Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock C70M1 AMD Dual-Core Ontario C-70 APU Supports AMD's Cool 'n' Quiet Technology UMI 2.5 GT/s AMD A50M Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little board/CPU for the price
Pros: This little board and CPU combo are great for low-power applications. I'm running this and a couple of HDD's with 4GB of RAM as a file server with Ubuntu 14.04. I have it all powered by a 180 watt Flex-ATX PSU, but I imagine you could go with an even smaller PSU if needed. The system doesn't get hot, sips power, and is barely audible.
Cons: None for my application.
Other Thoughts: I love this little board since it does what I need it to. I can't speak to how this would operate as a desktop system, but with it being dual-core and decent enough GPU built in, adding in an SSD and at least 4GB of RAM and I bet it'd be a great little system.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 12:33:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Biostar > BIOSTAR J1900MH2 Ver. 6.x Intel Celeron J1900 (2.0 GHz) Quad-Core Processor Micro ATX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: The performance of this platform is outstanding with some very specific requirements. I have not tried it standalone, but I could see it being a very competent kiosk / client system.
With a solid-state drive, 8gB DDR3L, a 1GB MSI video card, and an extra USB3 PCIe on a 450W power supply - the system is as formidable as any other.
I can't speak for gamers, but I've used it with both Blender and SketchUp and it seems to operate just fine in a 64-bit ElementaryOS Linux operating environment.
I don't currently have any temperature or performance metrics. Its a Celeron, after all, I'm just pleased with the performance.
Cons: None that I have noticed so far.
Other Thoughts: The BIOS is straight-forward and intuitive. The board itself is silkscreened and well-planned. I would recommend it for general PC usage.
It would also make a decent replacement for an older system without PCIe and USB3.
My setup as configured cost less than $300.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 12:22:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock N3700-ITX Intel Quad-Core Pentium Processor N3700 (up to 2.4 GHz) Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Steam In-home Streamer; but...
Pros: First, let me explain my intended usage scenario for this build. I have this in an ARK ITX/CS-Ci02 server case VESA mounted to my 55" HDTV for Steam In-home Streaming and to a secondary degree, acting as an HTPC. After doing a lot of research into an energy-efficient Steam streaming box, I settled on this embedded option mostly due to its H.265 hardware decoding capabilities. "But wait," you might ask, "Doesn't Steam streaming encode in H.264, why need H.265?!" Well, basically I want to be future-prepared so that if Steam enables encoding in H.265 and the benefits it brings, this low-powered streaming box will handle it. I guess as an aside, if I ever upgrade to a 4K HDTV, I'll be able to Stream UHD 4K content using this machine as well. Supposedly the n3700 can handle UHD 4K at 30hz, but I haven't tested it. In a nutshell though, the primary purpose is streaming my Steam library from my rig across the house to my mancave in the basement.

Continuing on, this review is going to be more about the Intel Pentium n3700 than the AsRock board itself, but for simplicity, let's start with the board.

For the price-point, AsRock did a nice job on the build quality. There is a very small amount of flex in the board compared to some more layered PCBs, but nothing to be worried about; it feels sturdy and not prone to warp. Some other pros: 4x SATA3, lots of USB ports.

The LAN is passable, not great, but at least it's full gigabit which is needed in my streaming usage scenario. I do wish this came with better integrated audio to pass along a cleaner source, but the ALC892 is again, passable (and I guess I could always add a x1 sound card). Since the AsRock n3150-ITX has now been upgraded to the ALC892 as well though, I feel like they should make this a more premium board than just the processor upgrade. An ALC1150 with some shielding would have been nice. I can't speak for everyone, but I know I would have been willing to pay more for it.

The heatsink (more on this later with the n3700) - again, passable, but really should have been upgraded from the n3150-ITX. I pulled it off and applied Arctic MX-4, but I'm not sure if it's made any difference.

That's about it for comments I have on the board.
Cons: One issue I did have was with the SO-DIMM slots. I had to apply some SERIOUS pressure to get my RAM to seat and the clamps to snap into place. I was concerned about snapping the contacts or damaging the slot, but there seem to be no standing long-term issues that I've been able to ascertain. Maybe I just got a board with a weird anomaly.

Minor gripe: I do wish the mPCIe was also configured for mSATA as well. In my usage scenario, I have no need for Wifi and it would have been nice to have the option to install an mSATA drive. (Though I'm not sure if this chipset supports it...)

Needs a DC option like the recently updated n3150-ITX to get rid of the space-taking 24-pin ATX power supply and improve case options.
Other Thoughts: This brings me to the Intel Pentium n3700 itself and I'll do my best to explain the pros & cons of the chip and why it's both a good chip and a disappointing one at the same time. AsRock's not absolved in this, as a lot of this behavior is probably caused by the heatsink in question.

The good: Uses little energy; can playback 1080p Blu-ray and stream H.264 content without any hiccups at only about 15-25% CPU usage; feels snappy in the OS (windows 10); future-ready with H.265 hardware decoding; can decode 30MB/s+ Steam in-home game streams smooth-as-butter.

The in-between: In my testing, the n3700 can sustain 2.4 GHz on all 4 cores up until about 40-45% CPU utilization, after that, it will start throttling cores; it also struggles to hit high GPU clock speeds when all the 16 EUs are being taxed, with the average speed I've tested to be about 538 MHz. Due to this, the Steam Big Picture interface is laggy and runs at reduced FPS @ 1080p. I got this chip over the n3150 and the older J2900 and I was expecting a more fluid Big Picture experience based on the 8th Gen 16 EUs, but alas, this was not to be. Big Picture still works fine and I can navigate to stream my games with no issues - it's just not visually impressive, especially blown up to 55".

The bad: For the life of me, I cannot get consistent performance out of the n3700. I've run many Passmark performance benchmarking tests and the machine has scored as high as 977 and as low as 533 on the overall benchmark suite, with the CPU scoring as high as 1871 and as low as 1077. These were not back-to-back torture tests either where you could expect residual heat to remain; most were from cold-boots after letting the machine cool down. The temps in every test look OK (not great) with ~75C being the consistent average temperature recorded when stressed during the benchmark suite. I'm not sure what's causing such a variance in performance if it's always using the same power profile.

I think a lot of the performance hinges on the heatsink used by Asrock. It does a passable job of allowing the n3700 to function in a fanless design, but it won't allow it to utilize its full potential, especially on the GPU side of things.

In summary, the n3700 with AsRock's fanless design works great as a media streamer or file server without any issues and I think it's even quite-capable of being in a low-powered internet browsing machine or an Office PC without any content creation needs; however, I just feel like I'm not getting all of its performance and it leaves me feeling somewhat underwhelmed at the end of the day.

Even getting to the end of writing this, I'm frustrated because it DOES do everything that I ask it to in my usage scenario, so I can't really complain, but it just seems that with active cooling or a better heatsink design this embedded solution could go from good to great.

Maybe it's the Snapdragon 810, Intel-style?
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 10:08:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock QC5000-ITX AMD FT3 Kabini A4-5000 Quad-Core APU BGA769 (FT3) Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 excellent price/ performance mix
Pros: the most notable thing about this is the very low power consumption for a quad core. This is a perfect as an htpc/media setup that you can leave on all day and not run up your power bill. The cpu is by no means a powerhouse but if your looking at this for gaming or cpu intensive tasks your in the wrong place.
Also its tough to find mini itx boards that have more then 2 sata ports which was a big deal for me as well having a usb 3 header ( see below).
Cons: this board does not have a cpu power connector. all power is derived from the 24pin cable. This is not really an issue unless you start to load up on the addons and accessories. I added a gpu (7750) that doesn't need a power cable. i think this may cause power fluctuations with the usb 3 ports. they can sometimes just cut off when using usb 3 devices but are fine with usb 2 devices. The same devices usb 3 devices work fine on the usb 2 ports as they will only operate within the 2.0 standard. Oddly enough i don't experience any problems with the gpu itself.
Other Thoughts: my idle power draw is about 60 watts and that is with a gpu, two hdd's, one ssd, a rear 80mm case fan, a single 120mm fan and a dvd drive. With a full load on the cpu and gpu i've noted a peak of 115w. thats fairly impressive. I never used the igpu so no comments on that. As far as gaming with a gpu stick with indie titles, and some older titles. For ex. there's micro stutters on HL2 but runs SSlV fine. i even played Alan Wake American Nightmare at 1080p low settings without issue. However i have to turn down graphic settings a bit on poker night 2 to avoid low fps. Don't even bother with big AAA titles, talkin slide show here. In other words consider this an excellent system for low power media consumption. And any game you can play on this (again with gpu) is pretty much a bonus. it is good for streaming games to from another pc though. Oh and the cpu is a bottleneck for the 7750 can cannot be OC's so getting a faster gpu won't improve performance if the cpu if hold you back. So your not playing Crysis 3 or Metro Last light even if you slap a TitanX in there. Heck WWE 2015 won't even run cause the cpu fall below min. requirments. If playing mainstream titles is in anyway a factor your gonna want to get something else with a higher clockspeed. Now if you got yourself another computer to do your gaming on and have no problem with streaming or with taking a "if it works it works and if it don't oh well" approach then you'll be ok with this.

I also recommend highly that an ssd is used with this system. Load times actually aren't too bad with a regular drive but you'll want an ssd to offset the low speed of the cpu as much as possible. But again a normal HDD will do fine. I also want to point out for anyone interested that in addition to windows i've run Linux (Ubuntu) and SteamOs and neither has any issues in terms of drivers or installation.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 7:42:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > JETWAY > JetWay JNF9HG-2930 Intel Celeron N2930 SoC, 1.83GHz - 2.16GHz Burst, Quad-Core, 7.5W TDP/4.5W SDP Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Updated review.
Pros: Low power, 4 NIC, Quad core, Fanless and runs cool. I use the same power supply that is used to run those 5m LED strips. Works great with 12v 2A.
Cons: Not Centos 7 compatible. It is a kernel issue and likely to be resolved with future releases. Works well with Windows 10 and Hyper-v. Is not VMWare 6.0 compatible (presumably for a similar reason as Centos 7). Vmware Kernel will not complete load. Older and newer Linux kernels seem to boot ok. Basically, beware that your distro of choice may be tricky. Wish it could take more than 8G of ram.
Other Thoughts: Upping my egg rating for this item. The Windows 10 crashing was not related to the motherboard but due to a bad HyperV switch configuration. It still has issues with Centos 7, but I suspect that when Centos 7.1 rolls around, the issue will be corrected. A bios update for the board might also be a magic fix too.
If you are looking for a low power system build where multiple NIC's are desired I recommend this item. NOT for Vmware though. Windows 10 works great.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 7:00:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > JETWAY > JetWay JNF9HG-2930 Intel Celeron N2930 SoC, 1.83GHz - 2.16GHz Burst, Quad-Core, 7.5W TDP/4.5W SDP Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Interesting board.
Pros: It has very nice performance for such a low power board. If it weren't for the cons, it'd be quite fantastic.
Cons: Not Centos 7 compatible. It is a kernel issue and likely to be resolved with future releases. Works well with Windows 10 and Hyper-v. Is not VMWare 6.0 compatible (presumably for a similar reason as Centos 7). Vmware Kernel will not complete load.

My unit likes to crash randomly with no entry in the Win10 event log.
Other Thoughts: I really want to like this unit. It was intended to be a lightweight VMWare based firewall with a couple of support VM's. Sadly, the kernel never completes its load. The same is true with Centos 7. However, moving the SSD to another system and upgrading the Centos stock kernel to a newer release fixed this upon moving back to the Jetway and the system would then boot.

Windows 10 loaded great. So did Hyper-v. While I'd have preferred VMWare, Win10 seemed a good solution. In a VM under win10, Centos loaded fine.

Instability: The board just locks up with the network lights blinking on and off (as in a steady off and on, not an activity blink). I'm not entirely sure what to make of this. Is it a defective board? Is it a bug in Win-10? A bug in the firmware? My gut feeling is that it is a bug with the Win10 drivers or networking, though I'd have thought a crash would be logged. Maybe I have a defective unit.

If it weren't for the crashing, I'd give this 5 eggs and a rave review. I'd definitely be curious to know if others have had issues.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2015 4:53:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock QC5000-ITX AMD FT3 Kabini A4-5000 Quad-Core APU BGA769 (FT3) Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't buy this motherboard it's a lemon
Pros: It's slower then a 2007 Windows XP Computer. Don't buy this unless you like having a speed of 1.5GHz.
Cons: I bought this motherboard and it is horrible when it comes to adding all the drivers needed to run it starts up a little bit and then goes back to it's black screen. I really think the motherboard is a lemon. In that I have been taking it back to the computer shop for the last five times and it would run windows a little and then revert back to it's black starting screen.
Other Thoughts: I found out that the motherboard only had a speed of 1.5 GHz after my computer guy told me when I came to activate the rebuilt computer. And when I started running the computer it took over 15 minutes to start up. And to add insult to injury the thing couldn't even play a 1995 doom level with a dozen or so monsters in it.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued ASRock Customer

Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Mainboard has built-in AMD FT3 Kabini A4-5000 Quad-Core APU.
For more information, please visit mainboard’s specification at link: http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/QC5000-ITX/?cat=Specifications

Please trouble shoot the mainboard to see if its resolved.
• Clear the CMOS.
• Test with single memory module, try with another memory module if problem still persist.

If you have any technical support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp
We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock Support
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 9:40:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock N3700-ITX Intel Quad-Core Pentium Processor N3700 (up to 2.4 GHz) Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good, fast, cheap - pick two
Pros: Inexpensive and low power consumption; plenty of USB ports for a small board; AsRock's feature-filled UEFI setup; fanless and runs extremely cool; quad core x64 ITX board with 4K video for under $100
Cons: Intel's Braswell video has limited support in Linux; S-L-O-W at CPU intensive tasks; terrible for gaming (but who buys this for gaming??); requires slipstreamed USB xHCI drivers for Windows 7 (works out of the box in 8.1 and 10)
Other Thoughts: I bought this because I wanted a low-power, low-cost quad core media server for Plex and music. This machine fits the bill quite nicely, given you're running Windows 7 or higher. Linux support is unfortunately limited to Ubuntu for now, and it runs like a drunken snail on this machine. Slackware Linux -current (as of 8-25-2015) runs much faster, but suffers extreme video artifacts, especially with font rendering. If you're looking for a good basic Linux box, you may want to wait for the Intel Linux drivers to catch up to their Windows counterparts.

If you want to run Windows 7 on this board, be prepared to build a slipstreamed installation disc using the instructions provided on AsRock's website. If that last sentence was gibberish to you, stay away from this board unless you're going to install Windows 8.1 or 10.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 6:10:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock C70M1 AMD Dual-Core Ontario C-70 APU Supports AMD's Cool 'n' Quiet Technology UMI 2.5 GT/s AMD A50M Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Linux friendly
Pros: Works as advertised. First booted from a USB stick with a linux image, no problem. 2nd connected a SATA hard drive that I had been using in another computer with linux mint installed. It also booted up with no problem and autodetected the built in video, ethernet, audio.
Cons: If I had it to do over, I might look for something a little faster. I tried playing with mplayer a video that I had recorded from a High Definition TV broadcast and ran top in a terminal window to see what the usage was. (top is an ancient unix command line utility for checking that kind of thing which has been inherited by linux. I'm showing my age probably by even knowing about it.) According to top, mplayer was using around 90% of the CPU. It used a lot less when playing a standard definition video. When playing the high def file, that, along with other processes added up to more than 100% CPU, but since this is a dual core machine, I reckon it could do that. I get the feeling that when browing a busy website, one with a lot of ads and stuff (this one, newegg, is a moderate offender in that regard), that it is sluggish, but that's kind of subjective.
Other Thoughts: At the same time I bought this, I bought a memory stick for it, The G.Skill Ripjaws Series 4GB 240-pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1066 (the low enough spec one that you needn't bother to overclock.) I might get another such stick to boost my ram to 8 GB in the future and see if that makes a difference.

Since I bought this partly because it's low power, I might someday try connecting a wattmeter just to see how much power my whole setup (motherboard, power supply, disc drive, USB TV stick) is using.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 11:50:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Newark > Raspberry Pi B+ Broadcom BCM2835 SoC ARM11 700 MHz Low Power ARM1176JZFS Applications Processor Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works great as an emulator
Pros: Works great as a SNES/NES emulator. No complaints there.
Cons: No off/on button, cutting power and restoring it suddenly is a great way to burn out your flash storage quick. -1 egg
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2015 12:39:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.