Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > VoIP > ooma > Ooma OOMATELO2 Free VoIP Home Service (Telo 2)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: inexpensive local and long distance calling
decent voice quality
good customer support
Cons: voice quality still not as good as landline
Other Thoughts: I purchased this product over a year ago after debating whether to get it for some time. I was tired of paying around $40 to $50 a month for my phone service which I really didn't use that often as the majority of my calls are on my cell. I did want to keep a home phone service though. My monthly bill with OOMA is now around $5.
The voice quality seems fine, but as others have stated not as good as a landline. The major difference I have found is that there is a slight delay, but really not that noticeable. I do have cable internet service and not DSL. The product was easy to setup. I think it took me around 10-15 from unboxing to full installation. I did not port my old number and just decided to take a new one. I even tested sending a fax and that also seems to work. I also needed to call their support line and found them to be very helpful and easy to reach. No long waits. So, all in all I would recommend this product to anyone looking to reduce their monthly phone bill.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/31/2015 2:13:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBIWIFI Wireless Adapter for OBi202

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with the Obihai OBi200
Pros: As stated in my title this also works with the OBi200. It didn't "take" initially so i did a few things including manually upgrading the firmware to my Obi at http://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=9.0 .

Works great, calls are crystal clear, and I'm happy I'm not tied down with my main home phone connection location.
Cons: It took a bit of time and effort (maybe about an hour to figure it all out) to get it to get it to work with the Obi200, but I expected that so I'm not taking off an egg.

Instructions are also at http://www.obihai.com/wifi if/when you "fix" the dongle with the Obi200.
Other Thoughts: This apparently also works with some TVs and is half the price of some TV supported Wi-Fi dongles?
Reviewed By:Jason M.,3/26/2015 4:05:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > ooma > Ooma Telo+BT Telo with Bluetooth Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A reasonably priced "landline"
Pros: Switched from Vonage, whose pricing has climbed up and up and up over the years. Not looking back.

Ooma has Good Service. Similar to Vonage. Much less expensive for my needs.

The Telo device works well, like my old Vonage box.

The basic service package (a little over $5 a month – mostly tax) is all that I need but they do offer much more for those who want the extra features.

Came with the free Bluetooth USB dongle but I don’t use it. I plugged it into my PC and Windows 8.1 recognized it as a "Generic Bluetooth Adapter" and installed a driver for it. So maybe it can be repurposed.

Ooma made the process of moving a phone number from one provider to another (an optional service) as painless as they could.

This is a “refurbished” unit. You’d never know it. It didn’t come in a pretty box but inside that plain box everything seemed brand new. And it all works great.
Cons: Not really a con against the product or Ooma but porting a phone number from one company to another (one time charge of $40) can involve some service disruption and can feel a bit stressful. Again, not blaming Ooma. The process was the same years ago when I moved my number to Vonage from my cable company. For a day or two at the cutover date, my phone number was reporting “disconnected” to callers. Good thing I don’t use the home phone much. People tend to call my cell number. But once the porting process is done, it’s done – and all works well after that.
Other Thoughts: I had been considering moving to Ooma for years now but the price of their Telo box had deterred me. Now that I found a refurbished unit on an amazing sale price at Newegg I couldn’t afford not to make the switch.

Buy it on sale – like half the stated regular price. I think I’m gonna like this. I certainly like the lower monthly bill.
Reviewed By:Randall H.,3/24/2015 11:35:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBI302 VoIP Telephone Adapter with 2-Phone Ports, Router & USB

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Seems ok
Pros: Seems ok and setup was easy.
Cons: Nothing so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/22/2015 4:44:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really cool device
Pros: I just found out about this kind of device a few months ago...I have to say it is amazing. No longer do you need a "landline". You don't need to be one of those suckers who "bundles" with TWC or Comcast and whatnot. If you have internet, get this device and Google's FREE Voice service and you have yourself a home phone number with voicemail and way cooler features then the phone company can provide you.

It was also pretty easy to set up. The set-up happens on your OBiTALK account page, and it can talk directly to your Obi device over the internet (no opening ports or port forwarding), even downloading firmware to it, its like magic.

I had to use a "trick" to get it to ring my phone when I got a call on my google voice number: You have to use google chat on your gmail account to call someone at least once. THEN you will be able to forward calls to "Google Chat" and that will let it ring on this device. Make a receive calls on a real number for free.

Its so small and it looks cool sitting next to my router on my desk. LED status indicators show power, network, and the phone line status
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: Google Voice does not allow 911 calls. You will need a simple supplement voip service to call emergency numbers, which this device will be able to handle (it can handle 4 different services). I got E911 service from Anveo for 80 cents a month.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/20/2015 7:04:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > POLYCOM > Polycom 2200-12365-025 SoundPoint IP 331 Phone

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 No Power Supply
Pros: It arrived within a week or so!
Cons: Does not include REQUIRED 24vac power supply that instructions show are "optional" depending on region, which is the most ridiculous statement I've ever heard! Make sure you check into this before you order as the power supply is $50 - $150 by itself which makes the phone a "not so great" deal!
Reviewed By:MontanaTom,3/16/2015 10:01:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > ooma > Ooma Telo+BT Telo with Bluetooth Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 very pleased with the telo
Pros: Voice quality is excellent, no more expensive land line, installation was easy, what's not to like
Cons: The one big con is the Bluetooth adapter is about worthless. No iPhone newer than the iPhone 4 is supported by it. I tried and even called tech support, they said sorry.... but nope, not going to work. But no worries... wasn't the reason for purchase to begin with. Still odd they would include something so obsolete as a selling feature
Other Thoughts: I have a good router and high speed internet. I have no issues at all with sound quality. I also connected mine behind the router as opposed to the recommended installation. Even so, it was a trouble free hookup and behind the router allows the use of the dd-wrt router's QoS
(ooma gets secondary priority behind security cameras)
Reviewed By:jtincher,3/13/2015 5:34:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 so far working great
Pros: google voice, can add 3 more services with GV, works with existing phone, very customizable
Cons: no router, but it's cheaper then the 202, not really a con, this thing is not plug and play it takes a bit of reading and planning
Reviewed By:PatJr,3/8/2015 10:22:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBI100 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 this is a $40 device
Pros: I a on my second device .1st struck by lightning
for $40 it is eazy to set up..just set up a google voice account,then get a device ,plug in phone and run the setup one tie enterng your google password and your done. going on 4 or 5 years years now. I came here to order one for a friend but the price is out of line for this model. thousands of great reviews and newegg has always had great service. enjoy your obi 100
Cons: the obi 100 is $40 soe are trying to get more for this model
no garentee how long google wil keep servers up.... but so far so good.
Other Thoughts: the obi 100 is $40 some are trying to get a lot more for this model
Reviewed By:joe w,3/8/2015 12:05:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > netTALK > netTALK DUO VOIP Telephone free USA and Canada Calling

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not worth the troubles
Pros: When they first started out it was a great product.
Cons: No support. I submitted a trouble ticket over a month ago and have not received a response from them. Their online chat always kicks you out and wants you to send them a e-mail. The e-mails don't get answered. The device WILL NOT stay connected and the person on the other end can't understand what is being said. it cuts in and out. Forwarded all the ports needed for their device and even moved it to have its own "Direct Connect" to the router but still have the same issues and problems.
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your money on something they don't support and won't refund your money. They state that all sales are final and no refunds because they know that they would be taking a huge loss otherwise.
Reviewed By:scttkrg,3/6/2015 10:34:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.