Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Apple > Apple TV 1080p Streaming Media Player, 3rd Generation (A1427, MD199LL/A) - NEW

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cheap And Cheerful
Pros: No Quality errors at all, still working smooth after 2 weeks.
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: Has everything you want in a box. Suggest getting it if the money is present
Reviewed By:N/A,4/1/2014 4:25:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > MAGNAVOX > Magnavox Wi-Fi HD Media Player, Netflix, Vudu & More - TB600MG2F

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good deal for the asking price.
Pros: Easy setup. Simple operation, for the most part (see Cons).
Cons: Sluggish remote response. Pressing the return (i.e., Back) button in some apps (e.g., Netflix) will dump you out to the main app menu, rather than the previous menu.
Other Thoughts: Can't really complain for the price. It does what it says on the tin and cost me a heck of a lot less than other options for streaming Netflix or Hulu Plus.
Reviewed By:jdrakeh,1/11/2014 11:37:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > MAGNAVOX > Magnavox Wi-Fi HD Media Player, Netflix, Vudu & More - TB600MG2F

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Set up is very easy. In less than ten minutes I was watching TV with it.
It works with TVs' that have HDMI and/or Red,White,and Yellow RCA
input jacks. I used a wired internet connection so I can't speak to wireless.
Cons: It did not have batteries, bracket, or screws that I thought were supposed to be included.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad I two more for Christmas presents.
Reviewed By:bruce1sa,11/3/2013 5:24:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Sony > SONY SMP-N200 Streaming Media Player with Wi-Fi Netflix Pandora & Hulu

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 almost as good as WD
Pros: not to big for its physical size, plays almost all file formats from usb such as mkv, avi, mp4, etc. For a refurb price, it was very low. Supports, pandora, hulu, crackle, etc. Remote is easy to navigate through. Support not just hdmi, but components for old tvs which is great.
Cons: For some reason the media player can't play foreign media such as naruto, bleach, sailor moon, etc from the usb, my guess is because of the language encoding is not supported, but maybe one can try to stream from a pc to player, but i haven't tried it yet.
Other Thoughts: Interface is somewhat slow when you move through different options on the player. And if anybody is wondering, the interface looks just like the ps3 interface.
Reviewed By:Ben10,10/19/2013 9:20:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Roku > Roku 3 HD 1080p Streaming Digital Media Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Eat your heart out Apple!
Pros: With the simple connections, remote, and set up it just doesn't get any easier than this. No need to buy a SMART TV if your TV has an HDMI port. With PLEX, Netflix, and HULU m; there's just no need for cable anymore. Turned it off and put the extra cost toward ultra fast internet.
Cons: Not.a.single.one.
Other Thoughts: Look into installing the PLEX app and creating a media server. It will play all media from the computer and just a great search interface.

ROKU & PLEX FTW!!!
Reviewed By:Kennedy,10/9/2013 3:00:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > SLING MEDIA > Sling Media SB300-100 Slingbox PRO-HD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best EVER!!
Pros: Without a doubt, the BEST paperweight I've ever owned! Take it to the bank. If not for this product, I would have never discovered better internet bandwidth, (which doesn't help SLBX PRO-HD).
Cons: I can't think of any, unless you don't mind spending $200 plus on something that works about 7% of the time. If you can get past that, you've hit the grail!
Reviewed By:linwerk,9/23/2013 6:54:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Sony > SONY SMP-N200 Streaming Media Player with Wi-Fi Netflix Pandora & Hulu

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 These rocl
Pros: Work fantastic. Used for three things: 1. streaming from uPNP server which works flawlessly 2. Stream Pandora music at least 8 hours a day - flawless 3. Stream youtube videos now and then. Hooked up through HDMI to Vizio TV. I have a total of 5 of these units. Best investment ever
Cons: Only one - one or two wierd codecs not included do not all videos downloaded from internet play - but I rip my own media with handbrake and this unit plays that consistently. Downlaoded material is something I do rarely and i really do not care if it does not play.
Reviewed By:LoveSony,9/4/2013 9:03:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > TiVo > TiVo AN0100 Wireless N Network Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Mixed feelings
Pros: Unit works as expected. Unit is to make the Tivo DVR have Wi-Fi capability. Unit is not what I would call plug & play. More like plug & pray. For someone with limited knowledge or lacks patience, this addition could be frustrating. I have years experience and a BSEET in electronics and still found this addition a bit convoluted compared to other off the shelve streamers.
Cons: Though this review should be about the wireless adapter, the real problem was the Tivo unit it's self. I bought a Tivo DVR no realizing it needed yet another $90 addition to be able to use with Wi-Fi. (My ignorance for not researching - Do not have cable and intended to use with antenna and Wi-Fi). So, I ordered the $90 Wi-Fi adapter so I could stream TV. Hooked it up. It requires yet another computer to program the adapter (sadly too difficult for the average person - especially when other streamers connect automatically). Once up and running, I discover that I can't stream anything without purchasing a $16/mo prescription just to use the Tivo. NOT. Packed up the unit and returned it. Picked up a Roku for less than the cost of the "adapter", and got back another $150 for the Tivo. Plugged in the Roku and watched it automatically connected to my Wi-Fi in seconds and start working in seconds. A far cry different than the Tivo.
Other Thoughts: It's kind of sad. Tivo is a "high end high quality" product. To me, it's just a bit "dishonest" in that fact that the unit costs $150 bucks (basically paying for the DVR) but comes with NO wifi support unless yet another additional $100 unit (and a PC to program) just to stream. Then requires yet another $16/mo just to be able to use it all. There is small fine print on the box that says I needed the adapter, but after looking at six other brands on the shelf I missed it. I call Tivo dishonest because there is NO mention of the monthly service fee. Forget you Tivo. Roku costs $68 bucks and has no hidden fees. There are half a dozen streamers on the shelf that are all easy to use, automatically connect to the already built in Wi-Fi capability and cost nearly nothing compared to your difficult to use "hard drive" with no Wi-Fi support.
Reviewed By:dank713,7/23/2013 10:20:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Sony > SONY SMP-N200 Streaming Media Player with Wi-Fi Netflix Pandora & Hulu

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great machine
Pros: works like a charm , best 50 $ i have spent in a long time ,
Cons: none that i can see
Other Thoughts: highly recommended ,
Reviewed By:chum.lee1,7/5/2013 12:52:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Sony > SONY SMP-N200 Streaming Media Player with Wi-Fi Netflix Pandora & Hulu

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works better streaming files than an PS3
Pros: Totally impressed with the Streaming Media Player. I was going to buy a Roku device when I saw this on Newegg. At the price it was offered and having a usb slot I figured it was worth a shot. Plus I wanted a device that works with standard and high def tvs. I was surprised.
Now this device plays more videos than a ps3. I have a few hi def mpeg4 files that won't play on my ps3 and blu ray player. But this device had no trouble at all.
Cons: None that I can find. This works great.
Other Thoughts: You can't beat the price to performance ratio. If you want a low cost streaming media player, this works quite well.
Reviewed By:jumbienutes,6/14/2013 2:16:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.