Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA RTS202 DVD Home Theater System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Lumber from ?
Pros: Nothing not a thing
Cons: I think this is a winner when it comes weight ;This thing is heavy. It wouldn’t matter If that made it sound better …...............Not even close!. Its a lumber yard with bad sound and nothing else. I;m trying to think of any redeI just want to enhance my TV sound this is a looser ,bad, not;nothing!! 2 In one day both units were good price but for what if they don’t WORK
Other Thoughts: DVD is playing but the sound is to week Is that normal? Radio AM/FM why? I just want to enhance my TV sound this is a looser ,bad,
Reviewed By:Geo,3/26/2015 1:58:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > SAMSUNG > Samsung 5.1 Smart 3D Blu Ray Home Theater System With Full Web Browser - HT-FM53

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Great sound for the price point
Slick look, interface
Supports wide variety of peripherals
Cons: Received some wrong speaker wires
Replacement wires difficult to find
Not very flexible on speaker placement
Other Thoughts: Bought refurbished.

This may be futile since this model seems to be on its way to being discontinued soon (if it hasn't already), but the speaker wire issue was a big let down.

I have an Optoma HD141X projector and have all my AV stuff at the back of the 10' x 12' room, which meant needing to run 4 speaker wires to the front L and R, center, and subwoofer across the room. I was able to do so with the center and sub using the cables meant for the rear L and R, but not only were the other two cables too short, they had the wrong endpiece. I could see clearly where the previous owner had tried in vain to make it fit despite obviously not being the same shape as the others. I tried looking up replacement parts online but couldn't even find the part number on Samsung's website. Hence probably discontinued soon. Really disappointing.

Came really close to putting it back in the box and returning it but decided to give it a test out of curiosity. And even without the front LR speakers it was still a pretty amazing surround experience. I watched Django Unchained and there was a part where I thought a bunch of my apartment complex's dogs were throwing a fit.... it was the rear right. Not bad for a makeshift 3.1 system.

The extras really sealed me keeping it. I've been looking for something to replace my noisy old PS3 and this fits the bill. Updating and installing apps out of the box took well under 10 minutes (maybe under 5) and the remote doesn't have any problem communicating with the box even though it's behind me.

So in spite of the hardware inconvenience, I will probably end up keeping it. If you manage to snag one of these, just make sure you're prepared to cough up a few extra bucks for more speaker wires so you don't have to wait to find out it's full sound.

Will update once the replacement wires arrive and 3D has been tested.
Reviewed By:Django Refurbished,3/24/2015 12:24:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA 1000W 5.1 HDMI Home Theater System With AV Receiver - RT2911

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Don't get a refurb
Pros: Got a refurb for a great deal.
Works great when it works.
Good 5.1 sound with correct setup / calibration
Cons: Refurb doesn't work properly - wasn't able to return/exchange in time (purchased early for xmas gift, sat in it's box until after the return period expired. Only found the issues after setup. LED dispaly will only work for a few minutes and then dies until AC power is unplugged/reconnected. Also, the unit randomly ceases audio output after 10-60 minutes, but changing the volume level enables output again, like a random sleep timer. Maybe thermal issues or a wonky capacitor somewhere?
Other Thoughts: Wished it had worked, the HDMI reciever has more inputs than anything at a comparable price range.
Reviewed By:John M.,3/16/2015 2:51:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Sony > Sony 1000W 5.1 3D Smart Blu-ray Home Theater SYstem - BDVN790W

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 SONY Home Theater
Pros: Reasonable sound, good connectivity options to both TV and Network
Cons: - Failed within 6 months
- Lousy support from SONY
Other Thoughts: After about 6 months, the unit powered on, but touch panel failed to respond, and the unit never fully came online again.

I have tried to contact Sony for assistance with repairing the unit. Sony's phone support said they couldn't help me find a service shop, and the online support form has never yielded a response.

I would shop at newegg again, I would not buy any Sony product anywhere again.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/11/2015 9:37:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Pioneer > Pioneer HTP-072 5.1 Channel Home Theater Package with 3D AV Receiver, Subwoofer and Satellite Speakers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome since the day I got it.
Pros: Its been more than a year, and so far, zero issues here. Really enjoying the sound of everything I use it for.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Syrum_X,3/9/2015 6:10:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > SAMSUNG > Samsung 3D Blu-Ray 5.1 Smart Home Entertainment System, 500W - HT-FM45

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Disappointing
Pros: Inexpensive for a combo DVD Surround Sound System.
Cons: Blue Ray player only last one year! Almost to the day! Only used Blue Ray player One Time and the DVD Three or Four times. The audio still works, but since the video is broken, I can't change the settings.

From the start!--
DVD Bass is non-existent, Sound quality is Low, Has limited power and hard to hear, No wireless, Applications are slow to load and do not function well, Limited input/output ports, Has a Cinavia on it, so it has limited ability to watch copied movies, Radio Tuner is terrible.

Sale is final. No return.
Reviewed By:jondrig,2/26/2015 3:59:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > SAMSUNG > Samsung 3D Blu-Ray 5.1 Smart Home Entertainment System, 500W - HT-FM45

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: easy to setup , menu easy to understand, lightweight but seems to be well built, remote takes a little bit to get familiar with, all in all a real nice system for the price, seen it on other sites for twice the price + comes with rebate, i would like to mention this mine seems to be brand new , but i bought it as refurb, i used blueray player works as it should , when useing netflix or utube does take a few seconds to load but i thank thats normal , thanks for reading
Cons: so far dont seems to be any
Reviewed By:jtb,2/22/2015 6:01:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA RT2911 1,000-Watt Home Theater System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent, inexpensive 5.1
Pros: I got this at a local superstore almost 2 years ago and it's worked flawlessly since the day I got it. Unlike most home theater in a box solution, this isn't a dvd or blu-ray player. It has multiple HDMI inputs, as well as front and rear composite inputs for older devices.
Cons: Definitely not 1000 watts of clean power, but it's loud enough for small to medium sized rooms. Obviously, this isn't going to win any sound quality awards, but it provides dynamic sound with the bare minimum of settings to compensate for speaker distance.
Other Thoughts: You get what you pay for, and we've gotten our money's worth. No problems at all.
Reviewed By:JamesG,2/17/2015 7:39:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > LG Electronics > LG BH6730S 3D Smart Home Theater System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Could be better
Pros: Easy setup sounds really nice, picture quality from DVD's and Blu-ray very good.
Cons: Not many Apps to choose from and the ones in the LG store are useless games. Tech support said the are working on license deals with other vendor and should be ready by end of the first quarter we'll see. Oh did I mention that I have to send the unit back already keeps locking up when trying to stream movies its not my connection I have other devices that stream perfectly fine. It started out ok but got progressively worse.
Other Thoughts: look at Samsung or Sony wish I did
Reviewed By:bumedout,2/16/2015 3:55:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA 1000W 5.1 HDMI Home Theater System With AV Receiver - RT2911

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Still working, cheap, well worth the price. I think I paid around $60 for this refurb surround nearly a year ago. I honestly wasn't expecting much from a $60 refurb, but I must say that it is still going strong. Pushing two 12" subs in a ported box along with the stock speakers just fine.
Cons: The remote that came with it was horrible right out of the box. Had a rattle like it had been thrown against a wall prior to delivery. Barely works, pain in my $@%.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/4/2015 6:30:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.