Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS NM70-I2(1.0) Intel Celeron 1037U 1.80GHz Intel NM70 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Motherboard lasted a year
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: The motherboard only lasted a year. Upon startup the cpu fan just cycles on/off every 15 seconds. I have disconnected all connectors and reset CMOS for 24 hours.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2014 3:17:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock Q1900DC-ITX Intel Celeron J1900 Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not quite plug and play
Pros: Powered by surplus laptop brick
fanless
4 x SATA ports (2 x SATA2, 2 x SATA3)
VGA, DVI, and HDMI video
Cons: None that I don't expect to be cured with updated alternative OS software
Other Thoughts: I bought this to make a fanless sealed box NAS server with 2 x 4 GB PC1333 laptop memory and 2 x 2TB NAS disks. Had to disable USB3 ports to boot FreeBSD 9.x as found in FreeNAS and NAS4Free. I could backport kernel patch and build from source, but I'll probably limp along without USB3 and keep playing until FreeNAS makes it to FreeBSD 10.

FreeNAS bigots insist on ECC for ZFS, and these consumer Bay Trail-D boards don't have it. Buy a server board with an Avoton and 16+ GB ECC memory if you want to do things the "right" way. I am willing to experiment with this consumer board with a pair of mirrored ZFS disks.

I hope ASRock sells a lot these fanless DC-powered Mini-ITX boards, and that other MB makers follow suit. ATX and even SFF power supplies are not good matches for these <100W systems (including disks). I know one can use the popular DC - DC converters to power ITX boards with 24 pin ATX interfaces, but I prefer to be able to use laptop bricks directly.

Just for fun I installed Linux Mint 17 (xfce) on an SSD on this board, and it just worked. Boots in around 15 seconds with absolutely no fiddling. Result: instant desktop / browser computer. I'll probably try XBMCBuntu at some point to see how it might function as an HTPC

Came out of the box with UEFI secure boot disabled, so no trouble booting non-Windows OS's. Didn't try any Windows OS's.

Other things I plan to try are using the Serial and Parallel port headers for talking to various pieces of industrial gear.
Reviewed By:Jon,7/23/2014 4:18:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock Q1900DC-ITX Intel Celeron J1900 Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Review update power
Pros: Fast low wattage motherboard, everything worked first time. Stable as a rock.

Please see other thoughts for update
Cons: Noda
Other Thoughts: After i rote my first review i tested this motherboard with a 12v power supply. Acuity 4 different 12v power supplies . What i found was both boards us the same amount of power with a 12v power supply. The 19v power supply uses less watts yet more amps so in the end it works out the same. Using this board with built on power saves room though still uses the same wattage as the ASRock Q1900-ITX . So the max with a 120fan and 3 laptop drives Amd 16gigs of memory , the max power though just for a split second is 27.6w at 12v for both motherboards , average 19w with idle as low as 11w

Also i had used the windows installs from the ASRock Q1900-ITX hard drive. I assumed since there almost identical boards i could just take the SSD out of the ASRock Q1900-ITX and use it in this board. That was incorrect and after my first review i was getting window errors and i did fresh installs of windows 7 and windows 8.1 and found virus scans to use half of what i reported last time in my first review , depending on the program. Yet non of them i tested 8 in all went passed 50% , most stayed closer to 20%-35% very impressive


windows ie score did not improve , the overall system was faster with fresh installs and everything works
Reviewed By:N/A,7/23/2014 3:28:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock Q1900-ITX Intel Celeron J1900 Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good board
Pros: 16GB of RAM (low voltage or regular), 4x SATA ports (vs the 2 that comes standard on other boards), three video options, easy to upgrade BIOS, nice graphical BIOS - Just works!
Cons: None so far. The user manual is pretty thin on documentation.
Other Thoughts: I bought the GA-J1800N-D2H (N82E16813128688) when it first came out and that board is not very user friendly. This board is what that board should have been. Specifically:

* This board is easy to flash (you can network flash via the BIOS)
* This board has four SATA ports, two of which are SATA 3
* Accepts low voltage memory (that is what I'm using)
* Nice to have DVI, VGA and HDMI as outputs

This build runs Linux Mint 17, has 8GB of RAM (G.Skill RipJaws - F3-1600C9D-8GRSL), and is used as a Plex multimedia server. I removed the other board and replaced it with this board and Mint didn't skip a beat.

So far, I'm impressed and pleased with this board. I would buy this board again.
Reviewed By:Gordon,7/23/2014 10:05:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Biostar > BIOSTAR A68N-5000 AMD A4-5000 Quad-Core APU Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Little Board
Pros: It's a MINI ITX and fits into about any size case.
Runs cool and low power consumption
A great replacement for a failed motherboard from an home/office machine.
With the built-in HDMI it would also make a good media center machine.
It plays my movies and Netflix just fine.
Cons: It only has two SATA connections.
If it had four, it would be a killer NAS board.
With an external DVD, it could still be used as a Good NAS.
It took me a while to realize that the video driver would be installed when I installed the chipset software.
Other Thoughts: I have this board running in a small case. The temperature runs about 33c in a hot Texas garage, but I did add a small fan to the heat sink and a case fan.
I think it would be fine without a fan in an air-conditioned room, but I always add a fan to help the processor last longer.
I installed Windows 7 and 2GB of memory. It has a Windows Experience Index of 4.5. Not bad for a cheap board with a processor.
I knocked off one star for the lack of more SATA slots.
Reviewed By:Larry_in_LP,7/22/2014 1:00:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Raspberry Pi > Raspberry Pi 83-14421 Computer - Model B (512M RAM)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great concept!
Pros: Purpose built system on chip that was designed and priced to meet needs more than wants. This is a great device for tinkering in different fields like programming, networking, robotics, etc.

You can turn this into a small server due in large part due to the entire Debian Wheezy official repository being compiled for Raspberry Pi. Between that git there is a plethora of software for this device.
Cons: Hearing people complain about the same things they say this is lacking, second nic, dual core, nics sharing usb bus. Basically all of the things that would price this out of reach for most of it's intended consumer base.

The device its self has served me well so far. One must remember, this was intended for children's education, anything that it can do in the hobbist / tinkerer realm is gravy.
Other Thoughts: I'll probably buy a couple more soon for some projects, turn one into a wireless repeater, dedicate another to being a transparent squid proxy / vpn.

Also I'd like to take two of them and see if I can set up a samba4 active directory domain for my apartment, complete with redundant dns, dhcp.
Reviewed By:Steve,7/22/2014 5:24:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock Q1900M Intel Quad-Core Celeron Processor J1900 Micro ATX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Ehhh. They're ok
Pros: Ordered 7 of these. Installed easy, and all of them worked out of the box.
Cons: When using Win 7 Pro 32 bit OS, this board will only recognize 2.21 GB of 4 GB installed memory... and that goes down to 1.71 when you update the Bios and other drivers to the latest versions from the ASRock website...

Yet when I called ASRock, they told me it was a "Windows" issue, and I need to call Microsoft. Don't see it being a Windows issue when the "useable" memory went down after updating ASRocks drivers.

Poor excuse and poor customer service if you ask me.
Manufacturer Response:Dear ASRock Customer

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
For the memory limitation issue, due to the operating system limitation, the actual memory size may be less than 4GB for the reservation for system usage under Windows® 32-bit OS.
Please enter UEFI BIOS, Main, Total Memory, to verify the memory size.
If possible, please test with Windows 64 bit to isolate the issue.
However, system memory is shared with onboard VGA.
If you have any technical support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/support/tsd.asp. We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock SUPPORT
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:Steve Neurotic,7/21/2014 7:49:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS VX900-I (v1.0A) VIA L2007 (1.6G, 800MHz) VIA VX900 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Spare PC for Linux Mint
Pros: HDMI Port, supports up to 1080p; Mini ITX, low power usage. Easy to install in a case. Overall for a spare machine and light usage it is decent. Price Value is good.
Cons: There is no con for me because I built it on purpose with Linux Mint xfce 32 bit. This is a single core, so do not expect a fast machine, mainly supports Windows 7.

Only con was that I could not put a 64 bit Linux when I built it, but no problem with 32 bit.
Other Thoughts: If you use this for Windows 7 should be a breeze. If you try Linux it might take some work because of the VIA chipset.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2014 5:39:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock Q1900DC-ITX Intel Celeron J1900 Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 powerfull low wattage
Pros: this board benchmarks and scores and runs the same as the ASRock Q1900-ITX, yet this board uses on average 9 watts less from its onboard power. it power to spare for a HTPC or home server with super low wattage.
Cons: noda
Other Thoughts: I have this board and the ASRock Q1900-ITX. wish I had waited and just purchased 2 of these.

there identical in just about everyway yet because of this boards onboard power it uses even less power.
yet there both excellent and perfect candidates for a HTPC or home server. the 4 cores handle everyday tasks with ease. serfing online about 0% - 4% cpu usage. windows 7 64bit Norton virus scan uses 45% - 50%. this is great considering last years dual core Celerons virus scan used around 98% - 100% and we all now how much cpu Norton uses . I don't actually use Norton , just for a test. webroot antivirus the best.

it can multi task just make sure you have enough memory. I see most people with 4 to 8 gigs. I tried that though when i upgraded to 16gigs of memory much more fluent and more able, hard pressed to tell the difference from my i3 or i5 for everyday tasks. I have had 4 programs working at the same time with no slowdowns or issues

using a 19v 90w power brick these are the wattages I averaged with this motherboard and 16gigs of memory at 1333mhz spd of 888,23. T1 at 1.35v and 1 SSD and 1 500gb laptop drive and one fan using HDMI port at 1080p

on start up 13w - 20w
idle 11w
webroot virus scan 16w

ASRock Q1900-ITX with a 98% efficient power supply

start up 19w - 26.6w
idle 16w - 17w
virus scan 19w- 24w
i also tried a mini pico 150w psu on the ASRock Q1900-ITX and the wattage did go down on average 3 watts from the standard high efficient seasonic psu
both boards run windows 7 and 8 no issues, you just have to know how to set the bios up for each operating system. there is hardware security built into these new Celeron motherboards that must be disabled in order to run windows 7.

As for Linux not there yet. though mite try one as a firewall router appliance. should work great with power to spare even for a large 100+ installation

I had no issues at all from start to finish and ram voltage options in the bios go from 1.25v to 1.65v

win 7 64bit WEI score 5.0
cpu 6.4
memory 7.7
graphics desktop 5.0
graphics gamming 5.9
hard disk 7.9

windows 8 64bit even faster

I very happy with this board
Reviewed By:N/A,7/19/2014 9:41:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Foxconn > Foxconn D190S Intel Quad Core Celeron J1900 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 tiny board
Pros: Easy to install, bios has many settings. Runs Linux like a champ.. runs very well with 4Gb Sodimm Windows 8.1 runs as well as an i5 system I have. gaming not an option. Draws almost no power
Cons: Ram jumper default is 1.35 volts, but the advanced bios lets you see where it is at. Windows seven will not install. after several tries was able to install windows 8 if I disabled USB3
Other Thoughts: looks like a postage stamp in the full size case I put it in.
Processor, Motherboard and 4 Gbram for 150 CND delivered is apretty good buy
Reviewed By:Notso,7/18/2014 3:05:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau