Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Onkyo > ONKYO HT-S9400THX 7.1-Channel THX Certified Network Home Theater System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Owner for 3 years
Pros: - Sounds is amazing
- Product was cheap for what you get in my opinion
- Loads of HDMI ports
Cons: - Cheap cabling (easily and cheaply replaced on monopricee dot com (remove the last "e" in that because of newegg's dumb filter)
-Sometimes the speakers don't... load? when switching inputs. It's like the system didn't detect the input that I had just been using so I had to constantly reset the system.
- No fan: If you put this in an enclosed space I'm very positive it will overheat. I'm quite surprised by this and can't help but wonder if that is what eventually lead the system to fail. I've contacted Onkyo about this (literally just now) and will update once I receive a response from them. In the forum post I linked someone mentioned that Onkyo replaced the system but the customer had to pay for shipping. Overall not a bad deal. I just want my system back :/
Other Thoughts: I've owned this system for 3 years and yesterday. It died. No idea what happened. I went to bed watching a movie, shut everything down like normal, and woke up to use it and it won't load anything. I can't update because the network option is greyed out and I get 0 sound. It's the same exact problem listed on the Onkyo forums here: http://forums.onkyousa.com/viewtopic.php?t=4643&p=20741

I would say it's a fantastic system otherwise but right now it's a paperweight. Mind you this is after 3 years of almost daily use but it's been plugged into a very nice surge protector for the entirety of it's life and has never been dropped, damaged, or had anything spilled on it.
Reviewed By:NsRhea,10/20/2014 9:20:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Sony > SONY BDVE2100 Home Theater System 3D Blu-ray

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I got a sad reburished unit...
Pros: The system is great. I wish I had ordered wireless speakers.
Cons: The input/output readout on front is hard to see.
Other Thoughts: My refurbished unit came cracked on one of the corners. I could definitely tell is was not refurbished by Sony. Somebody just wrapped up the speaker cables and threw them in the box.
Reviewed By:Beachdude01,10/19/2014 12:05:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Bose > Lifestyle 535 Home Entertainment System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Bose 535 Series II system
Pros: Excellent Sound Technology - deep surround sound...
Cons: Control box is age old, set up require technical skills and a TV with HDMI connection.
No BlueTooth, no easy way to connect cell phone..
Bose has to change it to accommodate pervasive device connection else has to forget this market
Reviewed By:Dhiren,10/14/2014 10:23:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Onkyo > ONKYO HT-S3500 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great System for Price
Pros: The system is pretty easy to setup and configure. The on screen settings helps a lot. The sound is actually pretty good for the price on the system. I have a larger living room and the sound fills the room pretty good.
I am very happy about this system especially for the price.
Cons: Could be louder
Sub is not powered on its own
Other Thoughts: I had some issues at first with the shipping it was shipped damaged but Newegg fixed the issue with out any question.
IF you are looking to get a surround sound and dont want to spend thousands of dollars this is a great system to start off with.
Reviewed By:P1TechMan,10/7/2014 8:31:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Onkyo > ONKYO HT-S3500 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Quality For The Price
Pros: Have only had this system for three days, but I have put it thru its paces. This Onkyo (HT-S3500) preforms like a high dollar unit. Has all the bells and whistles you would want and expect in a high end unit. You can not get more bang for your buck! The sound quality is superb and the bass is thunderous. Have not had a single issue, all features worked great. Works great in any normal size room. I would recommend this system to anyone.
Cons: Speaker wire not the best, but does the job...
Reviewed By:38brant,10/2/2014 6:14:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Philips > PHILIPS HTS3541/F7 5.1 Home theater 3D Blu-ray player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice little system for the $$$
Pros: BluRay, 5.1 surround sound, Optical S/PDIF in, ARC, sounds good, built in WiFi.
Cons: For the price I can't really find any cons. ( I paid ~ $85)
Other Thoughts: Alright, so this isn't a $500+ Bose or Onkyo system. All the people b!+ching that this thing doesn't have wireless speakers at this price need a reality check. Or that it doesn't support more streaming apps. It does what it says it does, and it does it quite well. It plays Blurays and DVDs and it lets me get 5.1 surround from my HTPC via the optical S/PDIF. The only thing I was disappointed about was that it did not include the AAA batteries for the remote.
Reviewed By:mr_et2,10/2/2014 2:15:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > HARMAN KARDON > Harman Kardon BDS 7772 5.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System with Blu-ray player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Great system for the (current) price.
Easy to set up (except for EZ-Set EQ).
Remote is actually usable, unlike those bundled with some other systems.
Low power consumption (30W at moderate volume).
Auto power off when inactive.
Cons: Doesn't remember surround settings for Aux input when powered off. Have to cycle through all settings again to get to the one I want,
EZ-set EQ calibration left my speakers sounding horrible. Had to reset everything to default to get rid of it. But default calibration sounds good.
Other Thoughts: Someone complained about channel routing for stereo not working right. Stereo defaults to front speakers only, if you want surround with Dolby ProLogic you need to press the surround button and select it. Read the manual!
Reviewed By:marvin,9/28/2014 9:57:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA 1000W 5.1 HDMI Home Theater System With AV Receiver - RT2911

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Purchase at your own risk
Pros: Radio works (not thru center speaker)
Cons: Not Dead, but dying. Center speaker doesn't work. Can't get audio from TV thru rca and digital cables. Will create a distortion during use and will cause sounds to pause.
Other Thoughts: I usually have good luck with working products from refurbished items. Not so with this one. Non-refundable, only replacement. Did purchase 1 year warranty. Feel free to roll the dice, other wise look else where. Hope this helps
Reviewed By:Chee L.,9/24/2014 3:57:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Sony > SONY DAVTZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater System with DVD Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Value
Pros: This system is an excellent value for those in the DVD market. It's easy to set up, functions well, etc.
Cons: Having said the pros, as someone else noted, the max volume is not that loud.
Reviewed By:Josh,9/24/2014 5:41:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > PYLE AUDIO > PyleHome - 100 Watt Power Amplifier w/ 25 & 70 Volt Output

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy Setup
Pros: I work on PBX's for small to mid sized company's, and this is being used for a warehouse paging system. they are running 4 - 70v horns. Runs straight from T/R port with no other interface needed. Simple set-up, works great.
Cons: Didn't come with rack mount hardware. Had to put it on a shelf.
Reviewed By:Tier 4 Industries,9/21/2014 8:55:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau