Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 5-Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID5 Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe 2.0 HBA Card TR5UT+B (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't Buy
Pros: Nice looking enclosure (if it only worked)
Cons: 1. The eSATA interface does not work. Tried to use it on 3 different computers and 5 interfaces,
2. The USB 3.0 times out (PC Link indicator extinguishes) after 2 min without data transfer and will not start again. One must turn the power off to make it start again. Very strange behavior
3. The top burst transfer rate is ~10MB/s. This is the USB 2.0 rate. My single USB 3.0 drive achieves 75-100 MB/s transfer rate.
4. I tried to reach the company’s Tech Support. Nobody even answered the phone for 3 days. Has the company gone out of business?
5. The provided monitoring software does not install in Windows 7 64-bit Professional nor Windows 10. I was unable to find a later version on their website.
6. The fan is extremely noisy even at idle.
7. The drive bays are very hard to open if you don’t have long fingernails. I broke one on the thing, ouch.
8. I had to pay a $45.00 restocking fee plus postage to return it.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 1:28:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR2-SU3 2 3.5" USB 3.0 UASP ProBox dualbay docking station 2.5"/3.5" HDD / clone function

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good for the Money
Pros: The instructions are poor but it worked out of the box to clone a smaller and older 3.5 inch drive to a higher capacity SSD as a stand alone clone machine ( drive 1 to drive 2 ). If you have larger drives to clone to a smaller SSD it probably won't work as a stand alone device. So far no dings and comes with good power supply and USB cable. Worth the money.
Cons: User's guide needs improvement
Other Thoughts: Worth the money and a steal with rebate
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 11:30:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 8-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR8M+B (Black)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Hot and pretty
Pros: A pretty box with hot swappable drives and good customer service. I had no problem getting technical support on the phone.
Cons: It gets hot, really hot. I purchased this knowing that 8 hot hard drives in a small box like this with a single cooling fan would present problems.
Other Thoughts: I thought I would not use the box very frequently or for long hours but I was wrong and this is the reason I took off only two eggs. It turns out that when drives restore redundancy or rebuild raid groups it takes several hours to complete, in my case 60-90 hours. I run three RAID1 groups with 2-TB drives and one RAID-1 with 3-TB drives, all WD Red. I use CrystalDiskInfo to monitor the temperature. Unfortunately I live in Houston and the drives get hot with an average temperature inside the house between 76-78 Deg. F in the summer . There is no way to add fans to the box but when I removed the left side panel and placed a fan to blow air directly to the drive cage it still got hot. I shut it down when CystalDisk indicated 50 and 53 deg. C. This is a pretty box but I can only use it in the winter time. Now you know why I gave it the title "hot and pretty".
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 6:15:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerSTOR TS1UT+B 1 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 1-Bay SATA to USB 3.0 / eSATA Single Bay Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not fit standard WD 2TB HDD
Pros: Easy to plug the HDD into the case (but then the case can't be fully closed)
Cons: I have a couple TS1UT's from 8 years ago. Comparing today's TS1UT+B to the original: the new one is black instead of "silver" color, the old one has substantial cooling fins on the bottom, the new one has none, but it's 2" longer, the new one does not work with a standard WD 2TB HDD: the LED lens on the case is a half inch away from the LED light on the HDD, the case can not be fully closed when the drive is installed, the case scrapes off part of the label on the HDD and part of one of the seals on the HDD.
Other Thoughts: Didn't get to use it, since the case could not be closed.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 2:56:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 8-Bay SAS/SATA JBOD Compact Tower Enclosure w/ Mini-SAS (SFF-8088) x 2 TR8X+ (Silver)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good product if you live in Alaska
Pros: Purchased a similar box years ago, still works and Sans Digital provides good customer service and phone support. The box looks really nice.
Cons: The problem with this box is the cooling. It has only one fan that cannot keep cool 8 hot hard drives!
Other Thoughts: As the title states it's a "Good product if you live in Alaska", it will warm up your room. Unfortunately I live in Houston and the drives get hot and eventually the room gets hot even if the average temperature inside the house is kept at 76-78 Deg. F in the summer . There is no way to add fans so when I need to use it extensively, i.e. restore redundancy that takes several hours (I use RAID-1 and 60 hours is typical), I remove the side panel put a couple fans blowing air inside the case to keep it cool (42 and 44 Deg. F). If I remove the fans the temperature rises but I did not let it go above 53 F. I have no problem during the very few cold days in the winter.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 7:25:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 8-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR8M+B (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unreliable!
Pros: has 8 bays and cheap when it works I've even gotten some really good transfer rates
Cons: constantly has Ultra DMA CRC Error counts, which eventually get bad enough where the channel is reset by the driver lights blink and it trys again eventually OS reports enough drives failed to where the whole array fails (some times works for a few weeks with no issues other times craps out in minutes or even at boot just constantly resets and my fileserver cant even get started). Ive tried 3 different eSATA cards with it the one it comes with RR622, HA-SAN-2ESPCIE2, and then i even spent the money on a HA-DAT-4ESPCIE also has the same old problems. been working with tech support for months with no resolution or even anything new to try. save you money any buy something that actually works this is too good to be true, and based on other reviews my experience is not unique although tech support would have you believe that is not the case.
Other Thoughts: I have my drives set up for JBOD on the card and I'm running CentOS 6 using MDADM to create a software raid 5 array that has one large EXT4 partition and using samba to share it out over a very small home network. tried hardware raid as well similar poor results.

also one of the many hats I wear during the day is system administrator and i have other software and hardware raid arrays i have set up over the years with windows and Linux and even MDADM software raid that are working flawlessly and have been for many years so its not like I don't know what I'm doing.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 8:50:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Lasted just over 2.5 yrs.
Pros: 4 drive capacity, multiple connection choices.
Cons: Can't use 4 drives. WAY too hot (drives get too hot to even touch). Way over 60C, so had to reduce to 2 drives in case--every other bay, so it is really a 2-drive box. I run these 24/7. I have two of these boxes. First one just died. Got up in the AM and it was dead (no lights, nothing). Moved the drives to the other box and all data is there.
Other Thoughts: Needs a fan with higher air flow to properly cool the drives.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 4:42:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic USB3.0 UASP HUR1-SU3-WT 2.5" / 3.5" SATA HDD Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 USB3 Hook up on Mediasonic Docking stations
Pros: I bought these Mediasonic docking stations (6G capacity) because of their small footprint, HD capacity, and simplicity for inserting hard drives, NOT because they are white, but at least they stick out on my desk. When I first got them I had trouble getting them to copy 29G of files from my Desktop to the Docking station. They kept stopping and locking. In addition the AutoPlay icon kept popping up as if they were going on and off line. I bought two and both were doing the same thing. I wrote the company and told them I wanted to return them. I paid $34 for them and Newegg indicated that it would cost me $17 to return them (shipping and restocking fees).
Well having worked with computers for awhile I started thinking (hurts sometimes at my age). I have two sets of USB3 plugs on my high end HP computer. One set is on the top part of a unit with sound plugs, this is where I had plugged the docking stations due to their convenience and had used these many times. The other is a card I installed on the motherboard on the back to give me additional USB3 capacity. Now I got this sneaky suspicion (50% of computer repair mentality) that this could be a driver problem, so before I condemned the product I figured I should try the direct motherboard connection. Low and behold, the both docking stations operated normally. Still thinking, it appears the docking stations on the USB3 plugs on the top of the machine somehow conflict with the Windows and HP drivers while the card with the USB3 connection to the mother board does not. I am now happy I do not have to send these back and they are pretty neat. However, I have another problem to solve.
Cons: other than they are white, NONE.
Other Thoughts: Since these did not work on one set of USB3 plugs and did work on the set directly connected to the motherboard of my HP, you might put a note with these products to try different USB3 plugs if they are having problems and also insure that all USB3 drivers are up to date.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 7:40:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL EliteSTOR ES316X6+B JBOD (RAID is supported by additional RAID card) 16 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays 6G SAS Expander, Mini-SAS / SFF-8088 x 1 3U 16 Bay 6G SAS/SATA to SAS JBOD with SAS Expander Rackmount

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 undependable
Pros: Holds a lot of drives
Cons: This box continuously has failed drives. I never trusted it enough for Production.
Other Thoughts: NewEgg has other JBOD units that work much much better than this one and for less money. Take your time and research
Reviewed By:N/A,8/21/2015 10:51:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic USB3.0 UASP HUR1-SU3-WT 2.5" / 3.5" SATA HDD Station

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Random disconnect
Pros: Smaller than I imagined. Not many HDD Docks comes with white color. I like the color.
Bought on sale. It's kind of the cheapest one I could find when I was browsing.
Cons: Randomly disconnect. It happens like every 5 to 10 minutes.
For this kind of disconnect, it's hardly possible to make large file transfers.
I don't even want to test the transfer speed.
I first thought that this might be my USB port's problem, but NO, I can confirm it's not my USB ports or my PC's problem. I tried every single USB ports on my PC, both USB 2.0 and USB 3.0
I also took the dock to my work place and tried on both legacy computers and new bought (within like a year) computers too.

The random disconnect problems exists on every single computer.
Other Thoughts: I hope I just might got bad luck on this one. and I am going to exchange one and give it another try.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2015 9:51:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.