask for
Cons: They don't fly to our field sites on their own. Other than that, perfect.
Other Thoughts: We use these to record data from fairly antiquated equipment that we can't support any other way. Not all brands work for what we are doing but the Transcend brand has been extremely reliable for us. We will continue to buy these as long as we have the equipment to use them. Now if I could just find a PCMCIA to SD card that is as reliable.....
Reviewed By:James F.,7/11/2016 5:13:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Transcend > Transcend PCMCIA ATA Adapter. Convert CompactFlash CF Card to PCMCIA slot. Model TS0MCF2PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked fine in an Allegro CX handheld field PC (along with a 4GB CF card)
Pros: works
Cons: Only used for a day, but no cons noticed.
Reviewed By:Karl B.,5/15/2016 7:03:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very reasonable upgrade for older machines.
Pros: USB 3 on an older laptop
Flushmount
Cons: Unseats when you detach drives (and pretty much anything else). Holding the edges of the expresscard while removing cables takes care of this.
Other Thoughts: Works on a 2010 Alienware M15x using Windows 10
W10 Microsoft driver does the job
Has enough power to drive a conventional slim external drive (tested 500GB Lacie Rikki) without using the aux power cable
Doesn't come with a power supply, just an adapter cable
Reviewed By:Craig H.,4/7/2016 6:11:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech EC13942A2 2 Port ExpressCard 1394a FireWire Laptop Adapter Card - Retail

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 1394a Firewire ExpressCard Review
Pros: Excellent quality, worked flawlessly for my needs. It's nice that it came with a cable to transition from a 6 Pin to a 4 Pin. :-)
Cons: Have none, :-)
Other Thoughts: Wish they offered a card with both Firewire 400 and 800 in one card.
Reviewed By:Christopher W.,12/31/2015 1:30:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Brings life to older laptop!
Pros: - Flush USB sockets
- Plug 'n' play indeed (on Windows 10 Pro-64)
- True USB 3.0
Cons: - None
Other Thoughts: Highly recommend this product to others. I purchased this Expresscard to give some USB 3.0 life to my older laptop running Windows 10 Pro-64 bit . . . and indeed it did! Connecting a USB 3.0 external drive more than doubled the backup speed. Though some may not like the flush USB sockets, it works best for me w/o getting in the way of other items on my desk. I have used a USB 3.0 right angle adapter and connected my USB 3.0 hubs to this - terrific! The great price and super-speed shipping of Newegg puts this right at the top. Have a terrific holiday!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/23/2015 9:29:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-608 ExpressCard to CardBus Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Adapter Review
Pros: It worked without issue. I had an acer laptop and needed to use it for some xbox modding back in the day. The size was a perfect fit and the device gave me zero issues whenever I used it. Literally is what it says it is.
Cons: I mean it never gave me an issue. The shipping was decent for the time (ordered in 2010) and it came a day before it said it would. Maybe if I was a stickler for timing.
Other Thoughts: The device worked properly and fit. It accomplished all i wanted from it
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/12/2015 4:29:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.