Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > BenQ > BenQ HT2050 Full HD 1920 x 1080, 2200 ANSI Lumens, Dual HDMI / MHL inputs, Lens Shift, 6x RGBRGB Color wheel, Optional Wireless HDMI Connectivity, 10W Speakers, 3D Ready, Whisper Quiet operation, DLP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best AV investment I ever made...
Pros: Huge picture with great brightness and color and detail. I built my own screen with blackout curtain lining.
Cons: None so far. Only had it for about a week.
Reviewed By:William I.,6/27/2016 6:54:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > Acer America > Acer H6510BD Full HD 1920x1080, 3000 Lumens, 2x HDMI Ports, 2W Speaker, 3D Ready, DLP Home Theater Projector

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Most difficult product I have ever had to try set up
Pros: Works with Cable Box, nice picture, relatively bright
Cons: - Loud
- Worked with an HDMI switcher for 3 days and then stopped
- Will not work with my old Sony AV receiver, a brand new Denon Receiver, PlayStation 4, Roku or Chrome
- Since it won't work with a receiver I can't get 5:1 sound
- The sound from the unit is pathetic
- Acer support is non-existent. I have called 5 times and hit a person each time who new nothing about the projector and could not help.
- No printed manual
Other Thoughts: I would never recommend this device or anything else that may need Acer support. I think NewEgg should warn folks about the number of devices this will not work with. The room this went into was professionally set up with high quality HDMI cables built an and speakers in the ceiling, it is not the set up.
Reviewed By:Peter G.,6/11/2016 5:35:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > OPTOMA > Optoma GT1080 1920 x 1080 FHD 2800 ANSI Lumens, 16:9 Aspect Ratio, Dual HDMI / MHL Input, 120 Hz Refresh Rate, Short Throw 3D Ready Gaming DLP Projector

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 ehhhh
Pros: The screen size is massive, and the picture is amazing. I have it on the wall and you don't notice a bump on it. It looks like a normal TV screen.
Cons: Zooming in and out is a bit tricky to get down, no Horizontal keystone, and a fairly difficult setup. If this was my first time with a projector I would have been lost. I have mine ceiling mounted, which it is clearly not meant for. But I have a cat so setting it on a table is not going to work for me. When the colors on the screen change rapidly (video games), it takes a little bit to adjust and it seems like it can't keep up so it's either too dark or too bright. So far the resolution towards the bottom is better than the top. It starts to get blurry in the upper corners and I haven't found out how to fix that yet. Also the menu looks like it's slanted towards you, do you feel like the vertical keystone is off when you look at the menu.
Other Thoughts: It's a decent projector for the price, but I see why it's over half off. It's not very user friendly. The screen is really amazing, basketball is great and football will be terrific and if you have it on a table or shelf it would probably work better.
Considering my old one still works, and I only bought this because of the sale for an upgrade, I wouldn't purchase it again.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/10/2016 7:37:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > BenQ > BenQ MH530 Full HD 1920x1080 3D Home Entertainment 3200 Colorific Lumens Projector HDMI 1.4a Built In Speaker

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 excellent!
Pros: The MH530 is very bright and vivid and comes packed with inputs and functionality. The colors are vibrant and shadows are plenty dark with great contrast on a budget screen. Image looks very good at 100 inches and I'm sure it will look great even bigger than that. Video games work great on this with no noticeable blurring while playing PS4 and PC on it. Comes with integrated speakers and 3d functionality. Looks good even with the lights on although it's better with them off of course. Reading text while using my PC is much clearer than my HD TV causing less eye strain and making this perfect for presentations. The MH530 is easy to adjust and there are plenty of color options for fine tuning it.
Cons: The speakers are not very loud at all and it puts out a bit of heat.
Other Thoughts: I'm impressed! For a business projector the MH530 packs a punch for home entertainment. The image quality is excellent with very sharp lines and vivid color along with smooth movement making it great for gaming, watching movies, presentations, or just about anything. The only thing I don't like about it is the weak speakers but I see those as a bonus more than a deal breaker. It's easy to hook it up to a stereo system and get the sound you want using a standard 3.5 mm audio cable.
Reviewed By:Matthew C.,6/2/2016 4:59:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > ASUS > ASUS B1M 1280x800 WXGA 700 ANSI Lumens, HDMI & USB Inputs, Built-In SD Card Reader, Auto Keystone Correction, WiFi Dongle option, Ultra-bright & light weight, Short Throw LED Portable Projector

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good picture, when it works.
Pros: Picture is excellent.
Insert USB and device scans all ports and when it finds something it opens up a folder view to let you select what you want displayed.
Cons: Tried to watch a movie three times with this device. First time it locked up on the menu screen, second time it got about 30 minutes into the movie, image froze in black and white with audio continuing to play, third time got about an hour and a half into the movie when the lamp cut off and audio continued to play. ONLY way to stop it was to pull the power plug.
Other Thoughts: Don't recommend this device. I want a refund if I can get it.
Reviewed By:Terry E.,5/30/2016 2:59:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > OPTOMA > Optoma HD141X 1920x1080 FHD 3000 ANSI Lumens, 16:9 Aspect Ratio, Dual HDMI / MHL Input, Built In Speakers, Audio Output, 3D Ready Cinematic DLP Projector

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Easy to set up. Great picture.
Pros: So I just got this today and played a movie shown on the back of my house. The HD quality was stellar. Colors were nice but I'm thinking if it's possible I will be making some slight adjustments. Watched Tangled and it was just amazing. Probably about a 8' X 5' video footprint and looked great. Haven't tried the 3D as of yet as I have to research to find out what glasses I will need. Sound is quiet of course with 10 watt stock speakers. Just grabbed my semi decent computer speakers and they worked perfectly. The value of this unit was just fantastic.
Cons: Being that it was dark when I was setting it up and haven't read the instructions it says two things: 1. It is an amazingly easy set up. 2. I haven't been able to see if it has adjustment feet, the depth of color tweaking available and/or the quality of 3D and accessibility to glasses. So I can only attest to a slight negative of 10 watt speakers. However, I don't think any units out there anywhere near this price point have anything stronger. As a matter of fact I saw some with 2 Watt speakers.
Other Thoughts: Definitely would recommend this product. Solidly built, lens cover is supplied, great clarity and a fantastic value.
Reviewed By:steven w.,5/27/2016 11:51:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > BenQ > BenQ HT2050 Full HD 1920 x 1080, 2200 ANSI Lumens, Dual HDMI / MHL inputs, Lens Shift, 6x RGBRGB Color wheel, Optional Wireless HDMI Connectivity, 10W Speakers, 3D Ready, Whisper Quiet operation, DLP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Quality Problems
Pros: NONE
Cons: o Unit initially would not remain on for more than 5 minutes, overheating triggers a shutdown.
o After allowing it to cool down, repeated attempts were not successful, to the point that shutdown now happens within a minute or two of startup.
o There appear to be 3 fans. All seem operational. This is a very noisy unit however.
o Air vents were not blocked and room temp was normal 70 degrees.
o Could only conclude unit was defective.
o Existing wiring in place is composite. Do not know if that is what causes the overheating problem. Not practical or easy to run HDMI.
o BenQ HT2050 was intended replacement for a 15 year old Toshiba TDP-MT500.
o BenQ noise level appreciably higher and picture quality not an improvement over 15 year old Toshiba. Major disappointments on both fronts.
o Unit is poorly designed, poorly engineered.
o Lens cap will not seat properly.
o Feet on the bottom of the unit make bracket installation tricky and cumbersome.
o When ceiling mounted, engineers did not allot for the lens cap to be stored without the retaining string easily getting in the way of the lens.
o Bolts needed to secure the unit to a universal bracket are not standard size, so a trip to a hardware store is necessary.
o Overall, a miserable experience, wasted weekend.
o ITEM IS REPLACEMENT ONLY, NO REFUND. I have asked NewEgg for a replacement unit.
o However, this was the first, and it will be the very last, BenQ product I buy. A major disappointment.
Other Thoughts: I can only say that I am perplexed as to why the unit will not operate. I worked with it for many hours, trying to examine every possibility. This thing simply must be a defective unit. And, the no refund policy makes me wonder if overheating is a common problem occurring with these units.

I should point out too, this unit seems to be getting rave reviews. Again, very perplexing given the overheating issue, loud fans, not so hot picture quality. However, I am forced to use composite wiring. Maybe a significantly better experience is available via HDMI? It makes me wonder though if the reviews I'm seeing around the internet are not bought and paid for by BenQ? So, tread carefully if you are thinking about buying this unit.

I will circle back around and update my review after my return and replacement experience and hopeful operational use of the unit at some point.
Reviewed By:Jeffrey W.,5/22/2016 1:17:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > LG Electronics > LG PF1000U Ultra Short Throw Full HD 1920 x 1080 LED Home Theater Projector Smart TV compatible Portable Size

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Projector You Can Live With
Pros: If you ever wanted to watch sports or a movie on a really large screen at home you will understand the attraction of this compact, high quality LG projector. No need for a ceiling mount with a bunch of wires running to it, and no need for a real noisy fan. Just plug this shoebox-sized unit into a power outlet, connect an HDMI cable from your computer or an antenna wire and away you go. Actually, you don't even need those. The PF1000U has built-in Wi-fi so you can connect to your wireless router and use the internet, Netflix, Youtube, Spotify, HULU and more right away. Also, since we have Comcast internet and cable TV, we can use wi-fi / internet to log in to Xfinity.com and watch lots of TV shows, movies etc. online.

Picture quality is crisp and bright with very good color. We've been kinda spoiled for several years watching our excellent Pioneer KURO plasma TV. While the projector's color isn't exactly like the plasma's, it's very acceptable right out of the box. And, if you like to tinker with it, there are individual color settings to play as well as the usual contrast, brightness, etc. You can get a pleasing result if you simply point the projector at a smooth white wall as long as the wall is nice and flat. There's even some paint mixtures you can roll on or spray on the wall to enhance the picture. Best results are usually obtained with a matte white projector screen having a "gain" of around 1.0 to 1.1. On the top of the projector there's a manual focus knob you can rotate to fine-tune the sharpness of the picture. Focus range is limited but effective, no problem.
Watching a live MLS soccer match, a bit of NASCAR and a golf tournament convinced me that the projector can handle fast action well. Can hardly wait for football season.

Small, built-in speakers provide sound that's clear enough for voices and dialog but not much else. Big picture, small sound. However, you can use optical or analog audio-out jacks for external speakers of your choice, and Bluetooth connection is quick & easy with your favorite wireless speaker. There's also a video/audio sync. feature to help ensure that voices and lip movements remain synchronized.

The so-called Magic Remote is simply an air mouse that you wave around to control everything including the onscreen keyboard which appears when needed. It feels awkward at first because i've never used an air mouse, but after a little practice i'm OK with it now.

Of the built-in apps we mainly played around with Netflix and Youtube. While their menus look different here than on our PC, we quickly got used to navigating around the sites. Would it be nice if everything was exactly how we're accustomed to? Yes. Does it matter much? No, because you can adjust to the app's style very quickly.
Cons: Lighting in the room is an issue with projectors. If you must have some light in your room then the picture's contrast and color will always be less than ideal. Projectors have always struck me as rather useless in the living room or den where we normally watch TV and movies. Most of the time the picture is too dim and the color too washed out (except for after dark). Just think of walking into anyplace other than a movie theater where a projector is running. Be it a museum, public building or a sports bar you look up and think yeah ok, big picture, but my TV at home looks a lot better. The LG PF1000U puts up a pretty good effort, making a watchable, if somewhat pale, image in daylight. Better than some i've seen, but it's no match for those $10K models from Sony and others. I lowered a shade or two on the windows casting the most sunlight into the room and that allowed me to happily use the projector for internet, email, and some TV. Dark scenes do suffer some, but anything reasonably bright on TV is OK to watch. Same with the output of our computer.
Other Thoughts: Regarding picture brightness and contrast:LG suggests this model is well-suited to throwing a 100-inch image. In a dark room it can even go bigger and still look good depending on your chosen screen (avoid high gain screens). For our room an 80-inch picture is ideal for the available space. This actually provides us with a slightly brighter picture because the projected image is spread over a smaller area. As a result, it handles ambient light a little better. Or, you can adjust the projector's Energy-Saving feature (choice of 3 settings) which dims the picture slightly in steps and also reduces the fan noise to a quieter level. The fan noise is a bit intrusive at the Minimum Energy-Saving setting (brightest picture), but markedly less noisy at the slightly lower settings. If you're really sensitive to fan noise you could prop a throw cushion near the front of the projector (but not touching the projector because of heat) to muffle the fan sound.

This projector is small enough that you can easily move it to whatever location is convenient. Use your laptop's HDMI-out jack, or connect a TV antenna wire for local stations, or connect wirelessly with your phone or tablet. We're planning on mounting an Elite M80UWH pull-down screen above the room's largest window. When the screen is down/open it will totally block the large amount of ambient light from that window.

Will the LED bulb really last 30,000 hours like they claim? Will it retain sharp focus and crisp color? Tune in for an update to this review in about 5 or 10 years and see ....
Reviewed By:Andrew M.,5/21/2016 7:49:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > BenQ > BenQ MH530 Full HD 1920x1080 3D Home Entertainment 3200 Colorific Lumens Projector HDMI 1.4a Built In Speaker

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent home or business projector
Pros: Lightweight and compact
Bright image with 1080p resolution
Energy saving features extend bulb life
Cons: Weak speaker (no surprise for a projector so not worth an egg)
Other Thoughts: When I first started training professionally 16 years ago the projector I traveled with was so big it should have had a trailer hitch and wheels. On top of that the bulb didn’t throw out much light (I always had to dim the lights wherever I was training) and the projectors of the day were hugely expensive.
The Benq MH530 is an excellent example of how projectors have improved over the years. Setup is as simple as it can be, the image is bright with high definition, yet the unit is compact and light so will travel well, even when flying. In addition to HDMI it has all the traditional input/output connectors, so if you’re connecting to an older computer that only has a VGA video connector or S-video it will work just fine. The projector also has the standard keystone corrector for squaring up the image, and zoom/focus functionality, and it has an “Eco” function which dims the light under certain situations to save energy and extend the life of the costly bulb.
I tested the unit with a Surface Pro 3 tablet and a mini Display port to HDMI cable, and ran a PowerPoint presentation and an MV4 video. Naturally any standard PowerPoint presentation shouldn’t be a challenge because the computer is doing all the work, but I tested with one I created that has embedded video clips with sound and it displayed flawlessly. As with all projectors of this type the speaker is weak but the Benq has in/out audio ports so I was able to hook up external speakers (the “in” port is for a patch cable if you’re connecting with VGA since that cable doesn’t carry the sound signal). Then I played the MV4 video, still hooked up to the external speakers, and the projector showed its chops as a home theater device: excellent image filling a wall and sound filling the room.
This is an easy product to recommend, it offers top notch performance and features at a reasonable price. Five eggs.
Reviewed By:Cecil S.,5/21/2016 9:03:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > BenQ > BenQ MH530 Full HD 1920x1080 3D Home Entertainment 3200 Colorific Lumens Projector HDMI 1.4a Built In Speaker

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great projector for any use
Pros: This is sold as a "Business Projector" so I wasn't expecting much, but wow was I impressed. The colors are vivid and the it is very bright even in a well-lit room. I threw it up on a wall in my living room and it looked amazing, it even has adjustments for wall color which worked really well. I cannot stress enough just how clear and crisp the picture was

It weighs just over 4lbs so it is easy to take with you or move around if you do plan to use this for presentations. The built in speaker is sufficient for a media presentation, but you do not want to use this for watching a movie.

It supports a number of inputs though I would thing the majority are going to use either D-sub from a computer or HDMI, but if you have some older gear in your office that require S-video or composite they have you covered there as well.

Setup was very easy, the controls are intuitive and the remote works really well.

The built in height adjustment was quick and easy to use, I would say that as long as you have the unit at least 3ft off the ground you should be able to align it with any screen.

Boot up time is only a few seconds from a powered off state and while the fan noise is noticeable at start up I didn’t notice is much once I was paying attention to a movie. I would still not want to sit right next to it if you plan to use this for entertainment only.

You will want to keep the projector about 10 - 15 feet from the screen so keep this in mind if you have distance constraints

Just for fun I connected up my Roku streaming stick and it worked perfectly. It makes for a nice compact entertainment unit. It even supports 3d if you happen to have some 3d Bluerays. My kids were amazed that I could turn a wall into a movie theatre. Just need one of those outside blow up screens and I can have the neighborhood over for an outdoor movie night.
Cons: Internal speaker is a bit lacking
Replacement bulbs are expensive

Other Thoughts: Do keep in mind that like any projector the lamp will eventually burn out. A replacement lamp for this unit right now is going to set you back around $150 so plan for that when you are figuring out your costs.

I feel like I should have been able to find more that I didn’t like, but I just couldn’t. I think the price is reasonable, the quality is good and the performance was stellar.
Reviewed By:Christopher D.,5/20/2016 4:51:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.