Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL AN4L+B RAID 0/1/1+0/5/6 4 3.5" Drive Bays 64bit 4 Bay iSCSI and Windows/MAC/Linux Files Shared Dual Gigabit Server (Black)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Decent hardware cannot compensate for horrible interface and support
Pros: For the price, you get some pretty good under the hood hardware.
Cons: The user interface is horrible. Sans Digital's website for support is horrible. The customer phone support number goes to a voicemail box. I would rather spend more money for lesser hardware backed by Synology or QNAP's excellent user interfaces, and support. This is not a product you should purchase when there are many other great brands of NAS products available from NewEgg.
Other Thoughts: It is unlikely I would use one of these units even if I got it for free. Sadly, a client purchased one without consulting me, and I am now attempting to assist them.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/2/2015 11:35:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR3-su3s3 RAID 0, 1,JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2 Bay Raid Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Data Loser
Pros: After it was finally set up (bad instructions) it worked OK.
Long enough to actually get some data on it.
What was I thinking?.
Cons: The very first overnight backup to it was nfg. When I woke up half of my 3 TB HDD's in Raid 1 (the first partition) was RAW. I blamed windows sleep mode. Now I'm not so sure. The last backup I tried to it corrupted everything. Lost all data. It will NOT see any HDD's larger than 2 TB anymore without scrambling the eggs..
Other Thoughts: Their forum is down and no one is responding to emails.
I bought this because an external fanless HDD cooked until I could barely recover it to this RAID1. I thought I was safe.
HA. The funniest part is that the old cooked drive is recognized by windows again (I formatted it after recovery programs finally failed) and I trust it now more than I do this medisaonic junk.
Manufacturer Response:Dear sir,

I am sorry to hear that you are having trouble with your dual bay enclosure, the forum is currently under maintaince, please email your issue to rma_east@mediasonic.ca We will assist you accordingly

Reviewed By:N/A,6/1/2015 1:13:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > AMS (American Media Systems) > AMS VENUS T5C DS-2350C RAID levels: JBOD, Clone, 0, 1, 3, 5 and 10 5 3.5" Drive Bays eSATA + USB 3.0 5-Bay SATA RAID Sub-System

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Bad Power Supplies
Pros: Great price. Fairly good speed. Excellent for archives and backups. The RAID formats have saved me when I have had drive failures.
Cons: I have two of these units and have gone through three power supplies. Thankfully the power supplies can be ordered online and slide in like a hard drive. But the reliability of the power supplies are very poor.
Other Thoughts: I would not buy these again due to the power supply problems.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/30/2015 7:28:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H252B Dual 3.5 Bay Quiet USB 3.0 RAID Enclosure (No Drives)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do Not Buy
Pros: Solid Build
Cons: . DO NOT BUY CineRaid
I'm not happy with Newegg. I bought a CineRAID HD enclosure for my 4GB hard drives. This enclosure malfunctioned and erased both of the enclosed drives. One was a primary hard drive and the other was a backup. Since they both were reformatted by the malfunction, I lost all the data (three years worth) on both drives. I will not purchase anything else from Newegg.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/29/2015 1:56:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > AMS (American Media Systems) > AMS VENUS T5C DS-2350C RAID levels: JBOD, Clone, 0, 1, 3, 5 and 10 5 3.5" Drive Bays eSATA + USB 3.0 5-Bay SATA RAID Sub-System

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Cheap, gets the job done, until it doesn't
Pros: Easy to setup. eSATA. Supports RAID5 with 5 x 2GB drives.
Cons: If you fill up the drive, you'll most likely corrupt the entire drive.
Other Thoughts: I've been using this product for over 3 years. It is connected to a Ubuntu server and I use it to rsync the server's internal mdraid array to the Venus T5C. I have not had a single issue until a couple nights ago when I managed to fill the entire drive. Apparently, filling the drive causes the GPT partition to corrupt and Linux will no longer mount the drive.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/29/2015 1:54:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HFR2-SU3S2 RAID 0 / 1 / 3 / 5 / 10 4 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0 & eSATA PRORAID Box 4 Bay Raid Enclosure with USB 3.0 & eSATA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Mediasonic HFR2
Pros: Always works, no issues, low price point
Cons: none after more than a year
Reviewed By:agincajin,5/27/2015 7:50:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Areca > areca ARC-8050T2 RAID level 0, 1, 1E, 3, 5, 6, 10, 30, 50, 60, Single Disk or JBOD 8 3.5" Drive Bays 2 x Thunderbolt 2 Thunderbolt 2 to 6Gb/s SAS RAID Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid and Fast
Pros: We are using two ARC-8050T2s to backup footage for a movie and have loaded it with WD Red 6TB drives. It works great and is extremely fast.
Cons: Setup instructions are a bit vague in areas. Make sure to reboot your computer after installing mraid. It also requires OSX 10.8 and is unusable on an older OS.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/24/2015 3:01:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HFR2-S3B RAID 0 / 1 / 3 / 5 / 10 4 3.5" Drive Bays USB 2.0 eSATA Firewire 400 (1 Port) Firewire 800 (2 Port) PRORAID Box 4 Bay Raid Enclosure with USB 2.0, eSATA & FireWire 400/800

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: No issues after five years
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,5/23/2015 8:45:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HFR2-SU3S2 RAID 0 / 1 / 3 / 5 / 10 4 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0 & eSATA PRORAID Box 4 Bay Raid Enclosure with USB 3.0 & eSATA

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 meh
Pros: I liked the fact that it offered esata
Cons: power supply reliability. After less than 30 hours of service components gave out on the inside of the box so that it was not a simple swap out a transformer and power cord. Replaceable but not work I should have to do on a box with so few hours.
Other Thoughts: I would power it up when I needed to copy stuff into long term storage and was generally happy with it until the box electronoics developed issues. It no longer powers up and is probably not worth the time money and effort to fix it right.
Manufacturer Response:Dear customer,

We are sorry that your are having issue with the power board, you may contact our tech support dept at 888-231-7899 or email us at support@mediasonic.ca. We will look into get your power board replaced if needed

thank you

Reviewed By:dandlion,5/22/2015 2:31:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 8-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR8M+B (Black)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great when it works
Pros: 8 Bays
Hot swappable
Cons: Reliability
Power supply is garbage.
Other Thoughts: This thing worked great in the beginning. Then after about 2 or 3 weeks drives started dropping and the raid array would fail rebuilding with random drives. The drives would test just fine in another computer. Put them back in and they would fail saying bad sectors.

Then I got a spare ATX 400W and connected the molex connectors to the backplane. It ran great, array would rebuild with no drive failures. I have a 350W matx PSU on order.

If you want performance, don't bother with the 622 card. The 642 cards performance is pretty good. I was able to get real world write speeds of around 180MB/s in RAID5. Also the 642 card supports RAID50 as the 622 doesn't.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/22/2015 5:34:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.