Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-Slider 24 24" Length 2U-4U IPC Rack Mount Case Slider Rail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 B+ rails for a C- Price
Pros: Cheap
Do the job
should fit any 2U-4U athena case
Cons: Mounting holes weren't perfect for a 4U/24 Bay athena case... the rails could have had more screw holes
Not as easy supermicro "toolless" rails...
Other Thoughts: I took a chance on these rails, despite the negative reviews. I'm glad I did... for the price on NewEgg these are a steal. We have a number of different railsets in our data center. These are much better than most, and the cheapest set we own. They didn't fit perfectly on our 4U athena case, but they fit decently. They appear to have no problem handling the weight of a very heavy server, no issue! They slide reasonably well also, no problems there. I'll definitely buy these again for any future athena cases.
Reviewed By:Theodore D.,7/21/2016 8:46:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE340SS-BLACK 3 x 5.25" to 4 x 3.5" SAS / SATA 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage - Black Handle

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with Enterprise SAS disks as well as SATA
Pros: The internal drive connectors work with SAS disks where the power and signal connectors are one rather than split. Heavy duty, fan noise is present, but civil. Got at a great price on sale, they were roughly 'two for one'...and heck, they even look good.
Cons: If your case has wide tabs to support the edges of the 5.25 drives, then you *could* have trouble getting this in. It has grooves, but they aren't extra deep. The door latches for the drives could be a bit more refined, but I haven't had anything eject itself on me yet.
Other Thoughts: I had access to some 2TB disks from an enterprise array that was being retired, and a used IBM 5015 (LSI) RAID controller with cache and battery backup. Because of the SAS style internal drive connectors this bay worked well with both, and most other alternatives would not have. In another case I am just using SATA ports from the MB, and standard SATA II/SATA III disks, and that worked perfectly as well.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/21/2016 7:43:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS-RED Trayless 2 x 5.25" to 3 x 3.5" SAS SATA 6 Gbps HDD Hot-swap Rack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love this
Pros: Easy to install, works great, saves space, great way to have information available without dedicating drives to a particular computer, more drives in a smaller case.
Cons: Not yet.
Other Thoughts: Some things working on Windows 7, don't work on Windows 10, and I don't want to keep 2 drives in the computer with two OS' because of Murphy's Law. I've been there. The hot swap trays are great for that.
I can also use Linux, any version, without tearing the computer apart just to play.
Reviewed By:James F.,7/18/2016 4:13:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPX-124-SA 5.25" to 4 x 2.5" SATA 6 Gbps HDD SSD Hot-swap Rack

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Cheap and disappointing
Pros: - Cheap
- Looks "ok"
- Might be "ok" for four SSDs, not ideal for 9-15mm HDDs
Cons: - Completely plastic... plastic trays, plastic enclosure, plastic rails.
- Does not fit 4 x 15mm hard drives, not enough vertical space.
- Does not fit 2 x 15mm hard drives unless you snap off two pieces of plastic railing.
- Easy to break.
- Trays will break if you put in and out.
Other Thoughts: I bought four of these when they were on sale -- really excited. But they're severely underwhelming and I would never buy them again. Spend more money and get a nicer metal one, you won't regret it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/18/2016 12:50:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE350SS-RED 3 x 5.25" to 5 x 3.5" SAS/SATA 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 nice, could use some design improvements
Pros: fits in my 4u rack
I'd say it's a good build quality
Cons: the sata power connectors are far too close for cables that don't have a sata connector terminating them. taking off two eggs for a design choice that could potentially damage the sata power sockets since torquing them is rather easy. almost happened here but went with two separate sata power cables to keep it safe. (still snapped off a nonfunctional piece of the connector though) next iteration, could the power connectors be stacked 2 - 3 mm further apart, thanks.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/17/2016 7:08:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPU-124DE-SS 1 x 5.25" to 4 x 2.5" SATA/SAS 6.0Gb/s Hot-Swap Backplane RAID Cage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Has issues
Pros: Looks great and installed easily, I found it easiest to slide in after installing a 5.25" Blu-ray drive beneath the bay this unit was installed in. The red backplate makes it easy to spot the connector locations in the dark.
Cons: The lights on mine are flashing red non-stop regardless of the LED switch position, something is clearly faulty with my unit.
Other Thoughts: The manual for this product does not have any appendix with LED codes to indicate what the red flashing lights mean. I already swapped out all of the SATA data cables and SATA power cable, giving it a dedicated power cable from a different port off a modular power supply but no dice. I hate having to deal with RMA.
Reviewed By:Patrick J.,7/10/2016 8:57:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS-RED Trayless 2 x 5.25" to 3 x 3.5" SAS SATA 6 Gbps HDD Hot-swap Rack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does the job and well
Pros: Allows the mounting of a third drive where there was room for only 2
Various colors available if that's important to you. I lucked out, the sale cage matched my color scheme, but I would have purchased it regardless of the color
Cons: fan is a bit noisy and not locks not secure enough to prevent unauthorized drive removal

some reports of backplane failure, so I'm not using this to support my boot drive ( I was lucky enough to grab a Half XM case which has its own hot swap tray system and that is where my boot ssd resides)

depending on your build, you might run into some cable management issues
Other Thoughts: if you are critically short on drive bays, this system can be a lifesaver.

might have a problem with some cases, the fit is very tight, so watch out for the day ruining sharp metal edges on your PC

grab it while it's on sale, it's an easy buy. This product is available in a wide number of variations, more colors, more or less bays, but the common theme is, a two drive bay gets three positions, a three drive bay gets four and so on.

istar makes a bunch of neat products, similar in the "I got that oddball stuff you want" I've come to expect from startech.

A PCI-e riser that gives you two pci-e16 AND a pci slot for example.

I have a PCI card I have to run in a rig without a pci slot. I used the st solution which was a full on pcie->PCI adapter card.
Reviewed By:Peter P.,7/9/2016 6:51:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE350SS-BLACK 3x5.25" to 5x3.5" SAS/SATA 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 LOUD, but so far pretty effective.
Pros: Easy install/removal of HDDs
Ability to "Lock" lever to avoid accidental opening
4 HDDs off of two SATA power plugs
Plug it in & it works
Cons: LOUD - even at the Low setting
Non-standard fan & plug sizes makes upgrading fan complicated
Very deep back (there's not much they could do about this though - it's about as shallow as could be)
Other Thoughts: If you want a quiet HDD cage, don't get this unless you're willing to spend $ for a quieter fan and ~30-60 minutes replacing it. Also, make VERY sure this will fit in your case. This backs into the case at least 8-1/8" - could make thing very cramped depending on where it goes in relation to you power supply/motherboard connections.
Reviewed By:tim s.,7/8/2016 3:25:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SNK-P0050AP4 Heatsink for Supermicro X9DR3-F Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Large but does the job very well on E5-2690V3 and V4 Xeons
Pros: both Narrow plate for Narrow ILM of SuperMicro boards and larger Plate.
It works very well keeping the tems in sub 40s on 12 and 14 ore CPUs giving 24 to 28 cores with intel HyperThreading.
Designed very well, i thought it will hit the memory Sockets but it clearly did not.
Fan is not noisy.
you can bring temperature even further down by blowing air from the top of the case towards this heatsink/fan assembly.
Cons: it will not fit 1u or 2u Rack Servers.
Use it in Tower servers OR use it in 4u rack Servers and it will do the job very well.
Other Thoughts: SuperMicro pulled off a very nice Heatsink/Fan.. I ran this beside my Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling system and this kep the numbers same as the liquid cooling system which was impressive at half the price and with a straight forward device.
Reviewed By:Bilal M.,7/7/2016 3:19:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-SATA-Cage-34 - Hard Disk Drives - Black, 3 x 5.25" to 4 x 3.5" Hot-Swap - SATA III / SAS - Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Rosewill RSV-SATA-Cage-34
Pros: Holds 4 HDD (3.5, 2.5) even holds slightly larger WD 10k 2.5 drives perfectly.
Fan is super quiet
Cons: Its not really a con just a FYI, connect all your SATA and power before completely sliding into your chassis, as its a really tight fit with it being so close to the wall.

I'm not sure if there is enough airflow from the fan but time will tell.

Other Thoughts: This is great and would buy in the future
Reviewed By:Jeramiah T.,6/28/2016 7:22:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.