Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Accessories > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SNK-P0048P X9 2U Passive CPU Heat Sink

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well with air shroud
Pros: Keeps my CPU package at 54C with an ambient of 26C under a full load of 65.5W of dissipation.
Cons: Should not be used without fans and air shroud.
Other Thoughts: This heat sink is design to work on a CPU that is installed on a motherboard in a Supermicro server case. The case is furnished with an air shroud that concentrated the flow through this sink. This takes air from the front of the case, focuses it at the sink and exhausts the air at the back of the case.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 9:48:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > Athena Power > Athena Power BRK-HD322 Drive Bay: 1 x 3.5" to 2 x 2.5" SSDs/HDs Bracket

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Bracket
Pros: Works as expected. Very sturdy.
Cons: None I can think of.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/26/2015 3:22:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPU-350SATA 3x5.25" to 5x3.5" SAS/SATA 6.0 Gb/s Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible (II)
Pros: Same as in my previous entry
Cons: I discovered an additional problem with this product: It does not work with Seagate HDD.15 ST4000DM000 4TB desktop hard drives. Interestingly, the older precursor model (board labeled SS-305 v1.22) works fine with those. A simple low-level test that attempts to write all the drive's sectors with random data, from beginning to end, fails repeatedly after a few percent. I have confirmed this with several such drives.
Other Thoughts: In addition to the reservations expressed in my previous review, I also can not recommend it if you intend to use it with the above type hard drive. There may be others it also fails to support.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/17/2015 5:51:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > LSI > LSI LSI00412 0.6 meter Internal Cable SFF8643 to x4 SAS8482 w/power (mini SAS HD to SAS HDD)--Avago Technologies

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It works.
Pros: - Works as expected
- Drive speeds are where they need to be.
Cons: - Molex connector is a little large / flimsy.
Other Thoughts: I made a mistake when plugging in the molex power to the molex connectors and fried 2 of my SSDs. Lucky these where only engineering samples and I had several more standing by I could use.

I was surprised how easy it was to plug the cables in backwards on these connectors. The plastic is a bit flimsy. If you buy these cables VERIFY that the power is plugged in correctly.

All that being said I only took off 1 egg do to this being mostly a "user" error.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/15/2015 5:09:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > Hewlett-Packard > HP 666988-B21 2U Security Bezel Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect
Pros: I bought this for a ProLiant DL 385P Gen 9 U2 and it fit perfectly! :)
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,7/14/2015 1:09:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > Axiom > Axiom 1000BASE-SX SFP for Dell - TAA Compliant

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Working Great!
Pros: Working great in a Dell PowerConnect 2848 switch using MM fiber in our workplace.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,7/14/2015 12:44:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPU-350SATA 3x5.25" to 5x3.5" SAS/SATA 6.0 Gb/s Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible
Pros: Fits 5 3.5" drives, allegedly with hot-swap function, in three contiguous 5.25" slots of a desktop case.
Cons: The weakest point are the flimsy miniature switches used to power the 5 drives on/off. They are activated through the long plastic rods that one pushes with a pencil. The problem is, some of the switches refuse to work, meaning they come on momentarily as one pushes into the rod, but refuse to "stick" (probably bad for the hard drive when one keeps trying). Others refuse to turn off. I have 6 of these cages (5 of the precursor model and one of this newer one) and 3 of them (including the new one) are affected by this problem, which prevents proper hot-swapping of at least one drive in each cage.
Other Thoughts: I can only recommend this product if you need the space savings and are willing to keep one (or more, who knows) drives per cage continually powered up (and thus not hot-swappable).
I would never have bought as many, but I am stuck with numerous drives mounted in compatible trays.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/11/2015 4:08:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA TC-RPSL26 26" Sliding Rail Kit for Most Rackmount Chassis

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Tottaly Unusable
Pros: Hard to say really.... Quality seems decent but I never got the chance to use the product as attended, see blow.
Cons: Just like James I ordered two sets of these both were missing all the mounting hardware (bolts, washers and nuts). and one set was missing a set of L brackets. It would have probably been possible to piece something together as far as mounting hardware but the missing L brackets makes the rails unusable
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2015 1:54:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > Ark Technology Inc. > Ark Technology Rail-RB18 Sliding Rail

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works in Lack rack
Pros: Fits in the lack rack I built, and the server slides fairly smoothly. It works just fine
Cons: No manual,
Other Thoughts: The clips to keep the server in seem flimsy, it's a little thick for the lack rack, some might have issues. It takes a little work to get the bearing slides onto the rails mounted to the server case in this configuration.

Oh, and lath screws can hold it to the lack just fine.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2015 1:50:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > Athena Power > Athena Power BP-TLA2221SATA 2.5" HDD/SSD Trayless Hot-Swap Backplane Module Converts 1 X 3.5" to 2 X 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s HDD/SSD - Aluminum Cage & Bezel w/ Security Keylock & LED Indicators

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Would give 5 stars if it worked, troublefree
Pros: No screws or other tools,

LEDs have two colors a red/orange & green LED, assuming the Red
Cons: There's not enough separation between the two LEDs so the light goes between them, but this is only a problem when the other LED is off. No confusion when they're both going.

But let's get to the big problem. There seems to be some issue where (seemingly randomly) every so often the drives inside are just not connected!

Mostly this seems to happen to my secondary drive where sometimes BIOS just won't see the drive and other times files are "not found".

I'm guessing it's a flaky internal connection of some sort? But the drives DO NOT do this when they're outside the case. Gonna RMA this and see if it's a systemic problem or just (as I'm hoping) a one time thing.
Other Thoughts: I'm using SSDs on both, so I can't comment about different size drives...but these seem pretty snug, I wouldn't expect anything larger than standard to fit.


If it worked, I'd give it 5 stars. No complaints, no trays, looks decent.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your review of Athena Power BP-TLA2221SATA unit. Please contact our service/tech support team at 626-810-5008, 8:30AM~5:30PM, Mon~Fri. Or you can send an e-mail to "service@athenapower.us". Thank you and have a nice day.

Reviewed By:N/A,7/3/2015 10:25:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.