Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > BenQ > BenQ HT1085ST 1920 x 1080 DLP Projector 2,200 ANSI lumens 10000:1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: -Short throw (100" at 5ft/1.5m throw distance)
-very sharp & GREAT image quality
-low input lag(15 ms, more than ideal for serious gaming.)
-elaborate settings menu(as long you allow "advanced mode")
-integrated mono speaker sound quality is impressive(for what it is)
-good 3d even with very cheap glasses pair
Cons: honestly not a lot negative to talk about, almost feel like nitpiking to be honest:
-generate a LOT of heat/hot air in the front fan outake
-not the most quiet fans
-the OPTIONAL the wireless hd kit is ridiculously overpriced.
Reviewed By:YannickLapointe,7/27/2015 3:10:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > Acer America > Acer H6510BD FHD 1920x1080 (Up to 300” Display Size) 2 HDMI Inputs w/ Carrying Bag 3000 ANSI Lumens 3D DLP Projector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Review Update
Pros: Bright
Sharp/Clear HD picture
Inexpensive
Lots of inputs
3D
Adjustable zoom / throw distance
Cons: Odd size mounting screws (3mm)
Other Thoughts: I wanted to update my previous review, but I couldn't find an edit button so here goes my second review of this projector after a little over one year of use.

After a year of using this projector I am very happy with the purchase. I have put nearly 400 hours on this projector and have enjoyed every minute of it. I am using this projector in my garage, primarily for sporting events, and every game looks amazing. I have watched football, basketball, soccer, baseball, and hockey games on this projector and they all look fantastic.

I went with this projector because I am using it in the garage, with the door open most of the time, and my old projector looked very washed out due to all the ambient light. This projector however has looked great even in the middle of the day for football games with the door open and the sun shining in. I was pleasantly surprised with how good the picture was even in the daylight. I am using a standard white pull down projector screen I ordered at the same time as this projector.

The picture quality is also top notch. It is comparable to my living room plasma TV. I never notice any motion blur and the contrast seems better than my plasma. Keep in mind I am watching sports which has a lot of action and fast moving camera work and I'm never sidetracked from the action thinking about the picture quality, it just looks fantastic.

The projector does have a built in speaker but I have it muted and use a soundbar. The projector speaker alone is nowhere near loud enough unless you are sitting directly under the projector in a room all by yourself, any background noise or chatter will overtake the speaker.

As for the fan noise, I never notice the fan. This may be because I typically have friends over when I'm using the projector and all the chatter is louder than the fan and the soundbar is pushing a lot more volume than the built in speaker.

In regards to the throw distance, I found it to be very forgiving with the built in zoom. If you use the throw distance calculator you can find online and place the projector in the middle of the suggested throw distances the built in zoom makes it a piece of cake to zero in on the scree size you desire.

I am also yet to see any rainbows, although I've never noticed them on any projectors so I may not be prone to the rainbow effect.

So in summary, if you do not have the ideal media room where you can block out all light and want a bright, crisp, HD projector this projector should be near the top of your list. In this price range I think you'd be hard pressed to find anything better.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/15/2015 11:27:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > Acer America > Acer H5380BD 1280x720 HD 3000 ANSI Lumens HDMI & USB Input, w/ Carrying Bag, Auto Keystone Correction, 3D Ready Home Theater/Movie DLP Projector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 love it
Pros: -Great picture / I use it on a dark blue wall and the picture is great
-good price / outperforms (in my opinion) a buddies BenQ that cost 2x as much
Cons: -mounting to a universal ceiling mount was tricky
Other Thoughts: I bought this before there were any reviews on here right after this model was released and that's not something i normally do and it was a great purchase, no regrets.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/15/2015 6:17:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > ViewSonic > ViewSonic PJD7820HD 1920x1080 FHD 3000 ANSI Lumens, Up to 120Hz Refresh Rate, HDMI / Dual VGA Inputs, Auto Keystone Correction, 3 Year Warranty, 3D Ready DLP Projector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 awesome
Pros: Bought this projector 2 years ago when it was $700 and its awesome. day in day out. use it as my main liiving room tv. for hours every day and the bulb still hasnt died. grreat picture quality with directv hd. dont care for 3d.
Cons: Bulbs are a bit pricey. $72 just the bulb. no housing. compared to my 60" mitsubishi dlp which was only $17 with the housing.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/11/2015 4:59:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > ViewSonic > ViewSonic PJD7820HD 1920x1080 FHD 3000 ANSI Lumens, Up to 120Hz Refresh Rate, HDMI / Dual VGA Inputs, Auto Keystone Correction, 3 Year Warranty, 3D Ready DLP Projector

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 decent for a small room
Pros: Has a good crisp image with good contrast.
Cons: It is a rather short throw, so it wouldn't work for my new home. The fan that is in it is exceptionally loud, would require the sound at rather high volumes to cover it up.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/11/2015 1:52:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > OPTOMA > Optoma HD141X 1920x1080 FHD 3000 ANSI Lumens, 16:9 Aspect Ratio, Dual HDMI / MHL Input, Built In Speakers, Audio Output, 3D Ready Cinematic DLP Projector

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 After 5 months it won't power on
Pros: Beautiful Display
Large screen size over a short throw distance
Cons: Short lifespan. After 5 months of limited use it refuses to power on.

Only reliable after initial repair.
Other Thoughts: It's worked perfectly for these past months, but on attempting to power up today (after 5 months) it stalls out before lighting the bulb. If left to attempt long enough it eventually gives a red bulb light. It should be several thousand hours away from a blow out, and didn't yield any sort of sign of problems on last use.

This is my second time an Optoma unit has done this. The first time was within about the same amount of time. I had to pay to ship it out to them, replace a faulty fan, and replace the bulb last time this happened. The entire process took about 4 weeks.

After paying to repair my new projector last time it ended up lasting another 5 years before needing a replace. It's a good idea to consider these costs as additional fees on purchase of this product.

Still not a horrible price for the product.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2015 5:39:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > Excelvan International, Inc. > Excelvan Portable Mini LED Projector Cinema PC & Laptop VGA/USB/SD/AV/HDMI US Plug

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 mini projector
Pros: small and supports various inputs. easy to adjust focus, has speakers and an option to connect a bigger audio system to it.
Cons: need to be in a really dark place to really see the dark colors.
Other Thoughts: for the price, it is great.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/6/2015 6:31:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > LG Electronics > LG PB60G 1280x800 WXGA 500 ANSI Lumens, USB2.0 File Viewer, Built-in Speakers, 3D Ready Mini-Portable LED Projector

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far I'm loving it!
Pros: LED, so no worries of expensive bulb replacement
Low Heat
Low Noise
Low Wattage = 45 watts at the highest settings and at the lowest about 25 watts.
HDMI
USB Connection (BUT limited and sacrifices quality)
3.5mm Audio out jack
Auto Tilt Adjustment
Cons: Unfortunately you have to sacrifice a little bit of the focus on certain parts of the screen when it is 100 inches wide. It is usually noticed more on text or presentations, but the main center retains focus. The farther right corner would tend to be slightly blurred. The other fault is sometimes the syncing of audio and video via usb doesn't always workout. The rendering and mainly in color and shade seem to be too dark. When I use HDMI the quality is a lot better. The built in speaker isn't the greatest either, but it works.
Other Thoughts: So far I've watched a few movies on and I'm pleased with it. I can't speak for longevity, but if it lasts 2 or 3 years then I'd definitely recommend it. I still do recommend it, but I can't comment if it will last as long as it advertises.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 3:08:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > Acer America > Acer H6510BD FHD 1920x1080 (Up to 300” Display Size) 2 HDMI Inputs w/ Carrying Bag 3000 ANSI Lumens 3D DLP Projector

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works great for me!
Pros: Bright HD Picture is bright and clear even in moderately lit room. Multiple input types. Originally ordered screen but now I just fill the whole wall... will make customer screen eventually, but still looks great. 3D is cool and all but I haven't gotten the extra glasses for it.
Cons: HOT!!! Not to be unexpected with a projector. Exhausts out the front right vent so can be mounted in relatively tight recessed area.

The mounting hole on this are just weird... I've bought two different "universal mounts" and had to buy special screws to mount to the 3 smaller holes and ended up just making a custom bracket to mount. Could have used the standard camera mount by itself but that just seemed entirely too sketchy.

Finally, and this is the big one for me. The sound output from the projector just suddenly stopped working... Nothing from audio out or internal speaker. Nothing. This is a major upset preventing easy audio output from an HDMI signal. Sure I was able to route the audio from my AppleTV through digital optical after buying extra converter to RCA and optical cable but I am none the less very displeased. My contacting ACER resulted in exactly NOTHING being done. No reply email or anything. It says it is under mfr warranty right on their website when entering the SN, but I have yet to hear anything from them.
Other Thoughts: Other than the sound processing going out and it being a PITA to get mounted it really isn't a bad projector. I just might get another one if the price is right.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/30/2015 3:26:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > LG Electronics > LG Minbeam PF1500 1920 x 1080 FHD 1400 Lumens, Smart TV, Bluetooth-capable, HDMI / MHL / RJ45 (Networkable), Home Theater LED Projector

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 LG PF1500
Pros: I bought this for $1200 CAN. It is worth every penny. The 1080p is so much better than my 1 year old 720p acer k335 projector. It has 2 HDMI ports and a cable tv port. I made a cheap antenna and I am getting 5 free hd channels over-the-air. It has apps like netflix, youtube, etc. It also has free internet radio so I can listen to any genre from around the world. I absolutely love this machine, I feel privileged to be watching tv and movies or playing my playstation 3 & 4 consoles or listening to international music with this device. The picture is phenomenal and at 15-20 feet away from a white wall, I am watching a roughly a 100'' clear picture. I've been waiting for years for a projector like this to come out and now I have it.
Cons: The fan noise level is a problem, unless you are using headphones or earphones or if you have a separate room just for the projector like in a theatre. I have the brightness and contrast just over 50% and the fan noise is equivalent to a tower computer running warm. The Zoom on this is a letdown, I am getting (I think) a 100" picture, but the zoom increases the horizontal size by 4" on either side of the image. There is no 3D feature but....who cares about 3D.
Other Thoughts: With this versatile 1080p led projector in my possession, I can wait comfortably for LG to come out with a 4K resolution projector in 3-6 years. I'd give this a 9/10 rating. 1 point off for noise level and inadequate Zoom.
Reviewed By:lambo753,6/22/2015 5:09:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.