Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProRaid HUR5-SU3 2 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent 2 drive RAID solution
Pros: The RAID configuration is extremely simple. Just flip the switches on the back of the unit for the RAID mode you want, turn it on, press confirm button and let it sync, then plug into the computer.
Drive installation is also simple. Remember to mount the drives with the supplied screws to prevent the drives from swaying or shaking.
Operation is quiet.
Drive detection in Ubuntu was flawless and required zero configuration. The OS even detected the RAID config automatically.
The capacity limits are clearly stated and runs my Toshiba drives flawlessly.
Cons: The case is plastic, but for the price this is definitely acceptable.
Other Thoughts: I looked for a long time to find an enclosure with:
1. Acceptable capacity limits (up to 8TB per drive)
2. High speed connectivity (USB 3.0)
3. Hardware RAID built-in. No expansion cards needed, and not a slow, software RAID
4. No nonsense operation without on-board OS (yet another distracting dashboard)
5. Low price point

This enclosure meets all of those requirements perfectly. I highly recommend this enclosure if you value the above features.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/28/2016 3:03:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR8M6G 8-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier RAID Tower w/ 6G PCIe x4 Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nothing but problems crashes constantly
Pros: Clean design is all that this unit has going for it, great paper weight
Cons: I never was able to get this unit working, I have attempted to get this unit going 5 different time and failed, I have tried different controllers, cables and drives but drives keep dropping "very unstable", I have tried WD Red and WD Enterprise Seagate NAS drives all with the same results, it was just a waste of time and money, the unit is going back on the floor to be my $350 foot rest
Other Thoughts: If you are looking at this unit take my advise run far far far away from this unit unless you want to waste your money and time.

I know what I am doing as well, I have 22 Years IT/Networking experience and Tech support was a joke
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/26/2016 10:15:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic NSO1-SU3 USB 3.0 2.5" / 3.5" Hot-Swappble SATA HDD UASP Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect portable transfer/backup tool
Pros: lightweight, solid connectors, instantly in use or instantly disconnected
Cons: Rebate not received.
Other Thoughts: This portable USB 3.0 dock and a gparted live flash disk make a complete, lightweight, fast backup/restore system. Gparted live is a 300 mb iso transferred by TuxBoot to a bootable flash disk. It is copy-and-paste software for moving linux distributions to new HDD and SSD. Snapshots of a Windows or Linux or OS/X partition are also done by gparted, the simplest protection possible against viruses, malware, install errors and accidental deletes.
Reviewed By:Grant G.,4/24/2016 8:56:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF7-SU3S3 ProBox 4 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent Low Cost Enclosure
Pros: Setup was absolutely painless - slide the drives in and secure them with the tool-free bracket. Windows 7 recognized it immediately with all drives exactly as they should be. Essentially, a five minute setup, tool free and plug and play.

Using USB 3.0, speeds were exactly as expected from all four drives. Identical to the speeds when using SATA from each of them.

Sync feature works well, allowing for manual power on/off, power off when computer is powered down, or hibernation on power down with reconnect when computer is rebooted.

Fan was much quieter than expected when the front door of the unit is closed.

Have experienced absolutely no disconnects so far.
Cons: Drives can run a little hot when in heavy use, getting up to 50-52C a couple of times. Cracking the front door open a little takes care of the problem, but the enclosure becomes a bit loud. It is noise from air flow, not mechanical from a bad fan.
Other Thoughts: I grabbed this on a Flash sale and am very happy with the purchase so far. I specifically did not want RAID, so this enclosure worked out perfectly. Performance has been solid, it is cool and quiet under lighter loads, and I simply crack the door open for doing heavier work such as full drive backups.
Reviewed By:George C.,4/21/2016 7:13:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR2-SU3 2 3.5" USB 3.0 UASP ProBox dualbay docking station 2.5"/3.5" HDD / clone function

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Cloning function works great.
Pros: Hard disks dock very easily into slots. Cloning function saves me a lot time making a copies of my drives without having to use the computer, that's energy savings too. Price is very good comparing to cloning software or backup software.
Cons: Price dropped a few dollars when I just bought it days prior.
Other Thoughts: It's great for people do not want to use system image or any kind of software to back up their system drives. Just put into the drives and let this thing do its job.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/20/2016 11:05:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 UASP Dual Bay Hard Drive Docking Station with Duplicator Support SY-ENC50071

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as advertised
Pros: Two bay unit. USB 3.0
Cons: It's a little light, but who cares one you have a drive in it?
Other Thoughts: 10/10 would buy again.
Reviewed By:Cody F.,4/19/2016 12:46:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > AMS (American Media Systems) > AMS VENUS T5 mini DS-2250J RAID 0, 1, 3, 5, 10, JBOD eSATA 5-Bay SATA RAID Storage Enclosure

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great product! If it works...
Pros: -small and portable
-can setup up RAID with hardware dip switches or software GUI
-can monitor RAID via light indicators or software
-product info says it was tested with up to (5) 375GB drives, but I use (5) 1.5TB 5400RPM drives in each bay and it can work!
Cons: -RAID config reset button and on/off switch too close to each other and identical (fool me once!)
-high failure rate for raid controller
-hard drive eject buttons can get stuck inside case making it hard to pry out
-power adapter is a bit bulky
Other Thoughts: I have bought 3 of these devices 3 years ago but they were the eSATA and USB 3.0 ones and so far only one of them has completely failed where if you would reboot the RAID, random bays would fail and you would have to rebuild every time. I tried flashing the firmware and updating my drivers and none would correct this problem, there is also little to no support for this product from the company. However if i put said drives into my working RAID enclosure then all my data would still be there (assuming i didn't rebuild the next time I lost the raid). Speaking of my working ones, these devices have been phenomenal! I travel around the world a lot and it has been in my luggage being jostled around and it still works like a champ (Though somehow the 3.0 port doesn't work anymore). I did remove the raid reset button on the back so if i needed to reset the raid or reboot the device, i would need a pin or paperclip to reach the pressure switch. Final thought is, as great a product this is when it actually does work, it does not provide peace of mind when it comes to data retention and only serves as a means of high capacity portable storage but if you're willing to bet your dollars on this product DO NOT let this be your main choice of data storage or backups, but as a means of putting those laptop drives that have been building up in your computer parts bin to good use (hopefully).

-1:3 failure rate (66%), so 3/5 stars (60%)
Reviewed By:Joshua R.,4/18/2016 11:19:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic NSNOE-SU3 USB 3.0 2.5" SATA 6.0 Gb/s UASP External Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Fast UASP Enclosure
Pros: This drive advertises and does have UASP (Please look into UASP, it is very important for performance. Traditional enclosures use BOT). This is extremely important for realizing the maximum speeds of your drives especially when you have an SSD in the enclosure. This enclosure closes with one screw which is awesome! I am very happy that it is plastic. All my metal ones have sharp edges and scratch everything they touch. Very good enclosure. BTW did I mention that I got this for absolutely free on a rebate special, even free shipping! You can't beat that!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend this product.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/18/2016 9:07:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4 Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It's been reliable for me
Pros: Worked right off the bat in RAID 5 with 4 3TB WD Red drives.

Has a RAID configuration utility to handle setup and problems.

Has been a reliable video server for more than 2 years.

Cheap.

Note (4/2016): Sans Digital now says that it will handle 8TB drives for a max of 32TB. Have not tried that, but it seems like a plus.
Cons: Using it in eSata mode requires an eSata controller. Just adding a conversion bracket to an internal SATA won't work.

Windows still does not play nicely with external drives, and stopping its power-saving "features" from turning off drives can be a chore.

Windows 10 SMB support does not seem to extend to USB-connected drives.

These last two items are not really SansDigital's fault.
Other Thoughts: IMHO, if you don't use NAS-rated drives you are asking for trouble with RAID. Using desktop, or green, or (truly stupid) archive drives in a RAID is just begging for data loss. But I guess everyone needs to learn this the hard way.
Reviewed By:Kevin M.,4/18/2016 10:41:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerSTOR TS1UT+B 1 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 1-Bay SATA to USB 3.0 / eSATA Single Bay Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 No brainer for the price!
Pros: Easy installation and comes with all the necessary hardware. Build quality is A-Ok and I love the fact that it has an on/off switch.
Cons: My only complaint is that it could be a little more compact because the box is quite long unnecessarily.
Other Thoughts: At 20$ shipping included...this is a great deal!
Reviewed By:JONATHAN L.,4/18/2016 8:10:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.