Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > TV Antennas & Accessories > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HomeWorX HW110AN ATSC Series Digital Flat Antenna

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent, But It Might Not Work for You
Pros: I bought of few of these for several TVs throughout the house. They work great, but coverage is limited to about 15 miles or less (an estimate).

Read other thoughts...
Cons: Coverage is limited to about 15 miles -- given you don't want to keep moving the antenna around for any given channel. 20 miles from your desired broadcast tower and you're stretching your dollar.
Other Thoughts: Living in a suburb of Los Angeles, I'm about 21-22 miles from my local broadcasting towers -- and while I do get good reception, I often have to move the antenna around to get one channel or the other. Moving around bunny ears might have been a fun hobby in the 90s, but were in the digital age now.

I recently bought a refurbished Winegard FL5500A on sale -- and wow, it's a huge difference. Pulling in all my local channels (CBS, NBC, ABC, FOX, PBS and so on) at full quality (4-5 bars out of 5), without having to move around the antenna. I still had to find a sweet spot, but it's definitely worth paying a little more for an antenna, given your distance from the towers.

If you want to know your distance from your local broadcasting towers, visit AntennaWeb or AntennaPoint.
Reviewed By:WiseManOnceSaid,1/27/2015 5:21:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > TV Antennas & Accessories > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HomeWorX HW110AN ATSC Series Digital Flat Antenna

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 over rated
Pros: low price
Cons: only got a few channels
Other Thoughts: I should have just kept my rabbit ears or paid for a new rabbit ear with longer antennas. This thing sucks. It's made of cheap thin plastic. There is nothing for the suction cup to hold onto on a LED tv really. Shouldnt have listened to the reviews who think just because it's cheap, it's ok to buy it.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/26/2015 9:45:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > TV Antennas & Accessories > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HomeWorX HW150PVR ATSC HD converter box with recording, HDMI output

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT BUY
Pros: None
Cons: This device does not work as promised. It has a very hard time tuning into any station (my TV does a better job at tuning in the signal) and it blanks out repeatedly both when watching live TV and when playing back video from the USB port it will hang in the middle. Do not buy.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/24/2015 1:21:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > TV Antennas & Accessories > RCA > RCA ANT1450B Flat Antenna With Amplifier in Black Finish

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Small
Easy to mount
Much better than my old antenna
More chanels and better quality than my old antenna
Amplified
Cons: None yet.
Other Thoughts: I use this with a Tablo DVR and watch through my Roku 3.
Have had no reception problems.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/21/2015 4:24:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > TV Antennas & Accessories > SUPERSONIC > SuperSonic SC-603 360° HDTV Digital Amplified TV Motorized Rotating Antenna

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A total piece of JUNK!
Pros: absolutely nothing,
Cons: 1. The product arrived with some dents.The tiny instructions were bad. Zero reception. The rotation did not work. A total waste of my time and energy. A metal coat hanger would work better.
Other Thoughts: Not even worth my effort to return this junk
Reviewed By:Bill,1/21/2015 11:38:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > TV Antennas & Accessories > RCA > RCA ANT1450B Flat Antenna With Amplifier in Black Finish

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Ok antenna, garbage signal booster
Pros: It's inexpensive and receives excellent quality on the channels I can receive with it. (See other thoughts)
Cons: My only true con and the reason for knocking off 2 eggs is the 'inline signal booster'. Simply put, it's garbage. It does nothing to improve the signal of the channels I can receive, nor does it increase the channels I get. My TV shows the signal strength of the channels and a couple channels had worse signal strength with the booster.
Why take of 2 eggs for just that? Because this particular product costs roughly $15 dollars more (about twice as much) then if I had just purchased the antenna without the booster.
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind the geography near where you live before buying this. Its a nice antenna when it can receive channels, but it's by no means powerful. If you have hills and/or mountains close to your house, you'll need something much more powerful than this. There's roughly 100 OTA channels available where I live, but can only get a select few with this antenna due to the interference from the hills nearby. That's something to keep in mind. I'll be returning this and unfortunately I will only be getting about half the price back after shipping.
Reviewed By:Siren Song,1/20/2015 1:04:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > TV Antennas & Accessories > HD Frequency > HD Frequency CC-17 Cable Cutter HDTV Antenna

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very bad antenna
Pros: Slick design
Cons: Doesn't work. Had rabbit ears before, in Astoria, NY, I was able to get around 30 channels. I bought Mohu, and I was able to get 61 channel, and around 50 of them almost without any loss. I read amazing things about this antenna, so I wanted to try it out, but with this antenna, I was able to get only 35 channels indoor (various positions, best results were on window looking towards Manhattan, where transmitters are). But, from those 35 channels, I don't think there was a single one that was stable enough, all of them had pixels running wild and blackouts.
I will lose half of my money on re-stock and shipping back fees, but this is by far worst antenna I have tried in my apartment. Maybe it would perform better outside, but indoor is just useless.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/19/2015 4:37:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > TV Antennas & Accessories > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HomeWorX HW150PVR ATSC HD converter box with recording, HDMI output

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I Cannot Recommend This Unit
Pros: First the good part: the test recording I made off the air was perfect. The unit doesn't convert, compress or do anything to the signal. It played back in the exact same quality as it aired.

(I did buy this through Newegg, and it arrived in two days...so they get the usual kudos for good service.)
Cons: Now the bad part...everything else. This is hardware version 3 of the unit. According to the postings in the Mediasonic forum, this version has a severe sensitivity problem...as in having none. Here is what I just wrote to their tech support:

"I am having the same problems as many in the forums. Every other TV, digital tuner, etc. I posses picks up 16 digital home frequencies (XX-1) when plugged into my brand new huge antenna with one single new cable attached. The HW-150 picks up only 6. I live in the New York metropolitan area and am only a few miles from the Empire State building, where all but two of the frequencies comes from...with a clear line of site to my antenna.

Also, when setting the unit to "loop through," I find that just about no signal comes out at all. I dragged out an old analog TV, tested it with an old converter box, found it was working perfectly and found when I set the HW-150 to channel 4 output, there was no signal, and when set to channel 3 output, there was just the slightest indication of signal."

It will be interesting to see what they say...if they do.

The unit will play a variety of video formats. However, the videos play back very dark with low resolution, despite being plugged into my TV with an HDMI cable. These same videos playback much better on two other media boxes I own. The unit will play VOB files, but will not read a TS directory and playback as a DVD. Also, the unit will only delete files with a .mts extension...which is the format container it records in. So if you have files on a USB to watch once and then delete (having them archived elsewhere as I do) then you will not be able to delete them without plugging into some other device, or first renaming every file with a .mts extension on it.
Other Thoughts: This was a major disappointment. I would have been satisfied with just its recording capability...except of course it won't get the channels that are so strong you can get them on your fillings.
Reviewed By:Actingman,1/18/2015 4:23:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > TV Antennas & Accessories > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HomeWorX HW110AN ATSC Series Digital Flat Antenna

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Worked better than I expected considering the closest tower is 10 mi away w/ obstructions.
Has a better picture than twc.
Doesn't look dorky like rabbit ears.
Cons: Cable could be longer.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/14/2015 11:25:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > TV Antennas & Accessories > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HomeWorX HW110AN ATSC Series Digital Flat Antenna

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worthless...and that's the best I can say
Pros: 1. Doesn't use electricity.
2. Doesn't bark at night.
3. Will cut down on watching insipid soap operas.
Cons: Doesn't work. I used some two-conductor speaker wire arranged in a "T" configuration and it worked -much- better than this awful product.
Other Thoughts: They should pay -you- to try it and then throw it out.
Reviewed By:Rumplestiltskin,1/13/2015 3:35:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.