Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL MobileRAID MR2UT+B 0/1/JBOD* and Spanning 2 x Hot-swappable 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2-Bay SATA Compact Tower Enclosure (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works as expected, quiet
Pros: Works as expected. Write speeds could be a little faster but this makes for a good backup device.
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2015 7:11:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 8-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR8M+B (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: looks nice --None does not work with win 7- 64.
Cons: cables do not lock in bad quality/design. Can get array built in bios but every time i go to windows and try to format the unit crashes. Searched and found updates but that made it worse. pclink 2 kept dropping out when Windows starts. Tried to call tech support but you get voice mail and they didnt call back.
spent too many hours as it is. Bought Areca raid card for 8 drives and ripped out boards so it just holds and powers the drives.
Other Thoughts: Do'nt try to do raid with a rocket raid 622 card.
Reviewed By:tkok,3/25/2015 1:06:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR4M6GNC JBOD (Hard drives are accessed individually) 4 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays eSATA (via 6G Port Multiplier) 4-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier JBOD Tower

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Around Solid
Pros: Does exactly was advertised. Played nice with an Ubuntu, Debian and OSX system. Each OS saw the drives as separate. Via eSATA the speeds are solid.
Cons: None. (As of yet).
Reviewed By:CreativeBoulder,3/24/2015 12:31:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR3-su3s3 RAID 0, 1,JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2 Bay Raid Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Corrupted my two drives
Pros: Worked very well when it was operative. Loved the unit when working.
Cons: After about 1 month of operation, when I shut down the computer, the drives would get corrupted requiring me to do a chkdsk at startup. This worked about 3 times when finally the drive was corrupted beyond chkdsk's ability to repair. Having to use data recovery software to get back my data since the 2nd drive was my backup drive and it was corrupted also.
Other Thoughts: I can only attribute my problem to this device because Windows hadn't been updated nor were the corrupted drives defective. To me, everything points to the enclosure.
Reviewed By:Dave,3/23/2015 12:09:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProRaid H8R2-SU3S2 RAID 0 / 1 / 3 / 5 / 10 / 50 8 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0 / eSATA 8-Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good for the price
Pros: Supports RAID 50 which compared to RAID 5 has double the fault tolerance and double the RAID-based speed gains, but only 85.7% the space utilization.

Have had several drive failures due to intense use and it has rebuilt successfully every time.
Cons: Does not actually support RAID 5 across all 8 drives. Only across each layer of 4 drives.

Additionally, I have an issue where file transfer rates are EXTREMELY slow. And there is a 3-5 second pause after each file when transferring groups of large files. This is without a doubt my biggest complaint as I would never use RAID 5 across 8 drives anyway. All drives were tested independently and came up perfectly fine so it's a problem with the unit. One other I recommended the product to does not have this issue, so I may build another unit as my 8x3 TB is needing a serious capacity increase.
Other Thoughts: Main complaint seems to be the lack of support for 8 drive RAID 5. I agree this strikes me somewhat as false advertising, but on the other hand, there is no reason whatsoever that would prompt me or anyone conscious of data integrity to stripe one drive parity across 8 drives.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/22/2015 7:17:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRaid CR-H125 external WiFi & USB 3.0 Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good quality poor support
Pros: It will hook up to the internet
Cons: This is the second unit I have purchased, I have returned both they would not work even with the recommended DNLA application. Technical support was almost non-existant, they were unable to solve the problem. The sales person helped, but when referred to the technician he never responded.
Reviewed By:Arthur,3/19/2015 3:12:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It finally died.
Pros: Was cheap and worked great for a few years.
Cons: Power supply died.
Other Thoughts: As most of the negative reviews have mentioned, it's only a matter of time till the power supply dies. I also have the Rosewill version of this and it also has a bad power supply.
Reviewed By:Dolsey,3/18/2015 6:29:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H458 Hardware RAID 0, 1, 10, 3 and RAID 5, support 4 x 3.5" Hot Swappable Drive Bays USB 3.0 eSATA RAID SubSystem

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Pretty Package
Pros: Solid construction, tool free setup, individual hard drive tray/caddies and very quiet. Great design and wonderful idea...
Cons: Hard drive recognition is random. I started with two 4TB hdd's with room to add two more later. Only recognized 1, swapped 1 and 2, recognized original 1 in 2 (4 spaces from top to bottom, top tray = 1 etc). Placed 2 in 1 and it was recognized! Replaced 1 in 1 and 2 in 2, only 1 was recognized! Dip switches were appropriately positioned, again and again. I'll have to dream up something to do with this backup device as my wife threw the box away. I'll try different size and brand hdd's. I installed and experimented with two 4TB Toshiba hdd's.
Other Thoughts: Boat anchor? I ain't got a boat. Paperweight? I've gone paperless, that's the reason for the backup drive.
Reviewed By:Rodney,3/12/2015 4:10:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works for about a year
Pros: When it worked it worked well, a nice and quiet enclosure esata speeds were great to the system.
Cons: I had this for more then a year practically unused before it went into daily service so I hurt myself by running out the warranty. I finally built a project box with ESXi on it, and put some servers and used this as the storage. and occasionally it would report the drives were disconnecting and reconnecting, I thought it was because the drives were going bad, it wasn't until this unit powered off and wouldn't come back on did I take the drives out of the enclosure and put them in a separate esata dock to copy their data did I find the drives were fine the enclosure failed.

The room in my house this sits depending on if the door is closed or not hits temps of 80 and 85 degrees F, and that appears to be the times the unit would fail the most, so I am assuming with 4 7200rpm drives and warm, but not hot ambient temperature it can cause something to over heat. and shorten the life of this unit.
Other Thoughts: Do buy this unit if you are a hobbyist, or someone who only intends on having this powered on for 8 hours a day in a well air conditioned room etc.

Do not buy this if you want to build a home server or something else you intend to store important data on for more then a year.
Reviewed By:Witmore,3/12/2015 7:28:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR4U+B JBOD 4 x SATA 3.5" Drive Bays 4 Bay SATA to USB 3.0 JBOD Enclosure (Black)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 bad power supplies
Pros: It worked well for a pretty long time.
Cons: I have owned it for 6 years and the power supply has about a 3 year life. My second power supply has just died. Amazing that my disk drives can far outlast the horrible power supply in this thing which by the way costs half of what the tower costs.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/10/2015 12:29:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.