Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > LSI > LSI LSI00411 1m Internal Cable SFF8643 to x4 SATA HDD (mini SAS HD to SATA data port)--Avago Technologies

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Product received in perfect condition
Pros: Worked perfectly at first installation
Cons: no problem encounted
Reviewed By:Alain L.,5/2/2016 4:53:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > SuperMicro > SuperMicro AOM-TPM-9655V (Vertical) Trusted Platform Module

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Provisioning issue
Pros: Appeared to be the specified order.
Cons: Was planning to use this with a SuperMicro X9SAE-V board. SuperMicro documentation says to ask their support for the Intel Provisioning Utility in order to provision the TPM for full functionality such as use with Intel TXT. However, SuperMicro support didn't want to give me the software and suggested I use the pre-provisioned model, AOM-TPM-9655V-C. "C" is for client, in contrast to server. Since this isn't available at newegg I had to look elsewhere.
Recommend getting a pre-provisioned model if you don't have access to the Intel Provisioning Utility. Check on the SuperMicro documentation for your board to see if you need the -C or the -S model.
I think this issue should be covered in the product description.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Stuart B.,4/29/2016 4:42:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Corsair > 750D Solid Side Panel

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Looks great
Pros: Looks great, much better than the clear panel that attracts everything in your room to it
Cons: I wish the side panel locking system was better designed. Not exactly a flaw of this panel, but more of a flaw of the case. For the money I paid for the case it's insulting that the panels are so poorly implemented. The only thing that holds this on is the screws, other than that it just sits on top of the rail.
Reviewed By:Matt S.,4/28/2016 3:37:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA T-7M1-SA-RED 1x5.25" Bay Audio Series SATA Mobile Rack

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 5.25" to 3.5" Hot Swap Drive Bay
Pros: Easy to swap drives when one goes bad or just to try out different Operating Systems.
Cons: First, the trays have been redesigned and you can no longer mount 2.5" drives to them even though they still come with the screws to do so. Because of the cut-out for the fan, there is nothing to mount to. The older trays will mount 2.5" drives and will work with these bays. Second, if the fans quit working it is difficult or impossible to find replacements because of the proprietary design. There is no warning or indication of a fan failure.
Other Thoughts: I had four of these mounted vertically in a 4u iStar Rack Mount case. Had them connected to an LSI RAID controller and running 4 HGST 2TB 3.5" hard drives. Removed all of the drives one day while doing some maintenance on the server and they were so hot they literally burned my fingers. Removed all of the drive bays to investigate and found that two of the fans had seized up and the other two were barely working. I don't know how long the drives had been running that hot or how the drives even survived after being subjected to that kind of heat since they run 24/7. Since I require my RAID to be stable and reliable, I ditched these and suspended the drives from the top of the cage in free air and mounted two 80mm fans to keep them cool. It's no longer easy to replace them without removing the server from the rack but maybe since they are running at least 50 to 60 degrees cooler, I won't need to do so.

I will probably replace with two of the iStar BPU-230 model. They will mount three 3.5" drives in two 5.25" spaces giving me two more drives for the RAID, and they have standard 70mm fans on them to keep them cool which are also easier to replace. I have two of these already and the drive trays are compatible between the different models and can mount 2.5" drives on them.

Surprisingly, no drives were harmed or lost due to EXCESSIVE heat.
Reviewed By:Erik S.,4/28/2016 10:45:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE110SS-BLACK 1 x 5.25" to 1 x 3.5" SATA / SAS 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very good!
Pros: It work very well with 3.5 drive.
Cons: It doesn't work well with 2.5 drive.
Reviewed By:Wing M.,4/23/2016 5:30:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS-BLACK 2 x 5.25" to 3 x 3.5" SAS/SATA Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works great, could use a couple improvements.
Pros: Unit feels solid, drives slide in and out nicely. Not needing trays is nice.
Cons: The fan makes more noise than I would like, even on low. It's not loud, just present and on a home server I would prefer it was silent. The position of the LEDS are very close to the borders between slots and with the position of the power light I keep looking at the wrong light.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice if it had a larger/quieter fan. It would be better if the slot LEDs were centered vertically with each slot and the power LED was on the other side (does it even need to be there?).
Reviewed By:David F.,4/23/2016 4:11:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE110SS-BLACK 1 x 5.25" to 1 x 3.5" SATA / SAS 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Does the job, so-so build quality.
Pros: Works as advertised. Silent since there isn't a fan.
Cons: Build quality is so-so. There are two metal extrusions down the side held in place by plastic frames in the front and back. On the unit I received the tolerances of the plastic were incorrect and it took a lot of force to insert and remove a drive. I modded the unit and added a small spacer on one side and that helped considerably but the drive still rubs slightly and doesn't glide in and out like it should. I also wish the LED was centered vertically. If you have multiple units stacked on top of each other it is more difficult to see which LED goes with which bay at a glance.
Other Thoughts: I have a BPN-DE230SS (3x3.5 in 2x5.25) that works much better that this unit. Drives slide in and out with nearly zero resistance.
Reviewed By:David F.,4/23/2016 4:01:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE110SS-RED 1x5.25" to 1x3.5" SATA/SAS 6.0Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great!
Pros: Rebate fulfilled in a decent timeframe.
Does what it's supposed to do.
Feels solid, doesn't feel like it will fall apart.
It's got a lock. That's nice.
Cons: The lock can be bypassed with an object with a small, flat edge. In my case, a pci bracket did the trick. I'm not sure if the lock is to really keep people from accessing your drive or to keep children away from it.
Other Thoughts: Despite the lock issue, this is still a great piece of equipment to put in one of your many 5.25" bays. I have 5 bays, 2 occupied with disk drives and one occupied with this. It's nice to have for those times where you need to test a hard drive or what have you.
Reviewed By:Matthew A.,4/22/2016 12:23:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA RP-Rail-20-1U 20" Sliding Rail Kit for 1U Short Rackmount Chassis

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid Rail for 1U Chassis
Pros: Fits on a 1U chassis
Instructions with the rails were fairly clear, didn't manage to build it backwards like other rail kits I've used.
Included all necessary hardware, including cage nuts (the little square clip-on rack nuts) and bolts, same finish as the rails: polished steel.
Location of the mounting holes on the chassis rail piece lined up with multiple different chassis.
The rails glide easily, even with a heavy load on them (see other).
Cons: Very greasy out of the bag. Not removing a star for that though, I'd rather have too much grease and clean it up a little, than too little grease and have rough rails.
Reattachment of the chassis rails to the rack rails too a LOT of alignment, the guides to line them up were not really angled to assist. I've seen several models (other brands) with much easier rail guides, so one egg lost for this poor design.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this rail kit is pretty good for the cost ($34.99 when I bought it). I ended up using it on my UPS battery to allow easier connections to the battery, so this thing can hold at least 65lbs. with ease.
Reviewed By:Kevin S.,4/21/2016 6:54:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPU-126-SA 1 x 5.25" to 6 x 2.5" SATA 6.0 Gb/s Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Went out after 1yr 6 mos.
Pros: Worked great when it was working, great price for 6 hot swap bays.
Cons: We thought our drives were going bad, but after replacing all 6 drives and still having drives dropping out we looked elsewhere for problems. We replaced this today and haven't had anymore issues, so this went out after 1yr 6mos.
Other Thoughts: I'm sad that it went out in such a short period of time, we still have one of these in production, hopefully it doesn't go out too.
Reviewed By:Corey M.,4/20/2016 9:54:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.