Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Accessories > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO CSE-M14TB 2.5" mobile rack

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Great - Beware the cable
Pros: Does exactly what it's supposed to.I have 2 SSD's and 2 5400rpm drives installed. No heat issues at all, even with the fan disabled.
Cons: The rails used to slide the caddies in and out are a little finicky so you need to use care sliding drives in and out. The fan is very loud. I have mine disabled..
Other Thoughts: The supplied data cable is a SFF-8484 CROSSOVER cable. I needed a longer cable to reach from the motherboard SATA ports to this unit at the top of a full tower case. I ended up using SATA extension cables as I was unable to find a longer crossover cable.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/24/2014 4:11:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-2535DE-SA 1 x 3.5" to 2 x 2.5" SATA I/II/III 6.0 Gb/s Hot-Swap Drive Cage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very Dangerous Design
Pros: Nice aluminum case, Inexpensive
Cons: I have used IStar chassis in the past without problems, this is not the case with this model which suffers from a critical design flaw. If you're using a 9.5mm SSD maybe it wouldn't be an issue, however if you are using a 7mm SSD like the Samsung 840's it leaves 2.5mm of wiggle room, because of that it either misses the rear connector completely or partially which has the potential to break the rear connector on the SSD, consider the consequences if as in my case the SSD already has data and is used as the primary boot device for our ERP Server... Ouch!. I purchased 2 of these, one was DOA, the other which did work after taking it apart to find out what the trouble was although left me with the distinct impression that even working if I swap drives would be too unreliable, which defeats the purpose of the unit. IStar should know better...
Other Thoughts: The front latches don't actually latch and wiggle... It doesn't matter how inexpensive a product is... If it doesn't work it's still too much... I read another review that mentioned these same problems, but disregarded as perhaps an unskilled user... 25 years in IT and 100's of computer builds, I can attest to these flaws VERY POOR DESIGN... move along...
Reviewed By:N/A,10/24/2014 2:17:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA TC-RPSL26 26" Sliding Rail Kit for Most Rackmount Chassis

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Ok, but a pain to install.
Pros: Cheap, adjustable, slide in and out.
Cons: These rails come in a total of 8 parts, when 4 would be much better. Installation required a bit of work compared to other rails I have installed. Each rail has an L-bracket that must be mounted front and back. The screws for these does not screw tightly on the square holes that were on the existing rack system, making them a hair wobbly until everything was installed. The slider then mounts to L brackets and needs to be attached from the inside. You will literally need to be able to open all sides of the rack to properly install these. Once the rails are installed the rack case install was not quite as smooth as it could have been. The lock latches can catch while installing requiring holding them open in some cases to get the server case installed properly.
Other Thoughts: It's just rack rails, nothing that special. If you need a cheap adjustable sliding rail system, this will work just fine, just be prepared that the install will take a hair longer than planned.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/23/2014 8:32:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > STARTECH > StarTech WALLMOUNTH2 2U 19in Hinged Wall Mount Bracket for Patch Panels

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Half the cage nuts?
Pros: Rack is solid (both the 2U and 4U versions)
Cons: You only get half as many cage nuts as the rack supports
Other Thoughts: 2U and 4U units only come with half the cage nuts the rack supports - so a 2U gets 4 cage nuts (enough to mount 1 x 1U device) and 4U gets 8 cage nuts (enough to mount 2 x 1U devices). Additional nuts only sold in packs of 50. I have to spend $55 to get 4 or 8 more cage nuts?

That's like selling people a car with only 2 tires and telling them they'll need to buy a truck load of tires to get 2 more. It makes no sense.

Unhappy customers over $0.50 worth of cage nuts makes no business sense.

This doesn't occur with the vertical wall mount racks from StarTech - with those, you get a full set of cage nuts to match the number of U's of the rack. Why do it differently for these racks? It's confusing, and running around finding a few cage nuts to get an install done because they're not included leads me to never buy this product again.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/22/2014 3:48:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-2535DE-SA 1 x 3.5" to 2 x 2.5" SATA I/II/III 6.0 Gb/s Hot-Swap Drive Cage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Seems to Work Well
Pros: Looks good, seems to work well but I haven't really stressed it or anything.
Cons: One of my LEDs is backwards, It lights amber when idle, and flashes green when accessed. The other one is just the opposite.
Other Thoughts: There's a switch to turn the LEDs off if you don't like 'em.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/20/2014 5:40:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-2535DE-SA 1 x 3.5" to 2 x 2.5" SATA I/II/III 6.0 Gb/s Hot-Swap Drive Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best 2.5" Mobile Rack for SATA III SSD
Pros: LED indicates: Green for power and Orange for access
Access LED doesn't require a separate cable like some others do.

Compatible with SATA III and 6.0 Gbps transfer mode works fine.
Cons: The door knob may need a little adjustment but it's easy to do so with a philips screw driver.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/20/2014 10:37:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RL-20 Heavy Duty Slide Rail

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I really hoped these would work for me
Pros: None for my situation.
Cons: I purchased these for a NORCO RPC-340 case (which I gave 4 eggs!), first NORCO case I ever bought. Found out the case only has 3 holes on the sides and would not line up with universal rails that I had laying around. So I checked on their site and ordered these from here.

I put them on and pushed the case into the rack, was a little tight at first, but didn't think anything of it being the first time.

But then I pulled it out, well.... attempted to at least.
It was stuck.

I thought the locking mechanism was tight from being new or stuck.

After much and much more struggle, I had to wiggle it side to side to get it out of the rack.

The side of the case has slight rubbing marks and the top rear of the case ACTUALLY BOWED IN!

Why?

Because the front and rear L-mounts that connect the the rack actually arch toward the case, you can't really see it in the picture here. Before I put it together I assumed that they would clear the case since these are made by the same company and they state they work.

But no, I think it is just a horrible design.

After inspecting and attempting a second time just for giggles and failing in the same manner. I took the rails off, drilled 3 new holes to allow me to use 4 screws on each side of the universal rails I had. (yeah 1 more than NORCO gave me).

Server now slides in and out of the rack perfectly and I have two extra metal rails to beat zombies over the head with if it ever comes down to it.
Other Thoughts: I have tons of other server cases, switches, routers, UPSes, shelves, drawers, KVMs, etc in these same racks. So maybe my racks are compatible with NORCO rails or maybe the rails are just badly designed with no flexibility in use, even with their own products.

I can't even remember the last time I gave less than a 3 egg review, this alone saddens me.
Reviewed By:Joshua A,10/20/2014 9:29:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA TC-RPSL26 26" Sliding Rail Kit for Most Rackmount Chassis

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good Product, Bad Packaging
Pros: Easy setup, rolls smoothly
Cons: Purchased 1 intially, encountered no problems, install was easy, and the rails were delivered with all the required mounting brackets & screws.

Satisfied with the product, I purchased 2 additional sets. Only 1 was delivered, and it only came with 2 out of 4 mounting brackets, and the bag of screws was a random assortment that was incomplete.

Worked with newegg to file a claim with fedex for the set of rails that never showed up was easy. When my replacement rails arrived, no mounting brackets or screws was provided, only the bare railing system.

I bought 3 identical sets for sliding rails with newegg, yet all three are mounted in a different manner with different screws and mounting brackets I had to provide myself.

2 Stars for my experience.
Other Thoughts: Purchased 1 intially, encountered no problems, install was easy, and the rails were delivered with all the required mounting brackets & screws.

Satisfied with the product, I purchased 2 additional sets. Only 1 was delivered, and it only came with 2 out of 4 mounting brackets, and the bag of screws was a random assortment that was incomplete.

Worked with newegg to file a claim with fedex for the set of rails that never showed up was easy. When my replacement rails arrived, no mounting brackets or screws was provided, only the bare railing system.

I bought 3 identical sets for sliding rails with newegg, yet all three are mounted in a different manner with different screws and mounting brackets I had to provide myself.

2 Stars for my experience.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/19/2014 11:16:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > APC > APC AR8122BLK Fixed Shelf 250lbs/114kg Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Just OK shelf
Pros: Well constructed. Nice finish. Fit well into NetShelter SV 42U.
Cons: Tedious to assemble, especially with multiples. I've had much easier shelves from other manufacturers.
Other Thoughts: No extra screws or bolts in case you drop one... comes with exactly the amount required.
Reviewed By:TR808,10/19/2014 7:10:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO SS-500 5-Bay SATA / SAS Hot Swap Rack Module

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Redesigned for better Fit and Function
Pros: I have used these in the past and currently have a new one installed that has been redesigned to higher standards than the old ones.
Cons: Some screws still hit the drives or drive trays. Screws need to be very very short or don't insert them all the way on any area where they will hit the tray or drive. (no biggie)

The sides are flush, so if your case has slot brackets to rest 1 bay devices on, you will have to bend them back out of the way. (unpleasant mod)
Other Thoughts: Also the fan can be changed to a 80mm x 32mm high speed to increase air flow for 7200 rpm NAS or Nearline drives that run warmer than standard drives.
Reviewed By:BigXor,10/18/2014 2:20:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau