Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Yeah get that Port Multiplier.
Pros: Figured out after seeing the Neweggflash letter that this needs a port multiplier figured this out a day later. :( And thats not possible on a Laptop/notebook. However might have found a way around this. There is a port multiplier adapter for changing the eSata to a USB 3.0. Not cheap. found one for $33 though. And NewEgg didn't have one that was rated so had to go elsewhere. Kinda hoping a mini extension cord will ease the torque one the port though. (weight). But only way this would work. Hope it ships fast though or I'll have to return this.
Cons: Not very well thought out on plug in play. These drives aren't coming out without some muscle and the case must be taken off. If you can take the case/cover off without breaking an already short nail be my guest. Otherwise I had to jimmy it off with a flat screwdriver. Not all that thrilled about the thought of putting it back on. Rather just cover it with non conductive plastic. And who thought up putting in a BRIGHT blue LED fan in the back. It's not that powerful.
Other Thoughts: You need that Port Multiplier !! NewEggFlash didn't exactly put it up in big print. Sneaky. :( But it's hard for me to say no to a challenge. I have 3.0 ports lets see if that works. Does run a we bit warm on the hard drives. so not entirely sure what the fan is for. If this is an 80mm fan probably have ones that fit.. The drives slide in rather easy but they are a major scare to remove. Do like the LED lights for activity. Seem more accurate than the White Vantec I have which still puts off less blue light than this thing.
Reviewed By:PatrynXX,8/22/2014 12:26:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > AMS (American Media Systems) > AMS VENUS T5C mini DS-2250C RAID levels: JBOD, Clone, 0, 1, 3, 5 and 10 eSATA + USB 3.0 5-Bay SATA RAID Sub-System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Great, Convenient
Pros: Has USB 3.0, ESata, 5-2.5 hdd, working RAID.
Using this as a small backup hard drive:
1. Docs on one hard drive
2. Family pics on second hard drive
3. Program installers on another
etc, etc.
It's quiet and looks good.
Pretty Lights!!! Make them Ripple make them Dance. Make them Flash on the Dance Floor!
Cons: No real cons, wish it had a fuse so you can reset it. First one shorted even on a surge protector. On\Off button too close to reset button. Watch what you're pushing or else you'll reset your settings if it's on RAID
Other Thoughts: Beware Of Shipping:
Mine was shipped using the retail box only. When I received it, the box was bent and clunked inside. There wasn't even tape over the flap from keeping it closed or know if somebody else already opened it. Found the cardboard bumpers inside were ripped to shreds with nothing holding the case inside the box except for the Styrofoam on top. Bad shipping experience. Wish there was a standard in shipping where the package is secured.
Newegg still rocks and still loyal to them. Taking out one egg just because of shipping.
Reviewed By:tekageek,8/20/2014 5:21:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR8M6G 8-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier RAID Tower w/ 6G PCIe x4 Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Nice concept, good price but too flakey
Pros: Great idea at a great price. When it works it works incredibly well
Cons: RR642L Card seems to reset on the primary channel intermittently during access or predictably during drive optimization.

I have this setup connected to a Windows Server 2012 box with 8 4TB drives as one large Raid 5 Array. As stated above when it works it works great as I use it for Media serving. Then sometimes the RR642L Card seems to have an issue and will reset the primary channel taking the array offline briefly and for a unknown and not logged(in the OS) reason.

All Drives are fine so this isn't a hard disk issue per say and it will run flawlessly for months with no changes then act up.

This seems to me to be an issue with the driver from Highpoint but from what I have seen they don't seem motivated to update their driver software or Bios.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2014 6:35:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: -Easy to Setup
-Flexible Raid Options
Cons: -Software package to administrator not very robust
-Cheap Power Supply
Other Thoughts: I had the unit for 2 years during which time I had 1 HDD failure after about a year. I replaced the failed unit and the raid array did it job to start working at full capacity again. The latest thing to go wrong was that the power supply failed after the device was powered off when I was cleaning up my home theather area. It wouldnt power back on. I had to use a spare ATX power supply to get it up and working again to recover my data.

The other reviews that stated they had trouble with the OEM power supply and the expense pushed me to replace the tower raid with a server box instead.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/15/2014 6:44:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProRaid H8R2-SU3S2 RAID 0 / 1 / 3 / 5 / 10 / 50 8 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0 / eSATA 8-Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Warning: Does not actually support 8 Drive RAID-5
Pros: We use the 4-disk Proraid units. And they are great. This one might work well too with the given limitations, but had to return it because it didn't do what we wanted.
Cons: We purchased this hoping to build a RAID-5 out of 8 disks. But the maximum number of disks you can assign to a RAID-5 is 4 with this unit. Although you can have two such arrays (2x4=8 disks total), this sacrifices two disks to parity, one disk in each array. That is a waste of space (better redundancy though). For our purposes we might as well use the 4-bay units, which can be independently-managed.
Other Thoughts: We never powered it on because we discovered from the instructions that it didn't do what we expected. We returned it.
Reviewed By:Brian V.,8/12/2014 11:33:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL MobileSTOR MS4UT+B 0, 1, 10, 3, 5, and Spanning 4 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 4-Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower (Black)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 I thought it wasn't going to work but...
Pros: Took an existing 3T RAID+5 array I have used for over 5 years in an older Sans Digital model, positioned the drives per the documentation and tried to operate it standalone and got the same problem reported where it appeared to shutoff. The older unit booted up and stayed on and I expected the same.

Stepped back a bit ,rechecked everything and got a hunch to operate it while connected to the system and
Lo and Behold it worked as I would have expected.

Best thing thing was my original array was interpreted correctly and the transition (knock on wood) was seamless. A weekend burn in will confirm the unit's operational status but at this writing it is holding up well.
Cons: The documentation should be more emphatic about the power-on-if connected-conserve-power-if-not concept. It is not really underscored much which is a bit odd since I personally like that feature. Now I can have the unit hibernate at system shutdown which was not the case in the older unit, that required turning off separately..
Other Thoughts: I have not looked for any raid management utility software for the new unit and if I can't find any that would be a disappointment but since my old unit's power supply was failing I can't really complain.
Reviewed By:ATL-DISK-HEAD,8/8/2014 5:52:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 8-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR8M+B (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works-excellent customer service
Pros: Working well since 2012.
Customer service responded promptly and professionally to questions e-mailed in 214.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I had four 2 TB WD disks, arranged as two Raid 1 arrays in the lower four bays of this unit since 2012. I have had no problems. A month ago I decide to add two 4TB WD disks as yet one more Raid 1 array, and a 1.5 TB refurbished SeaGate drive as a trash file holder. The eSATA controller on my MoBO did not detect the additional disks. I asked for advice from the SansDigital Customer Support and was able to get a workaround promptly. These folks do stand behind thir product and help their customers.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/6/2014 6:44:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR5M6G 5-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier RAID Tower w/ 6G PCIe x4 Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unusable
Pros: Nice enclosure.
Cons: Controller is worthless.
Other Thoughts: The bundled High Point Rocket Raid 642L disables the array every time the system sleeps, sometimes even without that. Nothing short of rebooting will bring it back. Also, one must unplug the array during every reboot or else system hangs indefinitely. The newest firmware available is v1.0 from 2012, so there seems to be no hope of relief.
Reviewed By:mgavriliu,8/5/2014 9:04:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 works great until power supply dies
Pros: I got it on sale. It is small, quiet, good transfer speeds. No issues at all for over two years of daily use. Then.......
Cons: Power supply is low quality. Unit was on a APC UPS with line conditioner. It was only powered off twice. The second time it didn't come back on. Hardly any dust in unit at all. I had to rig up a PC power supply to power it so I could recover the data. I'm not happy. Probably will not buy Sans Digital products again.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/4/2014 11:00:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 5-Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID5 Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe 2.0 HBA Card TR5UT+B (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 ** EXTREMELY UNRELIABLE **
Pros: Low cost eSATA + USB 3.0 Hardware RAID 5 solution
Good way to optimize storage
Cons: EXTREMELY PRONE TO CATASTROPHIC FAILURES

It literally took me years to realize that this awful enclosure is responsible for several catastrophic volume failures I have had.

Even though I've never had a physical drive fail in the enclosure, I've lost complete RAID volumes due to faulty firmware.

The problem seems to be cause by a dropped connection to the computer.

This happens both over eSata and USB 3.0

I own several enclosures, and this happened on two of them.

As a result, the RAID volumes become corrupt and unrecoverable.

I've had several volumes become unrepairable and read-only.

1 5x2TB hardware RAID 5
2 2x2TB software RAID 1 (Apple RAID via disk utility)
1 2x3TB software RAID 1 (Apple RAID via disk utility)
Other Thoughts: If you earn even just minimum wage, the hours you will spend in repair and recovery will cost more than a proper enclosure.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing Sans Digital products.

We aim to provide the most reliable and highest quality storage product to our customers.

We are sorry to hear about the RAID volume failures you are having with this unit.

Please help to contact us for more detail support, you can contact us at tech@sansdigital.com for email support or 1-800-980-1988 for phone support.

Reviewed By:Sans Data,7/28/2014 2:31:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau