Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > ESET > ESET Smart Security 2015 - 1 PC - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buggy
Pros: NONE CURRENTLY
Cons: Blue Screen's
Other Thoughts: UPDATE:
I've been using ESET Products for years because they were small, light, and very good.
Recently my pc crashed/blue-screened everytime I logged-in to Windows7.
I loaded 'Safe-Mode' and did a select startup, ie: SERVICES & STARTUPS, and narrowed the culprit to ESET Security.
According to ESET Tech Support, they are blaming the 'Gigabyte APP Center' that was included with my Gigabyte Motherboard as a conflict and cause of the Blue Screens.
True, if I uninstall the Gigabyte APP Center, Windows loads and ESET runs okay, and vica-versa, if I uninstall ESET, Windows loads with the Gigabyte APP Center and runs just fine.
The problem is this: I have the auto-updates on the Gigabyte APP Center turned-off, I only update it manually and rarely at that...but ESET auto-updates the virus definition file daily and checks for program updates daily as well.
The Gigabyte APP Center never changed, but ESET changes files every day.
A reasonable conclusion would be to point the finger at ESET, not at the Gigabyte Software as an ESET Forum Moderator is doing.
To make a short story longer :-) I kept the Gigabyte APP Center and uninstalled ESET, installing a different antivirus/firewall.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/24/2015 11:14:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Trend Micro, Inc. > TREND MICRO Maximum Security 2015 1 User 1 Year - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst
Pros: None
Cons: Cannot be installed even with their instruction, as it continues to give the error message"The installer could not set up an important component needed by Trend Micro Security(error code: #1603, 3002, 0xe01a000c)"
Do not buy it!!!
Reviewed By:N/A,6/22/2015 7:16:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > ESET > ESET Smart Security 2015 - 3 PCs - Download

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: This product was recommended by a long time Newegg customer(family Friend). He let me know that this is one of the best security/virus... etc,etc. so a gave it a try. Had to download the software from eset, simple. Some settings requirements. But other than that it was easy. and my computer is faster. Don't know if its because my other antivirus just used up more juice or what but it is faster.
Cons: so far none, just my lack of tech savvy.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/21/2015 9:43:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Symantec > Symantec Norton Internet Security 1 PC (Hardware Attach) - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not a good way to purchase software
Pros: None. I would definitely recommend against purchasing software as a download. You need to get the disk. I installed this software on a brand new Newegg PC & the computer failed & was returned so I got to use this software for 1 hour & Newegg will not give me a refund.
Cons: Do not purchase software without getting a disk or you could end up like I did where you download the software onto a new PC, then that PC fails & you are left with nothing but the bill.
Other Thoughts: You can purchase this software on other sites for less & get the disk with it.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/18/2015 11:33:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > BitDefender > Bitdefender Anti-Virus 2015 3 PCs / 1 Year - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Low impact to system resources.
negligible impact on HDD read/writes.
No compatibility issues so far with my applications.
Easy to use.
High ranking on lists of effective antivirus software.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: I've had this for just under a year and all the systems this is installed on are running smooth. No performance issues as some of the "free" antivirus applications I have tested have caused. I have had little to no maintenance on my mother or my wife's computers, which is a blessing. I would certainly recommend this.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/15/2015 1:56:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Webroot Software, Inc. > AntiVirus 2015 3 Device 1 Year PC - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 20 licenses and counting...
Pros: -Only uses ~5 MB RAM (Avg. AV between 50-100)
-Scans quickly
-Allows scanning of individual files
-Catches nearly everything
-Destroys things the first time
-Blocks infected websites
Cons: One of the ways Webroot is so fast and efficient is because it keeps a log of unknown files for monitoring. Eventually this log begins to eat up lots and lots of space.

The problem is fixable though, which involves uninstalling Webroot, sending a copy of the latest log to Webroot Support, and then re-installing Webroot after you have deleted the previous log files. You can find the exact steps on their forum.
Other Thoughts: 5 Eggs because it is hands-down the best AV you can get at $6.50 per 3 devices for 1 years.

It's actually the best AV in almost every category, regardless of price. Just google Webroot Anti-virus lab results, and see for yourself. If you're going to purchase Anti-virus (I recommend Avira if you're only looking for free AV), then Webroot is the no-brainer choice. Pair it with Malwarebytes and you can consider yourself well-covered.
Reviewed By:Tray,6/13/2015 1:44:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2015 1 User - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Anti-Virus
Pros: -Low overhead
-Great databases
-Updates regularly
-Easy to use
-Blocks malicious websites from loading (can override this)
Cons: Asks to register product every time I restart my computer, not a huge bother, I just forgot my password for my account and am pretty lazy to fix it. (not a deal breaker whatsoever)
Other Thoughts: Haven't had a virus since I've had Kaspersky on any of my computers. I haven't found a better anti-virus software yet, and don't plan to start looking any time soon.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/11/2015 12:03:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > BitDefender > Bitdefender Total Security 2015 3 PCs / 1 Year - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not recommended
Pros: Seems to function OK so far on first PC
Cons: Impossible to get it performing on second PC. Site claims no internet when there is, claims connection timed out, claims it cannot update ( no fix) Could not enter purchase key.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/31/2015 12:03:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Webroot Software, Inc. > Webroot Internet Security Plus 2015 3 Device 2 Year - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 phish me if you dare
Pros: they engineered a firewall that gives me peace of mind. now i can open e-mails and click on links without worrying about anything. i can do my homework on my laptop without the fear that somebody is spying on my innermost thoughts.
Cons: firewalls require internet connection to protect your internet connection, thus firewalls are connected to the company's headquarters. the cons have to do with the overall picture of things. this product shares the same weakness that every other product does.
Other Thoughts: i bought my laptop in october 2014 and did not install any antivirus software until this week with the purchase of webroot. i may or may not give webroot a phone call later and ask about expanding my online safety even further. i am active on social media and this product is designed with that in mind
Reviewed By:N/A,5/30/2015 2:13:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > ThreatTrack Security, Inc. > ThreatTrack Security VIPRE Internet Security 2015 - 1 PC - PC Lifetime

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Please Help me Newegg, I will not write bad about you
Pros: I though I had VIPRE anti Virus Software on my brad new computer tower. I think my son Joe tril Mac A Fee took it off. I have 0 virus protection as of 5-29-2015. I see a Newegg Download Manager Setup on 5-1-2015 at 8:03 am & 9:51 am it took 37,691 KB of my computers memory . Can you please give me my VIPRE key code so I can get it from them. Yours got erased! Send it in my email please.
Cons: Either it is to early for chat it's 7;06 am EST. Maybe you have 0 . I really need my key code for the VIPRE I bought from you on 5-1-2015 or it could have been 1 day before. I now have 0 protection & I kill my computers all the time, my talents are cooking, sewing, and crafts, I will never be a techie. I am taking free computer classes at my local library so I will be more informed how a computer works. I had typing in high school,only had computers in college when they had floppy disc. Please send my VIPRE key code to my email on file so I can get it from VIPRE themselves your download can be erased or taken down. I think you are an ok company I just had 1 of those weird things happen to me. I have unique things happen to me all the time. So I am giving you a 3 star review but 0 negative comments. I have to give your company a chance to help me before, I say anything good or bad! Please help me as soon as you can, hopefully when you see this do it write away so I can keep me new Dell Computer tower virus and male ware free thank you so much, Mary Ellen T.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/30/2015 4:20:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.